This post is also available in: 英語 簡體中文

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone

1. 生八橋餅

im_vi_02

shogoin.co.jp

生八橋餅,是一種日式甜點,在柔軟的麵皮內加入各種口味的內餡,再做成三角形的外觀;雖然口味簡單,但卻百吃不厭;是大多數來訪京都的觀光客都會購買的最有名氣的伴手禮之一。現在除了一般的肉桂口味之外,市面上還有例如:抹茶、巧克力、草莓、香蕉,以及藍莓…等各種新開發的口味可供選購。

2. 八橋餅 

im_vi_01

shogoin.co.jp

八橋餅,是由米粉、砂糖和肉桂三種原料所製成的風味絕佳的點心,是京都最具代表性的伴手禮。據說長方形的八橋餅,是仿照「日本箏」(日本傳統樂器)的外型而來,也有一說是「橋」的造型。在右京區的井筒八橋餅本鋪內,您可以參加京都市內唯一的八橋餅製作體驗見學課程,親手製作一份八橋餅,一定能為您的旅途留下特別的回憶。

3.  carré de cannelle(カレ・ド・カネール)(Nikiniki)

3EBB176EF68047489C744C1ED3A353B4_L

guide.travel.co.jp

這是一款造型獨特,很受歡迎的京都甜點。以傳統的八橋餅餅皮包裹紅豆或水果的內餡,再做成花朵或其他造型。甜點造型會根據季節、活動作為當季的主題變化,例如:櫻花盛開的季節或祇園祭…等,因此常常會因為造型過於美麗而讓人捨不得食用。

4. 茶果(京都北山 Malebranche)

CnK01

matome.naver.jp

京都北山 Malebranche 的茶果, 嚴選自京都宇治白川的綠茶,製成濃郁芳香口感酥脆的茶果餅乾,再搭配特製的白巧克力做成三明治夾心餅乾,必定讓您感覺甘中帶甜、唇齒留香。這是一份在新穎設計下以傳統技法保有食材原有美味,並賦予誠摯款待的心意所完成的精緻禮盒,廣受各年齡層喜愛。

5. 千壽煎餅(鼓月)

2_000000002517

gmo-toku.jp

是兩片酥脆的格子餅乾,加上口味清爽的奶油內餡做成的三明治夾心煎餅,很適合搭配咖啡作為下午茶茶點。千壽煎餅的名稱來自於:以「天空翱翔的飛鶴,在水波上映出美麗的倒影」為意象,希望帶來祝賀並祈求長壽,因此以「千壽」命名。因為保存期限長,很適合作為京都旅遊的伴手禮。

6. 金平糖(綠壽庵 清水)

002699320-1_m

tabico.jp

綠壽庵清水,是日本唯一銷售金平糖的專門店鋪,以製作高品質金平糖而相當有名。金平糖的製作,會根據氣溫、天候調整蜜的濃度、鍋子的角度和溫度…等等,並需經過 16-20 天的時間才能製作出可愛的星星模樣。目前已製作出超過 50 種口味和色彩的金平糖,包括:巧克力、番茄、哈密瓜、甜薯…等等; 來吃吃看這個小巧可愛有著淡淡甜味的金平糖吧!相信您也會愛上它!

7. 阿闍梨餅(滿月)

photo

chacopi-0412.cocolog-nifty.com

阿闍梨餅,是京都有名的甜點店鋪 -「滿月」所販售的商品;是以餅粉、蛋和各種食材調味做成柔軟的餅皮,使用丹波大納言小豆作為內餡,作成美味可口半生菓子的阿闍梨餅。據說阿闍梨餅原本是一種麻糬,是在比叡山修行的高僧所命名,過去也曾是和尚在嚴峻的修行過程中作為充飢時所食用的餅。 

8. 倫敦燒(ロンドン焼)

03[1]

 

shinkyogoku.or.jp

倫敦燒,是新京極商店街裡一間寫著「ロンドンヤ」(倫敦屋)的店鋪所銷售的海綿蛋糕。白豆沙的內餡,甜度恰到好處,剛好是一口可以吃下的大小,很方便食用。因為是在店面直接製作銷售,所以您還可以順道觀看蛋糕師傅的製作過程。

9. 抹茶捲餅(抹茶 コルネッタ)(ジュヴァンセル)(Jouvancelle)

20150119092421

garadanikki.hatenablog.com

由抹茶麵團煎烤製作的抹茶捲餅,是京都有名的甜點之一。清香酥脆的口感真是讓人回味無窮!每盒中的捲餅份量很多,因此是一份相當有面子的伴手禮喔!

10. 然蛋糕(「然」かすてら)(然花抄院)

catch[1]

zen-kashoin.com

然花抄院,原是一間 300 年的老房子,經過整修之後變身成為融合現代與傳統氛圍的店鋪。店內銷售的海綿蛋糕,是使用京都在地,餵食丹波黑豆所飼育的雞所生產的雞蛋來製作的蛋糕。是一款有著濃郁蛋黃香味的奶油蛋糕。

11. 圖形(Drawing)(UCHU 和菓子)

drawing_titlepic[1]

uchu-wagashi.jp

這是一間在京都新開張,銷售「落雁」(是一種類似台灣雪片糕、綠豆糕口感的甜點)甜點的店鋪;所謂「落雁」,是一種使用大豆、麵粉和三盆糖三種原料,經手工製作的乾式糕點;從一開張營業就非常受歡迎。其中的「三盆糖」,是一種高品質傳統純日本糖,帶有黑砂糖的獨特風味,入口即化,淡白的色澤,具有其他砂糖沒有的特質。落雁,有許多不同的造型,例如:動物、圖形,或是京都風景…等的設計,光是看而不吃,都令人覺得賞心悅目!

12. 京年輪蛋糕(おたべ)(Otabe)

e84b38d4e75dfa9da865ecbe1a8f2fcf-960x500[1]

gion.or.jp

年輪蛋糕,使用京都宇治抹茶與豆漿製作。外裹酥脆的糖衣,裡面則是鬆軟的海綿蛋糕,香氣濃郁、口感滑順。

13. 京都濃茶糖球(京あめ 濃茶手鞠)(Crochet)

ma_koicha-temari_1[1]

crcht.com

這是一款外觀類似傳統日本玩具手鞠的糖果;所謂手鞠,是流行於過去京都貴族男子的一種運動。全手工製作的手鞠,以歐洲工藝的上色技術,加上日本傳統風味,宛如一個美麗的藝術品。有多種口味和顏色可供選購,例如:薄荷、巧克力,以及櫻花口味,您可以自由挑選組合。

14. 御池煎餅(龜屋良永)

55

thecube.co.jp

這是一款米製的煎餅餅乾,使用上等的麻糬米粉,揉製出龜甲外型後再經過簡單烘烤,最後在外層灑上糖粉;吃起來口感清香爽口,還有淡淡的醬油香味。煎餅餅乾採用罐裝包裝,您不用擔心餅乾在旅程中因碰撞而輕易破碎,因此相當適合作為伴手禮。

15. 蕎麥餅乾(蕎麦ぼうろ)

j0045ll

item.rakuten.co.jp

是一款日式傳統小餅乾,由蕎麥粉、糖和蛋三種原料製作,外觀有些許粗糙感,但卻是口感簡單爽口的軟式小餅乾。最受歡迎的是櫻花造型的餅乾。

16. 豆餅(出町ふたば)(出町 Futaba)

 ebd40a90

blog.nakatanigo.net

這是位於出柳町車站附近的「出町 Futaba」(出町 ふたば) 所販售的豆餅(就是:豆大福),是一款有名的傳統日式甜點。名代豆餅是以江洲米(近江國、今滋賀縣)作外皮、內包北海道富良野出產的豌豆製成的紅豆餡,是一款帶有些許鹹味,甜而不膩清爽的和式點心。

17. Dorobo(どろぼう)(格子家)

06010346

koushiya.com

這是位於從二條城往神泉苑公園路上的「格子家」所販售的有名的甜點。是一種將油炸豆腐搗碎後浸泡在黑糖中的甜點。甜點的名稱之所以稱為「dorobo」(泥棒,日文意思為「小偷」),是因為在以前甜點很少的時代,為了形容這個甜點的美味是:即使是做小偷都想要偷來吃一下;因此而命名為 dorobo。另外也販售有大支的 dorobo (odorobo,大どろぼう,意思是小偷師傅)。

18. 黑糖蕨餅(わらび餅)(わらび庵)(Warabian)

original

tabelog.com

若您是第一次來到京都,那麼推薦您一定要嚐嚐這個黑糖蕨餅;是一種以蕨粉製作,口感類似果凍,再灑上黃豆粉一起食用的日式甜點。若您正在尋找最美味的蕨餅,那您一定要來試試 Warabian(わらび庵)店裡銷售的「とろ~りわらび餅」(torori warabimochi)。因為這款甜點是選用四國香川的和三盆砂糖、丹波的黒豆粉,再搭配沖繩西表島産的黒糖所精心製作的蕨餅組合;清爽甜而不膩的口感,絕對會讓您一吃就上癮。

19. 五色豆

390

thecube.co.jp

五色豆相傳是一種於明治時代就開始販售的點心。彩色的五色豆多被用於慶典活動中。經由五色豆製作職人純熟的手工製作,搭配上等砂糖製成的糖衣,五色豆味道甜而不膩,絕對會讓您愛不釋手回味無窮。

20. 香魚

 j0180

obubu.com

香魚,是一種夏天會出現在鴨川以及琵琶湖水道的魚;而這款點心則是仿造香魚外型(英文稱為鯰魚, sweetfish)製作的點心;口感柔順的麵皮,包裹著求肥的內餡(所謂求肥,口感與材料近似麻糬,但是更柔軟的半透明和菓子),有甜豆或抹茶等許多口味。可愛的外表,和美味的口感,是一款相當受歡迎的甜點。

21. 清淨歡喜團 (龜屋清永)

1290058384[1]

kameyakiyonaga.co.jp

清淨歡喜團,也稱為「團子」,據傳是來自於遠古的奈良時代,由遣唐使傳入日本的一種唐菓子,已經有超過 1000 年的歷史。在當時,是貴族專屬的甜點。以豆沙加入7 種神祕香氣的香料,結合米粉、小麥粉一起攪拌揉製成金袋的外型,再以純胡麻油油炸 20 分鐘,是一種帶有強烈香氣、口味濃郁的團子。

22. 幽靈子育飴

2F6C1E9814EA41199FD9668CA78908A6_L

guide.travel.co.jp

這是一款在六道珍皇寺附近商家販售的傳統糖果;而六道珍皇寺附近曾是京都的墓地。這個糖果的名稱是來自一個講述母愛的傳說:一個已故的母親,在每個晚上都會到販賣糖果的店鋪購買糖果餵食她的小孩。(所謂幽靈,指的就是鬼魂;而子育,指的就是撫養小孩)。這雖然是一段虛構的故事,但這款有著琥珀色調,口味濃郁的糖果,到目前仍是以古法製作。有機會來到附近時,請您務必買來嚐嚐。

23. 狐狸煎餅

img05[1]

inariya-kyoto.com

傳說狐狸是伏見稻荷大社 – 稻荷大神的眷屬,因此這個造型獨特的狐狸煎餅,也就成為伏見稻荷大社的特產。煎餅因為是混合白味噌揉製煎烤而成,因此呈現橘色的色澤外觀。

24. Chigo Mochi (祇園ちご餅)(三條若狹屋)

29fdc39c

madamefigaro-wlp.jp

這個甜點源自於祇園祭(日本主要的祭典之一)。據說原本是在祭典期間贈送給來神社拜訪的民眾,具有祈求消災解厄帶來好運的含意。 白味噌的內餡,外包求肥冰餅皮,再以竹串串起,然後三支一包用三角形(狂言服飾概念)的竹紙包裝。

25. 宇治茶

31_3

item.rakuten.co.jp

宇治茶,是日本三大茶之一,據說最早開始生產於約西元 1200 年的鎌倉時代。因為味道清香又順口,因此廣受許多歷史人物喜愛,包括:豐臣秀吉。在宇治平等院周邊有許多販售宇治茶的茶舖,因此在這區域附近總是飄散著一股濃郁迷人的茶香。

26. 千枚漬物

img_main_t01_1212[1]

nishiri.co.jp

是採用聖護院的蕪菁塊根(一種京都蔬菜)所製作出(如上面照片)的醃漬醬菜。秋天時收成蕪菁甘藍,將蕪菁甘藍塊根切片然後與北海道的特選昆布一起醃漬發酵,直到冬天則會變成一道順口美味的醃漬醬菜;因為是道家常菜色,因此也成為京都冬天料理的代名詞之一。

27. 一碗味噌湯(本田味噌本店 

2029

amaopineapple.blog.fc2.com

如果您考慮購買傳統的味噌湯,那麼這項名產肯定非常適合您。口味有:紅味噌、白麵筋、紅麴…等等,湯塊裡頭還有冷凍乾燥的豆腐和滑菇;因此您只需打開包裝,將湯塊放到湯碗裡,加入熱水,就能喝到一碗美味的味噌湯了!這也許不是常見典型的伴手禮,但卻很受觀光客的青睞。

28. 宇治抹茶生巧克力(伊藤久右衛門)

matchachoco08

item.rakuten.co.jp

伊藤久右衛門,位於宇治平等院附近,是一間專售抹茶、綠茶及各式風味甜點的百年老店。抹茶,是以天然石磨碾磨成微粉狀的、纖細的、鮮綠色的綠茶粉。抹茶生巧克力,是一種白巧克力與抹茶搭配製作的甜點,因為白巧克力巧妙地調整了抹茶的苦味,而使得這兩種食材的結合近乎完美。

29. 乾菓子(甘春堂)

1000set01-600[1]

kanshundo.co.jp

因為結合季節和大自然時序作為主題圖案,每一個乾菓子看起來都是那麼特別。店內有超過百種不同的圖案,您可以自行組合喜歡的圖案,做成您個人的伴手禮,不論是自用或作為贈禮,都是非常特別的禮物。甘春堂也提供有動手製作和菓子的體驗課程喔!.

30. 福不倒翁 (船はしや 總本店)(Funahashiya 總本店)

28158357

tabelog.com

福不倒翁,是位於三條大橋附近的「Funahashiya 總本店」(船はしや 總本店)所銷售的有著舒脆口感的小點心。約略指頭大小的福不倒翁,有著各種不同的表情,因此不論是大人或小孩都非常喜愛。因為據說不倒翁可以帶來好運,因此相當適合各種送禮場合。

 

京都有許多利用抹茶和甜豆製作的傳統伴手禮;而近年來,更有越來越多既精緻又特別的甜點廣受大眾所接受喜愛。京都擁有這麼多樣化的甜點可供選擇,相信您一定能找到適合您的伴手禮。

如果您想知道到了日本還有哪些必買的伴手禮,請參考以下相關文章!

[京都]

20 種京都必買伴手禮

[関西]

在關西機場必買的 24 項伴手禮

[大阪]

10 款大阪限定人氣伴手禮

20 種大阪必買伴手禮

[全國]

15種日本旅遊必買伴手禮

精選47款全日本必買美食伴手禮

日本藥劑師嚴選!日本藥妝店必買50件藥品&化妝品

10種必買的日本傳統配件伴手禮

[東京]

非買不可!精選20款東京必買伴手禮

30 個在成田機場之必買伴手禮

[湘南&鎌倉地區]

精選30款湘南&鎌倉地區必買伴手禮

 

[北海道]

11種在北海道必買的甜食伴手禮

 

[美容・化粧品]

20 款在日本藥妝店必買的護膚美容用品

11 款日本必推之平價美容護膚化妝品

11 款日本必買高級美容護膚化妝品

15 個必買日本美妝品牌

10款超想買來當紀念品的日本美容家電

20種日本必試的美容美髮家電

[流行時尚]

11個日本必逛推薦的內衣品牌

12 款必知的日本內在美品牌

日本必買!精選11間蘿莉塔服飾品牌

 

[文具]

實用又時尚!精選日本必買7樣文具

日本人氣文具店,銀座伊東屋的12項魅力!

10種令人驚奇的日本特色文具

10種必買神奇有用的日本文具

雜貨迷慎入!讓您買到手軟的雜貨寶庫「Flying Tiger」

不想錯過任何有關日本的第一手訊息嗎?那就趕快讓我們成為LINE的朋友吧。

 

 

 

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone

This post is also available in: Chinese (Traditional), Chinese (Simplified)

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone

1. Nama Yatsuhashi


Nama yatsuhashi is one of the most popular souvenirs from Kyoto that a majority of tourists buy when they visit. It is a Japanese sweet, sweet bean paste sandwiched in soft dough into a triangular shape. It has a very simple flavor, but one that you will not be tired of. In addition to the regular version, you can find all sorts flavor variations, including green tea, chocolate, strawberry, banana and blueberry.

2. Yatsuhashi


Yatsuhashi is a typical Kyoto souvenir made from rice flour, sugar and cinnamon. The rectangular shape is said to represent the koto (a traditional string instrument of Japan) or a bridge. It has a refined and elegant taste. At the Izutsu Yatsuhashi store in Ukyo-ku, Kyoto you can try and cook it for yourself.

3.  carré de cannelle (Nikiniki)


This is a popular Kyoto sweet with a unique taste and texture. Sweet bean paste or fruits are wrapped in yatsuhashi dough in the shape of a flower. There are seasonal versions as well, with cherry blossom and Gion Festival motifs that are almost too beautiful to eat. 

4. Cha no Ka (Malebranche)


Malebranche’s Cha no Ka is made from carefully selected Kyoto green tea leaves to make a delicious langue de chat with a rich green tea flavor. The combination of the slight bitterness of green tea and the sweetness of the white chocolate sandwiched in between is exquisite. The trendy look along with the crispy texture is popular among people of all ages.

5. Senju Senbei (Kogetsu) 


Cream that is not too sweet but light is sandwiched between two crispy waffle biscuits. The name derives from the similarity of its appearance to a crane flying between the waves, which is a celebrated view. It matches coffee well. Its long shelf life makes it ideal as a souvenir of your trip to Kyoto.

6. Konpeito (Ryokujyuan Shimizu)


Japan’s one and only konpeito specialist store, Ryokujuan Shimizu is well know for the high quality of its konpeito. Made over a number of days with the utmost skill and care, these cute star-shaped sugar candies, konpeitos, are popular as a souvenir of Kyoto.There is a wide line-up of flavors that can be enjoyed by everyone, including chocolate, tomato, melon and sweet potato, making them a great gift from your travels.

7. Ajarimochi (Mangetsu)


The ajarimochi, sold at the famous Kyoto sweet store Mangetsu, is said to have come from mochi, or sticky rice cakes, that buddhist priests ate during their training. The name “ajari” is said to come from a high-ranking priest who trained at Mt. Hiei in the north east of Kyoto. The soft outer layer and the sweet bean paste made from dainagon azuki beans make it a truly exquisite sweet.

8. London-yaki


London-yaki is a castella sponge bun sold at the Shinkyogoku Shopping Arcade in Kyoto. Filled with white bean paste, it has a lightly sweet flavor. You can enjoy watching the staff cook them one by one at the store.

9. Green Tea Corneta (Jouvancelle)


Green Tea Corneta is a popular Kyoto sweet made of dough lightly flavored with green tea wrapped and baked. It is light and crispy and it crumbles deliciously in your mouth. One box contains quite a few, which also makes it a great souvenir.

10. Zen Castella (Zen-ka Shoin)


This castella sponge is made from the eggs of chicken, that are raised on black soybeans from Tamba in Kyoto. A very moist sponge with a strong yolk flavor, it is almost as though you are eating the rare, creamy sponge mix. The store is in a 300-year old house which has been refurbished, giving it both a modern and traditional atmosphere.

11. Drawing (UCHU wagashi)


A newly opened store in Kyoto selling rakugan, or dried sweets made of soybeans, flour and sugar, has been attracting a lot of attention since its opening. Made using wasanbon, a high quality Japanese sugar, these colorful sweets come in a variety of shapes including animals and the temples of Kyoto, and just looking at them can be fun.

12. Kyo Baumkuchen (Otabe)


This is a baumkuchen made from layers of dough mixed with tofu from Kyoto and a blend of green tea from Uji. The crunchy outer layer coated with sugar and the soft inner sponge are a delicious combination.

13. Kyoame Koicha Temari (Crochet)


This pretty sweet resembles a temari, a traditional Japanese ball, that was popular with the nobility of Kyoto. Carefully made in a small studio, these beautiful sweets are like works of art. There are all sorts of flavors and colors, such as mint, chocolate and cherry blossom and you can buy them in sets.

14. Oike Senbei (Kameya Yoshinaga)


This is a senbei, rice crackers, made of lightly-baked sticky rice and sprinkled with finely ground sugar with an elegant taste that melts in the mouth. Its salty-sweet flavor with a slight sent of soy sauce is an important characteristic. They are sold in cans, which makes them easy to carry around without breaking, ideal as a souvenir of your travels.

15. Soba-boro


It is a type of biscuit made of flour, buckwheat flour, sugar and egg, with a slightly rough and plain texture. It has the traditional Japanese flavor of soba, or buckwheat. The pretty shape is said to represent the blossom and buds of the plum tree.

16. Mamemochi (Demachi Futaba)


This is a rice cake with beans made by the popular traditional Japanese sweet shop Demachi Futaba in Demachi yanagi, Kyoto. It is made with green peas from Furano in Hokkaido and other carefully selected ingredients and is prepared in a traditional way passed down over generations. Its softness and a simple but delicious taste is unforgettable.

17. Dorobo (Koshiya)


This is a famous sweet from Koshiya, a sweet shop on the path from Nijo Castle to the Shinsenen Garden. It is made of deep fried tofu batter marinated in brown sugar. The name for this delicious sweet, “dorobo,” meaning thief in Japanese, is said to come from the fact that they are so delicious that people would go as far as stealing them to eat them. There is a large version as well called “odorobo,” which means master thief!

18. Torori Warabi-mochi (Warabian)


If you ever visit Kyoto, we recommend that you try the warabimochi, a jelly-like sweet made from bracken starch, sprinkled with sweet toasted soybean flour, known as kinako. If you are looking for great warabimochi, you should definitely try Warabian’s torori warabimochi. Made from specially selected ingredients, it is a perfect match for the wasanbon sugar and black soybean kinako. The refreshing sweet taste  will have you hooked!

19. Goshiki-mame


This is a Japanese confectionery, sugar covered beans sold from as far back as the Meiji Era. These colorful sweets are often given in celebration. Made with high quality sugar, they have an elegant taste that will keep you coming back for more.

20. Ayu


This is a sweet likened to the fish of the same name (ayu, known as sweetfish in English) that is found in the summer swimming in the Kamogawa River and the Lake Biwa Canal in Kyoto. It is a sweet made from soft dough filled with gyuhi, a soft sweet made with rice flour similar to Turkish delight, but there are a number of variations as well, including ayu filled with sweet bean paste or green tea flavored ones. The cute appearance and the great taste make it a popular sweet with people of all ages.

21. Seijokankidan (Kameya Kiyonaga)


This sweet, seijokankidan also known as “odan,” has a long history spanning over 1,000 years where it was brought into Japan from China during the Nara Period. In the old days, it was a sweet of the nobility. Made of sweet bean paste wrapped in dough mixed with 7 different spices and fried in oil, it has a strong scent and a very deep flavor.

22. Yurei Kosodate Ame


This is a traditional sweet that is sold at Rokudo-no-tsuji, a place that was once known as the funeral grounds of Kyoto. The name of the sweet comes from the legend of the ghost of a deceased mother who came to the shop every night to buy a sweet for her child. (Yurei means ghost and kosodate means child raising.) It is a glossy, amber-colored sweet with a deep flavor, still made today in the same way as in the past.

23. Kitsune Senbei


A unique senbei in the shape of a kitsune, or fox, mask, sold at Fushimi Inari Shrine. Foxes are well loved at the Fushimi Inari Shrine as the servants of the gods. The senbei batter is mixed with white miso which when baked, gives it its orange color.

24. Chigo Mochi (Sanjo Wakasaya)


This is a sweet that has its roots in the Gion Festival, one of Japan’s major festivals. It is said to have originally been given to people visiting the shrines during the festival, and is supposed to ward off evil and bring in good fortune. Made of sweet white bean paste wrapped in gyuhi and sprinkled with frozen mochie, it is wrapped in triangular wrapping paper and served on skewers.

25. Uji-cha


Uji-cha, one of Japan’s 3 great teas, is said to have been made in Kyoto from the early Kamakura Period, in around 1200 AD. It has a great fragrance and taste, and was said to be loved by many great historical figures, including Hideyoshi Toyotomi. The area around the Byodo-in Temple in Uji is full of tea shops selling Uji-cha, and the mellow fragrance of the tea fills the air.

26. Senmai-zuke


A pickled dish made of the turnips of the Shogoin Temple, one of the vegetables of Kyoto, known for its size. Harvested in autumn, the turnip is cut into slices and fermented. By winter, it becomes a smooth, fine pickled dish, and is often used as a byword for the winter flavors of Kyoto.

27. Ichiwan Miso-shiru (Honda Miso Honten)


If you have ever wanted to try the traditional miso shiru, or miso soup, this is the thing for you. The lightly roasted fu, or wheat gluten, contains freeze-dried nameko mushrooms and tofu. By splitting the fu and adding hot water, you can enjoy some great miso soup. It is not your typical souvenir, but is popular with the tourists.

28. Uji Maccha Nama Chocolate (Ito Kyuemon)


Ito Kyuemon is a shop that specializes in maccha, or green tea, flavored sweets, located near the Byodo-in Temple in Uji. The green tea is ground in a stone mill in the traditional way, making it into a very fine, vivid green powder. The balance of the sweet white chocolate enhances the slightly bitter taste of the green tea, making for an exquisite sweet.

29. Ohigashi (Kashundo)


With motifs of nature and the seasons, ohigashi are beautiful to look at. With over 100 different shapes and various flavors you can choose from, you can create your own personal souvenir for the people back at home. You can also try making your sweets at the Kashundo studio.

30. Fukudaruma (Funahashiya Sohonten)


Fukudaruma, from Funahashiya Sohonten located near the Sanjo Ohashi bridge, are small baked sweets with a delicate taste. Each sweet has a different expression drawn on it, making it fun for both adults and children alike. The daruma, or dharma, is said to bring good fortune, making these ideal as a gift.


While Kyoto has many traditional souvenirs made with green tea and sweet bean paste, in recent years, more modern sweets are growing in popularity. With so much variety, you are sure to find something you will love.

Also Check:

20 Kyoto souvenirs you should definitely buy


If you want to know more about souvenirs from Japan, also check these articles:


15 Must-buy Souvenirs From Japan

50 Medicines and Beauty Products from Drug Stores in Japan Picked by Japanese Pharmacists

10 Must-buy Traditional Japanese Accessories For Souvenirs


20 Souvenirs You Should Buy in Tokyo

30 Must-Buy Souvenirs at Narita Airport



10 food souvenirs you can only buy in Osaka

20 Must-Buy Souvenirs from Osaka


11 Sweet Souvenirs To Buy In Hokkaido


[Beauty and Cosmetics]

20 Beauty Products You Can Buy at Drugstores At Japan

11 Affordable Skincare Products to Buy in Japan

11 High-end Skincare Products to Buy in Japan

15 Must-Buy Japanese Cosmetic Brands

10 Japanese beauty appliances that can be used worldwide

20 Japanese Beauty Electronics You Should Check Out


11 Recommended Japanese Lingerie Brands to Buy in Japan

12 Japanese Lingerie Brands You Need To Check Out

11 Lolita Brands You Should Check Out in Japan

19 Stylish Women’s Apparel Brands To Check Out In Japan


Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone