2022年結束營業的7座東京熱門景點

身為一個節奏步調相當快的首都城市,東京一直處在一個不斷地改變、改進和重塑的狀態。雖然有時這代表有些頗受喜愛的地標和機構會落幕。但是也因為在這個不斷發展的大都市中,可以肯定它們很快就會被同樣令人感到興奮的新事物所取代。本文將列出7個預計於2022結束營業的東京熱門景點,其中包括博物館、購物中心等。

東京

玩樂

VenusFort(台場)

VenusFort 有著羅馬式的樑柱和雕像、巨大的噴泉和高聳的天花板。天花板上的雲彩圖案不斷變化,彷彿浪漫的落日天空。二十多年來,這裡一直是購物和用餐的熱門場所。不過這些都在2022年春天結束,因為 VenusFort所位於的建築本體將進行重建,使這棟3層樓購物廣場必須關閉。

在最後一天的營業日之前,VenusFort舉辦了一場壯觀的燈飾活動——感恩嘉年華——在整個建築群中設置數個大型裝置,並在噴泉廣場每30分鐘舉行一次3分鐘的嘉年華表演。2月26日起許多商店將提供80%以上的巨額折扣,為台場這最具標誌性的購物中心之一劃下句點。

結束營業: 2022/03/27

teamLab Borderless (台場)

2018年開放以來,數位藝術博物館 teamLab Borderless 獲得巨大的成功,甚至獲得金氏世界紀錄,認證為世界上參訪人次最多的單獨藝術家美術館。雖然那獨特的燈光裝置已讓數百萬遊客驚嘆不已,但因Palette Town(VenusFort也位於此建築)將進行重建,teamLab Borderless也將在2022年結束營業。

結束營業之前,也有更激動人心的teamLab Borderless活動。美術館於3月2日舉辦最後一場以櫻花為主題的展覽,大量迷人的粉紅色燈光為賞心悅目的櫻花帶來更多的季節的氛圍。不過這次的告別並非永遠的離別:teamLab Borderless 團隊承諾,這個受歡迎的博物館將在未來某個時候重返東京的某處新地。

結束營業: 2022/08/31

Giant Sky 摩天輪 (台場)

這座115公尺高的摩天輪在1999年開放時,曾是世界上最高的摩天輪。Giant Sky摩天輪坐落在台場的黃金地段,可將東京市中心令人印象深刻的天際線一覽無餘,包括東京塔、東京 天空樹和彩虹橋。 在晴朗的日子裡,甚至可以看到遠處雄偉的富士山。晚上時摩天輪還會被成千上萬的霓虹燈照亮。

和Palette Town的其他地方一樣,因東京海濱即將進行重大改造,這個摩天輪也於2022年關閉。

結束營業: 2022/03/21

中銀膠囊塔 (銀座)

建於1972年,由著名建築師黑川紀章設計,不僅是世界上第一個真正以膠囊般的建築模塊興建的建築,且還是日本建築界「代謝運動」裡的代表例子——戰後日本建築運動融合建築巨構和有機生命體的理念。這座塔的140個膠囊可以一個一個地更換,就像一個活的有機體,其細胞不斷地自我更新一樣。

這個銀座地標原本是為了提供日本受薪族方便和負擔得起的住房。然而多年來,大部分都被改造成儲藏室或乾脆任其老化。幾次試圖獲得翻新的資金也失敗,導致這座指標性的建築面臨拆除的命運。

部分立方體模塊會被回收利用,有一些則將被修復並捐贈給博物館——其中一個已經在埼玉現代藝術博物館展出。雖然還沒有非常確定,但對於建築愛好者來說可能是個好消息:有傳言說,部分的立體模塊住房可能會改成可以每晚租用的房間,能親身體驗世界上第一個膠囊住宿。

結束營業: 2022 三月下旬

teamLab Planets (豐洲)

與姊妹博物館「teamLab Borderless」同樣於2018年開放,teamLab Planets原本只是一個臨時展場,預定於2020年8月關閉,但隨後因新冠肺炎疫情肆虐導致關閉日期延遲。 2021年teamLab Planets甚至還新增兩個迷人的燈光裝置,分別是「漂浮的花園」和「苔蘚庭園中呼應的小宇宙群」,體現日本禪宗的精髓。

經過幾次延遲後,不幸的是,博物館的落幕時間大抵會落在2022年。 然而具體日期尚未公佈,也許仍然可以抱有希望。不過以防萬一,建議您在2022年的找個時間前往豐洲,順便嚐嚐 Vegan Uzu Ramen,專為teamLab Planets發明以花卉為主題的素食拉麵。

結束營業: 2022年底

老眼めがね博物館(Rogan Glasses Museum) 池袋

池袋站東側的眼鏡博物館是一個不容錯過的景點。外觀裝飾著成千上萬的眼鏡、太陽眼鏡和鏡框。它們並排放置,覆蓋整個立面。這家商店以其非常實惠的價格聞名,長期以來一直深受各年齡層的消費者歡迎。但經過50年的經營,這家商店確定於2022年春天關閉。在最後一天之前,這家商店還提供出清拍賣50%的折扣。

結束營業: 2022/03/20

江戶東京博物館(兩國)

江戶東京博物館位於以相撲和江戶時代等具有重要歷史意義的景點而聞名的兩國。建築外觀引人注目,靈感來自傳統的日本倉庫。 該博物館擁有西洋鏡和大型模型,包括劇院和標誌性日本橋的複製品,是了解從江戶時代(1603-1867年)至今,東京迷人文化和歷史的最佳場所之一 。幸運的是,這次結束營業只是暫時的告別:經過數十年的運營,江戶東京博物館將進行為期3~4年的大規模翻修,並再次向公眾開放。

結束營業: 2022/03/21
重新開放: 2025或2026

來說說一些好消息

距離東京不遠,搭乘電車很快就能到的橫濱,還有兩個景點值得一提:一個將營業結束日延遲至2023年,另一個則將在2022年底前暫時關閉,並於之後再次開放。

橫濱鋼彈工廠(橫濱)

橫濱鋼彈工廠本來要造成的轟動因新冠肺炎而延遲後,終於在2020年12月揭曉。與日本的其他鋼彈雕像不同,這個令人印象深刻的巨大模型可以移動身軀和四肢,甚至可以走出它的鋼彈埠,18公尺高的景點設有展覽、商店和主題咖啡館,都是圍繞著鋼彈宇宙的概念。 
 

令人驚訝的是,這個巨大的機器人並非常設,原預定於2022年春天關閉。不過有個好消息會令許多粉絲高興的是,關閉的日期延後到2023年,以便我們可以再享受一年這個等身大小的鋼彈機器人。要注意的是為了迎接延長的時間,橫濱鋼彈工廠將於2022年5月至7月暫時關閉並整修。

整修期間: 2022/5~7月
結束營業: 2023/03/31

橫濱紅磚倉庫(橫濱)

當日本在19世紀後期向世界開國時,橫濱迅速成為繁榮的貿易港口。這兩個指標性的赤磚倉庫,最初是用作貨物倉儲和海關檢查站,現今這個著名的橫濱標誌性建築內則改建為商店和餐館以及展覽場。

5月開始,橫濱赤磚倉庫將關閉並進行大規模整修,然各項節慶和活動仍將在兩棟建築之間的戶外開放空間舉行,包括歡快的慕尼黑啤酒節和浪漫的聖誕市場。

整修期間: 2022 5/9~12月

說再見是苦樂參半的

說再見可能很難過,但日本仍然有很多令人興奮的新興機會等著您,甚至可能會很難決定要先去哪裡哩!

 

封面照片:©創通・サンライズ / PR Times

關東特輯

本文資訊均以公開時為準。


作者簡介

Maya
Maya V.

搜尋餐廳

7 Tokyo Attractions We Are Saying Goodbye to in 2022

As a fast paced capital city, Tokyo is constantly changing, improving, and reinventing itself, and sometimes that means much-loved landmarks and institutions closing down. But fear not: in this ever-evolving metropolis, you can be sure that they will soon be replaced with something new and equally thrilling. From museums to shopping malls, here are some of Tokyo’s popular attractions that will no longer be around after 2022.

Tokyo

Things to Do

VenusFort (Odaiba)

With its Romanesque columns and statues, giant fountain, and high ceiling with changing cloud patterns resembling a romantic sunset sky, VenusFort has been a popular place to shop and dine to your heart’s content for more than two decades. However, this will come to an end this spring as the building housing VenusFort is set to undergo major redevelopment, forcing the 3-story shopping plaza to close down.

Until its final opening day, VenusFort is hosting a spectacular illumination event - Thankful Carnival - with several large installations set up throughout the complex and a 3-minute carnival show held every 30 minutes at the Fountain Plaza. From the 26th of February, huge discounts of 80% or more will be available at many of the shops, so don’t miss out on one final trip to one of Odaiba’s most iconic malls!

Closing: 27th of March 2022

teamLab Borderless (Odaiba)

Since its opening in 2018, digital art museum teamLab Borderless has experienced immense success and has even been recognized by Guinness World Records as the world’s most visited museum dedicated to a single artist/group. But although its unique light installations have wowed millions of visitors, teamLab Borderless is closing its doors this year as Palette Town - the building also housing VenusFort - will be undergoing redevelopment.

Until then, we’ll have one more exciting teamLab Borderless event to look forward to: the museum will be hosting its last cherry blossom-themed exhibition from the 2nd of March, with plenty of enchanting pink lights to bring extra festivity to the delightful sakura season. And it’s not goodbye for good: the people behind teamLab Borderless have promised that the popular museum will return at a new Tokyo venue sometime in the future.

Closing: 31st of August 2022

Giant Sky Ferris Wheel (Odaiba)

For a short while, this 115-meter-tall Ferris wheel was the world’s tallest when it opened in 1999. Sitting at a prime location in Odaiba, the Giant Sky Ferris Wheel offers sweeping views of central Tokyo’s impressive skyline, including Tokyo Tower, Tokyo Skytree, and Rainbow Bridge. On a clear day, even the majestic Mount Fuji can be spotted in the distance, and at night, the Ferris wheel is lit up with thousands of rainbow-coloured lights.

Along with the rest of Palette Town, the Giant Sky Ferris Wheel will be closing down this year due to a major upcoming makeover of Tokyo’s harborfront, so make sure to make it to Odaiba for a final ride in one of the multi-colored gondolas.

Closing: 31st of August 2022

Nakagin Capsule Tower (Ginza)

Built in 1972 and designed by the renowned architect Kisho Kurokawa, the Nakagin Capsule Tower is not only the world's first capsule accommodation, but also a rare example of metabolism - a post-war Japanese architectural movement fusing the ideas of architectural megastructures and organic growth. The tower’s 140 capsules were meant to be replaced one by one on an ongoing basis, much like the cells of a living organism constantly renewing itself.

This Ginza landmark was originally meant to provide convenient and affordable housing for Japanese salarymen, but over the years, most of them were converted into storage rooms or simply left to deteriorate. Attempts to secure funding for a renovation failed, and the iconic building is now being dismantled.

Some of the cubic modules will be recycled, while others will be restored and donated to museums - one is already on display at the Museum of Modern Art in Saitama. And while nothing is set in stone, there might be good news for architecture buffs: rumor has it that one or more modules might be converted into rooms that can be rented on a nightly basis to experience the world’s first capsule accommodation for yourself!

Closing: Late March of 2022

teamLab Planets (Toyosu)

Opened in 2018 like its sister museum "teamLab Borderless," teamLab Planets was only ever meant to be a temporary attraction. The popular museum with its mesmerizing digital art was set to close in August 2020, but then a certain pandemic came along and the closing date was postponed. Last year, teamLab Planets even added two new captivating light installations in the form of a floating orchid garden and an outdoor moss garden capturing the essence of Japanese zen.

After several postponements, unfortunately it seems like the museum won’t be delaying its closure beyond this year. However, as a concrete date has yet to be announced, one can still hope. To be on the safe side, we recommend heading out to Toyosu sometime during 2022, and don’t forget to try the flower-themed ramen invented exclusively for teamLab Planets by Vegan Uzu Ramen.

Closing: End of 2022

Rogan Glasses Museum (Ikebukuro)

On the east side of Ikebukuro Station, the Rogan Glasses Museum is impossible to miss. Its exterior is adorned with thousands of reading glasses, sunglasses, and frames carefully placed side by side to cover the entire facade. Known for its very budget-friendly prices, the shop has long been hugely popular with shoppers of all ages, but after 50 years in operation, the shop will be closing down this spring. Leading up to its final day, the shop will offer discounts of 50% on all of its products, so head straight to Ikebukuro and grab a new pair of shades or three before it’s too late.

Closing: 20th of March 2022

Edo-Tokyo Museum (Ryogoku)

Located in Ryogoku which is famous for sumo wrestling and Edo-era spots of historic importance, the Edo-Tokyo Museum has a striking facade inspired by traditional Japanese warehouses. With its dioramas and large-scale models, including a theater and a replica of the iconic Nihonbashi Bridge, the museum is one of the best places to learn about Tokyo’s fascinating culture and history from the Edo Period (1603-1867) up until present day. Luckily, this is only a temporary goodbye: after decades in operation, the Edo-Tokyo Museum will be undergoing 3-4 years of extensive renovations before opening up to the public again.

Closing: 31st of March 2022
Opening: 2025 or 2026

And Now for Some Good News…

Over in Yokohama, just a short train ride from Tokyo, two more attractions are worth mentioning - one had its closing day postponed to 2023, and the other will only close temporarily to open again by the end of this year.

Yokohama Gundam Factory (Yokohama)

The sensation that is Yokohama Gundam Factory was finally revealed in December 2020 after being delayed due to the pandemic. Unlike any other Gundam statue in Japan, this impressive piece of engineering can move its limbs and even step out of its dock, and the 18-meter-tall attraction houses exhibitions, shops, and a themed cafe all dedicated to the Gundam universe.

Surprisingly, the colossal robot is only temporary and was meant to close this spring. However, to the delight of the series’ many fans, the date has been postponed to 2023 so that we can enjoy the life-size Gundam robot for another year. Due to the postponement, Yokohama Gundam Factory will be temporarily closed for renovations from May to July of 2022.

Closed for renovations: May to July 2022
Closing: 31st of March 2023

Yokohama Red Brick Warehouse (Yokohama)

When Japan opened up to the world in the late 19th century, Yokohama quickly turned into a flourishing trade port. These two iconic warehouses made from red bricks originally served as storage and customs checkpoints, but today this famous Yokohama landmark houses shops and restaurants as well as exhibitions.

From May, the Yokohama Red Brick Warehouse will be closed for extensive renovations, but festivals and events will still be held in the outdoor open space between the two buildings, including the cheery Oktoberfest and romantic Christmas market.

Closed for renovations: 9th of May to December 2022

Goodbyes Are Bittersweet

It can be sad to say goodbye, but Japan has so many exciting new openings in store for you that you won’t even be able to decide where to go first! Take a look at these 5 things to look forward to in 2022 and beyond.

 

Thumbnail: ©創通・サンライズ / PR Times

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.


Restaurant Search