一年一度的福袋季来了!关于“日本福袋”热销的秘密

福袋是一种独特的日本购物文化,通过购买这一袋袋的神秘礼包,看看凭借自己的运气能在里面捡到什么宝。近年这种销售模式也慢慢开始传到国外,但相信仍有许多人对此不太明白。 福袋到底是什么,如何购买属于自己的日本福袋? 又或者为什么应该买福袋呢? 在本文里,我们将回答上述这些问题,并告诉你在福袋游戏中取胜的秘诀,以及一些在日本销售的备受欢迎的福袋。如果你是购物爱好者,这篇文章绝对必读!

日本全国

购物

什么是福袋?

逢年过节就会在日本市面上大量涌现的福袋,简单来说,就是在袋子里装满随机分配的商品,并在特定的期间内以大幅折扣的价格出售,其中规模最盛大的期间莫过于新年元旦。许多店家或品牌都会推出自家专属的福袋,而里面的商品通常会遵循特定的主题,如以美容产品或电脑周边为主等。这可以说是日本的悠久传统,至今仍然受到人们喜爱。比起实际购物,许多人喜欢测试运气,看看能不能买到超值的商品,大赚一笔。

福袋从何而来?

虽然不知道究竟是谁发明和最先开始销售福袋,但日本有一些广为流传的说法。

有人说它最初是在江户时代(1603~1868年),由位于东京日本桥的和服布料店越后屋以“惠比寿袋”这个商品名称出售,越后屋后来转变为今日著名的三越百货公司。当时为了清出多余的库存,越后屋将剩余的布料塞进袋子里,并在冬季特价促销中打折出售,在江户风靡一时,时至今日这一习俗仍然盛行。

有人则声称是大丸屋,一家后来成为当地人熟悉和喜爱的大丸百货公司的商店,在江户时代提出福袋的构想。他们在惠比寿节(供奉贸易和商业之神惠比寿的节日)和新年期间出售福袋,进而影响了这个习俗,后来在日本其他地区兴起并传播开来。

然而也有人认为福袋不是在江户时代创造的,而是在后来的明治时代(1868~1912年)。

不过无论是谁首先提出这个想法,所有说法之间都有一个共同点,那就是,日本福袋的习俗是由一家和服布料店所开创的。

什么时候可以买到福袋?

大多数商店会在新年期间(1月1日至3日)销售福袋。不过也有些店家可能会从12月29日就开始提早出售,还有店家是在整个一月份都会持续销售。 甚至近年来也有许多品牌、店家,会在好几个月前就开放预购。

如果碰巧错过新年大促销期也不用气馁,有些商店一年内有数次大促销,在这些促销期间也可能会出售福袋。有些店家则是全年定期出售各种福袋,会根据季节或节庆变更商品内容与主题。

购买福袋的小秘诀

・专攻购买某特定类型的福袋,虽然服装店推出的福袋总是抢手,但理性来看的话,可能会遇到衣服尺寸不适合,或与你的风格或喜好不符。如果想避免这种潜在的风险,不妨考虑从餐厅和超市等食品相关商店购入福袋。

・为了最大限度地提高“获胜”的机会,多留意那些会“事先透露”内装物品的福袋。现在已有不少店家会先透露一部分的福袋内容,例如提供尺寸范围,甚至特定品牌、服装、颜色等信息。有些商店甚至不隐藏福袋里装的物品。

・针对自己喜好的商店下手,如此一来获得的大部分礼品都会是你喜欢的东西。如果是在实体店面购买福袋的话,有时会在店外头看到大家彼此交换商品,也有些人会在网络上交换,比如在Twitter贴出自己不想要的商品图片和一些文字说明,告知别人你想交换的物品,附上hashtag标签 #福袋交换(fukubukuro exchange)和 #[商店名称]。熟悉日语的人可以尝试在Twitter上试试。

・有些商店会要求“事先预约”,可能是在线上“预约购买”,或者实际到店里去领取预订编号。强烈建议你提前研究,或提前到店预约以确保买到你想要的福袋。针对那些特别有人气的福袋,经常听到有人会在凌晨4点就开始排队准备购买呢!

・现在越来越多的商店在网络上销售福袋,里面装的物品与在实体商店中购买的完全相同。决定前往购买福袋之前,可以先在网络上查看。

 

※欲知道知名品牌何时举行福袋特卖的最新消息,可查看此网站: https://happy-bag.biz/category1/ (仅日语)

哪里能买福袋呢?

各式品牌、店家都会出售福袋,其中以百货公司、电子产品零售商、餐厅以及服装和化妆品店占大多数。 通常每一年都会出售、特别受欢迎的福袋包括:

星巴克福袋

日本人超爱星巴克!日本不仅有设计充满和式风情的星巴克门市,还有世上为数不多、非常稀有的星巴克烘焙工坊(Starbucks Reserve Roasteries)。 这种热爱还延伸到星巴克的福袋,全年会有好几次的销售。

友都八喜福袋

友都八喜(Yodobashi Camera)是日本电子产品零售巨头之一,秋叶原店尤其受到当地人和游客的欢迎。每年新年,店外总是人潮大排长龙,希望以低得离谱、超级实惠的价格买到笔记本电脑或游戏机。

LUPICIA幸运福袋

LUPICIA是最受欢迎的日本茶叶零售商之一,因为易于取得、价格合理且选择广泛。每年都会在网络上出售装满各种日本茶包的福袋。 这些福袋非常受欢迎,经常在圣诞节前就卖光了!

KALDI幸运福袋

KALDI是日本最受欢迎的国际超市之一。每年许多人都迫不及待地在门外排队,希望有机会购买一个装满糖果食品的福袋。

Cosme Kitchen幸运福袋

如果日本人想买一些品质好的天然有机护肤品、化妆品和身体产品,Cosme Kitchen 是最好的去处之一。

三丽鸥幸运福袋

三丽鸥的年度幸运福袋在日本大众中非常受欢迎,如果有兴趣想买的话,动作最好要快点。

和前几年一样,几乎常销售福袋的地方和店家也应会在2021~2022年提供此服务。不同之处在于今年因有疫情影响,许多店家可能会舍弃实体店面,改在网络上销售福袋。而网络购物活动往往比店面更早开始,也就是说被抢光的速度可能比往常要快得多。建议你尽早查看想购买的商店,以免错过真正想要的东西。

今年好好的买给自己福袋吧!

现在你已经大致了解日本的福袋文化了,何不趁刚好年底的现在给自己买福袋,一同来参与这个令人兴奋的日本传统呢? 即使只有1,000日元可以花,或者在新年期间以外的时间来日本,也一定会有一个福袋可以买!福袋的概念和习惯也慢慢向其他国家传开,即使不能亲自来日本或使用货运服务买到福袋的话,也可以看看自己所在地附近有没有什么福袋可以购买!

 

封面照片来源:PIXTA

本文提供信息均以公开时为准。

作者简介

Yuri
Yuri I.

搜寻餐厅

What’s the Deal with “Fukubukuro” Japanese Lucky Bags? An Insider Guide to Sales in Japan

Fukubukuro is a unique Japanese tradition where people buy mystery bags to see how lucky they get with the contents. In recent years, the practice has started slowly trickling to stores abroad, but there are still many people who are confused about it. What exactly is fukubukuro and how can you purchase your own Japanese lucky bag? Moreover, why should you consider buying a lucky bag? In this article, we answer these questions along with insider tips on how to win the game of fukubukuro and a list of some of the most popular lucky bags sold in Japan. If you’re a fan of shopping, this article is a definite must-read!

Nationwide

Shopping

What Is Fukubukuro?

Known in English as “lucky bags” or “mystery bags,” fukubukuro are literal bags filled with a random assortment of goods and sold at a substantial discount during special sales periods in Japan, the most notable of which is New Year’s Day. Each lucky bag is usually centered around a specific theme, such as beauty products or computer accessories. They are a long-standing tradition among the Japanese and are still beloved today as great opportunities to test your luck at nabbing a good deal.

Where Did Lucky Bags Come From?

Although it’s not known who exactly created and sold the first lucky bag, there are a few prominent theories.

Some say it was first sold in the Edo Period (1603-1868) as “Ebisu-bukuro” by Echigoya, a kimono fabric store in Nihonbashi, Tokyo that would later transform into the well-known Mitsukoshi department store of today. In order to get rid of excess stock, Echigoya stuffed bags with leftover cuts of fabric and sold them during a winter bargain sale at a discount. This took Edo (former name for Tokyo) by storm, leading to the custom still being practiced today.

Others claim that it was Daimaruya—a store that would later become the Daimaru department store the locals know and love today—who came up with the idea of fukubukuro during the Edo Period. They sold the lucky bags during the Ebisu-ko—a festival dedicated to Ebisu, the deity of trade and commerce—and New Year’s, which helped the custom take off and spread throughout the rest of Japan.

There’s a few who even claim that the fukubukuro was not created in the Edo Period, but later on during the Meiji Period (1868-1912) instead!

Regardless of when and who first came up with the idea, one common trait between all the theories is that it was a kimono fabric store that started this well-loved custom.

When Can You Buy Fukubukuro?

Most stores sell lucky bags during the New Year period (January 1-3). However, some may choose to sell fukubukuro a little earlier, starting from December 29th, while others will continue selling them throughout the entirety of January. Furthermore, some places require you to place a reservation for your lucky bag up to several months in advance!

If you happen to miss the big New Year sales period, don’t give up. Some stores have multiple big sales in a year where they might sell fukubukuro. Others regularly sell an assortment of lucky bags throughout the year, changing up their selection to match the occasion or season. When you do get the chance to visit Japan, take a look around and keep your eyes peeled for the 福袋 (fukubukuro in Japanese kanji characters) sign!

Insider Tips on Buying Lucky Bags

・It’s very easy to “lose” the fukubukuro game by purchasing certain types of bags, such as those from clothing stores. The clothing might not fit you and even if they do, they might not match your style or preferences. If you want to avoid the potential loss, consider buying fukubukuro from food-related stores such as restaurants and supermarkets.

・To maximize your chances of “winning,” look out for fukubukuro that give you a sneak peek at what’s inside. Nowadays, many lucky bags will give you a general idea of what’s in them, offer up a size range, or even be based around a specific brand, clothing item, color, etc. Some stores don’t even hide the contents of the lucky bags they sell!

・Only target stores that you are a fan of. That way, most of the items that you get will be things you like.
If you go to a physical store to buy fukubukuro, you can sometimes see people trading items that they didn’t like. Take that opportunity to trade items that you don’t like for stuff that you do! If you know enough Japanese, you can also try doing this on Twitter by posting a picture of your unwanted item along with some text detailing what you’d like to exchange it with and the hashtags #福袋交換 (fukubukuro exchange) and #[name of the store].

・Some stores require you to reserve your place in line to buy a fukubukuro, whether that be online or by going to the store to pick up a reservation number. We recommend researching in advance or showing up to the shop extra early to secure your lucky bag. It’s not unheard of for people to start lining up at 4 AM for a particularly popular fukubukuro!

・More and more stores are selling fukubukuro online now with the exact same contents as what you might get in store. Check online first before making the decision to purchase your lucky bag in person.
We recommend checking out this site for the latest information on when major stores will hold their fukubukuro sales: https://happy-bag.biz/category1/ (Japanese only)

Where to Buy Fukubukuro?

Fukubukuro are sold in all kinds of stores, with department stores, electronics retailers, restaurants, and clothing and makeup stores making up the majority. Some popular fukubukuro that are typically sold every year include:

Starbucks "Fukubukuro" Lucky Bag

Japan loves Starbucks. There are Starbucks stores with incredible, uniquely Japanese designs as well as one of the world's few Starbucks Reserve Roasteries here. This love also extends to the coffee chain's fukubukuro, which are sold a couple of times throughout the year.

Yodobashi Camera "Fukubukuro" Lucky Bag

Yodobashi Camera is one of the giants of electronics retailing in Japan, with the Akihabara store being especially popular among both locals and travelers. People queue outside its doors every New Year's hoping to score a laptop or game console at ridiculously cheap prices.

LUPICIA "Fukubukuro" Lucky Bag

LUPICIA is one of the most popular Japanese tea retailers in Japan thanks to its easy accessibility, reasonable prices, and wide selection. Every year, they sell lucky bags filled with a random assortment of Japanese tea sachets online. These bags are so popular that they often sell out well before Christmas!

KALDI "Fukubukuro" Lucky Bag

KALDI is one of Japan's most beloved international supermarkets. Every year, people eagerly line up outside its doors for a chance to buy one of its candy-filled fukubukuro.

Cosme Kitchen "Fukubukuro" Lucky Bag

Cosme Kitchen is where the Japanese go if they want to get some of the best natural or organic skincare, makeup, and body products in Japan.

Sanrio "Fukubukuro" Lucky Bag

If you love adorable Japanese characters, you certainly know about Sanrio! Sanrio's yearly lucky bags are incredibly popular with the Japanese masses, so you better be quick if you want to nab one.

 

Like all other years, pretty much anywhere that regularly sells fukubukuro should be selling lucky bags for the year of 2021-2022 as well. The difference is that due to COVID-19, there’s a higher chance that more retailers will choose to sell their fukubukuro online instead of in store. Online fukubukuro tend to go on sale much earlier than their in-store counterparts, which also means they get sold out a lot quicker. We recommend checking out the stores you wish to purchase from as early as possible to avoid missing out on something you really want.

Grab Yourself a Lucky Bag This Year!

Now that you know what to expect, why not take part in this exciting Japanese tradition by grabbing yourself a fukubukuro this year? Even if you only have 1,000 yen to spend or you come to Japan outside of the New Year period, there will definitely be a lucky bag out there for you. The concept of fukubukuro is also slowly spreading out to other countries as well, so even if you can’t come to Japan or make use of a forwarding service to purchase a lucky bag or two, it could be worth a try taking a look at what’s available near you.

 

Thumbnail credit: PIXTA

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search