百年風華經典再現:東京地下鐵・銀座線

如果您的東京之旅包含銀座商店、上野公園的博物館、淺草寺或澀谷的著名十字路口,便捷的銀座線將輕鬆帶您前往這些地點。根據一項以鐵道為中心的調查,當地人認為這條線路是東京最好的地鐵線,加上日本對電車的高標準,這肯定是一種高度讚揚和肯定。是什麼原因讓銀座線成為在地人心目中的第一名呢?

東京

實用資訊

銀座線:東京最受歡迎的電車線之一

「Transit News」網站(※)的一項調查,向受訪者詢問東京13條地下鐵線路中的哪條線路最常使用,以及哪些線路最方便。結果是銀座線得到壓倒性的勝利。在兩個問題中都名列前茅:40.3%的受訪者表示他們經常使用這條線路;40.8%的受訪者則認為它特別方便。順帶一提,只有丸之內線在這兩個問題中落後10分以內。

為什麼會得到這麼高分?受訪者給出了各種各樣的理由,讓我們一起看看是什麼。

※投票時間為2021年4月23日至26日;共907名受訪者,分為東京居住者與東京以外的居住者。
※這條東京的另一條標誌性鐵路山手線因非地下鐵,未包含在本次投票中。

1. 東邊的第一條地鐵線

銀座線最早於1927年開通,是第二條在歐美國家以外開通的地下鐵。(第一條則是阿根廷的首都布宜諾斯艾利斯。)

當時這條開創性的地下鐵,穿越了市中心與最熱鬧的地區,即上野淺草周圍的下町地區,向南延伸到日本橋銀座等主要商業區。如今這些地區的百貨公司數量可能不如以往,或者熱鬧程度不比過去的榮光,但直到現今仍屬於非常受歡迎地區。

因此當對於受訪者而言,銀座線是一條相當便捷的線路,可以到達東京大多主要地區。其他後來才建造的線路多半是在配合通勤路線,以拓展東京的交通網。然而銀座線的途經路線,可是連接了整個東京最繁忙的地區。

2. 車站在地底的位置較淺,容易出入

這可說是另一項優勢:因早期的技術,鐵道線路只能在街道下方開挖,而後來的技術進步,加上有了更多線路,其他線路必須在更深的地底打造,並且避開現有的線路。 銀座線車站平均深度只有9公尺,最多也就三層樓。最新的東京地鐵副都心線,其車站深度為27公尺之深。

對於這些新線路,從地面到檢票口再到月台,要通過一系列樓梯、電梯或無止境的自動手扶梯,如果使用者要推行李、嬰兒車或身障人士等,可能會是一趟較艱苦的路。 相比之下,銀座線的車站就更容易到達。

3. 快速且班次頻繁

銀座線的另一個優勢是它的班次:在早晨的高峰期間,一小時內運行約30趟列車(每2分鐘一趟),僅次於丸之內線。由於高頻率的班次,因此在高峰時段也不會太過擁擠(比東京一半以上的線路還不擁擠),而且也不容易出現延誤。

其中一個原因,可能是銀座線和丸之內線本身就不像其他屬於通勤線的地鐵線。雖然就某方面而言不太方便,但這也代表它們比較不會被其他轉乘線路上所發生的延遲給影響。

4. 時尚復古

銀座線的便利使許多遊客在旅途中經常需要使用它。為了讓遊客們留下最美好的東京印象,東京地下鐵投注大量心力,讓搭乘這條線路的旅程有愉快的美學體驗。

東京地鐵在2017年為銀座線訂購新列車時,特意讓銀座線的列車造型與風格回到最初的樣子。 「1000系列特殊設計」的車種是銀座線成立90週年之際推出的,其設計外觀與最初的1000系列相似,該系列自1927年銀座線成立以來,已運行約40年之久。其溫暖的木質內飾,使用的色彩、優雅的綠色座椅、具有時代感的老式燈具、燈光以及車頭前方那單顆的大燈,營造出令人懷念的老式氛圍。

目前運行中的40輛列車,只有兩輛是採用這種方式設計,若能遇見代表運氣很好呢!

5. 最新穎的車站

除了又新又美的電車車廂外,銀座線也重新整修了延路車站。2020年,該線路的五個車站(日本橋、京橋、銀座、青山一丁目和外苑前)重新設計打造,於「結合傳統與尖端」的核心理念下打造出優雅華美的風格。現在銀座站的月台牆上也展示這片地區的傳奇歷史,而京橋站則更傾向於歷史主題,於檢票處展示各種文物。

當然,還有令人驚嘆的現代澀谷站月台,於 2020年1月已正式啟用。極簡主義的設計和獨特的幾何形狀,正適合澀谷這個充滿創意的地方。畢竟這裡被視為全日本最知名,充滿「年輕與未來」的街區。

閃閃發光的黃金銀座線

因為銀座線的便利性和乘客友好感,它在電車迷中的評價會如此之高,也是顯而易見的。考慮到它沿線經過眾多著名的觀光景點,無論何時在東京旅行,您都可能有機會乘坐到這條線路。或許實際搭乘後,銀座線也將成為您最喜歡的日本鐵路之一!

封面照片來源: PIXTA

關東特輯

本文資訊均以公開時為準。


作者簡介

Koji
Koji Shiromoto

搜尋餐廳

Stylish And Functional! Everything You Need to Know About the Century-Old Ginza Line

If your visit to Tokyo includes the shops in Ginza, the museums of Ueno Park, Sensoji Temple in Asakusa, or the famous intersection in Shibuya, the convenient Ginza Line will take you there. According to a train-centric survey, locals consider the line to be Tokyo's best subway line, which is high praise considering Japan's stringent standards for trains. What makes the Ginza Line the best? Read on to find out!

Tokyo

Travel Tips

Buy Japanese Crafts Online click to get 10% off your first order - BECOS

Ginza Line - One of the Most Popular Tokyo Train Lines

A survey from the "Transit News" website* asked respondents which of Tokyo's 13 subway lines they used frequently, and which lines seemed the most convenient. The results were a ringing endorsement for the Ginza Line, which topped both survey questions: 40.3% of respondents said they use the line frequently, and 40.8% consider it to be particularly convenient. Only the Marunouchi Line came within 10 points of either score.

Why these high marks? Respondents gave a variety of responses - let's go through them one by one.

(Note: the Yamanote Line - Tokyo's other iconic railway line - does not run underground and was not included in this poll.)

1. The First Subway Line in the East

The first segment of the Ginza Line opened in 1927 and was the second underground to open outside of Europe or North America. (The first was - and here's a piece of trivia none of you are expecting - Buenos Aires.)

As you would expect, this pioneering subway line was constructed through the most central and popular parts of the city, which at the time was the Shitamachi area around Ueno and Asakusa, extending south to the major commercial areas of Nihombashi and Ginza. These areas might have fewer department stores than they used to, but they are still enormously popular today.

So when respondents note how the Ginza Line conveniently goes to all the right places, that was intentional. The other, later lines were designed to cater to commuters and were each designed to fulfill a specific role within a broader network. The Ginza Line, however, was literally meant to connect the busiest parts of Tokyo.

2. Shallow and Accessible

Here's another advantage to being first: early lines are dug just below street level, while later lines have to be dug deeper and deeper underground to avoid the existing lines. The stations of the Ginza Line are only 9 meters deep on average, which is three stories at most. Compare that to the latest Tokyo Metro, the Fukutoshin Line, whose stations are 27 meters deep!

For those new lines, getting from ground level to the fare gates and then the platform means navigating a series of stairs, elevators, or interminable escalators, which can be a pain if you're pushing luggage or a stroller or for those with disabilities. The Ginza Line's stations, by contrast, are much easier to get around!

3. Fast and Frequent

Another point in favor of the Ginza Line is its frequency: during the morning rush hour, it runs some 30 trains in one hour (one every 2 minutes), edged out only by the Marunouchi Line. This frequency allows it to be only moderately crowded during rush hours (less crowded than more than half of Tokyo's lines), and it's not particularly prone to delays either.

One possible reason? The Ginza and Marunouchi Lines don't offer direct service to commuter lines in the way that many subway lines do. This is inconvenient in some ways, but it means that they are not affected by any delays that occur on the connected lines.

4. Stylish and Retro

The Ginza Line's convenient route means that many a tourist comes across it during their travels. Wanting to make the best impression of Tokyo for them, Tokyo Metro has leaned into making the line a pleasurable experience aesthetically.

So, the last time that Tokyo Metro ordered new trainsets for the Ginza Line in 2017, it went back to the basics. The "1000 Series Special Design" cars were introduced on the Line's 90th anniversary and are designed to look like the original 1000 Series, which ran on the Ginza Line from its inception in 1927 for about forty years. Its warm, wood-oriented interior color scheme, elegant green seats, lights that resemble old-fashioned lamps, and the single headlight leading the way truly makes a convincing old-fashioned atmosphere.

For now, only two of the Line's 40 trainsets are designed in this way, so cross your fingers and hope you come across it!

5. And the Newest Stations

Accompanying the Ginza Line's new, beautiful train cars are its new, beautiful stations. Five of the line's stations (Nihombashi, Kyobashi, Ginza, Aoyama-itchome, and Gaiemmae) completed a redesign process in 2020. These elegant designs were created under the motif of "combining tradition and the cutting edge." Ginza Station now features images from the shopping district's storied past on the platform walls, while Kyobashi Station leant into a historical theme, with various artifacts being displayed by the faregates.

And of course, there is the stunning modern Shibuya Station platforms, which opened in January 2020. The minimalist design and distinctive sweeping geometry truly befits Shibuya, probably the most recognizably youthful and future-oriented neighborhood in all of Japan.

The Glittering Gold Ginza Line

Due to its convenience and customer-friendliness, it is clear why the Ginza Line is rated so highly amongst train fans. Considering its reach to numerous famous sightseeing spots, you are likely to get the chance to ride the line whenever you are traveling around Tokyo. Hopefully, you will agree with all the points mentioned by the Ginza Line fans and the Ginza Line will become one of your favorite Japanese train lines as well!

*The poll was between April 23-26, 2021; there were 907 respondents, divided between those from Tokyo and those outside it.

Title image: PIXTA

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Kanto Feature

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.


About the author

Koji
Koji Shiromoto

Restaurant Search