日本燒酌飲用指南:種類、10大人氣款項和美味飲法

馳名中外的日本清酒幾乎世界上沒有人沒聽說過,然而燒酌呢?燒酌是另一種日本傳統酒,又名日本燒酒,與清酒非常相似,有多種口味和類型。要了解燒酌是什麼,得先了解它與清酒的不同之處,之後再看看我們推薦給您的10種日本燒酌。繼續往下閱讀吧!

日本

美食

何謂燒酌?

※跳至介紹10種燒酌之清單 

燒酌(焼酎/しょうちゅう )是一種日本蒸餾酒,通常由馬鈴薯、小麥或大米製成。關於蒸餾法究竟是從何時哪裡引入的理論各不相同,但一般普遍認為用於製作燒酌的蒸餾法是在15世紀左右從亞洲大陸傳入日本的。除日本外,其他幾個亞洲國家也都有自己版本的燒酌,如中國燒酌和韓國燒酌。

然而就像威士忌一樣,燒酌這一大酒類中也有很多其他種類,蒸餾手法、原料和成分的差異會大幅度改變最後成品的味道。也就是說不論是以巨大塑膠瓶出售的平價款、大量生產的燒酌到限量蒸餾昂貴的手工燒酌,這些都會以「燒酌」二字名義販售。

燒酌與清酒的區別

燒酌是一種蒸餾酒,製作方式與威士忌、伏特加和其他蒸餾酒相同——將發酵的穀物或馬鈴薯混合物煮沸,稱為「醪液」,然後重新冷凝已取得的酒精蒸氣(沸點溫度低於水)。相比之下日本清酒(或稱日本酒)是用大米釀造,與用穀物釀造啤酒的方式大致相同。

因此燒酌的酒精含量相當高(通常在20%-45%之間),而清酒則更近於葡萄酒(通常在15%-20%左右)。這兩種酒的口味和用途也大不相同,各有自己的特點。

如何飲用燒酌

燒酌可以加入冰塊純飲,也可以用水或茶混搭,或當成各種調酒或雞尾酒的基酒。燒酌可是有日本伏特加的美稱!

冰鎮飲用會淡化一些味道,所以有些人喜歡直接飲用或用熱水混合飲用。如果用水混,1:1的比例是標準比例,也可以依照個人喜好調整。

其他常見的飲用方式是High Ball(或稱高球),主要是加入果汁去混合,例如結合梅酒,甚至也有與冰咖啡混合的版本!總體來說燒酌真的是一種用途廣泛的酒,這也是它如此出色的其中一個原因。

燒酌種類

以蒸餾法區分

 

燒酌根據使用的蒸餾法大致分為兩類。手法的差異不僅會影響口味,也會影響日本稅法下的分類。

・甲類(こうるい)燒酌

甲類燒酌是使用於江戶時代(1603 -1863 年)末期從英國進口的蒸餾方法,以一種有效的技術反覆蒸餾酒精,生產出雜質最少最乾淨清澈的燒酌。因此,甲類燒酌這個分類法裡的酒與其他燒酌的區別通常較小,但作為基酒來說是很好的選擇。 依日本國稅法區分被歸類為甲類燒酌的酒精含量必須低於36%。

・乙類(おつるい)燒酌(本格燒酌)

乙類通常也被稱為「本格燒酌(意思是真正的燒酌)」,是使用擁有數百年歷史名為「單式蒸餾」的蒸餾技術所製成,單式的意思即為醪液只蒸餾一次。據法律規定,乙類燒酌的酒精含量應低於45%,且需遵守許多嚴格限制和標準,如:可以使用的成分等。與採用甲類技術製成的燒酌不同,採用單式技術製成的乙類燒酌只經過一次蒸餾,因此成品中保留更多來自大米、小麥或馬鈴薯等穀物的風味和香氣,賦予每隻酒獨特的口感和特徵。

 

以原料區分

・芋焼酎 (地瓜)

芋燒酌是最常見的燒酌類型之一,由紅薯蒸餾而成,紅薯中含有大量天然糖分,使這種酒具有甜味和濃郁的香氣。芋燒酌的味道往往具有相當強烈的特徵,會使人有種它可能有經過人工調味的錯覺。這個味道的評價不一,喜歡它的人就會喜歡它,許多市面上最受推崇的燒酌都是屬於芋燒酌。

・麦焼酎 (大麥)

與芋燒酌相比,大麥製成的燒酌味道會更單純一些。帶有淡淡的果香,即使是初學者也可以很輕鬆的飲用。 也有許多使用大麥的著名燒酌品牌,因此可以用合理的價格買到相當美味的麥燒酌。

・米焼酎

多數的燒酌都是使用麥芽米作為基礎原料,但其實米也是一種常被用來作為主要成分的穀類。以傳統方式製作的米燒酌具有濃郁的香氣和酒體,對於某些燒酌新手來說可能有點強烈,但燒酌愛好者會非常喜歡。不過近年也慢慢出現一些較新的輕盈版米燒酌,味道更加清爽,有機會一定要嘗試這兩種不同的米燒酌。

・黒糖焼酎

黑糖燒酌僅在鹿兒島縣南部海域中的奄美群島生產,是一種更獨特的燒酌類型。以乾淨易飲的味道而聞名,令人耳目一新。

・蕎麦焼酎

與最常見的燒酌(紅薯、大麥或米燒酌)相比,蕎麥的味道更加純淨,甜味溫和,深受燒酌初學者和不喜歡烈酒刺激的人歡迎。此外它的卡路里含量也較低,比其他品種略為健康(所有酒類都應適當飲用)。

・泡盛 (沖繩燒酌)

沖繩的特殊燒酌稱為「泡盛」,由茉莉香米(非日本粳稻,如米燒酌便是使用日本米)製成,使用一種稱為「黒麴」的特殊麥芽米作為醪液的基礎,產出的酒具有醇厚的味道非常清爽。酒精含量有時高達43%。泡盛被普遍認為是日本最古老的燒酌,已有500多年的歷史,所非常值得一試。

10種您一定要嘗試的知名人氣燒酌

いいちこ(Iichiko)

"いいちこ" by s9727 is licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0

 

三和酒類公司出品的「いいちこ」是知名且深受喜愛的燒酌品牌,其中的燒酌種類繁多,從平價到高級皆有(包括幾種有在海外銷售的)。いいちこ有好幾款燒酌都值得一試,特別推薦的是Iichiko Special,是一種陳年、香氣濃郁的本格燒酌。Iichiko Special表現非常出色,曾在2020年東京威士忌與烈酒大賽中獲得一等獎,擊敗其他257種燒酌奪得第一名。不論是直接喝、加入冰塊或混入飲用水都很美味。

黒霧島

"黒霧島" by arty822 is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

「霧島酒造」是宮崎縣著名的釀酒公司,100多年前就開始生產燒酌。當時釀造的燒酌會在醪液中使用「黑麴」,而現今生產的黑霧島也繼承這一傳統。這是一種具有獨特的濃稠甜味和清脆餘味的芋燒酌。能在日本國內各地買到。

赤霧島

"赤霧島!" by cyberwonk is licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0

 

霧島酒造的另一支受歡迎的燒酌是「赤霧島」,主要原料是一種叫作「紫優」的特殊紅薯,並加入麥芽米,使醪液呈現鮮豔的紅色而得名。赤霧島喝起來甜味十足,具有特有的濃郁香氣。有機會一定要試試這兩種霧島燒酌!

魔王

"魔王" by yutacar is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

 

「魔王」是鹿兒島的一家釀酒廠生產的本格芋燒酌,有100多年的歷史。在2000年代中期日本第三次燒酌熱潮期間,魔王受到了高度關注,自此便成為最受歡迎的燒酌之一,網路售價有時甚至比平常價格高達三倍。魔王是一種陳年燒酌,以其醇厚、易飲用的味道和極好持久的回味而聞名。如果有機會一定要嘗試一下,千萬不要錯過!

しろ

"白岳" by Flying Pterodactyl is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

 

しろ在日語中的意思是「白」,是由「高橋酒造」製作的本格米燒酒。這支酒最適合與正餐搭配享用,其溫和清爽的味道幾乎可以與任何菜餚相得益彰。しろ非常多才多藝,與冰塊的搭配得非常出色,可以作為High Ball的基酒,甚至可以與番茄汁混合!如果發現自己在有供應しろ的日本餐廳享用美食,可以試著嘗試一下!

一刻者

 

一刻者是宮崎縣的另一款本格芋燒酌,特別之處在於其用來發酵的原料也同樣使用麥芽紅薯(大多數其他燒酌都使用麥芽米)製成的,使其成為100%由紅薯製成的燒酌。 對某些人來說可能會有點激烈,但芋燒酌愛好者肯定可以好好享受這支酒豐富的口感和濃郁的香氣。 只要您能掌握品嚐燒酌的精髓,肯定是會想嘗試的一支酒。

富乃宝山

"TOMI NO HOZAN" by rhosoi is licensed under CC BY 2.0

 

「富乃宝山」是另一家位於鹿兒島的釀酒廠「西酒造」生產的三種主要燒酌之一。該公司對燒酌的原料非常講究,甚至自己經營紅薯農場,也就是說從原料生產到產品製造的每一步都是經過自家公司嚴格把關。由此產生的本格燒酌清脆帶有可愛的柑橘味,使其在與其他對手的競爭中脫穎而出。

いその波平

 

「いその波平」最初是為慶祝著名漫畫《海螺小姐》45週年而製作的一種特殊燒酌。只是它太受歡迎以至於在廣大愛好者要求下,改為酒廠常設生產產品。いその波平是一種未經濾的芋燒酌,充滿鮮味和甜味又不會有太強烈的異味,非常易於飲用。

久米仙

 

「泡盛」的酒絕對值得要用一篇完整的文章好好介紹才是,因此本文也絕不會遺漏泡盛旗下所產的酒種!久米仙是沖繩久米島的人氣酒。泡盛是使用從地下抽取的美味天然泉水製成,幾乎每一步都是手工完成的。由此產生的泡盛果味濃郁、新鮮,幾乎任何人都可以輕鬆享用。

三岳

 

「三岳」是一種本格芋燒酌,產於屋久島。屋久島是鹿兒島南部海域附近的一個島嶼,島上有許多世界自然遺產。屋久島擁有大量獨特未受破壞的生態系統。全年降雨量大,擁有令人難以置信的淡水儲存量。這種淡水用於製作每年限量生產的三岳燒酌,因此也比較難買到。當您享用一杯三岳時,不妨嘗試將其與溫水混合飲用,以真正激發出它奇妙的香氣和風味。

好好享受這較低調的日本燒酌!

大多數人一提到日本的酒,第一個想到的就是清酒(日本酒) ,但燒酌也是個不容錯過的好酒。用途廣泛,味道鮮美!下次身在日本(或海外的日本餐廳)點酒時,何不試著嚐嚐看燒酌呢?

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

10 Japanese Shochu You Should Try

Almost everyone has heard of Japanese sake before, but what about shochu? Shochu is another of Japan's traditional alcoholic beverages that, much like sake, comes in a huge variety of flavors and types. To find out what it is, learn how it's different than sake, and see our list of 10 recommended Japanese shochu to try, keep reading!

Nationwide

Food & Drinks

What Is Shochu, Anyway?

*Jump to the list of 10 shochu to try

Shochu (焼酎) is a Japanese distilled liquor that is typically made from potatoes, wheat, or rice. It's thought that the distilling method used to make shochu was introduced to Japan around the 15th century from mainland Asia, although theories vary about exactly where it was introduced from. Other than Japan, several other Asian countries have their own version of the beverage, such as "shaojiu" in China and "soju" in Korea. 

However, much like whiskey, there is huge variety within the general category of "shochu," with variances in distilling method and ingredients completely changing the final product. This means that everything from cheap, mass-produced shochu sold in giant plastic bottles to expensive, craft shochu distilled in limited batches can be found sold under the umbrella of shochu.

Shochu Vs. Sake - What's the Difference?

Shochu is a distilled liquor, meaning it is made in the same way that whisky, vodka, and other distilled liquors are made—by boiling a fermented mixture of grains or potatoes called a "mash" and recondensing the captured alcohol vapor (which boils at a lower temperature than water). In contrast, sake or "nihonshu" as it is called in Japanese, is brewed from rice in much the same way that beer is brewed from grains. 

As such, shochu has a fairly high alcohol content (usually between 20 and 45%) whereas sake is closer to wine (usually around 15% - 20%). The flavors and uses of the two drinks, too, are quite different, each with its own unique characteristics. 

How to Drink Shochu

Shochu is commonly enjoyed on the rocks, cut with water or tea, or used as a base for myriad mixed drinks and cocktails. It can basically be thought of as Japanese vodka! 

Drinking it chilled will of course dull down some of the flavors, so some people like to drink it straight or cut with hot water. If cutting it with water, a 1:1 ratio is fairly standard, although this really comes down to personal preference.

Other popular ways to drink it are as a highball, mixed with fruit juice, combined with umeshu(another delicious Japanese alcohol), or even blended with iced coffee! It's really quite a versatile liquor, which is part of what makes it so great. 

Types of Shochu

Two Distilling Methods

 

Shochu is broadly classified by the distilling method used. This difference affects not only the taste but also the classification under Japan's tax laws.

Kourui  (甲類) Shochu

Kourui shochu uses a distilling method imported from England near the end of the Edo Period(1603 -1863) that repeatedly distills the alcohol in an efficient technique to produce a clean, clear shochu with minimal impurities. Kourui shochu thus typically has less character to set it apart from other shochu, but is good as a base for mixed drinks. Under tax law, shochu classified as kourui must have less than 36 percent alcohol by volume.

Otsurui (乙類) Shochu (Honkaku Shochu)

Commonly called "honkaku" shochu (meaning "real" shochu), otsurui shochu is made with the centuries-old "tanshiki" distilling technique, meaning the mash is only distilled once. Under the law, liquor sold as otsurui shochu should have less than 45% alcohol and needs to adhere to many strict guidelines limiting the ingredients that can be used. As opposed to shochu made with the Kourui technique, shochu made with the tanshiki technique is only distilled a single time, so more of the flavors and scents from the rice, wheat, or potatoes remain in the finished product, lending distinct tastes and characteristics to each shochu made. 

 

Types of Shochu Based on Ingredients Used

Imo-Jochu (Sweet Potato Shochu)

One of the most common types of shochu, imo-jochu is distilled from sweet potatoes, which have plenty of natural sugar in them and give the drink a sweetness and strong aroma. Imo shochu tends to have fairly strong characteristics to its flavor, so it can be a bit of an acquired taste, but those who love it, love it, and many of the most highly-regarded shochu are imo-jochu.

Mugi-jochu (Barley Shochu)

Compared with imo-jochu, mugi-jochu is typically a bit cleaner tasting, with a fruity aroma that makes it fairly easy to drink even for shochu beginners. There are many famous shochu brands that use barley, so it is also easy to get your hands on a reasonably-priced yet tasty bottle. 

Kome-Jochu (Rice Shochu)

Most types of shochu use malted rice as a base for the mash, but kome-jochu uses it as the main ingredient, as well. Kome-jochu made in the traditional way features a rich aroma and full body that can be a bit intense for some shochu newbies but is enjoyed by shochu lovers. However, some newer "soft type" kome-jochu instead has a light and crisp taste, so be sure to try both kinds.

Kokuto Shochu (Brown Sugar Shochu)

Kokuto shochu is only made in the Amami Islands off the southern coast of Kagoshima Prefecture, making it one of the more unique types of shochu. It's known for having a clean and easy-to-drink flavor that is quite refreshing. 

Soba-jochu (Buckwheat Shochu)

Compared to the most common types of shochu (sweet potato, barley, or rice shochu) soba-jochu has an even cleaner taste and gentle sweetness that makes it popular with shochu beginners and people who don't like overly pungent alcohol. It is also lower in calories, making it slightly healthier than the other varieties as well (everything in moderation, though). 

Awamori (Okinawan Shochu)

Okinawa's special type of shochu, called "awamori," is made from Jasmine rice (instead of Japanese (Japonica) rice, as with kome-jochu) and uses a particular kind of malted rice called "kuro koji" as the base of the mash. The resulting liquor has a mellow flavor and is quite refreshing, even though the alcohol content can sometimes be as high as 43%. Awamori is generally considered to be the oldest type of shochu in Japan, with a history going back more than 500 years, so be sure to give it a try.

10 Famous and Popular Shochu Worth Trying

Iichiko Special (いいちこ)

"いいちこ" by s9727 is licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0

 

Iichiko is a well-known and loved shochu brand that boasts a wide variety of shochu in its lineup, running the gamut from cheap to premium (including several that are available overseas). There are several shochu from Iichiko worth trying, but one in particular is the Iichiko Special, an aged honkaku shochu with a rich aroma. Iichiko special is so good that it won first prize at the 2020 Tokyo Whisky & Spirits Competition, beating out 257 other shochu to claim the top spot. This shochu is delicious straight, on the rocks, or cut with water.

Kuro Kirishima (黒霧島)

"黒霧島" by arty822 is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

Kirishima Shuzo is a famous brewing company in Miyazaki Prefecture that started making shochu more than 100 years ago. The shochu brewed at that time used "kuro koji" (black malted rice) in the mash, and the Kurokirishima line produced to this day carries on that tradition. It is an imo-jochu (sweet potato shochu) that has a characteristic thick sweetness and crisp finish. It is also fairly easy to find across the country, so you shouldn't have any trouble getting your hands on a bottle while in Japan. 

Aka Kirishima (赤霧島)

"赤霧島!" by cyberwonk is licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0

 

Another popular shochu in Kirishima Shuzo's lineup is the Aka Kirishima (red Kirishima), thus named because the special "Murasaki Masari" sweet potatoes used as the main ingredient react with the malted rice, turning the mash a vivid shade of red. Aka Kirishima is also sweet, with a characteristic, strong aroma. Try comparing both of these Kirishima shochu if you can!

Maou (魔王)

"魔王" by yutacar is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

 

Maou is a honkaku imo-joju (sweet potato shochu) made by a brewery in Kagoshima that is more than 100 years old. However, Maou gained its popularity during Japan's third big "shochu boom" in the mid 2000s and has been one of the most sought-after shochu ever since, sometimes fetching as much as three times its retail value when sold online. Maou is an aged shochu that is known for its mellow, easy-to-drink flavor and superb, lingering aftertaste. If you get a chance to try it out, don't miss it!

Shiro (しろ)

"白岳" by Flying Pterodactyl is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

 

Shiro, which means "white" in Japanese, is a honkaku kome-jochu (rice shochu) made by Takahashi Shuzo. It is intended to be enjoyed paired with a meal, and its gentle and refreshing taste complements almost any dish. Shiro is quite versatile, and is excellent on the rocks, as a base for a highball, or even mixed with tomato juice! If you find yourself enjoying a meal at a Japanese restaurant that serves Shiro, give it a try!

Ikkomon (一刻者)

 

Ikkomon is another honkaku imo-jochu (sweet potato shochu) from Miyazaki Prefecture, but what sets it apart is that even the base of the mash is made using malted sweet potatoes (most other shochu use malted rice), making it a 100% sweet potato shochu. It might be a bit intense for some, but imo-jochu-lovers will thoroughly enjoy the rich mouthfeel and deep aroma of the drink. Once you get familiar with shochu, this is one that you'll definitely want to try. 

Tomi no Hozan (富乃宝山)

"TOMI NO HOZAN" by rhosoi is licensed under CC BY 2.0

 

Tomi no Hozan is one of the three main shochu produced by Nishi Shuzo, another distillery based in Kagoshima. The company is so particular about the ingredients that go into its shochu that it even owns and operates its own sweet potato farm, meaning it truly handles every step of the production process, all the way down to the growing and harvesting of the sweet potatoes themselves. The resulting honkaku shochu is crisp, with lovely notes of citrus that make it stand apart from its competitors. 

Iso no Namihei (いその波平)

 

Iso no Namihei was originally created as a special one-off shochu for a party celebrating the 45th anniversary of the famous manga called "Sazae-san." However, it was such a hit that people requested that it be produced as a normal part of the distillery's lineup. Iso no Namihei is an unfiltered imo-jochu (sweet potato shochu) that is filled with umami and sweetness while being remarkably free from off-tastes, making it easy to drink.

Kumesen (久米仙)

 

Awamori could have its own article dedicated to brands worth trying, so we would be remiss not to include at least one in this article. Kumesen is a popular awamori brand made on Kume Island in Okinawa. The awamori is made using delicious, natural spring water drawn from underground, below the distillery, and almost every step of the process is done by hand. The resulting awamori is fruity, fresh, and easy to enjoy for almost anyone.

Mitake (三岳)

 

Mitake is a honkaku imo-jochu (sweet potato shochu) made on Yakushima, an island and World Natural Heritage Site off the southern coast of Kagoshima. Yakushima is home to a unique ecosystem and huge stretches of untouched nature, and the island has incredibly fresh groundwater thanks to a very high volume of rainfall throughout the year. This fresh water is used to make Mitake shochu, which is produced in limited batches each year, making it a bit more difficult to find. When you enjoy a glass of Mitake (hopefully during a stay on Yakushima), try it mixed with warm water to really draw out all the marvelous aromas and flavors. 

Enjoy Shochu - Japan's Less-Known Alcoholic Beverage!

Sake is the first alcohol that comes to mind for most people when they think of Japan, but shochu shouldn't be missed, either. It's versatile, delicious, and has so much more depth to it than meets the eye! The next time you're ordering drinks in Japan (or at a Japanese restaurant somewhere), why not give shochu a try?

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search