前往日本最南端的冲绳度过悠闲时光!

透明度傲视全球的“美丽海”,悠游于珊瑚礁之间的缤纷鱼群,保有全球罕见独特生态的山原之森,受地理环境影响而产生的独特文化等,都是造就冲绳成为人气观光景点的原因。本文将为各位介绍冲绳的基本信息,希望能让大家了解游客为其着迷的魅力所在。

冲绳县

体验

冲绳的地理位置

冲绳县位于日本列岛西南方,南北长约400km,东西约1,000km,由散布于广阔海域的160座岛屿所组成。冲绳县的陆地面积占日本的总面积约1%,人口也同样占日本总人口的1%左右。 

冲绳县是日本唯一全境都属于亚热带海洋性气候的地区,气候高温潮湿,年度降雨量也很多。冲绳县的年温差是日本最小的,一年四季都很温暖。在海风吹拂下,即使是盛夏时期,白天的最高气温也很少超过35℃。再加上严冬时期也几乎不会低于10℃,一年四季都气候宜人。

冲绳文化的基础!越了解越有意思的冲绳历史

关于冲绳何时开始有人类居住,目前尚未有定论,不过由冲绳县各地出土的化石人骨等证据来看,推测约在距今32,000年前左右。

冲绳一直到10世纪为止,都还维持着狩猎采集的生活方式,直到12世纪才进入农耕社会,步入15世纪后,当时冲绳三大势力统一,琉球王朝也就此诞生。其后琉球发展为一个繁荣的海洋国家,积极与中国、东亚、东南亚、朝鲜、日本等周围国家之间从事贸易。

到了1609年,在萨摩藩(现在的鹿儿岛县)的武力侵犯下,琉球被纳入萨摩藩的统治下,但与海外诸国的贸易并未中断,在吸取日本与中国的文化下,独特的琉球文化也逐步成形。

1879年,琉球王国在明治维新的影响下灭亡,被编列为冲绳县。其后冲绳历经太平洋战争、战后美军统治等复杂的历史,这些复杂又多样的历史所遗留下来的文化,至今已成为冲绳的魅力之一。

冲绳各地简介

北部

北部由三大区域所构成,分别是以国头村、东村、大宜味村为主的山原地区,位于西北方的本部半岛地区,以及四处可见度假饭店、人气休闲设施的名护及恩纳地区。山原地区约有80%的面积是照叶林,国定自然纪念物冲绳秧鸡、野口啄木鸟等稀有动物栖息于此,是一个拥有丰富的大自然的地区。你可以在此从事健行、海上泛舟、划艇等自然行程。

本部半岛地区有许多人气观光景点,诸如美丽海水族馆、世界遗产今归仁城迹等。
名护及恩纳地区则拥有许多壮观景点,例如万座毛、真荣田岬、青之洞窟等。

中部

此地区位于冲绳本岛正中央。由于美军基地分布于此,因此文化上深受美国影响。港川外国人住宅区曾是美军与其家人的居住区域,聚集了许多时髦的咖啡厅与店家,近来十分受到瞩目。你也可以经由宇流麻市的海中道路,前往滨比嘉岛、伊计岛等离岛,在壮阔的景色中享受兜风之趣。世界遗产中城城迹、座喜味城迹、胜连城迹也都座落于此地区。

南部

冲绳县的县厅所在地那霸市,就位于南部地区。而冲绳的航空大门——那霸机场,也位于这个地区。你可以在观光重镇的那霸及首里地区,游览曾是琉球王国王城、繁华一时的首里城迹(正殿等部分于2019年的火灾中烧毁),冲绳首屈一指的圣地——斋场御岳,以及可以享受购物与当地美食的国际通等。

南部地区同时也是太平洋战争末期时,日美两军展开激烈地面战的地区。这里有许多冲绳战役的相关设施,例如战殁者慰灵塔、和平纪念公园、姬百合之塔等,你可以在此重新思考和平的意义。

离岛

冲绳由分布于广阔海域中的160座岛屿所组成,其中有人岛为47座,无人岛为113座(截至2018年1月止)。其中许多岛屿都有其独特的魅力,例如可以欣赏停泊于湾内的玻璃船等景象的“石垣岛”,拥有美丽海滩及丰富珊瑚礁、人称“东洋第一白色沙滩”的“宫古岛”,传统赤瓦屋顶的房舍林立、保有冲绳传统景色的“竹富岛”,以及布满原生林、众多国定自然纪念物栖息其间的“西表岛”等,都让游客深深着迷。

一年四季都温暖!冲绳的气候

如前所述,冲绳气候最大的特色就在于年温差很小。而且虽然不如本州明显,但在冲绳仍可感受到四季之别。冲绳的平均气温以7月到8月最高,1月最低。降雨量最多的则是5月到6月的梅雨季节,以及台风较多的8月到9月之间。至于梅雨结束后的7月与冬季,降雨量会比较少。

春季(3月~5月)

冲绳春季的特色,就在于天气变化较大。在这个季节,天气每隔几天就会有所变化,时而闷热,时而略凉。气温会随着上述变化而缓缓上升,并于5月上旬进入梅雨季节。春季的平均气温约为21℃,降雨量则为150mm左右。(图为每年5月于冲绳各地举办的传统节庆“龙舟赛”)

夏季(6月~8月)

当6月初至中旬的梅雨结束后,就会进入盛夏时期。此时的最高气温会超过30℃,紫外线也会变强,必须做好防晒准备。8月~9月则是台风季节。其中8月是全年台风生成数量与接近冲绳数量最多的时期,降雨量也会在这段期间增加。夏季的平均气温为28.2℃,降雨量则为362.5mm左右。

秋季(9月~11月)

每到这个季节,天气就会忽冷忽热,气温也会跟着越来越低。到了10月前后,就会受大陆高气压影响而吹起季风,逐步带来冬天的气息。此时的日晒会转弱,早晚天气较凉,可以说是最适合观光的季节。一直到10月底为止都可以从事水上运动。春季的平均气温约为25.6℃,降雨量则为239.3mm左右。

冬季(12月~2月)

整体而言,冲绳的冬季阴雨天较多,有时会受北风影响而感觉较冷。不过以浓郁粉红色为特征的琉球寒绯樱,会于1月下旬的本岛北部及2月的南部绽放。如果你想欣赏日本每年最早绽放的樱花,建议可以在这段期间到冲绳一游。春季的平均气温约为19.3℃,降雨量则为97.1mm左右。

从东京、大阪、福冈前往冲绳的交通方式

日本各地的机场都有班机飞往冲绳,空中交通十分方便。尤其是羽田机场每天平均有30个航班飞往冲绳,在规划行程时十分方便。目前由于受到新冠疫情影响,航班数有所减少,安排行程前切记要先确认航班信息。

如果想节省机票钱,建议可以利用大型航空公司的早鸟预约折扣,或者搭乘廉价航空。如果选择搭乘廉航,就可以省少不少交通费,不过也有无法变更航班、机内服务需要另外付费、托运行李必须加价等缺点,可别忘了要一并纳入考虑。

从东京出发

每天约有30个航班从东京羽田机场飞往那霸机场。从东京飞往那霸约需2小时40分钟,经济舱的票价约为9,000~50,000日元(因季节而异)。

从大阪出发

每天约有6个航班从大阪关西国际机场飞往那霸机场(截至2021年5月止)。从大阪飞往那霸约需2小时10分钟,经济舱的票价约为9,000~40,000日元(因季节而异)。

从福冈出发

每天约有20个以上的航班从福冈机场飞往那霸机场。从福冈飞往那霸约需1小时40分钟,经济舱的票价约为5,000~35,000日元(因季节而异)。

总结

透明度傲视全球的海洋,稀有动物栖息其中的照叶林,可以体验独特文化与历史的观光景点等,都是冲绳深深吸引游客的魅力之一。有机会的话请一定要到冲绳一游,亲身感受一下其魅力所在。

本文提供信息均以公开时为准。

Weibo

搜寻餐厅

A Beginner's Guide to Okinawa: Relax in Japan’s Southernmost Islands Where Time Slows Down

Okinawa has so many wonderful things to offer! From the world-famous crystal-clear waters of the Churaumi sea, to the schools of colorful fish swimming gracefully through the islands’ coral reefs, to the unique ecosystem of the Yanbaru forest found nowhere else in the world, and the unique culture of Okinawa that emerged among all of these amazing locations. In this article, we will highlight some of the best things about Okinawa that have long enchanted visitors.

Okinawa

Things to Do

Where Is Okinawa Located?

Okinawa is a prefecture located in the southwest of the Japanese Archipelago, comprised of 160 islands spread across an area stretching 400 km from north to south, and 1,000 km from east to west. It only makes up 1% of Japan’s total area, just as its residents only account for 1% of Japan’s total population. But Okinawa has something that the rest of Japan doesn’t: it’s entirely located within a subtropical oceanic climate zone, which is characterized by high temperatures, high humidity, and heavy rainfall.

Okinawa actually experiences the smallest seasonal temperature differences of all the Japanese prefectures and has warm, mild weather year-round. Thanks to the ocean breeze, the temperature in summertime rarely goes above 35℃. And in winter, it’s rare for it to drop below 10℃, making Okinawa a great place to visit all year round.

Learn About Okinawa's History to Better Understand and Enjoy Its Culture!

It’s not certain when people first started settling on Okinawa’s islands, but the oldest fossils and human remains unearthed throughout the archipelago are about 32,000 years old. Up until the 10th century, Okinawans led a hunter-gatherer lifestyle, but in the 12th century, they switched to an agricultural society. Then in the 15th century, Okinawa changed from three independent kingdoms into a unified nation, giving birth to the Ryukyu dynasty. The Ryukyu kingdom prospered as a seafaring nation, trading with nearby territories including China, Korea, and mainland Japan. 

In 1609, the Satsuma Domain (modern-day Kagoshima Prefecture) invaded and subjugated Okinawa, but its trade with foreign countries continued and Okinawa's unique culture continued to be influenced by other places such as China and mainland Japan.

In 1879, in the aftermath of the Meiji Restoration, the kingdom of Ryukyu was abolished and replaced with Okinawa Prefecture. After WW2, the island came under the control of the American military, which added a further layer of complexity to Okinawa's history. However, this interesting and rich history is just another thing that adds to Okinawa's allure. 

What Are Okinawa’s Various Areas Like?

Northern Okinawa

Northern Okinawa is made up of Yanbaru, which is centered around the villages of Kunigami, Higashi, and Ogimi; the Motobu Peninsula in the northwest; and the Nago and Onna areas known for their many resort hotels and popular leisure facilities.

About 80% of Yanbaru is covered by an evergreen forest which is home to many rare animals and designated national natural monuments like the Okinawa rail and the Okinawa woodpecker. The best way to experience the area is by hiking, kayaking, canoeing, or some other form of nature tour.

The Motobu Peninsula is home to many popular tourist spots like the Churaumi Aquarium or the Nakijin Castle Ruins, a registered World Heritage Site. 

The Nago and Onna areas, on the other hand, are famous for being a treasure trove of scenic spots, including Cape Manzamo, Cape Maeda, and the Okinawa Blue Cave.

Central Okinawa

The central part of Okinawa's main island is dotted with US military bases and as such, the area is a center for American culture, with places like the popular StateSide Town (once a residential area for American soldiers and their families) which is full of chic cafes and shops. If you’re more into sightseeing, take a relaxing drive down one of Uruma’s marine roads that connect the city to the remote islands of Hamahiga or Ikei and enjoy the spectacular scenery along the way. Central Okinawa is also home to the World Heritage Sites of the Nakagusuku Castle Ruins, the Zakimi Castle Ruins, and the Katsuren Castle Ruins.

Southern Okinawa

Southern Okinawa includes the city of Naha, the seat of Okinawa’s prefectural government, as well as Naha Airport, the gateway to the islands. Popular tourist spots around the Naha and Shuri areas include the remains of Shuri Castle (large parts of which, including the main building, were destroyed in a 2019 fire), which used to serve as the royal palace in the days of the Ryukyu kingdom. There is also Sefa-Utaki, one of the most sacred spots in all of Okinawa, as well as shopping and good dining at International Street (Kokusai-dori).

Southern Okinawa was also where American and Japanese forces clashed during WW2, which is why the area is full of war monuments and features a peace memorial park, as well as the Himeyuri Memorial Tower, all to remind people about the importance of peace.

Outer Islands

Okinawa is made up of 160 islands spread out across a vast ocean. Among them, 47 are inhabited, with the remaining 113 being uninhabited (as of January 2018). Points of interest include Ishigaki Island, where you can enjoy exciting glass-bottom boat tours, or Miyakojima Island, known for its coral reefs and for having "the whitest beaches in the East.” There is also Taketomi Island, which preserves Okinawa’s traditional red-tile-roofed houses, as well as Iriomote Island, home to primeval forests and many designated national natural monuments. Okinawa's islands have so much to offer, and it’s easy to see why people from all over the world come to visit them.

Okinawa's Climate - Pleasant Weather All Year Round!

As mentioned above, Okinawa boasts only a small temperature difference throughout the year. However, although less noticeable than other parts of Japan, it still experiences four seasons. July - August is when average temperatures in Okinawa are the highest, while January is when they’re the lowest. Okinawa also experiences a lot of rainfall, with May - June being the annual rainy season, and typhoons occurring frequently in August - September. However, once the rainy season concludes in July, or during winter, Okinawa actually sees very little rain.

Spring (March – May)

Okinawan spring is when the weather can change on a dime. Between March and May, you can expect various weather cycles. Sometimes it will be muggy, other times it will be chilly. You can never be certain what the weather will be like when it comes to Okinawan spring. But what’s certain is that the temperatures will continue to climb. Early May is the beginning of the rainy season when the average temperature is around 21℃ and the average rainfall is about 150 mm. (The picture above shows a traditional “Haarii” dragon boat race held every May.)

Summer (June – August)

From early to mid-June, the rainy season is coming to an end and Okinawa enters summer. During this time, average temperatures are often over 30℃, and with a high UV index, wearing sunblock is a must. August - September is Okinawa’s typhoon season. You’ll see most of them hit or approach the islands during the first month of that cycle, which will be accompanied by heavy rains (362.5 mm on average). The average temperature during this period is 28.2℃.

Autumn (September – November)

In autumn, the weather in Okinawa alternates between warm and cold as the temperatures steadily fall. Around October, high pressure from the mainland brings with it seasonal winds and Okinawa starts to feel that winter is slowly approaching. The sun isn’t as strong and mornings are brisk, which makes October the perfect time to visit the islands. You can even enjoy marine sports up until the end of the month. The average autumn temperature is 25.6℃ while the average rainfall is 239.3 mm.

Winter (December – February)

Okinawa sees a lot of clouds and rain during winter, which is accompanied by chilly northern winds. However, around mid to late January, in the north of the main island (February in the southern regions), you can enjoy Okinawa’s famous Ryukyu-Hizakura cherry blossoms. Okinawa is the first place in all of Japan where cherry trees start to blossom, and many people visit the islands just to see them. The average winter temperature is 19.3℃ while the average rainfall is 97.1 mm.

Access from Tokyo, Osaka, or Fukuoka

Okinawa is easily accessible via plane from any Japanese airport. Haneda Airport in particular offers about 30 flights to Okinawa a day, making it very easy to plan your trip there. Currently, because of the coronavirus pandemic, some of those flights have been canceled, so please make sure to check the available flight information beforehand.

If you want to save a little money on the plane costs, take advantage of the early reservation discount system offered by major airlines or use a low-cost carrier (LCC). An LCC will definitely get you to Okinawa on the cheap, but remember that you can’t change your reservation and that their in-flight services are normally not free. Plus, you may be charged additional baggage fees, so keep this in mind when you’re deciding on how to get to Okinawa.

Access from Tokyo

Tokyo’s Haneda Airport offers around 30 flights to Okinawa’s Naha Airport a day. The flight takes about 2 hours and 40 minutes, and costs anywhere between 9,000 and 50,000 yen, depending on what class you’re flying. Prices may also change depending on the season.
 

Access from Osaka

Osaka’s Kansai International Airport offers around six flights to Okinawa’s Naha Airport a day (as of May 2021). The flight takes about 2 hours and 10 minutes, and costs anywhere between 9,000 and 40,000 yen, depending on what class you’re flying. Prices may also change depending on the season.

Access from Fukuoka

Fukuoka Airport offers around 20 flights to Okinawa’s Naha Airport a day. The flight takes about 1 hour and 40 minutes, and costs anywhere between 5,000 and 35,000 yen, depending on what class you’re flying. Prices may also change depending on the season.

There's Something for Everyone in Okinawa!

From world-famous crystal-clear waters to evergreen forests teeming with rare and exotic animals, not to mention the islands’ unique culture and history, Okinawa has something for everyone. It’s easy to see why so many people keep visiting the islands.

Experience all the wonders of Okinawa and visit on your next trip to Japan!

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search