【鹿兒島自由行】來去鹿兒島與指宿走一遭!盡情享受溫泉、美景、美食的療癒放鬆之旅

在擁有壯闊自然景緻與悠哉度假風情的九州鹿兒島縣,能夠悠哉地細細觀賞美麗風景、舒服地享受優質溫泉,遠離都會的喧囂與繁忙。本篇文章實地走訪了鹿兒島與溫泉勝地指宿地區知名的觀光景點、秘境與美食,以及鹿兒島市中心的購物景點等,只要善加規劃,相信會是一段讓您能飽嚐美食、享受購物血拚、透過溫泉療癒身心的愜意之旅。

鹿兒島

玩樂

關於鹿兒島的溫泉

九州因擁有多座活火山,故溫泉地熱資源也相當豐富,當中又以擁有100個溫泉區、超過2700個泉源,一天能湧出2億2500萬升溫泉水,享有溫泉王國美譽的鹿兒島為最。在鹿兒島,可以盡情享受露天溫泉、足湯,以及全世界唯一的天然砂蒸溫泉,搭配自然風情及能量景點等等,對累積不少壓力的現代人來說,是非常適合來趟療癒之旅的地方。

關於鹿兒島機場

鹿兒島機場位於鹿兒島霧島市,一下飛機即可繞到國內線的巴士站旁享受免費天然溫泉足湯「OYATTOSA」,「OYATTOSA」是鹿兒島方言,有「辛苦了」的意思,無論是剛下飛機還是準備離開,不妨前往這第一座設在機場內的足湯泡一下,緩解舟車勞頓的疲憊感,享受鹿兒島豐富的溫泉資源吧。
 

另外要特別推薦飛機迷前往的是位於國內線航站大樓3樓的展望台,除了欣賞飛機起降外還能遠眺霧島連山,視野非常良好。

從鹿兒島機場前往鹿兒島市中心需搭乘巴士,有「 Airport Shuttle(南國交通,如下圖)」及「利木津巴士(鹿兒島交通)」可搭,單程皆為1,300日幣,約40分鐘車程即可抵達鹿兒島中央站。

前往指宿

指宿之玉手箱列車

 

位於鹿兒島縣南端的指宿,是日本知名神話故事「浦島太郎傳說」的起源地,可以從鹿兒島中央站搭乘枕崎線前往,車程約1小時。但機會難得,不如預約該線路一天單程只有三班(往復共六班)的觀光列車「指宿のたまて箱」吧!

搭乘「指宿之玉手箱」從鹿兒島中央站出發前往指宿,一半黑一半白的方型車箱設計十分搶眼。當列車到站後還會像故事中浦島太郎打開玉手箱一樣,從車頂噴出煙霧呢!而指宿之玉手箱的車內裝潢設計也十分別緻,有面向車窗的選轉座椅,可以在列車行駛時盡情欣賞錦江灣的海景;也有帶書架的沙發坐席,可以自由取用書架上的書籍,在寬敞舒適的沙發上閱讀,非常特別。

在一個小時的車程中,除了欣賞窗外風景,還能在車廂內索取乘車紀念證、拍紀念照,以及購買限定商品。在車內販賣的限定商品中,人氣最高的莫過於「指宿玉手箱布丁」了,這是用新鮮雞蛋與牛奶,以及黑芝麻製成的雙色布丁,看起來一半黑一半白,跟車廂外觀十分相似呢,口感也非常濃郁,常常還不到末班車就賣完了,建議看到立刻購買。

另外還有使用唐船峽清澈的天然湧泉製成的微甜爽口「指宿溫泉汽水」、含有番薯泥的雙色菠蘿麵包、玉手箱列車形狀的吊飾等等,若想帶回家與親朋好友共享、送禮的話,裝有蠶豆餅乾與頴娃茶(鹿兒島當地茗茶)沙布蕾餅乾的「指宿玉手箱甜點」也很有特色。

指宿之玉手箱因為只有兩節車廂,座位數並不多,往往一開放訂位即客滿。搭乘日的一個月前可開始訂票,想搭乘的人千萬要留意訂位時間以免向隅。

JR九州繁體中文官方網站:https://www.jrkyushu.co.jp/chinese/

指宿觀光

位於鹿兒島縣南端的溫泉勝地「指宿市」,又以沙蒸溫泉最為出名,吸引無數遊客前往體驗。另外還有因外型與富士山相似而被稱為「薩摩富士」的「開聞岳」、在特定時間帶會出現沙洲而得以前往的無人島「知林島」、需要頭頂鍋蓋參拜的「釜蓋神社(射楯兵主神社)」等等,自然與人文景點兼備。接下來便介紹幾個具代表性的觀光景點,不妨善用觀光巴士與電車等交通工具,暢遊指宿這塊寶地吧!

・HEALTHY LAND:在指宿壯闊自然景觀包圍下泡湯

 

玉手箱溫泉

HEALTHY LAND是由露天溫泉「玉手箱溫泉」、砂蒸溫泉「砂湯里」、餐廳「地熱之里」及「溫泉保養館」所組成的溫泉療養設施。在眾多溫泉設施中,特別推薦HEALTHY LAND的原因,即是能在此一邊泡湯、一邊眺望錦江灣與開聞岳的廣闊山海景色,視野絕佳!

在玉手箱溫泉,您可以吹著涼爽的海風邊享受熱呼呼的溫泉,並同時坐擁美麗的山海風景。兩座露天溫泉分別為可以眺望壯闊開聞岳的「和風露天風呂」,及可欣賞遼闊海景的「洋風露天風呂」,天氣晴朗時還能遠眺世界自然遺產屋久島等周遭小島呢。這裡環境相當幽靜,頗有進入世外桃源的驚喜與愜意感。

砂湯里

在玉手箱溫泉旁邊的砂湯里,則能體驗到指宿特有的砂蒸溫泉。這是利用溫泉的熱與砂的重量加速出汗,達到排毒效果的特殊溫泉。指宿有數座砂蒸溫泉設施,不過能一邊泡湯一邊欣賞美景的設施卻非常少。在砂湯里您可以一邊躺在溫熱砂堆中,一邊欣賞廣闊的海景,舒爽的海風吹來,有時還帶著細細的浪花水珠,非常舒服,不知不覺間15分鐘就過了呢。


※小提醒:砂蒸溫泉是利用熱砂混合冷砂,溫度約40~50度。一般建議泡10~15分鐘,泡太久可能會在不知不覺間形成低溫燙傷,泡湯時間請根據自己的身體狀況進行判斷。

欲前往「HEALTHY LAND」,可從指宿車站搭乘巴士至「HEALTHY LAND入口」或「山川砂蒸溫泉入口」下車。一般推薦在「HEALTHY LAND入口」下車,搭乘免費接駁車至「砂湯里」,先泡砂蒸溫泉,沖掉身上的砂之後,再搭乘接駁車回到玉手箱溫泉泡湯。但若遇玉手箱溫泉公休,則直接搭巴士到「山川砂蒸溫泉入口」下車後步行約10分鐘到砂湯里即可。

知林島:美得令人屏息的無人島 

 

知林島是位於指宿東邊、浮在錦江灣上的無人島。每年3至10月退潮時會出現一條蜿蜒的沙洲,沙洲長約800公尺,出現時間最長約4小時,期間人們可在沙洲上行走,從指宿本土步行上島。也因為島與陸地相連,即使沙洲消失了也一定還會再度顯現,故又被稱為結緣之島、愛之島。人氣日劇《篤姬》也曾在此拍攝取景。

走在沙洲上,沿途可見破碎或完整的貝殼,可以睜大眼睛找找只有這裡才有的「目八葵貝」,這是一種白色貝殼,撿大小相似的兩辦貝殼,合起來就會變成一顆愛心!其實這種貝殼目前已絕種,現在能撿到的,其實都是數千年前的化石喔!

走過沙洲到達知林島後,可購買「渡島證明書」(100日幣)留作紀念,隨後在島上觀光。知林島有完善的觀光步道及瞭望台,在南瞭望台上有座「Chirin's Bell」,據說敲響這座鐘便可招來幸福。從這裡可俯瞰沙洲及指宿本土,風景絕佳。唯一要注意的是必須在沙洲消失的前40分鐘返回指宿,否則隨著漲潮開始,沙洲的路會越來越窄與難以行走。沙洲的出現時間可上指宿觀光官方網站查詢。

釜蓋神社(射楯兵主神社):頭頂鍋蓋參拜的奇特神社

 

俗稱釜蓋神社的射楯兵主神社,坐落在入江礁岩上一塊凸出來的地方,以祈求勝利、開運而聞名,是日本的運動選手及藝人愛去的能量景點。據說在過去的戰亂時代,只要用鍋蓋護住頭部前來參拜,就能夠保平安。

因此這座神社的參拜方式延續這個傳說,人們必須頭頂鍋蓋從鳥居走到賽錢箱前,如果途中鍋蓋掉落了則必須重新走一遍,若能一路走到底就算成功,也代表願望會實現。其他也有將迷你黏土鍋蓋丟入岩石上的大鍋中等各種奇特的參拜許願方法,若您有想要一決勝負的重要事情,就到這間獨特的神社來許願祈求成功吧。

西大山車站:在鹿兒島最南端「幸福的黃色郵筒」寄封信吧

 

西大山車站是指宿枕崎線上的一個站,同時它也是鹿兒島線最南端兼JR日本最南端的車站。在這個田中央的小車站,可以近距離欣賞被譽為「薩摩富士」的開聞岳魄力十足的山景,每年12月底~隔年2月之間還有一片金黃的油菜花田綻放,可搶先感受春天的氣息。站前還有據說可以傳遞幸福的幸福之鐘與黃色郵筒,不妨在這寄張明信片給親朋好友吧!

由於西大山站是無人車站,想要紀念入場券的人可以在指宿車站或山川車站等地方購買。另外需特別注意的是往來西大山站的列車班次極少(一天來回各7班),欲前往請留意時間。

鏡池:如明鏡般映著開聞岳的私房景點

 

說到指宿的湖泊,不可不提的是九州第一大湖池田湖,但在池田湖與開聞岳之間還有一座較小的湖泊「鏡池」。鏡池是約5700年前火山爆發後行程的火口湖,直徑14公尺的湖面相當平靜,看起來就像一面鏡子。往湖中一看還能看到開聞岳的倒影,隨季節與時間變換可欣賞到開聞岳不同的模樣,是攝影愛好者的私房景點。

温たまらん丼

 

温たまらん丼是2009年左右誕生的指宿美食,在各式各樣的丼飯上放上一顆半熟溫泉蛋即完成這道料理。每間餐廳推出的温たまらん丼口味不盡相同,有生魚片丼飯、黑豬肉燒肉丼飯、肉燥丼飯、薩摩雞肉丼飯....等口味可供選擇,無論何種丼飯,只要加上半熟溫泉蛋,口感都會變得濃郁醇厚,滯留指宿的期間就算每天換口味吃也不會膩。

鹿兒島觀光

從指宿返回鹿兒島市中心後,可以利用時間規劃一下鹿兒島市內觀光,以下介紹幾個重點地方:

想要走遍鹿兒島的各大觀光景點,那麼推薦您購買可搭乘市內電車及巴士、觀光週遊巴士City View的一日券(600日幣),或是包含市內電車、巴士、City View、櫻島渡輪、櫻島觀光循環巴士Island View的一日券(1,200日幣)及二日券(1,800日幣)。除了可無限搭乘各種交通工具之外,進入特定觀光設施也能享有折扣,非常划算。如果您沒有打算去這麼多景點,巴士的單程票價為190日幣,電車則是170日幣。

城山展望台:一口氣眺望鹿兒島代表性活火山・櫻島與鹿兒島市景

 

城山展望台是眺望櫻島火山的絕佳觀景地之一,搭乘每30分鐘一班的City View即可輕鬆上山,不過由於離市中心很近,也有人會直接搭計程車,或是走環山步道上山。天氣晴朗時白天來景色固然優美,但夕陽西下、天空染成一片橘紅也十分有情調。

天文館通:鹿兒島最繁華的鬧區

 

天文館通是鹿兒島市內最繁華的商店街,各式商店、餐廳、飯店匯集,無論是想逛街購物、或飽嚐美食都很方便,而且商店街設有拱形屋頂,就算雨天也能自在地逛街。天文館最出名的莫過於天文館むじゃき的「白熊冰」了,雪白的刨冰淋上煉乳,放滿水果及果乾,相當美味。櫻島渡輪、鹿兒島水族館等港邊景點都距離天文館不算遠,即使不搭乘電車或巴士,也能散步前往,地理位置絕佳。

鹿兒島中央站:進出鹿兒島的玄關

 

鹿兒島中央站在當地被簡稱為「中央站」,九州新幹線、在來線(鹿兒島本線、指宿枕崎線)在此停靠,是鹿兒島相當重要的一個站,也是JR九州第三大站。車站內有伴手禮橫丁(みやげ横丁)及美食橫丁(ぐるめ横丁),匯集各式各樣的鹿兒島名產及美食,可以在這裡買到知名的當地特產「輕羹」(用山藥粉製成的鬆軟和菓子)、與白熊冰合作推出的各種甜點、知覽茶等等;或是前往美食橫丁享用黑豬肉、鹿兒島拉麵等當地特色美食。

若覺得意猶未盡還想再逛逛,與車站箱連的AMU PLAZA購物中心也很推薦前往,除了流行服飾、書店、雜貨之外,也有超市、伴手禮專區與美食街,頂樓還有個摩天輪。對面有AEON購物中心,能在同一個區域把東西一次買齊非常方便!推薦在離開鹿兒島前來一趟中央站,就能買齊各種辦手禮囉。

鹿兒島的觀光資源相當豐富,不妨規畫一趟鹿兒島及指宿的溫泉購物之旅,悠哉地療癒身心、舒緩平日累積下來的壓力吧!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

Ibusuki & Kagoshima Travel Plan: Heavenly Hot Springs, Beautiful Scenery, and Delicious Cuisine Await!

Kagoshima Prefecture in Kyushu is known for its vast natural scenery and peaceful, charming townscapes. It’s the perfect place for people who want to appreciate the beauty of nature, take a dip in a relaxing hot spring, or escape the hustle and bustle of the big city. In this article, we will present lively tourist spots, local secrets, and delicious food available in Ibusuki, a popular hot spring resort town in Kagoshima Prefecture. We’ll also discuss some exciting shopping destinations in the center of the city of Kagoshima. With this travel course, you’ll be able to find the best food, shops, and hot springs to relax the body and mind during your next holiday to Japan.

Kagoshima

Things to Do

About Kagoshima’s Hot Springs

Many places around Kyushu are blessed with bountiful hot springs thanks to the presence of active volcanoes in the area. Among them is Kagoshima, Kyushu’s southernmost prefecture, boasting over 100 hot spring areas fed from 2,700 sources, the second most in the entire country, which supply Kagoshima with over 225 million liters of hot water a day. This has made Kagoshima a leading hot spring destination in the country. Of particular interest are the world-famous sand-steamed baths in Kagoshima’s Ibusuki, the only place of its kind in the world, which attracts many tourists who want to cover themselves in hot sand heated by pure geothermal energy.

About Kagoshima Airport

Kagoshima Airport is located in the city of Kirishima, Kagoshima Prefecture. The first thing most people arriving there via domestic flights want to do is head on over next to the bus terminal and relax at the free Oyattosaa footbath, which means “That’s enough for today” in the Kagoshima dialect. Those just finishing up a long flight and those preparing for one make frequent use of the footbath to relax their aching bodies or to start off their travels on the right foot. So, why not join them?

Plane enthusiasts will also want to check out the third floor of the domestic terminal where the observation deck is located. Besides enjoying the sounds of departing and arriving planes, you can also enjoy the view of Mount Kirishima on clear days.

Kagoshima-Chuo Station in the center of Kagoshima City can be reached from Kagoshima Airport via the Nangoku Kotsu Airport Shuttle (pictured below) or the Kagoshima Kotsu Limousine Bus. The trip takes about 40 minutes and costs 1,300 yen/one way.

Towards Ibusuki!

Ibusuki-no-Tamatebako Limited Express

Ibusuki, located in the south of Kagoshima Prefecture, is a city with a long history as well as the setting of the famous Japanese legend about Urashima Taro, a fisherman who was given the gift of eternal youth but lost it in a fit of disobedience. Click here to read the legend in English.

To get there, get on the Ibusuki Makurazaki Line at Kagoshima-Chuo Station and you’ll arrive at your destination in about an hour. But if you want to travel in style, reserve a seat on the Ibusuki-no-Tamatebako limited sightseeing express, which travels between Ibusuki and Kagoshima only 3 times a day (6 counting return trips)!

Before departing Kagoshima for Ibusuki, take a good look at the limited express. You’ll notice that it’s distinctly half-black and half-white. Also, if you look at the back of the train, you’ll notice smoke puffing from the car, just like the smoke that came out of the forbidden jeweled box (“tamatebako” in Japanese) that Urashima Taro opened! The interior of Ibusuki-no-Tamatebako is also nothing like what you’ll see on a regular train. The seats along the windows are decorated in an ocean pattern and offer amazing ocean views of the Kagoshima Bay the entire way to Ibusuki. Sofa seats with attached bookshelves are also available, offering travelers a chance to relax and enjoy some books during the train ride. You won’t find experiences like these on any other train.

During the hour-long train ride, you can enjoy the view outside the window, take pictures with a commemorative plate, or buy special goods that you can only get on the express. The most popular item for sale on the Ibusuki-no-Tamatebako is the Ibutama Pudding. Made from fresh eggs, milk, and black sesame, the two-tone dessert is similar in color to the black-and-white train. It tastes unbelievably creamy, so it’s no surprise that the express often sells out of it before it reaches its destination, so if you get the chance, be sure to buy some.

Other things for sale on the train include the Ibusuki Onsen Soda, a mildly sweet drink made from the clear, natural spring waters of Tosenkyo Gorge, as well as the Kameron Pan bread with plenty of sweet potato paste. There's also the Ibutama Strap, a strap in the shape of the Ibusuki-no-Tamatebako express, as well as the Ibusuki Fava Bean Cookies and the assorted Ibutama Sweets that comes with Eicha shortbread and Ei tea from Kagoshima, perfect for sharing with your family or friends, or as gifts.

There aren’t many seats on the Ibusuki-no-Tamatebako limited express, so it tends to fill up quickly. Thankfully, you can reserve a seat on it up to a month prior, so don’t wait until the last moment—make your reservation as early as possible!

Ibusuki Tourism

Located on the southern edge of Kagoshima Prefecture, the city of Ibusuki is famous for its sand-steamed baths which attract scores of tourists each year. Ibusuki is a place of great nature, beautiful scenery, temples and shrines, and many historic locations. The area’s highlights include the Kaimondake Volcano, also known as Satsuma Fuji because of its resemblance to Mt. Fuji; the deserted Chiringashima island that can only be accessed during low tide; and the Kamafuta Shrine where it’s said that if you manage to walk from the shrine gate to the offering box while balancing a pot lid on your head, your wishes will come true.

Now then, let’s look at some of Ibusuki’s best tourist spots. Public transport options like tour buses or trains are easily available, so let’s explore Ibusuki to our hearts’ content!

Healthy Land: Immerse Yourself in Ibusuki’s Vast Nature

Tamatebako Hot Spring

Healthy Land is a hot spring facility composed of the famous outdoor "Tamatebako Hot Spring", the Sayuri sand-steamed baths, the Chinetsu no Sato restaurant, and the indoor Onsen Hoyoukan hot spring. What really makes this place special, though, is that it allows you to take relaxing baths while enjoying beautiful views of the Kaimondake Volcano and Kagoshima Bay. Those views alone are worth a visit to Healthy Land!

At the Tamatebako Hot Spring, you can let the hot waters heal your mind and body as you enjoy the gentle sea breeze or admire the beautiful mountains or ocean views in the distance. The open-air baths are divided into two areas: the Japanese-style area, which offers views of the Kaimondake Volcano, and the Western-style area where guests can enjoy views of the vast Kagoshima Bay. On clear days, guests should also be able to admire the many islands in the area, including the World Heritage Site of Yakushima. Tamatebako Hot Spring is a calm, quiet area where you can relax and forget your worries for a little while.

Sayuri Sand-Steamed Hot Spring

Sayuri, located close to the Tamatebako Hot Spring, is Ibusuki’s famous sand-steamed bath facility that alleviates stress by immersing guests in heavy sand warmed by geothermal heat. The sand also has a detoxifying effect on the body. There are in fact many sand-steamed hot springs in Ibusuki, but not many combine the experience with beautiful natural scenery like Sayuri. At this hot spring, you’ll be able to lie down in the sand and enjoy the cool sea breeze on your face while gazing at spectacular ocean scenery. The occasional droplets coming from the ocean will feel amazing on your hot skin. It’s the type of comfort that’s hard to put into words. 15 minutes in a Sayuri bath will just fly by!

* Note: The sand-steamed bath is composed of hot and cool sand, with temperatures reaching 40 – 50 degrees, which is why we suggest limiting your stay to about 10 – 15 minutes. Staying for longer periods may result in low-temperature burns, so please be careful.

To reach Healthy Land, please get on the bus at Ibusuki Station and get off at the Healthy Land Iriguchi stop or the Yamagawa Suna-mushi Onsen Iriguchi stop. After that, it’s just a short walk to the facility. We recommend that you get off at Healthy Land Iriguchi and take the shuttle bus to Sayuri, where you can bury yourself in the hot sand and relax for a bit. After you clean yourself off, get on the shuttle bus again, arrive at the Tamatebako Hot Spring, and enjoy a hot bath. If the Tamatebako Hot Spring is closed, take the bus instead from the station to the Yamagawa Suna-mushi Onsen Iriguchi stop, after which it’s just a 10-minute walk to Sayuri.

Chiringashima: The Beautiful Deserted Island That Will Take Your Breath Away

Chiringashima is an uninhabited island in Kagoshima Bay found east of Ibusuki. Every year from March to October during low tide, an 800-meter-long sandbar appears for up to 4 hours at a time, allowing people to reach the island from the mainland. This “connection” keeps appearing again and again, which gave Chiringashima the nicknames “the Isle of Marriage” and “the Isle of Love.” It has appeared in shows such as a famous Japanese drama called "Atsuhime".

While walking the sandbar, you will notice that it’s lined with many beautiful seashells of all shapes and sizes. Try searching among them for Mokuhachi Aoigai shells, which you can only find in this area. When you find two white ones, put them together to form the shape of a heart! The truth is that these shells belong to an extinct species, so every shell that you find here is actually a thousand-year-old fossil.

All those who complete the walk to Chiringashima can buy a certificate commemorating their achievement for just 100 yen. There are footpaths and observation decks for tourists on the island, including the southern observation deck where you will also find Chirin’s Bell, said to bring good fortune to those who ring it. Also, the view from this platform is so beautiful, it will surely take your breath away. It’s one of the best parts of the whole island.

However, while walking to and back from Chiringashima, it’s important to stay mindful of the tide and access to the sandbar. If you don’t start walking at least 40 minutes before the sandbar is set to disappear, the tides might make the walkway too narrow to navigate. The times that the sandbar appears can be found on the official Ibusuki tourism site, so please check it out before you head on there.

Kamafuta Shrine (Itate-tsuwamono-nushi Shrine): A Peculiar Place Where People Worship with Pot Lids on Their Heads

The Itate-tsuwamono-nushi Shrine, also known as Kamafuta (“pot lid” in English) Shrine is where people come to pray for good luck and victory. It’s a popular power spot attracting many sports players and entertainers from all over Japan, who all pray in a very interesting way.

At Kamafuta, you first put a pot lid on your head and walk from the shrine gate to the offering box. If the lid falls off, you need to start the walk again. If you can balance it all the way, it’s said that everything you wish for will come true. There are more peculiar ways for praying at the shrine that have enchanted scores of people, like the practice of trying to throw a clay lid inside a pot resting atop of a rock.

If you’re ever in Ibusuki, why not check out this unique shrine and pray for a little good luck?

Nishi-Oyama Station: Send A Letter from the Yellow Postbox of Happiness at the Southernmost Spot in Kagoshima

Nishi-Oyama Station on the Ibusuki Makurazaki Line is both Kagoshima’s southernmost spot and the southernmost JR station. Surrounded by nature, this little station faces the active Kaimondake Volcano, also known as the Satsuma Fuji.

Every year, from December to February, an area outside the station turns yellow with rapeseed blossoms, turning it into one of the most beautiful and peaceful scenery you’ll ever see. Outside the station, you’ll also find the Yellow Postbox of Happiness, said to bring happiness to everyone who posts a letter there. If you’re ever at Nishi-Oyama, stop by and send a letter to someone you care about.

Nishi-Oyama is an unmanned station, but you can buy a commemorative Nishi-Oyama ticket at either Ibusuki Station or Yamagawa Station. Also, only seven round-trip trains stop at Nishi-Oyama per day, so please be mindful of the schedule if you’re planning on visiting.

Kagami-ike: A Hidden Mirror Pond at the Foot of Kaimondake

The one lake you don’t want to miss out on while visiting Ibusuki is Lake Ikeda, the largest lake in all of Kyushu. However, there is a body of water more enchanting than Ikeda, and it’s located between it and the Kaimondake Volcano. It’s the small Kagami-ike Pond, which formed around 5,700 years ago when water pooled into a crater from a volcanic eruption.

Today, Kagami-ike is a peaceful pond roughly 140m in diameter. It really lives up to its name, seeing as “kagami” is Japanese for “mirror”, and its waters reflect all the surroundings like a beautiful mirror, including the majestic Kaimondake Volcano whose upside-down visage looks so lovely on the pond’s surface. The reflection changes depending on the time and season, making the pond a heaven for shutterbugs.

Ontamaran-don: Kagoshima’s and Ibusuki’s Beloved Dish

The Ontamaran-don was born in Ibusuki around 2009. Its ingredients differ from place to place, but it essentially consists of rice topped with anything from seafood to Berkshire pig pork, boiled fish, or Satsuma chicken. There are as many versions of the dish as there are restaurants, but they are all topped with a slow-boiled egg, which adds another dimension of flavor to this already rich feast. (“Ontamaran” is actually a pun on “ontama,” which means “slow-boiled egg,” and “tamaranai,” meaning “can’t get enough.”) They say that while staying in Ibusuki, you can have an Ontamaran-don every day and never get bored of it, and we’re inclined to agree. With this dish, the variety never ends!

Sightseeing in Kagoshima City

After returning to the center of Kagoshima from Ibusuki, it’d be a good idea to make a sightseeing plan for the city. Here are the main tourist spots in Kagoshima:

We recommend that you use the Kagoshima City View sightseeing bus that will take you around all the main tourist spots in the city. If you buy a 1-day bus pass (600 yen/Adults, 300 yen/Children), you’ll also be able to use the regular bus lines and streetcars.

Visitors who’d like to visit Sakurajima Island should use the Sakurajima Island View sightseeing bus. A combined Cute pass (1-day: 1,200 yen/Adults, 600 yen/Children; 2-day: 1,800 yen/Adults, 900 yen/Children) gives you access to the Kagoshima City View bus, regular bus lines, streetcars, and the Sakurajima ferry. Additionally, if you buy the above 1-day bus pass or the combined Cute pass, you’ll receive discounts on entrance fees to Ibusuki’s tourist spots.

Shiroyama Observation Deck: Offers Panoramic Views of Kagoshima City and the Famous Sakurajima Island

The Shiroyama Observation Deck is one of many picturesque locations offering amazing views of the Sakurajima volcano. It’s easily accessible via the Kagoshima City View bus, which runs every 30 minutes. And since it’s located fairly close to the city, it can also be reached by taxi or even by foot. On clear days, the view from the deck is simply amazing. But the evening scenery when the setting sun paints everything orange is equally moving.

Tenmonkan Street: Kagoshima’s Biggest Shopping District

Tenmonkan Street is the busiest shopping arcade in Kagoshima City. With plenty of shops, restaurants, and hotels all close together, the area is the ultimate stop for all your Kagoshima shopping and dining needs. The arcade is protected by a domed roof, so it can be enjoyed even on rainy days.

The most famous product in all of Tenmonkan must be Tenmonkan Mujaki’s Shirokuma, a delicious treat of snow-white shaved iced topped with condensed milk and fresh and dried fruit. The arcade also offers easy access to popular tourist spots like Sakurajima or the Kagoshima City Aquarium.

Kagoshima-Chuo Station Terminal: The Gateway to Kagoshima

Kagoshima-Chuo Station, also called “Chuo Station” by the locals, is an important terminal serving the shinkansen line and regular trains on the Kagoshima Main Line and the Ibusuki Makurazaki Line. Within the station complex, you’ll find the popular Miyage Yokocho and the Gourmet Yokocho areas specializing in souvenirs and local dishes. It’s there that you’ll find Kagoshima specialties like Karukan (a doughy Japanese dessert with a rich yam filling), sweets made in collaboration with Shirokuma, or Chiran tea. At Gourmet Yokocho, you’ll also find Berkshire pig pork or Kagoshima ramen.

We’d also like to recommend the Amu Plaza Kagoshima shopping mall directly adjacent to Kagoshima-Chuo Station. The impressive complex contains trendy fashion stores, bookstores, variety shops, supermarkets, souvenir stores, restaurants, and even a Ferris wheel on the roof. Right across from it, you’ll find the equally popular Aeon Mall, which helps make the entire area into a convenient, one-stop shopping destination. To buy some authentic Kagoshima goods, there is no better place than Kagoshima-Chuo Station!

As you can see, Kagoshima has plenty of amazing tourist attractions. Why not forget your worries and heal your body and soul by planning a vacation filled with hot springs and shopping through Ibusuki and Kagoshima today?

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search