【實用資訊】旅行前必讀!如何在日本兌換、提領和儲存日幣

拿著機票、打包好行囊,您準備好前往日本各地冒險了吧!等等,那日幣怎麼辦呢?日本仍是一個大量使用現金的國家,儘管信用卡和其他形式的電子貨幣蔚為風行,但是手邊沒有一筆現金恐怕還是不方便。為確保您充分運用得來不易的日幣,本文將提醒您在日本換錢時所有需要知道的事情。

東京

實用資訊

 

※本文為外部寫手所撰

日本人愛用現金

雖然日本(尤其是東京)以科技龍頭聞名全球,但是仍大量使用實體現金。這一點似乎有些奇特,因為根據一份2017年的報告,日本人的信用卡擁有率約2.8張,與英國、美國和澳洲一樣。

為什麼現金在日本仍是王道呢?根據筆者遇到的經驗,譬如ATM的手續費通常很高,如果在非營業時間從ATM提領現金,銀行還會另外收取費用。有些ATM甚至在一定時間之後就無法提領現金,端看各家銀行如何規定,不過日本的大多數銀行都是如此。

許多小商家比如拉麵店等,為避免收取高額的信用卡費用,通常選擇不提供刷卡服務。其他人則認為他們對現金的依賴,是源自小時候的習慣。日本是一個飽受經濟劇烈起伏之苦的國家。他們似乎覺得擁有實體現金,感覺比依賴螢幕上的數字更有安全感。

不管原因為何,所幸日本很安全,是犯罪率最低的國家之一,東京就是最好的例子。東京的犯罪率位居全國之冠,全市23個行政區的犯罪紀錄是93,745件,比之總人口數約9,500,000人,所謂日本最危險的城市,犯罪率只有0.99%,由此可見日本有多麼安全。

假如您遺失錢包,失而復得的機率可是非常高,而且分毫不少,所以大多數的人都會安心地在皮夾裡放數萬元日幣。如果您為了節省交易費用多帶一些錢在身上,通常是值得的。

甚麼時間兌換最好?

當您計畫去日本旅遊,首先必須考慮的問題是應該先兌換日幣,還是抵達了再換。有些暢貨中心會收取額外的「外幣手續費」或佣金,讓您損失一點錢。考慮到日本是現金大國,為了安心,最好還是先兌換一些緊急需要使用的現金,比如支付您前往下榻處所需的交通費。一旦您安頓好,就可以在當地尋找接受使用國際卡的ATM,提領一些現金。

可提領外國現金的ATM

假如您想得到最好的優惠,出發去找ATM前,最好多做一點功課,因為每一家銀行收取的國際提款手續費不盡相同。

一般說來,從ATM一次提領大筆現金,通常是您在日本取得日幣最省錢的方式。除了ATM以外還有其他選擇,後面再行討論,現在先來介紹ATM。

超商(日本人暱稱為「konbini」)將是您的救星。除了能提供您日常用品、美食和旅遊景點門票外,大部分的超商都收國際信用卡。 7-Eleven ATM,也就是知名的小7銀行ATM,也能讓您提領現金。它是三大超商之首,幾乎可以接受所有的外國卡。另外兩家大型的連鎖超商FamilyMart和Lawson,現在也有國際ATM。

日本郵局的ATM也是不錯的選擇。您可以在日本郵局櫃檯的附近找到ATM,這些提款機接受大部分的國際卡,但是通常只能在郵局營業時間提領,也就是日本一般的正常上班時間,不過如果您在鬧區的話,有些郵局週六也營業。

外幣兌換處

您可以在機場、一些車站和市中心的服務站找到外幣兌換處,這是另一種將外幣換成日幣的方式,也可以將日幣換成外幣。World Currency Shop是日本最大的外幣兌換店,而且接受多種幣別兌換,詳情可查看其官網

大黑屋也是一個選擇,雖然他們只接受12種外幣,但是營業據點無處不在,單單東京就有40家分店,而且全日本都有分店,您可以在官網上查看完整名單。

說英語也通的換匯地點,就是「Sakura Currency Service」。Sakura(櫻花)是一家多元旅遊公司,他們在東京也有住宿代理,另外也經營旅行團、酒吧和咖啡廳。他們在東京有許多家暢貨中心,其中有些店還提供旅客各種服務,比如免費寄存行李、免費茶水以及提供Wi-Fi服務的免費休息區。大部分員工都具備雙語能力。

兌換現金的其他選擇

除了ATM 和外幣兌換處外,還有其他選項,從是否划算和交通方便的角度來看,這些方式或許不是您的首選,但是知道後多了個選擇,若臨時需要用錢,總是比較安心。

銀行:新生銀行提供旅客換匯服務,同時也為計畫在日本居住者提供外幣儲蓄服務。瑞穗銀行在各地都有外幣兌換處,也在成田和羽田機場設置換匯處。

某些飯店: APA之類的連鎖飯店會提供換匯服務,雖然兌換價錢較貴,但是很方便。想知道您住的飯店是否提供換匯,最好在入住時問清楚。有些飯店的大廳就設有外幣兌換機。

大部分的主要機場也都提供換匯服務。日本最大的國際機場成田,就設置了12個外幣兌換處。至於價格是否優惠,要看匯市情況和您訪日的時間點,所以不見得是最實惠的選擇。總之,如果您沒有帶日幣就到日本,而且您尚未找到ATM又急需現金的話,這通常是最方便的選擇。

利用Pocket Change把零錢變成電子貨幣

如果想解決身上所有零錢,可以利用Pocket Change機器。Pocket Change是日本開發的服務,能幫您把剩下來的日幣、美金、歐元、人民幣和韓幣換成電子貨幣。您可以選擇適用的電子貨幣,包括提供電子憑證的樂天、蘋果和亞馬遜等公司。

另外,您也可以選擇將所有硬幣捐贈給慈善組織,這是確保硬幣不會浪費的最佳辦法。港幣、泰銖、新台幣、新加坡幣和越南盾,這幾種幣別目前只接受紙鈔。在北海道、東北、關東、中部、關西、中國地區和九州地區都設有機台。有關詳細設置地點的地圖,您可以參閱官方網站

將現金儲值在Suica卡或PASMO卡裡

待在日本期間若不想帶著一堆零錢,您可以隨時將錢儲值進您的交通運輸票卡裡,也就是IC卡。至於買哪一種卡,端看您所在的地區,其中最普遍的是Suica(JR東日本)和Pasmo(關東各家私鐵公司),其他還有各地區出的卡,比如PiTaPa(關西周遊卡)、Toica(JR東海)、Manaca(名古屋)、 Kitaca(JR北海道)、Sugoca(JR九州)、Nimoca(西日本鐵道)和Hayakaken(福岡市交通局)。

儘管IC卡多半用在交通運輸上,不過這些卡還是可以當作電子貨幣,許多便利超商、暢貨中心、自動販賣機和一些連鎖餐廳都可以使用,能有效減輕錢包重量和簡化購物流程。接受這類電子貨幣付款的商家,通常會在店的櫥窗上以貼紙標示。

這些卡的有效期限都很長,若是您打算再訪日本,建議您將零錢存入卡裡,以利未來使用。

用剩下的零錢購物

如果您想擺脫現金,帶點伴手禮回家的話,可以在全日本各地找到幾間好逛的連鎖店。

大創是日本最大的百圓店,商品琳瑯滿目,包括清潔產品、生活用品、新奇食物、造型鑰匙圈和超可愛的小擺飾等。當地人暱稱為「Donki」的唐吉軻德,是另一間值得一逛的大型賣場,販售食品、雜貨、衣服和奢華設計商品,不論您的預算如何,都能找到一些東西,花光手邊剩下的錢。

想買甚麼其他禮物嗎?請參閱「日本必買紀念品」文章

充分運用您的日幣

日本至今仍是個現金大國,雖然大部分的賣場和商店都能使用信用卡,但是建議您還是多帶一些現金在身上。到離您最近的7-Eleven安全地提領國際貨幣,您才能暢行無阻。假如您想讓每一分錢發揮到最大功用,建議您在離開日本之前,找到最近的Pocket Change機器。不論用剩下的日幣購買禮物或是捐給慈善機構,都可以讓得來不易的日幣物盡其用。

本文資訊均以公開時為準。


玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

Where and How to Exchange, Withdraw, and Cash-in Japanese Yen

So you're about to head off on an adventure across Japan, ticket in hand, bag packed. But wait, what about yen? Japan is still very much a cash-based country. While credit cards and other forms of digital currency are starting to make a splash, it's hard to get too far without a little cold hard cash. To make sure you make the most of your hard-earned yen, here's a guide to everything you need to know about exchanging money in Japan.

Tokyo

Travel Tips

Japan's Love Affair with Cash

Although Japan (and Tokyo especially) has a reputation for being a technology-centric nation, physical cash is still used a lot in this country. It seems especially unique given the fact that according to a 2017 report, Japan's credit card ownership rate is around 2.8 per individual, the same as the UK, US, and Australia. 

Furthermore, ATMs fees are often high. Banks also regularly charge customers for withdrawing cash from the ATM outside of business hours. After certain hours, some ATMs don't even allow cash withdrawal! This is dependent on the bank you use, but it's typically common with Japanese banks.

There are several ideas floating around as to why cash is still king in Japan. Many small business owners like local ramen shops also avoid running up high credit card charges, so often opt out of offering the service altogether. Others believe the reliance on cash is a habit learned from a young age. Japan is a nation that's suffered great economic highs and lows. There still seems to be a feeling of security in having physical cash, rather than relying on numbers on a screen.

Whatever the reason may be, it's lucky that Japan is such a safe nation, boasting one of the lowest crime rates in the world, and Tokyo is an excellent example. It's the city with the highest crime rate, which was 93,745 recorded crimes across the city's 23 wards. With a population of around 9,500,000, that's a crime rate of 0.99% for the most dangerous city in the nation, which gives you a good idea of how incredibly safe Japan is.

If you lose your wallet, there's a pretty high chance it'll turn up, money untouched. So many people feel comfortable carrying hundreds of dollars in their wallets. So, if you have to take out a bit to save on transaction fees, it's usually worthwhile.

When Should You Exchange?

When planning a trip to Japan, the question as to whether you should exchange before you leave or when you arrive will inevitably arise. If you want to save money, it's worth considering holding off until you get to Japan.

Some outlets charge additional "foreign currency fees" or a commission which can cut into your holiday spending money. Given how cash-centric Japan is, for peace of mind, it may be worth getting a little emergency cash exchanged ahead of time to cover necessities like transport to your accommodation. Once you're settled and ready to explore, then it's time to hunt down the local international card friendly ATM to get some cash.

ATMs for Withdrawing Foreign Cash

Doing a little additional homework before you head off to look for an ATM is definitely worthwhile if you want to make sure you're getting the best deal. Everyone's bank will have different international withdrawal fees.

But as a general rule, withdrawing a lot of cash at once from an ATM in Japan is often the most money-savvy way to get your hand on some yen. There are other options beyond the ATM, which will be discussed later, but for now, let's focus on this one.

The convenience store (known affectionately as "konbini" in Japan) will be your savior. As well as stocking all your daily essentials, great food, and tickets to tourist attractions, most convenience stores also take international credit cards. 7-Eleven ATMs - known as 7 Bank ATMs - also allow you to withdraw cash.

The two other major convenience store chains, FamilyMart and Lawson, are home to international ATMs these days too. However, if you're in a more regional area, the safest bet is the 7-Eleven as they're the biggest of the three and offer the service to almost all foreign cards. Being inside a convenience store means they're also accessible 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Japan Post Office ATMs are another great option. You'll find these ATMs near the front of Japan Post Office locations. They take most international cards. They're usually only accessible when the post office is open, which often tends to be typical office hours in Japan, plus the occasional Saturday if you're in a busy area.

Currency Exchange Shops

Found in airports, some train stations, and as booths in the inner cities, currency exchange shops are another way to turn your foreign dollar into Japanese yen, or vice versa. World Currency Shop is the biggest exchange shop in Japan, and it accepts a broad range of currencies, which you can see on their website.

While they only accept 12 currencies, Daikokuya is one of the more ubiquitous options with 40 outlets in Tokyo alone. They also have shops throughout the country. You can find the complete list of retailers on their website.

The most English friendly option is Sakura Currency Service. Sakura is a multifaceted travel company that also has an accommodation agency and runs tours, bars, and cafes in Tokyo. They have many outlets in Tokyo, many of which include additional traveler services like free luggage storage, complimentary tea, and a free resting area with Wi-Fi. Many of the staff in most of these stores are bilingual too.

Other Options for Exchanging Cash

Beyond the ATM and currency exchange stores, there are some other options. They may not be your first choice in terms of budget-friendliness and accessibility, but they're handy to know.

Banks - Shinsei Bank offers currency exchange services to tourists. They also offer Foreign Currency Savings Deposit services for those planning to make Japan home. Mizuho Bank has their own Currency Exchange Shops across the map, most notably at Narita and Haneda airports. 

Some hotels - major chains like APA Hotels - offer money exchanging services, which typically come at a premium price, but are convenient. To find out whether your hotel offers currency exchange, just be sure to ask during check-in. Some also have exchange machines in the lobby.

Most major airports offer currency exchange services too. Narita, Japan's biggest international airport, has 12 exchange stores alone. In terms of favorable rates, it depends on the currency and when you're visiting, so it may not be the most affordable choice. However, this is often the most convenient option if you're arriving with no yen and want some quick emergency cash to keep you going until you do find an ATM.

Turn Coins into Digital Currency with Pocket Change

One excellent option for offloading all your coins is at a Pocket Change machine. Pocket Change is a Japanese service. It takes your leftover coins in yen, USD, Euro, Chinese renminbi, and South Korean won and turns them into digital currency. You can pick from a range of electronic money options, including digital vouchers for companies like Rakuten, Apple, and Amazon.

Or you can choose to donate the sum of the coins to a charitable organization. It's an excellent way to make sure your coins don't get wasted unused and forgotten about. They accept the Hong Kong dollar, Thai baht, New Taiwan dollar, Singapore dollar, and Vietnamese dong too in note form. They have machines in Hokkaido, Tohoku, Kanto, Chubu, Kansai, Chugoku, and Kyushu. For a live map detailing all the locations, visit the website.

Offload Your Cash onto Your Suica or PASMO for Convenience

If you don't want to carry your coins around while still in Japan, you can always load money onto your transport cards too. Known as IC Cards in Japan, what type you get depends on which area you pick it up, but Suica or Pasmo are the most common. Others include Icoca PiTaPa (Kansai Thru Pass), Toica, Manaca, Kitaca, Sugoca, Nimoca, and Hayakaken.

While IC cards are most often used for transport, these cards can be used at many convenience store outlets, at vending machines, and in certain chain restaurants as a form of digital cash too. It's a great way to keep the wallet light and streamline the purchasing process. Retailers who accept IC cards as payment will usually have a sticker detailing so in their store window.

The cards are valid for multiple years, so if you plan on revisiting Japan again, it's worth loading all your coins onto the card for future use!

Gift Shopping with Your Leftover Coins

If you want to get rid of your cash and pick up some gifts to take back home, there are a handful of excellent chain stores you'll find nationwide.

Daiso is Japan's premier 100 yen shop. Here you'll find everything from cleaning products and lifestyle goods to novel food shaped key chains and ultra-cute knick-knacks to give away. Don Quijote - known as Donki to the locals - is another one-stop-shop worth hunting down. It sells food and groceries, clothing, and luxury designer goods, so no matter your budget, you'll find something to spend your leftover cash on. For other gift ideas, read our feature on Japan's must-buy souvenirs.

Making the Most of Your Yen

Japan is still a nation reliant on cash, and while using your card at most major outlets won't be a problem, it's worth carrying a few extra yen on you. Head to your nearest 7-Eleven for fail-safe international cash withdrawals, and you'll be good to go. If you want to make the most of every penny, it's worth finding your nearest Pocket Change machine before you leave Japan. Turn your leftover coins into a new gift or donate to charity, so you can ensure every single hard-earned yen is accounted for.

 

Header image credit: Nick Pampoukidis/Unsplash

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.


Restaurant Search