【实用资讯】日本的IC卡不仅限于搭车!交通票卡资讯一网打尽

你正规划前往日本,但不确定该如何善用交通工具吗?虽说JR Pass是一个好选择,不过对某些人来说可能有点贵,而且最长有效期是21天。这时不妨购买一张IC卡,能够便捷又有效地搭乘日本交通工具!本篇文章除了介绍IC卡的种类及购买方式外,还会补充搭车外的使用方法喔。

日本全国

旅行攻略

什么是IC卡?

所谓的“集成电路卡”或“智能卡”在全世界越来越普及,现在许多信用卡里也都有IC芯片。IC卡的功能非常多,包括辨识身份和电脑安全等等,而我们今天要介绍的是搭乘日本电车、地铁和公交车等时会使用的交通IC卡。

如何使用日本IC卡?

日本的IC卡是非接触式的,你只需将卡片靠近IC读卡器上方即可,屏幕便会显示你卡片里的余额。IC读卡器和屏幕通常设在车站验票口右方,以及公交车上车处驾驶员的旁边。

想更加了解日本搭车资讯的你,不妨参考下方文章:

购买IC卡及充值

在日本购买IC卡非常简单,因为大部分主要车站都设有专门的售票机,可以直接购买。在JR车站,售票机上的黑色屏幕,左侧会写着“Suica”字样。Suica的押金是500日元,有些卡片初次交易前必须充值至少1500日元。

将卡片退还给车站柜台人员时,可以取回充值金,但部分IC卡会收取约200日元的退款手续费,为了下次的旅行,建议你还是留着比较好喔。

卡片充值方法非常简单,只要将IC卡插入售票机充值即可(一张卡最多可充值20,000日元)。想要充值时不一定要找到原本的购票机器,不同机型也可以充值。一般来说,各大IC卡都可以在彼此的机器上充值,譬如东日本地区的卡片也可以在西日本地区充值。

日本各大IC卡

日本全国有非常多IC卡,可以用于各家铁路公司,我们今天将重点介绍10种最主要的卡,这些卡基本上可以交换使用,但各自也有一些细微的差异。

Suica(东京、新潟和仙台地区)

Suica是“超级城市智能卡”的缩写,日文是“西瓜”的意思,所以卡片是绿色的。Suica是JR东部地区使用的IC卡,如果你要去东京一带,可以准备一张Suica。2019年9月,他们还为游客特别推出一种“Welcome Suica”,使用期限为28天,不必支付押金,功能与一般的Suica卡相同,而且提供一定的优惠价格。

你可以在成田机场和羽田机场的Welcome Suica售票机购买Welcome Suica,也可以在东京都市区的大车站JR EAST 旅游服务中心购买。

Pasmo(东京地区)

Pasmo是东京地铁的IC卡。原本Pasmo只能用于地铁和公交车,而Suica只能用于JR电车,后来两种卡的功能结合可互换使用。Pasmo也有专为游客设计的特殊卡,称为Pasmo Passport,使用有效期为四周,不收押金。可以在成田机场或羽田机场,以及东京各主要地铁站的通勤票券柜台购买。费用为2000日元(含500日元的押金)。

Icoca(大阪、广岛和冈山地区)

Icoca是关西地区的JR West IC卡。另外有游客专用的特别版,称为“关西一卡通”,在部分关西景点可享折扣,例如姬路城的门票打八折,或免费获赠京都国际漫画博物馆明信片。关西一卡通的票价为3000日元(含500日元押金),跟东部地区卡片不同的是,这张卡没有到期日,因此可以一直重复使用。在关西机场站和京都、大阪与神户的主要车站都能买到。

Pitapa(大阪、京都、奈良、名古屋和静冈)

Pitapa就像是关西版的Pasmo,可于该地区的地铁和非JR路线使用。这是一张后付卡,并且必须连接日本的银行帐户,因此如果不是日本居民无法使用。

Toica 和 Manaca(名古屋和静冈)

Toica是名古屋和静冈部分地区的JR东海IC卡,而Manaca是名古屋的地铁IC卡。虽说即便卡片中没有任何余额也能进站搭车,但出检票口前还是得充值卡片。

Sugoica、Nimoca和Hayakaken(福冈地区、熊本、鹿儿岛、大分和长崎)

Sugoca是JR九州的IC卡,涵盖范围包括大福冈地区、熊本、鹿儿岛、大分和长崎,而Nimoca是西日本铁道的IC卡,适用于大福冈地区以及九州和函馆的部分城市。Hayakaken是福冈地铁的IC卡,这几张卡片只要余额有10日元就能进站搭车,但离开车站或巴士前还是得补缴不足的车费。

Kitaca(札幌地区)

Kitaca是JR北海道的IC卡,可用来搭乘大札幌区的所有交通工具,卡片余额必须足以支付最低票价才能搭车。

上述这些卡片皆可在任一指定区域内使用,不过还是有一些限制,譬如从一个区域旅行到另一区域时,必须向车站人员索取收据,凭收据才能在原本的地区重新启用卡片,或者不能超过200公里距离(比方JR西日本所发行的IC卡“ICOCA”)。

IC卡的其他功能

IC卡最常见的功能就是搭车,不过这些卡片也可以在其他地方快速又便捷地付费。

比方说你可以在电车月台上的自动售货机买东西,选好想喝的饮料后只要将IC卡放在感应区上就可以付费了,非常方便!

日本大部分的大型便利店都可以用IC卡付款,甚至有些餐厅也能用IC卡付费喔。

除此之外,若你想要使用车站内的置物柜时,也可用IC卡付款。置物柜通常只能收100日元和500日元的硬币,这时IC就派上用场了!只是并非所有的置物柜都有装设IC卡读卡机,还请你留意一下喔。

结语

旅程结束后该怎么处理IC卡呢?诚如前面所述,你可以退还卡片并取回500日元的押金,但是把卡片留下来当作纪念也不错,日本IC卡只要每10年使用一次就持续有效喔。

不论是搭乘交通工具,还是小额消费,利用IC卡都能省去许多时间,结帐时也不必为不熟悉的货币而手忙脚乱,只要充值一张IC卡,就可以自在畅游日本啰!

本文提供信息均以公开时为准。

Weibo

体验日本

住宿

购物

搜寻餐厅

Japanese IC Cards Are Not Just for Train Travel! Everything You Need to Know About Suica, Pasmo, and More

So you’re planning a trip abroad in Japan and heard about the excellent train system, but are uncertain how to ride the rails effectively. Opting for the JR Pass is a great idea, but it can be a bit expensive for some people, and the maximum amount of time for use is 21 days. Surely there must be another convenient option for transportation. Enter the IC card, a quick and easy way to access public transport in most major cities across Japan. Today we will be looking into what kinds of IC cards there are, how to get one, and its other uses outside train travel.

Nationwide

Travel Tips

What Are IC Cards?

“Integrated Circuit” cards or “Smart Cards” are becoming more and more common across the globe, and whether you are familiar with the term or not, you probably carry a few around with you daily, as IC chips can be found in many credit cards nowadays. IC cards can perform a number of functions from identification to computer security, but today we will be focusing on the Japanese IC cards for riding transportation such as trains, subways, and buses.

How to Use a Japanese IC Card

IC cards in Japan are touchless, so all you need to do is hover the card over the IC reader and you are good to go. The machine will make a beep and display the remaining balance on the card. These IC readers and the display are present on the right-hand side of ticket gates in train stations and next to the driver at the entrance of buses.

To read up more on riding trains in Japan, please have a look at the following article highlighting dos and don'ts on your Japanese commute.

Buying and Charging Your IC Card

Purchasing your very own Japanese IC card is very straightforward, as you can get your hands on an IC card at specific ticket machines in most major train stations. At JR stations, the machine will have a black display above the machine with the word “Suica” on the left-hand side. The initial deposit for a Suica card is 500 yen, and some cards require you to charge a minimum of 1500 yen with the initial transaction. 

It is possible to get your deposit back by returning the card later to the station manager at a service counter, but some of the IC cards actually charge a return handling fee of about 200 yen, so it might just be better to hang on to it.

Charging the card is easy as well; you just need to insert the IC card into a ticket machine and add a balance (the maximum amount a card can hold is 20,000 yen). The type of ticket machine does not have to be the same kind as the one you purchased the card from originally, and generally, major IC cards can be charged at each other’s machines. For example, cards from the East Japan region can be charged in the West Japan region.

How Many Kinds of IC Cards are There in Japan?

The short answer to this question is “many.” There are numerous IC cards across Japan for various rail companies, but today we will focus on the 10 major cards that can basically be used interchangeably with one another with some small differences to each. 

Suica (Greater Tokyo, Niigata, and Sendai Areas)

Suica stands for "Super Urban Intelligent Card," and as a bacronym means “watermelon” in Japanese, thus the green coloring. Suica is the IC card for the JR East region and will be the one you can pick up if you are visiting the Tokyo area. As of September 2019, there is a special “Welcome Suica” card specifically for tourists that can be used for 28 days and has no deposit fee but all of the same functions as a normal Suica card, with some discount fare capabilities too.

You can get your hands on a Welcome Suica in both Narita and Haneda Airport stations at special Welcome Suica card machines, in addition to being able to get one at major stations in the Tokyo Metropolitan area at JR EAST Travel Service Centers.

Pasmo (Greater Tokyo Area)

Pasmo is the IC card of the Tokyo Subway system. Originally, Pasmo was exclusive to subway and bus use, while Suica was only for JR trains before the cards' functions merged to become interchangeable. Pasmo also offers a special IC card for tourists called the Pasmo Passport, which is valid for four weeks and has no deposit fee. It can also be purchased at Narita or Haneda Airport and at the commuter pass sales counter of various major Tokyo Metro stations. It costs 2000 yen (500 yen deposit included).

Icoca (Greater Osaka, Hiroshima, and Okayama Areas)

Icoca is the JR West IC card for the Kansai area. The special tourist version of this card is called the Kansai One Pass and offers some discounts on Kansai area attractions, such as a 20% discount on entrance to Himeji Castle or a free postcard at the Kyoto International Manga Museum, among others. The Kansai One Pass costs 3000 yen initially (500 yen deposit included), but unlike its cousins in the East, has no expiration date, so you can use it again and again. It is available for purchase at Kansai Airport station and at major stations in Kyoto, Osaka, and Kobe.

Pitapa (Osaka, Kyoto, Nara, Nagoya, and Shizuoka)

Pitapa is the Kansai equivalent of Pasmo, offered by the subway and non-JR lines in the area. It is a postpaid card and must be linked to a Japanese bank account, so it is not available to those residing outside of Japan. 

Toica and Manaca (Greater Nagoya and Shizuoka)

Toica is the JR Central IC card for Nagoya and parts of Shizuoka, while Manaca is Nagoya’s subway system IC card. These cards are interesting as you can ride a train even if the card has a 0 yen balance, but you must recharge the card before exiting your target station.

Sugoica, Nimoca, and Hayakaken (Greater Fukuoka Area, Kumamoto, Kagoshima, Oita, and Nagasaki)

Sugoca is the IC card of JR Kyushu covering the greater Fukuoka area, Kumamoto, Kagoshima, Oita, and Nagasaki, while Nimoca is the IC card of the Nishitesu Railroad for greater Fukuoka and certain cities in Kyushu and Hakodate. Hayakaken is the IC card for the Fukuoka subway. All of these cards allow you to ride transport as long as you have at least 10 yen on the card, but the remainder of the fare must be paid before exiting the station, bus, etc. 
 

Kitaca (Greater Sapporo Area)

Kitaca is the IC card for JR Hokkaido and can be used on all transport in the greater Sapporo area. To ride, you must have at least the minimum fare amount on your card.

As mentioned above, all of these cards can be used in any of the specified areas; however, there are some limitations, such as in the case of traveling outside of one area to another (you will need to see a station agent who will give you a receipt that you must hold on to in order to reactivate your card in the original region) or when traveling over 200km (such as in the case of ICOCA). Some people make a collection out of these regional IC cards, and indeed, they can make for unique souvenirs of your trips throughout Japan. For more useful tips on traveling Japan by train, please give the following article a read.

IC Cards for Shopping and Other Uses

Although IC cards are probably used most often to ride the train, they are able to provide fast and convenient transactions in many other sectors as well.

One big time saver that IC cards can afford you is their use at vending machines on train platforms. Imagine this scenario: you’ve run for a connecting train and make it to the platform to see the train in the distance approaching the station, only to realize that you are now parched from all the running around you’ve done. Spotting a vending machine close by, you select the drink item you desire and tap your IC card. Your drink comes tumbling out and the train hasn’t even fully stopped yet. How convenient!

Using IC cards for shopping doesn’t end there though, as most major convenience stores around Japan accept IC cards as a form of payment now, and even a number of sitdown restaurants allow you to use IC cards as a method of payment.

Furthermore, you can use your IC card to pay for using lockers inside train stations, which is very convenient indeed, as often times they only accept 100 and 500 yen coins for cash payment. Having said this, not all coin lockers come equipped with IC card readers, so take advantage of the ones you come across. 

Conclusion

Even if you are only going to be visiting Japan for a short amount of time, purchasing an IC card is certainly worth it as it can make getting around and small purchases quick and easy. No need to deal with unfamiliar coins and waste time at check-out counters—just charge up your IC card when you arrive and explore Japan in freedom! 

And what to do with your IC card once your trip to Japan is over? Well, as mentioned above, it’s possible to return the card to receive your 500 yen deposit back, but it might be worth holding on to the card as a souvenir, especially if you plan to return again to Japan, as the classic IC cards will remain valid as long as they are used once every 10 years! 

If you’d like to learn even more about IC cards and the new point system for Suica and Pasmo, please have a look at this article. And if you are curious about the world-famous bullet trains in Japan, please jump over to this article.

Title photo credit: japantrends/Flickr

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search