【实用资讯】为什么日本的垃圾桶这么少?详解在日本如何丢垃圾和回收

日本的废弃物处理,比大多数国家还要复杂。日本街道上的垃圾桶屈指可数,而且大部分都是回收桶。家庭垃圾也没有比较简单,每个社区都有自己的垃圾处理规范。为了让这些流程更简单易懂,我们整理了一份指南,为你揭开日本的垃圾之谜。

东京都

旅行攻略

 

※本文为外部写手所撰

为什么在日本丢垃圾这么复杂

日本的垃圾分类系统比大多数国家来得复杂,这是无可避免的现象,因为日本是人口稠密的国家,垃圾掩埋空间有限。日本可能会出现废弃物无处可放的问题,这一点与其他人口众多的国家(如美国和中国)很不一样。

日本焚烧了大量垃圾,这是将掩埋量降到最低限度的方法,也是分类之所以重要的另一个原因。因为不同材质的垃圾,需要用不同的方法焚烧,若是把这些垃圾混在一起,会对全日本勤奋工作的废弃物处理人员造成严重困扰。

日本的实际回收状况

日本的垃圾分类系统给许多人留下深刻印象,觉得日本是全世界回收做得最好的国家之一。但事实并非如此,根据 Waste Atlas 统计,日本的回收率是20.8%。

不过,有一种东西日本回收得非常好,那就是PET(塑料)瓶,大多数的自动售货机都使用这种瓶子。日本已经研发出一种技术,能熔化塑料瓶做成纯树脂。这种树脂可以制造成新的PET瓶,或者衣服和地毯等其他物品。

这项革新技术的成功,也是日本街头随处可见PET垃圾桶的原因,也因为如此,你不应该将其他垃圾丢进这些PET瓶垃圾桶,因为会妨碍系统的效率。

该在哪里丢垃圾

如果不能把饭团包装纸丢进自动售货机附近的PET瓶箱,那么可以丢哪里呢?大多数旅客抵达日本时都会有这样的疑问。

火车站通常会有一排垃圾桶,垃圾桶顶部有文字和图示,标出可丢入的垃圾类型。最常见的是可回收垃圾,但某些车站也会设置一般的垃圾桶,你就可以光明正大地丢掉手上的可燃塑料和纸张。

便利商店也会有多种类型的垃圾桶,这些商店随处可见,也是丢垃圾的好选择。还有一种处理垃圾的方法,也是大多数日本当地人会做的,就是把垃圾放在口袋里带回家,再以正确的方式丢弃。

为什么日本的垃圾桶很少

日本大城市公共垃圾桶数量少的原因,有两个层面。第一,是鼓励民众减少浪费。

另一个原因,是安全考量。1995年,东京地铁发生“东京地铁沙林毒气事件”,成为国内恐怖主义行为的受害者。袭击者以汽油为主要武器,炸死12人,造成1000人受伤,更让全国人民留下无法抹灭的阴影。

垃圾桶比较少,隐藏危险物品的机会就比较小。近来你也会看到,大多数用来丢弃一般垃圾的垃圾桶,都做成透明的,就是基于安全的考量。

家庭垃圾

废弃物处理是由市政当局管理,也就是说,各个城镇的废弃物处理方式都有所不同。但复杂度还不只如此!光是在东京,全市23个行政区就有各自的垃圾处理规范!

若你移居日本,或在日本境内迁移,你要做的第一件事,就是前往当地市政厅注册为居民。加入注册系统后,会收到一份关于该城市垃圾收集规定的详细说明。许多行政区会在住宅区外的电线杆上,放置颜色编码标志,提醒人们哪天会收集哪些类型的垃圾。

Airbnb和旅馆都会要求客人遵守该地区的废弃物处理规定。多数店家都会提供指南或海报,确切说明丢弃可回收物品和垃圾的方式和地点。

垃圾分类的主要类型

垃圾主要分成四种,但是不同地点的分类方式可能也不同。四种看起来似乎很多,但四国地区的上胜町却有多达44种不同的垃圾类别。主要类别如下:

1. 可燃垃圾(燃えるごみ、moeru gomi)

可燃物就是可以焚烧的垃圾,包括纸屑(纸巾)、塑料袋、食品包装、布料和皮革等。这些垃圾占人们丢弃物品的大多数,通常一星期回收2次。

2. 不可燃垃圾(燃えないごみ、moenai gomi )

不可燃物是指不能焚烧的垃圾。水桶之类的厚塑料制品、电灯泡等玻璃制品、陶瓷、伞、金属制品、小型家电制品,以及其他个人物品,如喷雾罐和刮胡刀等,都属于不可燃垃圾。这些物品通常是一个月回收一次。

3. 资源垃圾(資源ごみ、shigen gomi )

日本非常重视垃圾的分类与再生利用。资源垃圾主要分成三大项,包括铁罐(カン)、玻璃瓶(びん)和宝特瓶(ペットボトル)。这些物品必须分门别类,而且通常是1星期或2星期回收1次,在特定日子回收不同材质的垃圾。

4. 大型垃圾(粗大ごみ、sodai gomi)

大型垃圾的体积通常比日常垃圾大。各地区对于大型垃圾的定义各不相同,不过原则上所有超过30公分长的都视为“大型垃圾”。丢弃这类型垃圾,必须事先预约和支付手续费。

如果你想丢弃大型垃圾,必须先致电当地的垃圾处理单位,订购一张名为“大型垃圾处理券”(粗大ごみ処理券)的贴纸。这张贴纸是你已经支付垃圾处理费的凭证,然后就能在指定的日期,将该垃圾放在收集区以便回收。

什么时间丢垃圾

就算你来日本是为了度假,Airbnb和饭店的老板仍然希望客人能遵守当地的规定。若是客人不遵守详细的规定,很可能被列入黑名单或遭斥责。

如果你要在日本住上一段时间,那么在收垃圾时间前把垃圾丢出来,肯定会让你和邻居关系紧张,也保证会引来乌鸦。日本的乌鸦非常凶猛,这些超大乌鸦最喜欢撕开弃置在大太阳下、晒得发烫的塑料垃圾袋,将垃圾散落一地。

日本的垃圾几乎都放在网子下或网状箱子里,就是为了防止乌鸦捣乱。也因为如此,你必须配合倒垃圾时间,尽可能准时放置垃圾。丢垃圾的最佳时间是收取垃圾的当天清晨。身为旅客,还是请遵守住宿设施说明的规则摘要。

虽然在日本丢垃圾比其他国家复杂,但是不需要花太长的时间就能习惯这里的收垃圾制度。就像日本的国铁制度一样,一开始很令人困扰,但是随着你慢慢了解,就会觉得一切都是有意义的。

把丢垃圾当成一般的注意事项,意识到自己制造的废弃物量,把握任何回收的机会,你就不会再感到困扰了。

本文提供信息均以公开时为准。


Weibo

搜寻餐厅

Everything You Need to Know About Garbage and Recycling in Japan

Waste disposal in Japan is more complex than most other nations. In public, the country has a limited selection of trash cans on the street, and most of those are for recycling. At home, it's no less detailed, with each neighborhood governed by their own set of garbage disposal rules. To make the process a little easier to understand, we've put together a guide uncovering all the hidden mysteries of garbage in Japan.

Tokyo

Travel Tips

Why Throwing Away Trash in Japan is So Complicated

Japan's garbage sorting system is more involved than most other nations because it has to be. Japan is a densely populated country, with limited space for landfill. It has the potential to create a lot of waste but not a lot of places to put it, unlike other nations with large populations like the US and China.

As a way to minimize landfill, a lot of Japan's trash is burned, which is another reason why the sorting is so important. Different materials require different burning methods, and mixing them causes a severe headache for the nation's hard-working waste disposal staff.

The Realities of Recycling in Japan

The nation's garbage sorting system leaves many with the impression that the country is one of the best recycling nations in the world. In reality, this isn't quite the case, according to Waste Atlas, the nation's recycling rate is 20.8%.

However, one item Japan does recycle well is the PET (plastic) bottle, the bottles you see in most vending machines. The country has come up with a system which melts the bottle's plastic and transforms it into a pure resin. This resin can be repurposed into new PET bottles and other items like clothing and carpets.

The success of this recycling innovation is why PET trash bins are the most common bins you'll see on the streets of Japan. It's also a great reason why you shouldn't throw other trash into these PET bottle bins, as it hinders the streamlined system.

Where to Throw Away Your Garbage

If you can't throw your onigiri wrapper into the PET bottle bin near the vending machine, then where can you throw it? It's a question asked by most travelers when they arrive in Japan. 

Train stations often have a row of bins, on top of which you'll see the words and an icon indicating what type of garbage they accept. Recyclables are the most common, but some stations also have regular trash cans where you can get rid of your burnable plastic and papers guilt-free.

Convenience stores also have multiple garbage bins for all types of trash, and given the ubiquity of these stores, they're your best bet. Another option for garbage disposal is to do as most local Japanese people do, which is pocket it, and take it home at the end of the day to dispose of correctly.

Why Japan Doesn't Have Many Trash Cans

The reason that Japan's big cities especially don't have a lot of public trash cans is two-fold. The first is to encourage the minimization of waste.

Another reason is security. In 1995, Tokyo's subway system fell victim to an act of domestic terrorism known as the Tokyo Subway Sarin Attack. The attackers used gas as their primary weapon, killing 12 people, injuring 1,000 and forever impacting the psyche of the nation.

If there are fewer bins, there are smaller opportunities for concealing items that may be dangerous. These days most of the bins you'll find designated for regular trash are transparent for security too.

Garbage in the Home

Waste disposal is an issue that's managed at a municipal level, which means it varies from town to town. But that's not the extent of it! In Tokyo alone, each of the city's 23 wards has its own system for garbage disposal!

When you move to or within Japan, one of the first things you'll have to do is visit the local municipal office to register as a resident. During this registration system, people are given a handout detailing the trash collection protocols for that specific municipality. Many wards also have color-coded signs on poles outside residential areas reminding people on what day specific types of garbage will be collected.

Airbnbs and hostels also typically request that guests follow the waste disposal regulations of the area. Most places will have guidebooks or posters showing exactly how and where to throw away recyclables and garbage.

The Main Types of Garbage Categories

There are four main types of garbage categories. However, this may differ depending on where you're based. Four seems like a lot, but the town of Kakimatsu in the Shikoku region is home to a staggering 44 different garbage categories. The main categories are:

1. Combustible or moeru gomi (燃えるごみ)
Combustible is basic burnable trash. Items like paper waste (paper towels), plastic bags and food wrappings, fabrics, food peels, and similar items go in there. This garbage is the majority of what people throw out, and it's usually collected twice a week.

2. Incombustible or moenai gomi (燃えないごみ)
Incombustible is trash you can't simply burn. Thicker plastics like buckets, glass items like light bulbs, ceramics, umbrellas, and metallic items, small household appliances, and other personal items like spray cans and razors go into this trash. These items are usually collected once a month.

3. Recyclables or shigen gomi (資源ごみ)
Separating garbage for recycling is serious business in Japan. Within this category, there are three separate subcategories: cans (カン), glass bottles (びん), and PET Bottles (ペットボトル). These items need to be separated, and they are usually collected once a week or fortnight, with each type of material being picked up on a separate day.

4. Oversized trash or sodai gomi (粗大ごみ)
Oversized trash is your larger than regular, everyday trash. Each area has a different definition for what is considered oversized, but as a general rule, anything over 30cm long could be considered "sodai gomi." Getting rid of this type of trash requires an appointment and a fee.

If you want to throw something big in the trash, you have to call the local garbage disposal number and order a sticker known as a "sodai gomi shori ken" (粗大ごみ処理券). This sticker is your proof of payment for disposal services. Then on the designated day, you can leave this trash in the collection area to be picked up.

When to Throw Out Trash

It doesn't matter if you're in Japan for a vacation, even Airbnb and hotel owners expect guests to adhere to the local rules. It's possible that guests could even be blacklisted or scolded for not following the detailed rules. 

If you're in Japan for a while, leaving the trash out before collection day is a sure-fire way to cause tension between you and your neighbors. It's also guaranteed to attract karasu, Japan's menacing crows. These oversized black birds love nothing more than tearing apart the plastic of a hot garbage bag that's been left out in the sun and strewing its contents across the street.

Karasu are one of the main reasons you'll see most Japanese garbage that's been left for collection under nets or inside netted boxes. They're also the reason you should try and make sure to minimize the amount of time the garbage is left waiting for collection. The best time to take out the trash is early in the morning on the day of collection. As for tourists, simply follow the rules outlined by the accommodation.

 

While it is more complex than that of other nations, Japan's garbage system doesn't take too long to get used to. Similar to the nation's train systems, it's overwhelming at first, but everything will start to make a lot of sense as you gradually grow to understand it.

As a general note, just be conscious of how much waste you produce, and recycle at every opportunity, and you'll have no problems at all.

Header image credit: Miyuki Satake/ Shutterstock
 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.


Things to Do

Hotels & Ryokan

Shopping

Restaurant Search