日本自行車騎行最佳路線:瀨戶内島波海道

日本瀨戶內海一帶有著全年溫暖的氣候、美麗的海灘和眾多風景如畫的島嶼。除此之外,這裡有一項日本之最,即全日本最長的自行車道——島波海道!島波海道橫跨了6座小島,連接了日本本州和四國地區。無論您是何種程度的單車騎行者都將在路途中享受共計五次騎乘於海面上方的視野,同時穿越古老的山脊和茂密的亞熱帶樹林。如果您也喜歡探險式的旅行,亦或是想要來點不一樣的日本,非常推薦您到島波海道來感受一趟日本獨一無二的旅遊體驗!

廣島

玩樂

關於【島波海道】

島波海道由全長70公里的車道和6座橋樑組成,連接了位於日本本島最大島本州上的廣島尾道市和四國的今治。雖然往來兩地的高速公路沿途景觀也很美麗,但真正讓這裡受到眾人注目的卻是島波海道上設置的自行車道,自行車道路線規劃和高速公路大方向相近卻又有自己獨立的路線,單車騎士們全程會經過騎入六座島嶼中並橫跨多座連結島嶼間的大橋。這個在1990年代末期開始的高速公路建設計劃,現在已是日本數一數二具特色且有趣的景點之一。

自行車道

海波海道全長達70公里,絕對可以說是日本全國內體驗最佳單車之旅的地點沒有之一!這條車道完全是為了自行車騎士們所設立,穿梭在島嶼山林和海景沙灘間,途中經過6座跨海大橋時還能將令人讚嘆不已的海上景觀收入眼底。雖然有時會因不同的騎乘路線而延伸到一般公路上,但大部分海道道路都是單車專屬車道,過程中經過身旁的僅會是和您一樣愛好騎車的車友們!

也因為車道上幾乎沒有汽車,途中便可以無干擾地觀賞美景。您可以選擇從廣島尾道或是四國今治作為出發點,考量從廣島、關西、關東前往的交通便利性,大多數人會選擇尾道為起點往南騎乘。不過其實由於瀨戶內海地區主要吹的是西南風,若從四國出發一路向北騎行,反倒會因為較順風而讓您騎起來輕鬆些。雖然嚴格來說並非太大的影響,但若是遇到一些比較有挑戰性的山路時,還是多少可以省一些力氣。

島波海道上有很多不同的自行車路線可騎行,如果您想要一趟基本的路線,只需要跟著海道設計者規劃出的藍線自行車道,就能不那麼費力地成功插旗6座島嶼;若是您想要探索更多,所有島嶼上都有額外的藍線替代路線,這些路線將繞經更多島上地區或經過當地村莊小鎮,雖然有些路線因此會較藍線更加費力,卻可以獲得騎過海灘、穿過樹林和親身體感日本村莊等這些在主道路上所沒有的體驗!

若是選擇走基本路線並從尾道出發,您會依序經過向島、因島、生口島、大三島、伯方島、大島這6座島嶼,從今治出發則反之。除此之外,若是叉出藍線車道,還能探訪到其他5個島嶼:岩子島、生名島、弓削島、岩城島和高根島。

車道難度

雖然前面有提到此路線是特別為自行車騎士們設計,但並不代表只有專業單車騎士才能騎完這全程70公里。或者該說正因為是專為自行車所設計,無論是在坡度或是轉彎時的角度上都以能讓各種程度的騎乘者能輕鬆騎乘為考量,因此在騎的過程會感到非常舒適輕鬆。因此,雖然在島波海道上不乏許多穿著車衣的專業單車手騎著高階公路車並在幾小時內就完騎全程,但也可以看到一些家庭踩著普通的淑女腳踏車悠閒自在地騎乘!

當然,也並非所有路線都是相同的設計,藍線為最簡易且適合所有人的推薦路線,離開主線的延伸路線則可能遇上較複雜具難度的地形或是需要和汽車同行等,如果您不是專業人士、又或是希望能在短時間內騎完全程的話,通常會推薦可以先從藍色的路線開始!

藍線上困難的路段在靠近今治的大島一帶,這區有綿延的山路山且需攀過一山脊線。相較於其他島嶼在前往跨海大橋前通常只有一個上坡,大島則有兩個,包含前往大橋前70m的爬坡和另一翻過山頭前的60公尺上坡。若是從南向北騎,過了大島之後坡度會逐漸變得平緩且短一些,整體難度也會下降一些。

騎乘時間

對於抱有決心的人來說,這條海道路線要在一天內完成並不成問題。70公里的距離對於專業車手們也可說是不太會構成威脅。但若只是休閒為主的騎行者,想在單日內全數騎完就會有點挑戰性了。如果平常不習慣長時間騎行,車道的總距離加上沿路上上下下的斜坡都可能讓平時健壯的人筋疲力竭、舉雙手投降。

因此,若時間允許,許多人會以此行程安排含住宿的2至3天旅遊,不僅可以將路線分段騎,也能獲得更多時間來觀光探索。選擇籃線的人可欣賞沿途景致,在一天內較輕鬆的踩點完成,但停留2天以上的人則有較多時間餘裕可彎離主線,用不同的視角去參觀藏在島上的其他景觀,若您是喜歡深度慢遊或有著冒險之心,相信2到3天左右的行程會非常適合您!

住宿地點

由於將島波海道拆為多天數來騎完的行程相當受到歡迎,島嶼上也開設不少旅館或背包客住宿。這些店家也通常會提供相關服務給這些騎行旅客,也會設有空間可停放這些租借或自己帶來的單車,有些甚至還可以提前將行李送至住處,這樣您就可以省下背負一整天行李的力氣,並在晚上抵達房間後好好放鬆!

自行車租借

多數狀況下,大家不會自行攜帶自行車來到島波海道。在尾道、今治和沿路的島嶼上開有許多租借自行車的店家,也都提供多樣的單車類型可選擇,基本的旅行車或是城市車約為每日1,000日幣,除此之外也會看到雙人自行車或電動車等,價錢稍高,分別為每日1,300及1,600日幣左右;如果想要騎得更帥更拉風,也可以選擇較高階、骨架較輕量的公路車,價錢則在每天5,000至10,000日幣間。

這些自行車出借的店家有規劃性地設在島波海道全線上,因此假設騎到一半不想繼續騎了,也不用擔心得撐完全程,只要找到當初租借店家在該島上的連鎖店面,便可以輕鬆完成還車。然後再改搭乘巴士或渡輪回到今治或尾道繼續進行您後面的旅行計劃。

沿路必停島嶼&必玩景點!

島波海道沿線經過的島嶼都各有特色,值得一訪!藉由這場單車之旅,您將有機會一次網羅許多觀光景點並在途中欣賞無限夢幻海景。下面我們將依序為您介紹從尾道出發到今治路上經過的島嶼。

向島 Mukaishima

從尾道出發到向島的路途雖有橋樑可直接前往,但因連接兩地的橋樑並不是為自行車而設計,多數人偏好先從尾島搭乘一段「日本最短距離」的渡輪前往向島,這樣來看向島或許可以算是島波海道真正的的起/終點。島上有一條約20公里的路線,適合想要探索比藍線路段更深入的遊客。您將可以穿過島中央進行更進階的旅程,途中會經過有著超過千種以上花卉的向島蘭花栽培中心,接著您也可以選擇騎上充滿難度的高見山,在那裡一瞰島嶼本身和瀨戶內海的絕佳景色;又或者前往立花海岸享受向島南部海岸的沙灘和神社,並且在那裡找一些小咖啡店和麵包坊填點肚子。

因島 Innoshima

藍線自行車道在因島上僅有約8公里長,沿著島嶼北側和西側海岸後穿過一座小橋便會抵達生口島。路線中會經過島波海岸和因島橋紀念公園,算是一海濱風景休憩區,有興趣的話還可到公園內的佛寺或到大濱崎燈塔散步,並同時望眼鄰近的向島和岩子島景色。而若想要再多探索一點,因島上另有長達40公里的進階路線,其中包括了山白瀧山下的花卉中心、登上島中央的海盜堡壘或是到土生商店街享用道地的御好燒料理等。

生口島 Ikuchijima

生口島上的主要車道路線是沿著島嶼北海岸開始往左下方前進,沿途正好會經過島上主要觀光景點,像是位於瀨戶田町商店街附近的平山郁夫美術館。

耕三寺由一位實業家於1930年代啟建,寺內收藏許多獨特佛教藝術品和雕像,其中包括一充滿佛像的大型洞穴「千佛洞地獄峽」,據說代表了佛教中關於地獄的觀念。此外,園區北邊另有ㄧ名為「未來心之丘」,由日本彫刻家杭谷一東以全進口大理石製作而成的大型藝術庭園,裡面包含「光明之塔」等12具代有不同意義的紀念碑可參觀感受。

除此之外,您也可以到瀨戶田町附近的潮音山公園稍作休息,將漆有鮮豔紅漆的國寶三重塔、瀨戶田小鎮風光和海景一起看個過癮。若您決定離開主路線冒險一番,島嶼的南部地區雖較少旅遊景點,卻能讓您來場安靜不嘈雜、伴隨優美風景的時間。

大三島 Omishima

大三島全島長達約45公里,是經過的六島之中面積最大的島嶼,但其藍線騎乘車道路線卻是最短的,僅有5公里左右。順著此路線走會經過一個大型休息站「多多羅島波公園休息站」,這裡有許多商店、餐廳、小販,您可在此稍作停留。而若是離開藍線推薦路線,大三島上也有無數風景名勝可以走訪。

若是沿著海岸線向北到盛港可搭乘渡輪前往充滿兔子的兔島,而若繼續繞北海岸則會經過一整片的柑橘園。此外,若您選擇橫貫島的中央地區,雖然將會遇上許多山丘地及複雜的地形,但也能前往知名的大山祇神社,神社內設有寶物館,收藏許多武士們的盔甲裝備和武器。最後,若您是往西部探索,記得千萬別錯過展示了許多知名建築大師精彩作品的「伊東豐雄建築博物館」,從這裡再往上走一點還有一「Tokoro博物館」,此博物館便是由伊東豐雄先生所設計,將當代藝術、風景和建築三者融合後在此呈現引人深思的展示。

伯方島 Hakatajima

伯方島在藍線自行車道上和大三島一樣只佔過了島上的一小部分,主要經過島嶼西部位置。 依照此路線走會經過一海濱小鎮,您可以在此品嚐特產的鹽味香草霜淇淋,並繼續前往海攤和島波海豚農場水族館體驗海豚餵食。

如果選擇離開主道路,雖然結果可能不如其他島嶼般有許多其他大型景點,但沿途上令人看到出神的沙灘、岸邊岩崖和大型鹽田等自然景色加總起來也依舊讓伯方島魅力十足。對了,別忘記到「舟折之瀨戶」並在觀潮台上看看強大急促的水流渦動!

大島 Oshima

島波海道自行車路線中最長且最困難的騎行路程就是在大島。主要路線穿過島嶼中間,因為需要攀越山脊所以增加了此段路線的挑戰性。沿路而行將經過幾個島上小鎮,除了感受身在樹林和大自然環境中之外,這裡也能找到一些家庭餐館和連鎖商店。

大島上的藍線替代路線主要沿著島嶼北部和整個西部海岸線,騎這條路線時一樣會遇到和騎藍線時遇到的坡度挑戰,但路程中卻多了岩石峭壁和砂岩沙灘的景色可享受。最後,來到大島當然不能忘記最經典的「來島海峽大橋」!這座跨海大橋上有著令人吃驚、長達4公里的自行車道,是這六座島中擁有最遠島距的一段路線,終點將連接到四國的今治。

其他小島

除了藍線自行車道上經過的六個島嶼外,還有以下幾座小島也可提供您作為延伸探險路線時的參考。這些島嶼相對來說較小,通常沒有什麼觀光景點,卻能為您送上優美的景色和未受破壞的自然環境。

岩子島 Iwashijima

岩子島位於向島的西邊,是一個有不少小景點,可以彎過去來場短程探險之地。車輛不多的路上讓人騎自行車時感到特別舒暢,沿路上會經過柑桔園和一些當地人釣魚處。另外,記得留點時間到嚴島神社走走,這裡可是廣島宮島上一著名神社的親戚神社!

生名島 Ikinajima/弓削島 Yugejima/岩城島 Iwagijima

此三個島嶼在因島的下方組成一個小島群,這三個小島可以用一條路線輕鬆走訪完畢,弓削島是三個島中面幾最大者,島上有一處適合游泳的海灘和幾間背包客住宿,要過夜時非常方便;若是春季時,則記得不要錯過岩城島的華麗櫻花和展望台!

高根島 Takaneshima

高根島是位於生口島旁的一座小島,您可以倚著島上海岸線深入騎往山林間,進行精彩的單車環島。相信我們,您絕對可以遠離其他單車騎士和嘈雜交通路段,獲得安靜又品穩的騎乘過程體驗!

總結

恭喜你成功完成這趟穿越了瀨戶內海的單車之旅!相信您接下來很可能會在尾道或是今治地區旅遊一下,那麼,不如趁休息和恢復體力的空擋,接著來看看這兩個城市附近各有哪些特色吧!

先從北端的尾道說起,寺廟巡禮是這裡相當著名的行程,這一條古寺漫遊路線通過市區公園,全長2.5公里,路程中共計會經過25間寺廟,就這座城市的大小來說,廟宇的密度可說是非常高,推薦您可以去走一趟。

今治地區則以出產高吸水性、極其柔軟的優質毛巾和精緻的花樣而聞名日本全國,因此這裡有一間很特別,以毛巾為主題的博物館可前往參觀。此外,今治城和其內部博物館也是一個能夠一見古老的武士兵器和裝備的好去處。

除了尾道和今治外,還有許多地方都距離島波海道不遠,像是從尾道往西搭乘短程電車便能抵達的廣島市;今治的南邊和四國其他地區也都有豐富的景觀名勝,無論您下一步選擇哪裡、安排什麼行程,相信都將伴隨這趟既夢幻又獨特的瀨戶內島波海道自行車遊,為您帶來更多美好的回憶!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

The Shimanami Kaido: Japan's Best Cycling Adventure!

Japan's Seto Inland Sea is home to more than just year-round warm weather, gorgeous beaches, and scenic islands. It also contains Japan's longest cycling trail—the Shimanami Kaido! Crossing over six small islands in a chain connecting the main Japanese islands of Honshu and Shikoku, bikers of all abilities are treated to stunning scenery as they make their way across five awe-inspiring spans of water, over ancient mountain ridges, and through teeming sub-tropical forests. If you enjoy adventure traveling, or merely want to see a fresh side of Japan, the Shimanami Kaido presents one of Japan's most unique attractions and is a one-of-a-kind experience.

Hiroshima

Things to Do

Introduction - What is the Shimanami Kaido?

Spanning six islands across the Seto Inland Sea, the Shimanami Kaido, also known as the Nishiseto Expressway, is one of Japan’s most memorable experiences. 60 kilometers of pavement and 6 bridges close the gap between the city of Onomichi on Honshu (the largest of Japan's four main islands) and Imabari on Shikoku (the smallest of the main islands). While the highway is itself a scenic drive, what truly makes the Shimanami Kaido shine is its attached cycling course. Shadowing the highway, but still taking an independent route of its own, the cycling course takes riders across the six islands of the Shimanami Kaido, up through the mountain ridges, and across several large bridge spans before eventually ending on the opposite side of the sea. What began initially as a highway construction project in the late 1990s has become one of Japan’s most interesting and unique experiences.

The Cycle Path

At 60 kilometers long, the cycling path is one of, if not the most, scenic biking trips you can take in Japan. Built entirely with cycling in mind, it winds up over the mountains of the islands, shuttling bikers through forests and beaches before taking them over six awe-inspiring spans of sea. As it is designed for cyclists, the majority of the path is the exclusive domain of bicycles. At some portions, and depending on the route you take, it might spill onto roadways, but for the most part, it will be just you and fellow bikers.

With no cars around, very little gets in the way of taking in the scenery.

You can start at either end of the path, from Onomichi in Hiroshima, or from Imabari in Shikoku. However, most people elect to start in Onomichi and make their way south, due to easy access from Hiroshima/Kansai/Kanto. However, it is actually slightly easier to start in Shikoku and work your way north. The way the wind blows across the Seto Inland Sea is largely from the south-west direction, which means it’ll be at your back if you ride north while you’ll have to fight it riding south. This isn’t a big issue normally, but it helps when tackling some of the more challenging hills.

There are myriad routes you can take across the islands, and in fact, exploring each island is encouraged. That being said, if you want to take the most basic route, the planners of the Shimanami Kaido have marked it with a blue line on the road. All you have to do is follow the blue line and you’ll make it across all six islands without much difficulty. If you want to explore, all the islands offer alternative/extra routes you can easily take that branch off from the blue line. These routes often involve circling the islands or dropping by various small towns and villages. Some of these may be more difficult than simply taking the blue route, as they’ll tackle hills or mountains that would otherwise be bypassed. However, the opportunity to explore is boundless, and you’ll be gliding across beaches, through forests, and past beautiful little Japanese villages that you would otherwise miss on the main route. 

If you start in Onomichi and take the main route, you’ll come across the islands in this order: Mukaishima → Innoshima → Kuchijima → Omishima → Hakatajima → Oshima. Starting in Imabari will have you doing the opposite. There are five other islands that are also accessible by bike from the route: Iwashijima, Takaneshima, Yugeshima, Ikinashima, and Iwagishima. Each of these will require branching off the blue route to reach, however. 

Difficulty of the Routes

The route was built with cyclists in mind, but that doesn’t mean you need to be a professional to complete the 60-kilometer course—Far from it. Since the route was designed for bicycles, you'll find that it is very comfortable to ride. The grading of slopes and the sharpness of turns were all built to be easily conquerable by everyone, from the enthusiast to the casual rider. To highlight this point, although you may see professional bikers breaking out their road bikes and spandex to cruise through the Shimanami Kaido in a few hours, you are also just as likely (if not more so) to see families riding classic mamachari (single-speed bicycles with attached shopping basket) leisurely completing it as well. 

Of course, not all the routes are designed equally. The blue route, being the recommended course, is the easiest and made to be doable by everyone. Going off the route may entail more difficult terrain or being forced onto roads with cars. If you’re not a professional or are hoping to complete the route in a day or two, it is usually best just to stick with the blue route. 

On the blue route, the most difficult sections are those on Oshima, near Imabari. The island is quite mountainous, with a center ridgeline that needs to be crested. Whereas most of the other islands will only have one big slope to ride up (to the bridge to cross over to the next island), Oshima has two, one 70-meter climb for the next bridge and one 60-meter climb over the mountains in the center. The rest of the islands, going north from Oshima decrease in difficulty, with slopes becoming shorter and less steep. 

How Long Does It Take?

The route is completely doable in a single day for those who are determined. Professional bikers should have no difficulty with the 60-kilometer price tag and can easily zip their way across the islands. For more casual riders, though, a single day may be more of a challenge than a goal. The route length combined with the many slopes can easily wear down even the fittest person if they’re not used to long bicycle rides. 

Therefore, many people opt for a two or possibly three-day ride, lodging overnight along the way. This not only breaks up the route, making it easier to tackle day-by-day, but also greatly expands the amount of time you can spend exploring. Whereas people who want to finish in one day may zip through the main route, taking in the scenery along the way, those who opt to spend an extra day or two can easily detour off the blue line and visit the many different sights and scenes located amongst the islands. If you want a slower, easier, or more adventuring experience, a two or three-day trip might be the way to go.
 

Lodging

Due to the popularity of breaking the ride up into multiple days, many different guesthouses dot the islands. Most are well prepared for bikers and make special accommodations for bicycles, rented or brought. You can even send luggage ahead so that by the time you drop in, everything will be ready for you to relax for the evening (and in return freeing up that heavy load from your back!)

Renting Bicycles

Most people don’t come to the Shimanami Kaido with their own bicycle. Instead, various bicycle rental stores can be found in Onomichi, Imabari, and dotted across the islands along the route. Most of these shops will offer a variety of different bicycles to choose from. Basic bikes, such as cross bikes and city bikes are offered for about 1000 yen per day. Tandem bikes and electric bikes are also available for slightly higher prices of 1300 yen and 1600 yen respectively. For those who want to ride in a bit more style, or prefer the higher quality and lightweight frame of a road bike, expect prices between 5000 yen and 10,000 yen per day. 

As the rental shops are placed strategically along the route, this also means you don’t necessarily have to finish the whole course. Say half the route is enough biking for you; you can easily return your bicycle to any of the many rental shops (provided they are part of the same shop chain you rented from). From there, there are buses and ferries that can take you back to either Imabari or Onomichi, depending on where you want to go. 

The Islands, What to Do, and Where to Stop

Each of the islands along the Shimanami Kaido are worthy of a special visit. Biking through them nets you the opportunity to visit dozens of different tourist sites while also enjoying the fantastic nautical scenery. Here, we will detail the islands in order, going south from Onomichi to Imabari. 

Mukaishima

The technical starting/ending point of the Shimanami Kaido (although you could bike over the bridge from Onomichi to Mukaishima, it isn’t dedicated to bicycles and most people will take “Japan’s shortest ferry ride” over instead), Mukaishima offers a 20-kilometer detour loop for those who want to jump off the blue line and explore a bit. Going through the center of the island, a more challenging ride, brings you through Mukaishima’s orchid cultivation center, where over a thousand different types of flowers are grown. Climb up Mount Takami (a very difficult ride!) for a fantastic view of the island and the Seto Inland Sea, or make your way to Tachibana and enjoy the beaches and shrines of the southern shore. There you can also find various small cafes and bakeries that cater to bikers and locals alike. 
 

Innoshima

The blue route only covers about 8 kilometers on Innoshima island, taking riders across the north and western shores before crossing over a small bridge to Ikuchi. Staying on the blue route, you will come across Shimanami Beach and Innoshimaohashi Memorial Park, a seaside area that serves as both a rest stop and a scenic view. Visit the Buddhist Temple in the park, or take a stroll out to the Ohamasaki Lighthouse, which has fantastic views of neighboring Mukaishima and Iwashishima. For those who want to explore, Innoshima offers 40 extra kilometers of routes across the island. Visit the flower center just below Mount Shirataki, climb the center of the island to a reimagined pirate fortress, or ride on down to the Habu shopping area to enjoy some of the island’s famously delicious "okonomiyaki" (savory pancakes). 

Ikuchijima

The main route on Ikuchijima takes you along the northern shore of the island, and also happens to pass through a majority of the island’s tourist spots. Arriving in the small town of Setoda, you can drop by the Hirayama Museum of Art, which is right off the main shopping street in town. 

Kosanji Temple, commissioned in the 1930s by a wealthy businessman, is full of interesting and unique Buddhist artwork and statues, including a long cave filled with statues that is said to represent the Buddhist idea of hell. Behind the temple, ascend to the Heights of Eternal Hope for the Future, a large marble artwork created by Japanese sculptor Kazuto Kuetani and made entirely out of imported Italian marble.

Alternatively, relax in Choonzan Park. Resting on top of a hill near the town, you are presented with a great view of the Kokoji Temple pagoda (which is covered entirely in red lacquer) the town, and the sea. If you decide to venture off the main route, the southern path on the island has fewer tourist spots and is a more quiet, scenic trip. 
 

Omishima

Although Omishima is the largest island, it has one of the shortest routes. The recommended blue line lasts a mere 5 kilometers of the possible 45 kilometers the island has to offer. Staying on the route, you can visit the massive roadside station at Tatara Shimanami Park. Stop by the multitude of stores, restaurants, and shops as you take a break from biking. If you choose to go off the blue route, you will be able to visit many of the island’s numerous scenic spots.

Go north along the coast to Sakari, where a ferry can take you to rabbit island, which, as its name suggests, is full of rabbits. Circling north, ride past the beautiful sprawling citrus orchards of the northern shore. Cutting through the center of the island will have you taking on hillier and more challenging terrain, but you will also allow you to stop by Oyamazumi Shrine, which contains a treasure hall and a fantastic collection of samurai arms and armor. Going further west, don’t miss out on the Toyo Ito Museum of Architecture, showcasing the famous architect’s works; or the hillside Tokoro Museum, designed by the same architect and presenting a thought-provoking mix of modern art, landscapes, and architecture. 
 

Hakatajima

Like Omishima, Hakatajima is largely ignored by the blue line, with just a short jaunt of its western shore being included on the route. On the blue line, you can stop in the small seaside town to enjoy its speciality, salted vanilla ice cream and then go to the beach and feed the dolphins at the Hakatajima dolphin farm.

Going off the trail won't bring you to as many tourist sites as the other islands, but the lack of spots is made up for by the fantastic scenery and views along the way. Dazzling beaches, seaside cliffs, and giant salt ponds make up the nature-filled detour of Hakatajima. Don’t miss the "Funaori no Seto" (Broken Ship Strait), where the strong currents are visible from the seaside path! 

Oshima

The longest part of the route, as well as the toughest, is on the island of Oshima. The main route goes largely through the center of the island, where the challenge comes from climbing the island’s spine. Taking this route will bring you through several different towns with a variety of family restaurants and chain stores, along with various bouts of forest and nature.

Alternative routes include the much longer shore path along the northern and western edges of the island, which offer a similar challenge to the center, but with added scenic views of rocky cliff faces and sandy beaches. Oshima’s reward, of course, is the Kurushima Bridge, which offers a dazzling 4-kilometer long ride across the longest stretch of water in the island chain, ending in Imabari in Shikoku. 

Side Islands

These islands are off the main route and exist only as extensions of the explorer routes you can take on the other islands. Often small, these destinations don’t usually have a tourist attraction, but rather offer scenic loops and beautiful unspoilt nature.

Iwashijima

Off the western coast of Mukaishima, Iwashijima is a short detour with plenty of small sites. Back roads with little traffic offer a pleasant ride through citrus orchards and local fishing spots. Make sure to drop by Itsukushima Shrine, the smaller cousin to the famous shine on Hiroshima's Miyajima.

Ikinajima, Yugejima, and Iwagijima

These three islands form a small group off the southern coast of Innoshima. A short route can easily take you through all three of the islands without much difficulty. Yugejima is the largest of the three islands and has a great swimming beach as well as several guesthouses that make it an excellent spot to spend the night. During springtime, you won't want to miss the Iwagijima, as it has some gorgeous cherry blossoms as well as a great observatory. 

Takaneshima

The largest of the side islands, Takaneshima sits off the main town on Ikuchijima. A gorgeous ride, circle the island on the coast with only minor diversions through the mountain forests of the interior. It is guaranteed to be a peaceful and tranquil ride, devoid of other bikers or heavy traffic.

Conclusion

Now that you’ve completed your stunning bike ride across the Seto Inland Sea, you’re in the perfect position to explore either Onomichi or Imabari as well! While you rest and recover from your 60-kilometer (or more!) journey, there’s no better time to see what each city and its surrounding area has to offer.

On the northern end, the most famous site in Onomichi is the Temple Walk, which is a 2.5-kilometer path through the city’s central park. It is called the Temple Walk because there are 25 temples along the way, a density unmatched by other cities of Onomichi’s size.

Imabari in the south offers a quirky towel museum, as the city is famed across Japan for the quality of its super absorbent and soft towels and their associated art. Imabari is also home to a replica castle and museum that is full of old samurai weapons and armor.

Also nearby the Shimanami Kaido is Hiroshima City, which is just a short train ride away from Onomichi to the west, as well as other scenic spots in Shikoku to the south or east of Imabari. Whichever way you choose, there’s plenty to do to accompany the fantastic and wholly-unique bike trip across the Shimanami Kaido. 

Title Image: Rachin Mapanya / Shutterstock

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search