冒險者的新天堂「飛島海道」 用自行車探索四國的鄉村島嶼

喜歡騎自行車的人可能聽說過島波海道,是一條連接本州和四國長達70公里的自行車路線。但很多人可能不知道這裡其實還有另一條自行車路線,是大多數旅行者可能都沒有注意到的路線,也就是「飛島海道」。本文將深入了解這個人跡罕至的地方,以及它的地理、歷史和文化。筆者在今年夏天的也透過自行車冒險體驗這個地方的偉大!

廣島

行程體驗

Klook.com

飛島海道

「飛島海道」是一條全長約 31公里的自行車道,途經一系列橋樑並將五個大島和兩個小島連接到本州。這些島嶼也統稱為「安藝灘諸島」,位於本州和四國之間的瀨戶內海,橫跨愛媛廣島兩個不同的縣。從四國到本州,五個大島的名字依次是岡村島、大崎下島、豐島、上蒲刈島、下蒲刈島。

這些島嶼是自行車騎士的天堂,沿著海岸有長而平坦道路,令人振奮的橋樑交叉路口一覽無餘,還有很多機會繞過丘陵內部。

與沿途擁有眾多景點、餐廳和住宿的島波海道不同,「飛島海道」蜿蜒地穿過鄉村農田和沈睡的漁村,其他自行車騎士或遊客也少得多。

騎著自行車馳騁在飛島海道

官方定義來說,「飛島海道」是連接岡村島和安藝大橋入口31公里的路線。一路上使用藍線標示。大多數身體健康和狀況良好的人都可以在一天內走完這條路線。不過途中有很多繞路、參觀博物館和享受海灘的場所,強烈建議多花幾天在這條路上,讓自己完全沉浸在慢節奏的島嶼生活中。

雖然藍線標示官方路線,並沿著每個島嶼的北海岸或南海岸運行,但這通常也是交通最繁忙的路段。當地人建議盡可能採取相反的方式繞島(所以,當藍線沿著北海岸行駛就選擇走南路),除非您想沿著藍線看到一些特別的東西 - 筆者的親身經歷可以證明島上藍線以外的其他地方幾乎沒有任何車流!

筆者也建議避開星期二,因為大多數博物館、景點和水上活動都在這天休息。還值得注意的是,御手洗海岸的許多餐館只在週末營業,也是最多國內遊客光顧的時候。

前往飛島海道

雖然「飛島海道」可以從任一方向開始騎,但本文將介紹從岡村島到仁方(廣島吳市的一部分)的自行車路線,約2天1夜的行程。

可以選擇從愛媛縣的今治市乘坐渡輪或客船前往岡村島,今治市恰好也是島波海道的起終點。早上可以在今治港直接購買船票。如果您自備自行車也可以攜帶上船。售票機的按鈕數量混亂,但友好的工作人員會很樂意幫助您選擇合適的傳票,不懂就問問他們!

客船每天只有四班,航程大約一個小時。在到達最終目的地岡村島的途中會在其他島嶼停靠,小心不要太早下船。

由於「飛島海道」不如島波海道發達,因此提前安排好自行車租借也很重要。關於自行車租借之事可以聯繫Setouchi Cycling(英語)的工作人員。

客船和渡輪資訊:Sekizen Ferry(日語)

*上述為2022年9月資訊
*請注意,因只在特定的日子運營,渡輪的時間會有例外情況發生。除非能提前確認最新的時間表,否則我們建議您乘坐客船。

岡村島

今年夏天,筆者和朋友進行為期一個月的旅行,徒步旅行和騎自行車穿越日本一些人跡罕至的地區。我們遇到令人驚嘆的天氣。雖然溫度很高但有許多雲,陰天也代表沒有烈日(雖然會讓風景看起來不那麼上鏡)。在我們騎自行車的日子裡,空氣也保持乾燥,微風吹在臉上輕柔清新。春秋季涼爽宜人的天氣會更適合這樣的旅行,所以建議要提前查看天氣並做出相應的計劃。

走完著名的島波海道後,我們就前往今治並在那過夜。第二天一早,我們步行到港口登上前往岡村島的客船,前往我們下一次自行車探險行的起點:「飛島海道」。

筆者和當地人一起在岡村島港下船。自行車租借公司的一位熱情員工用我們的自行車迎接,並給我們地圖。也在簡要解釋路線的同時,告訴我們幾個不錯的午餐地點。出​​發之前,他還親切地確保我們的自行車調整到最佳狀態。當我們騎車上路時,幾位年長的婦女向我們露出燦爛的笑容並揮手致意。很快地我們就離開了鄉鎮,開始了這趟自行車公路之旅。

岡村島是一個很小的島,228公尺長的岡村大橋很快映入眼簾。過橋之前,我們在附近一處的「緣結」景點停下——這是一個深具靈性的地方,據信能為人際關係帶來好運,尤其是戀愛的關係。寫滿祈禱文的繪馬,完美地勾勒出大橋和後續島嶼的景色。

穿過岡村大橋時,也將穿過縣界。進入廣島並將愛媛留在身後。接下來是兩座橋 - 中之瀬戸大橋和平羅橋。快速穿過兩個小島後,到達下一個島嶼-大崎下島。

岡村島的其他景點:

大崎下島

離開平羅橋時,不要沿著藍線向右行駛,記得走左邊前往「御手洗町」,這裡會是您絕對不想錯過的亮點!

御手洗町在江戶時代(1603-1868)作為港口城市繁榮地發展,當時的日本處於鎖國狀態——直到1853年,嚴格的隔離政策持續250多年。在此期間,往返大阪的貿易船隻將在御手洗停下來補充資源,等待有利航行的風和潮汐,因此將曾經沉睡的小鎮變成繁華的海濱中心。

而船長、軍官和其他船員在等待期間需要的吃喝玩樂,許多藝伎茶館和妓院順勢而生。「若胡子屋」就是這些前茶館之一,當時僱用50~100名藝伎,今日仍可以欣賞到這座保存完好的建築中美麗的貴賓室。

在御手洗另一個看重的東西是八卦。有影響力的「大名(封建領主)」在這些煙霧繚繞的場所密室裡會面,討論政治和國家大事等。據說最終推翻德川幕府、1868年的維新倒幕運動,就是在御手洗町策劃!

如今,御手洗是經歷江戶、明治、大正和昭和時代再到現在的令和,保存完好建築的集合區,並被指定為廣島縣歷史保護區。

作為日本傳統建築的愛好者,我們在狹窄的街道和小巷裡漫無目的地遊蕩,幾個小時的時間一晃而過。這裡有一個有趣的當地傳統,是掛在許多房屋外牆上的細竹花瓶,每個花瓶都有當地居民製作的獨特插花。

在小鎮的一個角落裡,刺耳的蟬鳴聲吸引我們的注意力,把我們帶到天滿宮的大石牌坊門前。這座神社有其獨特的名聲。傳說中,被尊為「學問之神」的菅原道真,在901年的一場重要戰役中失利後,曾到訪並在主神社建築後面的井裡洗手。「御手洗」在日語中的意思是「洗手」,也是這個小鎮的名字的由來。

天滿宮與騎行也有著深厚的淵源。20世紀初騎自行車環遊世界的第一人,背包客自行車手中村春吉就出生在御手洗,熱情的自行車愛好者在踏上自己的冒險之旅之前,一定要到天滿宮向他致敬。

之後我們繼續漫步在迷宮般的街道上,在眾多建築物中發現更多瑰寶。其中包括兩層樓的昭和博物館,裡面擺滿日本昭和時代(1926-1989)的復古玩具、遊戲、海報、糖果和其他紀念品。

御手洗的居民友好而健談。在當地郵局購買一些印有美麗城市景觀的可愛郵票後,我們與其中一位工作人員進行長時間的交談。他熱情地解釋御手洗的歷史重要性,以及該鎮如何演變成現在的樣子。除了向我們展示一條拆除電纜以重現原始氛圍的街道,還告訴我們某些風景如畫的房屋和街道,如何經常被用作電影和電視節目的外景地。

此時另一位路人加入我們的談話,講述他和他的家人如何遠離東京的喧囂,轉而享受慢島生活的故事。他們在鎮上開了一家迷人的英式茶館,供應多種红茶和令人垂涎欲滴的果醬烤餅,週末時店裡常常坐滿遊客。 近年來,雖然這裡總人口仍然不多,但島嶼上開始湧入尋求不同生活方式的年輕人。

大崎下島其他值得一去的地方:

豊島

當您騎自行車穿梭在「飛島海道」時,會注意到許多果園,特別是如果選擇大路以外的小道。這些是柑橘種植園,對安藝灘諸島的發展和繁榮有著重要作用。

自古以來,該地區就大量種植酸橘、柑橘和柚子等本土柑橘類水果。1898年,外國商人將檸檬引入大崎下島。這裡便成為日本最早種植檸檬的地方。

當地人建造梯田果園,在瀨戶內海溫和的氣候、充足的陽光和排水良好的土壤下,水果茁壯成長。檸檬比本地柑橘類水果多汁且酸度更高,因此很快成為海鮮菜餚的首選基調,尤其是與在瀨戶內地區流行的海鯛等白色魚類搭配。此外,在1月和5月之間無果實收穫的空檔期,檸檬正好在此時準備好收成,與本地柑橘類水果的生長季節相得益彰。

1905年,一種叫做「早生蜜柑」的橘子也被引入這些島嶼,並作為夏季小吃在日本廣受歡迎。結合檸檬的農作,造就安藝灘諸島繁榮黃金時代的開始。

然而在第二次世界大戰之後,對蜜柑和檸檬的需求減少,造成該地總體經濟減少。 許多人便離開此地,留下漁村和老年人口。

值得慶幸的是,柑橘類水果再次成為該地區最吸引人的水果之一。隨著瀨戶內海檸檬在整個日本廣受歡迎,許多當地的柑橘種植者也開始以有機或可持續的方式種植農產品,以促進更慢、更健康的生活方式,同時保護島上獨特的環境。

當我們遊覽「飛島海道」時,對可以做出這麼多不同用處的獨特柑橘產品之數量感到驚訝。種類繁多,從蛋糕和餅乾等經典美食到檸檬鹽、沙拉醬和用來沾麵條的肉湯等,有趣的特色菜應有盡有。每一樣都是當作精美的紀念品製作而成,讓我們很難控制自己的錢包!

穿過543公尺長的桁架橋到達豐島後,我們在「しまcafeきたたに」停下來吃午飯。這家咖啡館位於島上安靜的港口小鎮。靠窗的吧台座位上可以看到大橋的美景。店內販售的食物種類不多,都以柑橘為中心。每一道料理聽起來都很美味,最後我們選擇他們原汁原味的柑橘牛肉咖哩和當地的蔬菜披薩,兩者都配以玉米冷濃湯,以及招牌的清見王子柳橙汁

披薩上撒了一點辛辣的柑橘醬和檸檬醬。咖哩牛肉則有明顯的柑橘味,是我們吃過最好吃的咖哩之一!果汁同樣令人難忘,其獨特的清見橙味,使它不同於以往品嚐過的任何果汁。

為我們提供食物的熱情老闆娘,很高興聽到我們正在進行的旅行。她拿出一本留言簿,上面寫滿多年來日本國內外遊客寫下的可愛信息。我們也留下一些話語並揮手告別。重新騎上自行車,沿著北部海岸的藍線前往下一個島嶼。

豐島其他值得一去的地方:

上蒲刈島

令人印象深刻的豐島大橋長達903公尺,是島上最後一座於2008年開放的橋樑。過橋後會立即進入一條又長又黑的隧道。通過隧道後,照耀在最受歡迎的上蒲刈島上空的陽光下,前往「飛島海道」上的海灘:「縣民之濱」。海攤的位置大約在路線的中途,如果想和我們一樣計劃過夜旅行,這裡也是個完美的住宿地點。

「縣民之濱」被選為日本百大最佳海灘之一,擁有美麗的新月形、淡黃的沙灘和平靜的海水。除了清爽的游泳之外,還有橡皮划艇和SUP等各種水上活動。可以在筆者過夜的海灘飯店-輝之館預訂。

輝之館是日本海灘度假勝地的典型代表,不過與許多人聽到「度假勝地」一詞時會想到的畫面不太一樣。日本的海灘度假村通常是外表不那麼出色的建築,且氣氛有些許老舊——而且不一定有游泳池。然而它們非常受家庭式的客人歡迎。且招待、食物或提供的活動方面通常都在水準之上。

除了水上活動外,輝之館還設有網球場,並在海灘一端的天文塔提供觀星之旅(僅日語)。飯店隔壁還有一個溫泉,有多種類型的浴池,可以欣賞到地面的景色,是在汗流浹背的自行車行後,清潔身體和舒緩肌肉酸痛的理想場所。

除了眾多的柑橘產品外,飯店附設商店的「海人藻鹽 」也引起筆者的注意。藻鹽是這些島嶼的標誌性產品之一。

安藝灘諸島位於瀨戶內海最狹窄的海峽之一,自有人類定居以來一直是漁人的家園。從本州和四國的山脈流入海洋的淡水,使島嶼周圍的海域營養豐富。這些營養物質被許多岩石小島和陡峭的海岸線所留下,為浮游生物、海草和海藻的生長創造理想的環境,也為魚類和其他海底生物的繁衍打造最佳條件。

瀨戶內海地區最大的天然海藻床就位於這裡的海岸附近。長期以來,海藻一直被當作一種天然資源採收並用於當地烹飪之中,提供居民必需的營養和膳食纖維。這些營養和膳食纖維對島上無法種植蔬菜的土壤環境來說,無疑是一大完美的替代方案。 「海人藻鹽 」就是這樣一種從海藻製作而來到的產品,將燒過的海藻灰和海水一起煮沸製成。成品是一種獨特的鹽,帶有一絲甜味,富含礦物質、維生素和鹹鮮味。

上蒲刈島其他值得一去的地方:

下蒲刈島

睡了一夜好覺後,我們騎上自行車,快速騎完飯店和下一座橋之間的路程,再次欣賞南海岸一覽無餘的海景,四國在地平線上若隱若現。雖然一切仍然很安靜,但這裡的車流變得比較多,提醒著我們正在接近大城市。

這座優雅、480公尺長的桁架橋於1979年開通,連接上蒲刈島和鄰近的下蒲刈島,是「飛島海道」的第一座橋。過橋後不久,就會進入美麗的港口小鎮三之瀬,主要街道舖有平坦的長方形鵝卵石,兩旁是傳統建築和造型巧妙的松樹。

江戶時代時,三之瀬是朝鮮重要的使者及其隨從前往日本首都途中的重要停靠港。這些外交使節團、通信使透過松濤園博物館和花園的立體模型得以重現。此外這裡還展出許多原始文件,包括一份被指定為聯合國教科文組織世界遺產的文件。這些外交活動對三之瀬的發展非常重要,以至於每年10月都會重演朝鮮使節團的到來,參與者身著韓國傳統服飾乘船抵達,並走上港口標誌性的石階。

三之瀬也是幾個迷人的藝術畫廊和博物館的所在地,包括用日本柳杉打造的精美「蘭島閣美術館」,定期舉辦音樂會,以及有一個獨特的旋轉牆的前茶館「三之瀬御本陣藝術文化館」。整個小鎮散發著懷舊的氣息,輔以令人嘆為觀止的海洋和島嶼景觀,包括蒲刈大橋和安藝灘大橋的絕佳拍照點。

在風景如畫的三之瀬漫步後,筆者最後駛向安藝灘。這是一座1175公尺長的懸索橋(最長的一座),連接「飛島海道」和本州。欣賞完令人驚嘆的景色後,我們前往仁方,是我們自行車的還車點(如果從相反方向出發則為上車點)。 雖然這是一趟不長的車程,但縣道上交通繁忙,要小心交通安全。

歸還自行車後,可以搭乘火車或巴士前往廣島,或在吳下車搭乘開往松山的渡輪。 我們選擇後者,並在前往九州進行為期一周的徒步、溫泉旅行之前,欣賞古老的松山城和傳說中的道後溫泉

下蒲刈島其他值得一去的地方:

飛島海道 - 冒險旅行者的新自行車天堂

雖然島波海道在日本國內外遊客中享有盛名,但「飛島海道」仍然鮮為人知。這裡變為自行車旅行天堂的潛力非常巨大,島嶼之中有種人跡罕至的氛圍,展示日本的另一面,適合活躍、喜歡冒險的旅行者前往。不論是鬱鬱蔥蔥的果園、沈睡的漁村或是田園詩般的鄉村景觀,這裡保存完好的、與歷史息息相關的傳統建築,加上熱情好客的當地人,讓「飛島海道」成為日本最被低估的瑰寶之一!

Top photo: Maya Iris Vesely Weisser

中國特集

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

作者簡介

Maya
Maya V.
Klook.com

搜尋餐廳

Tobishima Kaido - Exploring Japan’s Lesser-Known Rural Islands on Two Wheels

You’ve likely heard of the Shimanami Kaido, the 70-kilometer-long cycling route connecting Honshu and Shikoku, but did you know that the area is home to another cycling route, which is largely off the radar for most travelers? This is the Tobishima Kaido, and in this article we will dive into the geography, history, and culture of this off-the-beaten-track destination which we experienced on our great cycling adventure this summer!

Hiroshima

Experiences

What Is the Tobishima Kaido?

The Tobishima Kaido (とびしま海道) is a cycling route of roughly 31 kilometers connecting five large and two small islands to the Honshu mainland via a series of bridges. The islands, also collectively known as the Akinada Islands, are located in the Seto Inland Sea between Honshu and Shikoku and span two different prefectures - Ehime and Hiroshima. From Shikoku traveling towards Honshu, the names of the five bigger islands in order are Okamurajima, Osaki Shimojima, Toyoshima, Kami Kamagarijima, and Shimo Kamagarijima.

These islands are a haven for cyclists with long, flat stretches along the coast, exhilarating bridge crossings with sweeping vistas, and plenty of opportunities to detour through the hilly interiors.

As opposed to the well-known Shimanami Kaido, which has a wealth of attractions, eateries, and accommodations along the route, the Tobishima Kaido winds through rural farmlands and sleepy fishing villages, and other cyclists or tourists are far less common.

Cycling the Tobishima Kaido

The official definition of the Tobishima Kaido is the 31-kilometer route connecting Okamurajima with the entry point to the Akinada Bridge, marked with a blue line on the road. Most people in general good health and physical condition will be able to finish the route in a day. However, there are many options for detours, museum visits, and beach fun to be had on the way, and staying overnight is highly recommended to immerse yourself fully in slow-paced island life.

Although the blue line marks the official route and runs along either the north or south coast of each island, this is usually also the busiest road sections, and the locals recommend taking the opposite way around the islands when possible (so, when the blue line runs along the north coast, take the south road instead) unless there’s something special you’d like to see along the blue line - we can attest there’s hardly any traffic at all in other parts of the islands!

We also recommend avoiding visiting on a Tuesday, since most museums, attractions, and water activities are closed. It’s also worth noting that many eateries in Mitarai are only open on weekends, which is when domestic tourists tend to visit.

Accessing the Tobishima Kaido

While the Tobishima Kaido can be cycled in either direction, this article will focus on a 2-day/1-night itinerary starting from Okamurajima to the bike drop-off point in Nigata (part of Kure City in Hiroshima).

Okamurajima can be accessed by ferry or passenger boat from Imabari City, which happens to also be the starting/ending point for the Shimanami Kaido. Tickets can be bought directly at Imabari Port in the morning, and if you’re bringing your own bike, it’s possible to bring that onboard as well. Tickets are sold from a vending machine with a confusing number of buttons, but the friendly staff will be happy to help you choose the right one, so don’t hesitate to ask!

The passenger boat has only four departures a day, and the ride takes roughly an hour. The boat will stop at other islands on the way to the final destination of Okamurajima, so be careful not to get off too early.

Since the Tobishima Kaido is not as well-developed as the Shimanami Kaido, it’s also essential to arrange your bike rental in advance. This can be done by contacting the staff at Setouchi Cycling (English).

Passenger Boat and Ferry Information: Sekizen Ferry (Japanese)

*Accurate as of September, 2022
*Note that there are many exceptions to the times of the ferry, as it only operates on certain days. We recommend taking the passenger boat unless you’re able to confirm the latest schedule in advance.

Okamurajima

This summer, a friend and I went on a month-long trip hiking and cycling through some of Japan’s lesser-visited areas. We ended up with amazing weather - temperatures were high, but cloudy days meant no scorching sun (although it made the scenery less photogenic). It also stayed dry on our cycling days, and the breeze was gentle and refreshing. However, I’d imagine that the cool, pleasant weather of spring or autumn would be better suited for this kind of trip, so make sure you check the weather in advance and plan accordingly.

After completing the well-known Shimanami Kaido cycling route, we ended up in Imabari, where we stayed the night. Early next morning we walked down to the port to board the passenger boat to Okamurajima, the starting point of our next cycling adventure: the Tobishima Kaido.

We hopped off the boat at Okamurajima Port together with a few locals. An enthusiastic employee from our bike rental company greeted us with our bikes, handed out maps, and let us in on a few good lunch spots while briefly explaining the route. He also kindly made sure our bikes were adjusted correctly before we set out. A few elderly women sent us some big smiles and waved as we biked past, but soon we had left the township behind and were on the open road.

As Okamurajima is a very small island, the 228-meter-long Okamura Bridge soon came into sight. Before crossing, we stopped at a nearby “enmusubi” spot - a deeply spiritual location believed to bring good luck in relationships, especially romantic ones. Little wooden placards with handwritten prayers were tied up on strings virtually everywhere, perfectly framing the view of the bridge and following islands.

As you cross the Okamura Bridge, you’ll also be crossing the prefectural border, leaving Ehime behind as you enter Hiroshima. The next two bridges - the Nakanoseto Bridge and the Heira Bridge - soon follow as you traverse two tiny islets before reaching the next island, Osaki Shimojima.

Other Places to Check Out on Okamurajima:

Osaki Shimojima

Instead of following the blue line to the right as you leave the Heira Bridge, make sure to turn left towards Mitarai - because this is one highlight you do not want to miss!

Mitarai flourished as a port town during the Edo period (1603-1868), when Japan was under “sakoku” - a strict state of isolation that lasted more than 250 years until 1853. During this time, trade ships traveling to and from Osaka would stop in Mitarai to restock and wait for favorable winds and tides, transforming the once sleepy town into a bustling seaside hub.

Naturally, captains, officers, and other crew needed food, drink, and entertainment during their wait, and many geisha teahouses and brothels sprung up in response. One of these former teahouses, Waka-Ebisuya, employed between 50 to 100 geisha at the time, and today you can still admire the beautiful VIP rooms of this incredibly well-preserved building.

Another thing that held high value in Mitarai was gossip. Influential “daimyo” (feudal lords) met in the smoky backrooms of brothels to discuss politics and more, and it is said that the uprising that eventually overthrew the Tokugawa Shogunate in 1868 was planned and plotted in Mitarai.

Today, Mitarai is an eclectic mix of beautifully preserved buildings from the Edo, Meiji, Taisho, and Showa eras, and has been designated a Historical Preservation District of Hiroshima Prefecture.

Being fans of traditional Japanese architecture, several hours went by in a flash as we aimlessly wandered the narrow streets and alleyways. An interesting local tradition is the skinny bamboo vases hung on the outer walls of many houses, each with their own unique flower arrangement made by local residents.

In one corner of town, the ear-piercing shriek of cicadas drew our attention, leading us to the large stone torii gate of Tenmangu Shrine. This shrine also has its own unique claim to fame, as the legendary Sugawara no Michizane visited and washed his hands in the well behind the main shrine building after losing an important battle in 901. “Mitarai” means “washing hands” in Japanese, giving the town its name.

Interestingly, Tenmangu Shrine also has a profound connection to cycling. The world’s original “backpacker cyclist,” Harukichi Nakamura, who cycled around the world in the beginning of the 20th century, was born in Mitarai, and passionate cyclists make sure to pay their respects to him at Tenmangu Shrine before embarking on their own adventures.

We continued strolling through the maze-like streets to uncover more gems amongst the many buildings. This included the two-storey Showa Museum, jam-packed with retro toys, games, posters, candy, and other memorabilia from Japan’s nostalgic Showa era (1926-1989).

The residents of Mitarai are friendly and chatty. After buying some cute stamps featuring the pretty townscape at the local post office, we ended up enjoying a long conversation with one of the staff. He was eager to explain the historic importance of Mitarai, and how the town evolved into its current state. He showed us a street where the electricity cables were removed to recreate the original atmosphere, and told us how certain picturesque houses and streets are often used as locations for films and TV shows.

Another passerby joined the conversation, relaying the story of how he and his family moved away from the hustle and bustle of Tokyo in favor of slow island life. They opened an enchanting English teahouse in town, serving several types of black tea as well as mouthwatering scones with marmalade, becoming a hit with tourists on the weekends. In recent years, these islands have seen an influx of young people seeking out a different lifestyle, but the general population is still very small.

Other Places to Check Out on Osaki Shimojima:

Toyoshima

As you cycle the Tobishima Kaido, you’ll notice the many orchards, especially if you take a detour. These are citrus plantations, which played an essential role in the development and prosperity of the Akinada Islands.

From ancient times, native citrus fruits such as sudachi, kabosu, and yuzu were grown in this region in large amounts, and in 1898, the lemon was introduced to Osaki Shimojima by foreign traders. The island became the first place in Japan to grow lemons, and the locals built terraced orchards where the fruits thrived under Setouchi’s mild climate, abundant sunshine, and well-drained soil. Lemons are juicier and more acidic than native citrus fruits, and quickly became the preferred companion for seafood dishes, particularly white fish like sea bream which is popular in the Setouchi area. In addition, lemons are ready for harvest in the otherwise fruitless gap between January and May, complementing the growing season of native citrus fruits.

In 1905, the “wase mikan,” a type of tangerine, was also introduced to the islands and became hugely popular as a summertime snack in Japan. Combined with lemons, this sparked the beginning of a golden age of prosperity on the Akinada Islands.

However, following World War II, the demand for mikan and lemons decreased, and the general wealth dwindled. Many moved away, leaving the fishing villages and elderly population behind.

Thankfully, citrus fruits have again risen to become one of the region’s biggest draws, and the “Setouchi Lemon” is coveted throughout Japan. Many local citrus farmers have also started to grow their produce in organic or sustainable ways to promote a slower, healthier lifestyle while preserving the islands’ unique environment.

As we traveled the Tobishima Kaido, we were astonished by the number of unique citrus products available. They range from classics like cakes and cookies to intriguing specialties like lemon salt, salad dressings, and broth to dip your noodles in. Many made for great souvenirs, and it was hard to control our spending!

After crossing the 543-meter-long truss bridge to Toyoshima, we stopped at Shima Café Kitatani for lunch. This café is located in the island’s quiet port town, and we had a great view of the bridge from the counter seats by the window. The menu is small and, of course, citrus-centered. Everything sounded delicious, but in the end we went with their original citrus beef curry and pizza with local vegetables, both with a side of chilled corn cream soup, as well as their signature Prince Kiyomi orange juice.

The pizza was served with a drizzle of spicy citrus sauce - lemonesco - and the beef curry had an evident citrus flavor, making it one of the best we’ve ever had! The juice was equally unforgettable, with its distinctive kiyomi orange flavor making it unlike any juice we’ve tasted before.

The friendly lady serving our food was excited to hear of our trip and brought out a guestbook full of cute messages written by Japanese and international visitors over the years. We left a note and waved goodbye before getting back on our bikes, following the blue line along the northern coast towards the next island.

Other Places to Check Out on Toyoshima:

Kami Kamagarijima

The impressive Toyoshima Bridge is 903 meters long, and was the last of the island bridges to open in 2008. Immediately after crossing you will enter a long, dark tunnel before once again emerging into the sunlight shining over Kami Kamagarijima, home to the most popular beach on the Tobishima Kaido: Kenminnohama Beach. Since it’s roughly halfway on the route, this is also the perfect place to stay if you’re planning an overnight trip like us.

Selected as one of Japan’s 100 Best Beaches, Kenminnohama Beach has a beautiful crescent shape with light yellow sand and calm waters. Apart from a refreshing swim, various activities such as kayaking and SUP are also available and can be booked at the beach hotel Kenminnohama Kagayaki no Yakata, where we stayed the night.

Kenminnohama Kagayaki no Yakata is a typical example of a classic Japanese beach resort, which has little to do with what many people picture when hearing the word “resort”. Japanese beach resorts are often housed in somewhat ugly buildings with a rather rundown atmosphere - and they don’t necessarily have a pool. They are, however, very popular with families and usually don’t lack anything when it comes to hospitality, food, or the activities on offer. On top of water activities, Kenminnohama Kagayaki no Yakata also has tennis courts, along with stargazing tours (in Japanese) at the astronomy tower on one end of the beach. Next door is also an onsen (hot spring) with several types of baths and views over the grounds, which is the perfect place to get clean and soothe your aching muscles after a sweaty bike ride.

Along with the many citrus products, the hotel shop’s “Amabito no Moshio” caught our eye. This translates to “seaweed salt of the sea people,” and is a signature product of the islands.

Located in one of the most narrow straits of the Seto Inland Sea, the Akinada Islands have been home to fishing communities since people first settled here. The sea surrounding the islands is nutrient-rich from the freshwater running into the ocean from the mountain ranges on Honshu and Shikoku. These nutrients get trapped by the many rocky islets and steep coastlines, creating the ideal environment for plankton, seagrass, and seaweed to grow, and the optimal conditions for fish and other seafood to thrive.

Since the largest natural seaweed bed in the Setouchi area is located just off the coast here, seaweed has long been harvested and used in local cooking, providing necessary nutrients and dietary fibers otherwise found in vegetables which cannot grow in island soil. “Amabito no Moshio” is one such way to prepare seaweed, made by boiling burnt seaweed ashes and seawater together. The result is a unique type of salt with a hint of sweetness and chock-full of minerals, vitamins, and savory “umami.”

Other Places to Check Out on Kami Kamagarijima:

Shimo Kamagarijima

After a good night’s sleep, we jumped back on our bikes and quickly covered the distance between the hotel and the next bridge, once again relishing sweeping ocean vistas along the south coast with Shikoku looming in the horizon. While still quiet, there was a bit more traffic here, a sure reminder that we were approaching the mainland.

The elegant 480-meter-long truss bridge connecting Kami Kamagarijima to its neighboring island of Shimo Kamagarijima opened in 1979, making it the first bridge of the Tobishima Kaido. Soon after crossing the bridge, we entered the pretty portside town of Sannose, whose main street is paved with flat rectangular cobblestones and lined with traditional buildings and masterfully shaped pine trees.

Sannose was an important port of call for influential Korean emissaries and their entourage on their way to the Japanese capital during the Edo period. These delegations and more are replicated through dioramas at the Shotoen Museum & Garden, which also exhibits many original documents including one designated as a UNESCO Memory of the World. These visits were so important to the development of Sannose that a reenactment of a Korean delegation’s arrival is carried out every year in October, with participants dressed in traditional Korean attire arriving by boat and walking up the harbor’s iconic stone steps.

Sannose is also home to several fascinating art galleries and museums, including the Rantokaku Art Museum, beautifully built from Japanese cedar and regularly hosting concerts, and the former teahouse Hakusetsuro, which has a unique rotating wall. The entire town emits a nostalgic vibe complemented by breathtaking ocean and island views, including great photo opportunities of both the Kamagari Bridge and Akinada Bridge.

After wandering the picturesque town of Sannose, we made one final push for the Akinada Bridge, a 1,175-meter-long suspension bridge (the longest of the bunch) connecting the Tobishima Kaido islands to the mainland. With a finishing dose of amazing views, we headed towards Nigata, the drop-off point for our bikes (or pick-up point, if traveling in the opposite direction). Although only a short ride, there’s lots of heavy traffic on the prefectural road, so be careful.

After dropping off the bikes, you can catch a train or bus to Hiroshima, or get off in Kure to board the ferry bound for Matsuyama. We did the latter and had a great few days admiring the ancient Matsuyama Castle and legendary Dogo Onsen before heading off to Kyushu for a week of hiking and hot springs.

Other Places to Check Out on Shimo Kamagarijima:

The Tobishima Kaido - A New Cycling Destination for Adventurous Travelers

While the Shimanami Kaido has gained fame with both Japanese and international travelers, the Tobishima Kaido remains largely unknown despite its huge potential as a cycling haven. The islands have an off-the-beaten-track vibe, showcasing a different side of Japan suited to active, adventurous travelers. From idyllic, rural landscapes of lush orchards and sleepy fishing villages to beautifully preserved traditional architecture tied deeply to history, along with plenty of welcoming locals, the Tobishima Kaido is one of Japan’s most underrated gems!

Top photo: Maya Iris Vesely Weisser

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

 

Chugoku Feature

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

About the author

Maya
Maya V.
Klook.com

Restaurant Search