【日本美食】從經典款到知名拉麵店聯名款 日本超人氣泡麵品牌大公開

日本泡麵不只包裝美觀也美味,是許多人遊日返國後的熱門伴手禮。在日本的超市裡,常常能看到整條走道兩旁的架上擺放著各式各樣的泡麵,到底該怎麼選好呢?若您苦惱著要從何著手,不妨參考以下為您介紹的7款知名泡麵品牌!文末還同場加映6間知名拉麵店推出的聯名款泡麵喔,一起開始這趟日本泡麵的美味之旅吧!

日本

美食

目錄

泡麵的背景

日本知名泡麵品牌
日清
好小子(マルちゃん)
札幌一番(サッポロ一番)
ペヤング(Peyoung)
明星
寿がきや(Sugakiya)
Acecook

販售即食商品的知名拉麵店品牌
一風堂
一蘭
阿夫利(Afuri)
蒙古タンメン中本(Mouko Tanmen Nakamoto)
蔦(tsuta)
鳴龍

泡麵的背景

對大多數人來說,泡麵的存在我們早已習引為常。然而事實上,泡麵可算是非常現代的產物。就如同其他的偉大發明一樣,泡麵的出現也是因有其需求和必要。由於二戰剛結束不久,日本仍正處於需要靠食物補給才能存活的時期,因此相當仰賴當時美國所提供拿來製作麵包的麵粉

而日清公司創辦人安藤百福嗅到這股龐大的商機,投入數個月的時間和心血後,終於在1958年,研發出一種完美的油炸方法,使得麵體能夠長時間保存,且能立即食用。當時,該款即食泡麵就是以「雞汁拉麵」為名,首次出現在日本人面前。

隨著日清公司的成長和泡麵的價格變得越來越親民,泡麵很快就成為日本家庭主要食品之一。後來它也開始傳播到世界各處,現在每年的全球銷售量高達將近1000億份。如今泡麵已深受世人喜愛,日本甚至有兩個杯麵博物館供遊客從中了解其歷史,並設計自己的杯麵、帶回家當作可愛的紀念品。

日本知名泡麵品牌

聽了上述的泡麵故事,肯定讓您也不由自主的肚子餓了吧!如果您已準備好一頭栽進日本的泡麵世界,卻因爲琳琅滿目的品牌陳列,而不知該如何選擇的話,不用擔心,接下來就為您精選出7款日本知名泡麵品牌。其中大多數都可以在常見的日本超市購得,除了一些特定商品可能在某些地區才能買到,要多注意一下。

日清

日清作為泡麵產業的始祖,毫無疑問地佔據泡麵市場的龍頭。雖說杯麵是日清最有鑑別度的商品,然而他們的熱銷商品可不僅止於如此。一起來看看他們有哪些產品長期受到歡迎吧。

 

・杯麵(カップヌードル)

日清的經典款白色系列杯麵,已然成為超商架上最明顯的存在了。經過50多年的經營,其令人敬佩的產品陣容中也增添了無數種口味;然而提及大家都公認也最熟悉的美味,仍屬經典口味、海鮮和咖哩此三巨頭。對於初踏入日清泡麵世界的人來說,是一個很好的開始。

 

・雞汁拉麵(チキンラーメン)

上一段在泡麵背景知識中提到的「始祖泡麵」,便是這款雞汁拉麵,其至今仍然很流行。麵條雖簡單卻有令人滿意的風味,是許多日本人感到舒適安心的記憶中的味道。如果您以前從未嚐過雞汁拉麵,請一定要把它列入必吃清單中。

・丼兵衛(どん兵衛)

日清還有生產幾款單價較高但也相對高級的商品,其中最受歡迎的就是豆皮烏龍麵和炸天婦羅蕎麥麵。豆皮烏龍麵的麵體,較一般泡麵麵體更有咬勁,還附有一塊吸滿高湯的多汁油炸豆皮。天婦羅蕎麥麵則是提供細長富有口感的蕎麥麵,有別於一般麵體給您更豐富的感受,當然還會附上一塊炸得香酥脆口的什錦蔬菜天婦羅。

雖然丼兵衛可以像其他泡麵一樣只用沸水泡開,但有傳言說,用微波爐加熱的話會大幅增加好吃度。由於這種麵格外耐嚼,幾乎就像在吃新鮮現做的一樣。此外,如果您到訪日本的不同區域,或許會發現湯汁的濃烈度和風味會因地區偏好而有所差異。如果有機會旅遊至日本全國各地,何不趁這個機會親自品嚐一下不同品種的丼兵衛呢?

・ラ王(Raoh)

「Raoh」是「Ramen Oh」的縮寫,在日語中意思即為「拉麵王」,此系列是「特級別緻」的即食拉麵,有許多不同的口味。例如照片中所示的美味的豚骨醬油口味。與一般油炸的泡麵麵體不同,ラ王的特色是融合了全麥的非油炸麵,質感極佳、口感趨近新鮮的拉麵。雖然ラ王系列比其他日清的麵條產品稍貴,但卻非常值得一試喔。

 

・U.F.O炒麵

如果您只想吃麵不想喝湯,日清的U.F.O. 系列就可以滿足您的需求。其特色是經典的日本節慶庶民小吃「炒麵」。該名稱是由日清創始人安藤百福設計,是各個首字字母的縮寫:代表U的「Umai」甘醇醬汁,F的「Futoi」粗麵條,O的「Ookii」大份量。這些就是裝在這個圓形飛碟碗中的內容物。富有嚼勁的麵條和爽脆的白菜,在甜甜鹹鹹的醬汁中炒製而成,是一頓完美而又方便的餐點。特別是U.F.O炒麵麵條,其出色耐嚼的麵體幾乎可與新鮮麵條相媲美。

好小子(マルちゃん)

雖然公司規模不如日清那麼大,但是好小子(マルちゃん)也是另一個已在全世界家喻戶曉的品牌。公司於1953年創立,1977年開始製作並銷售泡麵產品。現在每年的銷售量也是超過了36億包呢。

・正麵

正麵這款泡麵使用的容器比一般常見的杯麵要大得多,也因此可以裝下更多的食材,比如像蔬菜、蝦子、厚切豬肉片。這款正麵也以其出色的質地著稱,據說吃起來與新鮮麵條非常接近。對於追尋高品質即食拉麵的人,選擇正麵一定不會錯。

・昔ながらの中華そば(mukashi nagara no chuka soba)

昔ながらの中華そば,品名的意思即「經典老派拉麵」,這款泡麵就是為了重現這種老派、經典的拉麵而誕生。拉麵最初是以中華料理之姿出現在日本人眼前。一提及中華麵,就會想到雞肉和醬油高湯的味道。而這款泡麵也忠實地再現老一輩習慣的經典拉麵風味,使用100%北海道小麥製成未油炸的麵條。對於有點懷舊和渴望過去的人,這款泡麵是會一個不錯的選擇。

・赤いきつねうどん(Red Kitsune Udon)、緑のたぬきうどん(Green Tanuki Ten-Soba)

好小子(マルちゃん)的即食蕎麥麵(緑のたぬきうどん和即食烏龍麵(赤いきつねうどん),與日清的丼兵衛系列不僅非常相似,更可直接說是競爭對手。就像有些人喜歡可口可樂而不是百事可樂,反之亦然,不同品牌的泡麵也是這樣。如果您好奇哪一種比較合你胃口,何不兩個品牌都嚐嚐,看看您更喜歡哪個品牌呢?

札幌一番(サッポロ一番)

1966年才問世的札幌一番,與日清、好小子(マルちゃん)相比,可以說是「後起之秀」,但札幌一番的泡麵產品線如今已成長至與這些泡麵業巨頭幾乎相等的地位。他們的產品在西方世界已廣為人知,在美國加州甚至有一家製造廠專為北美市場提供服務。 

・みそラーメン(味噌拉麵)

為了做出札幌一番獨特的味噌風味,公司的創始人來到了味增拉麵的起源地,北海道札幌市的拉麵小路。充分品嚐並徹底愛上這個具有札幌特色的當地風味之後,他花了三年的時間,將七種不同類型的味噌混合在一起後,終於成功完美地再現札幌味噌。據說味噌拉麵在日本受歡迎的程度如此之高,很大的原因是要歸功於札幌一番的即食味噌拉麵。

・しょうゆ味(醬油味)

札幌一番的醬油拉麵,是以醬油、雞湯、蔬菜、生薑和大蒜等混合而成。在生產過程中,麵條本身也加入醬油揉製,以增添更美味的醬油風。

・塩ラーメン(鹽味拉麵)

「塩」在日語的意思即為「鹽」,是一種相當流行的拉麵風味,通常與較清淡的清湯結合。札幌的鹽味拉麵在人氣上可媲美味噌拉麵,甚至有人用它製作其他菜餚,例如carbonara培根蛋麵。

ペヤング(Peyoung)

ペヤング以即食炒麵聞名整個日本。除了下圖所示的經典甜鹹風味外,它們還提供了各種獨特的口味,例如咖哩、香菜和豬背脂炒麵等。

比起口味,ペヤング炒麵新穎奇特的產品特色可能更加引人注目。例如超級辣的辣炒麵系列,包裝上標示著兒童和不耐辣的人切勿嘗試。或是他們的另一項知名產品「Super Super Super Big GIGAMAX(超超超巨大大炒麵)」,含有幾乎不可思議的2142卡路里和120克的脂肪。如果您想成為一名相撲選手,每天都來吃上5碗吧!

明星

明星也是泡麵品牌大賞中常見的參賽者。公司在戰後成立之初,就是以乾麵條生產商的身份活躍著,至今已有70年的歷史。現在明星擁有多種不同系列的泡麵產品,從標準的即食麵、炒麵乃至低碳水化合物的健康麵都有。

・チャルメラ(charumera)

チャルメラ(charumera)是明星的經典拉麵產品,其歷史可以追溯到1966年。食譜配方自誕生以來就從未改變過,其特色是由扇貝製成的湯和「秘密香料」賦予獨特的風味。現在的チャルメラ(charumera)有許多不同口味,包括經典的醬油、濃郁的豚豬和長崎特有的強棒麵(ちゃんぽんchanpon)。 

・一平ちゃん(ippeichan)

除了拉麵系列,明星還擁有一平ちゃん系列,是最受歡迎的速食炒麵品牌之一。一平ちゃん以黃芥末口味的美乃滋醬聞名,嚐起來多了一股香醇可口的濃郁風味。該品牌的麵條被稱為「夜店の焼きそば(夜市炒麵)」,重現日本夏日祭典期間,廟會攤販的炒麵滋味。第一次品嚐的人,不妨嘗試原味、鹽味和明太子(鱈魚子)三種經典口味。

寿がきや(Sugakiya)

與其他品牌略有不同,寿がきや(Sugakiya)泡麵是由名古屋的同名拉麵連鎖店所創。雖然在名古屋地區以外不太容易找到,但寿がきや的泡麵卻是非常有名。名古屋以其豐富的地方美食而聞名,而寿がきや也是其中之一。除了元祖款之外,還有日本各地標誌性的地方風味系列,例如富山黑拉麵和黑胡椒醬油湯、使用甜中帶鹹大蒜高湯的小田原系擔擔麵等。如果您想品嚐名古屋及其他地區的味道,不妨嘗試一下這些泡麵!

Acecook

Acecook是一家總部位於大阪的公司,正以穩健的腳步慢慢擴展到世界各地。儘管在西方世界裡不像日清或好小子(マルちゃん)那樣廣為人知,但它已在越南大受歡迎。目前在越南泡麵市場中市佔率高達50%!雖然大阪並不以拉麵出名,但是如此受到越南人喜愛一定有它的獨到之處。

Acecook常常和各種品牌合作聯名,如Hello Kitty拉麵或Coco 壹番咖哩麵等。還有一些略帶古怪的產品,如無麵條的拉麵,裡面裝滿了各種海帶、海菜、海藻。Acecook總是研發出各種新穎有趣的商品,如果您有到關西地區走跳一定要記得試一試。

Acecook還有一個知名產品モッチッチ(Mochichi)系列。說到日本料理,口感和味道一樣重要,麵條尤其如此。真正的拉麵會使您專注在每一口的厚度和咀嚼度。這款麵主打兼具拉麵特色和炒麵風味,公司也稱モッチッチ(Mochichi)系列已達到完美口感的極致。有機會親自嘗試一下,看看您是否同意這個說法吧。

販售即食商品的知名拉麵店品牌

日本全國各地有無數的拉麵店,拉麵之間差異巨大、各有千秋,要吃遍所有拉麵店是很難的一件事。身為拉麵控,親自朝聖每一間也許是個好主意,但對於多數人來說這不是一個明智可行的選擇。值得慶幸的是,下面列出的每家著名拉麵店,都有提供其最受歡迎菜的泡麵版本,讓您可以在任何地方享用這份好滋味。

一風堂

一風堂於1985年在福岡成立,以豚骨湯製成的豬骨拉麵而聲名遠播。一風堂在連鎖拉麵界來說,至今仍被認為是一種不易挑戰的標準。在日本各地拓展後,2008年在紐約市開設了第一家海外餐廳。如今他們在全球15個國家都設有分店。後來也與日清公司合作,只要在日本的7-11,就可以吃到他們著名的豚骨拉麵。每碗約350日幣,對遊客們來說也是一種美味又便宜的紀念品!

一蘭

一蘭同樣也是起源於福岡市的豚骨拉麵。成立於1960年,開業30年間,一蘭始終只在福岡地區營業。直到近年才決定在踏出福岡。一蘭與其他豚骨拉麵連鎖店的不同之處,在於其招牌秘制紅色辣椒,團狀點綴在碗的中央,為熟悉的豚骨風味增添了一抹更有層次的風味。

價格為5包2,000日幣,雖然以泡麵來說不便宜,但可以說是非常超值。筆者親自吃過後,味道與在店裡消費幾乎無二致。不過一蘭不像一風堂,沒有與便利商店合作。您可以在一蘭拉麵店的任何一間分店,或非常有人氣的大型連鎖雜貨店唐吉軻德中看見它的身影哦。

阿夫利

上面提到的拉麵都是以濃郁的風味聞名,但阿夫利卻是採用完全相反的作戰策略。阿夫利使用新鮮的天然食材,著重於清淡、清爽的口味。其最著名的莫過於柚子風味的高湯。他們採用的是一種日本產、新鮮清爽的柑橘類水果。名字由來則是取自神奈川縣的阿夫利山。據說阿夫利最自豪的高湯,就是用這座山的山泉水所製。

因為在全日本只有15家分店,所以不像其他拉麵連鎖店一樣容易光顧。不過他們也與7-11合作,推出招牌柚子鹽味拉麵的泡麵版。只要到7-11就能品嚐到清新的柚子拉麵喔。

蒙古タンメン中本(Mouko Tanmen Nakamoto)

辣椒狂熱者快看過來!蒙古タンメン中本這家中式拉麵連鎖店,在東京已建立起自己辣味拉麵的招牌。如果喜歡大啖辣椒、大汗淋漓的感覺,只要在日本的7-11,就可以買到他們家的辛辣味噌拉麵。不僅可以享受卷粗的麵條、蔬菜、豆腐,當然,還有很多辣椒等著您。

蔦(tsuta)

雖然拉麵是便宜、簡單的庶民美食,但東京的蔦把拉麵當作是一門藝術,每一碗拉麵都是一張張藝術家的傑出畫作。在蔦用餐,可以享受到手工揉製的蕎麥麵、精心挑選的蒙古鹽,並佐以黑松露和紅酒調味。

因其享譽世界的盛名,加上店內座位有限,要進到店內用餐總是需要大排長龍。不過現在可以不必排隊,只要到任何一間7-11就能享受到如此美食。在家中也能輕鬆舒適地享用他們的拉麵。也許蔦的泡麵版,與新鮮現做的版本和在店裡的用餐氛圍無法相提並論,但不得不說,它仍然將舉世聞名的風味再現得相當出色。

鳴龍

鳴龍的擔擔麵可說是日本擔擔麵界中的翹楚。其層次豐富的湯底是使用特製辣椒油和四川胡椒調味。如果無法親自前往他們位於東京的拉麵店,現在也可以在7-11買到他們令人驚艷的擔擔泡麵喔。

日本有如此多口味和多種類的泡麵可以選擇,加上推陳出新的速度,似乎永遠無法嚐遍所有品項!讀完本篇文章後,下次來日本時,您也開啟一趟專屬自己的泡麵之旅吧!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

Instant Noodles in Japan - All of the Most Popular Brands You Should Know

A staple of college dorm rooms and convenience store shelves around the world, instant noodles are a near-universally recognized sight. Though often seen as little more than a cheap and simple meal in the western world, instant noodles are serious business in Japan, often encompassing entire aisles in supermarkets. If you're ready to up your instant noodle game from late-night snack to proper culinary experience, read on to learn about the most popular noodle brands, plus 6 cup noodle versions of famous (and Michelin-starred) ramen shop ramen!

Nationwide

Food & Drink

Table Of Contents

A Brief History of Instant Noodles

Japan's Most Popular Instant Noodles
Nissin
Maruchan
Sapporo Ichiban
Peyoung Yakisoba
Myojo
Sugakiya
Acecook

Instant Noodles From Famous Ramen Noodle Shops
Ippudo
Ichiran
Afuri
Mokou Tanmen Nakamoto
Tsuta
Nakiryu

A Brief History of Instant Noodles

For many of us, instant noodles are something that have seemingly always existed. As far back as I can remember, there were always a few packs of Maruchan chicken-flavored ramen tucked away in my family's pantry. In reality, however, instant noodles were first created as recently as 1958 by inventor and founder of the Nissin food company, Momofuku Ando.

As is the case with many great inventions, instant noodles were born out of a necessity of the time. Japan, still suffering from food shortages following World War II, relied heavily on bread made from American-supplied wheat flour. Though noodles were far more popular with the general populace of Japan, there were no companies large enough or with adequate infrastructure at the time to meet the demand. Recognizing a growing need in the market, Momofuku Ando spent months perfecting a flash-frying cooking method that allowed noodles to be stored longer and prepared at a later time. In doing so, Japan was introduced to instant noodles for the first time under the name Chikin Ramen.

As Nissin grew and the price of instant noodles became more and more affordable, it quickly gained a reputation as a staple item in Japanese households. In time, it began spreading to other parts of the world as well, now selling nearly 100 billion servings globally each year. It has become so popular in fact, that Japan has not one, but two cup noodle museums where visitors can learn about its history and design their own custom instant noodles to take home.

Japan's Most Popular Instant Noodles

By now, all of this talk of noodles has probably left you feeling hungry. If you're ready to dive into some of Japan's finest instant noodle offerings but are overwhelmed by the sheer variety of choices, don't worry, we've got you covered. Here are some of Japan's most popular instant noodles. Most of these can be purchased at a typical Japanese grocery store, although a few may be trickier to get in certain regions.

Nissin

As the company that started it all, Nissin is the undisputed king of instant noodles. While their Cup Noodle brand is the most recognizable, it’s far from all they have to offer. Let’s take a closer look at some of their most beloved products.

 

・Cup Noodle

The white styrofoam packaging of Cup Noodle has become an unmistakable icon of grocery store shelves. After more than 50 years in the business, countless flavors have been added to its impressive line-up. Standing above the rest however, Cup Noodle Classic, Seafood, and Curry are generally considered to be the big three, and a great starting point for anyone new to the world of instant noodles.

 

・Chicken Ramen

Mentioned above as the original instant noodles, Chikin Ramen (nowadays spelled "Chicken Ramen" in English) remains popular to this day. The noodles have a simple and satisfying flavor that is comforting to many Japanese people. If you've never tried Chicken Ramen before, definitely add it to your list of must-eat instant noodles.

 

・Donbei

A slightly heartier offering from Nissin, the Donbei line has several different varieties, the most popular being their kitsune udon and tempura soba. The kitsune variety contains chewy udon noodles and a fluffy piece of fried tofu skin known as aburaage. The tempura soba version features firm buckwheat noodles for a richer taste, and crispy fried tempura for a bit of crunch.

While it can be prepared with just boiling water like other instant noodle brands, rumor has it that Donbei noodles are even better when microwaved, as the noodles gain an extra chewiness that is almost like eating freshly-made noodles. Also, depending on where you are in Japan, you'll find that the broth varies in strength and flavor based on regional preferences. If you're traveling throughout the country, why not take the opportunity to taste-test the different varieties for yourself?

 

・Raoh

The name "Raoh" is short for  "Ramen Oh," which means "Ramen King" in Japanese. As the name suggests, Nissin's Raoh line is a "fancier" instant ramen that comes in many different flavors such as the tasty Tonkotsu Soy Sauce flavor shown in the photo. Unlike standard instant noodles, which are deep-fried, Raoh features non-fried noodles that incorporate whole wheat for an excellent texture that comes closer to fresh ramen noodles. The Raoh line is slightly more expensive than other Nissin noodle products but is well worth the try.

 

・U.F.O. Yakisoba

If you're not in the mood for soup but still want that instant gratification, Nissin has you covered. Their U.F.O. brand features the classic Japanese festival treat, yakisoba. The name was supposedly devised by Nissin founder Momofuku Ando, and is actually an acronym which stands for "Umai" (delicious) sauce, "Futoi" (fat) noodles, and "Okii" (big) cabbage. That's exactly what you'll find inside this round UFO-shaped bowl; chewy noodles and cabbage stir-fried in a sweet and salty sauce that makes for the perfect quick and easy meal. The U.F.O yakisoba noodles, in particular, stand out for their wonderfully chewy texture that rivals fresh noodles.

Maruchan

While not quite as large as Nissin, Maruchan is another brand that has become a household name throughout the world. Started in 1953, they began selling their instant ramen products in 1977 and now sell over 3.6 billion packages of instant noodles each year. 

 

・Maruchan Seimen

Coming in a much larger bowl than the familiar Cup Noodle styrofoam cups, Maruchan Seimen soups are able to pack in an abundance of toppings such as veggies, shrimp, or thick pork slices. These instant noodles are renowned for their texture as well and are said to be pretty close to fresh noodles. Those searching for a higher-quality instant ramen experience can't go wrong with Seimen. 

 

・Mukashinagara no Chuka Soba

The name "Mukashinagara no Chuka Soba" means, essentially, "old-fashioned ramen" which is exactly what this popular instant noodle product tries to recreate. The flavorful chicken and soy sauce broth faithfully reproduces the classic ramen flavor that older generations grew up eating, and the non-fried noodles use 100% Hokkaido wheat. This instant ramen is a great choice for anyone feeling a bit nostalgic and craving a taste of the past. 

 

・Red Kitsune Udon and Green Tanuki Ten-Soba

Maruchan's instant soba and instant udon are quite similar to Nissin's above-mentioned Donbei series and are a direct competitor. Just like some people prefer Coke to Pepsi and vice-versa, the same can be said of various brands of instant noodles. If you're curious, why not try out both brands and see which you prefer?

Sapporo Ichiban

Arriving on the scene in 1966, Sapporo Ichiban could be considered a "late-comer" in comparison with Nissin and Maruchan, but their instant noodle line has grown to be on near-equal footing with these noodle giants. Their products have become so well known in the western world that they also have a manufacturing plant in California for servicing the North American market. 

 

・Miso Ramen

To create Sapporo Ichiban's miso flavor, the company's founder traveled to where it first began; Ramen Alley in Sapporo, Hokkaido. After falling in love with the local flavor, he spent three years perfecting the recipe by blending seven different types of miso together to perfectly recreate the taste. It has been said that miso ramen's popularity throughout Japan is due largely to Sapporo Ichiban's instant noodle version.

 

・Shoyu Flavor

Sapporo Ichiban's Shoyu Flavor features a soy sauce and chicken broth soup flavored with mixed vegetables, ginger, and garlic. The noodles themselves are also kneaded with soy sauce during production for an even more savory experience.

 

・Shio Ramen

"Shio" means "salt" in Japanese, and is a fairly popular ramen flavor which typically complements a lighter, clear broth. Sapporo's Shio Ramen rivals the miso flavor in popularity and some people even use it to make other dishes such as carbonara.

Peyoung Yakisoba

Peyoung is well known throughout Japan for instant yakisoba. In addition to the classic sweet and salty style shown below, they also offer various unique flavors such as curry, cilantro, and pork fat yakisoba.

Perhaps more so than their taste, Peyoung yakisoba is most notable for their novelty yakisoba items such as their line of super spicy yakisoba which contain warnings on the label urging children and those without spice tolerance to stay away, or their "Super Super Super Big GIGAMAX" yakisoba, which contains an almost unfathomable 2142 calories and 120 grams of fat. If you're considering training to become a sumo wrestler, keep this one on your list. 

 

Myojo

Myojo is another major player in the instant noodle game, having a 70-year history since the company started as a manufacturer of dried noodles after the war. The company now has a wide range of instant noodle products under several different brand names ranging from standard instant ramen, to yakisoba, to low-carb instant noodles. 

 

・Charumera

Charumera is Myojo's classic and oldest line of ramen products, going back to 1966. The recipe, which has hardly changed since its inception, features a broth made from scallops and a "secret spice" that gives it a signature flavor. The brand now has many different flavors including classic soy sauce, rich tonkotsu (pork bone), and even "Chanpon," a local specialty from Nagasaki). 

 

・Ippeichan

In addition to its ramen brands, Myojo has one of the more popular instant yakisoba brands with its Ippeichan line. The brand is particularly known for its packets of mustard-infused mayo that come inside the box of instant noodles and add a delicious layer of richness. The brand's noodles are called "Yomise no Yakisoba" (night stall yakisoba) and re-create the flavors of real fresh yakisoba made at a summertime festival. All three of the flavors—standard, salt, and mentaiko (spicy cod roe)—are definitely worth trying and are a favorite of many. 

Sugakiya

A bit different than the other entries on this list, Sugakiya instant noodles are based on a ramen shop chain of the same name from the city of Nagoya. Although not as easy to find outside of the Nagoya area, Sugakiya's instant noodles are quite famous. Nagoya is known for its richly-flavored local cuisine, and Sugakiya is no different. In addition to their original variety, they also feature iconic regional flavors such as Toyama Black Ramen with a black peppery soy sauce-based soup, or Odawara-kei Tantanmen which uses a sweet and salty garlic broth. For a taste of Nagoya, give these instant noodles a try!

Acecook

Acecook is an Osaka-based company that is steadily expanding to other parts of the world. Though not as well known in the west as Nissin or Maruchan, they have become a huge hit in Vietnam, where they currently account for 50% of the entire instant noodle market. Osaka isn't known as a ramen hub, but this exciting instant noodle brand is definitely worth a try. 

In Japan, Acecook is known for its various collaboration items such as Hello Kitty ramen or Coco Ichibanya Curry noodles, as well as its slightly whacky ramen products such as its noodle-less ramen that instead is filled with wakame seaweed. The company always seems to be coming up with something new and fun, so it is definitely worth seeking out if you're in the Kansai region. 

Another popular Acecook product is its Mochichi line. When it comes to Japanese cuisine, the texture is just as important as the taste. This is especially true for noodles. True ramen aficionados obsess over the thickness and chewiness of each bite. Acecook's Mochichi line, which features both ramen and yakisoba, claims to have perfected the process for creating the perfectly chewy instant noodle. Give it a try for yourself and see if you agree. 

Instant Noodles From Famous Ramen Noodle Shops

There are countless ramen shops across Japan, but a select few stand out among the rest. While visiting each one of these shops would be an excellent idea for a food pilgrimage, it's certainly not a feasible option for everyone. Thankfully, each of the famous ramen restaurants listed below features an instant noodle version of their most popular dishes that you can enjoy from anywhere.

Ippudo

Ippudo got its start in Fukuoka in 1985 and quickly achieved notoriety for its tonkotsu ramen, which is made with a pork bone broth. As far as ramen restaurant chains go, Ippudo is still considered to be the standard for tonkotsu ramen to this day. After spreading throughout Japan, they opened their first overseas restaurant in New York City in 2008. Today, they have locations in 15 countries around the world. After partnering with Nissin, their famous tonkotsu ramen can be found in instant form in 7-11 stores throughout Japan. At around 350 yen per bowl, it's a tasty, inexpensive souvenir for friends back home as well!

Ichiran

Another tonkotsu ramen shop hailing from Fukuoka, Ichiran opened their first location in 1960. For the next 30 years, this would remain Ichiran's only location before the shop finally decided to expand throughout the country. What sets Ichiran apart from other tonkotsu chains is the dollop of their signature spicy red sauce that is dotted in the center of the bowl to add a complex kick to the tonkotsu's familiar flavor.

At 2,000 yen for a five pack, their instant noodle offering is understandably a premium experience, but well worth it for the creamy pork broth and signature spicy sauce. While not available at most convenience stores, these instant noodle kits can be found at any Ichiran restaurant, or at the very popular discount store, Don Quijote.

AFURI

While the aforementioned ramen chains are known for their heavy, rich flavors, AFURI approaches ramen from the other end of the spectrum. Using only fresh, natural ingredients, AFURI focuses on a lighter, more refreshing taste. In particular, several of their broths can be ordered with the addition of yuzu; a bright, zesty citrus fruit that is native to Japan. The chain takes its name from Mount Afuri in Kanagawa. According to AFURI's website, all of their broths are made from water sourced at the base of this mountain.

With only 15 locations throughout Japan, they're not as easy to come by as some of the other chains on this list. Thankfully, the instant version of their signature Yuzu Shio Ramen can be found at many 7-11 locations.

Mouko Tanmen Nakamoto

Spicy food fanatics need look no further than Mouko Tanmen Nakamoto. This Chinese-style ramen chain has built a reputation on serving up some of the spiciest ramen in Tokyo. If, like me, you'd prefer to sweat and cry over this painfully delicious meal in private, you can pick up their extra spicy miso ramen at 7-Eleven stores throughout Japan. It's packed with extra thick noodles, vegetables, tofu, and of course, plenty of spice.

Tsuta

While ramen typically has a reputation for being a cheap and simple meal, that's not always the case. Tsuta in Tokyo is proof that when ramen is the canvas, the right artist can turn it into a masterpiece. At this Michelin star-rated Tokyo restaurant, visitors can enjoy handmade soba noodles flavored with carefully sourced Mongolian salts and garnished with black truffle and red wine sauce.

Given its world-renowned quality and limited seating, getting in is easier said than done. Thankfully, you can skip the lines and head to your nearest 7-Eleven for a Michelin star meal you can enjoy in your underwear. While it's hard to match the experience of eating in the actual restaurant, the Tsuta instant noodle version does an excellent job of capturing their signature, world-famous flavors.

Nakiryu

If one Michelin star ranked instant ramen isn't enough for you, don't worry, there is another. At Nakiryu, tantanmen; the Japanese variation of dandan noodles, takes center stage. Their complex broth is seasoned with chili oils and Szechuan peppers for an unforgettable bite. If a trip to their Tokyo restaurant isn't possible, head to 7-Eleven to pick up an instant version that is still quite impressive. 

Conclusion

Before coming to Japan, I had no idea how vast and varied the world of instant noodles could be. With so many flavors to choose from, you will seemingly never run out of options. Using this guide as a starting point, you will be well on your way to discovering your new instant noodle favorites during your next trip to Japan.

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Things to Do

Hotels & Ryokan

Shopping

Restaurant Search