【日本文化】從罪刑、禁令到流行 日本刺青文化知多少?

過去常先入為主地將刺青與日本黑道文化作聯想,但隨著時代變遷,思想也跟著慢慢被改變。從最早的紀錄看來,刺青不僅是日本歷史的一部分,而且比我們所認知的還要關係密切。您對日本刺青的瞭解有多少呢?趕快讓我們一起來一探究竟!!

東京

深度日本

歷史上最早的刺青

日本有關刺青的歷史可以追溯到繩文時代 (公元前14,000 - 300年)。第一份關於刺青的紀錄被認為是約在西元前5000年。歷史學家在該時代發現臉部和身體裝飾著刺青印記和痕跡的陶土像。

最早有關刺青文化的文獻來自約西元300年。該文獻的標題為「中國朝代的歷史」,當中記載著關於臉部和身體都有刺青的日本男人。

將刺青作為懲罰

第一份關於以刺青作為懲罰的紀錄在西元720年。犯下重大惡行的罪犯額頭會被刺上刺青,讓平民百姓見證他們的嚴重罪行。刺青手法不斷演進,逐漸成為罪犯的象徵。

江戶時代 (1603 - 1868) 期間,受到描寫眾多紋身角色的中國小說「水滸傳」啟發,部分刺青發展成一種流行。這個時期被認為是刺青的黃金時期。

這個時代也發展了像是歌舞伎、浮世繪、木板印刷和刺青等各種形式的藝術。這些藝術創作相互影響、啟發。據說當時的木板印刷工藝家為了讓愛好者成為藝術的一部分,將原本的印刷型式轉為刺青風格。這個時期的木板印刷工藝家和刺青藝術家都使用「刻」這個術語來敘述他們的工作。

刺青禁令

江戶時期的統治者曾試圖禁止刺青,因為刺青會讓人聯想到水滸傳的故事內容。故事中的英雄們都是試圖挑戰當政不合理的法律、身上有刺青的亡命之徒。而這種意識型態會影響江戶時期的軍事專政。

19世紀隨著西方文化的引進,日本刺青迎來另一個重大的轉捩點。正當亞洲部分國家遭受殖民時,日本政府同時頒布刺青禁令。當局擔心刺青會使得他們在西方人的眼裡,看起來像蠻族或落後國家。

在北海道和沖繩這些可能被入侵的地區,這項禁令的實施格外嚴厲。這些地區母系社會的刺青文化更是根深蒂固。另一方面,儘管該禁令在日本本土較為寬容,當局還是成功地使刺青文化式微。禁令持續到1948年,由駐日美軍撤銷。

1960年代流氓的復甦

1948年刺青禁令撤銷以來,產生了大量的黑道電影,到了1960年代更為明顯。

雖然沒有直接影響,但刺青和黑道文化以藝術模仿人生的型式成為一種潮流。做白日夢的年輕人、壞男孩和身懷抱負的暴力集團成員都是受到了暴力電影「昭和殘俠傳」(Brutal Tales of Chivalry, 1965)中,滿身刺青的螢幕英雄影響。從日本歷史敘事中刺青造成的影響,說明了嬰兒潮世代的人們為何認為有刺青等於壞人。

回顧這段動盪的日本刺青歷史,不難理解他們對於刺青態度的舉棋不定。

日本刺青有多普遍?

伴隨日本的國際化,刺青作為流行也越來越普及。雖然無從得知日本究竟有多少人身上有刺青,但刺青工作室卻是遍布整個首都。

如果您對刺青人口數感到好奇,不妨到千葉熱門的海灘或江之島去看看,隨著日本即將到來的2020年東京奧運和世界盃橄欖球賽,可以預見刺青的熱浪將席捲整個日本。

三社祭: 東京刺青節

每年五月的第三週,三社祭會在東京最有象徵性的淺草寺盛大舉行。這項慶典同時也是全國最大的刺青展示。

慶典期間,滿身圖案的繞境成員將毫不吝嗇地秀出身上的日本傳統刺青。仔細觀察大部分人的刺青,多半是從肩膀到腳踝或膝蓋。雖然這些刺青可能會讓人聯想到黑道組織,但這項活動只是在展示精緻的手工藝設計。

私人和公共場所的刺青規範

多數刺青人士赴日旅遊都會有個疑問:我需要遮住身上的刺青嗎?答案是「看情況」。

許多溫泉浴場仍舊禁止刺青暴露在外的顧客使用他們的設施。如果您的刺青較小而容易使用繃帶或貼布遮住,通常會被接受,但為了避免麻煩,最好事先詢問。如果您的刺青圖案較大,但又十分想泡溫泉,不妨選擇友善刺青的溫泉浴場。

某些人可能會覺得這樣的觀念已經過時,但許多相關設施都不希望因為刺青者而得罪他們的常客。不同於其它國家所有類型的刺青都是流行的一環,刺青(特別是大圖案)在日本依然容易使人聯想到黑道或非法組織。實際上日本有兩個用來形容刺青的詞:一個是指用來表達自我的小刺青,另一種通常是黑道身上被稱為「入墨(irezumi)」的大刺青。

某些遊樂園也可能禁止您入場,如果他們認為您身上的刺青有所不妥。部分海灘和大眾游泳池也可能拒絕刺青人士,但並非明文規定。每個地方對刺青的態度不一,因此在您出發前,最好事先上網查詢。總而言之,海灘比起游泳池,對刺青人士相對寬容。

刺青人士的旅遊小祕技

對於刺青人士來說,避免被拒絕的最好辦法之一,就是事先上網搜尋相關資訊。

若您身上有刺青又想泡湯,建議帶些貼布以備不時之需,或者您也可以造訪提供私人湯屋的溫泉設施,如此一來就不會得罪任何人!

此外,如果您打算留宿日本傳統旅館,最好事先確認他們的刺青規範。這類的住宿設施多半附有大澡堂,所以較可能會拒絕有刺青的客人投宿。

當然囉,即便身上有刺青,只要展現親切與客氣的態度,大部分的人都不會為難您;但若真遇到對刺青有負面刻板印象的古板日本人,可能就要稍微調整自己的心態了。

究竟日本人是如何看待刺青?

「究竟日本人是如何看待刺青?」是現今最常出現、但又沒有明確答案的問題。嬰兒潮世代出生的老一輩人家,由於黑道電影的歷史因素,以及對於傳統價值觀的堅持,也許對刺青仍舊抱持著偏見。即便這些保守勢力反對刺青,改變的號角已然響起,想必未來幾年對刺青的接受和普及度也會將逐年增加吧?

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

All You Need to Know About Tattoos in Japan

The relationship between tattoos and Japan is very rocky. The country has been known to be less welcoming than many others when it comes to visitors with inked skin, but in recent times things are changing. The common misassumption about tattoos is that it represents yakuza (Japanese mob) connections, but in fact, that's not the case. Japan’s relationship with tattoos is one that’s been part of the nation’s history since the beginning of recorded time - it's more than just skin-deep.

Tokyo

Japan In-Depth

A Pre-History of Tattoos in Japan

Japan’s relationship with the tattoo dates back to the Jomon period (14,000 - 300 BCE). The first records of tattooing in Japan were discovered to be around 5000 BC. Historians found famous clay figures from the era with faces and bodies adorned with tattoo imprints or scarification.

The nation’s tattoo culture was first recorded in written form around 300 AD. In a text titled History of the Chinese Dynasties, it was reported that Japanese men covered their faces and bodies with tattoos.

Tattoos as Punishment

The first record of tattoos being used in Japan as punishment was in 720 AD. Criminals who committed the most serious offenses would have their foreheads tattooed for civilians to witness the severity of their crimes. This technique evolved over time but continued to be a mark of a criminal.

During the Edo period (1603 - 1868), tattoos started to emerge as a fashion statement in part inspired by the Chinese novel Suikoden (Water Margin), which features characters with bodies covered in ink. This point in time was considered the nation’s golden age of tattooing.

It was a time when many forms of art flourished, like kabuki, ukiyo-e painting, woodblock printing, and tattooing. All of these creative outlets cross-pollinated, with one form inspiring another. It is said that at this time, many woodblock artists converted their prints into a tattoo style so that fans could become become part of the art. During this time, both woodblock painters and tattoo artists adopted the term hori (to carve) as a way to explain their work.

The Outlawing of Tattoos

Rulers of the Edo period tried to ban tattoos, largely due to its association with the tale of Suikoden. In the story, the heroes are the underdogs; they were tattooed men who challenged the suffocating rule of authority. This ideology didn’t sit well with the figures behind the military dictatorship that ruled the Edo era.

The influence of Western culture in the 19th century was the next significant turning point for tattooing in Japan. While other parts of Asia were succumbing to colonization, the Japanese government at the time outlawed tattooing. They feared it might make the nation seem barbaric or backward in comparison to its Western counterparts.

The laws against tattooing at this time were reportedly held much stronger in the areas of Hokkaido and Okinawa, regions more susceptible to invasion. They were also areas where female tribal style tattooing was culturally ingrained. On the other hand, the laws were more relaxed on mainland Japan, and despite the lax enforcement, they still succeeded in pushing the culture underground. The laws remained until 1948 when U.S. occupation forces lifted the ban.

The 1960s Gangster Resurgence

Following the tattoo ban lifting in 1948 came the popularity of yakuza films, most notably during the 1960s.

Rather than a direct cause and effect, the tattoo and yakuza culture, although nuanced, spread in an art-imitating-life type fashion. Young wannabes, bad boys, and aspiring mob members saw the heavily inked bodies of their on-screen heroes in violent films like "Showa zankyo-den" (Brutal Tales of Chivalry, 1965). This influence of tattoos in the narrative history of Japan is one of the reasons many folks of the baby boomer generation believe that tattoos mean bad news.

While it's changing at the moment, given the depth and breadth of the tumultuous history the nation has had with tattoos, the hesitation around them seems more understandable.

How Common Are Tattoos in Japan?

As Japan has become a more globalized nation, the popularity of tattoos solely for fashion has grown as well. While no exact numbers on exactly how many inked people there are in Japan are available, there are plenty of tattoo parlors across the capital cities.

To get a better idea of how much of the population might be inked, head to one of the more popular beaches outside Tokyo in Chiba, Hayama, or Enoshima and you may just be surprised! As the nation gets ready for the Tokyo 2020 Olympics and the Rugby World Cup, you can expect the country’s exposure to and subsequent popularity of tattoos to increase.

Sanja Matsuri: Tattoo Festival in Tokyo

Each year on the third week of May, Tokyo hosts Sanja Matsuri, a massive celebration set around the most iconic temple in the city, Sensoji. It’s also one of the biggest showcases of tattoos in the nation.

During the festival celebrations, inked patrons proudly brandish their traditional Japanese style tattoos. Most of the tattoos you’ll see cover large parts of the wearer’s body, from the shoulders down to the ankles and knees. While these styles of tattoos are commonly associated with yakuza affiliates, this event is simply a showcase of the delicate artisanship that goes into these intricate designs.

Tattoo Bans in Private and Public Spaces

A question many tattooed travelers have when coming to Japan is, "Do I have to cover my tattoos?" The short answer to this is "sometimes."

Many onsen baths still don't allow patrons to use the facilities with exposed tattoos. If you have a smaller tattoo that is easily covered by a bandage or plaster, this is typically allowed, but it's always best to check ahead to avoid any problems. If you have larger tattoos and you desperately want to try an onsen, then go to an explicitly tattoo-friendly one. There's a list of such places on this website. We also have a guide on tattoo-friendly baths here.

While some may argue that this ideology is archaic and unfair, many businesses of this type don't want to upset their regular - typically older - clientele. Unlike other countries where tattoos of all types are simply fashion statements, tattoos - especially larger ones - are still commonly associated with the yakuza and other "bad" organizations in Japan. In fact, there are two different words used to describe tattoos in Japan: "tattoo", which refers to smaller tattoos done as a way to express oneself, and "irezumi", which refers to larger tattoos often done by the yakuza.

Amusement parks may also turn you away for any tattoos that are deemed inappropriate. Some beaches and public swimming pools may prohibit tattoos as well, but there’s no blanket rule. It varies from location to location, so it’s best to Google before you go. In general, however, beaches are usually more lenient than swimming pools.

Tips for Tattooed Travelers

One of the best tips for tattooed travelers is to use online resources to scope the situation. If English speaking patrons have visited a place and tattoos weren’t allowed, chances are someone would have left a review warning others. 

The Tattoo Friendly site is also an excellent source of information for those who want to visit a bath. Bring plasters with you to cover up if need be; it’ll save you time having to go out and buy some. Alternatively, you can visit an onsen with a private bath, then you’ll have nobody to offend! 

Also, if you plan on staying in a ryokan (traditional Japanese inn), it’s worth checking their tattoo policy before you book. Many of these establishments are still hesitant about allowing tattooed guests. Many ryokans have public baths, so hiding tattoos can be difficult. 

In general, cover the tattoos as much as you can without feeling too uncomfortable. It’s clear you’re not part of some criminal gang, and given the upcoming major international events, it’s an unavoidable reality that more people will be exposed to tattooed guests. As long as you’re friendly and polite, you shouldn't worry about it too much. In fact, you just may change the attitude of some more old-fashioned locals who hold negative images of tattoos!

And What Exactly Do Japanese People Think About Tattoos?

The question of what Japanese people think of tattoos today is one that comes up often but has no clear answer. Older folks - those of the baby boomer generation - may have a level of prejudice against tattoos due to the history of yakuza films and to holding more conservative values in general. Regardless, the country is seeing signs of changing, and although there’s always going to be resistance to change, it's undeniable that there is a growing trend of acceptance towards tattoos that is likely to continue to spread in the coming years.

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Header image credit: Eyesonmilan / Shutterstock.com

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.


Things to Do

Hotels & Ryokan

Shopping

Restaurant Search