【日本文化】你可能不知道的,關於日本刺青的17件事

刺青在日本是怎麼樣的?是被廣泛接受的,還是被認為不雅的?有哪些很常見的圖樣嗎?這裡有17項關於日本刺青的知識

日本

深度日本

1. 日文的「入墨(irezumi)」、「彫物(horimono)」、「刺青(shisei)」、「タトゥー」都是刺青的意思 

PIXTA

這幾個字雖然有所不同,但它們的意思都是刺青。大眾媒體,如報紙、電視、雜誌等等,最常用來描述刺青的詞是「入墨」。

2. いれずみ(irezumi)的漢字,除了寫成「入墨」之外,也可以寫成「刺青」。這是起因於「谷崎潤一郎」在1910年所寫的短篇小說「刺青」。

谷崎潤一郎是日本唯美派作家的先驅。「刺青」這部小說描述一位男刺青師傅在一位皮膚姣好的女性身上刺了一隻母蜘蛛。這部小說大受歡迎,以至於讓「刺青」這兩個漢字也變成「入墨」這個詞的另外一種寫法。 

3. 西方與東方的刺青各有不同的特色

123RF

和風圖樣的刺青一般都被稱為和雕(wabori),而西方風格的刺青則被稱為洋雕(youbori)。在刺青的技術方面,這兩者其實沒有甚麼不同。舉例來說,上面那張照片的刺青就是洋雕,而下面這張則是和雕。等等我們會針對刺青的圖樣設計多加解釋。

PIXTA

4. 江戶時代,刺青是對罪犯的逞罰

Kuxu76/Wikimedia Commons

在罪犯身上刺青,是為了讓其他人知道他們做了壞事。江戶時代城市裡人口眾多,犯罪率也跟著提升,因此政府開始以刺青來逞罰犯罪者。

5. 遊女用刺青來表達對客人的忠誠

Fg2/Wikimedia Commons

江戶時代的性工作者被稱為游女。 對常常照顧他們的恩客,她們用刺青來表達感謝之意。這樣的刺青被稱為入墨子(irezumiko),開頭是恩客的名字,結尾則是「命(inochi)」。整句話的意思就是我為(恩客的名)獻上生命。而表達這種情感還有其他方式,例如剪下一部分的頭髮,拔掉指甲,甚至是切掉一節手指!

6. 江戶時代的僧侶會將佛教的偈言或符號刺在身上

PIXTA

僧侶們在身上刺上這些符號,除了表達他們的虔誠之外,同時也從佛身上獲得法力的加持。從古老的傳說「耳無芳一(Miminashi Houichi)」的故事可以看到這樣的文化。耳無芳一是一位遭遇到惡鬼的和尚,他在自己的身上寫滿了經文來對抗惡靈。但是因為他忘了在自己的耳朵上寫上經文,所以最後惡鬼把他的耳朵奪走。

7. 明治時期開始禁絕刺青

Howcheng/Wikimedia Commons

從1872年起到1948年,刺青是違法的行為。但是在這個時期,日本的刺青技術卻在海外受到讚揚。甚至傳說英國的喬治王子和亞伯特王子曾在日本接受刺青。

8. 琉球王國曾有名為「ハジチ(Hajichi)」的刺青文化

あばさー/Wikimedia Commons

現今的日本沖繩縣,以前曾經是琉球王國。他們擁有完全不同於日本本土的文化,「ハジチ(Hajichi)」就是其中之一。 琉球王國的女性會在手上施以這種刺青,用來避邪。 

9. 愛奴族刺青文化

Haabet/Wikimedia Commons

愛奴族是日本北海道的原住民。成年的女性會在嘴旁和手上刺青。目前在愛奴族的儀式中還會實施這樣的傳統,成年婦女會在嘴旁用塗料描繪。

10. 現今設為刺青被社會視為兩種意義:流行、黑道

PIXTA

刺青被視為流行是由西方傳來的概念,是用身體表現出個人理念的方式。而另外一種在日本社會根深蒂固的概念:刺青就是代表黑道。

11. 黑道在身上刺青表示忠誠也是加入反社會勢力的一種宣告

如上面這張照片這種蓋住身體大部分面積的刺青,需要花費很大的耐心、時間、金錢,並且忍受痛楚才能完成。黑道份子經由這樣的程序來展現對組織的忠誠,並且也讓其他人知道他們已經成為黑道組織的成員。

12. 由於黑道的關係日本社會普遍認為刺青是不良的烙印

不管你是不是黑道的一分子,只要你身上有刺青,即使只是一隻小小的蝴蝶,你都將會在日本社會遭遇很多負面的對待。由於「刺青=黑道」的概念已經深深烙印在日本社會之中,身上有刺青的人,很難進入著名的公司、執法單位、政府機關等地方工作。有些工作在招募的時候就會聲明不接受身上有刺青的人來應徵。

13. 很多公眾浴池禁止有刺青的人進入

Takanori Ishikawa/Flickr

這又是另外一個「刺青=黑道」的例子。有刺青的人進入公眾浴池,在法律上可以被認定為是非法侵入。不過,一家有名的連鎖度假飯店「星野リゾート(Hoshino Resorts)」則表示,如果客人用貼紙等遮掩住刺青,就可以使用他們旅館的設施。 (詳細日文說明請看此)

14. 在日本幫人刺青需要持有醫事執照

PIXTA

刺青的過程中需要很多醫藥處置。如果沒有做好正確的處置,可能會造成發炎、傷疤,甚至傳染疾病。所以在日本,刺青師必須擁有醫事執照。

15. 幫未成年人刺青可能遭到逮捕

123RF

日本法律規定的成年歲數是20歲。根據防止組織犯罪的法律,暴力組織不得脅迫未成年人刺青。而在一些地域的法律中,幫未成年人刺青是違法的行為。

16. 日本傳統刺青「和彫り(Wabori)」受到佛教以及中國/日本神話影響

常見的「和彫り」有騎龍観音、麒麟、唐獅子牡丹等。

弥/Wikimedia Commons

毘沙門天(bishamonten)是印度神話中的神祇,印度教稱之為「Kubera」。據說刺上毘沙門天的圖樣可以得到佛法的保佑、帶來好運、健康、財富、事業,以及智慧。 

Cold Season/Wikimedia Commons

麒麟是中國古代虛擬的神獸,據說當麒麟出現,代表聖人即將現身。牠是鹿、牛、馬的綜合體。麒麟刺青據說會帶來好運。

PIXTA

「唐(Kara)」是韓國的舊稱。「唐獅子(Karajishi)」則是古時候韓國或中國傳來的圖樣。神話中獅子是萬獸之王,牠甚麼都不怕,但是只怕群居在牠毛髮內的蟲子。 這些蟲子會散布到獅子全身,最後把獅子咬死。不過如果獅子睡在牡丹花下,牡丹滴下的露水將可以殺死獅子身上的蟲子。因為這樣,刺青中唐獅子經常與牡丹花畫在一起,被稱為「唐獅子牡丹(Karashishi Botan)」。唐獅子牡丹的刺青據說可以避邪。 

17. 洋雕基本上都是西洋風格的圖樣

123RF

蝴蝶,花朵,十字架,骷髏,天使,惡魔,愛人的名字,格言,甚至是你的名字。這些不會出現在黑道刺青裡的,通常都會被稱為洋雕。

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

This post is also available in: Chinese (Traditional)

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone

1. Irezumi (入れ墨), horimono (彫り物), shisei (刺青), and tattoo (タトゥー) all mean tattoo. 

www.cuded.com/

These words do have different delicate shades of meaning, but they all generally mean tattoo. In the public media, like the news on TV or in magazines, it is proper to say irezumi when meaning tattoos.

2. The word irezumi (刺青) can be also read as shisei. This way of reading was spread from the novel “Shisei” that Junichirou Tanizaki published in 1910.

asukakyo21.exblog.jp/

Junichirou Tanizaki is a Japanese novelist who is one of the early pioneers of the aestheticism movement. In the novel “Shisei”, a tattoo artist, a man, tattoos a female spider on a woman with the most perfect skin he has ever seen. This novel became so popular that the Chinese characters of shisei (刺青) were read as Irezumi, meaning tattoo. 

3. There is a distinction between Western and Japanese tattoos.

www.cuded.com/

Japanese tattoos that have Japanese designs are called wabori (和彫り). Western tattoos that have western designs are called youbori (洋彫り). It is not a distinction between tattooing techniques. For example, the tattoo in the image above is youbori, and the tattoo in the image below is wabori. I’ll mention more about tattoo designs in detail later on.

www.horiyasu.com/

4. In the Edo period, criminals were punished with tattoos.

www.library.metro.tokyo.jp/

Tattoos were written on their bodies to show what they had done to others. The population started to rise in cities during the Edo period, and the government started to use tattoos to distinguish the criminals.

5. Yuujyo (遊女) used tattoos to show their devotion to their regular customers.

homepage2.nifty.com/

Yuujyo were sex workers in the Edo period. They used tattoos to show their romantic devotion to their regular customers. These tattoos, called irezumiko (入墨子), started with the customer’s name, and ended with inochi (命), meaning life. In total, the tattoo meant “I devote my life to (customer’s name)”. This display of devotion was taken in other forms such as cutting pieces of the hair, peeling off their finger nails, and even cutting off part of their fingers!

6. In the Edo period, Buddhist priests tattooed sutras or religious designs.

www.mahoroba-jp.net/

By tattooing these designs, Buddhist priests showed their devotion and also to receive spiritual protection from Buddhist deities. In an old tale, Miminashi Houichi (耳なし芳一), this culture can be observed. Miminashi Houichi is about a priest who encounters an evil spirit, and attempts to fight it away by writing sutras all over his body. But since he didn’t write it on his ears, the spirit took away his ears. Eek!

7. Tattoos started to become illegal in the Meiji period.

www.mizunopritech.co.jp/

This law started in 1872, and was effective until 1948. Even during this time, the technique was highly praised overseas, and it is said that prince George and prince Albert of England were tattooed in Japan. 

8. There was a tattoo culture called Hajichi (ハジチ) in the Ryukyu Kingdom (琉球王国).

shimbun.hokkori.me/

The Ryukyu Kingdom is a part of land of what is now called Okinawa. There thrived a completely different culture. Hajichi is a part of that culture. These tattoos were only done to women, and on their hands. It was done for protection against evil things. 

9. Ainu had a tattoo culture.

withasiainlove.blogspot.jp/

Ainu are the aboriginal tribe that lived in parts of the land of what is now called Hokkaido. Grown woman tattooed around their mouths and hands. This culture is still practiced now in Ainu rituals, where woman paint black around their mouth.

10. Nowadays, tattoos are recognized by society in 2 categories: fashion and Yakuza.

wallbervation.com/

Fashion tattoos are basically what tattoos are in the West: a way to express yourself, a form of art using your body, fashion, and so on. There is another tattoo culture that is rooted deeply in Japan today: the Japanese mafia, Yakuza. 

11. Having a tattoo in the Yakuza culture means loyalty to the organization and entering the antisocial forces.

www.thedailybeast.com/

Tattoos, especially ones that cover a large part of the body, as shown in the image above, demand patience, time, money, and involve a lot of pain. By enduring this process, the person will show their loyalty and devotion to their organization, and show to others that they have become a member of the organization.

12. Tattoos hold stigma within the Japanese society from the image of Yakuza.

kottke.org/

If you have a tattoo, regardless of whether you’re part of the Yakuza, even if it’s just a small tattoo of a butterfly, you will experience some hardship within your life. The equation of tattoo = Yakuza is deeply scorched into the Japanese society. It’ll be harder to get jobs in famous companies, law enforcement, government jobs, and so on. Some job applicants state in their applications to not apply if you have tattoos.

13. A lot of public baths prohibit people with tattoos from using their facilities.

npolaris.sblo.jp/

Again, another stigma from the Yakuza reflected in the Japanese society. If people with tattoos use the public baths, they can be legally charged for invasion of buildings. However, Hoshino Resorts, a famous high-class resort company, announced that customers with tattoos can use their baths if they hide them with stickers. (source article in Japanese)

14. You need a medical license to tattoo someone in Japan.

www.theatlantic.com/

The process of tattooing requires a lot of medical attention. Without the right attention and aftercare, tattooing can end up in inflammation, scarring, and even transmitting diseases. Therefore, it is necessary for the tattoo artist to have a medical license. 

15. You can get arrested if you tattoo a minor.

rt.com/

The nationwide legal age in Japan is 20. Under the Anti-Organized Crime law, it is against the law for a member of an organized group forcing a minor to be tattooed. In some regional laws, it is generally against the law to tattoo minors.

16. Wabori tattoo designs are influced from Buddhism and Chinese/Japanese mythology.

Common wabori tattoo designs include Kiryuu Kannon, Kirin, Karajishi with peony, and so on. 

nikkin-art.jp/

Bishamonten (毘沙門天) is a god from ancient Indian mythology, and is called Kubera in Hinduism. Bishamonten tattoos are said to bring protection from Buddhism, good luck, success, wealth, success in business, and wisdom. 

kaiyodo.ecq.sc/

Kirin (麒麟) is a fictional animal in Chinese mythology that is to said to appear before saints. It is part deer, cow, and horse. Kirin tattoos are said to bring good luck. 

global.rakuten.com/

Shishi (獅子) means lion. Kara (唐) is an old way to call Korea. Karajishi (唐獅子) is a lion designed in an old Korean, or Chinese, art. In mythology, Shishi are said to be the strongest of all, and fear nothing, except one thing – a bug that infests on the fur of the Shishi. This bug eventually breeds all over the Shishi, and eat the Shishi to death. However, if the Shishi sleeps under the peony (牡丹), the evening dew dripping from the peony will kill these bugs. For this reason, Karashishi and peonies are often designed together in tattoos, and called Karashishi Botan (唐獅子牡丹). Karashishi and peony tattoos are said to protect from evil. 

17. Youbouri tattoo designs are mostly western tattoo designs.

www.buzzfeed.com/

Butterflies, flowers, crosses, skulls, angels, devils, names of loved ones, quotes, you name it. If it’s not something seen on a Yakuza tattoo–i.e., wabori–it’s mostly called youbori. 

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone