10款能在日本便利商店買到的平價美味「燒酎調酒」

無論是一個盛大狂歡的派對通宵,還是在家裡度過一個輕鬆愉快的小酌夜,日本的「燒酎調酒(酎ハイ)」都能帶來平價卻美味的享受。不僅有豐富誘人的風味和適恰的酒精濃度,還有適合搭配各種調味的飲用方式,也難怪日本商店的酒款商架,許多都以色彩繽紛的「燒酎調酒」為主。 本文將介紹一些正在流行的燒酎調酒及其背後的歷史、還有在家也能調出的酒譜!

日本

美食

燒酎調酒(酎ハイ)是什麼

燒酎調酒(酎ハイ)是一種日本雞尾酒,以「燒酌」(一種類似於伏特加的日本傳統蒸餾酒)與碳酸水混合製成。「酎ハイ」這個日文單詞,是由「燒酌」和「Highball(ハイボール)」組成,後者是威士忌和蘇打水的雞尾酒。雖然自己在家也能簡單就調製出來,但在商店出售的罐裝燒酎調酒在日本仍然非常受到歡迎。它的味道、質量和極低的價格是它可以如此受歡迎的原因——價格通常為150日幣左右!

通常酸味的燒酎調酒特別受歡迎,添加了果汁和甜味劑,更容易入口。最常見的口味是檸檬,其次是芒果、柳橙、葡萄柚、酸梅、桃子,甚至綠茶。其他罐裝燒酎調酒選擇改用伏特加和其他烈酒作為基礎,例如Strong Zero,它的味道比起燒酒更順滑且不那麼濃郁。

日本的罐裝酒精飲料市場競爭異常激烈,多達數十個品牌積極開發商品,以滿足市場上的每一個消費者。許多公司還會定期發布新的或限量版的季節性口味,以吸引消費者的注意力,並在競爭對手中脫穎而出。

除了價格便宜之外,燒酎調酒也因其高達9%的酒精濃度而聲名遠播,相當於近4杯龍舌蘭!許多前往日本的旅行者在大量喝下燒酎調酒後,都必須跑廁所,或在廁所中度過夜晚(因為醉到掛了),因此謹慎飲用至關重要,千萬別被歡快惹眼的設計和看似溫和的味道所誤導。儘管有高濃度酒精飲料的稱號,但也是有許多酒精濃度約3%的燒酎調酒,甚至比大多數啤酒溫和。此外許多品牌已經開發出零糖或減糖/卡路里的版本,非常適合那些希望降低醣攝入量的人。

燒酎調酒的歷史

據說自15世紀左右,日本開始釀造燒酒,其蒸餾技術最初是從亞洲大陸引進。燒酒一開始是用大米製成,後材料擴展至大麥、紅薯、蕎麥、馬鈴薯等。雖然在二戰前飲用加入糖漿的燒酒已經十分普遍,但據說用碳酸水加以稀釋、製作燒酎調酒則是從1940年代開始。

原本只有日本的居酒屋、小酒館和酒吧會供應燒酎調酒,尤其是在東京市中心附近。罐裝燒酎調酒是在1980年代開始流行,隨著1983年三得利的「Takohai(タコハイ)」和1984年Takara的「Takara Can Chuhi(タカラcanチューハイ)」的發布,燒酎調酒風潮開始白熱化。 在1990年代,水果口味的酒陸續出現在市場上,使得口味變得更加多樣化,如桃子口味的「Peachtree Fizz(ピーチツリーフィズ)」。

 

不過要說到水果口味燒酎調酒的巔峰,則必須提到2001年麒麟的「冰結」的發布。採用創新的技術,榨出果汁後直接冷凍果汁,以獲得最大的新鮮度。從那時起,罐裝燒酎調酒的口味就幾乎都被水果給霸佔,原來的普通口味雖仍可見,但逐漸被冷落。與此同時,2008年麒麟的「冰結 Strong」以及2009年三得利「Strong Zero」推出酒精濃度高達9%的燒酎調酒——卻也正好遇上金融海嘯的風暴。

10款大推的燒酎調酒

第一類:強而有力

男梅沙瓦 (男梅サワー)

男梅沙瓦將「酸味」提升到一個新的高度,推出一款入口即化、美味的酸梅燒酎調酒。「男梅」是由NOBEL Confectionery 生產的酸糖果系列,以「梅干」調味。 Sapporo與NOBEL 合作設計一種原創的男梅沙瓦,將壓碎的梅干浸泡在酒精中以充分吸收它們的味道和香氣。除了標準的350毫升外,也提供500毫升和500毫升濃縮原汁。

檸檬堂

檸檬堂有著原始的天然風味,再現居酒屋新鮮檸檬的味道。採用優雅、低調的設計,與其他品牌華麗的包裝抗衡,藉此以吸引消費者的目光。而多元化的濃度選擇則配合消費者口味多元的市場。泡在酒精中的碎檸檬和果汁彷彿產生一種充滿活力的熱情,嘗起來就像是自己剛榨完的檸檬汁一樣。除了原味檸檬以外還有許多口味可以選擇,如鹹檸檬、蜂蜜檸檬和令人戰兢的「鬼檸檬」,酒精含量高達 9%。也提供500毫升裝和300毫升濃縮原汁。

-196℃ Strong Zero

Strong Zero是日本最著名的燒酎調酒之一。愉悅清爽的水果味讓人一點也不會察覺其酒精濃度竟然高達9%,因此許多人在酒意來之前就不小心喝了好幾杯下肚。三得利孜孜不倦地進行創新,以平衡宜人、清脆的風味和濃郁的酒精含量,最終實現這看似不可能的壯舉。

其秘訣就是是在-196°C下,用液氮快速冷凍水果以鎖住風味,再將其壓碎成末並浸泡在酒精中。較新的版本則還有零糖等選擇,是想瘦身又想喝酒的人的理想之選。龐大的陣容和無止盡的推陳出新,讓您每次造訪日本時,商店架上總會出現一個新的、沒喝過的Strong Zero。此外也有500毫升的包裝可供選擇。

氷結

麒麟的氷結是Strong Zero的主要競爭對手,也是有史以來第一款高酒精濃度的罐裝燒酎調酒。像Strong Zero一樣,麒麟也不斷堆出大量新穎的口味和,讓品牌持續保持新鮮感。華麗的菱線使其與其他光滑的包裝區分開來,確保飲用者能牢固的握住,若有機會親自拿取,會發現這個設計非常實在!此外它具有強烈的碳酸化作用和清爽、令人振奮的味道,液體滑入喉嚨的感覺也相當溫和。

氷結還用浸泡在酒精中的冷凍水果(也是氷結品名的由來,日語中意為「冷凍」)調味,提供為人稱道的 4.2%果汁(氷結 零 西西里檸檬)。 與Strong Zero最大的不同是,同時備有高濃度和低濃度的版本,適合各種飲用者和場合。當然也有無糖和無嘌呤的「氷結Zero」和500毫升大容量包裝可以購買。

麴檸檬沙瓦 (麹レモンサワー)

麒麟的麴檸檬沙瓦於2020年推出,是市場上最新的燒酎調酒之一。 用檸檬和「麴」混合而成,麴是日本用來釀造清酒等的一種發酵菌。最近,因麴對健康的益處和增強現有風味的特性獲得新的關注。麒麟用麴提取檸檬的精華,淡化酒精的灼熱感,並增添一抹燒酎調酒中不常見的「鮮味」。由此產生的麴檸檬沙瓦散發出芬芳的檸檬香氣,味道溫順柔和。儘管酒精濃度相當高卻沒有任何酒精味。該產品也有提供500毫升大包裝。

燒酎Highball (焼酎ハイボール)

寶酒造是一家領先全日本開始製造燒酎調酒的公司,以「燒酎Highball」系列的復古鋁罐和經典口味,讓這種飲料回歸簡樸的老派風格。這簡潔的選擇抓住昭和時代(1926-1989)日本酒吧場景的精髓,當時在居酒屋享用燒酎調酒是一種下班後的享受。

與穀物釀造飲物不太一樣,寶酒造將燒酎調酒的客群瞄準在年齡較大、經驗豐富的飲酒者,可以毫不猶豫的飲下烈酒。 其中,原味適合那些不想喜歡水果風味的人,而多樣化的口味可供選擇,也讓人感到十分貼心。除了檸檬和柳橙等常見水果外,寶酒造也嘗試在燒酎調酒中加入少見的獨特口味,如彈珠汽水、薑汁、紫蘇、柚子、蘋果酒等。當然也有提供500毫升大容量包裝。

麒麟特製

麒麟特製是一款高級燒酎調酒,採用最新技術和優質原料製成。將水果浸泡在酒精中12小時以上。對於那些懷念威士忌可樂(在日本不太流行)等派對經典的人來說,雖然有點太酸,但麒麟特製「可樂燒酎調酒」仍是一個可以替代的選擇。這款不加糖的產品,可說是麒麟為了回應「寶酒造愛好者」的期許而開發的產品,這些人通常是較年長、有經驗、不會輕易被酒精擊倒的的飲酒者。該系列帶有強烈的碳酸味,使感官充滿活力,令人很難注意到其實它有高達9%酒精濃度的事實。

第二類:輕快隨興

ほろよい

雖然冰結和Strong Zero具有令人愉悅的水果風味,但其高濃度的酒精含量,可能不太適合輕度飲酒者。許多人轉而選擇「ほろよい」,意思是「微醺」。享受有趣和隨興的飲品,不會有喝到頭的風險。這個時尚品牌大力主要面向擔心酒精濃度的年輕時尚女性。僅3%的酒精濃度和各種誘人的口味,即使是不愛飲酒的人也肯定會被其中一、兩種誘惑。口味包含乳酸菌、蜂蜜檸檬、冰茶、黑醋栗和橘、葡萄柚和鹽,甚至維他命C等。此外,也出售6種不同口味的半打包裝!

可爾必思沙瓦 (カルピスサワー)

可爾必思是一種日本流行的乳酸飲料,具有類似養樂多的甜美和乳白單純的味道。擁有100多年的歷史,當然也會成為燒酎調酒和其他雞尾酒的調味品之一。為應對日益增長的需求,1994年以「可爾必思沙瓦」的名義發布一款官方的可爾必思罐裝燒酎調酒。在保留可爾必思的原始風味下,加上溫和的3%酒精濃度及舒適的碳酸味,提供令人愉悅的風味。如果對於市面上一眾以水果口味為主的燒酎調酒感到煩厭,或許這是一個值得一試的選擇!

贅沢搾り

對燒酎調酒中較流行的5%果汁濃度,覺得這樣太少、不滿意的水果愛好者來說,Asahi的贅沢搾り是個更不錯的選擇。果汁成分幾乎達到一半,以41%的葡萄柚汁、31%的桃子汁等無與倫比的比例超越其他對手!完全去除酒精的味道,使其與普通果汁幾乎沒有區別。清脆、清爽的回味、溫和的碳酸及不添加人造甜味劑,喝好幾罐也不會感到膩。還有限量版的季節性口味,如鳳梨和芒果,以及以優格等成分為特色的「Premium」和「Plus」系列。當然也有提供500毫升罐大容量包裝。

※以上價格僅供參考,可能會根據購買地點和時間有所差異。

酒譜大公開:如何在家自製燒酎調酒

雖然罐裝燒酎調酒非常便宜,但在家自己做燒酎調酒不僅可以更省,還能調出屬於自己的口味!這裡提供一個簡單的居酒屋級的燒酎調酒酒譜,讓您可以隨時享用一杯宜人的燒酎調酒!

1. 首先當然是要購買一瓶燒酒,最好是頂級、高純度的「甲類」燒酒。

2. 買一瓶蘇打水,最好是礦物質含量低、碳酸化程度高的蘇打水,並記得放在冰箱裡冷藏。

3. 將燒酒和蘇打水以4:6的比例混合。

4. 加入一杯果汁或其他東西調味(一開始可以設定1:10左右的比例)。

5. 喜歡的話可以加入加冰塊。

6. 好好攪拌並享受!

日本各地的超市、大型酒類商店和便利商店偶爾也會看到濃縮的燒酎調酒。酒精濃度約20-25%,可以在家中用蘇打水直接稀釋上桌。一瓶500毫升的濃縮燒酎調酒大約可以製作10份標準的燒酎調酒,售價約為715日幣——等於每杯只需要70幾日幣!(價格取決於品牌)

燒酎調酒 - 日式樂趣和放鬆的關鍵

閱讀完本文應該能發現,日本的燒酎調酒市場相當蓬勃發展。多年的研發已養成驚人的市場,市面上幾乎可以找到適合每一種人的飲酒方式、品味和場合的商品。從辛辣甘醇的原味燒酎調酒到讓人耳目一新的多汁水果,這也難怪越來越多的日本人從啤酒、葡萄酒和清酒的世界,轉而進入廣闊多彩的燒酎調酒世界。儘管種類繁多,但有一個共同點就是燒酎調酒那隱藏酒精感的神奇能力,一不小心可能會害您喝太多。記得要保持理智,飲酒適量,小酌怡情!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

作者簡介

Steve
Steve Csorgo

搜尋餐廳

(2022 Edition) 10 Cheap Japanese Chuhai You Can Buy at Convenience Stores

Whether you’re anticipating a big night out or relaxing evening at home, Japan’s legendary “chuhai” alcoholic beverages offer a thrifty and delicious way to drink. With a profusion of tantalizing flavors and ABVs (alcohol by volume) suiting all palates and drinking styles, it’s no wonder that liquor sections across shops in Japan are now dominated by the colorful chuhai can. In this article, we’ll introduce some popular Japanese chuhai along with the history behind the drink and a recipe to make your own at home!

Nationwide

Food & Drinks

Help tsunagu write guidebook to restaurants in Japan! - CLICK TO LEARN MORE

What Is a Chuhai?

Chuhai is a kind of Japanese cocktail generally made by mixing “shochu,” a traditional Japanese distilled alcohol somewhat similar to vodka, with carbonated water. The word “chuhai” is a portmanteau of “shochu” and “highball,” the latter being a cocktail of whiskey and soda. While easy enough to mix at home, ready-to-drink canned chuhai sold at stores remain extremely popular in Japan for their taste, quality, and extraordinarily low price - often selling for just 150 yen or less a pop!

A popular chuhai subcategory is the “sour,” which adds a helping of fruit juice and sweetener to make it even easier on the taste buds. The most common flavor by far is lemon, followed by offerings like mango, lime, grapefruit, pickled plum, kiwi, and even green tea. Owing to this trend, many modern brands of canned chuhai have opted to switch to vodka and other spirits as their base, such as the infamous Strong Zero, due to it having a smoother and less intensive flavor than shochu.

The modern canned chuhai market is exceptionally competitive, with dozens of brands developing a broad selection catering to every corner of the market. Many will also release new or limited-edition, seasonal flavors to vie for the attention of consumers and stand out amongst competitors.

Along with being cheap, canned chuhai are notorious for their potent alcohol content, with many reaching a 9% ABV - equal to nearly four shots of tequila! Many travelers to Japan have ended the night with their face in the toilet bowl owing to these drinks, making it vital to proceed with caution and not be misled by the cheerful designs and mild flavors. However, despite this reputation, there are just as many low-alcohol chuhai with ABVs as weak as 3%, making them even milder than most beers. Plus, many brands have developed zero or reduced sugar/calorie versions, which are ideal for those looking to lower their sugar intake.

The History of Chuhai

Shochu is believed to have been brewed in Japan since around the 15th century, with distillation techniques originally brought over from mainland Asia. Originally made with rice, shochu has since expanded to barley, sweet potatoes, buckwheat, muscovado, and more. While sweetening shochu with syrup was somewhat common before WWII, the trend of diluting it with carbonated water to create a “shochu highball” is said to have started in the 1940s.

Predecessors to the modern chuhai were served as cocktails in local “izakaya” taverns and bars, particularly around the downtown areas of Tokyo. Modern canned chuhai started to grow in popularity during the 1980s, with the release of “Takohai” by Suntory in 1983 and “Takara Can Chuhai” by Takara in 1984 kicking things into gear. These basic mixes grew more diverse in the 1990s as fruity canned cocktails emerged on the market, such as the peach-flavored “Peachtree Fizz.”

However, the true fruit chuhai revolution came with the release of Kirin’s “Hyoketsu” in 2001, which utilized the innovative technique of freezing fruit juice directly after squeezing for maximum freshness. Since then, canned chuhai has been all about fruitiness, with the original dry flavors still available but relegated to the back shelf. Meanwhile, the “strong” canned chuhai with 9% ABVs are a more recent trend spearheaded by Kirin’s “Hyoketsu Strong” in 2008 followed by Suntory’s Strong Zero in 2009 - just in time to drown the sorrows of the financial crisis.

The 10 Best Japanese Chuhai for a Delicious Buzz!

Part 1: The Strong and Powerful

Otoko Ume Sour (男梅サワー)

Otoko Ume Sour ramps the “sour” factor up to the next level with a mouth-scrunching yet remarkably delicious pickled plum canned chuhai. “Otoko Ume” is actually a line of sour candy manufactured by NOBEL Confectionery flavored with “umeboshi,” a kind of astringent pickled plum popular in Japan. Sapporo partnered with NOBEL to devise an original Otoko Ume chuhai made by soaking crushed umeboshi in alcohol to thoroughly absorb their flavor and fragrance. Along with the standard 350 ml size, a 500 ml can and 500 ml concentrated mixer is also available.

Lemon-do (檸檬堂)

Lemon-do boasts a raw, natural flavor replicating the taste of a fresh lemon cocktail at an izakaya. The classy, understated cans work to catch the eye against flamboyant competitors while the sizable range of ABVs cater to a diverse market. The generous helping of juice from grated lemons soaked in alcohol yields an energizing zest, tasting as if you’ve just squeezed them yourself. Complementing the standard Lemon Sour are other tantalizing alternatives like salted lemon, honey lemon, and the intimidating “Demon Lemon” with a formidable 9% ABV. Also available are 500 ml cans and a 300 ml concentrated mixer.

-196℃ Strong Zero

Strong Zero is the most famous (and notorious) chuhai in Japan. With a whopping 9% ABV concealed by delectable fruity flavors, it’s no surprise that many get caught out downing a few before a wave of drunkenness hits like a bulldozer. Suntory has innovated tirelessly to balance the pleasant, crisp flavor with a heavy alcohol content, finally achieving this seemingly impossible feat by flash freezing fruit with liquid nitrogen at −196 °C to lock in the flavor before smashing it into powder and soaking it in alcohol. The newer editions also have zero sugar and purine, making them ideal for those on a diet. The massive lineup and endless updates all but guarantee a new, yet-to-be-drunken Strong Zero on the shelves with each visit to Japan. 500 ml cans also available.

Hyoketsu (氷結)

Kirin’s Hyoketsu is the main competitor to Strong Zero and the first ever high-ABV canned chuhai. Like Strong Zero, there is loads of variety and perpetual updates keeping the brand fresh. The tactile diamond-shaped bumps on the flashy can stand apart from its smooth-canned rivals while ensuring a sturdy grip - surprisingly helpful after you’ve had a few! It boasts strong carbonation and a refreshing, invigorating tang that’s gentle on the throat.

Hyoketsu is also flavored with frozen fruit (hence the name, which means “freezing” in Japanese) soaked in alcohol to deliver a commendable 4.2% fruit juice (Hyoketsu Zero Sicily Lemon). Setting it apart from Strong Zero is the availability of both high and low-alcohol mixes suiting a diversity of drinkers and occasions. Naturally, there are sugar-free and purine-free “Hyoketsu Zero” versions sold along with 500 ml cans.

Koji Lemon Sour (麹レモンサワー)

Released in 2020, Kirin’s Koji Lemon Sour is one of the newest chuhai on the market. It’s flavored with lemon blended with “koji,” a type of mold used in Japan for sake brewing and more. Koji has been recently gaining newfound attention for its potential health benefits and ability to enhance existing flavors. Here, Kirin has used koji to draw out the essence of lemon, dull the alcoholic burn, and add a hint of savory “umami” uncommon in chuhai. The resulting Koji Lemon Sour brandishes fragrant lemon aromas with a mild, subdued taste lacking any hint of alcohol despite the high volume. 500 ml cans also available.

Takara Shochu Highball (焼酎ハイボール)

Takara, a leading shochu brewer and canned chuhai pioneer, has returned the beverage to its humble, old-school roots through retro cans and classic flavors with the “Shochu Highball” lineup. This no-frills selection captures the essence of the Japanese bar scene of the Showa period (1926-1989), where a chuhai was relished as an after-work treat at an izakaya.

Going against the grain, Takara has aimed the Shochu Highball at older, seasoned drinkers who can down hard liquor without batting an eyelid. The “dry” flavor suits those put off by fruity drinks, while the hefty range of flavored versions are equally refined and mild. Alongside staples like lemon and lime, Takara has experimented with unique ingredients rarely seen in chuhai, such as ramune, ginger, “shiso” beefsteak plant, yuzu, cider, and more. 500 ml cans are also available.

Kirin Tokusei (麒麟特製)

Kirin Tokusei is a set of “high-class” chuhai made with experimental techniques and premium ingredients, including soaking fruit in alcohol for 12+ hours and more. For those that miss party classics like Jack and Coke (which is not popular in Japan), the Kirin Tokusei “Cola Sour” is a worthy substitute albeit with a bit of an acidic aftertaste. Meanwhile, the unsweetened dry Tokusei is Kirin’s answer to the “Takara” crowd of older, experienced drinkers unfazed by alcohol. The series is also strongly carbonated, invigorating the senses and further concealing the hefty 9% ABV.

Part 2: The Light and Casual

Horoyoi (ほろよい)

While Hyoketsu and Strong Zero have pleasing fruity flavors, the tremendous alcohol content makes them a no-go for lighter drinkers. Many instead opt for “Horoyoi,” which means “tipsy” in English, for a fun and relaxing drink without the risk of going overboard. This hip brand heavily markets itself towards young, trendy women worried about the effects of alcohol. With a tiny ABV of just 3% and a jumble of enticing flavors, those who despise any semblance of alcohol will surely be tempted by one or two. Flavors include the yogurt-based Bikkle sour, honey-lemon, iced tea, cassis and orange, grapefruit and salt, and even vitamin C. Plus, they sell a 6-pack of 6 different flavors, so you won’t be stuck with the same taste the entire night!

Calpis Sour (カルピスサワー)

Calpis is a popular Japanese lactic acid soft drink with a sweet and milky flavor similar to Yakult. With over 100 years of history, it’s no surprise that it also became a popular mixer for chuhai and other cocktails. In response to growing demand, an official Calpis-based canned chuhai was released under the name “Calpis Sour” in 1994. The gentle 3% ABV and mild carbonation supplies an agreeable buzz with only a minimal change to the original flavor. For those tired of the same-old fruit-based chuhai, this is a worthy alternative!

Zeitaku Shibori (贅沢搾り)

Fruit-lovers unsatisfied by the mere 5% juice prevalent in chuhai, Asahi’s Zeitaku Shibori is for you. With cans almost half-filled with pure fruit juice alone, it blasts past competitors to unrivaled levels of 41% grapefruit, 31% peach, and more! This completely removes the taste of alcohol, making it almost indistinguishable from regular fruit juice. This is bolstered by the crisp, refreshing aftertaste, mild carbonation, and lack of artificial sweeteners, making it easy to drink several cans without growing tired. There are also limited edition, seasonal flavors like pineapple and mango along with the “Premium” and “Plus” range featuring ingredients like yogurt. 500 ml cans are also available.

*Prices listed were at the time of purchase and are not universal. Prices may change depending on the store and time.

Chuhai Recipe: How to Make Your Own Chuhai at Home

While canned chuhai is already dirt cheap, you can potentially save even more money while creating your own flavors by mixing chuhai at home. Here’s a recipe for a simple, izakaya-level chuhai you can enjoy anytime!

1. Purchase a bottle of shochu, preferably top-tier, high-purity “korui” shochu.

2. Get a bottle of soda, ideally with low mineral content and strong carbonation. Chill in the fridge.

3. Mix the chuhai and soda at a 4:6 ratio.

4. Add a helping of fruit juice or alternative flavor to taste (aim for a ratio of around 1:10 at first).

5. Add ice if you like.

6. Mix and enjoy!

There are also concentrated chuhai mixes sold at supermarkets, large liquor stores, and occasionally at convenience stores across Japan. These have an ABV of around 20-25% and can be directly diluted with soda water for instant chuhai at home. A 500 ml bottle will make roughly 10 standard glasses and sells for around 715 yen - making each glass just over 70 yen! (price depends on brand).

Chuhai - The Key to Fun and Relaxation in Japan

As you can see, Japan’s chuhai industry is far from monotonous. Years of R&D have cultivated a staggering range suiting virtually every kind of personality, drinking style, taste, and occasion. From crisp dries that knock you flat to juicy sweets for a mellow buzz, it’s no wonder more and more people in Japan are venturing from the beer, wine, and sake aisles into the vast and colorful world of chuhai. However, despite the diversity, what almost every one of these drinks has in common is the uncanny ability to mask the taste of alcohol, which can be dangerous, so stay sensible and drink in moderation!

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

About the author

Steve
Steve Csorgo

Restaurant Search