【實用資訊】原來有這麼多品牌!細看日本獨特的便利商店文化

無論白天或夜晚,或是您在日本哪個地方,相信都能不難在附近發現一間方便的便利商店。這些超商提供了豐富的商品和服務,也是現今日本社會中不可或缺的一部分。從炸雞、現擠霜淇淋、銀行服務、電子用品等,皆可在超商內解決!這就讓我們來看看日本的便利超商中究竟有哪些有趣的秘密吧!

日本

日本文化

日本超商有什麼?

美食

在西方國家,大家對便利商店的食物並沒有什麼好評,當提到這類超商食物,例如新鮮食品區多為三明治,都會對其品質打上問號。相比之下日本超商的狀況就完全相反,各門市不僅一天當中有多次進貨,選擇的種類更是遠遠超過其他國家的便利商店!您可以在熟食櫃買到熱騰騰的炸雞、煎餃,或是可以挑選品項眾多的現成食品,像是拉麵、咖喱飯、漢堡等交由店員現場微波加熱。日式飯團的種類和口味也相當多元。

各式零食和甜點糖果也是絕對是會出現在陳架上的商品。不僅如此,通常多數店家設有冷凍櫃,您可以在這一區找到許多好吃的冷凍食品,例如適合在家舉辦派對時吃的餃子拼盤等。

飲品

除了食品區的眾多選擇能讓您感到眼花撩亂外,飲品區也充滿各式各樣的飲料要來好好一解您的口渴!通常飲品區都會有一冷藏櫃是咖啡類,其他櫃則有各式茶類飲料,像是茉莉花茶、麥茶、綠茶等。而能量補充飲料、運動飲料、汽水則多會聚集在同一區塊,再來還會有至少2到3個冷藏櫃提供超多酒精類飲品選擇。您可以買到普通、清淡、甚至是不含酒精的啤酒,罐裝飲品像是紅酒、威士忌、日本酒或燒酒等也都一應俱全。此外,您也可以自行到加熱櫃中挑選瓶裝或罐裝的熱飲,尤其適合在寒冷的冬季期間飲用。

金融服務&現金提領

到世界上任何一個國家旅遊,「金錢取得」都會是一重要考量。在日本的好處即是每間便利商店幾乎都至少設有一台ATM機,而且這些機台,尤其是在都會區,大多都支援海外卡片。也就是說您可以直接在這些ATM機台提領日幣,也就不需要在旅程中擔心日幣的兌換問題。

若是在日本停留時間較長,您還有機會可使用超商其他的金融服務:利用ATM機台進行存款及匯款、購買並印刷活動票券甚至是在此支付大部分的生活帳單。

其他服務

便利商店雖然僅是單一店家,卻提供了許多延伸服務,讓大家在生活上更加便利。例如大型的便利商店通常提供免費WiFi可使用!

Nifty多功能合一機器則可進行掃描、影印及檔案傳送。有需要手機充電器等電子系列用品時,您也能在多數店面中購得。除此之外,也接受全日本國內的包裹寄送服務(上限25公斤),只要帶著包裹到商店並填寫表格(附有英文標示),最後支付費用並交遞包裹即可!

旅行時,若有經過邊利商店也可走進店裡小憩一下或使用化妝室,許多店面設有座位區,可供您坐下品嚐剛買到的食物。日本的街道上很少有公共垃圾桶,若身上有少量垃圾時,也可以在便利商店時一併處理掉。

其他便利商店販售的實用工具包括文具、洗漱衛生用品、免洗餐具、熱水機(適合用於泡麵)及多種烹飪材料。

3大便利超商品牌!

7-11

7-11原是美國的一間便利商店,1974年起進軍日本。目前在全日本計有2萬多間門市,是全世界店面數最多的國家。幾乎是走到哪裡,都有機會看到路邊那個主要以紅綠兩色構成的顯眼招牌。

在日本3大連鎖便利商店中,最容易連接到WiFi服務的便是7-11。此外,也有不少人認為7-11的便當品質是3大超商中最好的。許多食品廠商更是常與日本小七合作推出限定款的泡麵或零食產品。

Lawson

日本3大超商連鎖店中,Lawson的規模雖然最小,但卻在食物的品質上補足這一點。Lawson以「UchiCafé」的品牌推出一系列優質甜點,如海綿蛋糕、菠蘿麵包、季節水果甜品等。大受歡迎的炸雞君(Karaage-Kun)系列則包含經典原味和多種變化口味,其中以起士口味特別受到喜愛。此外,若您是啤酒愛好者,Lawson可是3大連鎖超商中提供最多季節啤酒和手工啤酒選擇的品牌,記得走到啤酒櫃前一探究竟!

FamilyMart 全家

全家在日本全國擁有僅次於7-11之下的店面數,提供許多優質的食物選擇。其中最有人氣的食物應該就是全家炸雞(Fami-Chiki)系列了!這是一款超多汁的炸雞胸肉,有多種口味,每次吃都會感到相當滿足!另外,全家也販售許多串燒,可以單支購買或是選擇串燒組合。

靠近店門口的區域,您也會發現有現蒸包子櫃,提供經典的肉包,深受大家喜愛的披薩包、或是期間限定的口味,例如包子外表呈黑色的麻辣芝麻擔擔麵風包(麻辣ごま坦坦まん)等。
 

3大連鎖外,還有這些超商品牌!

Lawson 100

Lawson在主品牌下另有2個支線品牌,分別為Lawson 100和Natural Lawson。Lawson 100在全日本共有800多間門市。店家Logo改為綠色調,和Lawson的藍色招牌做出區別,

之所以稱為Lawson100,顧名思義便是這裡的所有商品皆為100日圓(不含稅價格),不同於一般百元商店以販賣生活用品和少量可保存食品為主,Lawson100則提供了新鮮的蔬菜水果可購買。

Natural Lawson

Natural Lawson有著酒紅色招牌,多設於主要市中心或商業區,販售的商品品質較一般的便利商店來得高級且精緻。

這裡販賣許多高營養和強調新鮮度的產品,相較其他便利商店更重視健康取向。商品也多是有機製造並以道德方式採購而來,選擇眾多的美容系列產品也包含在內。
 

Mini-Stop

儘管和前面所提的品牌相比,Mini-Stop並不那麼常見,但有兩個面向卻是他們贏過其他間的。其一是在每間Mini-Stop都一定會有座位區,這裡提供現點現做的速食食品和足夠的座位,因此若是想要找個「可以坐著」休息的地方,那麼Mini-Stop就會是不會錯的選擇。

其次,Mini-Stop的霜淇淋系列是公認為超商中最好吃的!其中尤其推薦哈密瓜口味霜淇淋,炎炎夏日來上一支絕對超級消暑!
 

Daily Yamazaki

Daily Yamazaki於1977年首度開業,並以美味的烘焙食品打開知名度,包含麵包、糕點和新鮮現做的三明治例如炸肉排三明治等。除了這些食物之外,您所期待可在一般便利商店找到的商品,在這裡也幾乎都有。

Seicomart

如果您有機會前往北海道,別錯過地區性的連鎖便利商店——Seicomart。除了滑雪場和雪祭之外,北海道其實還是日本著名的農業產區,這一點從Seicomart內的生鮮商品品質上便能略知一二。

這裡提供的牛奶皆源自附近農場,因此保證您可以喝到最新鮮的鮮奶!來到北海道,品嚐一下當地的濃純鮮奶、冰淇淋或是以當地食材製作的便當可是絕對不能少的呢!

便利商店就是您旅日時的好朋友!

如同開頭所提,走進一間便利商店,您便能親身感受到現代日本文化中的一部分。販賣商品眾多,從甜品零食、飲料、熟食生鮮都有,瞬間讓人不知道該從何處下手,就算只是進去逛逛也能有很多新發現。便利商店所提供的各式資源加上全天候24小時的存在,更是為遊客帶來了許多方便,像是ATM機器提領款項、旅行途中急需乾淨的化妝間、隨時可補給衛生用品或來一杯現煮咖啡等日常所需等都能在這小小一間超商內完成。下次來到日本旅行時,記得好好善用這些便利商店唷!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

相關分類

搜尋餐廳

Discover More About Japan's Unique Convenience Store Culture

No matter where you may find yourself in Japan, day or night, you’ll always be able to find a trusty conbini (convenience store) nearby. The vast array of products and services these stores offer are integral to the bustle of life in modern Japan. Fried chicken, soft serve, banking services, and electronics are just a few of the things you'll be able to get your hands on in one of these stores. Read on to find out more about the world that awaits inside the humble Japanese convenience store!

Nationwide

Travel Tips

What's Sold at Japanese Convenience Stores?

Food

Convenience stores, particularly in the Western world, have somewhat of a dodgy reputation when it comes to food. The "fresh" food sections usually consist of a few sandwiches, and the quality of these foods are questionable. This is far from the case in Japanese convenience stores! Fresh food is brought in multiple times daily, and the choice on offer far outranks anything you may come across in convenience stores outside of Japan. You’ll be able to purchase warm foods such as fried chicken and dumplings at the counter, and staff can also heat up a range of pre-made meals such as ramen, curry, and burgers. The onigiri (rice ball) section also offers a range of choice when it comes to flavors and fillings.

Naturally, you’re also able to buy a range of snacks and sweets here, too! Most stores also come with an extensive frozen section: in fact, we've got a whole article dedicated just to the ice creams you can buy in these section. You can also get some great frozen meals here too such as gyoza platters which are perfect for parties.

Drinks

It’s not just the food section that’ll leave you spoiled for choice inside a conbini! The drinks sections also boast a wide variety of options for quenching your thirst. There’s always at least one fridge dedicated purely to coffee, and another brimming with choices of tea such as jasmine, barley, and green tea. Energy drinks, sports drinks, and fizzy drinks are usually found together in the same section, and then there’s always 2-3 fridges providing a range of alcoholic drink options. You’ll be able to purchase normal, light, and non-alcoholic beers at every conbini, plus canned mixed drinks like chu-hai, wine, whiskey, and Japanese liquor like sake and shochu. You can also purchase warm bottled and canned drinks from a heated section of their own, perfect for a cold winter’s day.

Banking and Bills

While you’re out and about traveling anywhere in the world, one of the most important considerations is access to money. Fortunately for Japan, every conbini contains at least one ATM, and virtually all of these ATMs (especially in urban areas) accept international cards! This means that you rarely have to worry about exchanging foreign currency while in Japan as you can withdraw yen directly from most conbini stores.

For those spending more time in Japan than a short holiday, convenience stores also provide several other financial services. The ATMs can be used to deposit and send money to other bank accounts, to purchase and print tickets for events, and you can also pay most household bills over the counter.

Other Services

Convenience stores also make life that little bit easier by providing a number of other services under one roof. For starters, all of the major convenience stores provide access to free WiFi!

You can scan, print, and send documents using nifty all-in-one machines, and you can purchase a range of electrical products such as portable phone chargers in most stores. On top of this, most convenience stores can take care of delivering parcels (up to 25kg) within the country. Simply bring your parcel to a store, fill out the form (in Japanese with English labels), and pay the fee.

You’ll be able to pop into most convenience stores for a bathroom break while travelling, and a good portion of stores have seating: great for when you want to eat that fresh food you’ve just purchased! It can be hard to find a garbage bin on the streets in Japan, but you’ll always be able to dispose of your rubbish at a convenience store.

Other helpful things that you’ll find inside the Japanese conbini include stationery, toiletries, disposable cutlery, boiling water dispensers (perfect for on-the-go cup noodles), and many cooking ingredients.

Convenience Stores: The Big Three

7-Eleven

Originally an American convenience store, 7-Eleven came to Japan in 1974 and now boasts 20,000 stores throughout Japan: the highest number in any country in the world! Wherever you go, you’ll likely find the iconic red and green stripes nearby.

This store also has the most reliable and easy to navigate WiFi of the three main conbini chains. Furthermore, some say the bento (packaged lunch) selection at this store is arguably the best of the big three chains. Many food producers partner specifically with 7-Eleven for limited-edition products such as instant noodles and dried snacks.

Lawson

Lawson has the smallest presence among the three big conbini chains inside major cities, but it makes up for this with the quality of its food. The Lawson premium sweets range is marketed under the brand UchiCafé, and offers some mouth-watering treats such sponge cakes and fresh melon pan to name but a few. The  popular Karaage-Kun fried chicken range also offers several tasty twists on standard karaage such as the highly popular cheese karaage bites. For beer enthusiasts, Lawson also stocks the best range of seasonal and craft beers of the big three chains in Japan.

FamilyMart

FamilyMart has a big presence all over the country and offers a good selection of high-quality foods. Perhaps the most famous of these foods is the ever popular FamiChiki range – a selection of seasoned pieces of juicy chicken breasts that are an absolute treat. FamilyMart also has a great selection of yakiniku (grilled meat) skewers that you can buy individually or as a set in a takeaway tray.

At the front of the store, you’ll find a wide range of steamed buns, including the simple meat bun, the black and fiery tantanman bun, and the much loved pizza bun.

Other Stores

Lawson 100

Lawson operates two notable offshoots of its main brand: Lawson 100, and Natural Lawson. There are over 800 Lawson 100 stores across Japan, and they can be spotted by their green instead of standard blue signs.

As the name suggests, everything in a Lawson 100 store is priced at 100 yen (excluding consumption tax), and unlike most other 100 yen stores that stick to household products and processed foods, Lawson 100 offers a healthy selection of fresh fruits and vegetables.

Natural Lawson

Natural Lawson stores, identifiable by their burgundy signs, take the already high quality of conbini products one step further. They can be found in most urban centers and business districts.

The Natural Lawson range of products are nutritious, fresh, and often healthier than standard conbini fare. The majority of their products are ethically and organically-sourced, and this also applies to a large selection of the beauty products you can find here, too.

Mini-Stop

While not as common as previously mentioned stores, Mini-Stop excels in two areas. The first of these is seating. Unlike other convenience stores, where there is no guarantee of a seating area, Mini-Stop has fast food made to order and seating aplenty, so you can always rely on this chain when looking for a place to rest your feet.

Secondly, Mini-Stop is widely regarded to have the best ice cream selection out of the competition. Our recommendation is the melon soft serve, which is absolutely unbeatable on a hot summer’s day.

Daily Yamazaki

Daily Yamazaki first opened its doors in 1977 and has earned itself a reputation for its delicious baked goods. These include many varieties of bread, pastries, and freshly made sandwhiches such as the menchi katsu (ground meat) sandwhich. Of course, you'll also find the usual array of offerings you'd expect from a Japanese convenience store here, too.

Seicomart

If you happen to find yourself in Hokkaido, don't miss out on a stop to the regional conbini chain Seicomart. Aside from ski resorts and snow festivals, Hokkaido is also famously known as Japan’s key farming region, a fact evident from the quality of fresh produce that you can find in this chain of stores.

The milk here comes from nearby farms, meaning you can really taste the freshness! If you get the chance, try some fresh Hokkaido milk, an ice cream, or one of the bento boxes prepared fresh in-store using locally sourced ingredients!

Japanese Conbini: A Traveler's Best Friend!

Unassuming at first, step inside a Japanese conbini and you'll experience a slice of modern Japanese life. The endless selections of sweets, drinks, fresh foods available are fun to browse, but conbini are also a great resource for any traveler. Providing 24 hour access to ATMs, clean bathrooms, and essentials like toiletries or a fresh coffee, Japanese conbini really help make travel a breeze. Be sure to take advantage of all they have to offer next time you're in Japan!


If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Title Image: Tupungato / Shutterstock

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Things to Do

Hotels & Ryokan

Shopping

Restaurant Search