【實用資訊】發行量日本第一!利用超人氣交通IC卡「Suica」,來一趟經濟實惠又舒適的日本之旅

出國旅行時最困擾的事情之一,無疑是「大眾交通工具的利用方法」。JR東日本的IC卡Suica,是個能充分解決這煩惱的法寶。在Suica內儲值足夠金額,進出車站時只需要感應票卡即可通過,搭乘電車時快速又便捷。自動扣除票價的功能,讓您不需要事前查詢車票價格即可到達目的地。它最大的魅力是除了以東京為中心的首都圈之外,更擴展到全國都能使用。不只能當作電子錢包在便利商店或搭乘計程車時使用,遊樂場所、自動販賣機、寄物櫃等也可利用,一卡在手、用途多廣,不用再帶沈甸甸的現金出門了!本篇將介紹Suica的使用方式,讓您可以輕鬆地暢遊日本。

日本

實用資訊

發行張數第一名!認識交通IC卡「Suica」

近幾年日本交通公司普遍引進IC卡,不但省去購買車票的時間,還能享有搭車的優惠折扣,因此使用人數也大幅度增加。同時隨著卡片種類不同,有的卡只要事前儲值就能有電子錢包的功能,無論購物、搭乘計程車等,讓付費時更顯便捷快速。

在目前的交通IC卡中,發行量最多的就屬JR東日本所發行的Suica莫屬了。以首都圈為中心並拓展到全國皆可使用,除了便利性高之外,可利用的加盟商店數量也是同種類IC卡中排名第一,不僅是日本人、對國外旅客而言也是好處多多。

接下來就讓我們深入了解Suica的使用方式與優惠情報吧。

不僅是搭乘交通工具?擁有壓倒性數量加盟店的「Suica」,讓我們來了解可以使用它的場所吧

交通運輸

Suica以東京的首都圈為中心,向外拓展至日本各地,分為「首都圈地區」「仙台地區」「新潟地區」「沖繩地區」四個區域之外,還加上「北海道地區」「東海地區」「西日本地區」「九州地區」四大區域的關聯交通與商店也能使用,無須特別的手續就能在日本全國使用Suica,不過在橫跨不同區域時則會需要另購車票。除了電車外,許多區域的公車或私鐵也能使用喔。

利用可能範圍隨時在擴張,最新情報請上官方網站確認,或是詢問JR的站務人員。

購物

Suica的電子錢包功能,從便利商店、超市、藥妝店、家電量販店等大型連鎖店開始,到自動販賣機、餐廳、百貨公司、服飾店、遊樂設施(卡拉OK、出租漫畫網咖、遊樂中心)、租車公司、加油站等等可以使用店家十分眾多,加盟店數全國總計約有75萬間(2019年9月當下),可以利用的範圍還在持續擴大當中。

只不過有些小規模的個人商家尚未能使用,結帳前請先注意。令外,有部分商店結帳時雖然可以使用、但無法當場儲值,也請多加留意。就算在旅程結束時沒有把儲值的金額全部用完,Suica也可以退回餘額(須支付220日幣手需費)。在儲值時存入可以使用完畢的金額,即可省去退回餘額的手續與時間。

可以使用Suica的店家會在店門口或結帳櫃檯附近標示有下列照片中的Suica標誌,淺顯易懂使用方便。

也有專屬訪日外國旅客的卡片,讓人真放心!Suica卡的申請・加值方式

無論是交通轉乘或購物都非常便利的Suica。想讓日本之行鬆鬆又事半功倍的您一定要擁有這一張卡。那麼,到底該如何得到卡片呢?就讓我們一起來了解Suica的種類與取得方法吧。

Suica卡片種類與申購方式

・My Suica(記名式)

My Suica是就算遺失了還可以再次再次發卡的Suica。My Suica的優點是只要申請停止卡片功能,生效當下的儲值餘額也會被凍結而不會被盜用。若硬要說它的缺點,則是在申購時需要登錄使用者姓名・出生年月日・性別等個人資訊,因此僅限登錄之使用者本人才可以使用。JR東日本的各個主要車站的多功能售票機或綠的窗口皆可申購。

如果有6~11歲孩童同行,請記得申請兒童用My Suica喔。因為兒童票價大約為成人票價的半價,若是使用普通的Suica卡僅能用成人價計算。兒童用My Suica只可在Suica使用地區(首都圈地區・仙台地區・新潟地區)內JR東日本車站的「綠之窗口」申購。只需出示護照證明年齡即可申請。

發行價格為1000日幣・2000日幣・3000日幣・4000日幣・5000日幣・10000日幣,所有金額內皆包含500日幣的押金,押金在卡片退還時可以退回。

・Suica卡(無記名式)

無記名的Suica卡不限購買者本人使用。不需要登錄個人資料是方便之處,但最大的風險則是遺失之後便無法再度發卡。JR東日本主要車站的多功能售票機或綠之窗口多有販售,發行價格同樣分為1000日幣・2000日幣・3000日幣・4000日幣・5000日幣・10000日幣,所有金額內皆包含500日幣押金,押金在退還卡片時可以退回。

無記名式的Suica卡並沒有兒童專用卡,因此兒童持此款卡片也是以成人票價計算。強烈建議6~11歲的兒童申購兒童用My Suica喔。

・針對訪日外國旅客的IC卡「Welcome Suica」

若使用天數少於28天,則多了「Welcome Suica」這個選項。這款針對外國旅客設計的卡片,背景以日本國旗日之丸的紅色為概念、搭配白色櫻花的圖案,整體設計洋溢日本氛圍,非常適合帶回家作為旅程的紀念。由於只限28天期間內使用,因此並不需要500日幣的押金,但需注意此款卡片儲值完成的金額將無法退回餘額。其他的功能都與普通的Suica卡(無記名式)相同。

可於JR EAST旅遊服務中心、成田機場、羽田機場的Welcome Suica專用售票機購買。想暸解詳細資訊請參考官方網站之刊載內容。


・推薦的購買窗口是?

除了Welcome Suica之外、在JR東日本的主要車站都可購買,最推薦的購買窗口則是JR EAST旅遊服務中心(成田機場站、機場第二航廈站、東京單軌線羽田機場國際線航廈站、東京車站、新宿車站、澀谷車站、池袋車站、上野車站、濱松町車站)。這裡不但提供從國外前來日本的旅客各項服務,也有英語站務人員常駐、為您提供購票資訊或觀光情報。不僅可以購買票券,還能諮詢可使用Suica卡的相關旅遊資訊喔。

Suica卡的加值方法

Suica並非用完就丟的一次性車票,只要儲值就可不斷的重複使用。每當餘額變少時,就到車站的售票機或便利商店櫃檯加值吧。

・車站的售票機

只要有iC標示的「自動售票機」「多功能售票機」「過站精算機」,就可儲值入20,000日幣以下的現金。加值手續如下。

【將Suica卡放在自動售票機的指定位置上,或是插入指定票口內 → 在多功能售票機畫面右上方選擇希望的語言 → 選擇加值額度 → 將現金放入自動售票機 → 加值完成】

詳細的附圖說明請詳閱此介紹頁面


・便利超商

在車站的售票機儲值雖然是最簡單的方式,但若是與店員用日語溝通沒有問題的旅客、也可選擇以下方式。在部分家電量販店、藥妝店櫃檯也可儲值,但以在便利超商最為方便。7-11、LAWSON等大型連鎖便利超商幾乎都可以儲值。方法是,到櫃檯告知店員「請幫我加值(希望額度)日圓到Suica內」同時將現金交給他,接著將Suica卡放上專用感應機上即可。

無需實體卡片更便利!手機Suica的特徵與利用方法

Suica除了上述卡片種類之外,還有登錄後就可使用的「手機Suica」。無須另購實體卡片,只需要利用自己的智慧型手機就可使用,不但免除卡片遺失的風險,更不需要支付500日幣的卡片押金。與實體Suica卡同樣可以在大眾運輸工具或加盟店鋪支付費用。官方網站或APP Store頁面都只有日語,難度雖然高、一旦登錄完成就可享有相當便捷的各項服務喔。

在使用之前首先必須下載Suica的APP。蘋果製手機請利用「Apple Pay」發行Suica至手機或Apple Watch使用。安卓系統手機請利用「Google Pay」啟動Suica。另外還有無需輸入信用卡號的「EASY手機Suica」,適合只想要簡單加值功能的朋友。最低加值額度為1000日幣,除了可利用登錄的信用卡或其他線上儲值服務外,在部分大型連鎖便利超商也可以用現金加值喔。

不過,需注意有一部份的手機無法使用。詳細資訊請參考官方網站(僅限日語)所刊載之內容。

▼由此下載
Apple製手機
Android手機

事前了解有利無弊!關於Suica的小知識

餘額不足,無法出站!

要出站時感應Suica卡閘門卻沒有打開!無需驚慌,這想必是卡內餘額不足所導致,在主要車站的出站閘門前大多設置有自動精算機,可以計算您不足的票額。若是遍尋不著精算機、則可以請閘門窗口的站務人員幫忙處理。如果身上恰巧沒有攜帶現金,也可以與站務人員商量解決的方式,例如用信用卡重新購買車票等,站務人員非常樂意與您一起一一解決難題。

遺失了怎麼辦?

只要是My Suica就可以再度發卡。只要在Suica利用地區主要車站內向站務人員提出申請,完成再度發卡的申請手續後,遺失卡中的儲值餘額將立刻凍結以獲得保障,申請隔日即可拿到再度發卡的卡片。由於申請再度發卡不但需要手續費520日幣、同時需再支付新卡的押金500日幣。因此若在意已儲值金額、可趕緊回到可能遺失的地點找尋,若對卡內餘額不在意且想不起在何處遺失時,就立刻申請再度發卡,針對不同狀況選擇最適切的應對方式吧。

很可惜Suica(無記名式)與Welcome Suica是無法再度發卡的,若想一次加值高額度時,申辦My Suica是比較安心的選擇。

儲值金額如果還有剩餘呢?

若已經有確定下次來日本的計畫、則保留卡內餘額就好,若暫時沒有訪日計畫但又不想被扣除手續費,那麼把餘額全部花完也是個好方法。在一部分的便利超商裡有販售一個數十日圓的低價零食,其中更有20日幣左右的商品,仔細計算購物金額想必將餘額使用掉並不困難。同時,在機場內大多設施和商店都可使用Suica,回國前把握機會在餐廳中享用日式料理或選購伴手禮等,將卡內餘額有意義的使用掉吧。

結帳時若卡內餘額不足,不足的部分可以改用現金或信用卡付款,十分讓人放心。事先瞭解使用方法就可以無後顧之憂的利用餘額購物了。

就如同名稱「Super Urban Intelligent CArd(超級城市智慧卡)」一般,無論是旅行中的交通、購物都引領您向前行的魔法卡片Suica。發行張量日本第一、擁有壓倒性數量的加盟商店、還有使用便利的手機版本。一目瞭然的多項優勢是Suica的必選理由。抵達日本後立刻申購、讓整趟旅程毫無壓力、便捷輕鬆又自在!


■Suica是什麼?JR東日本(英語)
https://www.jreast.co.jp/e/pass/suica.html
■JR-EAST GUIDE(英語)
https://www.jreast.co.jp/e/downloads/pdf/jr-east_guide_e.pdf

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

Save Money and Travel Japan in Style With Suica, Japan's Most-Used Transit IC Card

Working out how to use the local public transport is a common hassle when traveling overseas. Luckily, the Suica IC card, issued by JR East, magically solves this problem for you! Use cash to charge your Suica card and you can glide through the ticket gates with just a tap. Suica also automatically calculates your fare, so there's no need to work out ticket prices. Plus, it's not just valid in Tokyo; you can use Suica all over Japan! Suica cards can also be used for cashless payments at convenience stores, taxis, game centers, vending machines, coin lockers, and more, which saves you from carrying around wads of cash when you travel. In this article, we'll run down all you need to know about Suica cards so that you can travel smart in Japan!

Nationwide

Travel Tips

What Is Suica, Japan's Number One Transport IC Card?

Many Japanese transport companies have introduced IC cards in recent years. These cards save time by removing the need to buy tickets, and also often offer discounted fares, which has led to a rapid uptake by the public. Certain IC card types, when pre-loaded with cash, can also be used as digital money to pay at shops or taxis.

Issued by the East Japan Railway Company (or JR East), Suica is the most-issued IC transit card in Japan. Used mainly in the Tokyo area, Suica is accepted on public transport systems all over the country. More stores accept cashless Suica payments than any other IC card, making it a good choice for locals and international visitors alike. Let's dig a little deeper into how to use Suica and save money!

Not Just for Transit! The Many Places Where You Can Pay with Suica

Public Transport

Suica is sold and mainly used in the greater Tokyo region, but is accepted all over Japan. Suica's coverage extends beyond its four core areas of the Greater Tokyo Area, Sendai, Niigata, and Okinawa. It's also accepted in Hokkaido, the Tokai and Kansai regions, and Kyushu, meaning you can use it wherever you go in Japan. However, you do need to buy a ticket in advance if you want to travel across different areas. Suica can also be used on a number of local bus and train networks.

The areas that accept Suica are constantly expanding. You can check the official JR East website or ask JR staff for the latest network details.

**The difference between the "core areas" and other areas is that other regions have their own IC cards that they sell primarily, although they accept Suica. Learn more about the dizzying array of IC cards with this article!

Shopping

Suica is also a very convenient method for cashless payments. It's accepted at large chain stores like convenience stores, supermarkets, drugstores, and electronics stores, as well as vending machines, restaurants, variety stores, clothes stores, and recreation spots like karaoke, manga cafes, and arcades. You can even use it to pay for a rental car or when filling up your car at a gas station. As of September 2019, around 750,000 stores around Japan accept Suica, with the number growing all the time!

However, many smaller independent stores and restaurants may not accept cashless payments. There are also stores that accept Suica payments but don't provide recharge services. You can request a refund if you don't manage to use up all the cash you've loaded onto your Suica card during your travels. Since refunds do come with a service fee of 220 yen, it might be easier to load an amount you know you'll be able to use up before you leave. 

It's easy to find stores that accept Suica. Just look for the Suica logo displayed at the counter like in the photo below.

There's Even a Card for Tourists! How to Get and Charge a Suica Card

Suica is very convenient for getting around and shopping, so if you're planning to travel in Japan, it's smart to have one. But how do you actually get a Suica card of your own? Let's look at the different types and how to get them.

Suica Card Types and How to Get Them

・My Suica (Registered) 

A "My Suica" card can be reissued if lost. The advantage to this type is that if you lose it, you can suspend the card to protect its remaining balance. However, you have to register the card with your name, birthdate, and gender, which limits its use to the registered user, which may be a downside for some travelers. You can buy a "My Suica" at ticket machines or ticket offices at major JR East Stations.

If you are traveling with a child aged 6 to 11, we'd recommend making a children's My Suica. Children's fares are around half the cost of adult fares, but an unregistered Suica card only supports adult fares. To get a children's My Suica, you must visit a staffed ticket office at a JR East station in the areas Suica are sold (Greater Tokyo Area, Sendai, or Niigata). You'll just need your child's passport as proof of age.

You can first charge your "My Suica" at 1,000, 2,000, 3,000, 4,000, 5,000, or at 10,000 yen, which all include a refundable 500 yen deposit.

・Suica Card (Unregistered)

An unregistered Suica card can be used by anyone. The fact that you don't need to register your personal details may be more convenient for some, but you do run the risk of losing your balance if you lose the card. You can also buy this card at ticket machines or ticket offices at major JR East Stations. Like My Suica, you can load the card with your choice of 1,000, 2,000, 3,000, 4,000, 5,000, or 10,000 yen, including a refundable 500 yen deposit.

There is no children's version of an unregistered Suica card, so unfortunately any children using one will be charged the full fare. We recommend making the effort to get a children's My Suica if you are travelling with children aged between 6 and 11.

・Welcome Suica, for International Tourists

Welcome Suica is a version designed specifically for international tourists. If you'll only be using your Suica for 28 days or less, this is a good choice. Designed with a Japanese feel in colors that resemble the Japanese flag, with white sakura blossoms on a red background, this card can be taken home as a souvenir. Only valid for 28 days, the Welcome Suica doesn't require a 500 yen deposit, but you can’t have the balance of the card refunded. The rest of its features are identical to a normal unregistered Suica card.

You can get a Welcome Suica card from JR East Travel Service Centers, as well as dedicated Welcome Suica vending machines at Narita and Haneda airports. Check the official website for further details.

・Where Is the Best Place to Get a Suica Card? 

All Suica cards, with the exception of the Welcome Suica, are available to buy at any major JR East train station. That said, we recommend visiting a JR East Travel Service Center at Narita Airport Station, Narita Airport Terminal 2·3 Station, Tokyo Station, Shinjuku Station, Shibuya Station, Ikebukuro Station, Ueno Station, or Hamamatsucho Station. These centers sell tickets and have a range of services for international visitors, including English-speaking staff who can help with sightseeing information. If you have questions about using your Suica for sightseeing, they'll likely be able to help.

**If you're planning on staying in Japan for a bit longer, then you should look into Suica's points program, where you earn points by spending money on JR East fares and retail!

How to Charge a Suica Card

Suica cards are rechargeable, not single-use. When the balance runs low, you can recharge your Suica at ticket machines or convenience stores in Japan.

・Station Ticket Machines 

You can load up to 20,000 yen onto your Suica card at ticket machines with an IC logo. If you're already inside the ticket gates and need to recharge, you can also add funds using the machines labeled "Fare Adjustment".

To add funds using these machines, first either insert your card or place it on the designated reader. Select your preferred language on the upper right hand side of the screen. Select the amount to recharge, insert your cash, and the charge will complete. 

Please see this pamphlet for more details on the process.

・Convenience Stores

Using machines at the station may be the easiest way to recharge, but if you're able to communicate a little in Japanese, you can also do this at convenience stores. Some electronics and drug stores also provide recharge services, but convenience stores are probably the most convenient place to do it. Almost every major convenience store chain like 7-Eleven or Lawson will let you recharge your Suica at the register. To do this, tell the register staff the amount you want to recharge, give them your cash, then place your card on the Suica reader.

Go Cardless and Travel Even Smarter! All About Mobile Suica

An additional service called Mobile Suica is also available. The benefit to this service is that you can use your smartphone rather than needing to keep track of a separate card. There's also no need to make a 500-yen deposit. Just like a physical Suica card, you can use Mobile Suica both for public transport and cashless payments. The official website and App Store listing are only in Japanese, which could be a barrier for some, but if you can manage to get it set up, it's very convenient.

To get started, first download the Suica app. On Apple devices, you can use Suica with Apple Pay to use the service on your iPhone or Apple Watch. On Android devices, you can link Suica with Google Pay. If you don't want to link a credit card and would rather just recharge by other means, EASY Mobile Suica is another option to consider. Recharges are available from 1,000 yen and up, and can be done using a registered credit card/payment service, or with cash at major convenience store chains and other shops.

Please keep in mind that Mobile Suica isn't available on all devices. For more details, check out the official site (in Japanese only).

To download Mobile Suica:
Apple devices
Android devices

Good to Know! Suica How-Tos and Troubleshooting

You Can't Leave the Ticket Gates Without a Sufficient Balance!

You tapped your Suica on the reader, but the gates won't open? Don't stress! It's likely you need to just recharge your card. At most major stations, you can add funds at the automatic machines located before the ticket gates. If you can't find the machines, ask the staff at the ticket gate window. They can help you charge your card there, too. If you don't have cash on you, speak to the station staff. They can either help you buy a new ticket with a credit card, or help find another solution. 

What Happens If You Lose Your Card?

If you lose your registered My Suica card, you can have it reissued. Ask a station attendant at a major station within Suica coverage areas. When you apply for a reissue, the balance of the lost card is frozen at the time it was suspended. You can pick up your new card the next day. To reissue a card, you need to pay a processing fee of 520 yen plus a 500 yen deposit for the new card. So, if you can't find the card, it's best to take into account the amount actually left on it and apply for a reissue if it makes sense to you. 

Unfortunately, unregistered Suica and Welcome Suica cards can't be reissued. If you're planning to put a significant amount of cash onto your card, a My Suica will give you more peace of mind.

What If There's Money Left on My Card?

If you can't use up the whole balance of your card while you're in Japan, you can have the remaining balance refunded. The amount refunded will be the remaining balance plus your initial 500 yen deposit, minus a 200 yen service charge. Refunds are available at all JR East station ticket offices within the core Suica area (Greater Tokyo Area, Sendai, Niigata).

If you're planning to come back to Japan, it's also fine to leave some balance on the card for next time. If you don't think you'll come back but don't want to pay the refund fee, you can also just try to use the balance up. Some convenience stores sell candy for a few dozen yen, including some around the 20 yen range, which are perfect for using up your last remaining balance. You can use your Suica card at many airport shops and restaurants, too. Enjoying some Japanese food and souvenirs before you leave could be a worthwhile way to finish up your Suica balance!

Don't worry if your bill comes out to more than your Suica balance; you can pay the remainder in cash if you need to. Doing this is a hassle-free way of using up your Suica balance completely.

Conclusion

"Suica" actually stands for Super Urban Intelligent CArd. Just as this name suggests, Suica magically guides you to easy travel and shopping during your trip. Suica is the most-used card of its type in Japan, and is accepted in an impressive range of stores. It's even conveniently available on your smartphone! It's clear why you should choose Suica, so pick one up as soon as you arrive in Japan and travel stress free!

What Is Suica? JR East Japan (English)
https://www.jreast.co.jp/e/pass/suica.html
■ JR East Guide (English)
https://www.jreast.co.jp/e/downloads/pdf/jr-east_guide_e.pdf


If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search