【實用資訊】因應新冠肺炎疫情 2020年富士山不開放夏季登山活動

2020富士山登山季,已正式宣布封閉所有登山路線,原則上將從七月初封閉至九月初。為防範新冠肺炎疫情擴大,相關單位決定採取封閉步道措施,並於5月18日公布。詳細資訊請參閱本文。

富士山

實用資訊

今年四條登山路線將全部封閉

靜岡縣於5月18日宣布,2020年登山季期間將封閉縣內三條登上富士山頂的路線。三天前山梨縣也宣布,封鎖縣內唯一的登山路線。換言之,四條可以登上日本最具象徵性名山頂峰的路線,今年登山季將全部封閉,基本上將從7月1日封閉至9月10日。

封山的決定,應該是為了減少登山步道、山上小屋和附近城鎮住宿地的聚集人數,達到防止新冠肺炎疫情擴大的目標。根據靜岡縣的說法,這是自1960年有紀錄以來,第一次所有登山路線全季封閉。除了封閉登山路線,山上5個巴士站的交通服務,整個夏季也將暫停,通往山上的道路可能全數封閉。

只是爬山而已,真的有散播病毒的疑慮嗎?

富士山無疑是日本夏季的主要觀光景點之一,每年都有數十萬人登頂。根據日本環境省的統計,去年7月1日至9月10日,就有約23萬6千人登上富士山頂。雖然自2010年達到32萬人次的最高峰後,攀登人數就逐年下降中,但是對日本國內外旅客來說,富士山依然充滿吸引力。

近幾年曾爬過富士山的人,可能都會被登山步道的人潮洶湧給嚇到。登山旺季期間,沿步道而建的山間小屋早就預約一空,就連步道本身也是人滿為患,致使在一些比較狹窄的路段,登山客被迫大排長龍,只能以龜速前進。有這麼多來自日本各地或世界各國的大批登山客,汗流浹背、氣喘吁吁地,以如此靠近的距離登山和住宿,這就不難理解,為什麼今年官方決定要封山,畢竟這種情形可能會造成病毒迅速傳播。

雖然2020年無法登上富士山,但還是可以從遠處欣賞,或拍下其宏偉壯麗的山景。如果想知道富士山附近有哪些可以欣賞絕佳山景的景點和活動,請參閱我們有關箱根、靜岡和河口湖的文章。雖然不知道疫情何時才能結束,但大家都非常希望不久之後日本就能重新開放,旅遊業也能恢復生機。

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

Mt. Fuji Will Be Closed for the 2020 Climbing Season Due to the Coronavirus

All of the hiking routes up Mt. Fuji have officially been declared closed for the 2020 mountain climbing season, which typically lasts from early July through the beginning of September. The decision to keep the trails closed, announced on May 18th, is an effort to curb the spread of the coronavirus. Read on for full details.

Mt. Fuji

Travel Tips

All Four Climbing Routes Will Be Closed for the Year

Shizuoka Prefecture announced on May 18th that it will be keeping its three hiking routes to the summit of Mount Fuji closed during the 2020 climbing season. This follows an announcement three days prior by neighboring Yamanashi Prefecture, which also closed its single hiking route up the mountain. This means that all of the four hiking routes to the summit of Japan's iconic mountain will be closed for the climbing season, which would typically run from July 1st through September 10th.

The decision seems to have been made in an effort to prevent the spread of the current coronavirus pandemic by reducing the number of people concentrated on the hiking trail and in accommodations on the mountain and in nearby towns. According to Shizuoka Prefecture, this is the first time on record that all of the trails will be closed for a whole season (record-keeping began in 1960). In addition to the closure of the trails themselves, bus service to the mountain's 5th station will be suspended through the summer, with total closure of roads leading up the mountain a likelihood. 

It's Just Hiking, Right? Does It Really Pose a Danger of Spreading the Virus?

Mt. Fuji is undeniably one of Japan's premier attractions in the summer months, with hundreds of thousands of people making the trek to the top each year. According to data from the Japanese Ministry of the Environment, roughly 236,000 people climbed the mountain last year between July 1st and September 10th. Although the number of climbers has been falling off since its peak of more than 320,000 in 2010, Mount Fuji remains a huge draw for both domestic and international tourists. 

Indeed, anyone who has experienced climbing the mountain in recent years can probably attest to the shocking crowdedness of the trails. During peak season, overnight mountain huts located along the trail are fully booked and the pathways themselves are often so crowded that hiking speed can crawl to a trickle as long queues of hikers form to traverse bottleneck points along the trail. With all these sweaty, panting climbers who have traveled from different parts of Japan or the world hiking and lodging in such close proximity, it is easy to see why the decision to close the mountain for this year was made. The conditions would be ripe for easy viral transmission. 

Although climbing Mount Fuji won't be a possibility in 2020, it will still be possible to see it from afar and take beautiful photographs of its majestic slopes. For information on some fun places and activities near Mt. Fuji that will provide great views of the mountain, see our articles on HakoneShizuoka, and Lake Kawaguchi. Although it still remains uncertain how soon the current pandemic will subside, a glimmer of a hope that Japan will soon be able to reopen for tourism is starting to grow. 

To learn about other coronavirus-related closures in Japan, see our article Latest Information Regarding Closures and Cancellations Related to Covid-19. For more general information about the current situation in Japan and how to stay safe while traveling, see our editorial page traveling safely in Japan

Title image credit:  martinho Smart / Shutterstock.com

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Things to Do

Hotels & Ryokan

Shopping

Restaurant Search