從浪跡天涯背包客轉為藝術家!藉印花T恤讓藝術走進日常・駒井慎

在tsunagu Japan 繫日本的訪談系列〈People of Japan〉中,主要介紹繼承傳統文化的職人與企業經營者等,在各領域懷抱熱情且發光發熱的日本人。持續關注此系列文章,能幫助您更深入了解,一直以來看似熟悉卻又帶點陌生的日本文化。這次要介紹的人物,是以靜岡縣為活動據點的藝術家 ── 駒井慎先生。從事製作印花T恤超過25年的駒井慎先生,他的目標就是「藉由常見便利的T恤,將日本傳統藝術魅力帶進人們的日常生活。」透過本篇文章,將介紹駒井先生的製作過程與想望,以及令人讚嘆的Art T恤作品。

靜岡

日本文化

WAJIN Art T-shirts Japan(工房倭人)藝術家-駒井慎先生

穿梭靜岡縣西伊豆山林間的靜謐山道,可見一棟屋齡過百的古民家,這裡是駒井慎先生的住家兼工房。身為藝術家的駒井先生,至今投入日本製的「Art T-shirts」設計與印製已超過25年。

如果您到過成田機場,或許就曾經在逛機場內的商店時看過駒井先生的作品。在2020年日本限制外國觀光客入境之前,在機場商店裡還能看到駒井先生製作的T恤。由於適合作為日本旅遊的紀念品,當時駒井先生的T恤在觀光客圈中非常受歡迎。

換句話說,駒井先生所經營的工房倭人(製作Art T-shirts事業),成為了將日本藝術帶進人們日常生活的橋梁。

從背包客至藝術家的身分轉變

駒井先生原先並沒有打算成為藝術家。駒井先生表示,在他20歲時只是想看看世界,便背起行囊踏上背包客的旅程。然而,對於將來該從事什麼行業,他沒有任何明確的計畫。為了籌措旅行資金,開始尋求外國的藝術作品,並帶回日本販賣。過了將近十年背包客的旅遊生活,漸漸對外國文化有更深的認知。同時,也開始意識到自己母國文化的重要性。

駒井先生將外國文化與藝術作品帶進日本,度過這樣的日子一段時間後,發現到日本的藝術也相當獨特,非常值得向外國人宣揚其特別之處。因此,駒井先生決定不再販售別人的作品,取而代之,是希望能透過自己的雙手創造藝術。於是,駒井先生設計出獨具日本風格的圖樣,再利用絹版印刷捺染技術將圖樣印在T恤上,開啟了前所未見的創作活動。

自二手市集起家走向正規事業

雖然駒井先生並非藝術科班出身,也未受過專業知識訓練,但從他的設計,就能看出他與生俱來的卓越藝術感。因此,從駒井先生創作早期就已經有很多人喜歡購買他的作品。最初,駒井先生的作品只在二手市集與期間限定快閃店等地方販售,但他的作品很快就引起了零售商的注意,便詢問駒井先生是否有意願在他們的店面販售T恤。

從此之後,事業中有大半部分都由直銷轉為委託代售,其中最大的轉機就是開始在成田機場的商店裡販售,囊括駒井先生製作的所有T恤款式與尺寸。駒井先生表示,在2020年因新冠病毒而實施入國限制前,最繁盛時期每月銷售約2,000件T恤。

在製作過程中,駒井先生選擇只使用位在東京的久米纖維工業的T恤。久米纖維工業是間從材質編織階段,全日本製的製衣企業。雖然比起世界各地大部分T恤的製作成本昂貴許多,但駒井先生看重的,就是這間企業完全「MADE IN JAPAN」的品質。關於這點,駒井先生如此表示:「我認為購買我衣服的海外顧客正在不斷增加。不光只是因為我的設計,更重要的是在各方面上,能提供給顧客充分感受日本職人極致技能的作品。」

揭開專業T恤設計製作的幕後面紗 駒井先生的製作流程

編輯部進一步詢問駒井先生產出全新設計的過程。駒井先生表示,一開始在腦海裡只有想傳遞的感覺與模糊的概念。由這些感覺與概念,結合照片、古老日本藝術作品、雜誌上的圖樣與繪畫等形象後,將獲得的靈感慢慢收集起來,最終得以創作出新作品。

「最初皆是從零開始。將一個個出現的靈感連結後,最終必會達到我心中某個最原始想表現的形象。舉例來說,我正在畫金魚的圖,但最初卻完全沒有想畫金魚的念頭。而是以當下看到金魚時常出現的感受,像是『好優雅』、『好神祕』或『好美』等描述,這些最初出現在腦海中的感受,成為我後續製作過程絕對不更動的主軸。不過,像是要選擇什麼設計素材,以及該如何將種種想法融合等,都會在製作過程中慢慢決定。」

將最初靈感與內心情感描繪出來的作品完成後,再將手繪好的每項素材掃描至電腦裡。在電腦中調整位置與大小後,設計的工程即完成。接著,再將完成的畫分別轉換成三種模板(其中一種會根據顏色變換),再將模板送至製作絹版(為印刷設計圖案的模板)的公司。

當然也能不用手繪,直接用繪圖軟體畫出模板的線條,但駒井先生還是偏好先手繪後,再使用軟體綜觀整體一次。「我很堅持要在最終原稿上留有手繪的線條,如果直接用滑鼠繪製線條的話,呈現出來的感受就完全不一樣了。」

駒井先生的設計大多是三色三層的結構。而絹版印刷的油墨是由手工混製,因此每件製作出來的T恤都有些微差異。而這些差異也是駒井先生的T恤的魅力之一,更是有別於傳統量產服飾的特色。

此外,駒井先生也特別講究油墨,有別於常見在量產印刷業界的標準油性油墨,他選擇使用的是水性油墨。雖然水性油墨的缺點是需花費更多印刷時間 ── 因水性油墨容易乾,每一次印刷就必須擦拭乾淨,否則油墨會卡在絹版孔洞上等的關係。

但整體來說,使用水性油墨的作品完成度,比起油性油墨更加優越。而之所以更優越,是因為水性油墨只需在自然風下乾燥即可,然而,油性油墨還需經過熱處理才行。因此,水性油墨的作品印刷更為柔和,加上水性油墨中的化學物質也比油性油墨來得少,更可說是對環境友善的替代品。

將傳統日本藝術帶進日常生活 從駒井先生的作品獲得共鳴

雖然駒井先生的每項設計作品風格都不盡相同,從主題、顏色、構圖到風格皆相當多變化。但是,無論哪項作品上都存留著日本真實之美。穿上這些作品就能將日本的藝術帶進日常生活中。實際看過駒井先生的作品後應該就能明白,為何這些服飾會稱作為「Art T-shirts」了。

駒井先生的設計與伴手禮店裡特價銷售的一般設計截然不同。駒井先生的作品中,因駒井先生的滿溢熱情而有著栩栩如生的生命力,當作藝術作品裱框掛在牆上裝飾也頗有情調。

在駒井先生的作品中,經常可見佛教相關的主題。大部分的設計都是以佛像與佛教為做參考發想。然而,為何是以佛教為主概念呢?

駒井先生表示,因為佛教美術與一般經常聯想到日本的江戶時代作品,有者迥異的世界觀,所以會特別偏好製作有關佛教的作品。當然,作品中也有代表江戶時代的圖樣設計,但以他個人來說,更敬愛日本佛教美術作品所擁有的祥和氛圍與美感。

經過多年的累積,駒井先生有了大量的設計作品。直至今日,每年也會持續推出新的設計作品。但即使有長年經驗,似乎仍舊難以預測哪種設計會廣受大眾喜愛。駒井先生就曾遇過自己最喜歡的設計卻銷售不佳的情況。隨著時間流逝,駒井先生的設計彷彿自然界適者生存般替換著,受歡迎的設計得以存留,未受關注的就漸漸不再印製生產。令人驚訝的是,二十多年前最早期設計的其中一款金魚,現在人氣依舊居高不下。由此可知,駒井先生的藝術不僅能跨越時間考驗,也深深擄獲人們的心。

駒井先生對未來的期許

如上述文章中提到,由於2020年日本暫停外國觀光客入境的關係,擁有駒井先生大部分商品與銷售的成田機場店面,目前已結束營業。至於網路商店,雖然駒井先生從以前就有設置(網頁連結),但過去因為主要著重於實體店面的營運,反而沒有放很多心力在網路商店上。

不過,為了讓銷售重心轉向網路商店,使Art T-shirts更廣為人知,駒井先生也開始嘗試各種創新事業。其中一項就是Kickstarter活動,這是透過與tsunagu Japan合作發起的群眾募資。為了這項活動,駒井先生以日本知名神社為主題,描繪設計出三件全新的T恤。駒井先生希望這項活動能成為更多人認識品牌的契機,更棒的是能帶給人們更多日本旅遊的回憶與想念之情。

※kickstarter群眾募資活動詳情請點這裡

藉由Art T-shirts將日本藝術的魅力傳遞給每個人,這就是駒井先生的活動能向前推進的一大動力。藉由如此燃燒熱情的企劃,期許未來在網路商店上能吸引更多人的目光。「我的作品如果能成為大家享受古物的新方法就再好不過了。能讓每個人對藝術有自由見解,並融入日常的一部份,對我來說就是最大的幸福。」

中部特輯

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

作者簡介

Kurisu
Kurisu

搜尋餐廳

Makoto Komai - Sharing the Charms of Japanese Art in a Familiar Format

The best way to learn about a country is by getting to know the locals. With our new interview series “People of Japan,” we’ll bring you even closer to Japan by introducing business owners, cultural ambassadors, and all-round amazing people in the country bonded by strong passions. In this article, we'll be featuring Makoto Komai, an artist based in Shizuoka Prefecture who has specialized in printed T-shirts for more than 25 years. His goal is to bring the charms of traditional Japanese art into people’s lives in a familiar and accessible format—T-shirts. Read on to learn more about his business and the amazing wearable art that he creates.

Shizuoka

Japanese Culture

Help tsunagu write guidebook to restaurants in Japan! - CLICK TO LEARN MORE

Introducing Makoto Komai - The Artist Behind WAJIN Art T-Shirts Japan

On a quiet mountain road in the mountains of Nishi-Izu, Shizuoka Prefecture, sits a 100-plus-year-old “kominka” (traditional Japanese house) that is both the home and workshop of Makoto Komai, an artist who has been designing and printing Japanese “art T-shirts'' for more than 25 years.

If you’ve traveled through Narita Airport in the past and stopped to browse in one of the shops, you might have even come across Makoto's work. Until the borders were effectively closed to international travelers in 2020, a shop in the airport stocked his shirts, where they were quite popular among travelers looking for a memento of their time in Japan. Times have changed, but Makoto continues to run his business, called WAJIN, all by himself, bringing Japanese art closer to people's lives by delivering it in a familiar format.

From Backpacker to Artist

Makoto didn’t always plan to be an artist. When he was 20, he set out to explore the world as a backpacker, without any solid plans for his future career. To fund his travels, he would bring back art and other treasures that he found abroad and sell them in Japan. In this way, he spent nearly 10 years traveling as a backpacker, gaining valuable insights into other cultures, but also realizing some important things about his own culture in the process. 

After spending so much time sharing the art of other cultures with people in Japan, Makoto realized that Japanese art also has a unique and special value worth sharing with other cultures. This, along with the desire to make his own art instead of selling someone else’s, spurred Makoto to begin creating Japanese designs and silkscreen-printing them onto T-shirts—something that no one else was doing at the time.

From Flea Markets to a Fully-Fledged Business

Despite not attending art school or receiving formal artistic training, Makoto’s natural artistic ability shone through in his designs, and numerous people happily paid for his work from the beginning. At first, he started selling his shirts at weekend flea markets and other temporary pop-up venues, but his work soon caught the attention of a retailer, who approached him about selling his shirts in their store. 

From here, most of his business shifted from direct sales to consignment, with his biggest break being a shop in Narita Airport which stocked his entire line of T-shirts in all sizes. At the peak of his business before international travel ground to a halt in 2020, Makoto estimates that he was selling around 2,000 shirts each month. 

He also shifted to exclusively using T-shirts from a Tokyo-based company called Kume, which manufactures the shirts (down to the weaving of the fabric itself) right here in Japan. As you can imagine, the shirts cost a great deal more to produce than the majority of T-shirts in the world, but the impeccable made-in-Japan quality is something that is important to Makoto. As he put it, “Once more people visiting from overseas began buying my shirts, I felt it was important to provide a product that fully represents the best of Japanese craftsmanship in all aspects [not just the print].”

Inside the Mind of a T-Shirt-Designing Master - Makoto's Creative Process

We asked Makoto to describe the process of creating a new design. He told us how in the beginning, he has only a vague image in his head of something he wants to convey. He then goes through a process of creating a composition by gathering bits and pieces of inspiration that fit his vision, be it photographs, old Japanese artwork, patterns in a magazine, or drawings. 

“At first, there’s nothing, but as I go along from one flash of inspiration to the next, I eventually arrive at something that expresses the initial image I had in my mind. For example, if I’m creating a picture of a goldfish, I don’t necessarily intend to draw a goldfish from the start. When I first saw the goldfish, there was a feeling—something about it was attractive, or mysterious, or beautiful—and this initial feeling that I wanted to convey never changes throughout the process. But, the elements of design and the way that they eventually go together are things that I decide as I go along.”

Once he arrives at a composition that evokes the original inspiration and feeling he wants to convey, Makoto scans his hand drawings of each element into his computer, where he can make positioning and scaling adjustments before finalizing the image. From here, he needs to translate the drawing into three separate stencils—one for each layer of color in the print—which are sent to a company that manufactures the screens used for screen printing. 

While he could use the illustrating software to directly draw the stencil lines over his original drawing, Makoto prefers to first draw the stencil lines by hand before tracing over them again with the software. “I really want my hand-drawn lines to show through in the final print. If I tried to use a mouse to draw the lines directly, it just wouldn’t have the same feeling.”

Once the stencil templates are finished, they are sent to be made into screens for screen printing. Makoto’s designs are typically composed of 3 layers in 3 different colors. He mixes the ink by hand each time he prints, making each batch of shirts ever so slightly different. However, this is one of their charms and something you can’t get with a typical mass-produced t-shirt. 

In addition, Makoto is adamant about using water-based inks instead of oil-based inks, which are the industry standard for mass-produced prints. He says that water-based ink comes with some downsides that make the printing process more tedious (the ink dries quickly, meaning that the holes in the screens become clogged unless wiped clean between each print, for example) but that the final product is overall superior to prints made with oil-based ink. This is because water-based ink can be air-dried, unlike oil-based ink which must be heat-treated, making the print softer and more precise. In addition, water-based inks contain far fewer chemicals, making them an eco-friendly alternative to oil-based inks. 

Bringing Traditional Japanese Art Into Everyday Life: Common Themes in Makoto’s Work

Overall, Makoto’s designs vary wildly from one another, featuring differing subjects, colors, compositions, and even style. However, all possess an authentic Japanese aesthetic that provides a way for people to incorporate Japanese art into their daily lives. Looking at Makoto’s work, the reason he calls them “art T-shirts” becomes abundantly clear. 

They’re not at all like the cliche designs one often finds on discount at a cheap souvenir stall somewhere—they are full of life and brimming with Makoto’s passion. You could just as easily imagine them framed as a decoration on the wall.

Looking through Makoto’s designs, one of the noticeable recurring themes is Buddhism, as many designs feature various Buddhist deities and symbols. When we asked Makoto about this, he explained that he particularly enjoys making Buddhist artwork, as it exists in a different world from the Edo period artwork that most associate with Japan. Of course, he also makes some designs in the iconic Edo style, but he personally loves the calming and beautiful aesthetic of Japanese Buddhist artwork.

Over the years, Makoto has made many designs, and he continues to create new ones each year. He described how difficult it is to tell which ones will become popular, as sometimes the ones he personally likes the best end up hardly selling at all. Over time, the line of designs that Komai-san has offered has gone through an organic, survival-of-the-fittest type shuffle, where the popular designs remain while the unpopular designs go out of print. Surprisingly, one of his oldest designs of a goldfish dating back more than 20 years has remained popular to this day, proving that his art can stand the test of time.

Makoto’s Hope for the Future

As noted above, the shop in Narita Airport that used to stock Makoto’s entire collection and accounted for a large portion of his sales closed down after international travel to Japan was essentially suspended in 2020. Prior to this, Makoto did have his own website that included an online store, but as brick and mortar stores were the main part of his business, he hadn’t put much effort into promoting it until recently. 

However, the website has become the focus of his current sales efforts, and he is beginning to experiment with other creative ways to get the word out about his art T-shirts. One such endeavor is a Kickstarter campaign, for which he partnered with tsunagu Japan Crowdfunding, designing a set of three new T-shirts each representing a famous temple in Japan. He hopes that the project will be a way for people to discover his brand while also serving as a nostalgic reminder of their travels to Japan. 

*You can check out the crowdfunding project here

Introducing people to the charms of Japanese art through his T-shirts is what inspires Makoto to keep going. He wishes to connect with more customers through the internet in the future to continue his passion. “With my art, I hope that people will discover a new way to enjoy something old. It makes me happy when people can feel free to interpret the art and make it a part of their lives.” 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Chubu Feature

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

About the author

Kurisu
Kurisu

Restaurant Search