【日本文化】承載日本旅情的站台便當

日本的飲食文化中,便當是一個不可或缺的存在。從主婦們親自動手製作的家庭便當到商店裏出售的便當,無不花樣翻新,別出心裁。想想看,面對著模樣可愛的便當們,誰人可以坐懷不亂?非要買到手、非要吃到口,這便是日本便當的獨特魅力,直截了當地撩撥您的食欲,讓您欲罷不能。 站台便當,顧名思義就是在鐵路站台上出售的便當,後來延伸演變成列車上出售的便當。

日本

美食

 

※本文為外部寫手所撰

一百多年前的日本,汽車、飛機尚不普及,偏遠地區唯一的交通方式就是鐵道交通。俟列車進站停車,月台上販賣便當的夥計們蜂擁上前,響亮的吆喝聲此起彼伏。那時的日本人就已然把這種從小販手中買的便當當成旅途中的樂趣,成為日本人鐵路旅行中不可或缺的享受。 時代變遷,交通方式也愈加高速化,在列車車廂內悠然享受站台便當的樣態已日漸稀少。但時至今日,貫穿日本南北3000公裏的鐵路線少不了站台便當,樣式繁多的使用當地土特產烹製的站台便當依然深受日本人追捧,小小便當似乎承載了日本人濃鬱的旅途情結。

在訪日外國遊客不斷增加的背景下,幾年前日本旅遊行業協會專門面向外國媒體舉行記者招待會,大力向海外推介日本的站台便當。 站台便當對日本人來說稀鬆平常事,但因著飲食文化的不同,華人已不會在旅途中諸多不便的列車內對吃食挑剔。

像日本人全民購買站台便當的情況在中華圈絕無僅有。 讓我們了解一下站台便當的起源以及當下新式的站台便當。

在日本,有關站台便當的起源眾說紛紜,其中最具權威的說法:明治18年(1885年),日本鐵路開通了埼玉縣大宮站至櫪木縣宇都宮站之間的路線。當時宇都宮的白木屋旅館,作為日本曆史上第一個在車站出售便當的舉措被公認是站台便當的始作俑者。那時的便當不過是用竹皮包的飯團和醃鹹蘿卜這種簡便的食物,價格為5錢,約合現在的600日幣,現代人可能會感覺太貴了吧,但是要知道在日本的明治時代,白米實屬稀缺貴重物品喔。

另外,站台便當隻有乘坐火車才吃得到,於是站台便當成了上流階層的奢侈飲食文化之一。 進入昭和20年(1945年),站台便當已經變得豐富多了,不僅獨具地方特色且味道和食材俱佳。這個時期,站台便當已不再是上流階層的專屬食物,日本普通百姓也可吃得到了。於是乎全國各地不同特色的站台便當紛紛閃亮登場。

如上所述,百餘年前日本最初的站台便當不過是飯團加上醃鹹菜這種極簡易的食物。時代變遷,你相信嗎,今天的站台便當種類已超過4000種。不僅有螃蟹、海膽、鮑魚等高級食材,還把當地特色美食放進站台便當,最近還出現了很多獨特的容器和包裝。每種便當均用當地特產食材,比如明石的章魚飯、北海道的海鮮、秋田的比內雞、東京的鰻魚、石狩的鮭魚,岩手黑豬、米澤牛、仙台牛舌通通都被當成站台便當的食材。比較有名的站台便當,例如群馬縣的荻野屋小鍋什錦飯,把食材和米飯放在陶瓷罐裏燉;廣島縣的勺子牡蠣飯,是把炸牡蠣、牡蠣飯混裝在勺狀的容器裏 ;還有站台便當的容器長得像達摩不倒翁或像雪人還有像螃蟹的;也有可加熱的站台便當等等,真的是五花八門。

順帶一提,日本人吃站台便當,必不可少要以茶相配。現今的茶飲料都是塑膠瓶裝或罐裝,而在日本明治到大正時代(1868年~1926年間)盛行把茶裝在一種叫做信樂陶瓷的茶壺亦或玻璃瓶裏出售,信樂瓷壺又被稱作列車瓷壺,壺蓋可當茶杯用。陶瓷和玻璃製品易碎又太重,逐漸被淘汰,但現今在日本山梨縣的小淵澤車站等部分地區可買得到,或在限期銷售時好像也有。

已有日本商家將改良的日式站台便當推廣到中華圈,比如在新加坡銷售新幹線外形的雞肉便當,針對華人不喜冷食的習慣,用壽司代替冷飯,當然壽司也是冷的。在台灣銷售狀況良好,銷售之前舉行了記者發表會,活動期間日式便當很快銷售一空。日式站台便當接下來還會陸續在哪上市呢?不禁也令人萬分期待。

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

The History of Ekiben Lunch Boxes – An Invaluable Part to Any Shinkansen Ride in Japan

Bento (packed lunch boxes) are an indispensable part of the Japanese food culture. They come in a variety of forms, such as homemade bento and convenience store bento. There are even train bento, or "ekiben", which comes from “eki” (train station) and “ben” (bento). As the name suggests, ekiben are bento sold on the railway platform, which were later sold directly on trains. Each bento is made with originality and ingenuity, and they'll have your mouth watering just at the sight of them! Read on to learn more about the history and delights of ekiben!

Nationwide

Food & Drink

More than a hundred years ago, cars and planes were not common in Japan, so the only mode of transport to remote areas was the train. When the trains arrived at the station, vendors selling bento on the platform would swarm towards the train, shouting for people to try their food. At that time, Japanese people treated the bento bought from these vendors as a delightful part of their journey, which has now become an essential form of enjoyment on their train trips. Nowadays, transportation methods have advanced with rapid technological development, and leisurely enjoying an ekiben in the train compartment has become a less common sight. Still, ekiben are a key component of the railways that run 3,000 km from north to south along the length of Japan. Various styles of ekiben made with local ingredients are still popular amongst the Japanese, and these small bento have become a unique part of the Japanese travel experience.

In Japan there are a few different theories about the origin of ekiben, but the most official record is purportedly when JR opened the railway line linking Omiya Station of the Saitama Prefecture to the Utsunomiya Station of the Tochigi Prefecture in the 18th year of the Meiji era (1885). Shirokiya Ryokan in Utsunomiya was the first in Japanese history to sell bento at the train station, so they are widely recognized as the initiator of the ekiben. At the time, the bento simply consisted of onigiri (rice balls) and pickled radish wrapped in bamboo sheath, which was sold for around 600 yen. People nowadays may think that it was too expensive, but white rice was scarce and valuable back in the Meiji era.

As ekiben could only be eaten when traveling on the train, it became a luxury delicacy for the upper class. In the 20th year of the Showa era (1945), the ekiben was enriched with local characteristics, using quality delicious ingredients. During this period, ekiben were no longer exclusive to the upper class, but accessible to all Japanese people. Thus, ekiben with various characteristics of different regions started appearing.

As mentioned above, the first ekiben in Japan more than a hundred years ago was simply an onigiri with pickled radish. Now that times have changed, can you believe that there are more than 4,000 types of ekiben nowadays? High-quality ingredients, like crab, sea urchin, and abalone, are put in the ekiben along with local specialties. Unique containers and attractive packaging are also used nowadays. Various local specialties are used as ingredients in the ekiben, such as Akashi octopus rice, Hokkaido seafood, Akita Hinai chicken, Tokyo eel, Ishikari salmon, Iwate black pork, Yonezawa beef, and Sendai ox tongue. Several famous ekiben include the kamameshi of Oginoya in Gunma Prefecture, in which the ingredients and rice are stewed in a porcelain bowl; the shamoji-kakimeshi of Hiroshima Prefecture, in which fried oysters and oyster rice are mixed in a spoon-shaped container; and ekiben with containers shaped like daruma dolls, snowmen, and crabs. There are even self-heating ekiben!

It is common for the Japanese to pair ekiben with tea. Tea drinks nowadays come in plastic bottles or cans, but during the Meiji to Taisho era (1868 - 1926), it was prevalent in Japan to sell tea in Shigaraki teapots or glass bottles. Shigaraki teapots are also known as kisha dobin (teapots used on trains), and the lid can serve as a teacup. Ceramics and glass products have been gradually phased out due to their fragility and heaviness, but they can still be bought in several areas nowadays, like the Kobuchizawa Station in Yamanashi Prefecture, or during limited time periods.

Japanese merchants have introduced the Japanese ekiben to other countries, such as a chicken bento sold in a Shinkansen-shaped container in Singapore. As many people are not used to eating chilled food, the cold rice in bento is often replaced with sushis, which are cold too. The sales performance in Taiwan is quite ideal, and if a press conference is held before the sale, Japanese bento can quickly sell out during the event period. Let’s look forward to where the Japanese ekiben will be sold next.  

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

 

Title Image: mayura benjarattanapakee / Shutterstock

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Related Interests

Restaurant Search