開車自駕穿梭九州!長崎、熊本和宮崎的自然與歷史三日遊

九州是日本的第三大島。擁有悠久的歷史、豐富的自然風光和眾多旅遊景點。這次 tsunagu Japan 編輯部有機會探索九州的三個縣,為這三個指標性十足的縣,制定一條旅遊路線:長崎,以眾多知名旅遊景點而聞名,其中包括出島;熊本,名聞遐邇的熊本城所在地;宮崎,那充滿自然和精神能量的高千穗峽。繼續閱讀本文,看看三天的自駕行程可以如何探索這塊寶地!

九州

實用資訊

[第2天 熊本:在逆境中屹立的縣]

第二天,我們起得很早,一路開往熊本縣!這是一趟艱苦的車程,耗時近4小時。我們決定這樣做是因為想在途中的長崎縣島原市停留。

島原市:具有歷史意義的海濱城市

島原是日本人的熱門旅遊勝地,但不太能算是國際遊客會常常前往的地方。島原是島原城、地質公園和溫泉的故鄉。距長崎車站約1.5小時車程,因此離昨晚住宿的雲仙市很近。

▪ 島原城博物館:真正令人著迷的歷史遺物在等待著

以規模來說,島原城並不是這一帶最大的城堡。但是它是最引人入勝的城堡之一,入選日本城郭協會(Japan Castle Foundation)的百大名城之一。除了了解日本的傳統歷史之外,島原市還擁有大量天主教徒史料。裡頭收錄大量在日本遭迫害的天主教徒相關資訊,博物館裡詳細介紹當時他們的日常生活及古物和作品。

展覽主題明確,結構合理。除了有英文說明,也可以透過掃描QR code使用中文的語音解說。最頂層則是觀景台,可以看到整個城市的全景。我們來到這裡時看見有遊客身著武士裝甲,這是在博物館入口處提供的一種體驗!

▪ 島原武家屋敷:深入了解武士的生活

離開島原市之前,我們的下一個目的地是武家屋敷,距離島原城步行約10分鐘。這條長400公尺的區域裡都有標示,每個住宅的前面也都張貼著詳細的解說,介紹曾於此居住的武士。

與日本的許多其他展覽不同的是,這裡的武家屋敷沒有被玻璃柵欄給擋住,也沒有工作人員的不斷緊迫監視,因此我們能夠對這些建築、家具、物品等深入仔細觀察。唯一要注意的就是避免喧嘩製造噪音,因為周圍的房屋中是實際住有居民的。小心不要進入貼有「請勿進入」標誌的區域。

 

礙於篇幅問題我們在本文中僅簡要介紹島原市,實際上我們還有另一篇文章詳細介紹島原這座城市。如果想知道更多關於島原的事情不妨去看看這篇專文吧!

▪ 熊本市:應該要出現每個人的必訪清單上

由於隔天一早必須起個大早,所以我們只安排熊本兩個最受歡迎的景點:櫻之馬場城彩苑和熊本城。這兩個景點都值得一遊,將在下面詳細說明。

▪ 櫻之馬場城彩苑:品嚐當地美食的好所在

櫻之馬場城彩苑位於熊本城腳下,遊客可以透過各種方式(透過食物或表演用日語解釋其部分歷史)來了解熊本縣。當我們抵達時恰逢有武士表演,上演了一場激動人心的劍術對決!

 

海MARU(海まる):任何人都可以在這裡享用的豪華海鮮大餐

我們大約於中午前就到了,決定先吃點東西再好好探索這裡。我們的第一站是一家名為「海まる」的海鮮特色餐廳,點了兩個招牌餐點:海膽可樂餅(うにコロッケ 400日幣)和濃醬漬海鮮丼(ぶっかけ海鮮づけ丼 1,650日幣)。

這裡的海膽可樂餅絕非浪得虛名。雖然裡頭塞了很多海膽,卻沒有任何腥味。反而非常甜美、內層柔軟、外層酥脆易入口。而濃醬漬海鮮丼的外觀和口味都非常好,海鮮料會根據季節和庫存情況有所調整。這裡的海鮮丼有一種特殊的吃法:以丼飯的方式吃掉一半,再添加店家所提供的高湯使其變成海鮮粥。湯裡充滿鮮味,使這道菜的味道更加完美!

或許有很多人會害怕海鮮的腥味而不敢吃,但海まる所使用的食材品質極高易於食用。如果真的不能接受生食海鮮,也有提供熟食的海鮮,例如炸天婦羅蓋飯(天草ハイヤめし)。他們的菜單有中英文兩種語言,不用擔心看不懂!

 Tente:替所有可分享的甜食和飲料拍照吧!

這家可愛的店提供各種非常適合拍照、在Instagram分享的甜食和飲料,所有產品都使用最新鮮的當地水果製成。我們決定點兩樣店裡的暢銷產品:水果茶(くだもん茶 600日幣)和水果冰淇淋(くだもん冰淇淋 500日幣)。點餐非常容易,因為店員都會說英語,甚至還有能說流利中文的店員!

 

不論水果茶還是冰淇淋都絕對美味,塞滿了當地的時令水果。日本的水果價格昂貴,毫不吝嗇地大量使用水果使其人氣超高!味道極鮮甜,讓長途駕車至熊本的我們感到振奮。水果茶充滿檸檬的香氣不會太甜,冰淇淋則具有濃郁的奶味,同行的大夥兒都吃得讚不絕口。

▪ 加藤神社:熊本城內的寧靜角落

結束在櫻之馬場城彩苑的行程之後,我們前往熊本城。在城堡內,漫長的途中我們來到加藤神社。這座迷人的神社極其寧靜,中央有一棵巨大的聖樹。我們花了一些時間仔細觀看所有販售的御守,並祈求在旅途中能保有好運和安全。另外在這個神社也可以看到熊本城天守閣的側面。

▪ 熊本城:熊本人的希望

最後,是該參觀城中心的天守閣了!

熊本城是日本三大名城之一。2016年熊本縣發生一場大地震,使熊本城遭到破壞,自那時以來就一直在重建中。

2020年6月,熊本城開闢一座特別的觀景台,作為其宏偉揭幕計劃的第二階段,以紀念天守閣的重建。這個觀景台建在離地面6公尺的高度,可以從一個完全不同的角度,觀察城堡在地震中遭受的破壞以及恢復過程。雖然進場需要門票錢,但來熊本時還是不得不藉此機會進來看看。

同行團員裡有人原本不是日本城郭的愛好者,但是熊本城徹底改變了他。走在這條路的過程中,我們逐漸意識到城郭的大小和歷史,並衷心希望它能趕快從地震中恢復元氣和活力。整個路線的某些地點會有工作人員樂於為城堡和重建過程做解說。最後我們到達天守閣前的廣場。時間也快到日落時分,所以可以拍到一些相當不錯的照片!

雖然開車到熊本市要花費很長的時間,但值得的是能夠參觀這座令人驚嘆的城堡。我們迫不及待地想在天守閣重新完全對外開放時再回來一次!

※天守閣將於2021年4月26日起完全對外開放。

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

Drive Through Kyushu: 3 Days of Nature and History in Nagasaki, Kumamoto, and Miyazaki

Kyushu is the third largest island in Japan. It has a long history, bountiful nature, and plenty of tourist attractions to explore. We were given an opportunity to explore this region, so we packed our bags and mapped a path for three iconic prefectures: Nagasaki, known for its plethora of iconic sightseeing spots, including Dejima; Kumamoto, home to one of the three most famous castles in the country, Kumamoto Castle; and Miyazaki, full of natural beauty and spiritual places like Takachiho Gorge. Read on to see just what you can do in this majestic region in three days with a rental car!

Kyushu

Travel Tips

[Day 2: Kumamoto: A Prefecture That Stands Despite Adversity]

On the second day, we got up bright and early so that we could drive ourselves all the way to Kumamoto Prefecture! It was an ambitious journey that took nearly four hours by car, but we decided on this because we would be able to make an interesting stop at Shimabara City within Nagasaki Prefecture.

Shimabara City: A Historically Significant Coastal Town

Despite being a popular tourist destination for the Japanese, not many international tourists know about this city. Shimabara is home to a castle, a geopark, and hot springs. It is located just 1.5 hours from Nagasaki Station by car, so it was easy to visit from our accommodation in Unzen City.

▪️ Shimabara Castle Tower Museum: Truly Fascinating Pieces of History Await

When it comes to size, Shimabara Castle isn’t the biggest one out there. However, it’s one of the more fascinating ones and was even designated as one of Japan’s top 100 finest castles by the Japan Castle Foundation. Apart from learning about traditional Japanese history, Shimabara had a large Christian population even back when Christians were being persecuted all across Japan and you can view items and works that detail their daily affairs back then at the museum.

The exhibitions were well themed and structured. Many of them even came with English explanations, with audio guides also available via QR code in English, Korean, and Chinese. At the top floor, we found an observation platform from which we could get a panoramic view of the entire city. Next time we come here, we’ll dress up in samurai armor, an option offered right at the museum entrance!

▪️ Shimabara Samurai Residences: An In-Depth Look into How the Samurai Lived

Our next destination before leaving Shimabara was the samurai residences area just a 10-minute walk away from the castle. There were signs in English leading up to this 400m-long area, with more signs posted right in front of each residence introducing the samurai that lived there, so we had no trouble finding and exploring everything.

Unlike many other exhibitions in Japan, the samurai residences were not blocked off by glass barriers or constantly monitored by someone, so we were able to take really close looks at the architecture, furniture, items, and so on. The only things we had to be careful about were keeping an acceptable noise level as actual Shimabara residents lived in the surrounding houses and not going into areas that had “Do Not Enter” signs.

Though we only briefly covered Shimabara City in this article, we actually have another article that goes into more detail about the city. Please check out this article for more information!

Kumamoto City: This Should Be on Everyone’s Bucket List

Since we had to wake up early the following day, we ended up seeing just two of Kumamoto’s most popular attractions: Sakuranobaba Johsaien and Kumamoto Castle. However, both of those spots were worth visiting, as we’ll explain in more detail below.

▪️ Sakuranobaba Johsaien: Treat Yourself to Local Delicacies

Located at the foot of Kumamoto Castle, Sakuranobaba Johsaien is a place for tourists to enjoy learning about Kumamoto Prefecture in various ways, be it through food or performances that explain parts of its history in Japanese. When we came, they were doing a samurai show, so we were treated to an exciting sword fight!

→ Kaimaru: Luxurious Seafood Dishes That Anyone Can Enjoy

We arrived well past noon, so we decided to have some food before properly exploring the area. Our first stop was a seafood specialty restaurant called Kaimaru, where we ordered their two main specialties: Uni Croquette Premium (400 yen) and Kaisen-duke Don Set Meal (1,650 yen).

Their Uni Croquette Premium definitely lived up to the hype. Despite having lots of uni (sea urchin) inside, it didn’t have any sort of fishy taste. Instead, it was beautifully sweet, soft on the inside while crispy on the outside, and easy to eat. As for the Kaisen-duke Don Set Meal, it looked and tasted premium, with a wide variety of seafood toppings that we later found out changed based on what’s in season and in stock. There’s a specific way to eat this meal: eat half of it as is, then add the provided broth to finish it up. The broth made the dish taste even more delicious as it was full of umami!

Though lots of people shy away from seafood because of its fishy taste, the ingredients used at Kaimaru are incredibly high quality and therefore easy to eat. If you absolutely can’t stand seafood raw, they also have cooked seafood dishes such as ten-don (tempura on top of rice). Even better, their menu comes in English and Chinese, so you should have no trouble placing an order!

→ Tente: Take Pictures of All the Instagrammable Sweets and Drinks!

This adorable shop offers all sorts of Instagrammable sweets and drinks that make use of local fruits that are at their freshest. We decided to get two of their bestsellers: the Kudamon Tea (600 yen) and the Kudamon Soft Ice Cream (500 yen). It was very easy to order, as the owner knew enough English. Apparently, the owner is fluent in Chinese as well!

Both the tea and ice cream were absolutely delicious and stuffed to the brim with local, seasonal fruits, making them a steal considering how expensive fruit is in Japan! They tasted extremely fresh, brightening our spirits after the long drive to Kumamoto. The tea was almost like lemonade but without being overly sweet, while the ice cream had a rich milky flavor that made us sigh in delight.

▪️ Kato Shrine: A Serene Location Within the Kumamoto Castle Grounds

After Sakuranobaba Johsaien, we headed towards Kumamoto Castle. Within the castle grounds, at the end of a long path, we came across Kato Shrine. This charming shrine was extremely peaceful, with a giant holy tree at the center. We spent some time looking at all the o-mamori (protection charms) on sale, taking in the side view of Kumamoto Castle, and praying for luck and safety during our journey.

▪️ Kumamoto Castle: A Sign of Hope for the Kumamoto Locals

At last, it was time to visit the castle itself!

Kumamoto Castle is one of the three most famous castles in Japan. In 2016, a series of earthquakes in Kumamoto damaged the castle, and ever since then it has been under reconstruction.

On June 2020, Kumamoto Castle opened up a special observation path as the second stage of its grand unveiling plan to commemorate the reconstruction of the main castle tower. Built six meters above ground, you can observe the damage that the castle took during the earthquakes as well as its recovery from a completely different angle. Though it did cost money, we just had to take the opportunity to have a look while we were in Kumamoto.

Some of us weren’t big fans of castles. However, Kumamoto Castle changed that perception entirely. As we walked the path, we grew to realize just how large the castle was and the history and hope it held for Kumamoto’s recovery from the earthquakes. At certain points throughout the route, there were security guards who were more than happy to explain more about the castle and reconstruction process, and at the end, we found ourselves at the Tenshukaku-mae Hiroba, the open square in front of the main castle tower. It was approaching sunset by then, so we were able to get some gorgeous shots!

Although getting to Kumamoto took a long time, it was well worth the journey to be able to visit this amazing castle. We can’t wait to go back when the main castle tower fully opens to the public!*

*The main castle tower will fully open to the public on April 26th, 2021.

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search