開車自駕穿梭九州!長崎、熊本和宮崎的自然與歷史三日遊

九州是日本的第三大島。擁有悠久的歷史、豐富的自然風光和眾多旅遊景點。這次 tsunagu Japan 編輯部有機會探索九州的三個縣,為這三個指標性十足的縣,制定一條旅遊路線:長崎,以眾多知名旅遊景點而聞名,其中包括出島;熊本,名聞遐邇的熊本城所在地;宮崎,那充滿自然和精神能量的高千穗峽。繼續閱讀本文,看看三天的自駕行程可以如何探索這塊寶地!

九州

實用資訊

※本文與九州觀光推進局合作執筆撰寫。

[第一天 長崎:日本現代化的起點]

沒有到過長崎縣,就不能說自己到過九州!長崎擁有豐富的歷史,曾經是鎖國時期的日本向世界開放的唯一地區。縣內有眾多的旅遊景點和美味佳餚。

長崎新地唐人街:日本最古老的唐人街

我們一向有個小小目標,那就是造訪日本的每個唐人街,因此這趟也特別安排至長崎的唐人街。這裡距離長崎機場只有一小時的車程,因此是今天的第一個目的地。

當我們到達唐人街時,並沒有從正確的入口進入,一開始還相當失望以為這個唐人街跟想像中不一樣。記得不要跟我們犯一樣的錯哦!在四處逛完之後,我們才發現正門,而入口正如我們所想像的那樣雄偉壯觀呢!

▪ 岩崎本舖:屢獲殊榮的肉包

長崎新地唐人街以其眾多的商店和餐館聞名,而這些商店和餐館非常富有長崎特色。長崎的飲食文化受中國影響的很大,如長崎強棒麵(ちゃんぽん)。就像其他許多遊客一樣,我們來到唐人街正門外的岩崎本舖後,就深深沉迷於今天的第一餐。

岩崎本舖成立於1965年,是長崎第一家販賣如今具有標誌性特色的角煮饅頭(又名紅燒豬肉包子)的店。岩崎本舖至今仍以其精心準備的中式點心脫穎而出,並堅持不在醬汁中使用任何人工調味料。它們的努力沒有白費,好幾種商品都身披許多獎項!

我們點了所有能外帶的四種口味,也建議您可以每一種都試試看才知道自己最愛的是哪一種!

・長崎角煮饅頭(450日幣):這項產品從開店之初就有了,也是店內最有人氣的商品。相信您一定會愛上那濃郁醬汁搭配新鮮豬肉的絕妙組合。

・起司角煮饅頭(540日幣):這款包子比較類似掛包,豬肉的部分是夾在裡頭而非整個包在裡面,而起司意外地非常搭!

・五花肉(大トロ)角煮饅頭(540日幣):日文裡「大トロ」 的意思即是很油的部位,如果您是喜歡肥肉的饕客那您一定要試試看這款。入口即化又多汁,相信一定能給您的味蕾帶來衝擊!

・白漢堡(648日幣):這個漢堡使用百分之百的長崎和牛,一口咬下嘴裡充滿和牛的油香,多香甜汁的口感又是限量販售。想吃到它的話記得要早一點來買。

▪ 雙葉屋:甜蜜仙境

如果對甜食也很有興趣的話,那雙葉屋絕對是值得一訪的地方。這家甜點店於1937年成立,販賣各種甜點,主要商品為長崎蛋糕和水果大福。當然我們也都不會錯過。

長崎蛋糕可說是長崎最著名的甜點,於16世紀時由葡萄牙商人引進。雖然長崎蛋糕對我們來說不陌生,但雙葉屋的長崎蛋糕卻截然不同。糕體密度更高卻同樣蓬鬆美味!這是因為用來製作蛋糕的材料都是高品質。

水果大福是一種和菓子,簡單地說就是將水果包裹在麻糬中的一種甜點。雙葉屋不僅販售非常多種口味,其中也包括日本頂級的長崎枇杷。最有趣的是有些麻糬會被捏成如同真的水果一樣,像極了一件藝術品!這種甜點吃起來新鮮又甜美,讓我們無法停止把它們往嘴裡塞!

出島:充滿歷史韻味的海濱天堂

在17世紀到19世紀之間的日本正處於鎖國時期,日本與西方之間的關係和貿易受到嚴格限制。在此期間,出島(當時還是一座島)是全日本唯一的對外貿易和交流場所,只有葡萄牙人(還有荷蘭人)可以進出。許多人定居在島上,打造的建築精美地融合歐洲和日本的設計。

現今您可以輕鬆地在出島參觀這些具有時代感的建築。出島距唐人街僅3分鐘車程(或步行5分鐘),因此我們把出島安排在唐人街之後。

▪ 商館長官官邸的住所:歐日折衷的宏偉建築群

雖說出島有很多建築房屋可供探索,但最大最宏偉的建築之一肯定是當時的商館長官官邸。是荷蘭東印度公司最上級負責人的居所和辦公室。如果有安排來出島,千萬不要錯過囉!

建築的第一層有著引人入勝的展覽,介紹出島的歷史和日常生活事務,而第二層則佈滿細緻的歐洲家具,與日本的榻榻米相得益彰。一切都很華麗、雄偉,彷彿回到出島作為荷蘭貿易站的時代。

▪ 咖啡廳 碼頭:於熱鬧繁忙的長崎市偷閒

了解出島歷史的一面之後,我們決定在附近的出島碼頭停下來休息一下,偶然發現一家令人無法抗拒的咖啡館「碼頭」。

自2003年開業以來,這家咖啡館就以其上相的菜單吸引大批遊客。在特殊的節慶如七月下旬的夏季還可以欣賞夜晚的煙火!

我們點了長崎特產「土耳其飯」(880日幣),主要是以肉飯(和魚或肉一起煮的米)、義大利麵和炸物,以及其他各樣的食物一起送上桌。也點了三杯卡布奇諾(一杯380日幣),其驚人、逼真的拉花風靡各地的饕客。拉花上頭的這些人對長崎具有非常重要的歷史意義。如坂本龍馬,原本是一位來自土佐(今高知縣)的下級武士,在鎖國結束後站上改變日本政治的舞台。他在長崎待過很長一段時間,並設立龜山社中,是日本第一家具有現代貿易概念公司。「碼頭」有4種不同的卡布奇諾,每一款上頭的拉花主角都是對長崎有歷史意義的人物,使用的咖啡豆也是當地烘培製成的。

美味的土耳其米飯份量非常大,兩個人一起分享也能吃飽!不愧是招牌餐點非常美味。卡布奇諾不會太苦,因為有位團員平常沒有喝咖啡的習慣,所以也很適合不太能喝咖啡的人前來。如果要在長崎市中心偷閒,尋找真正優質的咖啡和傑出的拉花,那這裡絕對值得一來。

仁田峠:唯美的楓葉俯拾即是

在長崎市度過一段愉快的時光後,我們前往長崎縣的市郊,那裡也有很多值得一訪的景點呢。由於我們出訪時節是秋天,我們便選擇長崎的賞楓勝地之一:仁田峠,準備被團團的秋楓給包圍。

仁田峠位於雲仙國家公園內,距離長崎車站約2小時的車程。仁田峠是一條通往妙見山纜車站的蜿蜒山路。妙見山上長著滿滿的樹木,秋天時會變成金相映的絢麗色調。可以沿著這條小徑一路開車到山頂,一路欣賞秋天景色的美麗景象!如果容易暈車,記得是先服用暈車藥,因為這條山路可是有許多急轉彎。

不幸的是,我們來訪這裡的時間點已在賞楓旺季過後的一周。儘管如此,褪去顏色的棕黃色葉群於日落時仍然美豔。在橙色的陽光下看起來幾乎是金色的,喜愛攝影的人一定要來這裡拍照!

如果我們有較多時間,可能會安排在雲仙市、仁田峠待上一整天。雲仙市也以其溫泉聞名,可以安排於白天沿著山道往上登高攻頂,晚上於溫泉中沐浴休息。

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

Drive Through Kyushu: 3 Days of Nature and History in Nagasaki, Kumamoto, and Miyazaki

Kyushu is the third largest island in Japan. It has a long history, bountiful nature, and plenty of tourist attractions to explore. We were given an opportunity to explore this region, so we packed our bags and mapped a path for three iconic prefectures: Nagasaki, known for its plethora of iconic sightseeing spots, including Dejima; Kumamoto, home to one of the three most famous castles in the country, Kumamoto Castle; and Miyazaki, full of natural beauty and spiritual places like Takachiho Gorge. Read on to see just what you can do in this majestic region in three days with a rental car!

Kyushu

Travel Tips

*This article was written in collaboration with Kyushu Tourism Promotion Organization.

[Day 1: Nagasaki: Where Japan’s Modernization Began]

No trip to Kyushu is complete without a visit to Nagasaki Prefecture. It is rich with history, what with it having been the only part of Japan open to the rest of the world at one point. The prefecture also offers a smorgasbord of tourist attractions and delicious delights.

Nagasaki Shinchi Chinatown: The Oldest Chinatown in Japan

One of our personal missions was to visit every Chinatown in Japan, so we were eager to visit Nagasaki’s Chinatown. It was just an hour away from Nagasaki Airport by car and bus, so we made it our first destination of the day.

When we got there, we actually entered through the wrong entrance and thus were pretty disappointed at the lack of grandeur it had. Don’t make the same mistake as us! After a bit of wandering around, we found the main entrance which was every bit as majestic as what we hoped for.

▪️ Iwasaki Honpo: Award-Winning Pork Buns

Nagasaki Shinchi Chinatown is known for its plethora of shops and restaurants that serve many of Nagasaki’s famous Chinese-influenced delicacies such as Nagasaki champon. Just like many other visitors, we found ourselves indulging in our first snack of the day minutes after arriving at Iwasaki Honpo, located right outside the main entrance to Chinatown.

Established in 1965, it was actually the first restaurant to introduce the now iconic kakuni manju—otherwise known as braised pork bun in English—to Nagasaki. Iwasaki Honpo continues to stand out today with its meticulous preparation of the pork and refusal to use any artificial seasonings in its sauce. Its efforts have not been in vain, as several varieties of their kakuni manju have won awards!

We tried all four of their takeaway options and honestly suggest that you order all of them to discover your favorite!

・Nagasaki Kakuni Manju (450 yen): The #1 most popular item and where it all began. You’ll fall in love with the beautiful combination of their umami-rich sauce and the pork.

・Cheese Kakuni Manju (540 yen): The pork in this one literally sticks out of the bun! The cheese goes surprisingly well with the pork.

・Otoro Kakuni Manju (540 yen): “Otoro” means “very fatty” in English, and you’ll definitely feel that with this item. The pork melts in your mouth and is incredibly juicy yet is still easy to eat.

・Shiro Burger (648 yen): This burger uses 100% Nagasaki wagyu beef. It’s meaty, juicy, cheesy, and a bit sweet. It’s sold in limited quantities, so get there early to enjoy it!

▪️ Futabaya: A Sweets Wonderland

If you prefer something sweet, Futabaya is definitely the place to visit. This confectionery shop was founded in 1937 and offers all sorts of desserts, but the two main draws are the castella and fruit daifuku. Of course, we tried both.

Castella is arguably Nagasaki’s most famous sweet, brought over by Portuguese merchants during the 16th century. Though we had tried castella in the past, the ones sold at Futabaya were remarkably different. They were much denser yet equally as fluffy and absolutely delicious! According to them, this was made possible thanks to the high-quality ingredients used.

Fruit daifuku is a Japanese sweet wherein a piece of fruit is enveloped in mochi. Not only did Futabaya have a stunning array of flavors on offer, including biwa (loquat) which Nagasaki is the top producer of in Japan, but many of them looked exactly like their fruit counterparts! They were fresh and sweet, and we couldn’t stop snacking on them!

Dejima: A Seaside Paradise Full of History

Between the 17th and 19th centuries, Japan went through its “sakoku” or “closed country” period, wherein relations and trade between Japan and the West were severely restricted. During this period, Dejima—an island back then—was the only place for foreign trade and exchange in all of Japan and only the Portuguese, followed by the Dutch, could visit. Many of them settled on the island, constructing buildings that beautifully blended together European and Japanese designs.

Today, you can easily visit some of the most iconic of these buildings at Dejima, something that we greatly wanted to do since Dejima was only three minutes from Chinatown by car (or a 5-minute walk).

▪️ Chief Factor’s Residence: The Grandest European-Japanese Building of Them All

While there were plenty of buildings available for us to explore at Dejima, the biggest and perhaps one of the grandest was the Chief Factor's Residence, home and office to the Dutch chief factor at the time. If you ever come to Dejima, visiting this residence is an absolute must!

The ground floor was full of fascinating exhibitions that introduced the history and daily affairs of Dejima, while the upper floor was full of majestic European furnishings that somehow went beautifully with the Japanese tatami flooring. Everything was gorgeous, majestic, and transported us back in time to Dejima’s days as a Dutch trading post.

▪️ Attic: Respite from the Busy City of Nagasaki

After exploring the more historical side of Dejima, we decided to stop by the nearby Dejima Wharf for a much-needed break and stumbled upon one cafe that was just too interesting to resist—Attic.

This cafe and restaurant has been attracting throngs of visitors with its photogenic menu offerings since its opening in 2003. It is attractively located right by the sea; on special occasions like the peak of summer in late July, you can even admire the fireworks at night!

We ordered the Delicious Turkish Rice (880 yen)—a specialty of Nagasaki Prefecture consisting of pilaf rice, spaghetti, and fried foods as well as other sides all piled up onto one plate—as well as three cups of their cappuccino (380 yen/cup) which gained fans all across Japan for its stunningly realistic latte art of people who had historical significance to Nagasaki. One particularly famous latte art is of Ryoma Sakamoto, a low-ranked samurai who rose in power after the end of the sakoku period. He spent a lot of time at Nagasaki and even started up Kameyama Shachu, believed to be Japan’s first trading company, there. They have four different versions of this cappuccino, all featuring different historically significant people to Nagasaki and made using coffee beans roasted at their own roastery nearby.

The Delicious Turkish Rice was huge—so much so that two people could easily get full on it! It was, as expected of one of their specialty menu items, extremely delicious. As for their cappuccino, it wasn’t too bitter which was good since one of us normally didn’t like or drink coffee. If you’re looking for genuinely good coffee around Nagasaki and some excellent latte art, it’s worth tasting.

Nita Pass: Gorgeous Autumn Leaves Abound

Although we greatly enjoyed our time in Nagasaki City, we knew that Nagasaki Prefecture held much more in store for us outside of it. And since it was autumn, we were hoping to catch a peek of Japan’s famous autumn leaves at one of the prefecture’s most iconic autumn leaf viewing spots, Nita Pass.

Nita Pass is located within Unzen National Park, nearly a 2-hour drive from Nagasaki Station. The name is attached to the winding road up to the ropeway station of Mt. Myoken. The entire mountain is home to trees that turn gorgeous shades of red and gold in the autumn, so you can enjoy the autumnal view all the way from the path right up to the peak of the mountain, where you can get a sweeping view of this beautiful sight! Just make sure to pack some anti-nausea pills if you get carsick easily, as the pass has many sharp turns.

Unfortunately, we came at the wrong time, a week after its peak autumn season. Still, the faded brown and yellow leaves were absolutely gorgeous in the sunset, looking almost golden in the orange sunlight. We couldn’t stop taking pictures!

If we had the chance to do this trip over, we’d probably schedule an entire day for Unzen City, including Nita Pass. Unzen City is famous for its onsen (hot spring), so you can easily spend a whole day looking around, bathing in hot springs, and going up the ropeway.

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search