金牌認證全球僅18位!外國年輕廚師的日本料理之路

在外國人眼中,日本料理就如同精雕細琢的藝術作品。從烹調料理開始,到配膳與用餐,每階段都極其講究細節。然而,這也對目標成為日本料理廚師的人來說,最有魅力也最具挑戰的關鍵。日本料理的世界是條嚴苛的修行之路,而在越南出生的Nguyen Ba Phuoc先生,以他堅強的意志及努力,克服跨越了這條路,更榮獲日本政府制定的「位於海外之日本料理調理技能認證指南」中最高等級的「金牌」認證。這次在全新訪談系列「People of Japan」中,邀請Nguyen Ba Phuoc先生,分享探討日本料理的奧秘,以及在他心中日本料理的核心理念。

日本

行程體驗

Klook.com

名聲享譽日本的年輕料理人

Phuoc先生於2016年開始在日本學習日本料理,畢業後曾在北海道的餐廳與飯店工作。在2021年初,參加農林水產省舉辦的日本料理調理考試「位於海外之日本料理調理技能認證指南」,並獲得最有價值的「金牌」認證。這項制度有金、銀與銅三種等級,獲得認定當時,擁有這項金牌認證的外國人,全世界僅有18位,身為其中一位的Phuoc先生,更是獲獎的首位越南人。

下方文章中,透過tsunagu Japan編輯部與Phuoc先生的實際對談,可了解Phuoc先生認知的日本料理魅力、成功背後付出的努力以及對日本料理的熱衷!

Nguyen Ba Phuoc先生的日本料理之路:從成為喜劇演員的夢想,轉為與日本料理的相遇

tsunagu Japan:作為料理人,Phuoc先生有很多豐富經驗。是否能分享您成為料理人的歷程,以及從何時開始學習料理並想成為料理職人呢?

Phuoc先生:我成為料理人大約已有12年。起初會煮飯並不是因為興趣,而是逼不得已的。小時候,家裡大人都外出工作,只有我在家,所以就必須負起煮飯的責任。剛開始煮飯時經常被罵,後來廚藝慢慢提升,親戚朋友來家裡吃飯時,都會對我的料理讚不絕口,讓我非常高興。而這件事也讓我感受到,透過料理原來能夠獲得如此微小的幸福。

小時候曾夢想成為喜劇演員,所以高中畢業後就去考戲劇學校,但很可惜沒有考上。當時,爸爸在家很常下廚,所以他就建議我去讀料理學校,聽了之後我自己也覺得不錯,所以就決定想要靠自己努力學習並獲取工作機會,以此為志願報考。我與料理的緣分便從這裡開始,直到現在。

tsunagu Japan:在越南、中國、歐美等各國料理中,為何選擇日本料理?日本料理既細膩又富有魅力,但學習難度也很高。

Phuoc先生:最初只是偶然。剛從越南料理學校畢業時,日本料理開始在越南流行起來,因此變得廣為人知。而那時剛好有個在日本餐廳實習的機會,當時的我只是覺得,學日本料理的話,未來的發展機會可能會更多。但是在這之後,當我習得日本料理且擁有基本廚藝知識後,再回頭看,才發現其實在越南根本沒有真正的日本料理。而原因就在於食材選擇、烹調以及配膳的細膩與智慧。加上我喜歡學習新事物,也想嘗試沒有先例的事,所以就決定投入日本料理的世界。雖然剛開始只是偶然,但學越多越能感受到日本料理的深奧,這或許也是我至今依舊能在這條道路上持續奔跑的動力。

tsunagu Japan:學習日本料理的過程,印象最深刻的趣事是什麼?什麼是覺得最困難的?

Phuoc先生:多年鑽研日本料理後,發現各國的烹調技術有很多相似之處。而日本料理的特點在於,料理能忠實傳遞廚師的細膩用心。此外,我對傳統日本料理的烹調方式也很有興趣,例如:不使用過多味道重的調味料,而是著重於帶出食材的原有風味。

我想這正是傳統日本料理的精神所在,使日本料理與其他國家的料理與眾不同,當然對學習者來說也更有難度。以我的情況或許有個2~3年,就能學得全部的日本料理知識,然而實際上日本料理的學問比想像中更深奧。特別困難的就是要如何處理食材,才能維持其原有風味。因此廚師必須深入了解食材,以及具備活用食材原有特色且如何互相搭配的知識。這是我認為學習日本料理最困難的地方。

一位越南年輕廚師對日本料理的理念

tsunagu Japan: Phuoc先生認為日本料理與越南料理有何不同?在這差異下,該如何藉由烹調與配膳處理表現呢?

Phuoc先生:我認為料理就是文化的呈現。國家民情與文化便是塑造各種飲食文化的元素。

日本人自古崇尚大自然,經常會依季節取用自然食材。因此,日本語系中有「旬」這個字詞。「旬」的意思,就是蔬菜與海鮮等食材最新鮮美味的當令時期。日本人喜愛品嘗食材的原有風味,所以為了保留風味,不使用味道強烈的調味料。相對的,越南料理則是結合了多種飲食文化,在烹調方法上,為使風味更豐富,產生出多種食材與調味料的組合方式。

另外,還有一個特別不同的,就是日本御膳。日本御膳中有多種菜色,但各種皆少量配膳。然而,越南料理比起種類,更重視份量的多寡。舉例來說,招待客人時,越南人認為料理品項少,但每樣都份量多才好客,而日本人則認為,料理品項多且樣樣精緻才是待客之道。從這點就能感受到很大的差異。

tsunagu Japan:有嘗試過利用日本料理的烹調方式呈現越南料理,或是反過來的情況嗎?可以介紹一下這道料理嗎?

Phuoc先生:我覺得用日本料理的烹調方式呈現越南料理相對比較容易。原因如先前所說,因為越南料理添加很多調味料,相反的,日本料理則注重食材原有風味。我曾做過一次將蒜頭等味道重的調味料拿掉,醬汁也較清淡的「越南河粉沙拉」,結果日本人吃了後都沒有發覺是越南料理。
不過,我還沒有試過用越南料理的烹調方法呈現日本料理,之後我會嘗試看看。

tsunagu Japan:有哪一道日本料理是您特別想推薦給來日本的外國觀光客嗎?

Phuoc先生:我有很多喜歡的料理,但最推薦的就是懷石料理。懷石中並無主菜與副菜的差別,是將所有菜色視為一體的料理形式。懷石也如同我先前所提,是使用當季食材,將日本料理的傳統特色全然展現出來的料理。

造訪日本時沒有品嘗過懷石料理就太可惜了。來日本的話,一定要去板橋區的「YOSHIMURA」料亭品嘗看看。我以前曾在這間料亭工作,在那裡能享用美味料理與感受誠摯款待喔。

堅忍不拔、努力不懈,走向成功之道

tsunagu Japan:可以分享您在日本學習與工作中開心與難過的回憶嗎?

Phuoc先生:最開心的回憶,我想就是能就讀北海道的調理師專門學校這件事,還有在畢業考試的講座與實習拿到滿分時。讀書過程不只是學料理,日文也必須精進才行,所以可能比起日本人多了兩倍以上的艱苦。而我不想讓別人認為我是外國人所以無法達到與日本人同樣高程度是理所當然的事,所以非常拚命學習。工作中最高興的事,是在滿座的客人面前解剖鮪魚。雖然很緊張,但覺得很幸福與光榮。

難過的事情,則是發生在2020年,那時我有機會到擁有米其林三星的高級餐廳工作。但是,到了東京一切準備就緒後,突然被取消雇用資格。這全是因為新型冠狀病毒感染擴大的關係,店家經營困難所以決定停止營業。而為了在高物價的東京得以維生,所以找了搬家公司的搬運工作,兩個月來的每一天都過得非常辛苦。但這之後,因為順利找到壽司店的工作,有了穩定收入,也就開始能做自己喜歡的工作過生活了。

tsunagu Japan:農林水產省為以保存傳統日本飲食文化及其發展為目的,每年都會針對外籍的日本料理廚師舉辦考核。而您在這項考核中以日本料理的外國調理師,榮獲最高等級的「金牌」認定且為人所熟知。是否能分享一下當時獲獎的心情呢?

Phuoc先生:這項考核有金、銀與銅三種等級。因為我在日本調理學校畢業,且有兩年在日本人指導下的工作經驗,所以就決定挑戰金牌等級。

大約在2020年11月左右知道此活動相關訊息後,就馬上報名。雖然我沒有什麼準備時間,但我認為我一直以來的學習與練習就十分充足。對我來說,這不只是徒有虛名的頭銜,而是能向他人證明自身能力的證書。我也能和別人一樣,透過努力以獲取工作機會。如果沒有這項證明,即使我說我會傳統日本料理,或許也無法獲取大多數人的信賴。不僅如此,我也能藉此頭銜以對指導我的每個人表達感謝之意,將來到越南推廣傳統日本料理時,也能成為我信心的來源。

tsunagu Japan:現在您在北海道有經營一間越南法國麵包專門店「BANH MI XIN CHAO」札幌分店。請問您是在什麼契機下,成為連鎖店顧問以及決定要開分店的呢?另外,是否能簡單分享一下,您在經營初期的過程與困難,且又是如何克服的呢?

Phuoc先生:2020年原本在東京高級日本餐廳的工作,因為疫情影響沒了。後來某次偶然造訪了「BANH MI XIN CHAO」,且有機會與社長談話。而我與社長有個共識,就是期許越南料理在日本能更加普及,所以便找我擔任特別顧問,協助設立北海道新分店。

BANH MI XIN CHAO札幌分店在2021年6月剛開幕不久。初期有很多困難,像是因為我是外國人,所以決定店面位置與協商租借時,無法避免會有法律程序上等的困難。雖說疫情也有影響,但至今也仍很順利地營業中。也多虧有許多地方雜誌與節目的採訪,更提升這間店的知名度。現在所面臨的問題,我想就是因為今年北海道大量積雪,反而更讓遠方的客人望而卻步。

tsunagu Japan:身為名副其實的日本料理人,您認為是出於什麼原因,才能獲得日本當地的認可呢?

Phuoc先生:首先,當然是多虧有許多人的支持,還有就是自己本身的堅忍不拔與強烈決心。我一直認為,一旦下定決心後,就必須堅持下去直到最後。即使有失敗也不後悔。我想,將在學校畢業的學生以及職場上班族也都同樣抱著這樣的心情。與其瞻前顧後,應該要努力追尋自己的夢想直到最後。

未來想成為越南與日本料理的橋樑

tsunagu Japan: Phuoc先生現在除了以料理人身分下廚,也有在教越南人日本料理。您認為外國人學習日本料理時會遇到什麼困難呢?有什麼建議嗎?

Phuoc先生:大多數人都會遇到困難。我想大部分越南人在剛學的前1~2年就能學成,但是,因為日本料理種類多樣,例如:懷石料理、精進料理、壽司、天婦羅等,要能全部精通且成為「獨當一面的師傅」,也需磨練5~7年,甚至要更長的時間。舉例來說,即使是乍看之下簡單的白蘿蔔去皮,也需要一個月甚至一年的時間練習,才能完美掌握技巧。以前我也曾花上一整年每天早上都在磨刀。再者,提到日本料理,最重要的就是細膩與精緻,想要學就須不屈不撓、謹慎細心。如果沒有這樣的覺悟,一旦遇到困難,就會立刻想放棄了。

此外,語言與文化差異,也會使學習者學習更困難。對學日本料理的外國人來說,最重要的就是換位思考與接納其他做法。這樣的話,就能更深入了解那個國家的飲食文化核心,也能夠理解非此作法不可的背後緣由。我想藉由自己的經驗傳遞知識,得以填補學習者對日本料理的印象與實際之間的落差。

tsunagu Japan:能否與我們分享您未來的目標與計畫?

Phuoc先生:預計不久將計畫在北海道經營越南料理店。此外,如果年末疫情穩定下來的話,會回越南參與經營傳統日本料理餐廳。這個計畫在2~3年前就已開始計畫,但都未能實現。

未來,即使在越南或日本,我都會以成為兩國飲食文化的橋樑為目標,將傳統日本料理引進越南,讓越南人有更多品嘗的機會,也想藉此對指導我的每位日本前輩表達我的感謝。

tsunagu Japan:祝福您能早日實現未來的計畫。也希望您能繼續帶來美味的料理,且將熱情傳承給下個世代,並對飲食的熱情永不熄滅。

總結

通往成功之道絕非易事,但相信只要有熱情、決心及耐性,總有一天必會成功。藉由與Nguyen Ba Phuoc先生的對談,希望能給正在學習日本料理的人帶來刺激與鼓勵。如果有機會來到日本,別忘了走一趟位在北海道的BANH MI XIN CHAO分店。或許也有機會見到Phuoc先生,聽他聊聊有關料理的趣事喔。

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

作者簡介

Nguyen
Nguyen Loan
Klook.com

搜尋餐廳

Nguyen Ba Phuoc - Discover the Soul of Japanese Cooking Through the Eyes of This Master Chef From Vietnam

The best way to learn about a country is by getting to know the locals. With our interview series “People of Japan,” we’ll bring you even closer to Japan by introducing business owners, cultural ambassadors, and all-round amazing people in the country bonded by strong passions. In this installment, we interviewed chef Nguyen Ba Phuoc, one of the few people in the world who achieved gold for the Certification of Cooking Skills for Japanese Cuisine in Foreign Countries. Japanese cuisine is like art, with meticulousness inserted into every step, including the table setting and order in which you're supposed to enjoy a Japanese course meal. We sat down with Nguyen Ba Phuoc to learn more about the allure of Japanese cuisine, why he dedicated his life to it, and what sort of challenges he had to overcome to get to where he is today.

Nationwide

Experiences

A Renowned Foreign Chef in Japan

The name "Nguyen Ba Phuoc" may sound familiar to those studying to become or already working as a chef of Japanese cuisine.

Nguyen started studying the art of Japanese cooking in Japan in 2016, after which he worked at various restaurants and hotels in Hokkaido. At the start of 2021, he earned the highest "gold" category of the “Certification of Cooking Skills for Japanese Cuisine in Foreign Countries” contest organized by the Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries. At the time, only 18 foreign chefs had gold, with Nguyen being the first Vietnamese person among them.

Nguyen has inspired numerous young Vietnamese cooks through his passion for food and dedication to pursuing his dreams, which can be seen in the sheer amount of effort and creativity behind each and every one of his food creations. We asked Nguyen to tell us more about his love for Japanese cuisine and the secret to succeeding in that world.

From Comedian to Cook: How Nguyen Ba Phuoc Discovered Japanese Cuisine

tsunagu Japan: “You’ve achieved so much as a chef. Could you tell us how it all started for you? When did you first start thinking about learning to cook and becoming a professional chef?”

Nguyen: “It’s been around 12 years since I became a chef. At first, cooking was just something I had to do, and I felt no true passion for it. When I was little, my family would always be out working, and so I was left in the house alone. Naturally, I was put in charge of cooking and, in the beginning, I was often scolded for how my dishes turned out. However, I gradually became better and started getting compliments about my cooking from friends and relatives. It made me happy. That’s when I started to really enjoy cooking.”

“When I was young, I actually wanted to be a comedian, and I even applied to an acting school after my third year of high school. However, I wasn’t accepted. My father then suggested that, because I was always cooking, I should consider enrolling in culinary school, and it just made a lot of sense to me. I wanted to make my own way in the world without relying on anyone, so I applied and began my journey towards becoming a professional chef.”

tsunagu Japan: “Why did you focus on Japanese cuisine instead of, say, Vietnamese, Chinese, or Western? Japanese cuisine is intricate and beautiful, but it feels like there’d be a lot of hurdles to overcome on that road.”

Nguyen: “It was a coincidence at first. Just after I graduated from culinary school in Vietnam, Japanese food became trendy and popular over there. I then was offered a chance to train at a Japanese restaurant, and I thought that specializing in Japanese food would help my future career prospects down the line, so I took it."

"Later, after I learned to cook Japanese dishes and had a general, working knowledge of preparing Japanese food, I realized that, in retrospect, Japanese food represented something that did not exist in Vietnam at the time. It was more intricate and delicate, which you could see at every stage, from the selection of ingredients to the actual cooking and, especially, the presentation. I personally love discovering new things, and have always wanted to do something that nobody else was doing. My obsession with Japanese cuisine grew deeper, and while it was just pure chance at first, the more I learned, the more I knew I had made the right choice, giving me the motivation to get where I am today.”

tsunagu Japan: “What stood out to you the most when learning to cook Japanese cuisine? And what was the most difficult part?”

Nguyen: “After years of cooking Japanese cuisine, I realized that the art shares a lot of elements with cuisines from around the world. However, the main difference is the care and attention to details that Japanese chefs put into each dish. I’m also fascinated by traditional Japanese cooking methods, like how they attempt to bring out the natural flavors of the ingredients instead of relying on aromatic spices.”

“This is the true heart of traditional Japanese food. It’s what separates it from other cuisines and makes the art extremely difficult to learn. At first, I was sure I could learn everything about Japanese cooking in 2-3 years. However, I soon realized that it’s much more complicated than that. One particular struggle is preserving the natural flavors of the ingredients you’re working with. To do this, it’s vital to possess a deep knowledge of each and every ingredient and how to pair them in order to highlight their unique characteristics. This is undoubtedly the most challenging aspect of cooking Japanese food.”

Nguyen's Thoughts on Japanese Cuisine

tsunagu Japan: “What do you feel is the main difference between Japanese and Vietnamese cuisine? How do these differences manifest themselves in the cooking and presentation?”

Nguyen: “Food is an integral part of any country’s culture. Every nation’s cuisine is built on the foundation of its individual customs and values.”

“Japanese people have a long history of worshiping nature and using seasonal ingredients. The Japanese term 'shun' (旬) refers to the time when vegetables, seafood, and other ingredients are at their freshest and most delicious. Japanese people relish the natural flavors of these ingredients and don’t want to drown them out by using strong, potent spices. On the other hand, Vietnamese cuisine was born from a mix of many different cultures, and it boasts many methods to create new flavors through different combinations of ingredients and seasonings.”

“Another fundamental difference between the two cuisines is the presentation. Japanese meals often feature small portions of many different dishes, while Vietnamese food prioritizes large serving sizes. When feeding guests, Vietnam values quantity and Japan prefers variety.”

tsunagu Japan: “Have you ever tried applying Japanese cooking methods to Vietnamese food or vice versa? How did it go?”

Nguyen: “I think applying Japanese techniques to Vietnamese cuisine is easier than the other way around. As I mentioned before, Vietnamese food tends to use lots of seasonings while the Japanese value natural flavors. I’ve once made pho salad without strong-smelling ingredients like garlic and a diluted sauce. Those who tried it didn’t even realize it was Vietnamese food! I’ve yet to attempt incorporating Vietnamese cooking methods to Japanese dishes, but I’d love to give it a go someday.”

tsunagu Japan: “What dish would you recommend to foreign tourists visiting Japan?”

Nguyen: “It’s hard to choose just one, but I’d personally recommend ‘kaiseki ryori,’ Japan’s multi-course haute cuisine. Kaiseki ryori doesn’t differentiate between main and side dishes, but instead treats every food equally to create one unified meal. It also uses seasonal ingredients at their peak deliciousness, so it is the perfect example of traditional Japanese cooking.”

“Just like with the traditional food of Hanoi or the imperial cuisine of Hue and Vietnamese culture, you can feel the essence of Japan through kaiseki ryori. If you ever visit, you simply must try it. I suggest visiting the traditional restaurant 'Yoshimura' (Japanese only) in Itabashi, Tokyo. I used to work there, so I know for a fact that the food is delicious, the service top-notch, and the atmosphere welcoming and friendly.”

Success Through Hard Work and Perseverance

tsunagu Japan: “Can you tell us about your happiest as well as your most frustrating moments while studying and working in Japan?”

Nguyen: “My happiest memory is probably when I got into culinary school in Hokkaido. Right after that is the time I got a perfect score on my classroom and practical graduation exams. Along with studying cooking, I also had to study Japanese, making it twice as difficult for me compared to the Japanese students. However, I didn’t want people to simply assume that foreigners could never be as good as Japanese natives, so I buckled down and studied like crazy. At work, I once cut apart an entire tuna fish in a room packed with customers. I was nervous, but I felt proud and happy at being given such an opportunity.”

“The most frustrating part of my life in Japan occurred in 2020. I was hired by a luxury Michelin 3-star restaurant, and just as I was getting ready to move to Tokyo, the offer was suddenly withdrawn. The reason was COVID-19, which lost the restaurant a lot of business and forced it to close down. It was a very difficult time. As Tokyo is such an expensive city, I was forced to work as a porter for a moving company in order to survive. It was the hardest two months of my life. However, afterwards, I found a stable, well-paying job at a sushi restaurant, and was able to make a living doing what I love.”

tsunagu Japan: “How did it feel winning gold at the annual contest organized by the Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries for foreign chefs whose work contributes to the preservation of traditional Japanese cuisine?"

Nguyen: “The contest has three levels: gold, silver, and bronze. As I had already graduated from a Japanese culinary school and had worked under a Japanese chef for two years, I decided to challenge myself in the gold category. After finding out about the contest around November 2020, I immediately entered without hesitation. While there wasn’t much time to prepare, I was certain that all the studying and practicing that I’d done would be enough."

"For me, taking gold wasn't just a simple title or award. It was a tangible acknowledgment of my abilities that the whole world could see. It's one thing to study and work in the field of Japanese cuisine, but having some sort of tangible proof wins me a lot of trust. Plus, winning gold was also my way of showing gratitude towards those who’ve guided me all this time, and it gave me the confidence that I had the abilities necessary to bring traditional Japanese cuisine to Vietnam in the future.”

tsunagu Japan: “You’re currently managing the Sapporo branch of the banh mi restaurant 'Bánh Mì Xin Chào' (Japanese only), correct? What led you to becoming the chain’s consultant and opening your own branch? Were there any difficulties you had to overcome along the way?”

Nguyen: “I was originally hired to work at a luxury Japanese restaurant in Tokyo, but things unfortunately didn’t work out due to COVID-19. Afterwards, I happened to come across Bánh Mì Xin Chào by accident and was able to chat with the company president. We both shared the same vision of popularizing Vietnamese cuisine in Japan, and I was offered the role of a special consultant to help open the chain’s new branches in Hokkaido.”

“Bánh Mì Xin Chào Sapporo opened in June 2021. At first, we experienced all sorts of troubles. Being a foreigner in Japan, I ran into a lot of legal issues with finding the right location and renting the property. While we also had to deal with the effects of COVID-19, things are going smoothly now. The restaurant has even been featured in local magazines and on television programs, which has really raised our profile. The biggest problem we’ve faced recently was an unusual amount of snowfall, which cut us off from our customers who live far away.”

tsunagu Japan: “What elements played a role in you being recognized as a true Japanese chef in Japan?"

Nguyen: “Of course, I owe everything to those who supported me. I also believe my own tenacity and strong will helped me achieve this. Once I decide to do something, I need to see it through to the end. No matter how much I fail, I have no regrets. I’m certain those who are currently studying or working in their various fields also feel the same. Rather than worrying about failure, we owe it to ourselves to try as hard as we can to achieve our dreams.”

Becoming the Bridge Between Vietnam and Japan

tsunagu Japan: “We heard that you're also teaching Japanese cooking to people from all around the world. What kind of difficulties are there in teaching people about Japanese cuisine? What advice do you have?”

Nguyen: “I think the majority of people face difficulties learning how to cook Japanese cuisine. For example, lots of Vietnamese people think that they can learn everything about Japanese cooking after just 1-2 years of practice. However, there are numerous styles of Japanese cuisine, like kaiseki ryori, shojin ryori, sushi, tempura, and more, and it takes at least 5-7 years before one can call themselves a fully fledged Japanese chef."

"Peeling a daikon (Japanese radish) may seem like a simple task, but it actually takes from a month to an entire year to properly master. I also practiced sharpening knives every morning for a year. Plus, Japanese food needs to be prepared with utmost delicacy and care, so you need to be persistent and be able to pay close attention to details. Those unprepared and unwilling to put in the time will surely give up once they encounter a serious challenge.”

“The Japanese language and cultural differences can also be overwhelming. It’s important for international students in Japan to accept different ways of thinking and doing things. Through this, you’ll be able to understand the true depth of Japan's food culture and realize why things are done the way they are. I hope to pass on knowledge that bridges the gap between the image and reality of Japanese cuisine.”

tsunagu Japan: “What plans do you have for the future?”

Nguyen: “I plan to open another Vietnamese restaurant in Hokkaido soon. If the pandemic is under control by the end of the year, I would also like to return to Vietnam and get involved with managing traditional Japanese restaurants there. I’ve had this idea for about 2-3 years now, but I still haven’t been able to do it.”

“In the future, I hope to serve as a bridge between Vietnam and Japan and give Vietnamese people more opportunities to experience authentic Japanese cuisine. This is my way of thanking all those who guided me in Japan. I also wish to further spread Vietnamese cuisine throughout the world, allowing more people to discover its charm while giving Vietnamese expats a slice of home.”

tsunagu Japan: “We hope you’ll be able to achieve your future ambitions soon! We also hope that you will continue to create many delicious dishes and pass on your passion to the next generation, and that you will always continue to have a passion for food!"

The Long Journey Ahead

Nguyen Ba Phuoc has shown us that passion, determination, and endurance can lead to success to matter how difficult the path may be. We’re sure that Nguyen’s efforts will no doubt inspire those embarking on similar journeys, giving them the energy they need to achieve their dreams. Next time you’re in Hokkaido, definitely pop into Bánh Mì Xin Chào to discover the talents of Nguyen Ba Phuoc for yourself!

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search