【日本文化】7件令外國人驚訝的居酒屋文化 開胃菜不能拒絕?!

日本特有的美酒與居酒屋文化是外國遊客造訪日本時想親身感受的體驗之一,因此深受大眾矚目。這次以「日本居酒屋令人驚訝的文化習慣」為主題,訪問了數名居住於日本的外國人。究竟他們對日本居酒屋有什麼想法呢?趕快來看看他們在日本居酒屋體驗到的文化衝撃,或是希望自己的國家也有這種服務等眾多有趣的意見吧。

日本

深度日本

許多曾赴日旅遊的遊客一致認為「日本是美酒天堂」,因日本有為數眾多的「居酒屋」、也就是「合法供應酒精飲料的餐廳」,酒精飲料的售價與世界各國相比也相對低廉,更有「無限暢飲」的方案可供選擇,而且還常推出日本地區特有的限定酒品或口味。日本「居酒屋」特殊的飲食文化與服務,跟自己國家的酒吧或夜店有著顯著的不同,令不少遊客嘖嘖稱奇。

1. 只要花1500日幣到2000日幣左右,酒類就能無限暢飲?日本的酒精飲料超便宜!

日本的居酒屋有「只要付一定的費用,就可享酒類飲料無限暢飲」的服務。這種服務在國外相當罕見,因此對於本身國家沒有此種服務的人來說,會感到相當驚訝。

「居酒屋的無限暢飲真的很令人感動!我是很愛喝酒的人,這種服務不僅不傷荷包、又能一次喝到許多種類的酒,是很棒的服務!只要花2〜3杯啤酒的價錢,就能無限暢飲酒類,日本人還真是大方啊!」(美國/女性)

「最讓我感到驚訝的就是酒類無限暢飲。不僅價位便宜,也是一種很好的構想。舉例來說,我以前去過的居酒屋,他們採取的是顧客自行倒酒的自助式無限暢飲。因為平常根本沒機會接觸到啤酒機,是一種很寶貴的經驗呢!」(台灣/女性)

在某些國家,付一定的費用就能無限暢飲酒精飲料是違法的行為。舉例來說:如法國已於2009年制定禁止提供酒類無限暢飲的相關法規;2010年英國也加入了法國的行列,並進而影響到歐洲各地。在這樣的世界局勢之下,酒類無限暢飲文化仍舊相當風行的日本居酒屋,對於赴日旅遊的外國遊客來說應該相當深具吸引力吧!

2. 沒人點卻端上桌的料理… 「小菜」(Otoshi) 到底是什麼?

日本人不像歐美國家有付「小費」的習慣,但在居酒屋卻常常會要求顧客支付「小菜費」,也就是所謂的「基本消費」,但有些外國遊客似乎會因不了解「小菜費」的意義而感到困惑,甚至跟店家起衝突。

「入座之後看到自己沒點過的料理端上桌的時候,讓我嚇了一跳。日本朋友有告訴我這是『餐前小菜』,似乎會另外收錢。雖然料理本身很好吃,但希望店家能事先跟我解說一下。」(美國/女性)

「除了餐飲費用外,還多收了『小菜費』,真是令人吃驚。那個是代表基本消費的意思嗎?雖然我有問店家為什麼要多收費,但店員卻沒跟我解釋。不知道是不是一種約定成俗的規定?。」(澳洲/男性)

果不其然,想必應該很多人都不了解這種「小菜」的付費方式吧?「餐前小菜」(或開胃菜)意指在顧客點餐前上桌的一種簡單的料理,也被稱為「Tsukidashi」(關西用語)。幾乎每間居酒屋的「小菜」都需另外付費。雖然對於日本人來說是理所當然的一種收費方式,但許多人都對此感到很疑惑。此外,有些店家可拒絕享用這種「小菜」。拒絕的話便不會收錢,建議事先詢問店員為佳。

3. 日本只有一開始的第一次舉杯會說「乾杯」?而且第一杯酒一定是啤酒?奇妙的日本乾杯文化

對於日本人在酒局時的習慣,也有人會感到驚訝,尤其是亞洲地區的外國人特別有感。

「日本只有一開始喝酒的時候會乾杯,這讓我覺得很不可思議。台灣在喝酒的時候會乾杯好幾次,為什麼日本只有一次呢?」(台灣/女性)

「不知道為什麼只有一開始會乾杯一次。還有,每個日本人都會說『總之先來杯啤酒』對吧?日本人這麼喜歡啤酒嗎?還是說因為比較好乾杯,所以才點的呢?」(中國/女性)

基本上入座後,日本人只有一開始會一起舉杯乾杯一次,但台灣和中國似乎會乾杯好幾次。「總之先來杯啤酒」(とりあえずビール)儼然已成為酒會上一定會出現的台詞,說日本人一開始最先喝的酒類大部份都是啤酒也不為過。

但為什麼日本會形成以啤酒乾杯的習慣呢?其原因與日本的經濟成長有關。在啤酒普及之前,日本人喜歡喝「熱燗」(加熱過後的日本酒)。但隨著1955年經濟快速地成長,啤酒因短時間就能端上桌的優點而逐漸普及。之後,包含「宴會場合一開始的一杯酒」之意,大家便逐漸開始使用「總之先來杯啤酒」的說法。

近年來雖然每間店家開始供應如燒酎調酒(酎ハイ)、雞尾酒、燒酒與Highball等各式各樣的酒類,但第一杯酒選擇啤酒的日本人還是很多。一開始先用啤酒潤潤喉,之後再各自點選自己喜歡的酒類可說是常見的固定模式。把它想成是日本酒局中的習慣就對了。

4. 明明是「拼盤」但量卻很少?!居酒屋的餐點為什麼份量都不多?

有許多人對於居酒屋供應的餐點份量感到訝異。「希望份量能再大一點」似乎是外國人的實際心聲。

「明明菜名是『◯◯拼盤』,但份量卻少到讓人吃驚。舉例來說,韓國的『生魚片拼盤』會有一條魚左右的份量。菜單上的照片與實品好像有落差…」(韓國/男性)

「日本人是不是食量很小?雖然一次能夠品嚐到多種料理很不錯,但希望量可以再多一點呢!以美國人來說真的不夠吃……」(美國/女性)

提到居酒屋供應的餐點,日本人也知道份量不多,但對其卻沒有什麼不滿。倒不如說因為份量少,就算點很多道料理也不會過飽,還能品嚐多種菜色。

另外,或許還有日本飲食習慣帶來的影響。許多日本人的家庭與學校教育都是教導他們要有均衡的飲食。也就是說,不能只吃自己喜歡的、而是要盡量攝取各種食物,擁有健康的飲食習慣,所以居酒屋的餐點份量才會刻意地減少。

5. 一入座就貼心地送上濕毛巾!居酒屋的款待之道

濕毛巾是指於日本的餐廳、咖啡廳與居酒屋等處入座時,提供給顧客的紙或布製的毛巾。日本人認為先用濕毛巾擦手後再用餐是一種有禮貌的行為。

「坐下之後給我濕毛巾時讓我嚇了一跳。因為我的國家沒有這種習慣,所以不自覺地就跟他說『我沒有點這種東西喔』。而且還是免費的?如果是美國的話,應該會收服務費吧(笑)」(美國/男性)」

「日本不是使用餐巾或洗指盅,而是濕毛巾啊!因為輕輕鬆鬆就能擦手,所以我覺得很好。夏天時,使用冰涼的濕毛巾非常舒服,一不小心就拿來擦臉了呢(笑)」(美國/男性)

許多歐美國家的遊客對於沒有供應餐巾或洗指盅而感到驚訝。似乎也很訝異店家不收服務費、免費供應冰(熱)濕毛巾的習慣。

6. 「呼叫店員按鈕」 與「 多國言語觸碰式菜單」—劃時代的點餐系統

居酒屋的點餐系統讓許多人覺得非常感動,讓我們一起來看看評論吧!

「桌上的『呼叫按鈕』可以叫店員過來,讓人很吃驚。我覺得是種非常方便的系統。」(韓國/女性)

「可以用觸碰式菜單點餐真的很棒!不用每次點餐的時候都叫店員過來,而且也能仔細地研究菜單。還有可以確認點過的餐點,這樣一來便能知道自己到底喝了幾杯...因為我每次都不小心喝太多……」(美國/男性)

日本許多連鎖居酒屋設有呼叫店員的按鈕,大部份都設在放菜單的桌子旁,只要按下按鈕,店員就會過來點餐,所以不需親自叫店員過來。

此外,近年來導入觸碰式菜單的店家也逐漸增加。只要選擇平板電腦上的菜單與數量就能輕鬆點餐。再加上還支援英文、繁體中文、簡體中文與韓語等多國語言。因為不需和店員有所交流,所以就算不會說日文也不用擔心。對於赴日旅遊的外國遊客可說是一項很貼心的服務呢!

7. 日本的餐廳可以抽菸?!酒好喝、餐點好吃,但卻因為菸味無法久待…

外國遊客關於餐廳內可吸菸的習慣有許多意見,他們似乎對於日本有這麼多全面開放抽菸的居酒屋而感到訝異。

「台灣的餐廳大部份都是禁菸,所以讓我很吃驚,台灣想抽菸的時候就會去餐廳外面。跟其他國家比起來,我覺得日本餐廳很少將禁菸區區隔。」(台灣/女性)

「日本的居酒屋沒有禁菸對吧?因為我不喜歡菸味,所以沒辦法在裡面久待。酒很好喝、餐點也很好吃,所以覺得很可惜。」(越南/男性)

日本被稱為「香菸落後國家」。雖然政府大力宣導吸菸與禁菸分區的制度,但現在仍有許多居酒屋整間餐廳都可抽菸。不過,到了2020年4月之後,這種情況會瞬間改變。隨著舉辦東京奧運,東京都內有聘請員工的餐廳將全面禁止抽菸。店內不會設有吸菸座位,而是只能去最近的抽菸區抽菸。雖然往後抽菸人士應該會覺得越來越綁手綁腳,但想必這種時代的洪流是難以抵抗的吧!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

Did I Order This…?! 7 Things at an Izakaya That Surprise Foreign Residents in Japan

Many foreign visitors to Japan would agree that Japan is an "alcohol heaven". This is due to the fact that Japan has numerous izakaya (Japanese pubs), where the selling of alcohol is legally permitted, and the price for alcohol itself is less expensive compared to other countries. Many izakaya also have an all-you-can-drink option on their menus, which are full of Japanese-style alcoholic beverages. Many foreign visitors are surprised at the distinct services and systems of izakaya compared to the bars and pubs of their own country. Izakaya themselves have become part of Japanese tourism for alcohol lovers. We've interviewed some foreign residents in Japan regarding things that surprised them at an izakaya.

Nationwide

Japan In-Depth

1. All-You-Can-Drink Alcohol for Just a Mere 1,500 to 2,000 Yen? Japan’s Alcohol Is Cheap!

In Japanese izakaya, there exists a service where one can drink as much alcohol as they want for a set price. It's a service you don’t see often outside of Japan, and many were surprised when they first encountered them.

"I was excited by the all-you-can-drink option at izakaya. I drink a lot, so it's really easy on my wallet, all the while I'm able to enjoy a whole variety of alcoholic beverages. Japanese people are so generous for providing such a service for the price of two or three beers." (Female, USA) 

"What I was most surprised with was the all-you-can-drink alcohol. It's cheap, and I think the concept is great. For example, the izakaya I went to the other day had an all-you-can-drink alcohol bar with self-service. I'd never had the opportunity to use a beer tap before, so it was a rare experience." (Female, Taiwan)

In some countries, it's illegal to provide all-you-can-drink alcohol services for a set price. Countries in the EU are good examples. In France, such alcohol services were considered illegal in 2009. England banned it in 2010, and the rest of Europe followed soon after. The fact that Japan still holds on to and provides this service despite other countries banning it, is considered a charm for many foreign visitors.

2. The Dish You Never Ordered… What’s an "Otoshi"?

Unlike Western countries, Japan does not have a tip system. However, some izakaya may ask to charge you for an otoshi (appetizer). It's similar to a "table charge", but it can be confusing to foreigners who don’t understand the system and sometimes may even lead to some trouble between the store and the customer. 

"When we got to our table, there were dishes set that we never ordered. My Japanese friend explained to me that it was an otoshi, but we were charged for it separately. It tasted great, but I would've liked an explanation beforehand." (Female, USA) 

"I was surprised when we were charged for the otoshi separately. Is that something like a service fee? I asked if it was a mandatory payment but the staff didn't explain anything to me. I wonder if it’s just an unspoken rule here." (Male, Australia) 

It seems that many foreign customers don't understand the otoshi system. An otoshi is simply an appetizer that the store provides before the ordered dishes are brought to the table. It can also be called a tsukidashi. For the most part, izakaya do not provide these free of charge. It's a normal thing for Japanese people, but not so much for foreign visitors. In some cases, customers can opt to refuse an otoshi, but it’s best to make sure beforehand with the store.

3. Japanese People Toast Only Once? First Drinks Are Always Beer? Some Strange Japanese Rules on Toasts

Some have also questioned the habits seen in Japanese pubs as well. Many foreigners seem to share this opinion, in particular those from Asia.

"It's strange that Japanese people only toast on the first drink. In Taiwan, we toast many times. Why just once?" (Female, Taiwan)

"I was wondering why they only toast for the first drink. It also seems to be a habit to say 'first off, some beer'. Is it because Japanese people love beer, or because beer's just easy to do a toast with?" (Female, China) 

Japanese people typically do a toast once, just after they've been seated and ordered their first drink. On the other hand, Taiwanese and Chinese people seem to toast numerous times over the course of the meal. Also, the phrase "first off, some beer" has become a cliché for parties or dinners, reflecting just how often the first drink in Japan turns out to be beer.

So, why is it a habit for Japanese people to do a toast with beer? The secret to that lies in Japan's economic growth. Before beer was widespread among the common people, Japanese people typically enjoyed Atsukan (hot sake). However, with the high economic growth in 1955, beer became an easy-to-provide beverage and became popularized. Ever since, beer became the first drink to order at a banquet, hence the phrase "first off, some beer". 

In recent years, new alcoholic beverages have started to rise in popularity, such as chu-hai (shochu cocktails), cocktails, shochu and highballs, but many Japanese people still start by ordering a beer. It has become an established tradition to order beer, loosen up the palette, and enjoy one's alcoholic beverage of choice later. It definitely is a custom of the Japanese izakaya. 

4. There’s Not a Lot Assorted for an "Assortment" Dish! Why Are the Izakaya Dishes so Small?

Many have been shocked by the amount of food given at an izakaya; "we want more" seems to be the honest opinion given by foreigners. 

"The menu said it was an 'assortment', but I was surprised by how little they gave me. In Korea, when you order a 'Sashimi assortment' you tend to get a whole fish’s worth. There might be a bit of a gap between the picture on the menu and the actual dish provided... " (Male, Korea) 

"Do Japanese people not eat much? It's a good amount if you want to enjoy multiple dishes, but as an American I feel like there's just not enough... " (Female, USA) 

As a Japanese person, the portion sizes in izakaya are common knowledge, and not many people complain about them. Rather, it's thought to be better since the small amount leaves plenty of room for you to try all the other dishes.

This might also be connected to Japanese dining habits. Many Japanese people are taught in their household and educational environments to have a balanced meal. In other words, instead of eating a lot of a single thing, eating a little bit of many different things is thought to be healthier.

5. Wet Hand Towels Provided the Moment You're Seated! The Little Things That Make You Smile

An oshibori is a wet hand towel or wet wipe provided to customers upon being seated in many Japanese restaurants, cafes, and izakaya. Japanese people consider it common table manners to wipe their hands before eating. 

"I was surprised when they handed me a hand towel. It's not something provided in my country, so I told them 'I didn't order this' out of confusion. And it's free? If this were the States, they would've charged me for it." (Male, USA) 

"So it's a hand towel in Japan, instead of napkins or a finger bowl! I think it's nice and easy to wipe your hands with. They give you cold hand towels in the summer; it felt so nice I even wiped my face with it." (Male, USA)

Many Western visitors were surprised that there were no napkins or finger bowls, that hot or cold hand towels are provided depending on the season, and that this kind of service is free.

6. The Multi-Language Support and the “Call Waiter” Button… Revolutionary Ordering Systems

Below are some of the comments given by customers amazed by izakaya ordering systems:

"I was shocked you could just call a waiter over simply by pressing the 'call waiter' button at the table. I think it's a really convenient system." (Female, Korea)

"The fact that you can place your order through a touch panel is amazing! You don't have to bother the waiter every time you want something, and it gives you as much time as you want to look over the menu. The order history tab is especially useful to check what you've ordered and how many, since I tend to drink a lot... " (Male, USA)

Many Japanese izakaya (mainly the chain restaurants) are equipped with a call button specifically to call over waiters. These buttons are usually placed next to the menu area of the table, and gets rid of the hassle of trying to get the attention of busy waiters.

In recent years, many restaurants have also introduced tablets for placing orders. Just click on the item of choice and select how many orders, and that's it! Having English, Chinese (traditional/simplified), and Korean multi-lingual support is also a plus, since it doesn’t require any knowledge of Japanese, all while keeping the ordering process nice and easy for many foreign visitors.

7. In Japan You’re Allowed to Smoke in Restaurants!? The Alcohol and Food Are so Good, but It’s Hard to Stay Long With the Smell of Cigarettes...

There were many mixed reviews on smoking in restaurants and dining areas. Many were surprised by the amount of izakaya that allow smoking all throughout the venue.

"In Taiwan, most restaurants are strictly no smoking. If you're going to smoke in Taiwan, it would be outside. Compared to other countries, I think Japan doesn't have much separation between smoking and non-smoking areas." (Female, Taiwan)

"Japanese izakaya are not no-smoking areas. I don’t like the smell of smoke, so I wasn't able to stay long. It was a shame, since the alcohol and the food were really good." (Male, Vietnam)

Japan is considered to lag behind when it comes to dealing with smokers. The government recommends more separation of smoking and non-smoking areas, yet izakaya that allow smoking at all seats are still going strong. However, this is about to change after April 2020. Because of the Tokyo Olympics, all restaurants and dining services in Tokyo are to ban smoking across all seats. Not even smoking areas in restaurants are to be permitted, so the only way to smoke would be to find a nearby smoking booth. This means that smokers' lives will get tougher, yes, but this is a sign Japan is catching up with the times.

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Things to Do

Hotels & Ryokan

Shopping

Restaurant Search