领略富山的秋韵风情 黑部・鱼津两日赏秋自驾游

依山抱海的富山县,秋天不仅有能令人放松身心的大自然美景,还能大啖节令肥润海鲜,正是适合游赏之季。这次要以新川地域为根据地深入探访,在黑部市搭乘观光电车横越红叶交错、能饱览美景的“黑部峡谷”,浸泡美肌之汤“宇奈月温泉”;在鱼津市观赏盘踞水中、气息神秘的“鱼津埋没林”,亲手体验传统漆艺“鱼津漆器”。以悠闲舒适的自驾步伐来一趟秋日旅程。

富山县

玩乐

 

※本文与富山湾・黑部峡谷・越中新川观光圏协议会(黑部市、鱼津市)联合撰写。

富山新川地域:鱼津、黑部、入善、朝日

“新川地域”是由富山县东部的鱼津市、黑部市、入善町、朝日町,2市2町组成的广阔的观光地区。从3,000米深山、水色翠绿的黑部川,到海产丰硕的富山湾等,同时坐拥山川海的地理环境造就了多样化自然魅力。

如何抵达

坐落北陆地区的富山县,有国际机场也有新干线车站,无论从海外或日本其他城市前往都十分便捷。从东京搭乘新干线也只需2小时半左右。

搭乘飞机

・从上海浦东国际机场或大连周水子国际机场都有到富山KITOKITO机场的航班

・东京“羽田机场”至“ 富山KITOKITO机场”,航班约1小时

 

※航班资讯因疫情影响而有所变动,请查看各航空公司官方网站。
※富山KITOKITO机场航班表:https://www.toyama-airport.jp/flight
※富山机场1F大厅也有各家租车公司的服务柜台。

搭乘新干线

・“东京站”搭乘北陆新干线至“黑部宇奈月温泉站”,车程约2小时20分钟,约12,000日元/人

・JR西日本“新大阪站”搭乘特雷鸟号至“金泽站”,再搭乘北陆新干线抵达“黑部宇奈月温泉站”,车程约3小时30分钟,约10,000日元/人

“黑部宇奈月温泉站”前徒步3分钟有数家租车公司,一落地即可办理租车手续

行程

DAY 1 黑部

品尝超人气名产黑部名水猪肉“Katsu兵卫黑部店”

鲜度超群的鱼虾贝类是许多人对富山县当地美食的第一印象,但除了海鲜外,黑部还有多道隐藏版美食,称为“黑部名水猪肉”的品牌猪,以富含矿物质的黑部川伏流水喂养,肉丰脂匀,鲜嫩多汁。

不过要挂上“黑部名水猪肉”名号可不容易,只有肉质评比中前20~30%的精选猪肉才有资格以此命名,备受当地人喜爱的“Katsu兵卫黑部店”就提供这道品牌猪肉料理。套餐里炸得脆爽的面衣裹着厚实肉排,瘦肉紧致扎实,脂肪部位清爽鲜甜。而店里提供的“黑部名水匠猪肉”,是名水猪肉中前5%上选猪肉,更是不能遗漏的顶级绝品。先蘸盐巴品尝纯粹的美味,吃一半再现磨白芝麻淋上特制浓酱,风味卓著叫人难忘。

富山湾美景前大啖牧场美食“黑部牧场 MAKIBA之风”

“黑部牧场 MAKIBA之风”落脚黑部市山丘,天气好的时候能眺望不远处的富山湾与能登半岛,将高朗晴空、美丽碧海一览无遗。不仅能近距离接触在秀丽风景中饲育的乳牛、山羊等动物,而且牧场内生产的牛奶、冰淇淋等各式乳制品,更是不容错过。

牧场牛奶是由三种品种的牛只原乳混合,香气馥郁,口感丰盈滑润似鲜榨生乳。布丁由富山县产鸡蛋与牛奶制成,醇厚诱人的奶香,无论大人还是孩童都无法抵御。其他如意式手工冰淇淋也是人气之选,常备十来种口味,还有应季限定款。我们点选的奶油乳酪口味略带细微酸韵,齿颊留香。

徜徉于层层叠叠油画般的非日常风情里“黑部峡谷观光电车”

奔驰于黑部峡谷──日本屈指可数的深V字型峡谷──“黑部峡谷观光电车”原是应对电力开发作为运输物资用而诞生,现则改为载送游客的观光电车。从起点“宇奈月站”到终点“榉平站”,全长约20公里,单趟车程1小时20分钟,沿途可欣赏新春的绿意盎然,盛夏里也不溶尽的万年雪,秋日风情万种的红叶山景,一年四季风采各异。

峡谷里的秘境古汤“黑薙温泉”

黑部峡谷铁道沿线景点无数,还有普通汽车无法通行、唯电车才能抵达的秘境温泉。隐身深山幽谷的“黑薙温泉”,黑部峡谷铁道观光电车“黑薙站”下车后徒歩约20分钟抵达,有黑部峡谷沿线旅宿最大规模的露天风吕(浴池),由天然石材盖成的露天汤池紧邻川岸。能尽享大自然野趣,入夜后浸泡热汤的同时还能仰望夜空中的繁星,治愈无比。

黑部峡谷的玄关口“宇奈月温泉街”

在2023年迎来百年历史的“宇奈月温泉”是一个深具历史的古老温泉街,以清流般澄澈、对肌肤温和的美肌温泉著名,据说透明度为日本第一。由于汤泉温度偏高(泉源温度为90度)能让身体从心里暖活起来,而丰富汤量使镇上处处可见到免费的足汤设施。

・车站足汤 KURONAGI

富山地方铁道“宇奈月温泉站”月台上的足汤(无论车站内外都能使用),即便旅途中感到疲倦无需远走也能消除疲劳,边暖脚边观览列车经过,瞬间精神舒畅。

・足汤MOMOHARA

结合观光咨询所与公共浴场的“汤めどころ 宇奈月”,户外设有足汤,因过去宇奈月有许多桃树的缘故,而被称为“桃原(MOMOHARA)”。

・足汤OMOKAGE

宇奈月公园一隅的凉亭造型足汤,为纪念宇奈月温泉开汤80周年而设置。距富山地方铁道宇奈月温泉车站约5分钟步程,沿途游逛当地饮食小店、伴手礼店,慢慢散步过来。

观赏电车行走的最佳景点“山彦桥・山彦游歩道”

伫立黑部峡谷的两座赤色铁桥,分别为现今观光电车行走的“新山彦桥”,和由废弃轨道“山彦桥”整修的游步道。“山彦”一词在日语意指“回音”,据说是从前电车驶越山谷,车轮压过铁轨接缝的声音在温泉小镇响彻不断,而得名。从“宇奈月站”至宇奈月水坝的步道路线约1公里,能捕捉电车驶过峻险山谷与桥墩的身影,秋日里还能细细品味仿佛置身画中,360度被满谷丹枫簇拥的况味。

眺望秋意浓厚的露天浴场“黑部・宇奈月温泉 YAMANOHA”

沿黑部川而建的“黑部・宇奈月温泉 YAMANOHA”,以宇奈月四季与自然为设计理念。开放感十足的露天大浴场有枫红美景相衬,能一边饱览壮丽金秋的峡谷绝景,一边让旅途中积累的疲顿在热呼呼的汤水舒压下缓缓流逝。

富山是山、海、田野自然资源富饶的宝库,而秋天正好是物产丰收、海鲜肥腴之季。现点现做的厨房提供宾客当季最鲜美的山珍海味。自助式晚膳选项之丰盛,从生虾、烤虾、蒸蟹、蟹釜饭等海料,到牛排、富山黑拉面应有尽有。次日早膳同样从西式到日式样样包罗,富山名产萤乌贼渍物、鱼卵饭团、蟹味噌汤等用海鲜做的菜肴,让人一早就精饱气足,为第二日的美好旅途揭开序幕。

 

DAY 2 鱼津

邂逅鱼津两大不思议的景观“鱼津埋没林博物馆”

结束第一日的山旅,第二日行程以“海”为主角,我们驱车来到鱼津沿岸。第一站造访的就是可以邂逅鱼津三大奇观之二的“鱼津埋没林博物馆”。

两千年自然宝藏“鱼津埋没林”

鱼津埋没林,是大约2,000年前屹立于鱼津的古老杉木原生林,因川流泛滥流出的砂石而被埋没,尔后海平面上升导致就此埋入海底,直到后来鱼津港兴建过程中,规模硕大的杉木盘根才重见天日,惊艳世人。鱼津博物馆就是为了原址保存珍贵的杉木遗迹而建,且被指定为国家天然纪念物。

以干燥形式呈现埋没林的“干燥展示馆”,可亲手抚触,感受古木纹理。“水中展示馆”则使用洁净冷冽的地下水,将树龄推断有500年的巨木保存于水槽中,以维护原木材质。无论从水池上方,还是走进地下室透过玻璃窗侧面窥探,站在已有两千年岁月的自然宝藏一旁显得人类渺小不已,是非常震撼的视觉体验。

光与风交织的海上自然艺术“海市蜃楼”

在此鱼津埋没林博物馆,还能学习鱼津另一大奇景“海市蜃楼”的相关知识。“海市蜃楼”是当海面上冷热空气交会,空气中的光线产生折射,使远处景观或延展、或翻转,看上去与实际景色不同的自然现象。虽因当时温度与风向等条件会有不同形状,但大致可分为“上位海市蜃楼”和“下位海市蜃楼”。

“上位海市蜃楼”因非常讲究气候条件,相较全年可见的“冬之海市蜃楼”更为稀有,通常于3月下旬至6月上旬现身,短则数分钟,长则数小时,一年仅出现20次左右,捉摸不定的特性被世人披上一层神秘面纱。

自江户时代(1603~1868年)就以此景闻名的鱼津,也因此被称为“海市蜃楼之城”。博物馆内有详尽的展览说明,不妨花点时间停留。

在海市蜃楼之路遥望富山湾、大啖鳟寿司“鱼卸问屋 HARITAYA”

除了埋没林博物馆,鱼津市内还有其他能观赏海市蜃楼的景点,其一就是设立于富山湾岸旁的“海市蜃楼之路”,沿着海岸线南北纵向、总长约8公里的道路。虽然秋季来访无缘会面春之海市蜃楼,但水色一天的绝景当前也让人心旷神怡。

说到能与富山湾美景映衬的美食,那就非富山乡土名产“鳟寿司”莫属。鳟寿司,简单来说是一种置入木桶以笹叶包裹的食物。以醋腌渍的鳟鱼片熟度取决于秒间,与味道平衡的醋饭一起制成,再以竹和橡皮压制成型的押寿司。

海市蜃楼之路附近的“鱼卸问屋 HARITAYA”,开业超过百年的老铺水产批发商。正是因为身为当地批发商,能不假手他人提供好品质的严选水产。这家店的鳟寿司做法是先将鱼片铺放底层,再叠上酸味适中的醋饭,以免鱼肉渗出的汁水混入米饭破坏口感,因此开盖时会先看到醋饭。吃时则要将盖子盖好,倒过来让盖子呈现在底部,并把盖当作沾板,以刀分切。鱼鲜肉厚、添醋的米饭甜润分明,咀嚼中带有淡雅的笹叶香气。

入手鲜活鱼货和当地特产“海之站海市蜃楼”

与埋没林博物馆相距5分钟步程、邻接鱼津渔港的“海之站海市蜃楼”,是想入手鱼津当地特产的好去处。馆内有鱼货摊位,也有供应鲜美又价格实惠的海鲜料理的餐厅。除了海产,春季山菜、夏季菜蔬,秋天的加积苹果、友道梨子等水果及富山铭菓,能通过各式时令逸品感受鱼津的四季飨宴。喜爱逛鱼市、体验当地日常的人,别错过每月第2、第4个周日限定举办的鱼津朝市。

发挥手艺之魂的鱼津漆器清酒杯漆艺体验 “工房YAMASEN辻佛檀”

旖旎海湾风光与美食以外,传统工艺之美也是来到鱼津不可错过的重点之一。新川地方从前是北陆最大的漆器产地,而汇集木质地与精致漆艺于一身的鱼津漆器,不仅能为餐桌增色,也因具备坚固耐久、价格实惠等优点,广泛运用于日常器具。

传至第四代的百年“工房YAMASEN辻佛檀”,从餐具、吊饰等小物件到寺社佛阁的大型祭坛,以温柔双手打造的精美传统艺品琳琅满目。据说近年还有海外客人特别跨海邀请制作。

为了让传统工艺更平易近人,开设漆艺与木工体验坊。这次在涂师的亲切引领下尝试“清酒杯漆莳绘”。在杯上绘出喜爱的图案,用莳绘笔勾勒轮廓,最后扑上纯金粉或纯银粉,精巧独一无二的作品就此完成,作为专属的纪念品别具意义。

送礼自用两相宜的伴手礼

凝聚黑部风土的宇奈月地啤“宇奈月啤酒 罐装啤酒 3罐装”

使用黑部川名泉和在黑部大自然中滋育的大麦所酿造的宇奈月精酿啤酒,获得国际啤酒大奖等众多奖项,以罐装方式保存,让宾客即使回到家也能延续旅途的美好。

有着好看透亮的琥珀颜色的十字峡科隆啤酒,锋锐清爽感搭配啤酒花的爽快感非常绝妙,让人想一饮而尽。浓艳的赤铜色的“トロッコ老啤酒”,顶级发酵酵母独有的优雅香氛为特征,淡淡甜味与醇厚的口感完美融合。以富山县特产米“富富富”为副原料的“ぷれみあむ米啤酒”,刚入喉是轻快畅爽的前调,尾韵带点微辣感,与鱼料理十分搭。

酸味杰出的鱼津加积苹果派“Patissier Nokki”

仅在富山县内流通的鱼津产加积苹果,是内行人才知道的好物,有味浓汁多、酸度高的特征。虽因酸度强烈,无法直接食用,但做成甜品糕点却恰好能带来更丰富的层次感。

当地人都熟悉的甜点店“ぱてぃしえ・のっき(Patissier Nokki)”,苹果派上堆叠的厚果片,是同砂糖熬煮,视当日苹果酸度调整柠檬与柑橘的用量;强调水果原味,酸甜清香,不感负担。枕头造型的苹果酥皮盒,内馅是加入大量砂糖熬煮、甜蜜柔润的苹果酱,搭配松脆酥皮,滋味令人难忘。秋冬正是加积苹果盛产之际,这时候来访定不要错过一尝。

黑部・鱼津景点地图

黑部・鱼津踏秋之旅

短短两天的秋日旅行,我们驱车深入巡游鱼津和黑部。鲜度惊人的时令海味,神秘而不可思议的巨木遗迹,还有宛如画作的红枫美景,治愈身心的绝景露天温泉与足汤,无论身心都舒缓饱足。期待你也来亲自品味鱼津和黑部的秋日美好。

除了黑部和鱼津,新川地域的“入善・朝日地区”也很值得一访,不妨继续阅读:【百花点缀的富山春季飨宴 入善朝日烂漫春旅

本文提供信息均以公开时为准。

作者简介

Fuchi
Fuchi Pan
台湾出身,现居东京。喜好吃喝、漫游与记录日常,现正努力透过书写与影像传递日本的隐藏魅力。

搜寻餐厅

Fall Bliss in Toyama: A 2-Day Road Trip in Kurobe and Uozu

This weekend road trip took us away from our crowded city lives to the blissful Niikawa area of Toyama. In Kurobe, we rode on an antique trolley train in the depths of Kurobe Gorge to witness vivid fall foliage while taking a dip in the beautifying hot springs. In Uozu, we marveled at the enchanting Uozu Buried Forest of underwater trees and experienced the traditional craft of Uozu lacquerware. Join us on our relaxing fall trip to uncover the charms of this lesser-known slice of Japan!

Toyama

Things to Do

Help tsunagu write guidebook to restaurants in Japan! - CLICK TO LEARN MORE

*This article was written in collaboration with the Toyama Bay, Kurobe Gorge, Etchu Niikawa Tourism Zone Council.

The Niikawa Region: Nyuzen, Asahi, Uozu, and Kurobe

The Niikawa region of eastern Toyama Prefecture is a vast sightseeing district consisting of two towns and two cities: Nyuzen Town, Asahi Town, Uozu City, and Kurobe City. From 3,000-meter-high mountains to the pristine waters of the Kurobe River and the rich, mysterious seas of Toyama Bay, the diverse local geography of Niikawa yields a stunning array of natural wonders to enjoy.

Getting to Toyama

Toyama, located in the Hokuriku region of Japan, has both airport and bullet train access, so it can be easily visited from other Japanese cities along with countries like Taiwan, Korea, and China. Using the bullet train from Tokyo will take you to Toyama in around 2.5 hours.

Getting to Toyama Via Airplane

・Tokyo Haneda Airport to Toyama Kitokito Airport: Approx. 1 hr

*Exact flight details are subject to change due to COVID-19. Please confirm the details at each airline’s official website.

*Rental car service counters can be found in the 1F Hall of the airport.

Getting to Toyama Via Bullet Train

・From Tokyo Station to Kurobe-Unazukionsen Station via the Hokuriku Shinkansen: Approx. 2 hrs 20 mins, 12,000 yen/person.
・From JR West Shin-Osaka Station to Kanazawa Station via the Limited-Express Thunderbird, then to Kurobe-Unazukionsen Station via the Hokuriku Shinkansen: Approx. 3 hrs 30 mins, 10,000 yen/person.

*There are several rental car companies within a 3-minute walking distance from Kurobe-Unazukionsen Station, allowing you to rent a car as soon as you disembark.

Trip Schedule

Day 1: Kurobe

Katsubei Kurobe: Savor the Mega Popular Kurobe Meisui Pork

Although many associate Toyama with fresh seafood, it actually has another lesser-known, yet equally noteworthy gourmet specialty. This is the brand-name “Kurobe Meisui Pork,” which is sourced from pigs raised on the mineral-rich underground water of the Kurobe River and is distinguished by its soft, juicy, and fatty meat.

Earning the name Kurobe Meisui Pork is no easy feat – only pork determined to be in the top 20% to 30% are permitted to use the title. Katsubei Kurobe is a restaurant adored by the locals, serving a variety of dishes featuring this one-of-a-kind delicacy. The tonkatsu (pork cutlet) set boasts a thick cut cooked crisp on the outside, with firm red meat and sweet, light fat. The pork used here is actually in the top 5% of Meisui Pork, making it a once-in-a-lifetime luxury not to be missed. First, try it with salt to savor the natural flavors of the pork. Then, cover it with freshly ground white sesame seeds and their special sauce to tie it all together.

Kurobe Farm Makiba no Kaze: Fresh Farm-Made Sweets Enjoyed Together with Views of Toyama Bay

Kurobe Farm Makiba no Kaze is a farm up on the hills of Kurobe City boasting stunning panoramas of Toyama Bay and the Noto Peninsula on a clear day. Along with taking in the scenery, you’ll also get the chance to interact with friendly animals like goats and sheep raised in a rich natural environment while relishing fresh dairy products such as milk and soft serve ice cream.

The milk is a thick, original blend from three breeds of dairy cow bursting with that distinctive farm freshness. The pudding is made with Toyama eggs and milk, yielding a rich, exquisite flavor popular amongst all ages. The homemade gelato is also a hit, boasting ten different flavors, including creative seasonal renditions. The cream cheese flavor we ordered had a subtle tanginess with a pleasant aftertaste.

Kurobe Gorge Railway: A Trip Through Endless Landscapes of Breathtaking Fall Foliage

Kurobe Gorge Railway, which runs through Kurobe Gorge – known as one of Japan’s foremost V-shaped valleys – was originally built to transport materials for a hydropower dam and was later transformed into a train service for tourists. It takes approximately 1 hour and 20 minutes to travel the roughly 20 km from Unazuki Station to Keyakidaira Station. Despite the lengthy trip, passengers will be continuously rewarded by a barrage of jaw-dropping seasonal views, including the fresh verdure of spring, deeply frozen snow that remains even in the height of summer, and gorgeous multicolored foliage in the fall.

Kuronagi Onsen: A Remote Ancient Hot Spring in the Valley

There are numerous tourist destinations along the Kurobe Gorge Railway, including remote hot springs that can only be reached via the trolley train. Kuronagi Onsen, one of these deep mountain valley hot springs, is a 20 minute walk from Kuronagi Station on the Kurobe Gorge Railway. The quaint “ryokan” inn boasts the largest open-air bath amongst all inns in the gorge, with bathtubs made of natural stone sitting by the riverbank. Soak in the steamy water, absorb the rustic charm of the surrounding nature, and in the evenings, look up at the starry skies to ensure both your body and soul are thoroughly rejuvenated.

Unazuki Onsen: The Gateway to Kurobe Gorge

Unazuki Onsen is a historic hot spring town that will celebrate its 100th anniversary in 2023. The thermal spring water here is so clear and pristine that it is said to be the most transparent in all of Japan. It’s also renowned for its beautifying properties and for being exceptionally gentle on the skin.

The high temperature of the water (about 90°C at the source) also ensures it thoroughly warms you to the core. Being in total abundance, there are free foot baths all around town allowing you to casually experience this gift from nature for yourself!

• Train Station Foot Bath: Eki no Ashiyu Kuronagi

This footbath sits on the platform of Unazukionsen Station on the Toyama Chiho Railway and can be accessed from both inside the station and out. Soak your feet, zone out, and watch the trains passing by.

• Foot Bath: Ashiyu Momohara

This foot bath is located outside Yumedokoro Unazuki, a facility housing a tourist information center and public hot spring. The foot bath’s name “Momohara” (peach field) comes from the numerous peach trees that once grew here.

• Foot Bath: Ashiyu Omokage

This foot bath under a gazebo in Unazuki Park was built to commemorate 80 years since the opening of the hot springs in Unazuki Onsen. Just 5 minutes from Unazukionsen Station, it is a great destination to walk to while checking out the restaurants and souvenir shops along the way.

Yamabiko Bridge/Yamabiko Walkway: Fantastic Views of the Trolley Train

There are two red steel bridges in Kurobe Gorge: Shin-Yamabiko Bridge, on which the Kurobe Gorge Railway runs, and the Yamabiko Bridge, a decommissioned railway bridge turned into a walkway. These bridges were named “yamabiko”, which means “echo” in Japanese, due to the sound of the wheels passing over the rail joints echoing throughout the hot spring town. The path between Unazuki Station and Unazuki Dam is about 1 km and provides the perfect opportunity to see the trolley train traveling over the steep valley. In the fall, you can experience the magic of being utterly encompassed by colorful fall foliage, making it feel as though you have stepped into a painting.

Kurobe/Unazuki Onsen Yamanoha: Relish Autumn Splendor From Open-Air Baths

Kurobe/Unazuki Onsen Yamanoha is a hotel built along the Kurobe River around the theme of nature and the four seasons. The liberating open-air baths are the perfect place to soak in the warm spring water and rejuvenate while enjoying magnificent views of the golden valley adorned by colorful foliage.

Toyama Prefecture is filled with natural treasures including mountains, seas, and rural landscapes. With a wealth of fresh produce ready for harvest and perfectly fatty seafood, autumn is a great time for gourmands to visit this wonderful region. At the hotel restaurant, guests can relish rare and elegant seasonal food from both the land and sea prepared in an open kitchen right before their eyes. The dinner buffet option boasts a wide variety of dishes to try, ranging from seafood such as shrimp sashimi, grilled shrimp, steamed crab, and crab pot rice to steak and Toyama “black ramen” noodles. There is also a wide selection of Western and Japanese breakfast foods in the morning, including seafood such as the Toyama specialty of firefly squid pickled in soy sauce along with cod roe rice balls and crab miso soup. What a wonderful way to start the second day!

Day 2: Uozu

Uozu Buried Forest Museum: Discovering Two Local Wonders

We followed up day one of our Toyama adventure in the mountains with a seaside road trip along the Uozu Coast for day two. First up was the Uozu Buried Forest Museum, where you can witness two of the so-called "three strange landscapes of Uozu."

Uozu Buried Forest: A 2,000-Year-Old Natural Treasure

The Uozu Buried Forest is an ancient virgin forest of cedar trees that was buried by sand and stone when a river flooded around 2,000 years ago. Years later, people were amazed to uncover numerous tree roots when the site was dug up for the construction of Uozu Port. Uozu Buried Forest has since been designated as a Special Natural Monument of Japan and the Uozu Buried Forest Museum was built to ensure the preservation of this priceless treasure.

The museum has a dry area and wet area. In the dry area, dried roots and trunks that were buried are exhibited and are available to touch. In the wet area, giant roots and trunks of trees thought to have been 500 years old are preserved in tanks filled with clean, cold ground water. They can be seen from above or through windows in a basement room. It’s an utterly enrapturing experience to witness these ancient treasures up close, making one realize just how small and fleeting humanity really is.

Shinkiro: Natural Art Woven Together by Light and Wind

Uozu Buried Forest Museum also showcases another one of Uozu’s bizarre sights: the mirage, which is known as “shinkiro” in Japanese. A mirage is a natural phenomenon by which distant objects appear distorted – such as being expanded or inverted – due to light rays curving when cold air on the ocean’s surface intersects with hot air. While conditions differ by temperature and wind direction, they can generally be divided into “superior mirages” and “inferior mirages.”

Superior mirages can only be seen under specific climate conditions and are rarer than inferior mirages, which can be seen all year. They typically only appear between late March and early June, about 20 times a year, with short ones being just a few minutes and long ones lasting for several hours. Being so difficult to predict makes them all the more magical.

Uozu, renowned for its mirages since the Edo period (1603 – 1868), is also nicknamed the “city of mirages.” The Uozu Buried Forest Museum boasts exhibitions providing additional information behind these spellbinding phenomena for those who want to learn more.

Haritaya: Taking in Toyama Bay From Mirage Road and Eating Masuzushi

Along with the Uozu Buried Forest Museum, there are several other places in Uozu City to witness and enjoy the mirages. One of these is the roughly 8 km “Mirage Road” that runs north-south along Toyama Bay. While the springtime mirages cannot be seen in the fall, the fantastic views of the grand blue ocean remain an invigorating sight.

The best food to enjoy alongside the beautiful views of Toyama Bay is the regional specialty “masuzushi.” Masuzushi is a kind of sushi pressed in a wooden box and wrapped in bamboo leaves. This particular version is made with Donaldson trout carefully marinated in vinegar for a period measured down to the second to ensure the ideal rareness. This trout is then pressed together with perfectly flavored vinegared rice using bamboo and rubber bands.

Located near the Mirage Road, Haritaya is a local seafood wholesaler with a history reaching back 100 years that draws on its expertise to offer products made of the highest-quality fish. Their masuzushi is created using the traditional technique of putting the fish at the bottom and layering tangy vinegared rice on top to prevent the rice from becoming soggy. If you open it right-side up, you’ll only see rice, so flip it over with the lid on before opening and then use the lid as a board to cut up the masuzushi with the provided knife. Topped off by subtle bamboo aromas, this wonderful delicacy presents a satisfying, thick layer of fish bolstered by rice with just the right amount of vinegar to maximize the intrinsic umami flavors.

Umi-no-Eki Shinkiro: Pick Up Fresh Fish and Local Specialties

Umi-no-Eki Shinkiro, located by the Uozu Fishing Port, just 5 minutes on foot from the Uozu Buried Forest Museum, is the perfect place to browse and purchase local specialties. There is a fishmonger on site, as well as a restaurant serving tasty seafood at great prices. In addition to seafood, there are also seasonal local specialties on sale, such as edible wild mountain plants in spring, vegetables in summer, and fruit (including the famed kazumi apple and tomomichi pear) along with beloved Toyama confectionery, making it the ideal place to explore Uozu through its food. For a glimpse at the daily lives of the locals, we recommend visiting the Uozu Morning Market held at the fish market on the 2nd and 4th Sundays of every month.

Kobo Yamasen Tsujibutsudan: Make Your Very Own Uozu Lacquerware Sake Cup

Aside from the scenic bay and fantastic food, one additional unmissable highlight of Uozu are the stunning traditional crafts. The Niikawa area has long been the Hokuriku region’s foremost producer of lacquerware. Uozu lacquerware, which combines wood grain with intricate lacquer art, is sturdy, durable, and well priced. It will serve to brighten up your table as delightful everyday tableware.

Kobo Yamasen Tsujibutsudan is a lacquerware workshop that has passed down the craft through four generations over a century. These dazzling traditional crafts are delicately formed by hand and range from small items such as tableware and decorations to large altars for shrines and temples. They have also received special orders from customers overseas.

Kobo Yamasen Tsujibutsudan holds lacquer art and woodworking workshops to help familiarize everyday people with this traditional craft. For this article, we tried making “shuki urushi maki-e” (lacquerware sake cups with gold and silver decorations) through the gentle guidance of a professional lacquer artist. Participants can decorate their cups with any pattern they like using special maki-e brushes and cover them with pure gold or silver powder to create their very own, one-of-a-kind treasures that are perfect as souvenirs.

The Perfect Local Souvenir (Or Treat for Yourself)

Pack of 3 Unazuki Beer Cans: Born From the Great Nature of Kurobe

Unazuki craft beer, brewed from Kurobe River spring water and barley nurtured by the exquisite local nature, has won numerous prizes in various competitions, including international awards. Being canned, you can easily bring them home to continue relishing the tastes of Kurobe in your own time.

Jujikyo is a kölsch beer flaunting a beautiful semi-transparent amber color and perfectly combining refreshing hoppiness with a sharp and fresh mouthfeel. Torokko is an altbier beer with a deep copper color characterized by the delicate aromas of top-fermenting yeast and the perfect harmony of a light sweetness and rich body. Premium is a rice ale made with the added ingredient of “fufufu,” a special rice variety from Toyama. It presents a light, invigorating flavor with a slightly dry aftertaste that goes wonderfully with seafood.

Patissier Nokki: Tangy Apple Pies Made of Uozu Kazumi Apples

Kazumi apples from Uozu, which are only available in Toyama Prefecture, are sharp and flavorful and highly valued by those in the know. Despite being too acidic to eat on their own, they yield wonderfully complex flavors when cooked in desserts.

Patissier Nokki, a dessert shop popular amongst locals, layers thick slices of apple cooked in sugar atop its apple pies while adjusting the amount of lemon and citrus to complement the sharpness of the apples available that day. The natural flavors and sweet acidity of the apples are delicately coaxed out to become pleasing rather than off-putting. The pillow-shaped apple pies are filled with sweet and soft apple jam cooked with plenty of sugar, which, when combined with the flaky pie crust, forms an unforgettable mouthful. Kazumi apples are harvested in autumn and winter, so definitely don’t miss them if you’re around!

Map of the Locations We Visited in Kurobe and Uozu

A Fall Trip in Kurobe and Uozu

Despite being just two days, this exciting road trip through Kurobe and Uozu presented us with a plethora of unbelievably fresh seafood, enchanting relics of giant trees, beautiful foliage right out of a painting, and open-air baths augmented by stunning views. Each and every experience served to both thoroughly excite and rejuvenate us. If you’re searching for somewhere to relish the bounties of autumn in Japan, Kurobe and Uozu are the places to do it!

 

Consider also visiting the Nyuzen and Asahi areas of Niikawa in addition to Kurobe and Uozu.

Check out the article here: A Casual Drive Through Nyuzen and Asahi: Relishing a Springtime Carnival of Flowers in Toyama (1 Day, 2 Nights)

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Chubu Feature

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

About the author

Fuchi
Fuchi Pan
Tokyo based Taiwanese writer/ editor. Passionate about Japanese food culture, culinary traditions and local/seasonal quality ingredients.

Restaurant Search