山手線的「山手」是什麼意思?關於東京心臟「山手線」13個有趣豆知識

山手線是東京龐大交通網的中心支柱,也是整個交通循環系統的主動脈。以環狀路線穿過東京這座城市的大部分商業和娛樂區,因此造訪過東京的每位遊客或多或少都會遇到它幾次。每個住在東京的人都會把山手線放在心裡那張東京地圖的中心,也作為內外東京的分界線。眾多公司企業也會標榜所在位置在山手線路上或車站附近,因為這象徵高度方便的可達性。本文整理了關於山手線的13個有趣小知識,可助您更全面地了解這條電車線路以及東京!

東京

日本文化

1. 一條擁有30個車站的環狀線

山手線走完一圈平均約需64分鐘,停靠一共30個車站,全線長約35.9公里。

因為軌道呈現環狀線,所以無法透過描述最底站的目的地來指代線路方向。相反地會將順時針方向的線路稱為「外環線(外回り)」;逆時針方向則稱為「內環線(內回り)」。

由JR東日本鐵路運營,也就是可以使用JR Pass 和 Tokyo Wide Pass,但不能使用 Tokyo Metro Pass。

在東京乘坐各鐵路應該很難不遇到這條線,因為它行徑上野、秋葉原、東京車站(市中心)、澀谷、原宿和新宿等重要地區。但這條線路的北段會穿過一些比較寧靜,車站規模較小的住宅區。在駒込站和田端站之間,甚至可以找到只有在沒電車經過時才能穿過的平交道。有鑑於山手線的繁忙,可能會發現自己要等上一段時間才能走上這個平交道!

2. 「山手」是什麼意思?

您可能聽過「下町」這個詞;字面意思是「下城」,指的是東京東部平民生活和貿易繁忙的地區。例如,廣受歡迎的旅遊景點淺草與日本橋和人形町,這些地方都一樣充滿下町的活潑能量。下町的對面則是「山手」(意為山的那個方向),指的是皇居以西的高級社區,武士和後來的知識分子等社會階級較高的人往往居住在那裡。

山手線最初建於1885年,本來是一條貨運線,旨在連接東京北部地區和南部的橫濱港。這條線路刻意穿過當時人口較少的西部山手一側,因為那裡比較容易施工。

然而在此後的一個世紀裡,西側的各區逐漸掙脫住宅區的角色,成為今日(尤其是澀谷和新宿)燈火通明的商業和旅遊熱點。經過幾十年的發展,下町和山手之間的區別已經變得模糊不分。

3. 山手線並非一直是唸作山手線

懂日語的人應該會知道日文中的「山」唸作「yama」,「手」則唸作「te」(雖然手在這邊的意思是方向)。 那麼日文念法為什麼是「yama-no-te」而非「yamate」呢?這是因為在過去的幾個世紀裡,日文的漢字書寫經常只寫出詞彙所代表的語意,而省略連接詞(在這邊の相當於中文「的」)。

所以東京的山手線本應該是寫作「山の手線」。隨著羅馬字(即使用羅馬字母寫日語)在戰後逐漸開始流行,這條線在使用羅馬字標記讀音時也曾誤寫成「yamate」,而且還使用了很長一段時間。後來為了避免與橫濱附近的山手站混淆,國家鐵路局才在1970 年代時更改其念法。

4. 山手線並非一直都是環狀的!

山手線最初是一條連結橫濱至市中心西邊的路線,多年後才與東側的其他線路連接成一個圓圈。

即使在這些線路相互接通後,上野和神田之間這段還是沒有連起來。直到 1925 年40歲的山手線才首次變為一個頭尾相連的鐵道線路。在這之前這條線一直以數字「6」的形狀運行:從上野到神田,繞了一個小圈,接著向西轉入中央線。也就是說每列電車都會在新宿停靠兩次!

如同羅馬一樣,東京都也不是一天就建成的,甚至也不是用十年就能建成。

5. 京濱東北、上野東京、湘南新宿……這些名字又是什麼?

山手線運行著如此重要的路線——重要到東京都這座城市大部分地區都刻意地圍繞著它發展——可想而知上下班時間通勤者的擁擠也是無與倫比。因此JR也想方設法增加軌道以緩解擁堵的狀況。

東邊的部分有6條鐵路線(包含南下北上),不算新幹線的話:兩條為山手線、兩條為京濱東北線(Keihin-Tohoku Line, 一條北至埼玉,南至橫濱的地方線),兩條為上野東京線(Ueno-Tokyo Line, 一條快速線路連接北邊的三條通勤線和南邊的一條通勤線)。東京站以南則增加兩條地下快速軌道。

西邊的部分則有4條鐵路線:兩條為山手線、兩條為共用的軌道的湘南新宿線(Shonan-Shinjuku Line)和埼京線(Saikyo Line, 兩條與通勤線相連的高速線)。

出現這麼多名稱實在很讓人困惑對吧!東京的鐵道數量之多以至於當您途經那些大型主車站並發現有8條、12條甚至更多線路時,一定很容易迷路。上圖以及解說希望能幫助您知道該換成到哪條線。

6. …不過山手線還是擠到爆

日本政府每年都會公佈主要列車線路的「擁擠率」。 100%代表相對舒適的乘車體驗,電車行駛過程中有一些乘客可能因為沒有位子坐而需要站立,但腿部及周圍空間仍然充足。

雖然尖峰時刻每兩分半鐘就有一個班次,但山手線的擁擠率最高可達158%。聽起來很擠嗎?但事實上山手線已經是東京最不擁擠的幾條線路之一(41條線路中排第32)。

2014年時上野東京線尚未建成,這時的擁擠率高達199%。也就是說著來自三個不同通勤鐵路線的乘客都必須在上野下車,然後轉乘山手線才能到達目的地。值得慶幸的是這現象已是過去式。

上野東京線的建造成本為400億日元,計入通貨膨脹約是現在的3.54億美元。如果您發現自己被擠在高峰時段的山手線某處,可能會希望擁有另一條新路線來疏通對吧?不過看到這價錢就知道這不太可能發生。

7. 山手線曾確確實實地定義東京市中心的範圍

「下一站新宿。左側開門。請換乘中央線、湘南新宿線、埼京線、小田急線、京王線、地鐵丸之內線、地鐵新宿線和大江戶地鐵線的乘客在此站換車。」

只要經過新宿站,一定會聽到電車廣播唸這麼一大串。這麼多不同的線路都匯聚在一個地方,每日運輸乘客高達 364 萬人次,難怪新宿的乘客數量超過世界上任何其他車站。但這是怎麼發生的呢?

20 世紀初時,在日本私人公司爭先恐後地修建鐵路,將快速擴張的郊區與市中心連接起來。這些鐵路通常延伸至山手線時就經常停止建設,因為在東京市中心修建軌道非常昂貴,因此乾脆讓乘客在這裡換乘更便宜、更容易搭乘的山手線。這就是為什麼小田急、京王和西武鐵路都以新宿為終點站,而其他線路則在池袋和澀谷等幾個山手線上的大站為終點站的原因。

而戰後政府急忙用地鐵線填滿市中心,計劃著合併多條線路以及使其通通經過新宿,好讓通勤者可以方便換乘。這也是為什麼每天都有這麼多線路和乘客經過新宿的原因。

一共有12條線路在山手線的各個車站停靠,而13條的東京地鐵線路也全都與山手線相連。

8. 具備尖端科技的車廂

現今運行的山手線列車是2015年推出的E235概念車。設計非常具有視覺衝擊力,與其他所有的JR列車車廂截然不同。

此外在乘客座位上方的螢幕則顯示混合JR公告和廣告(以前的款式只有車門上方有螢幕和座椅上方的紙質廣告)。而且現在每輛車的角落都有一個「無障礙空間」,可以擺放輪椅、嬰兒車或重型行李。電子化車門控制系統和通風系統也同步升級。

 

由於山手線的地位是如此重要,自然會比其他線路還早獲得最先進技術。直到去年這種車型才開始被引入其他路線。

9. 與舊原宿車站說再見

原宿(卡哇伊文化的聖地)曾以其木造的傳統車站建築聞名。1924年竣工,是東京最古老的木製車站建築。然而因舊大樓已不符合當今嚴格的消防安全標準,因此2020年3月啟用了全新的車站大樓。

雖然這座標誌性建築已經不復在了,但為了讓人們記得它舊時的樣貌,有關單位仍特意保留一些原樣跟新的車站結合。除了原宿和東京車站著名的紅磚牆外,東京都中已經沒有多少這樣標誌性的車站建築。

10. 跟高輪Gateway說Hello

2020 年 3 月高輪Gateway站在品川北邊開通,是山手線從1971年至今睽違50多年來建設的新車站。該站由著名建築大師隈研吾(他還設計國家體育場和三得利博物館)設計,採用非常時尚的玻璃設計,開放的樓層可以俯瞰月台,以及自動化、無人便利店等新技術。

這個車站的日文名字是什麼呢?您可能想知道。Gateway又是什麼東西的門戶?這個新車站並沒有日語名稱(出於美觀,只用片假名寫ゲートウェイ–),也不清楚它是通向什麼的門戶。由於上述種種原因,這個名字在首次亮相時還在日本網路上引起不小的轟動,特別是因為JR公司曾進行一次公開投票,而「高輪」的得票數是第一名,「高輪Gateway」則遠遠落後。

考慮到該車站地處偏遠,周圍可以做的事情有限,該車站可能看起來過度奢華。不過如果考慮一下未來會發生什麼事,這項建案也許就有意義許多。JR計劃在未來十年內對整個高輪-品川地區進行大規模開發。至2024 年時,目前的空地將被上圖描繪的大型綜合建築所取代,中央新幹線將在 2027年開通品川和名古屋。也許有一天,能將這個車站解讀為通向未來世界的「門戶」!

目前山手線沒有打造其他車站的計劃。順帶一提,最古老的山手線車站是隔壁建於 1872年的品川站。

11. 一條直達羽田機場的鐵路?

羽田機場在西元2000年時轉變為國際機場,也進行了令人印象深刻的改造和擴建。然而旅客只能通過單軌電車(需要在濱松町進行複雜的換乘)或京急線(JR PASS不適用的私營鐵路)前往市中心。

好消息是 JR 終於宣佈將建造一條直達機場的鐵路。雖然不會直接運行到山手線——但它仍然會在熟悉的線路上跑來跑去——據說它會運行至與其並排行使的特快線,也就是西邊的湘南新宿線和東邊的上野東京線。

12. 唱出山手線吧!

自1900年以來,音樂一直與日本的鐵路緊密相連,當時的詩人兼教師大和田建樹一共創作了 374 首鐵路歌曲。這些詩句共同講述乘坐電車穿越全國的故事,並描述路過的各種景點。最著名的是第一卷,長 66 節,訴說著從新橋到神戶的東海道線之旅,由音樂家和音樂老師多梅稚為其譜曲,到現在依然是相當著名的旋律。

快轉到一個世紀後,當NHK兒童節目「ゆうがた五重奏」採用相同的旋律並內外兩個方向上按順序唱出山手線29個車站的名稱時,此舉創造出一首幫助記憶車站順序名稱的好童謠。這個版本一炮而紅,使得這首曲子在人們心目中與山手線密不可分!

有趣的是東京人的酒席間通常會出現這樣的遊戲,那是在喝醉的時候按正確的順序背誦所有的山手線站名!這是日本常見的喝酒遊戲。

13. 畫出山手線

「YamanoteYamanote」 是兩位駐東京的瑞士平面設計師 Julien Mercier 和 Julien Wulff 的一項計劃。他們為山手線的每個車站設計了兩張海報,分別描繪它們的精神和個性。還在每個車站附近舉辦活動,展示屬於該車站的海報。

這些設計融合了與每個車站密切相關的圖案,比如位於代代木附近的燈塔,或者位於惠比壽車站附近的啤酒工廠。時尚、個性化的澀谷則是用一雙運動鞋體現,而以公園和博物館而聞名的上野則採用鮮豔的花卉來設計。

如果您想一窺東京都的所有面貌、性格和角落,試著在山手線的每個車站下車是一個很好的方式。希望本文有為您提供實用的資訊,讓您了解這條鐵路線為何如此重要,也提供您拜訪時需要注意的一些事項!

話說山手線雖然共有30座車站,但除了大家比較耳熟能詳的東京、新宿、池袋、澀谷、中目黑等大站,其實鐵道上還有些存在感相對低、甚至連東京人也鮮少走訪的車站,接著就來看日本人票選的「存在感最低的山手線車站排行」!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。


搜尋餐廳

13 Fun Facts About the Yamanote Line, the Beating Heart of Tokyo

The Yamanote Line is the backbone of Tokyo’s mammoth transportation network, the aorta of its circulatory system. It runs a circular path through most of the city’s business and entertainment districts, so every visitor will come across it numerous times. Every resident puts it at the center of the mental map of Tokyo, as the line that separates inner Tokyo from outer Tokyo. And any business flaunts being on or near the Line, since that is the height of accessibility. Here are 13 fun facts to help you better understand this line, and Tokyo by extension!

Tokyo

Japanese Culture

1. A Circular Line With 30 Stations

The Yamanote Line runs a circular route every 64 minutes on average, stopping at 30 stations. The line is 35.9km long.

Because it's a loop line, people can't refer to the two directions by their destinations. Instead, people refer to the clockwise direction as sotomawari (外回り; "outer circle") and the counter-clockwise direction as uchimawari (内回り; "inner circle").

It is operated by JR East (East Japan Railway), meaning that you can use your JR Pass and Tokyo Wide Pass, but not Tokyo Metro passes.

You'll come across the line because it runs through such important districts as Ueno, Akihabara, Tokyo Station (the downtown), Shibuya, Harajuku, and Shinjuku. But the northern stretch of this line runs through quieter, residential neighborhoods with smaller stations. Up between Komagome and Tabata Stations, you can even find a level crossing: streets that you can only cross when no trains are passing by. Given how busy the Yamanote Line can be, you might find yourself waiting quite a while!

2. What Does "Yamanote" Mean?

You might have heard the term "shitamachi": literally meaning “lower town,” it referred to the busy areas of eastern Tokyo where the common people lived and traded. The popular tourist spot Asakusa, for example, overflows with shitamachi energy, as do Nihombashi and Ningyocho. The opposite of shitamachi is "yamanote" ("direction of the hills"), which referred to the upper-scale neighborhoods to the west of the Imperial Palace where samurai and later intellectuals tended to reside.

The Yamanote Line was originally constructed in 1885 as a frieght line, intended to connect destinations north of Tokyo to the port of Yokohama in the south. The line was deliberately run through the less-populous Yamanote side in the west because it was easier to construct there.

However, in the century since, the city’s west side has abandoned its role as a tony residential area and become the bright-lights commercial and tourist hotspot it is today (particularly Shibuya and Shinjuku). Indeed, the distinction between Shitamachi and Yamanote has generally been blurred after decades of modern commercial development.

3. It Wasn’t Always the Yamanote Line

Those who have dabbled in reading kanji would know that 山 (“mountain”) is “yama” and 手 (“hand,” though in this case something like "direction") is “te”. Shouldn't it be the “Yamate Line,” then? Not quite. In centuries past, it was common for kanji to just represent the main ideas of a word while skipping over the connectors (in this case, "no" = of).

Tokyo's Yamanote Line actually was the Yamate Line for a bit, though: as romaji (i.e. writing Japanese using Roman letters) caught on in the postwar years, the line was mistakenly labeled Yamate, and the name stuck for a while in common parlance. However, the national railway made an effort to revert this in the 1970s to avoid confusion with Yamate Station in nearby Yokohama.

4. It Wasn’t Always Circular, Either!

As mentioned, the Yamanote Line initially referred to a vertical line running west of downtown, and it was many years before it would be connected with other lines on the east side to form a circle.

And even after these lines were connected, there remained a gap between Ueno and Kanda that wouldn't be filled until 1925, a full 40 years after the Yamanote Line first appeared. Until then, the line ran in a figure-six pattern: running a near-circle from Ueno to Kanda, then turning west and merging into the Chuo Line. This meant that every train stopped at Shinjuku twice!

Tokyo wasn't built in a day, or even in a decade.

5. Keihin-Tohoku, Ueno-Tokyo, Shonan-Shinjuku... What Are All These Names?

Because the Yamanote Line runs such an important route - so important that much of the city has consciously been developed around it - the crush of commuters is also without parallel. JR has periodically added tracks to alleviate congestion.

The east side of the line has six tracks, not counting the Shinkansen: two for the Yamanote Line, two for the Keihin-Tohoku Line (a local line that runs north to Saitama and south to Yokohama), and two for the Ueno-Tokyo Line (an express line, connecting three commuter lines to the north with one commuter line to the south). South of Tokyo Station, there are two additional express tracks underground.

The west side of the line has four tracks: two for the Yamanote Line, and two tracks that are shared by the Shonan-Shinjuku Line and Saikyo Line (both express lines that connect to commuter lines).

It’s a lot of confusing, hyphenated names! So many that you could easily get confused when you show up at a major station and find there are 8, 12, or even more tracks. The above diagram will hopefully help you know which line to get on.

6. … Yet Congestion Is Still Awful

Every year, the government publishes the “congestion rate” for major train lines. A 100% congestion rate represents a relatively comfortable ride, where some people are standing but have plenty of leg space.

The Yamanote Line’s congestion rate maxes out at 158% despite running every two and a half minutes. As awful as this sounds, this actually makes it one of the least congested lines in Tokyo (32nd place out of 41).

However, in 2014, the congestion rate stood at a whopping 199%, because the Ueno-Tokyo Line hadn’t yet been constructed. This meant that passengers from three different commuter rail lines had to all get off at Ueno and transfer to the Yamanote Line to reach their destinations. Thankfully, this is no longer necessary.

The Ueno-Tokyo Line also cost 40 billion yen to construct, or about $354m in current US dollars. So if you find yourself smushed in the corner of a rush-hour Yamanote Line train, you might find yourself wishing for another pair of tracks - but alas, this is unlikely to ever happen.

7. It Once Literally Defined Central Tokyo

"The next station is Shinjuku. The doors on the left side will open. Please change here for the Chuo Line, the Shonan-Shinjuku Line, the Saikyo Line, the Odakyu Line, the Keio Line, the Marunouchi Subway Line, the Shinjuku Subway Line, and the Oedo Subway Line."

With this many different lines all converging on one spot, it's no wonder that Shinjuku carries more passengers than any other station in the world, 3.64 million per day. But how did this happen?

The early 20th century saw a scramble of private companies building lines to conect the rapidly expanding suburbs to the city center. These railways often stopped building when they hit the already existing Yamanote Line: building tracks downtown was very expensive, so it was cheaper and easier to let customers transfer here instead. This is why the Odakyu, Keio, and Seibu railways all terminate at Shinjuku, and why other railways terminate at such stations as Ikebukuro and Shibuya.

Later, after the war, the city government rushed to fill in the city centre with subway lines, and they planned many lines to go through Shinjuku as well, to allow commuters to transfer. This is why so many lines and passengers go through Shinjuku every day.

In total, 12 commuter lines stop at the Yamanote Line's various stations, and all 13 subway lines connect to it.

8. Cutting-Edge Train Cars

Board the Yamanote Line today, and you'll find yourself aboard an E235 model car, which were first introduced in 2015. It's very visually striking and distinct from every other JR train car.

For one, this model has screens above passenger seats that show a mix of JR announcements and advertisements. (Previous cars only have screens above doors and paper advertisements above seats.) Each car also now has a "free space" in one corner that is perfect for wheelchairs, strollers, or heavy luggage. The door control system and ventilation system got subtle but important upgrades as well.

Because of how important the Yamanote Line is, it naturally gets the fanciest technology before any other line. Only last year did this model begin to be introduced to other lines.

9. Say Goodbye to the Old Harajuku Station

Harajuku (that mecca of kawaii culture) used to be known for its traditional station building with wood paneling. Completed in 1924, it was the oldest wooden station building in Tokyo. However, a new station building was unveiled in March 2020, as the old building did not meet the most stringent fire-safety standards.

This iconic building has begun to be demolished, although a replica of the facade will remain for old times’ sake. And thank goodness - beyond Harajuku and the famous red-brick facade of Tokyo Station, there aren't many iconic station buildings in the metropolis.

10. And Say Hello to Takanawa Gateway

In March of 2020, Takanawa Gateway station opened north of Shinagawa, the first new station since 1971. The station was designed by famed architect Kuma Kengo (who also built the National Stadium and Suntory Museum) and features a very sleek glass-based design, a very open mezzanine that overlooks the platforms, as well as new technology such as an automated, unmanned convenience store.

What's the Japanese name for the station? you may wonder. And what is it a "gateway" to? There is no Japanese name (it's just "gateway" written in katakana, for aesthetic reasons), and it's not clear what it's a gateway to, either. For these reasons, the name caused quite a stir on social media when it was first unveiled, especially since JR had conducted a public vote where "Takanawa" came in 1st and "Takanawa Gateway" lagged far behind.

The station might seem needlessly extravagant, considering how difficult it is to access and how little there is to do in the area. But the project makes sense if you think of what's coming in the future; the entire Takanawa-Shinagawa area is slated for massive development by JR over the coming decade. What is currently an empty lot will be replaced by the massive complex depicted in the picture above by 2024, and the Chuo Shinkansen project will connect Shinagawa to Nagoya in 2027. Maybe someday, we'll interpret this station as a "gateway" to the future!

No further stations are planned at this time. The oldest station, incidentally, is next-door neighbor Shinagawa, built in 1872.

11. A Direct Ride To Haneda Airport?

Haneda Airport transformed into an international airport at the turn of the millennium and has undergone impressive renovation and expansion. And yet, travelers can only head downtown through the Tokyo Monorail (which entails a convoluted transfer at Hamamatsucho) or the Keikyu Line (a privately-owned railroad where the JR PASS does not apply).

This will only be a problem for 10 more years, as JR is finally constructing a direct rail link to the airport. While it won’t run directly onto the Yamanote Line - which will still be running around in its familiar circles - it will run onto the express lines running alongside, i.e. the Shonan-Shinjuku Line to the west and Ueno-Tokyo line to the east.

12. Sing the Yamanote Line

Music has been closely tied with Japan's railways ever since 1900, when poet and teacher Takeki Owada wrote 374 verses of railway songs. Together, the verses tell the tale of traveling across the country by rail and describing the various sights that pass by. Most famous is the first volume, 66 verses long, which describes a trip on the Tokaido Line from Shimbashi to Kobe and is set to a now-famous melody by Umewaka Ono, a musician and music teacher.

Fast forward to a century later, when the NHK children's program "Yugata Quintet" took this same melody and sang the names of the Yamanote Line's 29 stations, in order, in both directions, creating a mnemonic device. This version became an immediate hit, and as a result, this melody has become inseparable with the Yamanote Line in people's minds!

The real test is reciting all the stations in the right order when tipsy! This is a common Japanese drinking game.

13. Draw the Yamanote Line

YamanoteYamanote is a project by two Swiss graphic designers based in Tokyo, Julien Mercier and Julien Wulff. They've designed two posters for each of the Yamanote Line's stations that seek to depict their spirit and individuality. They also held events near each station showcasing that station's posters.

The designs incorporate motifs that are closely associated with each station, like the light tower located close to Yoyogi, or Yebisu Beer, whose factory is located near Ebisu Station. Hip, individualistic Shibuya is depicted with a pair of sneakers, while Ueno, famous for its park and museums, gets a floral design.

If you're looking to see all of the city of Tokyo's faces and personalities, getting off at each of the Yamanote Line's stations is an excellent way to go about it. Hopefully this article provided you with the context to see how this line became so important, and gave you a few things to look out for when you're visiting!

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Thumbnail: Nut Vasinyont / Shutterstock.com

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.


Restaurant Search