【日本美食】11 種在日本必吃的奇趣食物

並不足所有菜都隨便可以在日本吃到的,但如果反正您會到訪這國家時,何不嘗試一些罕見的美味佳餚呢?

日本

美食

大部份的美食只能夠在日本某些地區吃到,所以日本人平均都只是食過三至五種。我自己也只是吃過這名單上的其中三種,唯一納豆 (natto) 和魩仔魚( シラス "shirasu") 是我經常食的。正如不是所有英國人都喜歡食羊雜,不是所有日本人都會選擇這些美食。然而,旅遊的樂趕就是要嘗試當地的食物,所以作為一個遊客,您更應該要嘗試其中一些美食,當您回家就可以向您的朋友炫耀一番!

1. 納豆 "Natto"

Masafumi Iwai/Flickr

納豆是具有相當強烈氣味和粘糊糊質感的發酵大豆。最近,納豆對健康的好處已經被廣泛報導,現在人們都可以在日本各地的超級市場購買得到。然而,三十年前,在日本西部並不普及吃納豆的。其實納豆是含有豐富的蛋白質、維他命 K 和膳食纖維。在日本以外的一些日本餐廳,您都能夠點納豆吃。納豆可能難以原樣的吃,但有時納豆可製成「納豆卷 ( 納豆巻き"natto-maki")」,壽司卷放滿納豆。

2. 魩仔魚 ( シラス "shirasu") 

nansei/Flickr

魩仔魚( シラス "Shirasu") 通常是沙甸魚,鰻魚,鯡魚,日本砂槍,或香魚的魚苗。魩仔魚通常會生吃或煮熟後用鹽水浸泡。由於魚苗的骨未完成發育,所以魚骨都可以吃下。它們是含有很高的蛋白質和鈣質。當我還小的時候,我未曾想過是吃奇怪的東西,直至我看見照片終於明白為何出現令人毛骨悚然的小眼睛。由於它對健康很有益處,所以魩仔魚也會用於嬰兒的固體食物之中。

3. 稲子佃煮 (いなごの佃煮 "Inago no tsukudani") 

muzina_shanghai/Flickr

「蝗蟲 (いなご "Inago")」 是草蜢的其中一種。以前山區地區無法食用海鮮的,所以長野普遍會吃。蝗蟲會先在鍋裡炒,製作佃煮之前以沸水長時間燜煮,然後的再用醬油和糖烹調。在日本的其他地區的佃煮是由小魚,貝類和海藻製成的。

4. 水母 (クラゲ "Kurage")

PIXTA

水母可以生吃或製成干。 它不像外表,没有啫喱般的質地,而是鬆脆的。只有六種水母可以食用,所以有一樣很重要的是要明白不是所有在海灘發現的水母都能食用的。雖然在一般情況下,它沒有什麼太大的味道但可以享受其獨特的質感。

5. 海參 (ナマコ "Namako")

yamauchi

儘管它的外表不是那麼吸引人,但海參是名列前三名的日本美食之一,僅次於海膽和烏魚子。日本人吃海參經已超過一千年歷史。海參通常是生吃或用醋來享受獨特的鬆脆口感。也可以購買那些乾製品和高檔乾海參,成本約 150 美元 70克。

6. 日本鵝藤壺 (亀の手 "Kamenote")

PIXTA

「亀の手 "kamenote")」,意思是龜的手,是在岩岸發現其中一種的濾食性甲殼類動物。較為普遍食用在日本南部。人們常把它放在味噌湯或用鹽水浸泡。雖然不是同一物種,但鵝藤壺跟在西班牙和葡萄牙吃到的非常相似。

7. 水魚 (スッポン "Suppon")

PIXTA

據考古發現,「スッポン "Suppon"」是水魚,日本人早已在中繩文時代(公元前2500年至1500年)開始食用。如今,因為從水魚所做的肉湯味道很鮮美所以它經常食用於火鍋 (鍋 "nabe")、清湯(吸い物 " clear soup")、日本燴飯 (雑炊 "zosui")。另外其殼被認為是一種壯陽藥,因此也會被製乾並製成粉狀給服用。

8. 馬肉刺身 (馬刺し "Basashi")

hiro/Flickr

在世界各地許多國家都會食用馬肉,在比許多人更多國家可能會意識到馬肉在英語國家是罕見的。但是,在日本會生吃馬肉是獨一無二。經常會好像吃魚生般加上磨碎的生薑或大蒜和醬油一起吃。

9. 鮒壽司 (ふなずし "Funazushi")

toyohara/Flickr

「鮒壽司 (ふなずし "Funazushi")」是發酵鮒的壽司。這是滋賀縣 (Shiga) 的珍饈,其歷史可以追溯到奈良時代(公元前 710-794)。成分很簡單,由只魚、鹽和飯製成。在製備過程中,除了魚籽之外,仔細去內臟。放入醃製用的鹽桶內醃兩至三個月。醃好後淨再跟飯一起包裹。然後跟飯一起放入桶並存儲一至三年。多數以切成數片方式食用。

10. 臭魚乾 (くさや "Kusaya")

PIXTA

「くさや "Kusaya"」一般在伊豆群島生產的乾鹹魚。它是用鮮魚放進「くさや汁 "kusaya-jiru"」 醃製 8-20 個小時,然後用新鮮水洗淨,最後在陽光下曬一至兩天。臭魚乾在江戶時代會送給「將軍 (将軍 "Shougun")」作禮物
Shougun的禮物。它以其獨特的氣味聞名。

11. 鹹魚肉 (塩辛 "Shiokara")

ayustety/Flickr

「鹹魚肉 (塩辛 "Shiokara")」是從烏賊的內臟器官發酵和熟化製成一種醃製食品。正因為如此,鹹魚肉是非常適合配搭日本清酒的。

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

This post is also available in: Chinese (Traditional)

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone

Most of these delicacies are only eaten in certain parts of Japan, so an average Japanese person would have only tried around three to five of them. I myself have only eaten three on this list, and natto and shirasu are the only ones I eat regularly. Just as not all British people like to eat haggis, not all Japanese people choose to eat these delicacies. However, some of the fun of travelling is to try new food and therefore, as a traveler, you should try some of them so that you can brag to your friends when you go home!

1. Natto

Natto is fermented soybeans which have quite a strong smell and a rather slimy texture. Recently, the health benefits of natto has been widely reported and now people can buy it in supermarkets throughout Japan. However, thirty years ago, it was not common for people in western Japan to eat it. It is high in protein, vitamin K, and dietary fiber. In some Japanese restaurants outside of Japan, you can order natto. It might not be possible to eat as is, but often they will offer natto-maki, a sushi roll with natto inside. 

2. Shirasu

Shirasu is baby fish, usually sardine, eel, herring, Japanese sand lance, or ayu. It is mostly eaten either raw or dried after cooked in brine. Since the bones have not fully developed, it can be eaten as it is. It is high in protein and calcium. I have never thought of it as weird to eat since I have been eating since I was small but when see on a photo, I can understand how it can appear creepy with all the little eyes. Because of its health benefit, shirasu is used in solids for babies as well. 

3. Inago no tuskudani

Inago is a kind of grasshopper and is commonly eaten in Nagano and other mountainous regions where seafood was not available in the past. Inago is first fried in a pot, then simmered in boiling water for a long time before being cooked in soy sauce and sugar to produce tsukudani. Tsukudani in other parts of Japan is made of small fish, shell fish, and seaweed. 

4. Kurage (Jellyfish)

Jelly fish is eaten either raw or dried. Despite its appearance, it does not have a jelly-like texture but is crunchy. Only six kinds of jelly fish are eaten and therefore it is important to understand that not all jellyfish found on the beach is edible. It does not have much taste and in general, it is the texture that is enjoyed. 

5. Namako (Sea Cucumber)

Despite its not so appealing appearance, a sea cucumber is one of the top three Japanese delicacies, along with sea urchin and dried mullet roe. It has been eaten by Japanese for more than one thousand years. A sea cucumber is often eaten raw with vinegar to enjoy the unique crunchiness. It is also possible to buy dried ones and high-end dried sea cucumber can cost $150 for 70g. 

6. Kamenote (Japanese goose barnacle)

Kamenote, which means turtle’s hand, is a type of filter-feeding crustacean that is found on rocky shores. It is more commonly eaten in southern Japan. People often put it in miso soup or cook it in brine. Although not the same species, goose barnacles, which are quite similar, are eaten in Spain and Portugal as well.

7. Suppon (Soft-Shelled Turtle)

According to archaeological finds, suppon, a soft-shelled turtle, was eaten by Japanese from the Middle Jomon period (2500-1500 BCE). Nowadays, it is often eaten as nabe (hot pot), suimono (clear soup) or zosui (Japanese risotto) since the broth made from suppon is tasty. The shell is believed to be an aphrodisiac and therefore is dried and made into powdered to be ingested.

8. Basashi (Horse Meat) 

Horse meat is eaten in many countries all over the world, in more countries than many people might realize because it is rare in English-speaking countries. However, it is unique that horse meat is eaten raw in Japan. It is often eaten as sashimi with grated ginger or garlic and soy sauce.

9. Funazushi

Funazushi is fermented funa sushi. It is a delicacy from Shiga Prefecture and dates back to the Nara Period (710-794 BCE). Its ingredients are simple and consists of only fish, salt and rice. During the preparation, it is gutted carefully so that the body of the fish as well as the roe stay intact. Then the fish is marinated with salt in a barrel for two to three months. Once it is pickled, then it is washed and packed with rice. It is then layered inside the barrel with rice and stored for one to three years. It is usually cut into slices and eaten on its own. 

10. Kusaya

Kusaya is dried salted fish commonly produced in the Izu Islands. It is made by marinating fresh fish in kusaya-jiru (similar to fish sauce) for 8-20 hours and then washing it with fresh water and finally drying it in the sun for one to two days. Kusaya was given to the Shougun as a gift in the Edo Period. It is famous for its unique smell. 

11. Shiokara

Shiokara (salted fish guts) is a preserved food that is made from the fermentation and maturation of the internal organs of cuttlefish. Because of this, Shiokara pairs well with Japanese sake.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone