松本由布子:传递穿着和服喜悦的东京谷中女性和服店店长

想要了解一个国家,最好的方法就是认识当地人民。全新采访系列“People of Japan”,将介绍对某事充满强烈热情的优秀人士、企业老板或文化交流大使,希望能让大家更进一步认识和了解日本。今天要介绍的是“Itten Kimono SO-AN”的着装师店长——松本由布子小姐。“Itten Kimono SO-AN”是一家和服出租店,地点位于东京仍保有传统文化的地区“谷中”。与日本人和海外客人分享和服之美,以及有关将人与人联系起来的富有魅力的和服,通过采访深入了解由布子小姐的观点。

东京都

体验

由布子小姐与和服的世界:“为客人穿上和服,是我与客人分享喜悦的方式。”

十年前,由布子小姐会走进和服的世界,这可以说是灵光一闪的瞬间。“我在小孩子小学开学典礼上,看到好多穿着和服的女性,这个画面让我非常感动。”由布子小姐与和服的因缘,开始如此突然却印象深刻。

当时的由布子小姐没有自己的和服,也不知道怎么穿上。“我发现我错失了日本文化根本的某个部分。”那种不可置信感为之强烈,因此让由布子小姐决心投入和服的世界。

之后,由布子小姐开始到和服店的着装教室学习,渐渐地由布子小姐对和服的喜爱日益增加,着装教室的老师就建议她可到和服学校学习。

那时的由布子小姐,发现自己非常热衷学习如何穿和服,因此为了成为有正式证书的着装师,决定到专门学校就读。“我想大部分的人光学习穿和服就心满意足了,大家都不觉得这件事可以成为专业对吧。但是,学习穿和服让我觉得幸福,为别人穿上和服也让我感到喜悦。我可以感受到自己穿和服时的满足感,但帮别人穿上和服,还能获得分享喜悦的全新感受。”

由布子小姐说,为客人穿上和服后,可以看见客人眼中闪烁光芒。“对我来说,比起自己穿和服,帮客人穿上更开心。当然也是因为,通过我的服务,客人都非常喜欢。而且客人的同行者或身旁的人,看到这位客人的和服姿容,都会赞叹不已。”看着一身和服姿容出门的客人,比起自己穿着和服更能感受到魅力,由布子小姐看起来非常开心。

“情绪低落时请试着穿上和服,心情马上就会变得美丽幸福哦!和服会带你跳脱现实、前往新世界,能体验到前所未有的感受哦。”由布子小姐希望客人能获得喜悦、体验全新感受。不仅如此,思考搭配和服要用哪种首饰配件、颜色的难题,或者哪种发型适合的问题,这些对由布子小姐来说都是相当珍贵的过程。由于和服在穿着及维护上都非常耗费时间,和服虽然未必说得上是实用的服饰,但因为穿的过程强调且注重细节,穿和服这件事,对当事人可是一件非常珍贵的事。

代代传承的千年文化:“和服是广受欢迎的服饰。”

拥有着装师证书的由布子小姐,虽然以专业着装师为目标曾在许多和服店工作过,但却从没想过会成为和服店的店长。由布子小姐说:“遇见Itten Kimono SO-AN的老板时,我们一拍即合,如同命运一般。”现在,由布子小姐打从心底喜爱这份工作。

“作为和服店店长,会遇见各式各样的人,彼此聊天沟通,或者与店附近邻居、海外客人互相交流,这是我做这份工作最喜欢的事情。”如同由布子小姐所说,和服真的有一种不可思议的力量。和服,使人之间和谐,拥有吸引人的魅力。 

客人也能够体会到这不可思议的力量。“穿和服外出,身旁经过的人都会停下脚步前来搭话,可以通过和服获得新友谊。我不想只当一般的店员而已,我更希望可以成为客人间建立友谊的桥梁,这才是我想要的!”

对由布子小姐来说,和服还有这样的展现。“和服是广受欢迎的服饰。每个人都可以穿,看海外客人穿上和服是一件令人高兴的事。对和服文化深感兴趣的人请我帮忙穿和服,我也会尽我所能。”

由布子小姐进一步说明,和服其实是非常好调整的衣饰。特别专指女性用和服,一般来说,女性用和服的长度会比要穿的人的实际身高长。“但就算穿的人的身高特别高,也有几个可调整的方式。例如,可以改穿袴。穿袴的时候,就不需要在意和服的长度,因此也可以挑战穿尺寸较小的古董和服。”

因为客人中女性占大多数,由布子小姐希望男性也能对和服有兴趣。“希望有替更多男性穿上和服的机会。虽然现在还是很少看到男性穿和服,为男性换上和服,不仅有趣,也比女性的穿法更简单。再加上,也有男性客人首次尝试穿和服后,开始对整体日本的传统感到兴趣。”

听了由布子小姐的分享,才知道在和服挑选上也有许多考虑。例如:是否以季节性素材为挑选重点?是否为婚丧喜庆场合?是否要参加特定活动?和服不单单只是服饰,更蕴含着日本文化的各种元素。

 

和服的未来就是:“穿的人能享受自我风格、寻求创造力。”

问到关于代表日本传统的和服未来方向,由布子小姐如此回答。“我认为正式的和服必须遵循穿着规定,以延续传统做法。相反的,休闲的和服则可以尝试运用全新的穿法。”

“穿正式的和服并不是为了满足自己,而是为了向他人献上祝福等场合才穿的服装。由于是作为宾客被招待参加特别的典礼,考虑主办人的立场,以和服盛装出席才合宜。而相对的,休闲的和服就纯粹是一种时尚潮流,可展现出个人穿着品位,穿的人可以享受自己喜欢的穿法,展现出丰富多变的搭配。我也曾看过日本年轻人将休闲和服当作长袍或长襦袢的罩衫。”

由布子小姐确信,穿和服的人本身就会持续创造出新的和服时尚。作为便服的休闲和服不断进化,过程中即可孕育出崭新的自由表现。“例如,可以将图案与颜色、现代元素及传统细节相结合。此外,还可结合各时代的配件,根据当天的心情与自己想呈现的样貌,调整和服整体风格。”

Itten Kimono SO-AN有提供上述的组合与穿搭服务。“本店有提供其他店家体验不到的原创设计与古董和服的组合出租。本店乐于挑战全新事物、制作时髦风格和服、尝试不是和服专用的布料制作,努力钻研别出心裁。”

这家店最知名的设计之一,就是完美结合两种不同图样、形成优雅独特外观的“半半和服”。由布子小姐在接受采访时穿的就是这个款式。另一款想介绍给客人的人气商品,就是使用在中谷附近的日暮里纤维街购买的布料制成的“樱花图样和服”。这款布料是用樱花实际的照片表现出超真实样貌的图样。

“海外顾客偏好古董和服的生动感及多彩设计。但是,古董和服保存维护不易,尺寸也较小,所以有提供古董和服租借的店家并不多。不过,本店的收藏非常丰富,虽然本店的古董和服并没有特别讲究产地与时代,所以没有作为艺术品的收藏价值,但对我来说最重要的,是客人穿上后,能够获得的快乐与满足。”

Itten Kimono SO-AN的宗旨就是享受与独特性,店名也忠实地传递这个理念。“Itten Kimono的意思就是独一无二的物品;SO-AN(想庵)则是将舒适的地方与对他人的体贴这两个概念结合具体化的文字。我想要打造出,犹如能愉快体验独一无二和服的家一般、让人心情放松的和服店。”

日本下町风情满溢的街道——谷中

Itten Kimono SO-AN位于谷中,是东京最具传统风情的中心区域之一。这里还残留着仿佛几十年前的日本、称作“下町”的旧市街氛围。造访谷中的人们,可探索充满怀旧氛围的狭隘道路、发掘传承好几世代仍保存优良的多家木造房屋与店家、还可漫步在谷中银座充满魅力的商店街中。各式商店并列于道路两旁,造访这里的人,很快就能融入当地人的日常生活。可以在老建筑改建后呈现复古风的摊贩与典雅的咖啡厅里品尝美味的当地点心,也可以购买传统杂货与工艺品等伴手礼。

这里的复古氛围,从与超过六十个寺院且有寺町谷中之称的谷中历史观点来看,两者完美呼应相称。这些寺院中,绝不可错过的就是1274年创建的豪华天王寺,里面还有一尊1690年建造的大佛像。

谷中也有知名的樱花圣地。天王寺前的樱花大道可欣赏东京最豪华的樱花。此外,长明寺壮观的枝垂樱也非常有名。

谷中保留了历史名胜与美丽的街道,这里非常适合租借和服,在古代日本氛围中散步。由布子小姐的英文相当流利,非常欢迎海外客人,还会为你介绍和服、谷中的优美之处及传统文化哦。

关东特集

本文提供信息均以公开时为准。


作者简介

Stefania
Stefania Sabia

搜寻餐厅

Yuko Matsumoto - A Female Kimono Shop Manager in Tokyo’s Yanaka Area, Sharing Kimono as an Act of Joy

The best way to learn about a country is getting to know the locals. With our new interview series “People of Japan,” we’d love to bring you even closer to Japan by introducing some amazing people, business owners, and cultural ambassadors in the country who are all bonded by a strong passion for something. Today, let us introduce you to Yuko Matsumoto, a professional kimono instructor and shop manager at the kimono rental shop “Itten Kimono Soan” located in Yanaka, one of Tokyo’s most traditional areas. Sharing the joy of kimono with Japanese people and international visitors, Yuko guided us through her view of kimono as a powerful means to bring people together.

Tokyo

Experiences

Yuko’s Journey Into the World of Kimono: “Dressing Others in Kimono Is My Way of Sharing Joy”

Yuko’s journey into the world of kimono started ten years ago. A moment that could be described as an epiphany. “During my kids’ elementary school entrance ceremony, I saw some Japanese women dressed in kimono for the occasion. I was profoundly impressed by that scene.” She remembers that sudden and striking realization as the beginning of her interest in kimono culture.

At the time, Yuko didn’t own any kimono and didn’t know how to wear one. “It felt like I was missing out on a fundamental part of Japanese culture.” Pulled by that sense of marvel, she decided to dive into the world of kimono.

After that day, she started attending kitsuke lessons at a kimono shop. As her interest in  kimono grew stronger day by day, her teacher suggested that she try learning at a professional kimono school.

There, Yuko realized she enjoyed studying kimono dressing so much that she decided to enroll in a course to become a fully-fledged, licensed professional kimono instructor. “The majority of people would be satisfied with just learning how to dress themselves in a kimono, they are not interested in becoming professionals. But the study of kitsuke made me happy and I discovered the joy of dressing others. Dressing yourself in a kimono lets you feel self-satisfaction but when you dress someone else, a new sense of shared joy is born.”

After helping a customer put on a kimono, she can see enthusiasm sparking in their eyes. “Putting kimono on other people is actually more enjoyable than wearing it myself because the customer becomes happy by what I do. Their friends and other people see the [customer] wearing a kimono and say good things.” She is always delighted to see people walking around in kimono and feeling more attractive thanks to it.

She told us, “You should try wearing it when you feel down, it will instantly make you feel happier! Kimono breaks your routine, creating a gap with daily life.” For these reasons, to her, it is well worth going through the trouble of having to think about how to match accessories and colors and how to style your hair to match with a kimono. And although it takes time to wear and maintain one, and it’s not necessarily a functional piece of clothing, all the effort and care put into the process of wearing a kimono makes it something greatly invaluable for those who come in touch with it. 

A Thousand-Year-Old Culture That Still Brings People Together: “Kimono Is a Universally Welcoming Clothing Item”

After getting her license as a kimono instructor, Yuko worked for different kimono shops as a professional kimono dresser, but she never thought she would become a kimono shop manager one day. “When I met the owner of Itten Kimono Soan, our personalities just matched. It was destiny,” she said. Now she gets to do a job she wholeheartedly loves.

“As a kimono shop manager, I get to meet many different people, communicate with any type of person, and build human relationships with both my neighbors and international customers. This is what I love the most about my job.” As we learned from Yuko, kimono indeed has many inexplicable powers. There’s something about kimono that brings people together and attracts others to you.

Her customers can experience the same invisible force, too. “When you go around wearing a kimono, people will stop to talk with you. Kimono often gives you the chance to build new friendships. I don’t want to be your usual shop staff, I want to become your friend!”

When describing kimono, Yuko said, “It’s a universally welcoming clothing item. Anyone can wear a kimono and I think it’s nice to see foreigners wearing one. If I’m dressing someone genuinely interested in the culture of kimono, I feel enthusiastic, too.”

Yuko explained how kimono are also very adjustable garments. This is true especially for women’s kimono, as they are usually made to be longer than the wearer’s actual height. “Even when someone is particularly tall, there are some tricks that can be applied. For example, they could wear hakama. In this case, they won’t have to worry about the length of the kimono and they could even go for an antique piece.”

Most of her customers are women, so Yuko also hopes for more men to become interested in kimono. “I’d love to have the chance to dress more men in kimono. Nowadays, it’s not that common to see them wearing one, but it’s fun and easy to do the kitsuke for them. I also noticed that after putting on a kimono for the first time, they often become more curious about Japanese traditions in general.” By speaking with Yuko, we found out that there are many thoughts that go into how to pick a kimono: Is it seasonal? Is it for a ceremony? For a specific event? A kimono is not simply a dress, it can often explain elements of Japanese culture.

The Future of Kimono: “People Are Able to Enjoy Their Own Style and Explore Their Creativity”

When inquired about the future of the Japanese traditional garment, Yuko thought that formal kimono should still follow the rules of kitsuke and preserve the traditional ways, but that casual kimono are a totally different story as they open the path for new, creative approaches.

Yuko explained to us that “You wear a formal kimono for someone else, not for yourself. They invited you to their special occasion or ceremony, so you should dress keeping that person in mind. On the other hand, casual kimono are purely for fashion and they are a very expressive type of clothing that allow you to show your own style and enjoy it the way you want. I've seen young Japanese people wear casual kimono as gowns or nagajuban as coats.”

She is sure people will continue to create new patterns and styles of kimono. Casual kimono as daily wear is constantly evolving, bringing new expressive freedom along the process. “You can mix patterns and colors, modern elements, and traditional details. You can also combine items from different eras or adjust your entire outfit depending on how you feel that day or what side of your personality you want to show.”

This is also what they do at Itten Kimono Soan. “Our shop offers for rental a mix of antique kimono and original kimono that you can’t find anywhere else. They are either unique vintage pieces or designs created by us. We like to try new things, craft funky kimono, and sometimes even experiment with fabrics that weren't originally meant for kimono.”

One of their most iconic designs is the “half and half kimono” that beautifully blends together two different patterns for an elegant yet unique look, such as the one Yuko wore when we interviewed her. Another interesting creation that Yuko showed us as a customer favorite is their “cherry blossom kimono” which was made with fabric bought at the nearby Nippori Fabric Town and used real photos of sakura blossoms to create a realistic pattern.

“International customers love the dynamic and colorful designs of kimono from the past. Not many shops offer this type of kimono for rental as they are often hard to maintain and smaller in size, but we have a significant collection here. We are not particular about the place and time of production, they are not museum pieces. What’s important to us is that customers can wear them and enjoy them.”

Joy and uniqueness really are the focal points at Itten Kimono Soan, so much so that they even reflected this concept in the name of the shop. “Itten kimono means unique kimono. Soan embodies two ideas, that of a comfortable place and thoughtfulness towards others. We wanted to create a shop that feels comfortable and welcoming like a house where people could enjoy unique kimono.”

Yanaka: An Area Where You Can Experience the Charms of Old Japan

Itten Kimono Soan is located in Yanaka, one of the most traditional yet central areas of Tokyo. It retains an old town ambience, reminiscent of Japan from past decades, called “shitamachi.” Visitors to Yanaka can explore narrow alleys filled with nostalgia, spot the many preserved wooden houses and shops passed down through generations, or walk down the charming shopping street of Yanaka Ginza. Here, trades of all kinds line the street, so visitors can easily dive into the daily lives of the locals, taste delicious local treats sold at retro street stalls or in one of the numerous older buildings repurposed into tasteful cafes, and even find the perfect souvenir among the many traditional goods and crafts available.

The vintage atmosphere perfectly matches with the more historical side of Yanaka that shows itself through the over 60 temples that call Yanaka home. Among these, visitors shouldn't miss the gorgeous Tennoji Temple which was founded in 1274 and preserves a large, bronze Buddha statue that dates back to 1690.

Yanaka is also a major spot for cherry blossom viewing. Visitors can admire some of Tokyo’s most gorgeous cherry blossoms at the Sakura Tunnel located in front of Tennoji Temple or view the majestic weeping cherry tree found in the premises of Chomyoji Temple.

As it offers plenty of historical places to visit, beautifully preserved townscapes to enjoy, Yanaka is perfect to rent a kimono for a stroll while soaking in the atmosphere of past Japan. Yuko can fluently speak English, so she will be happy to welcome you and guide you through the wonders and traditions of kimono and the Yanaka area.

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.


Restaurant Search