日本傳統服飾背後的神秘面紗──和服・浴衣

和服,日本的傳統服裝。以其高雅、深厚的文化內涵和悠久的歷史為人著迷。許多造訪日本的旅客都夢想著穿著這種日本傳統服裝。但是您對和服的文化和歷史了解有多少呢? 本文將說明和服是什麼、和服與浴衣的區別,以及這種傳統日本服飾背後的歷史和文化,與在現代日本社會的流行程度。帶您一探究竟這個體現日本文化的和服!

日本

日本文化

目錄

日本文化的具現化—和服

  1. 和服的歷史:流傳1700年的和服文化
  2. 女性和服種類:從正式到非正式的每種場合都可以穿著
  3. 男性和服:男女和服的5個差別
  4. 和服的配件

浴衣是什麼?

浴衣與和服:兩者之間的差別

現代日本社會下的浴衣與和服:傳統服飾的現代性

  1. 現在的日本人還穿和服嗎?
  2. 哪裡可以購買和服和浴衣?
  3. 哪裡可以租借和服和浴衣?
  4. 外國人穿著和服是一種文化挪用嗎?

擁有1700年歷史文化的和服

日本文化的具現化—和服

和服是日本的傳統服裝,也是日本的民族服裝。穿著和服時,其實也透露著穿著者的年齡、性別以及場合的形式。偶爾還能根據和服的配件、裝飾以及磨損狀況判斷著衣者的婚姻狀況。

「和服」一詞的字面意思是「拿來穿著的東西」。從其含義可以理解,和服在古代日本被日本人視為稀鬆平常的日常穿著。和服不僅可以有助於我們脈落性地了解日本的時尚,還能更好地捕捉特定時期的穿著、生活方式和文化。從這點來說,和服可以說是一種日本人的自我認同。

和服的歷史:流傳1700年的和服文化

和服的原型最早可以追溯至古墳時期(公元300~538年),是從中國引入日本。

 

平安時代(794~1185年)開始則可以觀察到一些重複出現的元素,如女性的多層和服、用來表示男性在審判上等級的顏色(顏色越深、等級越高),以及特定的彩色圖層組合,用來代表季節和植物。

到了江戶時代(1603~1868年),和服的袖子逐漸變長,「腰帶(帯/ obi)」從一條隱藏的段帶變為可見的腰帶。後來腰帶也變得更長更寬,需要與其搭配的配件來固定。 和服的基本形態也從這時開始確立。

江戶時代的中產階級喜歡公開展示昂貴的「紮染(shibori)」和「刺繡(shishu)」,但絲綢製的和服被幕府視為對上層階級地位的公開挑釁和威脅,因此政府頒布了規定限制著裝自由,中產階級被禁止穿著紮染和刺繡的絲綢和服。不過上有政策下有對策,商人們後來發明了「友禪染(yuzen)」,一種能夠打造更精緻且多樣圖樣的革命性染色新技術。此時常用棉作為織物原料。

到了明治時代(1868~1912年),日本經過兩百多年的鎖國後也向世界敞開了大門。在政府工作的人們開始於出勤時穿著西服,但下班後的私人生活還是繼續穿和服。而婦女沒有受到太大的影響。對女性而言,有變化的只是增添了許多西洋配飾,如手套、靴子和圍巾等。

大正時期(1912~1926年),和服發生了一次革命性的變化。人們開始使用「銘仙(meisen)」(一種相對便宜,但更堅固的抗蝕劑染色絲)生產和服。其特點是和服史上前所未見的大膽、明亮的設計。也因此滿足了經濟大蕭條時期對色彩鮮豔、價格便宜之和服的需求,和西方國家牛仔褲的意義類似。

而在第二次世界大戰期間,正在進行總體戰的日本全國上下傾盡所有資源注入戰爭。需要過多布料製成的和服由於被視為不愛國而日漸減少,加上其也無法用來交易食物,人們逐漸把和服塵封起來,日本婦女開始改用西式洋服為孩子穿搭。這就是日本首次於日常生活褪去和服的時代背景。

女性和服種類:從正式到非正式的每種場合都可以穿著

振袖(furisode)

 對於年輕女性(通常未婚)來說,振袖是最正式的一種和服。振袖的特色為長袖子(約100~110公分),且會在整全身上下上裝飾五顏六色的圖案。振袖通常是新娘或未婚的年輕女性親戚們在婚禮上,或年輕女性在「成人式」上所穿著的和服。

黒留袖(kurotomesode)

黑留袖是成熟婦女最正式的和服。這種和服主要為黑色,下擺設計三至五個羽飾,通常在參加如婚禮的正式活動上,由新娘方的親戚穿著。

訪問着(houmongi)

訪問着是半正式的和服,以其精緻的主題式設計而突出。圖案如飛燕從右後肩掠至袖子的後部、左肩和袖子的前部以及下擺。通常左邊圖案會比右邊的高。而這種和服是婚禮上新娘的朋友所穿著的,通常會搭配有跟的草履。在其他正式聚會也是一種常見的和服。

小紋 (komon)

小紋是一種休閒和服,上頭的紋章圖案通常只有一種而佈滿全身。這種和服適合日常生活休閒,如在都市或鄉間小鎮上漫步、小型慶祝活動如祭典、廟會、煙火大會都很適合。

男性和服:男女和服的5個差別

1. 與女性和服相比,男性和服較為簡易。

2. 女性和服的袖子深長且垂下,且大多​​未與身體軀幹的部分相連。男性和服的袖子則大多和身體軀幹相連著。

3. 使用的布料和顏色。典型的男性和服具有柔和的深色,如黑、深藍、深綠或棕色,通常是不反光的材質。不過非正式的男性和服有時會使用較亮的顏色,如淺紫、淺綠和淺藍色。男性最正式的和服為淺黑色且帶有羽飾。整套服裝配件還包括「和服外衣(羽織 / haori)」、「下裳(袴姿 / hakama)」。

4. 腰帶(帯)相對較窄。繫在腰間且顏色通常較柔和。

5. 男性專用的「下駄(geta)」和「草履(zouri)」也比較簡易,沒有裝飾且為單一純色。

和服的配件

帯(obi)

帯(obi),是和服的腰帶,不過它並不會完全把和服綁死。相反地帯的功能是更豐富的裝飾。非正式的帯比較窄短,而正式的較長、較寬且裝飾豐富。綁法有多種不同的方式,取決於不同的情況、場合或形式。

袴姿(hakama)

裙袴是一種日本傳統褲裙,通常會搭配和服一起穿著。男性的裙袴由條紋織物製成,女性的裙袴則既可以是純色,也可以採用漸層色。日本女性習慣在畢業典禮,或男性在婚禮上這兩種場合穿著裙袴。此外在參加日本傳統體育活動時也會穿上,如弓道、合氣道和劍道等。而裙袴也是神社工作人員制服的一部分。最常見的就是巫女的服裝,由白色和服和鮮紅色的裙袴組成。

羽織(haori)

羽織是和服的大衣或外套,長度一般跟外套差不多,但也有較長的大衣版。其不僅有裝飾的配件功能,也可以把兩旁的繩子和鈕釦繫起來保暖,在冬天裡是和服服裝中不可或缺的元素。在溫暖的季節中,日本人則傾向穿很薄的羽織或是根本不穿。

下駄(geta)和草履(zouri)

下駄(geta)和草履(zouri)是兩種日本傳統涼鞋。下駄有高架木底,由皮條固定在腳上。 草履則是由稻草,布料、漆木、皮革、橡膠或合成材料製成的平底鞋。

 

足袋(tabi)

足袋(tabi)是與草履一起穿著的趾襪。常見的顏色是白色,也是正式場合所穿的顏色。彩色或帶有圖案的足袋則是較常見於休閒場合。

浴衣是什麼?

從字面上來看,浴衣顧名思義是「與沐浴有關的衣物」。不過現今已不再只局限於沐浴。浴衣是最輕便的無內襯和服,由棉、亞麻或大麻製成。輕薄透氣的特性適合作為夏季服裝。在許多非正式場合中,不論男女老少均可自在地穿著浴衣。

浴衣在日本廣受歡迎,隨處可見有人穿著浴衣。各大觀光景點更是很容易見得。不過浴衣的歷史比和服要淺的多。這兩種傳統服裝如同手足般,但又不太相似。以下就來好好探索浴衣的有趣歷史,以及與和服的實際差異,以便更深入地了解浴衣的文化。

浴衣的歷史:要從江戶時代說起

浴衣在江戶時代變的大為流行,主要有兩個原因。第一個是與洗澡習慣的變化有關;第二個則與上述和服歷史中提到的管制禁令有關。

浴衣從上流人士穿著的單層絲綢和服發展至今天的樣貌,大約在西元1800年左右。當時傳教士把沐浴在水中洗澡的生活習慣帶進日本,而武士和貴族也紛紛效仿。由於絲綢不適合弄濕,人們開始改穿棉或類似亞麻的織物,這股風潮也逐漸傳遞至中下階層。江戶的公共澡堂如雨後春筍般的興建,人們開始從家中走進澡堂泡澡,由於在公共場合不免會在意外表和穿著,於是高級的浴衣就伴隨而生。這就是現代浴衣出現的源由。

浴衣與和服:兩者之間的差別

材料

和服通常由不同類型的絲綢製成,而浴衣通常由棉或聚酯製成。也就是說和服通常更加奢華、正式。而浴衣是在夏季穿著的紡織品,因此價格上較為便宜,款式也偏向休閒且涼爽。

構成

和服通常在有圖案的絲綢層下搭配內襯,而浴衣則沒有。這也就是為什麼浴衣只在夏季穿著。

和服的衣袖會依據穿著者的年齡、場合的形式等因素而有所不同。例如有的振袖袖子會長及觸地。相比之下,浴衣的袖子則很短,不會超過50公分。

 

季節

想到浴衣,就會想到夏季和夏季活動。通常日式旅館或溫泉設施會準備給客人穿用。在寒冷的季節裡,很少人會將浴衣穿去室外。和服的層數則很多,可以搭配各種配件,以便因應所有季節。例如,冬天可以使用皮草披肩來裝飾和保暖。夏天的和服稱為“「単(hitoe)」,意即單層和服,就是沒有過多內襯只有簡單內裡的和服。

場合

浴衣通常在日式旅館或溫泉飯店裡穿用,或是在參加煙火大會、祭典等其他夏季活動時穿。而和服通常用於更正式的場合,例如神社和廟宇的儀式、婚禮或畢業典禮等。另外仍有一些日本人會在日常生活中穿著便裝和服處理各種日常差事,比如在東京銀座的街頭偶爾能見到。

配飾

浴衣比較易穿,不像和服有那麼多繁雜的配件,不必搭配特定的內衣,只需要一兩條繩線即可穿好合上;而和服則需要至少三四根繩線。浴衣搭配的是休閒、好綁的腰帶。由於非正式的「帯」更便於加工,因此日本女孩子常常自己發明獨樹一格的穿搭風格。和服通常會根據場合搭配正式或半正式的腰帶。另外穿著浴衣時通常會赤腳穿下駄,和服則會與草履和足袋互相搭配。

現代日本社會下的浴衣與和服:傳統服飾的現代性

現在的日本人還穿和服嗎?

二戰後,和服開始從日本人的日常生活中消失,並逐漸局限於正式服裝的定位。如今和服一般只在重要儀式和日本藝術界(如茶道或戲劇)裡被重用。由於人們不再穿著和服,各商家也想出其他商機,開始提供和服體驗的服務。到後來也發展了和服專門學校,將和服的穿著嚴格地系統化,把它從前作為日常穿著的形象漸漸轉變為貴氣莊嚴的意象。

雖然現代人不常穿,但和服1700多年的歷史早已是日本日常生活的一部分,不會輕易地消失。幸運的是,當全世界對亞洲的時尚開始出現興趣時,和服的價值也在1990年代重新被人們發覺,也讓日本和服再興。第一個主要現像是2000年的浴衣熱潮。隨後出現了種種二手和服店。和服雜誌、線上商店、部落格和YouTube等新的媒介出現,年輕一代的日本人開始不再覺得和服遙不可及。

隨現代科技快速發展,和服產業也發生巨大變化。從在實體店鋪購買到網路上消費習慣的改變,使得購買和服的傳統渠道邊緣化,許多傳統和服店正面臨艱難的時期。不過人們也相信,新興的模式很快也會隨之到來。

哪裡可以購買和服和浴衣?

如果您想購買和服或浴衣,可以前去以下這些地方看一看。

其一是日本的大型購物中心百貨公司,通常至少有一家專門經營和服和浴衣的商店。就算沒有和服也至少會在夏季販賣浴衣。除了販售和服或浴衣,也會有其他配件可以購買。方便消費者選購,以免漏買某些必要配件。一套價格大約7,000日幣左右起跳。

如果您想親自搭配和服或浴衣套裝的每個配件,不妨走一趟二手和服店。這種店提供非常多各式各樣的商品。這些二手和服和浴衣通常狀況良好、設計多樣,重點是價格非常便宜。價錢可以便宜到每件1,000日幣。配件通常以相同的價格出售,不過有些比較豪華稀有的產品反而價格會比較高。有機會一定要前去挖寶,也許就會找到命中註定的它!推薦您到東京的日暮里吉祥寺,或京都四条車站東山附近逛逛。

古董市場亦是購買二手浴衣與和服另一個不錯的選擇。東京的大江戶古董市場世田谷ボロ市通,或是京都的天神山市場都是很好的去處。

哪裡可以租借和服和浴衣?

如果不打算購買和服或浴衣,但還是想要在造訪日本時穿上它,那用租借的會一個不錯的選擇!其實就連日本人也是常常租借和服,畢竟不可能到哪都帶著自己的和服。基本上在各大城市、知名觀光景點您都能找到出租和服的店。如:東京的淺草區谷中區;京都的東山區嵐山區。通常除了服裝租金以外,店家的服務內容還包含了教您如何穿著以及髮型設計。

※若欲租借記得提前預訂,尤其是在櫻花季等熱門時期。
※為了接待外國客人,許多和服店的工作人員都會說上一些外語。

外國人穿著和服是一種文化挪用嗎?

多虧社群媒體和網路,海外的和服收藏者和愛好者在世界各地也增加不少。這幾年來進入和服學校學習的外國學生人數也略有增加。他們不只是上課,還對取得和服造型師資格及教師證照很有興趣。

身為對和服文化有興趣的外國人之一,筆者有幸結識許多在和服界活耀的日本人士。他們大多數,尤其是年輕人,對於「外國人對日本傳統服裝有興趣」這件事感到非常自豪。只要謙遜有禮貌的詢問,日本人就會熱衷於與世界分享和服之美,讓和服傳統可以持續傳承與發展。

擁有1700年歷史文化的和服

現在您對和服和浴衣的歷史文化有更多更深入的了解了,是時候實現夢想付諸行動!租借體驗穿著也好,買來當記念也好,帶著對日本民族服飾的理解和尊重,從容優雅地遊歷日本吧。

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

Yukata vs Kimono, The Secret Culture Behind The Japanese National Dress

Kimono, the national dress of Japan, fascinate travelers with their elegance, deep cultural meaning, and long history. Many who visit Japan dream of wearing this Japanese traditional garment. But how much do people know about the culture and history surrounding kimono? In this article, we will explain what a kimono is, the difference between a kimono and a yukata, and the history and culture behind this traditional Japanese garment, including its popularity in modern Japan.

Nationwide

Japanese Culture

Table of Contents

What Is a Kimono, the Dress That Embodies Japan?

  1. Kimono History: 1,700 Years of Kimono Culture
  2. Types of Kimono for Women: A Kimono for Each Occasion, From Formal to Informal
  3. Kimono for Men: 5 Differences Between Men's and Women's Kimono
  4. What Are the Accessories for a Kimono?

What Is a Yukata?

Yukata vs. Kimono: What Are the Differences Between Yukata and Kimono?

Yukata and Kimono in Modern Times: The Current Situation of Japan’s National Dress

  1. Do Japanese People Still Wear Kimono?
  2. Where to Buy a Kimono or Yukata in Japan
  3. Where to Rent a Kimono or Yukata in Japan
  4. Foreigners Wearing Kimono, Is It Cultural Appropriation?

Kimono: Wear 1,700 Years of History and Culture

What Is a Kimono, the Dress That Embodies Japan?

The kimono is a traditional Japanese garment and Japan’s national dress. When worn, a kimono often indicates the wearer's age, gender, the formality of the occasion, and less commonly, their marital status. This extends to the decoration, the way in which it is worn, and accessories as well.

The word "kimono" literally means "thing to wear." The meaning of the term "kimono" helps us understand that in ancient Japan, the kimono was considered daily wear by the Japanese people. Kimono help us to understand not only the local fashion sense through time, but also to better capture the lifestyle and culture of the specific periods it was worn in. In this sense, kimono represent a fundamental piece of Japanese identity.

Kimono History: 1,700 Years of Kimono Culture

The first prototypes of what would become the kimono were introduced to Japan from China during the Kofun period (300-538 AD). 

The Heian period (794-1185) saw the presence of some recurring elements, such as multi-layered kimono for women, colors that were used to represent ranks in court for men (the deeper the color, the higher the rank), and specific combinations of colored layers to represent the seasons and plants. 

During the Edo period (1603-1868), the sleeves of the kimono grew in length, and the "obi" (sash) developed from a hidden tie into a visible sash which was longer, wider, and which needed its own accessories to keep it in place. From this point onwards, the basic shape of the kimono has remained unchanged.

During the same period, the public display of expensive "shibori" (tie-dyeing) and "shishu" (embroidery) silk kimono by the newly-wealthy merchant class was considered a threat to the status of the upper classes, so the government issued edicts on clothing practices. Shibori and shishu silk kimono became prohibited to merchants, and for this reason, "yuzen" (resist dyeing), a new revolutionary dyeing technique that allowed for more dynamic designs, was invented and cotton became a commonly-used fabric.

During the Meiji period (1868-1912), Japan opened its door to the West after hundreds of years of isolation. People working for the government began wearing Western clothing at work, while they continued to wear kimono in their private life. Women weren't affected as much, and for them, changes occurred only in the form of added Western accessories such as gloves, boots, and scarves.

In the Taisho period (1912-1926) another revolutionary change took place on the kimono scene. "Meisen" (a cheaper, more robust type of resist-dyed silk) started to be used to produce kimono. Meisen is characterized by bold, bright designs unseen before in the kimono history, so it answered the need for colorful, cheap kimono during the economic depression and had a similar role to jeans in Western countries. 

It was the World War II years that saw the decline of kimono as daily wear, as they were seen as unpatriotic because they required too much fabric. Kimono were stored away, if not traded for food, and Japanese women began to bring up their children in Western clothes. Thus the first generation of Japanese who didn’t wear kimono in their daily life was born!

Types of Kimono for Women: A Kimono for Each Occasion, From Formal to Informal

・Furisode

A furisode is the most formal type of kimono for young, typically unmarried, women. They have very long sleeves (between 100-110 cm) and are decorated with colorful patterns across the entirety of the garment. Furisode are usually worn at "Seijin Shiki" (Coming of Age Ceremonies) or weddings, either by the bride herself or by other unmarried young female relatives. 

・Kurotomesode

A kurotomesode is the most formal kimono for older women. They have a black background, a design along the hem, and between three and five crests. Kurotomesode are worn to formal events such as weddings, usually by the relatives of the bride. 

・Homongi

Homongi are semi-formal kimono that stand out for their motif placement. The motifs flow across the back of the right shoulder and sleeve, the front of the left shoulder and sleeve, and across the hem, higher at the left than the right. Often, friends of the bride will wear homongi at weddings. They may also be worn to formal parties.

・Komon

Komon are casual kimono that have a repeating pattern. These kimono are suitable for daily errands, a stroll around the town, or small celebrations.

Kimono for Men: 5 Differences Between Men's and Women's Kimono

1. In contrast to women's kimono, men's kimono outfits are simpler.

2. Unlike the sleeves on women's kimono, which are very deep and are mostly unattached from the body of the kimono, men's kimono sleeves are mostly attached to the body of the kimono, with no more than a few inches unattached at the armpit.

3. Another distinction is the fabrics and colors used. The typical kimono for men has a subdued, dark color, such as black, dark blue, dark green, or brown, and the fabrics used are usually matte. However, more casual kimono sometimes come in slightly brighter colors, such as light purple, light green, and light blue. The most formal kimono for men is plain black in color with crests and usually includes a "haori" (kimono overcoat) and "hakama" (trouser-skirt).

4. The obi (sash) is comparatively narrow and tied on the waist, with colors that are usually subdued. 

5. "Geta" and "zori" (types of traditional Japanese sandals) for men are simpler and undecorated, with a solid color.

What Are the Accessories for a Kimono?

・Obi

The obi is the kimono sash, which does not actually keep the kimono closed, but has more of a decorative function. Informal obi are narrower and shorter, while formal ones are longer, wider, and richly decorated. There are different ways of tying an obi depending on the occasion and formality of the situation. 

・Hakama

The hakama is the traditional Japanese trouser-skirt, worn together with a kimono. While men's hakama are made of striped fabric, women's hakama are either a solid color or dyed with gradient hues. Hakama are still utilized at graduation ceremonies (sotsugyoshiki) for women, as wedding attire for men, and in general for traditional Japanese sports such as kyudo (Japanese archery), aikido (a Japanese martial art), and kendo (Japanese fencing). Finally, they are part of the uniform for those who work at a shrine. Particularly famous is the outfit of the miko (shrine maiden), which consists of a white kimono and bright red hakama. 

・Haori

A haori is a kimono overcoat or jacket. It is worn open over the kimono or kept closed by a string that connects the lapels. Haori are usually jacket length, but full-length versions can also be found. In winter, haori are a mandatory element of the kimono outfit, while in warmer months, people either wear a thinner haori or don't wear one at all.

・Geta and Zori

Geta and Zori are two types of traditional Japanese sandals. Geta feature an elevated wooden base held onto the foot by a fabric thong. Zori are flat, thonged sandals made of rice straw, cloth, lacquered wood, leather, rubber, or synthetic materials.

 

・Tabi

Tabi are toe-divided Japanese socks that are worn with zori. The most common color is white, which is also the color worn in formal situations. Colorful tabi or tabi with patterns can be worn for casual occasions.

What Is a Yukata?

"Yukata" literally means "bath clothes," although their use is no longer limited to bath wear. It is the most casual unlined traditional garment, usually made of cotton, linen, or hemp for summer use. Yukata can be worn by everyone, men or women of all ages, for many informal occasions.

While the yukata nowadays is widely popular in Japan, its history is relatively recent compared to the kimono. These two traditional garments undoubtedly are siblings, but not quite alike. So, let’s investigate the interesting history of the yukata and the actual differences with the kimono, to better understand the culture behind yukata! 

The History of Yukata: A Hop Back to the Edo Period

Yukata became popular during the Edo Period for two main reasons. The first had to do with a change in bathing habits, and the second had to do with the sumptuary laws mentioned in the "History of Kimono" section above.

The yukata developed to become what it is today from a single-layered silk kimono worn in the bath by the upper class. In around 1800, priests began to bathe in water for purification. The samurai and noble class followed suit, but since silk was not suitable for getting wet, people started to wear cotton or linen-like fabrics instead. Finally, the custom spread to the middle and lower classes, too, and public bathhouses opened in Tokyo. People who had to walk from their homes to the bathhouse began to desire fancier yukata to wear while in public view, and this is how the modern-day yukata emerged.

Yukata vs. Kimono: What Are the Differences Between Yukata and Kimono?

・Material

Kimono are usually made from different types of silk, while yukata are generally made from cotton or polyester. This reflects the fact that in general, kimono are more luxurious and formal. Yukata are cheaper, more casual, and made to be cooler since they are worn during the summer months.

 

・Composition

Kimono usually have a lining under the patterned silk layer, while yukata don’t. Again the reason is that yukata are made to be worn only during summer. 

・Sleeves

The sleeves of a kimono vary according to different factors, from the wearer's age to the formality of the occasion. Furisode kimono, for example, can have sleeves so long that they touch the ground! The sleeves on the yukata, in contrast, are shorter and are never longer than around 50 cm.

 

・Seasons

Yukata are associated with summer and summer activities. They are worn in other seasons inside a ryokan (japanese inn) or onsen (hot spring) building, as they are handed out to guests for use, but they rarely will be worn outside in colder seasons. A kimono has more layers and it can come with all sorts of accessories to make it suitable for all the seasons. For example, a fur shawl can be used to accessorize a kimono during the winter. There are also summer kimono called "hitoe" kimono (single layer kimono), which are unlined and worn with a summer kimono undergarment. 

・Occasions

Yukata are worn in ryokan or onsen, to attend matsuri (Japanese festivals) such as fireworks festivals, for other summer activities, or just strolling around. Kimono, on the other hand, are most commonly worn for more formal situations, such as ceremonies at shrines and temples, weddings, or graduation ceremonies. Also, even though it’s less common nowadays, some people still wear casual types of kimono for daily errands around the city.

 

・Accessories

Yukata are easier to wear because they don't require as many accessories as a kimono. You don’t have to wear a specific undergarment with it, and you need just one or two strings to close it, while a kimono needs three or four strings. Yukata is paired with a casual obi, which is easier to tie. Since it is more acceptable to play with an informal obi, Japanese girls often tie it in self-invented and original styles. Kimono are usually paired with a formal or semi-formal obi, depending on the occasion. The yukata is worn together with geta and bare feet, while kimono is paired with zori and tabi. 

Yukata and Kimono in Modern Times: The Current Situation of Japan’s National Dress

Do Japanese People Still Wear Kimono?

In the postwar period, kimono began to vanish from everyday life and gradually became confined to the role of formal wear for ceremonies and the world of Japanese arts, such as tea ceremony or theater. And since new generations couldn’t dress in kimono anymore, as a selling strategy, shops started to offer kimono dressing lessons. These lessons developed into kimono schools, which strictly systemized the wearing of kimono, shifting it away even further from the daily wear it was before.

However, the kimono, which was a part of daily Japanese life for more than 1,700 years, wasn’t just meant to disappear like that! Luckily, the 1990s saw its re-evaluation, thanks to a worldwide interest in Asian fashion. This led to a kimono renaissance in Japan as well. The first major phenomenon was a yukata boom in the year 2000, followed by the appearance of secondhand kimono shops. Finally, thanks to new means of communication, such as kimono magazines, online shops, blogs, and YouTube, kimono was again easily accessible to young people.

At the present time, the kimono industry is undergoing huge changes and kimono wearers are in great part rejecting the traditional channels for the purchase of kimono. It is true that traditional kimono shops are facing hard times, but new business models are flourishing. 

Where to Buy a Kimono or Yukata in Japan

If you are thinking of buying a kimono or yukata, there are a few places you should check.

One place is at large shopping centers in Japan, which usually have at least one shop dedicated to kimono and yukata, or they at least will have special summer sales for yukata. These shops usually sell the kimono or the yukata together with all the accessories, making your selection process easier and allowing you to avoid forgetting necessary parts of the set. Prices for these sets start at around 7,000 yen.

If you want to personally choose every item of your kimono or yukata set, head instead to a secondhand kimono shop, where you can freely choose between hundreds of vintage pieces. Vintage kimono and yukata are usually in very good condition, offer a great variety of designs, and are extremely inexpensive. They can be as cheap as 1,000 yen per piece, even if the prices go up a little for some of the more luxurious items. Accessories are usually sold at around the same price. You can make incredible deals by digging inside these shops! Some suggested areas for your vintage kimono shopping are the Nippori Textile Town and Sensoji surroundings in Tokyo, or the area around Shijo Station and Higashiyama Station in Kyoto.

Antique markets are another good option for vintage yukata and kimono hunting. The Oedo Antique Market and the Boroichi Market in Tokyo, or the Kobo Market and the Tenjin-san Market in Kyoto are some of the best ones to check out. 

Where to Rent a Kimono or Yukata in Japan

If you are not planning to buy a kimono or yukata, but you still dream of wearing one while you are visiting Japan, rental kimono shops are a great option! These shops are very popular, even among Japanese people, and you can easily find them in every tourist area of any Japanese city, such as Asakusa or Yanaka in Tokyo or the Higashiyama or Arashiyama areas in Kyoto. Their rental fees usually include not only the kimono dressing and the kimono rental for the day, but also a hairstyling service. 

*In case you are planning to rent a kimono, please remember to book in advance, especially in busy periods such as during cherry blossom season.

*Usually, the staff at rental kimono shops can speak English.

Foreigners Wearing Kimono, Is It Cultural Appropriation?

Thanks to social media and the internet, kimono collectors and enthusiasts have increased around the world. In recent years, even kimono dressing schools have seen a slight increase in foreign enrollees, who are interested not only in taking normal kimono dressing courses, but also in receiving a license as a certified kimono stylist and teacher.

As a foreigner interested in kimono dressing, I had the chance to meet many Japanese people involved in the kimono world, and most of them, especially younger people, are actually very proud to see a genuine interest in the Japanese traditional dress. Japanese people are enthusiastic to share the kimono with the world, as long as it is worn with respect, since this will mean that the kimono tradition can further survive and evolve!

Kimono: Wear 1,700 Years of History and Culture

Now that you know more about the culture and the history behind the kimono and the yukata, you are ready to live your dream of wearing one! Rent it or buy it, and elegantly explore Japan with a deeper knowledge about its national dress. 

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search