日本米飯為何特別美味?日本人愛用煮飯鍋具徹底比較

不論定居或旅行,但凡身處日本或許都曾經有過如此經驗:日本米飯之美味,即便看上去外貌平凡的在地食堂,端上桌的熱米飯也總是晶亮飽滿,香雅潤甜。作為主食,日本人對於米飯可是講究了,從培育無數銘米到發明各種各樣的炊飯鍋具即能略見一二。這回就要透過日本人日常使用的煮飯鍋具,帶大家探究日本米飯的美味秘密。

日本

購物

※本文與TIGER虎牌合作執筆撰寫。

想煮出一鍋好飯,那得先了解煮飯的原理。所謂炊飯,指的是透過將米添水添熱的過程,讓稻米中的澱粉成份產生變化,米會逐漸膨脹,黏糊化,進而釋放甘甜。要使澱粉糊化定少不了水分與熱能兩大元素,因此能確保米粒均勻吸收水分與熱能的鍋具,是讓米飯提升美味的訣要。以下就擇三樣日本常見的煮飯炊具,並深入介紹各自特色。

京都料亭的最愛神器──土鍋

加熱穩定,溫和牽引出食材甘味

土鍋是以陶土為原料,經高溫燒製而成的日本傳統調理器具,約1950年代於日本家庭普及。相較金屬製鍋子,土鍋具有更佳的耐熱性與蓄熱性,可將食材美味牢牢鎖住。隨著溫度上升散發出的遠紅外線,則能使熱力穩定傳達至米芯。

通常米飯香甜好吃的關鍵,來自酶酵素將米粒中所含有的澱粉分解成醣類的這道過程。而酶活化的最佳溫度據說為40~60度左右,由於土鍋加熱速度緩慢,且善於保持熱力,不易冷卻的特點,正好使酶活化的時間拉長,因此更能牽引出米飯的甘甜。

陶土材質還有一大特徵便是有許多氣孔,當米飯炊好後這些孔洞能吸收多餘水分,當米飯冷卻時則可釋放水分,造就了土鍋優秀的保濕效果,能避免米粒流失水分,不易乾柴,因此使用土鍋炊煮的米飯往往豐盈挺立,口感綿實黏糯,滲透著甘韻。據說土鍋是京都各大料亭(傳統日本料理高級餐廳)的必備炊具,土鍋炊飯也經常是和食套餐中最後一道上桌的料理,由此可見土鍋在日本人心中有著不凡地位。

土鍋飯的調理方式

精確掌控米與水的比例,是煮好一鍋飯的首要秘訣。日本炊米時通常以「合」為單位,1合約150g,若以量米杯換算的話則體積為180ml,大致可煮兩碗白飯。

① 量米杯盛滿米後,使用筷子或手指撫平米粒表面,如此即精準恰好的「1合」。

② 將米倒入一只另備的容器,淘米後確實瀝乾水分,再按比例添水浸米:2合兌450~500ml水量,3合則兌650~700ml的水(水量是決定米飯軟硬的因素,多嘗試幾次便能摸索出自己喜愛的比例)。通常建議夏天浸泡30分鐘,冬天則約1小時。

③ 充分吸水的米粒連同水入鍋。記得鍋底中央要對準瓦斯爐火口,確保受熱均勻。

④ 先以中火加熱8~10分鐘直至沸騰(實際沸騰時間依爐火大小而異),接著轉小火續炊10~15分鐘,待蒸氣不再冒出,關火靜置10分鐘。切記不能心急掀蓋,保留悶蒸的時間讓米粒更均勻的吸收水分,美味更盛。

土鍋的炊飯方式雖傳統,其實3合飯約莫30分鐘即成。且除了鍋煮米飯,蒸物煮物湯物等料理皆適用,用途非常廣泛。

忙碌現代人的必備好物──電子鍋

操作簡便,一顆按鍵就能輕鬆煮飯

土鍋炊飯雖然美味,但一開始不熟稔烹飪方法時不免得冒著高溫守灶台、留心火力,以免米飯燒糊,且土鍋為陶土所製,重量普遍較重,恐會有不慎摔到使鍋躰破裂的困擾,因此現今有許多日本人仰賴只要一鍵就搞定的電子鍋。電子鍋的炊飯過程因為包含浸米、煮米工序,相較直火炊煮的土鍋煮飯需時較久(30分鐘至1小時),但因操作簡易,還可預約時間定時煮飯,附有保溫、低溫調理等多樣化性能,十分合乎現代生活。

傳統創新兼具的「土鍋壓力IH電子鍋」

執著美食的人可能會覺得相較土鍋飯,用普通電子鍋所炊煮的飯,米香與甜味略遜一籌,而即便生活忙碌也不想虧待了自己味蕾的人也大有人在。為此,日本家電界翹楚「TIGER 虎牌」研究了既能省去繁瑣煮飯步驟,同時不減米飯美味的門路:將傳統土鍋的優點結合現代電子鍋的便利,開發所謂「土鍋壓力IH電子鍋」。

業界最高規格「JPL-G100」 米飯甜味彈性最大化

追求極致的TIGER虎牌,2021年推出了電子鍋品牌50週年紀念款的進化版、堪稱業界最高階機型的「土鍋泡火炊​ JPL-G100」。壓力IH,即結合壓力鍋原理以及IH電磁感應加熱的技術。內鍋則是真正土鍋,使用日本知名陶器產地、三重縣四日市的萬古燒陶土燒製,每只內鍋須耗費3個月才製成。

不只內鍋火力可高達約280°C(一般金屬內鍋只能達到約130°C),使得米粒糊化更盛;另外搭載新技術「多階段壓力構造」,藉由溫和的壓力變化讓蒸飯溫度循序漸進,藉此徐緩牽引出米的沁甜。新配備的「彈力潤澤幫浦」技術則可抽除高溫悶蒸時於內鍋產生的多餘水氣,進而讓米粒保留紮實香彈嚼勁的口感。

電子鍋炊飯的美味祕技

電子鍋飯要煮得好也是有些竅門的,例如內鍋要預留一定蒸氣空間,讓空氣與熱能充分對流,達到加熱均勻。上述提及的「JPL-G100」正是5.5合炊尺寸,不過若煮少量米飯時,5.5合炊的內鍋空間又嫌過大,好在TIGER虎牌為「JPL-G100」特別設計了1合米專用內蓋,闔上這款附贈內蓋,即能做出最切和1合米的空間。

電子鍋炊飯作法簡易,一般廚藝新手也能輕鬆上手。只要淘好米置入內鍋,並參考內鍋的水量刻度添水(一杯米即加水至1的高度),接著選取相對應的功能鍵,比如使用「JPL-G100」,可依照自己喜愛的米粒黏度調整(脆口、略脆、標準、略彈、彈性,共5種),或配合白米、糙米、雜穀等不同穀糧設定,待時間一到即有熱騰騰的米飯可享用。「 JPL-G100」炊飯還能品嚐到媲美土鍋飯的美味,既省事省心也無須讓美味打折。

料理人必備好幫手──鐵鍋

受熱快速且均勻,最大限度鎖住米飯甜味

鐵鍋也是日本人愛用的傳統炊飯鍋具之一,是由鐵材製成、帶厚度的鍋子,具有極好的熱傳導及保溫性,能讓整個鍋子受熱勻稱,且鍋內對流效果佳,能煮出粒粒分明、鬆彈潤澤的米飯,一打開鍋蓋,飯香豐溢撲鼻。也因短時間內即可達到沸騰,因此拉長了悶蒸時間,能將米飯甜味成分最大程度鎖住。

鐵鍋之所以深受日本人喜愛,其中一項原因是鐵鍋經高溫加熱會溶出鐵離子,而人體所需營養素之一的鐵質,正好能透過使用鐵鍋烹食取得,藉此補充鐵份,預防或改善貧血。近來日本市面上也推出不少可對應電磁爐的鐵鍋。對於家中僅有電磁爐的人而言,相當貼心。唯獨鐵鍋厚實的重量,對於身材嬌小的人或部分女性可能會有些負擔。

鐵鍋飯的調理方式

① 如前述介紹土鍋的調理方法,使用鐵鍋炊飯前也建議要先浸米。淘米後,米與水的比例建議為1合米兌200cc的水(水量也會因米品種而異,不妨多試幾次調整成自己喜愛的比例)。

② 浸米後,米粒連同水入鍋,先以中火炊煮10~15分鐘直至沸騰(實際時間依爐火大小而異),待蒸氣冒出後便可轉小火,等待10~15分鐘,停止冒泡後,水分也收得差不多後便可關火,靜置10分鐘即成。

各項鍋類統整比較

一樣米飯不一樣的美味

日本人對於米飯的情有獨鍾,從使用鍋具之講究便能看出一二,而不同的炊飯鍋具也會影響米飯最終所呈現的口感與品質。除了上述的鍋具之餘,近年來也有不少日本人使用西式烹飪中常見的鑄鐵鍋炊飯。有機會的話不妨嘗試使用不同的鍋具煮飯,進而找出與自己生活習慣與味蕾最相符的方式吧!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

Comparing Japan's Most Popular Rice Cookers! What Makes Japanese Rice So Tasty?

Whether you live in Japan or are just visiting, you’ve doubtlessly had the pleasure of enjoying Japanese rice. Even if you’re dining at an ordinary eatery, you can always expect a piping hot bowl full of gleaming white deliciousness with a hint of sweetness and an elegant aroma. Since rice is their staple food, Japanese people are very particular about it. From dozens of famous rice brands to an assortment of rice cooking innovations, you can clearly see the passion that Japan has for rice. In this article, we’ll take a closer look at Japan’s everyday rice cooking tools and try to discover what exactly makes Japanese rice so tasty!

Nationwide

Shopping

In order to make a scrumptious bowl of rice, you first have to understand the fundamentals of rice cooking. The ultimate goal of this process is to cause changes in the rice’s starch molecules. As heat causes the rice to absorb water, each grain will slowly expand to become more gelatinous and sweeter. As water and heat are the two fundamental elements required to make starch undergo gelatinization, the key to making good rice is a pot that allows each grain to absorb as much water as it needs while evenly cooking them. To better understand this, we’ve chosen three rice cooking apparatuses commonly used in Japan, which we will explain in detail below.

The "Donabe" Earthenware Pot: A Beloved Treasure of Kyoto Restaurants

Bringing Out Rice’s Natural Sweetness with a Slow Cook

Japanese earthenware pots, known as “donabe,” are a traditional cooking utensil made from potter’s clay fired at high temperatures. They became Japanese household mainstays in the 1950s because they were much better at heat resistance and heat retention than metal pots, making them great at locking in the flavors of various foods. Earthenware pots emit far-infrared rays when heated, allowing for a steady transfer of heat that reaches deep into the center of each rice grain.

The fragrance and sweetness of Japanese rice come from the rice starch being turned into sugar by enzymes. It’s believed that enzymes work most efficiently in the 40-60°C range, and as donabe pots have a slow, moderate heating rate, they are ideal for heat retention, giving the enzymes enough time to do their work and bring out the rice’s natural sweet flavors.

There is one more benefit to using a donabe pot. Earthenware utensils actually have countless tiny pores on their surface, which absorb extra moisture after the rice is cooked and release it once the rice begins to cool down. This makes the donabe excellent at maintaining moisture, preventing the rice from drying up. That’s why rice cooked inside a donabe is so fluffy, has a springy mouthfeel, and boasts natural sweet flavors. At many Kyoto “ryotei,” a kind of high-class traditional restaurant serving Japanese cuisine, a donabe is a must-have utensil. In fact, donabe rice is a staple final dish in a traditional Japanese course. It’s easy to see why these pots hold such a special place in the hearts of Japanese people.

How to Make Delicious Rice in a Donabe Earthenware Pot

The secret to cooking rice like a pro is getting the perfect ratio of rice to water. When cooking rice in Japan, the traditional measurement unit is “go,” with 1 go being equal to roughly 150 g or 180 ml when measured in a rice cup. This will make roughly two servings of rice.

1) After filling the rice measuring cup, use a chopstick or a finger to flatten it out and make it exactly 1 go.

2) Transfer the rice into a separate bowl, wash it, and throw the water out. Then soak the rice in fresh water using 450-500 ml per 2 go of rice, 650-700 ml per 3 go of rice, and so on. The amount of water determines the hardness of the rice, so feel free to experiment and find the amount of water that yields the texture that tastes best to you. The rice should soak for about 30 minutes in the summer and 1 hour in winter.

3) Once the rice has absorbed plenty of water, transfer it and the water into the donabe pot. Place the pot directly in the middle of a burner to allow uniform heat transfer.

4) Cook the rice on medium heat for 8-10 minutes (the exact boiling time will differ depending on how large the flame is). Afterwards, lower the heat and cook for an additional 10-15 minutes. Once there is no more steam, turn off the gas and let the rice sit for 10 minutes. Do not open the lid too soon. Instead, allow the rice to steam and evenly absorb the remaining moisture, which will add to its flavor.

While using a donabe is an old, traditional cooking method, it only takes 30 minutes to cook 3 go of rice. As a bonus, these pots can also be used to steam food, make stews and soup, and cook all kinds of other dishes. It’s a super versatile piece of kitchenware to have!

The Rice Cooker: The Backbone of a Busy Modern Life

Cook Rice at the Push of a Button!

While rice cooked in a donabe is incredibly delicious, first-timers will need to pay constant attention to the heat in order to not burn the rice. In addition, the ceramic donabe pots are quite heavy and easy to break when dropped. With this in mind, many Japanese people have opted for the electric “suihanki” rice cookers, which can automatically cook rice at the push of a button. While rice cookers with programmable soaking and steaming times can take longer than a donabe to cook rice (30 mins to 1 hour), they’re super easy to operate and have an automatic timer function. With all those features and more, including excellent heat retention and low-temperature cooking, an electric rice cooker is an indispensable part of a modern lifestyle.

Combining Tradition and Innovation: The Donabe Pressure IH Rice Cooker

For those who are serious about their food, rice cooked in a regular suihanki cooker is often a little lacking in aroma and sweetness when compared to donabe rice. Despite their busy, modern lives, there are many who don’t want to sacrifice the joys of “food” for convenience. In response to this, Tiger Corporation - a Japanese leader in the world of appliances - has been researching ways to cook rice without losing its flavors or having to spend hours in the kitchen. Their solution is the “Donabe Pressure IH Rice Cooker,” which combines the best elements of donabe pots with the convenience of modern rice cookers.

The Donabe Gohobi Taki JPL-G100 Rice Cooker – Maximize the Sweetness and Springiness of Rice!

In their pursuit of perfection, Tiger released the Donabe Gohobi Taki JPL-G100 in 2021, an upgraded version of their 50th anniversary model which is said to be one of the finest appliances of its kind that you can buy. “Pressure IH” comes from the combination of pressure cooking and electromagnetic “IH” induction heating technologies. The pot inside the cooker is a real donabe, made using Banko ware - a kind of Japanese pottery from Yokkaichi in Mie Prefecture, a famous producer of Japanese ceramics. It takes three whole months to make a single Banko ware pot.

The inner pot is capable of heating up to 280°C (most metal pots can reach approximately 130°C). This helps gelatinize the rice and bring out its natural sweetness through a new technological advancement called “multistage pressure structure” where the machine cooks the rice by carefully adjusting the pressure and regulating the steaming temperature. Additionally, through the newly-adopted “haritsuya pump” technology, the excessive amount of steam usually produced inside the pot when steaming at high temperatures is easily eliminated, leaving the rice firm and with a satisfying, springy mouthfeel to it.

How to Make Delicious Rice in a Rice Cooker

There are various tips and techniques for getting the most out of your rice cooker. For example, in the inner pot, it’s vital to ensure that there is exactly enough space for steam so that air and thermal energy can move around and distribute heat uniformly. The previously mentioned JPL-G100 rice cooker can hold exactly 5.5 go of rice which, generally speaking, is too large to properly cook a small amount of rice. To combat this, Tiger devised a special inner lid for the JPL-G100 model to use when cooking just 1 go of rice. By using this attached lid, you can control the space in the inner pot to perfectly cook rice for one.

Making rice in a rice cooker is super easy and recommended for beginners. Simply wash the rice, add water according to the measure written on the inside of the inner pot (depending on how many go of rice you’re using), and then choose how you’d like the machine to cook your rice. For example, with the JPL-G100, you can choose 5 levels of rice stickiness, from firm to semi-firm, standard, semi-puffy, and puffy. Select your preference and then choose the program that matches the kind of rice you’re cooking (white rice, brown rice, mixed grains) and you’ll have a bowl of steaming hot rice in no time! By using the JPL-G100, you’ll be able to cook high-quality rice rivaling that of a donabe, all while saving time and without worrying that you’ll mess it up.

The Tetsunabe Iron Pot: A Cook's Best Friend!

Lock in the Rice’s Natural Sweetness With Direct, Even Heat

The tetsunabe pot is another traditional rice cooking apparatus adored by Japanese people. Made from iron, this thick pot boasts fantastic heat conduction and retention properties. The entire pot is designed to be heated evenly, and thanks to its exceptional convective effect, each grain is raised and cooked until deliciously soft. Once you open the lid, you will be treated to the invigorating aroma of perfectly cooked rice. Iron pots boil water quickly, allowing for longer steaming which locks in and maximizes the rice’s natural sweet flavors.

One of the reasons why the tetsunabe pot has become so popular in Japan is because when it’s heated to a high enough temperature, it starts to release dissolved iron ions. Simply by cooking with a tetsunabe, you’re getting a healthy supplement of iron, an essential mineral believed to prevent and treat anemia. Recently, many tetsunabe compatible with electric IH cooking stoves have also become available, which is great news for those living in houses with only IH stoves. However, tetsunabe are quite bulky and heavy, making them difficult to handle for some people.

How to Make Delicious Rice in a Tetsunabe

1) Similarly to the previously introduced donabe, we recommend soaking the rice in water before cooking it in a tetsunabe. After washing the rice, add 200 ml of water for every 1 go of rice (the amount of water can vary depending on the type of rice. Test and experiment to find a ratio that best suits you).

2) Once the rice has been soaked in water, place both the rice and water into the tetsunabe and bring it to a boil on medium heat for 10-15 minutes (the actual time will depend on the size of the stove’s flame). Once steam begins to gush out, lower the heat and cook it for a further 10-15 minutes until the bubbles have subsided and the water has evaporated. Turn off the heat and let the pot rest for around 10 minutes.

A Comprehensive Comparison of Each Rice Cooking Pot

Same Rice, Different Taste

The incredible commitment of Japanese people to delicious rice can be seen in their pursuit of the perfect rice cooker. Different rice cookers greatly influence the taste and quality of rice in their own special ways, so deciding which one is right for you is extremely important. In addition to the above, many Japanese people have also recently started using cast iron pots often employed in Western cooking. If you have the chance, we recommend cooking rice in a variety of pots using different methods to find one that matches both your lifestyle and your palate!

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search