用不到的和服腰带大改造! 「F.O.A」阿部设计师的创业点滴

作为日本传统服装,大多数高尚精致的和服都有着日本风格的优雅,与季节感浓厚的配色等设计。这次访谈系列「People of Japan」要介绍的是设计师阿部千登势小姐,她以「利用不再使用的和服腰带,变身为抱枕赋予新生命,借以传递和服魅力」为理念,与志同道合的伙伴于2021年创立全新品牌「F.O.A -Nouveau Japonisme-」。通过这次访谈,将能对阿部小姐创立品牌的过程,以及她想对全世界传达的理念等,有更多深入了解。

日本全国

日本文化

为何创立使用和服腰带为材的室内装潢事业?

阿部小姐小时候看到电视上穿和服的旅馆老板娘后,因而有了憧憬,希望「长大后也想成为穿着和服的女主人。」因此,为了学习着付(和服正确穿法)与染织技术(染线与纺织方法),开始到和服专门学校上课。随着对和服的爱越学越深厚,毕业后就到岐阜县郡上八幡,毕业后就到岐阜县郡上八幡,进入一间专门制作知名传统和服质料「郡上紬」的工房,且成为人间国宝大师的徒弟,得以累积更多宝贵经验。

正当热衷学习和服之际,从朋友那里听闻「已穿不到的和服与腰带,放在家中衣橱已好几年没拿出来了。」这件事让阿部小姐十分在意。特别是常见于婚丧喜庆的和服款式,平时根本穿不到,甚至也有人一辈子只穿一次。此后,阿部小姐开始经常能从朋友与熟人接收到他们穿不到的和服。 「放着这些美丽和服不穿,真的太浪费了,想尽可能在日常生活中使用它们。」这样的经验让阿部小姐有了创业的动机。

此外,由于日本穿和服的人口逐年递减,阿部小姐认为阻止和服文化与产业的衰退势在必行,于是开始考虑将承接的贵重和服与腰带商品化。如果能将珍贵的和服与腰带保留下来并重新利用,借此,也能实践永续社会的发展。

于是有室内装潢设计与格局规划的实务经验的她,藉由活用过往经验,挑战「跳脱和服穿着限制,发想和服装潢艺术」的新事业。

开发以和服腰带制成的抱枕

阿部小姐为了开发「以和服腰带制成的抱枕」,前往拜访住在岐阜县高山市的缝制职人古田久典先生。相当忙碌的古田先生,手上有来自全日本各地家具店的订单。阿部小姐曾与古田先生共事过一次,这次则是为了开创新事业,必须借助古田先生的能力而前来拜访。虽然古田先生没有使用和服腰带制成商品的经验,但在了解她对和服与事业的理念后,认为这件事绝对有趣、令人期待,且表示要共同挑战这项事业。

于是,利用和服腰带制成抱枕的品牌「F.O.A」就此成立诞生。 「F.O.A」选用与腰带相搭配的材质,且坚持讲究以羽毛100%的填充物制作抱枕。如此制成的作品不单单只是个二手商品,由于腰带传承了前人珍惜使用的心意,其价值更是高贵。

不过,相信在海外仍有许多人不清楚什么是「和服腰带」。其实「腰带」就是一条由长布缝制成的带子,虽然与西服洋装的腰带很类似,但也有些相异之处。穿和服时,和服需先用细绳绑紧,再系上腰带将绑绳盖住。因为单靠绑绳和服容易松开,所以更需要腰带才能使和服直挺不松垮。这条腰带不仅具装饰功能,更有重要不可缺的责任。

此外,和服不像西装分为「S、M、L」,基本上只有单一尺寸,但可配合每人身高调整长度,再用腰带系紧即可。也就是说和服是自由尺寸,无论哪种体型,只须有一件和服与腰带,就能顺利穿上。

正方形的「Obi-za」与圆柱形的「Obi-bol」两种抱枕

「F.O.A」的作品有正方形的一般抱枕「Obi-za(Obi座)」与圆柱型抱枕「Obi-bol(Obiボル)」。两种皆具有日本传统美感设计,且与现代空间设计也丝毫不违和,即便只是摆著作为室内装饰,也足以展现其魅力。将「Obi-bol」放在沙发上可当扶手,放在床上也可作为腰垫使用,用途上则与国外的圆柱长枕类似。

将「F.O.A」的抱枕放在传统日式旅馆与日式饭店,与房间的氛围特别搭。此外,抱枕还有其他实质用途,像是拍婚纱照(这里指不举行婚礼,只拍照作纪念的形式)在神社穿和服拍摄时,可使用「F.O.A」的抱枕做为整体空间装饰。而抱枕使用的和服腰带,因每种图纹皆有不同涵义,因此在婚宴喜事时,顾客也能根据场面提出想要的作品样貌。

「F.O.A」重视升级再造之概念

阿部小姐表示:「现今用智慧型手机的二手拍卖程式就能轻易购买老旧物品,但老旧物品却未必等同于便宜好卖的意思。相反的,老旧物品也必有其独特价值。因此,我希望透过我们的作品,如果能稍微破除老旧物品就是便宜货的观念就再好不过了。」

最近日文有个称为「升级再造(アップサイクル)」的名词,意思是将老旧物品与原先应丢弃的东西,透过设计与灵感赋予新的附加价值,摇身一变成全新作品。阿部小姐团队的作品,就是以「升级再造」的概念制作而成。

作品制作的难度、魅力与价值

利用阿部小姐挑选配对的腰带与抱枕花色,究竟需达到多高的完成度,才得以制作出受长年爱戴的成品?

缝制职人古田先生表示,制作作品时要将这个形象具体化是最困难的地方。古田先生认为:「那些曾视为宝物的腰带,都蕴含着前持有者的心情。而这些腰带经过阿部小姐挑选取用后,连同她的心意也一并融入了。」

因此,据说古田先生制作作品时都会有想跟腰带对话的念头。原本长年放在衣柜、甚至可能丢弃的腰带,在以全新作品重生的过程,腰带会传达至今以来的「生存之道」。他会对这条腰带说声:「今后,请再多多指教了。」制作过程虽然辛苦,但他会将每个过程,视为自身技术的考验,借此跨越突破。

能实质感受到「腰带十分喜悦」与「能在丢弃前重获新生」就是这份工作的魅力与价值。虽说是制作「物品」,但古田先生所做的更是唤醒「理念」。

舍弃「大量生产、大量消费」的制造,坚守传递「作品」的故事与理念

「F.O.A」的销售负责人表志穗小姐,之前任职于专为「大量生产、大量消费」的业界。她表示当时在工作过程曾有许多疑惑,像是「看到商品定价如此低廉时,不知道制作者会怎么想」或是「这项商品的制作过程明明有多人参与,但却只卖这个价格合理吗?」等问题。

因此,抱有疑惑的表小姐,与阿部小姐共同开始了全新的「F.O.A」事业。在「F.O.A」会根据商品价值与相关人员的想法,给定适当价格,为此表小姐认为这样才有制作价值。制作出来的每一项商品都称为「作品」,并给予命名且赋予意义后进行贩售。

「F.O.A」的作品价格每个约在5万至10万日币的范围。和服腰带的价格原先大多约为数十万日币,在喜庆婚宴场合使用的腰带,其价格更是将近100万日币。用来制作作品的腰带虽然都是中古货,但也有些材质具有古董收藏价值,因此卖价就相当于原价。更不用提,制作过程相当耗时不易。阿部小姐要先获取中意的腰带,考量与腰带搭配的抱枕套材质后,再请古田先生用大约一天的时间进行缝制作业。希望收到每项作品的人,都能确实感受到腰带价值与制作者故事。

给想实际感受「F.O.A」作品的人

居住海外的顾客,也可以从「F.O.A」的官方网店购买(因疫情影响,部分国家地区可能无法配送)。

顺带一提,品牌名称「F.O.A」,其实就是用创立伙伴古田先生(FURUTA)、表小姐(OMOTE)与阿部小姐(ABE)三人姓氏拼音的第一个字母所组成。 「F.O.A」在岐阜县高山市有间工作室,每天的制作都在此进行。

现在,还有间能直接触摸感受「F.O.A」抱枕的地方,就是位在岐阜县飞驒地区一间名为「IORI STAY」的独栋町家。这里是用无人居住的古民家装修成的民宿。这间民宿也经常有许多喜欢日本的海外旅客前来住宿,等日本开放入境后,别忘了来这里实际摸看看这些作品。未来会再将「F.O.A」的作品租借给更多传统日式旅馆等地方,假如能借此获得好评,进而买下其作品,也能成为事业上的助力。

此外,除了「F.O.A」的官方网站,住在日本的人也能通过「tells market」购买「F.O.A」的作品。 「tells market」是个能购入符合良知消费商品的购物网站。以制作者与职人的想法、传统文化继承及环境关怀考量等为主要概念,每一笔消费都能对守护森林的活动有所贡献。


另外,「F.O.A」预计将于2022年9月9日在涩谷「TRUNK HOTEL」举办的「MoFF 2022」活动中展店。这项活动中可看到包含「F.O.A」的作品等各式各样的传统工艺品,届时假如刚好人在涩谷,欢迎您一同共襄盛举。

总结

无论哪个国家,传统服装皆是非常重要的文化。但如今,能够穿上或看到传统服装的机会越来越少,真的非常可惜。因此,藉由「F.O.A」的作品,能让日本传统和服的魅力,延伸至日常生活,实在令人为之喜悦。从接受采访的阿部小姐身上,能感受到她对和服那份真切又深厚的爱情。藉由这篇采访内容,将制作者的想法传递出去,就算只有一个人也好,能让更多人拥有「F.O.A」的作品,将会是莫大的欢喜。

 

本文提供信息均以公开时为准。

作者简介

enomoto
enomoto

相关分类

搜寻餐厅

Chitose Abe - How F.O.A Upcycles Old Kimono Sashes Into Stylish Cushions

The best way to learn about a country is by getting to know the locals. With our interview series “People of Japan,” we’ll bring you even closer to Japan by introducing business owners, cultural ambassadors, and all-round amazing people in the country bonded by strong passions. In this installment, we interviewed designer Chitose Abe about her work upcycling kimono. These elegant symbols of traditional Japanese culture come in a dazzling variety of seasonal colors and chic designs. But what to do with a kimono that is no longer fit to wear? According to Chitose Abe and her friends who formed “F.O.A -Nouveau Japonisme-” in 2021, the answer is to give kimono sashes new life as stylish cushions.

Nationwide

Japanese Culture

Chitose's Seed of Inspiration

When she was little, Chitose Abe would watch owners of traditional Japanese “ryokan” inns on TV dressed in their elegant kimono. Inspired by her childhood desire to be just like them, she eventually enrolled in a specialized vocational school to learn about the arts of kimono dressing, dyeing, and weaving. The more she studied, the deeper her passions grew, and after graduating, she joined a workshop practicing the famous “Gujo-tsumugi” traditional kimono weaving in Gujo Hachiman, Gifu Prefecture. There she became a pupil of one of Japan’s national living treasures, providing her with invaluable opportunities to learn all the secrets of the kimono.

As she dove deeper into this world, she began hearing stories from concerned friends and acquaintances about how their beautiful kimono and “obi” sashes have just been sitting untouched in drawers for years. Some of their truly exceptional pieces used for celebrations, funerals, and other special events would literally just be worn once before being forgotten forever in storage. Feeling guilty about wasting such extraordinary craftsmanship, many would give Chitose their unused kimono in the hope that they would find new life with her. This became the seed that eventually grew into F.O.A.

With fewer and fewer Japanese people wearing kimono, this part of Japan’s culture and its accompanying industries were at risk of being lost to time. To prevent this, Chitose sought to fashion some kind of practical, timeless product out of discarded kimono and obi material. She believed that if there was a way to reuse them, it would ensure their continued survival while contributing to a more sustainable society.

So, using her experience in interior design, Chitose set about challenging herself to turn kimono into some kind of interior decoration, eventually settling on creating cushions out of kimono and obi material.

Fashioning Cushions From Obi Sashes

In order to create a kimono obi cushion, Chitose turned to Hisanori Furuta from Takayama in Gifu, a talented seamster whose impressive reputation keeps him busy filling out orders from furniture stores all over Japan. Having worked together before, Chitose was certain that she needed Hisanori’s help to make her project a success. While he had never worked with obi before, he was intrigued by Chitose’s ideas and passion and so decided to join forces with her.

Soon after, they established the F.O.A brand of cushions made from obi fabric with 100% down filling. Since they are upcycled products, these cushions are imbued with the thoughts and love of the original kimono owner, making them all the more precious.

What Exactly Is an "Obi"?

By the way, we’ve used the term a lot already, but what exactly is an “obi"?

As we’ve mentioned, it’s a kimono sash - a long, sewn piece of cloth that is wrapped around the kimono to keep it closed.

While essentially serving the function of a belt, there are several key differences that set it apart. When wearing a kimono, you’ll first tie it closed with a string. The obi conceals the strings while keeping the kimono tightly in place and adding a splash of color to it.

Being both practical and decorative, it’s an essential part of many traditional Japanese clothing. Unlike Western clothing, kimono are not separated between small, medium, and large sizes. Kimono are generally one size fits most, which is done by folding the hems and fastening the obi to accommodate all body types.

The Square Obi-za and the Cylindrical Obi-bol

So far, F.O.A has created two types of cushions: the square “Obi-za” and the cylindrical “Obi-bol.” Both feature gorgeous traditional Japanese designs that perfectly match modern sensibilities, making them fantastic interior decorations. The Obi-bol can be used as an elbow rest when sitting on the sofa, or as back support when lying in bed, like a bolster cushion.

F.O.A cushions pair particularly well with the rooms of traditional ryokan or Japanese-style hotels. They’ve also been used by people during wedding photoshoots at shrines to create the perfect traditional setting. The patterns of the obi sashes used to make these cushions have their own individual meanings, making it easy to find one that suits any and all occasions.

The F.O.A Philosophy of Upcycling

“These days, it’s easy to snap up bargains on old items online. But just because something is old doesn’t necessarily mean it should be cheap. Rather, old items have their own kind of value born from age. We’re hoping that our products will show that old doesn’t equal cheap,” said Chitose.

This is the basis of upcycling, where old or disposable products are given new life and gain value through innovative ideas and designs. Chitose and her team founded their business firmly upon this philosophy.

The Difficulties, Allure, and Satisfaction of Upcycling

For seamster Hisanori Furuta, the hardest part of his work is taking the obi and the cushion design chosen by Chitose Abe and putting them together perfectly to create a product that will be loved for years.

“A well-used obi is imbued with the feelings of the original owner. And as each obi is handpicked by Chitose, you can also find a little bit of herself in each sash,” said Hisanori. Because of this, Hisanori often wishes he could speak with the obi he upcycles and hear their stories about being stashed away somewhere for years, always fearing being discarded, before finally being reborn. But though the sashes cannot talk, their stories reside somewhere within them. Whenever he upcycles an obi into a cushion, Hisanori wishes them the best in their new life.

While upcycling does have its struggles and challenges, the seamster sees each part of the process as a test of his skills, which helps him focus on the good parts of it all. Making obi "happy" and saving them from being thrown away is why Hisanori Furuta keeps on creating. Rather than simply making products, Hisanori thinks of his work as giving old thoughts and emotions a new lease on life.

Fighting Mass Production and Consumption

Shiho Omote, the sales representative at F.O.A, formerly worked in an industry known for mass production and consumption. During this time, she questioned how those making such cheap, disposable items felt about their work and whether so many people working together to sell things at such low prices was sustainable.

Shiho ended up helping Chitose start F.O.A with the desire to sell more authentic items at a price that properly reflected the efforts of all those involved. Each product, referred to as a “creation,” is given an individual name and imbued with meaning before being put on the market.

F.O.A works range from 50,000 to 100,000 yen each.

While that may sound expensive, kimono obi themselves often sell for hundreds of thousands of yen, with special celebratory versions sometimes going for close to one million yen. Some of the secondhand obi used to make the cushions are also antiques and therefore go for an even higher price.

Apart from the materials, F.O.A prices are even more understandable after factoring in the time and effort it takes to upcycle them. Once Chitose finds an obi and decides on the matching cushion cover material, Hisanori has to diligently sew for an entire day to complete the cushion.

Their creations are intended for those that can appreciate the true value of a secondhand obi and relish the story behind it.

Discover a Lifetime's Worth of Stories and Emotions Through F.O.A's Cushions

How to Buy F.O.A Cushions Online

F.O.A cushions can be ordered internationally through the company’s official website (some regions may be excluded due to shipping disruptions caused by COVID-19).

The brand name “F.O.A” comes from the initials of the founders’ surnames: Furuta, Omote, and Abe. The company workshop is located in Takayama, Gifu Prefecture, where new obi cushion creations are born every day.

F.O.A Cushions Making Their Way to Hotels and Inns

You can also check out the cushions for yourself at IORI STAY, a guesthouse service that allows travelers to book private stays at renovated traditional Japanese houses in the Hida region of Gifu Prefecture. IORI STAY is a favorite with lovers of retro Japanese aesthetics, and allows guests to experience the joy of F.O.A cushions and more, so consider visiting it if you ever get the chance.

F.O.A is currently working on introducing its cushions to other ryokan and hotels, so you might be seeing more of them in the not-too-distant future!

Local Ways to Encounter F.O.A's Cushions

Aside from the official F.O.A website, those currently living in Japan can purchase their obi cushions from “tells market,” an online store selling ethical products that promote the creativity of craftspeople, support the preservation of traditional cultures, and respect the environment. Buying from tells market also contributes to helping protect forests.

F.O.A also plans to display their cushions at the Museum of Freewill & Future (MoFF) 2022 event, which will be held at the TRUNK HOTEL in Shibuya on September 9, 2022. Along with F.O.A, visitors to MoFF 2022 will be able to check out a stellar range of traditional crafts and more. Definitely stop by if you’re in Shibuya during this time!

Saving the Kimono Industry One Cushion at a Time

Every country has its own traditional clothing that they cherish. However, in the modern age, there are fewer and fewer opportunities to wear and enjoy traditional garb, putting it at risk of being lost to time. The creations of F.O.A are an attempt to save the Japanese kimono from that fate by making the clothing and its accessories more accessible and reminding people of just how wonderful they are.

From our talks with Chitose Abe and the team at F.O.A, it’s clear that they have a deep love for the kimono, and we hope that this article has convinced you that their creations are an expression of that love. If you ever get a chance to experience one of their creations firsthand, you should do yourself a favor and take it. There is nothing else like an F.O.A obi cushion out there.

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search