古民家:日式傳統建築歷久不衰的魅力

古民家指的是美麗又傳統的日式建築,常見於日本的郊區。在建造上使用許多巧妙且實用的設計技術,通常會同時被用做居家生活和工作時的場所,整體規模也會較大些以便滿足多樣的用途。在高度技術和優質原料下製成的古民家,即便在經歷過許多災害和地震後仍得以保留下來。這些傳統的日式房屋不僅被認定為日本文化遺產,也是日式建築的經典教科書,接下來我們將為您好好介紹日式古民家一番,包含其歷史、典型特色和日本各地幾處仍能一見古民家真面目的地點!

日本

日本文化

古民家是什麼?

「古民家」字面上來看即為老房子之意,這個詞多適用在二次世界大戰前建造的特定風格傳統日式建築。古民家建築會使用全天然素材資源建造,包括木材、土及稻草等,在設計上也有一些明確的原則。

傾斜且大器的茅草屋頂可說是許多古民家最顯著的特徵,而除了外觀,內部也有不少特徵,如同前面有提到的,古民家通常是農民和商人的住家,因此在規劃上會兼具住宅和工作取向,不僅有舒適居家感,也得顧及功能和便利性。

古民家的歷史

日本最早的古民家建於300多年前,且可追溯至江戶時期(1603~1868),傳統的日式房屋既美觀又實用,出現在當時日本各地的城鎮及村莊中,其中又以農村和山區更為密集。這些建築在設計上能適應日本鮮明的四季變化,也可承受夏季的熾熱高溫與冬季的嚴寒。

傳統的日式住宅通常也是住宿和工作場所合一,需要有儲藏空間及能作為店面的區域。而古民家通常是工匠、農民、商人及富裕家庭的住宅。這種多功能性室內規劃也正提供了適合在傳統房屋中做生意或販賣商品的環境。

雖然這些傳統日式建築有許多相似的特性,但日本全國的古民家也因各地不同的氣候和區域個性而有許多不同風格的變化。例如位於日本北部北海道及青森地區的古民家便是能承受冬季大量降雪的設計,而靠近海邊或易受到颱風影響的地區則需要足夠堅固耐用,以抵抗強勁的大風吹過。

特色

古民家建築的特色是巧妙又簡單,能同時符合屋主的需求和適應當地地理特性的設計。

古民家建築的結構堅固,其屋內的大型架構由許多厚實的木頭樑柱組成,通常多選用大型橡樹或柏樹為素材,有些樹齡甚至達200年。由專業工匠和建造商建置,他們能在整個建造過程中完全不用使用釘子,用一種類似於拼圖嵌接的方式,將各部分組合起來完成古民家建築的整體架構。

就外觀上來看,又厚又斜的茅草屋頂即是古民家的最大特徵,在房屋上聳立著A字型的架構,這也是日本傳統建築中非常經典的特色之一。傾斜的屋頂可保護房屋不受積雪的影響,且能在冬季時提供室內保溫並在濕熱的夏季檔避太陽日照。要建造出如此多功能的屋頂並不簡單,且通常每20~30年需要再進行整修工程。

傳統日本房屋內的典型設計

為了方便古民家能「一屋多用」,其內部被刻意設計為多功能的取向,即使除去這些古民家在設計上的高度可變動性,古民家中依然存在不少共同的特點。

「土間」是傳統日本建築中連接室內與屋外中間的中介多用途空間,在潮濕或寒冷氣候時,堅硬的地板也讓土間區域可做為廚房或作業場所來使用,有時也會成為販售商品的商店營業空間。

「圍爐裏(囲炉裏)」是房屋的核心,這個開放的爐灶不僅溫暖了房屋,也同時是個大型火爐,常見裝滿水的茶壺從天花板上以繩子吊掛在圍爐裏上方,如此大家便能持續有熱水使用。圍爐裏也是做飯的場所,大家會圍著爐灶邊吃飯或是招待來訪客人。日式建築的地板通常鋪有榻榻米,除了土間區域外,房屋內的地板通常會建於高於地面約半米左右的高度上,如此便能善用空間,將大型爐灶往下建在地板下方。

古民家通常為大戶人家居住,有時因為飼養牛馬等家畜需要更多空間,有些古民家可能會有多達4到5層樓。儘管如此,但在傳統日式家屋內卻很少看到牆壁,而是由「障子」或「襖」的拉門隔板取代,為室內帶來了很多可變動的彈性並同時更富實用性。只需要移動這些拉門或隔板,房間就能瞬間一分為二或是因此有了不同的空間形狀,可依據不同的用途需求來調整。

此外,「緣側」也是傳統日式建築中常見的設計,緣側是環繞在房屋外部的走廊,不少拉門因此會設在緣側周邊,方便居民在想前往房子內的各處時,無需穿越中間的其他房間便能直接經走廊前往。

古民家大型屋頂的下方屋簷處長被用來養蠶,特別是農家中最為常見。其原因是當房屋內的熱氣上升聚集在房屋頂端,正好成為合適蠶寶寶生長的環境,而蠶可生產絲綢,並進而製成服飾或是高價商品進行販售。

逐漸式微的傳統日式房屋

過去的幾十年中,日本整體古民家的數量呈下降趨勢,二次大戰後隨著工業化的快速發展,年輕人離開農村和與農業相關的職業,前往城市新興產業已獲得更好的薪資或找尋找不需大量勞力的工作。據悉目前全日本約古民家數量大約落在12萬戶左右。

年輕世代往城市移動,促使許多農村地區的人口高齡化。古民家建築成為兒女後輩們順勢繼承後的一種負擔。在日本房產市場中,二手轉賣的物件很難有漂亮的價錢,土地才是有價值的資產,但如果土地上方仍有房子或其他物品,土地的價值也會跟著降低許多。

多數情況下,這些留給後世的財產都不會真的被認領,考量到拆除舊房子的費用和繼承所有權時須支付的稅金等家算起來會是相當大筆的金額,日本許多傳統房屋也在無人承接的狀況下年久失修甚至荒廢倒塌。

古民家風潮重現

然而,近年來在日本,喜愛古民家和致力維護保存現有古民家的的風氣再漸興起。身為日本傳統建築的典型,古民家之所以越來越受到重視,不僅只因其素雅美麗的外觀,還有其耐用性。古民家的位置多在遠離都市的深山郊區,某種程度上也意味著這種傳統建築被視為是逃離城市喧囂生活的完美場所。

儘管距離建造年代已久遠,這些傳統日本住宅仍是工程上的一大成就,且被證實為具有驚人的恢復性。如同前述提到的日本房地產的保值率很低,這一點適用於無論是新房子或是古民家上。甚至還有一種說法是日本的房屋多半只能維持30年,因為當代房屋在建造時就是以不超過一個世代居住的時間來規劃的。反過來看古民家則多是在建造的200~300年後依然存在,其看似簡單又巧妙的設計卻也大多數成功挺過許多自然災害的考驗,像是過去幾百年中出現在日本的無數大小地震等。

時至今日,有許多保護團體和企業試圖恢復並以不同的方式多加使用傳統日式房屋。重新發現古民家對於文化的重要性及其在本身良好架構和寬敞腹地上藏有的巨大潛力,日本年輕世代已重啟欣賞古民家的風氣,並願意為這些歷史悠久的建築注入新的生命。
 
日本各地有許多由古民家重建而成的咖啡廳、餐廳或是飯店等,有些人甚至會購買古民家並翻新整修為現代家庭住宅。雖然購買和翻新古民家所需的費用不便宜,且此一房產投資在未來幾乎很難有回報,因此即便是經濟上有能力負擔,願意真的選擇這麼做的人仍相當有限,但對這些願意嘗試的人來說,可以享受在美麗有歷史,同時又寬敞的環境中的住宅中生活,便是最好最值得的回報。

日本哪裡能看到古民家建築?

傳統的日本房屋建築現今仍能在許多地方找到,其中主要多在日本的鄉村地區,

白川鄉與五箇山

日本最有名的古民家聚落位於岐阜縣的白川和富山縣的五箇山這兩個鄰近的區域。這兩地都有許多村莊,村莊中以也有著陡峭茅草覆蓋屋頂的傳統日式房屋而聞名,呈人字型的屋頂如同雙手合十一般,因此也稱作合掌造(合掌造り)建築,傾斜的屋頂在能讓雪堆輕易從屋頂上落下不會產生厚重積雪。

白川和五箇山皆別列為聯合國教科文組織認定的世界遺產,美麗的傳統古民家住宅矗立在壯觀自然景觀之中,其中不乏許多超過300年以上歷史的古民家建築。當冬季白川和五箇山被高達數尺的白雪覆蓋時,那景象尤其令人驚艷。

大內宿

除此之外,還有一個以江戶時代傳統房屋而聞名的小鎮——福島縣的大內宿。大內宿在過去曾是驛站小鎮,江戶時代時這裡有許多餐廳和旅館,為當時的旅行者提供停留休憩的場所。時至現代,大內宿的街道兩旁依舊留有保存良好的傳統古民家建築,您可以在大內宿町展示館中一覽這些古民家在過往江戶時期時的樣貌。

美山 茅草屋之里

美山町茅草屋之里是一個迷人的老村莊,有著約40棟傳統茅草房屋,位於距京都約30公里遠之處。儘管因為這裡全部的古民家建築至今都仍為私人住宅,相對較難進入探訪,但漫步這個美麗又寧靜的村莊內將讓您感覺像是穿越時空回到過去一般。此外,您也可以在充滿江戶時代風情的美山茅草屋之里民俗博物館中近一步探所古民家建築的內部細節。

日本民家園

若是前往位於東京以南神奈川縣的川崎市立日本民家園,您可以看到大量保存良好且獨具特色的日本傳統房屋。這些傳統建築由日本各地地區搬遷過來,為了能更妥善地進行維護及保存。每座房屋都遵造其原始風格來進行精心修復和重建,這也更真實地反映出當初原址的樣貌和當時的使用情境。

席捲現代日本的舊時魅力

結合理想的工作場所和居住空間,同時能承受多變的氣候變化,傳統日本房屋的美好與其魅力正帶來一波捲土重來的吸引力。作為日式建築中的代表及且富涵文化傳承意義,古民家因此特別受到大家的讚賞。在日本各地,這些日本傳統房屋也已開始享受新的生命,在21世紀之後化身為飯店、家庭旅館或咖啡廳,以不同的面貌接近年輕一代,讓他們逐漸深陷古典日式傳統建築的魅力之中。

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

作者簡介

James
James Davies

搜尋餐廳

Kominka: Discover the Enduring Beauty of Traditional Japanese Houses

Kominka are beautiful and traditional Japanese houses, most commonly found in rural areas of Japan. Constructed using a number of ingenious yet practical design techniques, kominka were often both a place of work as well as a home, and usually built to a grand scale to accomodate a number of uses. Many kominka still stand today, having been built with such technical skill and high quality materials as to survive numerous natural disasters and earthquakes. Today, these traditional Japanese houses are seen as a part of Japan's cultural heritage as well as wonderful examples of traditional Japanese architecture. In this article we will explain what exactly kominka are and explore the history and the typical features of kominka, as well as where in Japan they can still be found today.

Nationwide

Japanese Culture

What is a Kominka?

The word “kominka” literally means "old house" and the term generally applies to a certain style of traditional Japanese house built before World War II. Kominka homes are built entirely from natural sources, including wood, clay, and straw, and typically share a handful of specific design principles. 

Usually the most noticeable feature of a kominka home is a huge sloping thatched roof. The interior of these traditional Japanese houses also have a number of unique features. Often homes to farmers and merchants, kominka were designed as a place of work as much as a family home and needed to be utilitarian and multifunctional, as well as homely. 

The History Of Kominka Houses

The earliest kominka homes were built over 300 years ago and can be traced back as far as the Edo period (1603 - 1868). Both practical and beautiful, traditional Japanese houses were built in towns and villages throughout Japan. Often located in rural or mountainous regions of Japan, these marvels of traditional Japanese architecture were designed to endure each of Japan’s distinctly different seasons, from the fierce cold winters to the high temperatures of hot summers.

Traditional Japanese houses were also often a place of work as well as homes, and needed space for storage and an area that could be used as a shopfront. Kominka were usually homes for artisans, farmers, or merchants, as well as wealthy families. The multifunctional interior of these traditional homes meant that there could also be a space that could be used to conduct business or as a store for selling goods.

Though these traditional Japanese houses share many characteristics, kominka were built throughout the country with many regional variations and styles depending on the local climate in the areas they were built. For example, kominka built in Hokkaido or Aomori in the north of Japan were designed to withstand the huge amounts of snowfall that comes each winter. Kominka built nearer to a coastline or an area prone to typhoons would often need to be strong enough to cope with dangerously high winds.

The Traditional Features of a Kominka

Kominka houses typically share a number of ingenious yet remarkably simple design features that ensure that they are perfectly suited to the household's needs as well as its geography and climate. 

Kominka are very sturdy structures, and the huge frames of these traditional Japanese houses are made from thick beams of wood. The beams of a kominka are usually made from the trunk of enormous oak or cypress trees that could be up to 200 years old. Kominka were constructed by expert craftsmen and builders who developed techniques in which the entire frame of the house could be built without using a single nail, instead the pieces fitting together like a puzzle. 

From the outside, the most noticeable feature of a kominka is its thick thatched roof. This is usually on top of an A-frame that towers over the house and is a striking example of traditional Japanese architecture. The long sloping roof protects the house from thick snow and insulates the interior during the winter. The same roof also keeps out the heat from the sun during the hot and humid summers. Building these stunning roofs is no easy feat, and they usually need to be rebuilt every 20 - 30 years.

Typical Features Found Inside a Traditional Japanese House

The interior of kominka were deliberately designed to be highly multifunctional in order to play several different roles. Whilst the design of a kominka always allowed for the interior of the house to be as flexible as possible, they typically shared a number of common features. 

At the entrance of a traditional Japanese house is the “doma.” The doma is a multipurpose area with a hard floor that acts as the connection between the inside and the outside of the house. The hard floor allowed the doma to be used as the kitchen or as a workplace during wet or colder weather. The doma was also used as the shop space for those who had goods to trade.

At the heart of the house is the “irori,” the open hearth that provides heat for the house as well as acting as a stove. A kettle filled with water usually hangs over the hearth from a cord from the ceiling, providing a constant supply of hot water to the house. The irori was also used for cooking, and families would sit and eat or entertain guests whilst sat around hearth. The floors of traditional Japanese houses are often laid with tatami mats, and apart from the doma, the ground floor is typically built at a raised height of around half a meter from the ground. This allows for the hearth to be built into the floor and utilizing the small space beneath the house. 

Originally occupied by large families, and in some cases with added space for a few horses or cattle, there may be as many as four or five stories to a kominka home. However, there are usually very few internal walls inside a traditional Japanese home. Instead, rooms are sectioned off by sliding partitions called “shoji” and “fusuma.” This gave the interior a huge amount of flexibility and allowed kominka to be incredibly pragmatic and multifunctional. By sliding open the shoji or fusuma, a room could double in size or suddenly have a different shape, opening it up for an entirely different use.  

Many traditional Japanese houses also featured an “engawa,” or an outer corridor that circles the outside of the house. Some of the sliding partitions would open onto the engawa, which allowed residents to move to any other part of the house without having to walk through any other rooms.

At the very top of the house, the eaves underneath the kominka's enormous roof were often used to grow silkworms, especially in farmhouses. The heat that rose to the top of the house would provide the perfect environment to cultivate silkworms, which in turn would be used to produce silk. Silk could then be used to make clothing whilst also a valuable commodity.

The Decline Of Japan's Traditional Houses

Over the past few decades, the number of kominka in Japan has declined. Following the rapid industrialization of Japan after the Second World War, many from younger generations left rural areas and traditional agricultural jobs to find better paid and less physical work in newer industries in large cities. It's believed that there are around 120,000 kominka homes left in Japan today.

The migration of younger people to the cities has left an aging population living in many of Japan's rural areas. In many cases, kominka homes often became a burden to family members in line to inherit them from their parents. Property in Japan typically has very little resale value. Instead, the land that a house occupies is the asset, and that land is worth a lot less if there is a house (and all of its contents) still standing on it.

Often, property that has been left to younger members of the family goes unclaimed, as the cost of demolishing the house, plus the inheritance taxes that are to be paid when taking ownership of a house, are seen as too much to take on. As a result, many traditional Japanese houses have typically been left uninhabited and fallen into disrepair, often to the point where they are close to collapse.

The Rediscovery Of Kominka Houses in Japan

In recent years, however, there has been a growing appreciation of kominka in Japan, as well as a concerted effort to preserve and celebrate those that remain. Increasingly cherished as beautiful examples of traditional Japanese architecture, kominka are admired not only for their beauty but also their durability. Their location, usually deep within Japan’s breathtaking countryside, means that such traditional homes are often seen as the perfect place to escape from the daily grind of urban life.

Despite their age, these traditional Japanese homes are marvels of engineering and have proved to be incredibly resilient. As already mentioned, property retains very little value in Japan, and this applies as much to new housing as it does to traditional kominka homes. There’s a common saying that homes in Japan only last for thirty years as modern houses aren’t built to last beyond a generation. But many kominka still stand 200 - 300 years after they were first built. Their simple but ingenious design means that the majority have survived many natural disasters, such as the numerous earthquakes that have affected Japan over the past few hundred years.

Today, there are a wide variety of preservation groups and businesses attempting to restore and often repurpose traditional Japanese houses. Recognizing the cultural importance of kominka, as well as the huge potential in such well built and spacious properties, kominka are enjoying a resurgence in appreciation from younger generations of Japanese people willing to breathe new life into historic Japanese homes.
 
There are many examples of kominka that have been renovated and restored as cafes, restaurants, and even hotels throughout Japan. Some people are even buying and renovating kominka as modern family homes. However, the expense of buying and then renovating a kominka, combined with the almost non-existent return on investment, means that this is still a relatively uncommon labor of love for those who can afford it. Yet the reward for those who do take the plunge is living in a beautiful, historic, and spacious home in Japan's breathtaking countryside.

Where To See Kominka Homes in Japan Today

Mostly found in rural areas of Japan, there are plenty of places where traditional Japanese houses can still be found today.

Shirakawa and Gokayama

By far the most famous kominka in Japan are in the neighboring areas of Shirakawa in Gifu prefecture and Gokayama in Toyama prefecture. Both areas are home to numerous villages that feature gorgeous traditional Japanese houses famous for their steeply thatched roofs, known as “gassho-zukuri,” which are known for resembling two hands touching as well as allowing snow to easily fall off the roofs.

Shirakawa and Gokayama have both been declared UNESCO World Heritage sites due to the number of beautiful traditional kominka homes that stand amongst a spectacular rural landscape, many of which are over 300 years old. Both are particularly beautiful during the winter months when the kominka are blanketed in several feet of thick snow.

Ouchijuku

Another traditional town famous for its charming Edo-period traditional houses is Ouchijuku in Fukushima prefecture. Ouchijuku is a former post town that was home to a number of restaurants and inns during the Edo period. Post towns were used as a place to stop and rest by weary travelers, and today Ouchijiku’s streets are lined with beautifully maintained kominka. The Ouchijuku Town Museum, housed inside a grand former inn, is a great place to see how the interior of a kominka would have looked during the Edo period. 

Miyama Kayabuki no Sato

Around thirty kilometers from Kyoto is Miyama Kayabuki no Sato, a beautiful old village with around 40 traditional Japanese homes. Though a little hard to reach, almost all of the kominka in Miyama Kayabuki no Sato are still private homes, and wandering around this tranquil village set in the beautiful Japanese countryside is like stepping back in time. Here too you can explore the interior of a kominka at the Miyama Kayabuki no Sato Folk Museum which is laid out in the traditional style of the Edo period.

Nihon Minka-en

You can also see a vast collection of beautifully preserved traditional Japanese houses at the Nihon Minka-en in Kanagawa, just south of Tokyo. At the Nihon Minka-en is a huge number of impressive kominka that have been relocated from towns and villages all over Japan in efforts to preserve them. Each house has been carefully restored and rebuilt in its original style that reflects how they would have looked and been used in their original locations.

Old-World Charm Updated For Modern Japan

Due to their charm and beauty, traditional Japanese houses are enjoying a resurgence of interest. Built as the ideal work and living space, whilst being able to withstand a wide range of tough rural climates, today kominka are as admired as spectacular examples of classic Japanese architecture as well as for their cultural heritage. In many areas throughout Japan, these traditional houses are enjoying a new lease of life, updated for the 21st century as hotels, home-stays, and cafes, allowing younger generations to fall for the old-world charm of the classic kominka.

Title image credit (left to right): Kat KTM / Shutterstock.com, Javarman / Shutterstock.com

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search