九州人气温泉地TOP10大盘点!人气酒店网站用户票选排行榜

如今自肃宅家的时间越来越多,想必很多人都体会到了日本露天温泉的魅力,想在野外放松身心惬意泡汤吧。日本作为温泉大国,有着为数众多的温泉地,其中九州更是温泉爱好者们不容错过的泡汤好去处,许许多多著名温泉都云集于此。本文将为您带来人气酒店预订网站“Jalan”的用户们盘点出的“2021九州人气温泉地排行榜”TOP10温泉地超详细介绍,前十排行榜中囊括了自然风光无限好,被山海环抱的露天温泉等丰富多彩的九州温泉,让您充分领略它们的魅力所在!

九州

体验

为什么九州有这么多著名温泉地?

在温泉涌出量和源泉数量方面,日本国内前五的温泉地中位于九州的就占了三处,温泉天国的美誉可谓实至名归。九州地区多活火山,地热能加热地下水,因此九州各个地区都有蕴含当地独特成分的温泉涌出。丰富的泉量让街道笼罩在温泉的水蒸气中,这片土地特有的泉质吸引了众多游客纷至沓来。加之当地居民团结一心,齐心协力打造出了特色温泉街文化,九州之所以有这么多著名温泉,想必这便是答案之一。

九州这样的温泉天国,您会不会为不知道该去哪个温泉而感到迷惘呢?别担心,本文将为您来带由2020年日本观光资讯网站中浏览用户数第一的“Jalan”网站用户盘点出的“2021九州人气温泉地排行榜”,带您彻底领略九州各温泉地的魅力所在!快来寻找您心仪的温泉地吧。

TOP1:享誉海内外的日本第一温泉都市!别府温泉乡(大分县)

别府温泉乡的源泉数量和温泉涌出量均位居日本第一,涌出量为83,058公升/分钟(※第二名为44,486公升/分钟),源泉数量为2,848处(※第二名为804处),别府市内可以入内的温泉设施就多达300处以上,其规模远远超过了其他地区。

其中最有名的要数被国家认定为具有文化价值的“别府地狱”温泉了。别府地狱包括海地狱、血池地狱、白池地狱等,这些地狱温泉均为自然涌出的源泉,分别有着不同的颜色和奇妙的景观。其中最大的海地狱,温泉中含有硫酸铁成分,呈现出钴蓝色,被随着四季变换呈现出不同之美的庭院所包围,与其说是地狱,更好比天堂。虽然海地狱不能直接进去泡汤,但您依然可以享受源自海地狱源泉水的足汤、以及将温泉水粉末化后制作的入浴剂“恩曼之汤”等,众多游客都沉浸在海地狱所带来的乐趣中。

在日本,有句话是这样说的:“看山要数富士山,观海要去濑户内,泡汤则要来别府”。别府作为日本最具代表性的温泉地,连海伦·凯勒等众多欧美名人都造访过此地。别府丰富的温泉资源不仅适合观光旅游,还运用于地热发电、花卉栽培、渔业养殖等广泛领域。光是站在别府这片土地上,就能感受到这座与温泉共生的温泉都市的魅力吧。

TOP2:从任意一间旅馆就能游遍整个温泉街。可以巡游28处露天温泉的黑川温泉(熊本县)

黑川温泉是拥有30间住宿设施的温泉乡,所有住宿设施和山中风景都被视作一个整体的旅馆。在这一设计理念下,为了将每个旅馆视作独立房间,将连接旅馆与旅馆之间的小径视作“走廊”,黑川温泉乡将温泉街的招牌全部统一,通过修剪和植树的方式来调和了各个部分的风景,每家旅馆都打造出了可以将自然风光进展现、作为镇店之宝的露天温泉。每个露天温泉都有各自的独特魅力,譬如游客站着就能让肩膀浸泡在温泉中的站立式温泉、旅馆老板亲自挖的洞窟温泉等等,加上黑川温泉拥有的7种不同的泉质,让您无论去多少家温泉都意犹未尽!

另外您还可购入名为“入汤手形”的泡汤木牌,一枚仅需1300日元,就能任选3间旅馆泡汤,非常划算,让您可以将黑川温泉基本上所有的露天温泉泡个遍。无论您入住哪间旅馆,都可以玩转整个黑川温泉。

在黑川温泉街,还有很多适合边逛边吃的的特产美食、个性十足的伴手礼店,让您可以从头逛到尾。每年特定时期还有举行“汤明(YUAKARI)”点灯活动(2020年12月19日(周六)〜2021年5月30日(周日))。活动期间将点亮约500个球形“鞠灯笼”以及高达2米的“筒灯笼”。如此内容丰富的温泉街,会让您两天一夜的行程都觉得还未尽兴。

TOP3:整条街就像美术馆一样!日本女性的憧憬之地,由布院温泉(大分县)

由布院温泉被日本认定为国民疗养温泉地,拥有约900个源泉,每分钟38600公升的涌出量。一边惬意地泡在温泉中,一边眺望被誉为丰后富士的美丽圆锥形由布岳,平日的疲劳都会烟消云散。由布岳山脚还有人气散步景点金鳞湖。湖水是涌出的温泉和清水,气温变低的冬日清晨,湖面就会被雾气笼罩,呈现出梦幻般的光景。傍晚时分,夕阳洒下金鳞般夺目余晖,这也是不容错过的瞬间。

温泉街没有闹市,但有很多譬如由布院站的艺术馆和个人画廊等文化设施。另外,还有被称作由布院御三家的高级旅馆,散发出高雅气息,整条街如同美术馆般美丽。被沉稳的由布岳自然风光、以及高雅氛围所包围的由布院自古以来一直是日本众多女性憧憬之地。

TOP4:温泉功效为普通的3~4倍!将身体埋在沙中的样子非常上镜!尽在指宿温泉(鹿儿岛县)

指宿温泉位于一个被山海环抱的绝美之地,被誉为“东洋夏威夷”。在各种温泉中,最不容错过的就要数天然沙蒸温泉了。面向海岸的地下蕴藏着温泉,温泉加热了地面的沙子,采取将身体埋进温热的沙中这种独特的入浴方式,能够缓解神经痛、肌肉痛,还有美容功效,人气极高。近年来医学证明了这种沙蒸温泉的功效是普通温泉的~4倍,吸引了更多游客从全国各地纷至沓来。

沙蒸温泉只需您躺下来,就会有几个工作人员帮忙用沙把您埋起来。体验一下这种不可多得的感受,看着自己的亲朋好友埋在沙中的样子,一定相当有趣。有些沙蒸温泉还会为您准备拍照用的板子等,让您可以拍出众多与在其他地方截然不同的新颖上镜照片。虽然本人被埋在了沙中,无法用手拍照,但工作人员会帮您拍摄,您就一心一意埋在沙中享受沙蒸的乐趣吧。

TOP5:让温泉和茶让您由内而外都焕然一新!日本三大美肌之汤,嬉野温泉(佐贺县)

很久很久以前,河中有一只疲惫的白鹤,它将翅膀浸泡在水中后又活力十足地飞了起来,这一幕被神巧皇后看到了,于是她让在战场上负伤的士兵也下到河中,这些士兵的伤都被治愈。而嬉野温泉正是这个传说中的河川。在传说中,看到伤兵被治愈的皇后大喜,说到“啊,真是让人开心呐“(日语古语“开心”的发音与嬉野同音),这便成为了嬉野温泉名字的由来。嬉野温泉被评选为日本三大美肌之汤,泉水为优质碱性泉,质地丝滑绵密,富含食盐和碳酸,汲取上来的温泉温度可达100度。

嬉野温泉遍布众多魅力十足的温泉设施,有让您的肌肤也可以品尝到嬉野特产嬉野茶妙处的“茶风吕”、有德国医生西博尔德也造访过、拥有1200年的悠久历史的公共浴场“西博尔德之汤”、还有用有田烧的窑户特别订制的“陶器风吕”等等。浸泡在温泉中,享用富含维C、儿茶素等抗氧化物的嬉野茶,让您由内而外都容光焕发吧。

TOP6:在30个地狱中来一段异世界短途巡游!日本首个位于国立公园中的云仙温泉(长崎县)

屹立在岛原半岛中央的云仙岳一带是日本首个位于国立公园中的温泉疗养地。云仙这个地名原本写作日文的“温泉”,但读音却又跟日文的“云仙”(UNZEN)相同,是一个历史悠久的地方。含有硫磺的强酸性泉质具有杀菌功效,适合治疗湿疹、冻伤等皮肤病,还有美肤的作用。

云仙地狱是著名观光景点,这里的岩石表面会喷出蒸汽,四周弥漫着硫磺的味道。作为天主教殉教的舞台,这里拥有大叫唤地狱等30多个地狱,地狱夜间巡游之旅(申请制)在爱好者中间人气很高。可以边听各种故事边游览各个地狱。各类设施齐全,能够让您充分体验地狱氛围,在约60分钟的旅程途中,有脚下可以感受到地热或喷气的休息区、还可以享用地狱蒸汽烹制的温泉蛋等等,这种地狱般的异世界光景说不定反而可以让您放松身心,恢复活力哦。

TOP7:坂本龙马新婚旅行时造访的名汤,雾岛温泉(鹿儿岛县)

雾岛温泉是雾岛市所有温泉的总称,主要由“雾岛温泉乡”、“雾岛神宫温泉乡”、“妙见・安乐温泉乡”、“日当山温泉乡”这四大温泉组成。其中雾岛温泉乡的硫磺谷温泉是在京都伏见寺田屋事件中负伤的坂本龙马和妻子阿龙一起温泉疗养兼新婚旅行时造访之地,是历史悠久的名汤。其中的大浴场最为有名,拥14处源泉、4种泉质,如同主题公园一般,让您可以尽情享受泡汤的乐趣。

观光的话,还可以去南九州最大的神宫雾岛神宫、作为能量圣地非常有名的犬饲泷等地,这些也是龙马新婚旅行时去过的地方,拥有很高的人气。现在的生活节奏如同打仗一般,雾岛正好可以治愈身心疲惫的现代人,快和龙马一同游历这些胜地吧。

TOP8:日本天然矿泉水源头,被优质水惠泽的南阿苏温泉乡(熊本县)

阿苏山拥有世界上屈指可数的破火山口,而南阿苏温泉乡就位于阿苏山南侧,由栃木温泉、垂玉温泉、地狱温泉、大阿苏火山温泉、白水温泉这五大温泉组成。栃木温泉寂静的原始森林非常治愈,垂玉温泉的独特风情深受北原白秋、与谢野铁干等著名和歌诗人喜爱、还有自古以来作为汤治场(温泉疗养地)繁荣至今的的地狱温泉等等,每个温泉都散发着各自独特的魅力。

另外,由于破火山口和中央火口丘群的存在,这里有被评选为日本名水百选的白川水源,进入了平成名水百选的南阿苏涌水群等共计11处水源,让南阿苏村的温泉涌水十分丰富。清澈的泉水作为日本天然矿泉水的源泉也声名远播。用这种名水制作的豆腐、汽水等被称作“涌水美食”,收录在了旅游指南里面。温泉加上涌水,在南阿苏温泉乡,您可以尽情沉浸在温泉的怀抱中。

TOP9:治愈人和鹿,丝滑绵密的美肤温泉!山鹿・平山温泉(熊本县)

山鹿温泉是熊本县境内历史最为悠久的温泉地之一,它的起源要说回12世纪,据说当时人们看到一只受伤的鹿浸泡在水中,才发现了山鹿温泉。街中除了20来间住宿设施以外,还有被认为是9世纪日本佛教僧人空海打开的“金刚乘寺石门”、建于明治时代(1868〜1912年),被国家指定为重要文化财产的戏园子“八千代座”、大正时代(1912〜1926年)建造的“山鹿灯笼民艺馆”等众多景点,让您感觉将各个时代都游历了一遍。另外,还有当地居民为您当向导、以及乘坐人力车等丰富的旅游体验项目,在这条温泉街中,您可以感受到当地居民带给您的温暖,以及不可思议的怀旧氛围。

距离温泉街稍远的地方还有山鹿的近郊温泉街“平山温泉”,传说约1300年前,人们用祈祷阿苏大明神时涌出的温泉治好了当时流行的皮肤病。山鹿温泉・平山温泉的泉水为碱性单纯泉,质地丝滑绵密,对肌肤温和,作为美人之汤被人们喜爱至今。

TOP10:夏目漱石的灵感源泉?深受阿苏火山福泽的阿苏・内牧温泉(熊本县)

说到九州著名观光地,要数熊本县阿苏市的破火山口(因火山活动而产生的巨大凹地)了。阿苏山拥有东西横贯约18千米,南北纵贯约25千米的全世界屈指可数的破火山口。在阿苏山周边的温泉乡中,最大的就是阿苏・内牧温泉。

由火山产生的泉水量非常丰足,高温且透明无色的温泉可饮用。温泉街拥有约80处源泉和近30间住宿设施,可谓阿苏首屈一指的高人气温泉街。其中人气最高的是连当地人都非常喜爱的“町汤”。7家町汤无论源泉还是泉质都各不相同,费用为100日元起,让您能够轻松泡遍这些温泉。

泡在夏目漱石和与谢野晶子等众多日本代表性文豪都造访过的内牧温泉中,一边享受大自然的恩泽,一边激发您的创作灵感吧。

温泉天国九州的妙处就在于温泉巡游。除了泡汤以外,当地民风民俗、街上氛围、本土美食也是九州温泉地的魅力所在。现在快将TOP10温泉地中您的心仪之所列入清单,等可以自由旅行以后,游遍各色温泉地吧。

本文提供信息均以公开时为准。

Weibo

搜寻餐厅

Kyushu’s Top 10 Onsen Areas Chosen by Users of a Popular Hotel Booking Site in Japan

Japan’s open-air baths seem even more appealing today now that much of our time is spent at home. Japan is the land of hot springs (“onsen” in Japanese), and Kyushu in particular is full of famous onsen areas irresistible to hot spring lovers. This article delves deep into the ten top onsen areas of 2021, chosen by users of the popular hotel booking site, Jalan. Take a look and go and enjoy the wide selection of hot springs in Kyushu, including open-air baths surrounded by magnificent natural views of the ocean and mountains.

Kyushu

Things to Do

Why Are There So Many Famous Onsen Areas in Kyushu?

Kyushu is sometimes referred to as a “hot spring heaven,” as it has three of the top five onsen areas in Japan in terms of number of hot spring water sources and the amount of hot spring water. This is said to be due to the large number of active volcanoes in Kyushu. These volcanoes warm the underground water and give the spring water in each area unique characteristics. The abundant hot spring water produces steam that envelops towns and attracts many visitors, who travel to enjoy the unique qualities of the spring water in each locale. Another factor in the popularity of many of Kyushu’s hot spring areas is the unique yet consistent hot spring culture of each locality, created with the group effort of the local residents.

The sheer number of hot springs in Kyushu may make it difficult to decide which one to visit, so this article takes an in-depth look at the most popular onsen areas in Kyushu based on the 2021 ranking by users of the hotel booking site, Jalan, which had the most visitors of any travel-related website in Japan in 2020.

No. 1: Japan’s Best Onsen City—The World-Famous Beppu Onsen (Oita)

Beppu Onsen is said to be by far the No. 1 onsen area in Japan: it has 2,848 spring water sources (compared to 804 in the No. 2 area) producing 83,058 liters of hot spring water every minute (44,486 liters at the No. 2 area) and more than 300 facilities within Beppu City alone to enjoy bathing in.

The “hells” of Beppu, which have been recognized by the government for their cultural value, are particularly famous. This name is applied to a number of hot spring sources with unique colors and views, including the Umi Jigoku (Sea Hell), Chi-no-Ike Jigoku (Blood Pond Hell), and Shira-ike Jigoku (White Pond Hell). Umi Jigoku, which is the largest, has a bright, azure color that is created by the iron sulfate in the hot spring water dissolving. It is surrounded by a beautiful garden that changes with the seasons, which is why it gives off a heavenly—rather than hellish—visage. It is not possible to bathe directly in the Umi Jigoku, but there are foot baths filled with its water and bath powder called “Enman-no-Yu” made from it, so visitors can still enjoy the benefits its waters impart.

Beppu is so famous that it is said that “The best of Japan is found at Mount Fuji, the Seto Inland Sea, and Beppu Onsen,” and many famous people from the West, including American author Hellen Keller, have paid a visit. The mineral-filled hot springs are not just a tourist attraction, but also used in a variety of industries including geothermal energy, floriculture, and fish farming. Just stepping foot in Beppu will give you the sense of a city that lives in harmony with its hot springs.

No. 2: Gain Access to 28 Open-Air Baths by Staying at One Inn at Kurokawa Onsen (Kumamoto)

Kurokawa Onsen is a hot spring area designed so that 30 ryokan (traditional Japanese inns) and the surrounding woodland area combine to create the semblance of one large resort. Thus, each inn is like a detached room, while the paths connecting them are passageways within the resort. To further strengthen this concept, all the signage is standardized, the landscape is carefully managed through actions such as tree planting and pruning, and the popular open-air baths at each ryokan are built in a way that best brings out their natural surroundings. There are a variety of different baths here, such as a “standing bath” that you can stand in with the water up to your neck and a cave-like bath that one of the inn owners dug themselves. There are also seven different types of hot spring water, so guests can go to multiple baths without getting bored. 

The Onsen-Hopping Pass with which you can visit three different baths is just 1,300 yen and is accepted at almost all the open-air baths in Kurokawa Onsen. This means that you can stay at any ryokan and still enjoy all that Kurokawa Onsen has to offer.

This hot spring town is also great to stroll around in, with many stores offering specialty foods and souvenir shops selling all kinds of unique items. In addition, an illumination event called “Yu-Akari,” in which approximately 500 spherical lanterns called “Mari Toro” and 2-meter-high tubular lanterns called “Tsutu Toro” are lit up, is held for a limited time every year (it is currently being held between Saturday, December 19, 2020 and Sunday, May 30, 2021). There is so much to see and do in Kurokawa Onsen, you may want to stay for more than a night.

No. 3: A Museum-Like Town Out of Dreams—Yufuin Onsen (Oita)

Yufuin Onsen is a hot spring area with approximately 900 springs producing 38,600 liters of hot spring water every minute. It has been designated as a hot spring health resort by the Japanese government. A relaxing soak in one of its hot springs while enjoying the beautiful cone-shaped Mt. Yufu—sometimes referred to as the Mt. Fuji of the Echigo Province—will make anyone forget about their busy daily life. At the foot of Mt. Yufu is Lake Kinrin, a lovely area to take a walk in. Below the lake sits hot and cold water springs that together produce fog when the temperature drops on winter mornings, creating an enchanting, mystic scene. You also can't miss the view during sunset, when the waters sparkle as bright as a goldfish.

Yufuin doesn't have any areas with bars or other night entertainment venues. However, there are many cultural facilities such as an “art hall” at Yufuin Station and privately-owned galleries. In addition, a group of three luxury ryokan within the hot spring village exude a sense of sophistication that, paired together with the cultural facilities, give the town a beauty that can be compared to what you'd find in an art museum. Yufuin, which is surrounded by the peaceful nature of Mt. Yufu and distinguished by a refined ambience, has long held the unassailable position of the place that many Japanese dream of visiting.

No. 4: Gain Triple the Hot Spring Benefits! The Photogenic Sand Baths of Ibusuki Onsen (Kagoshima)

Ibusuki Onsen is in a location with fantastic views of the sea and mountains, giving it the moniker of “Hawaii of the East.” Among the many hot springs in the area, not to be missed are the natural sand baths. This is a unique style of bathing wherein you are buried in sand that has been warmed by the underground hot spring water flowing to the ocean. It is said to help with nerve pain and muscle pain and that it also has benefits for the skin. Recently, medical research found that its benefits are three to four times that of the average hot spring, making this a popular destination for visitors from all around Japan.

At the sand baths, all you have to do is lie down and several staff members will cover you with sand. It is an unusual experience and fun to watch families and friends being buried together. Some facilities even have signage you can use to take photos with, so you can get a lot of interesting pictures. You won’t be able to take the photos yourself as your hands will be buried, but the staff will take the photos for you.

No. 5: Cleanse Your Body with Hot Spring Water and Tea at One of Japan’s Top 3 Beauty Hot Springs—Ureshino Onsen (Saga)

Once upon a time, the legendary Empress Jingu witnessed a white crane soak its tired wings in a river. Seeing the crane fly away with renewed energy, she had a wounded soldier soak in the same water, and discovered that it was a hot spring that healed wounds. This is the legend of Ureshino Onsen. The name is said to come from the empress uttering “ana, ureshino” (“I'm glad”) on seeing the soldier recover. The viscous hot spring water, which has been chosen as one of Japan’s three top spring waters for beautiful skin, is high-quality alkaline water with salt and sodium carbonate mixed in, and maintains a temperature of about 100°C when pumped up.

Ureshino Onsen boasts a variety of attractive hot spring facilities including a “chaburo” (tea bath) of the area’s specialty Ureshino tea; Siebold-no-Yu, a public bath with a 1,200-year history that the famous German physician, Philipp Franz von Siebold, bathed in; and a “ceramic bath” that was specially ordered from an Arita porcelain producer. Soak in the hot spring and enjoy Ureshino tea that is packed with antioxidants such as vitamin C and catechin to cleanse and renew your body from both the inside and out.

No. 6: Dive into Another World Through the 30 Hells at Japan’s First Hot Spring in a National Park—Unzen Onsen (Nagasaki)

Mt. Unzen in the center of the Shimabara Peninsula is actually a hot spring resort located within Japan’s first national park. Unzen was once written with the kanji characters for “onsen” but pronounced “’unzen.” The hot spring water is highly acidic and contains sulfur, which gives it sterilizing properties and makes it good for skin ailments, such as rashes and frostbites. In addition, it is said to have beauty benefits for the skin.

A popular tourist destination, Unzen Jigoku is an area with steam pouring out of its rock surface that carries a strong smell of sulfur. It was the site of Christian martyrdom during the Edo Period and has 30+ “hells,” including the Daikyokan (the fifth of eight hot hells in Buddhism). There is a 60-minute nighttime guided tour (reservation required) that is popular among enthusiasts and features different ways to feel the “hell," such as a rest area where you can feel the heat and steam on your feet and eggs cooked in the steam of the hells. Experiencing a hellish world that is so out of the ordinary may turn out to be quite refreshing!

No. 7: A Famous Hot Spring Where Ryoma Sakamoto Honeymooned—Kirishima Onsen (Kagoshima)

Kirishima Onsen is the general term for all the hot springs within Kirishima City, but it largely refers to Kirishima Onsenkyo, Kirishima Jingu Onsenkyo, Myoken-Anraku Onsenkyo, and Hinatayama Onsenkyo. Iodani Onsen within Kirishima Onsenkyo is a particularly famous hot spring known as the place the revolutionary samurai, Ryoma Sakamoto, went to with his wife Oryo for their honeymoon and to heal his wounds from a failed assassination attempt at Teradaya Inn in Fushimi, Kyoto. Today, Iodani Onsen features a large theme park-like open-air bath complex with four different types of hot spring water from 14 sources.

A popular itinerary for seeing the sights is to follow Ryoma’s honeymoon by going to Kirishima Jingu, which is the largest Shinto shrine in southern Kyushu; Inukai Falls, which is said to be an incredibly spiritual spot; and other locations. What a wonderful way for today’s "warriors" to experience the healing powers of Kirishima!

No. 8: A Source of Natural, Top-Quality Mineral Water—Minamiaso Onsenkyo (Kumamoto)

Minamiaso Onsenkyo is a hot spring area on the south side of Mt. Aso, known for one of the largest calderas in the world, and consists of Tochinoki Onsen, Tarutama Onsen, Jigoku Onsen, Oaso Hinoyama Onsen, and Hakusui Onsen. Each hot spring has its unique charms. For example, Tochinoki Onsen is where the virgin forests create a serene space to heal in, Tarutama Onsen was beloved by famous poets including Hakushu Kitahara and Tekkan Yosano, and Jigoku Onsen has long flourished as a hot spring spa.

The area is also blessed with an abundance of hot spring water due to the existence of the caldera and a central cone group, with a total of 11 water sources supplying Minamiaso Village with spring water. These are made up of Shirakawa Suigen, one of Japan's top 100 spring water sources, as well as the Minamiaso-mura Yusui-gun, the collective name for the rest of the spring sources that are said to have one of the top 100 spring waters of the Heisei era. These hot spring sources with crystal clear water are also famous as sources for Japan's natural mineral water. Tofu and ciders made with this special water are referred to as “wakisui gourmet” (spring water gourmet) and are introduced in guidebooks. Minamiaso Onsenkyo is an area where you can thoroughly enjoy the blessings of water though its hot springs and spring water. 

No. 9: Hot Springs for Beautiful Skin That Heal Both Humans and Deer—Yamaga Onsen & Hirayama Onsen (Kumamoto)

Yamaga Onsen is one of Kumamoto Prefecture’s oldest hot spring areas and is said to have been discovered in the 12th century when injured deer were seen to be bathing in its waters. The hot spring town has approximately 20 overnight accommodations, as well as a variety of historical tourist attractions including the stone gate at Kongojo-ji Temple, which the Buddhist monk, Kukai, is said to have established during the 9th century; Yachiyo-za, a playhouse built during the Meiji Period (1868 – 1912) that has been designated as an Important Cultural Property by the Japanese government; and Yamaga Lanterns Folk Crafts Museum, built during the Taisho Period (1912 – 1926). With guided tours by locals and rickshaw rides on offer, this is an onsen town where you can feel the warmth of the people and experience a sweet sense of nostalgia.

Slightly deeper into Yamaga is Hirayama Onsen. Legend has it that the outbreak of a skin disease was quelled by the hot spring waters of this region that welled as a result of prayers made to the Shinto deity, Aso Daimyojin. Both Yamaga Onsen and Hirayama Onsen have simple thermal hot springs with alkaline water that is gentle on the skin. Both have long been loved as hot springs for beauty.

No. 10: Blessed by Mt. Aso and an Inspiration to Soseki Natsume—Aso Uchimaki Onsen (Kumamoto)

The caldera in Aso City, Kumamoto Prefecture, is one of Kyushu’s most famous tourist destinations. The caldera spans approx. 18 km east to west and 25 km north to south, making it one of the world’s biggest. Aso Uchimaki Onsen is the largest of the onsen areas around Mt. Aso.

Aso Uchimaki Onsen has an abundance of hot spring water derived from the volcano. The water is hot, colorless, transparent, and fit for consumption. The onsen town which has about 80 hot springs and almost 30 accommodations is popular as one of the best in Aso. The seven “machiyu” (public baths) that are used by the locals as well as visitors are particularly popular. Each of them come from different sources and have unique characteristics, and can be enjoyed for a fee as low as 100 yen.

Aso Uchimaki Onsen was visited by many of Japan’s famous writers, including Soseki Natsume and Akiko Yosano. See what inspiration you may get surrounded by the beautiful nature of this charming hot spring area!

The best way to enjoy the “onsen heaven” of Kyushu is to visit its many hot springs. All the hot spring areas have various appeals and show off the charms of the local people, the town atmosphere, and the local cuisine in addition to the hot springs themselves. Why not make a list of the hot springs that have captured your eyes so that you can visit them when it is time to travel?

kyushu page banner

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search