日本人如何給予彼此祝福與祈禱 ── 御守文化

在日本神社和寺廟之中漫步總是讓人身心舒暢。比較特別的是,境內總會有授與所販售各種祈福開運的小物件,可能是護身符珠子、小布袋或是小紙條。這些小東西被稱為「御守(御守り/ omamori)」,是神社或寺廟籌措資金的方式之一。具有該神社或寺廟祭神之神力的特性而被廣大遊客所喜愛。本文將告訴您「御守」的確切含義和用途,並介紹一些在日本可以買到的有趣的幸運小物。

日本

日本文化

御守是什麼?

走進日本任何一家神社或寺廟,會發現各式各樣的御守被分門別類的放在不同的木製小盒子裡,或掛在架上,亦或是玻璃隔層的後面。日本的文化傳統裡佛教寺廟和神道神社都會有御守,是一種護身符。御守裡面放的通常會是一張具有神力的咒伏替持有者提供保護,是一種幸運符。

雖然御守沒有一種固定的形式,不過最常見的設計是一個帶有繩索的簡單布包,裡頭裝著(準確地說是藏著)受過祈願的符咒。可以把它放在錢包裡或掛在自己的包包上。日本人相信,無論是什麼場合或意外,神明的力量都會保護您免受侵害。

御守的歷史

御守是怎麼來的呢? 這個詞本身很清楚描述它存在的意義。御一字是敬稱,守則是保護和守護的意思。日本的宗教古老且混雜,御守出現在日本的確切機緣也連帶有些複雜。不過簡單地說是源於佛教護身符的傳統。

這種傳統在17世紀左右的日本才被採用,當時佛寺和神社都接納此習俗,開始製造和販售自己的護身符。最初是一個裡面裝有符咒的小木箱。是向佛寺或神社供奉的產品,也是一種帶來好運氣或抵擋惡運的攜帶式法具。

現代御守

自18和19世紀開始,御守的普及程度發生很大變化。如今最常見的樣子是以布袋的形式出現。這些布袋大小通常不比信用卡大,裡頭也塞著寫滿神靈保佑的的符咒。

還有其他種類的御守,比如說會設計成他們所守護的目標之形式。這類的御守看起來會更像是一種小飾品。雖然裡頭沒有裝著具有神力的符咒,但因其同樣也是神社出品,被認為具有同等靈力。

與過去一樣,大多數的御守都可以在神社或寺廟中購買,而且大部分都提供各種不同的選擇。 不過由於某些特別有名或靈驗的御守以及那居高不下、持久的人氣,全日本各地也會有特別販售這些御守的商店可以購買(在某些特殊情況下,甚至是設置自動販賣機來出售!)。價格從基本的大約200到800日幣不等,有些特別的或有名氣的價格則會超過1000日幣。

常見的御守

勝守(成功)

勝守可以買來或贈送給心裡有想要達成的目標的人。這種御守擁有幫助人們心想事成的祝福。如果您想要祈求一些祝福或保佑的話,這會是一個很好的選擇!

厄除開運守

與勝守不同,厄除開運守可以防止持有者遭受邪惡(厄運)的傷害,避免遭受負面效果或事件的影響。有一種常見的「開運除災」御守,可以幫助個人改善一年中最不幸的事情,還會因年齡而有所不同。如果當年是您犯太歲的那年或是有什麼您擔心會發生的事,那麼就可以選擇這種御守。

商業繁盛之御守

人們習慣將「商業繁盛」或「金運上昇」的御守放在錢包裡或掛在包包上,保佑避免不必要的支出或增加收入。 如果需要一些金錢財務上的運氣,那麼這種御守就是您的好選擇。

學業成就之御守

某些最受歡迎的御守是幫助人們順利完成學業或考試的。種類包括通過考試的「合格守」或用於達成學業目標的「學業成就守」。稍後會再介紹另一種是給剛上學的孩子使用的,它的形狀很特別很可愛,是小學生的背包的模樣!

身體健康、去除病痛之御守

擔心身體健康的人,可以考慮的御守有「健康祈願守」、「病氣平愈守」和「長壽祈願守」。選擇其中一個隨身帶在身上,祈禱可以健康快樂地生活。

交通安全御守

最常見的一類是「交通安全」,可以掛在汽車內防止可能發生的事故。希望順利考過駕照的學生也會購買交通安全御守以幫助他們完成考試。

安產御守

另一種很受歡迎的則是「安產祈願御守」,可以幫助婦女安全成功地分娩。是送給懷孕的朋友或家人非常好的禮物。

如何使用御守

御守應該放在哪裡?

如同大多數護身符一樣,御守被設計為購買後再好好隨身攜帶或放著,知曉有股力量隨時陪伴著自己。可以自用,也可以當作禮物送給朋友或家人。簡單地說御守被視為一種具有實質形式存在的祝福。

學生可能會收到一份學業御守,作為進入高中時的禮物,或是開創新事業時會收到的商業繁盛御守。並沒有一種固定或特別的規定該如何攜帶這些御守,有的人會綁在包包上,有的人則會藏在手套裡。只要您有意識地知道它在哪裡,御守就可以好好發揮作用。

至於御守的清潔度該如何保持?如果是在正常使用過程中磨損或變髒那是沒有問題的,這代表著御守正在履行其職責:持有的時間越久磨損越多,意味著其提供的保護就越多。如果發生比較嚴重的意外(如潑灑到湯水飲料等液體),應該小心地用手清洗(切勿放入洗衣機中!)。

如何正確地處理掉御守

御守沒有正式的使用期限,不過通常是使用一年左右。日本神社和寺廟都有提供回收御守的服務,可以把舊的御守放回專門的回收箱,以便工作人員將其妥善處置,在特殊的儀式中焚燒。

千萬不要打開去看御守裡頭!!

有一個比較重要的規定是切勿打開內含符咒的御守。如果將其打開並窺視裡頭,該御守將失去所有的力量且變得毫無生氣。御守是從從未知的奧秘中獲得部分力量,而持有者永遠無法確切地知道裡頭有什麼。日本人認為,一旦持有者打開開口進行確認,所有的神秘力量和信念就會不見,隨之而來的保護力量也會消失殆盡。

雖然說御守是串連起未知的神秘力量與人們信仰的關鍵,但這種關係並非單向的。不應過度視御守為保護性咒語或防禦不良不幸災害的盔甲。事實上,御守一部分的力量來正是來自使用者本身。

御守更像是個生活上的小幫手,可以提醒您注意安全駕駛、專注於學習、透過縝密的財務決策進行思考,或做出健康選擇。御守不會替您做這些事情;相反地,因御守始終與您待在一起,它們的存在就像電腦裡頭的便條紙一樣,御守像個便於攜帶的提醒,幫助您實現這些目標,讓您的生活更美好,並相信自己的事業成功所需的是九十九分的努力加上一分的運氣。

在日本可以找到的9個獨特御守

之前我們介紹過日本郵局推出的創意御守信籤,以下則要介紹9個富有含義且很可愛的真正御守!

1. 情報安全御守

情報安全御守的形狀就像電腦裡的電路板,還包含晶片的特徵,可保護電腦免遭病毒攻擊或駭客,並確保所有設備的安穩運行。這個御守只能在東京的神田神社中找到,該神社的歷史可追溯到近1300年前。(當然這份御守在當時那個時代還並未誕生)。

2. 犬守

名古屋的一座古老神社是一座備受喜愛的狗石像所在地,也是神道成功誕生的象徵。據說懷孕的母親來到神社,撫摸雕像的腹部,就能得到祝福以安全分娩,參拜完後再帶回一隻獨特可愛的狗狗御守!神犬雕像形狀的小鈴鐺,放在御守正面處的迷你夾層裡,是一份很體面的禮物。

這座神社建於1300多年前,長年的歷史一直與犬有關:傳說附近的一個小村受到僧侶的「御幣」(貼有紙垂的神杖)的保護,免受致命洪水的襲擊。上面有狗的圖案,裡頭藏著「伊奴王(いぬ王)」的字樣。僧侶回到這裡後便建立這座神社。

有趣的是,這座神社雖然被稱為いぬ神社,但實際上指的是的主祭神「伊奴姫神(いぬひめのかみ),而非「犬」(いぬ)。

3. 熊野たまゆら守

這款御守是日本較為罕見的御守之一,只能在山形縣的熊野神社得到。在每個月滿月時,神社會舉辦特別的儀式,之後參加者(未參加儀式者則不行)可以購買這種極其獨特、手工製作的御守(上圖兔子右邊)。與傳統常見御守不同,是一條經過層層錯綜複雜的工法製成的麻線藝術品,是愛之結的實體。這些御守每個月都會用不同顏色的線製成的,因此這款御守是非常特別的。

4. 緣結守

感情御守在日本許多神社都相當常見,不過橫須賀的叶神社有一個非常獨特的版本,依照自身神社獨特的地理位置而設計。叶神社分為兩邊,由浦賀灣分開在西端和東端。需要搭船才能從一端到達另一端。在西端,您可以購買逗號形的寶石(一種古老的日本符號,稱為「勾玉」)。在東端,可以買到用來裝寶石的布袋。將這個過程完成象徵著攜手共同保護彼此之間的愛情。

5. 聖水守

這個御守在京都的下鴨神社販售,是一種含有御手洗池水的珠子。據說把腳放進水池裡的話能夠帶來健康和保護。隨身攜帶此物品可以預防疾病,有助於健康的生活,也可以作為京都物美價廉的紀念品!

6. 飯糰守

高御產巢日神(たかみむすびのかみ)是農業和生長的神,象徵著完成和實現。有趣的是,他的名字剛好與飯糰的日文名字「おむすび(御結び)」一樣。高木神社(以高御產巢日神為主祭神)制作出各種各樣以飯糰為主題的御守,包括上圖所示的可愛作品。如果您認識某個很喜歡日式飯糰的人,那麼送他這個御守一定不會錯!

7. 西瓜守

並非每個御守都需要有特定的守護物。有些只是為了一般的好運,同時看起來也很可愛或值得收藏。鎌倉的長谷寺販賣一種非常特別可愛的御守一小西瓜片。(這是個可愛的雙關:西瓜的日文是「すいか(suika)」,廟方說它可以是「スイスイ開運」:スイスイ(suisui)是指迅速或平穩,而開運是指獲得更好的運氣。)隨身攜帶以改善自己的氣運,或者純粹當作在炎熱的夏日裡看到冰涼的西瓜,或許也會讓人感覺到神清氣爽吧!

 

8. 千木箱守

「千木箱」最早出現在江戶時代(1603~1868年),當時是在祭典出售給兒童的玩具。採用三個盒子的形式,形狀像舊的日本金幣,彼此堆疊並用繩子捆紮。每個玩具都裝滿了小豆子,因此搖動時玩具會嘎嘎作響,並以紫藤花裝飾。如今千木箱已不再是常見的物品,只會在某些特定神社看到。

舊日本金幣的形狀本來就是代表幸運。此外,它的念法也讓人們感覺到好運,因為「千木」的發音聽起來與「一千件衣服」很像。這是祈求昌盛繁榮的另一種方式,有很多穿不完的衣服或永遠不缺衣服。特別是女性,會在自己的抽屜裡放著這種御守。

這個非常獨特的御守現在只能在東京的芝神社找到。

9. 書包御守

這或許是本文所有介紹中最可愛的御守,像這樣的書包御守其實在日本的許多神社都可以找到,但是上圖中的這款是一個來自大阪妙見山上美麗的神社。這些可愛的小背包大概跟拇指差不多大,可以送給孩子,保佑他們在學校或考試中的學業成就。

找到專屬您的御守

無論是自用還是送給朋友家人,御守都是一個完美的禮物,不僅可以為您在日本的旅行留下回憶,還可以幫助您記住生活的美好。透過御守的神秘力量,可以啟發您照顧自己。無論是錢包裡的守護神來幫您控制消費,還是掛在後照鏡上的珠珠提醒您在行駛中要注意每個十字路口,御守都可以為您提供幫助。

另外除了御守,日本神社許多也提供抽籤,有些籤紙會附上金色的緣起物飾品,不妨也來了解一下他們各自的種類及寓意吧!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

Omamori: How Japanese People Physically Give Each Other Well-Wishes

Walking amongst the many stalls at shrines and temples in Japan is always an eye-opening affair. There's an unexpected fervor as little trinkets, whether they be beads, small cloth packets, or even small notes, seem to be sold to the general public. More than just a way to raise funds for the shrine or temple, those little trinkets, or "omamori," are readily gobbled up by visitors at large for their luck-bestowing properties. In this article, we'll explain what exactly omamori are and what they are used for, as well as introduce some of the more interesting good luck charms you can buy in Japan.

Nationwide

Japanese Culture

What Is an Omamori Charm?

Found sorted into little boxes, hanging from stands, or behind glass partitions, the sheer variety of omamori is astounding. Traditionally found at Buddhist temples and Shinto shrines, "omamori" are Japanese amulets of protection. Inside an omamori is a small written prayer designed to bestow protection upon the bearer, like a good luck charm.

Although there are a large number of forms an omamori can take, most are a simple cloth packet on a string that contains (and more importantly hides) the main prayer. These are then easily stowed away in wallets or hung from purses and backpacks. No matter the occasion or event, chances are there are omamori out there to protect you against it. 

The History of Omamori

Where exactly do omamori come from? The word 御守り (omamori) itself describes their purpose quite clearly, being broken up into the bits 御 (“oh,” an honorific) and 守り (“mamori,” to protect). The emergence of omamori in Japanese society is a bit complicated, if only due to the intermixed nature of Japanese religion. However, they’re largely derived from the Buddhist tradition of selling amulets.

This tradition was adopted in Japan quite late, around the 17th century, when both Buddhist temples and Shinto shrines picked up on the practice and started to make and sell their own protection amulets. Originally a small wooden box with the prayer hidden inside, they served both as an offering to the temple or shrine as well as a portable protection spell against bad luck or other devious circumstances. 

Modern Omamori

Omamori have changed a lot since their growth in popularity during the 18th and 19th centuries. Nowadays, the most common omamori take the form of cloth pouches. These pouches are usually no bigger than a credit card and contain the prayer tucked away within.

There are other kinds of omamori too, such as those that take the form of what they're protecting against, looking more like a small charm. Charms skip the prayer but are instead infused with good luck by their very nature.

As was the case traditionally, most omamori can be bought at shrines or temples, and a majority of these sites will offer a selection of different kinds for sale. However, due to their enduring popularity, there are also specialty stores across the country (and in some extreme cases, even vending machines!) where you can purchase omamori as well. The prices range from about 200 yen to 500 yen for the fairly basic to over 1000 yen for grander or more involved omamori.

What Are Some Common Omamori?

Omamori for Success

Success omamori (勝守 "kachimamori") are bought or gifted to people with a specific goal in mind, in order to help the user attain that goal. If there's a project that you feel like you could use a little divine help with, this is the omamori to choose.

Omamori for Protection From Evil

In the opposite vein to success, omamori for protection from evil (厄除け, "yakuyoke") help the user avoid negative consequences or events. There is also the common 開運除災 ("kaiun josai") omamori which helps improve one's luck during a year deemed to be unlucky based on a person's age. If it's your unlucky year or there's something you're worried about, this might be a good omamori to choose.

Omamori to Bring Wealth

People nestle the prosperous business omamori (商売繁盛, "shobai hanjo") or economic fortune omamori (金運上昇 "kinun josho") in their wallets or hang them from handbags to help stave off unnecessary spending or to help increase income. If you're in need of some monetary luck, one of these might be the omamori for you. 

Omamori for Education

Some of the most popular omamori are those for helping with success in education. These include the omamori for passing a test (合格守り "gokaku mamori") or the omamori for achieving your academic goals (学業成就 "gakugyo jojyu"). One of the omamori we introduce later is for kids starting school and is in the shape of a grade-schooler's backpack!

Omamori for Health

For those worried about health, some common omamori include the prayer for health (健康祈願 "kenko kigan"), omamori for healing (病気平癒 "byoki heiyu"), and omamori for longevity (長寿祈願 "choju kigan"). Keep one of these omamori with you for a healthy life.

Omamori for Traffic Safety

The most specific of the common bunch, Traffic Safety is designed to be hung and placed within a person’s car to ward off possible accidents. Students hoping to obtain their driver’s license will also often purchase or receive a Traffic Safety omamori to help them through the test.  
 

Omamori for a Safe and Successful Birth

Another popular omamori is the 安産祈願 ("anzan kigan"), which is to help a woman have a safe and successful birth. This is a very nice gift to give to a pregnant friend or family member.

How To Use Omamori

Where Do You Put Omamori?

Like most good luck charms, omamori are designed to be bought and then left alone, carried with you as a reminder to their power but otherwise undisturbed. Omamori can be bought for oneself, or given as a gift for a friend or family member, where they serve as a physical form of a well-wish.

Students might receive an education omamori as a gift for getting into high school, or an entrepreneur a money-protection omamori upon starting a business. There’s no specific way to carry omamori with you, and people will do everything from tying them to their bags to stashing them away in their gloveboxes. As long as you know where it is, the omamori is said to function.

As for cleanliness, it’s probably good practice not to be too rough with your omamori, but it’s okay if they get a bit dirty or worn over the course of their usage. This means that the omamori is doing its job: the older and more worn, the more protection it has dished out. After more significant incidents like spills, you should carefully wash it by hand (never in a washing machine!).

How Do I Get Rid of Omamori?

Omamori do not expire officially, but it's common to keep them for around one year. Some shrines and temples in Japan offer an omamori return service, where you can turn in older and more beaten-up omamori so that they can be disposed of properly by the religious staff, i.e. burned in a special ceremony.

Don't Look Inside an Omamori!

An important hard and fast rule is to never open an omamori, which contains a prayer within. If you open it up and peek inside, the prayer loses all power and the luck of the charm becomes effectively inert. Omamori derive part of their power from the mystery of the unknown, with the user never knowing exactly what’s inside. Once the user knows for sure (by opening the packet), all that mystery and faith vanishes and with it the protective power it gives.

This interaction between mystery and faith is key to the functioning of the omamori, as the relationship isn’t one-sided. Omamori should not be thought of as purely protective spells, or armor if you would, against bad or unfortunate events. Rather, in tandem with the mystery and faith, the other part of the omamori’s power is derived from the user themselves.

Omamori serve as a reminder to drive safer, to concentrate on your studies, think through financial decisions, or to remember to make healthy choices. The omamori won’t do these things for you; rather, by staying with you at all times, they help you accomplish these goals. Like a sticky note at the top of your laptop, omamori are contained, portable reminders to live your life better and to have faith that effort sprinkled with a dash of good luck may be all you need to succeed in your endeavours.

Top 9 Most Unique Omamori You Can Find in Japan

We have already made an article in the past with 8 noteworthy omamori that you should collect. Here are 9 more items that are meaningful and often cute!

1. Cyber Security Omamori

Shaped like a circuit board and even containing small microcontroller-esque patches, the Cyber Security omamori protects you and your information from theft online and ensures the smooth functioning of all your equipment. They can be found at Tokyo's Kanda Shrine, which has a history dating back nearly 1,300 years (although we are told that this omamori did not exist back then). 

2. Dog Omamori

An ancient shrine in Nagoya is home to a beloved stone statue of a dog, which is a symbol of successful birth in Shinto. Pregnant mothers come to the shrine to touch the belly of the statue and receive blessings for a safe delivery, and then take home a unique and cute and unique dog omamori! A little bell in the shape of the shrine's dog statue fits into a little pocket on the front of the omamori, making it a great gift!

Legend has it that the shrine was created more than 1,300 years ago and that its history has always been intertwined with dogs: a nearby town was protected from deadly floods thanks to a monk who made a "gohei" (a shinto wand attached with paper streamers) with a picture of a dog and the words "inu no ou" (dog king) hidden inside. That monk would, upon his return to this spot, announce the establishment of this new shrine.

Interestingly, the shrine is called Inu Shrine, but the name actually refers to the main deity worshipped there (Inu Hime No Kami) not "inu" (the Japanese word for dog). 

3. Kumano Full Moon Festival Omamori

This omamori is one of the more rare offerings in Japan, and can only be found at the Kumano Shrine in Yamagata Prefecture. Every month on the full moon, the shrine holds a special prayer festival, after which attendees (and nobody else!) can buy this extremely unique handmade omamori (shown to the right of the rabbit in the photo above). Rather than the traditional omamori, these look like an intricately tied piece of twine, a physical representation of a love knot. Each month, these omamori are made in a different color, so the one that you get will really be quite rare.

4. Love Protection Omamori

The love knot is a popular offering at many shrines across Japan, but Kano Shrine in Yokosuka has a very unique version that mimics its own unique geography. Split into two, Kano Shrine has a western and eastern end, divided by Uraga Bay. A ferry is required to get from one end to the other. At the western end, one can buy a comma-shaped gemstone (an ancient Japanese symbol called a "magatama"), and on the eastern end, the cloth sachet to place the gemstone in. Once complete, it will help protect the love between a couple.

5. Holy Water Omamori

Sold at Shimogamo Shrine in Kyoto, this omamori is a bead containing the water of Mitarai Pond, which is said to bring health benefits and protection to those who dip their feet into it. Carry this with you to ward off illnesses and to help encourage healthy living! It could also make for an awesome and inexpensive souvenir from Kyoto!

6. Rice Ball Omamori

Takamimusubi is the spirit of agriculture and growth, and therefore encourages fulfillment. His name, fortunately, coincides with a very popular Japanese snack—omusubi, or rice balls. Not one to pass up on some witty word play, Takagi Shrine, where Takamimusubi is the enshrined deity, created a variety of rice ball-themed omamori, including the cute one shown in the photo above. If you know someone who's a fan of musubi, this makes for a great gift!

7. Watermelon Omamori

Not every omamori needs to be specific to a certain cause; some are simply there for general luck while also looking cute or collectible. Hasedera in Kamakura sells, among other adorable omamori, a small watermelon slice on a string. (It seems to be a cutesy pun: watermelon is "suika," which the temple says can signify "suisui kaiun": "suisui" meaning swiftly or smoothly, and "kaiun" meaning better luck.) Carry it with you to improve your condition, or alternately, mentally cool off on those hot summer days.

8. Chigibako Omamori

"Chigi-bako" first popped up in the Edo Period (1603 - 1868), when they were children's toys sold at shrine festivals. They take the form of three boxes shaped like old Japanese coins stacked on top of one another and bound with string. Each is filled with small beans so the toy rattles when shaken, and it is painted with purple wisteria flowers. Today, they are no longer common items, more or less restricted to the omamori counter.

The shape of old Japanese coins is intended to be lucky in itself, but it's additionally lucky because "chigi" sounds like "a thousand pieces of clothing." In short, it's another way of wishing for prosperity - wishing that you'll never be short of things to wear. Women in particular would keep this omamori by their chest of drawers.

This very unique item can only be found at Tokyo's Shiba Daijingu Shrine.

9. School Backpack Omamori

Perhaps the most adorable omamori on this list, school backpack omamori like this can actually be found at a number of shrines in Japan, but the one in the photo above is from a beautiful shrine on Osaka's Mt. Myoken. No bigger than your thumb, these grade-schooler backpacks can be given to a child to help inspire academic success in school or on tests (but we won't tell anyone if you decide to keep it for yourself!).

Find the Perfect Omamori For Your Life!

Whether you’re buying them for yourself or gifting them to a friend or family member, omamori serve as the perfect small thing to not only remember your trip to/stay in Japan, but also to help you remember to live your life better. Through their own sort of mysterious power, omamori can and will inspire you to look after yourself. Whether it's the little satchel on your wallet helping you rein in your spending, or the bead hanging from your rear-view mirror reminding you to double-check the intersection before going, omamori are here to help.

If you're traveling Japan with a significant other (or alternately, if you're looking for that special someone), this article has 30 more omamori that are meant to help you on that journey! Alternately, if you're aiming for omamori from noteworthy shrines, here are some shrines and temples in Tokyo and Osaka.


If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Title image: waychen_c / Flickr

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search