日本四國遍路巡禮:一生一次的佛教朝聖體驗之旅

「朝聖」一詞總讓人聯想到虔誠的宗教信仰,而且多數人想到的可能是著名的歐洲「聖雅各之路(El Camino,前往天主教聖地之一的西班牙北部城市聖地牙哥—德孔波斯特拉的朝聖之路。)」,而非在日本美麗的大自然漫步的旅程。 然而,四國地區有著世界上最獨特、最溫馨、最美麗的徒步朝聖地之一,稱為「遍路(お遍路)」。 遍路主要為虔誠的佛教徒所朝聖的路線,但這段路其實是任何人都可以行走的。 這是一種與自然、開闊的道路和一種只有在日本才能享有的特殊精神體驗。 跟著我們一起深入探索這一生一次的冒險,邁向四國的遍路朝聖之旅!

四國

實用資訊

什麼是「遍路」?

「遍路」並非特別指四國的哪一處朝聖地,其實它更像是一套行程,裡頭包含著四國島(日本四個主要島嶼中最小的島嶼)上最著名的各朝聖地,也就是那具有標誌性的88座寺廟,圍繞著這些寺廟所進行的一種徒步旅行。

這條指定的路徑旨在追隨日本最著名的佛教僧侶空海大師的足跡,是他在約1200年前尋求精神啟蒙時在四國的一趟旅行。途中的88座寺廟,無論修行或祈禱,都是空海大師曾親身造訪過,現在都被指定為聖地的寺廟。而參觀空海大師該趟旅行中這88座寺廟的旅程,如今被稱為「遍路(お遍路/ Ohenro)」,是四國的一個特殊朝聖活動。

旅客想參加遍路的原因各式各樣,有些人是為尋求精神啟蒙、有些人是為擺脫日常生活的重複、有些人則是希望透過雙腳一步一步的旅行,以較慢的速度體驗四國鄉村的自然美景。不論是什麼原因,大多數前往遍路的人都一致認為這是一趟改變他們生活經歷和想法的旅程。無論您想在旅途中追尋什麼,相信遍路都能在您的朝聖結束之時,提供您所冀望的東西。

奠基遍路的空海大師

要更全面地了解遍路的目的和知名度,首先要了解它的創始人,即最早進行這趟朝聖之路的人:空海大師。

空海大師,或稱為弘法大師,是有史以來最著名的日本人、也是最有影響力的人之一。出生於774年的空海大師在他的一生中取得了許多成就,包括宗教、學術、精神和身體等各領域。

他曾前往中國學習佛教,並將佛教教義帶回日本,創立真言宗。此外他還創辦日本第一所平民的公立學校,也是一位據說創造日本假名的傳奇書法家(此說法的真實性仍有爭議),並徒步穿越四國,訪問和培訓88座寺廟的僧侶。

正是這些壯舉鞏固空海大師在日本人心目中民間英雄的偉大地位,於是後人複製他在四國的旅程以紀念和榮耀他,也就是本文的主角「遍路」。

行走遍路的衣著

遍路與其他有名的朝聖路最不一樣的就是那特殊的服裝。這套朝聖者裝束不僅可以幫助您進入正確的心態,還能帶來額外的好處,也就是身為遍路上的堅定朝聖者的象徵。 這套服裝是由一件白色上衣(日文:白衣)、一條飾帶(日文:輪袈裟)、一頂草帽(日文:菅笠)、一個包包(日文:頭陀袋)、一個鈴鐺(日文:持鈴)和一串祈禱佛珠(日文:数珠)。

除了朝聖者裝束外,多半還會隨身攜帶一種稱為「金剛杖」的特殊手杖。據說這根手杖可以幫助朝聖者體現 空海大師的精神,是任何遍路朝聖者裝備中必不可少的一部分。有趣的是,有一種說法會將遍路的朝聖者稱為「同行二人(Dougyou Ninin)」。意思是「走在同條路上的兩人」。 這個說法推測是在描述,攜帶著金剛杖的遍路朝聖者,如同與空海大師走在一塊。

此外,白衣在佛教裡是具有特殊意義的象徵。與亡者在日本葬禮上所穿的白色衣服相同,乍聽之下可能會覺得很不吉利,但這個儀式背後的意義是透過穿著亡者葬禮之服,代表朝聖者正在前往來世的「聖地」。

白衣還代表朝聖者在旅途中去世(過去交通不便、醫療技術落後,人們在野外容易有生命危險)時,已將做好成佛的準備。不過在現在這個科技發達的時代,走在遍路上遇到生命危險機率非常非常低,因此現今穿著這個朝聖者的服裝其實更像是一種象徵意義。

不過並沒有硬性規定一定要穿上這套衣服才能走遍路,但穿著的朝聖者會受到一種稱為「招待(お接待)」的特殊款待,與日本(或世界其他地區)的任何款待都不同。下面將會詳細介紹「招待」以及您可以期待的有趣故事。

前往四國:遍路的主舞台

遍路的路線基本上是環繞四國島步行一圈。雖然四國與本州中間隔著日本內海(瀨戶內海),但前往四國的交通非常簡單。

若是按照最傳統的方式開始遍路,那就得從位於德島縣的第一座寺廟靈山寺開始。從東京成田國際機場起飛的航班,只需1小時15分鐘即可抵達德島阿波通機場。

如果您住在大阪等關西一帶,可以從新大阪站等乘坐新幹線(東海道山陽新幹線:博多 Nozomi 17)到岡山站(車程 45 分鐘,6,400日幣),接者轉乘JR瀨戶大橋線(Rapid Marine)29號線高松方向,前往高松站(55分鐘車程),最後在高松換乘渦潮線(特急渦潮15號方向德島)到達德島站(車程1小時10分鐘)。

如果覺得搭火車很麻煩,也有從大阪站或難波站到德島站的高速巴士,車程約3小時,往返車票約7,000日幣。

遍路的參拜路線:四國朝聖之旅的走法

走完一趟遍路要花多長的時間?

遍路沿線共有88座寺廟。整趟約需要2個月的時間才能完成(實際取決於個人健康狀況和步行速度),全長約1,200公里。

不過對上班族來說,要從繁忙的工作中抽出整整2個月的時間去朝聖是一件非常困難的事。 因此這條路線對於退休人員和大學生等能夠投入很多時間至旅途中的族群們歡迎。

話雖如此,也可以不用一定要在兩個月內的時間完成這趟朝聖旅,可以慢慢用幾年的時間把所有的寺廟參拜完畢。 雖然從德島開始順時針(稱為「純內」)參觀每個寺廟是傳統,但指定路線並非硬性規定。有些人會選擇逆行(gyaku-uchi),甚至也有傳說空海大師如今還活在這個世上,因此把逆行的路也走過一遍會大大增加在路上遇到他的機會!

一定要用走的嗎?

如果想好好遵守傳統,那確實代表您必須「徒行」,不過近年來有些人也使用自行車或汽車在寺廟之間快速通行。然而,遍路的魅力正是在於透過放棄現代的便利,以便在旅途中達到精神覺醒,從而進入並體驗朝聖者的苦行心領域。

許多朝聖者甚至露宿野外或沿途的小旅館裡。這是一種堅忍且對身體具有挑戰性的方式,且徒步可以讓您體驗「招待」的熱情,是開車旅行時是不可能遇到的事。

「招待」:只有遍路朝聖者才能體驗的特殊日本款待

眾所周知日本款待客人之周到是世界有名,而「招待」則將前者再提升至一個新的水平。有人將其譯為「禮物」,有人則認為它更接近「施予」一詞(依情況而定)。不管是什麼情況,「招待」已經是四國的一種傳統,也是遍路的重要一環。

「招待」經常以陌生人的禮物的方式出現。有時是飯糰,有時是清涼飲料,但「招待」也有很多不同的方式,例如朝聖者折價,甚至免費(儘管相對簡陋)住宿。

「招待」的目的是在朝聖者的旅程中支持他們。那些無法自己完成旅程的人,視朝聖者為自己的代理人,因此他們認為應該透過「招待」,向朝聖者傳遞感謝和支持之情。

有時,造訪日本的遊客會認為東京的居民彬彬有禮但相對疏遠。然而對於四國的朝聖者來說,情況肯定不是這樣。 在遍路的旅途上,一定會有一個接一個來自陌生人的善意的溫馨時刻。

遍路路線上的著名寺廟

無論選擇按照傳統順序進行一次為期2個月的冒險,還是將旅程分成幾段、逆向前行等,目標都是最終有一天參拜完88座寺廟。雖然並不需要按順序參拜,不過大部分的人還是會選擇從德島的靈山寺開始,然後在香川縣的大窪寺結束朝聖之旅。 下面將介紹沿途的一些比較有名的寺廟,參拜時千萬不要錯過囉。

若需要全部88座寺廟的地圖,請參閱google map:

 

靈場#1:靈山寺

靈山寺位於德島縣鳴門市(鳴門市以巨大的漩渦而聞名),是遍路上第一個也是最有名的點。在此處可以購買成為朝聖者所需的所有服飾配件,寺內有座兩層高的木塔,俯瞰著準備啟程的新朝聖者們的喧囂,以及返回原出發地、順利完成旅途的朝聖者。

靈場#21:太龍寺

太龍寺是遍路路線上的第21座寺院,由於空海大師當年曾在此冥想50天,因此有著相當特殊的地位。據說年輕的空海大師想尋求開悟卻並未成功,於是他繼續前行,開闢遍路之旅的下一站,而他的傳奇之旅也因此更添光彩。這座寺廟是出了名的難以抵達,因為它位高海拔610公尺之處。不過幸運的是,當地設有纜車,無法自行攀登的人能善加使用。

靈場#84:屋島寺

身為遍路最後幾站之一的屋島寺是第84座靈場。相傳空海大師曾在這裡雕刻一尊千臂佛像,作為寺院的主祭神。這裏還有許多石狸(日本狸貓,日本文化認為這種動物精通幻化之術、擅於變形)雕像,代表當地的神祗南面山大明神,其也被視為保佑美滿婚姻、幸福和人際關係的神。

總結

正如前面中提到的,遍路是一種任何人都可以享受的體驗,無論宗教信仰為何,沿著這條路線旅行都是一種極佳的精神體驗,能感受四國人民熱情好客的款待和體貼。相信一定會在未來的人生中深深地影響您。

除了美麗的鄉村光景和冥想的寧靜,還可以從遍路的旅途中獲得每一間寺廟的御朱印。有關這種收集日本神社寺廟之御朱印的深入解析,請查閱【御朱印:寺社巡禮的記憶書頁】。

此外,如果不熟悉如何在寺廟中正確參拜和表達對神明的敬意,不妨繼續閱讀 :【神社和寺廟有甚麼不同?詳解到日本神社和寺廟如何參拜祈福

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

Ohenro - Shikoku’s Once in a Lifetime Buddhist Pilgrimage Experience

The word “pilgrimage” is sure to elicit images of devout religiosity and is more likely to make you think of Europe’s “El Camino” rather than a walk through nature in Japan. However, the island of Shikoku is home to one of the most unique, heartwarming, and beautiful walking pilgrimages in the world, called “Ohenro.” While Ohenro is Buddhist at its core, the journey is open to people of all backgrounds. It is a one of a kind spiritual experience tied to nature, the open road, and a special kind of hospitality only found in Japan. Join us today as we dive into the adventure of a lifetime, Shikoku’s Ohenro pilgrimage.

Shikoku

Travel Tips

What is Ohenro?

Ohenro is not the only pilgrimage in Japan, but it is arguably the most famous with its signature 88-temple trek around the island of Shikoku (the smallest of Japan's four main islands). The designated path aims to follow the footsteps of Japan’s most famous Buddhist monk, Kobo Daishi, and the travels he made around Shikoku while seeking enlightenment some 1,200 years ago. The 88 temples on the trek were all visited by Kobo Daishi, either for Buddhist training or prayer, and all of them have been designated as sacred places now. The act of visiting these 88 temples from Kobo Daishi’s travels is known as “Ohenro,” Shikoku’s special pilgrimage. 

There are many reasons why you might want to go on the Ohenro Pilgrimage. Some do so to seek enlightenment. Others do it as a break from the repetition of their everyday life. Others still may wish to travel by foot in order to experience the natural beauty of Shikoku’s countryside at a slower pace. Whatever the reason, most people who set out on Ohenro all agree that it is an experience that changed their life. No matter what you were looking for when you set out on your journey, Ohenro is sure to deliver exactly what you need by the end of your pilgrimage.

The Founder of Ohenro: Kobo Daishi

In order to better understand the purpose and popularity of Ohenro, it is paramount to know about its founder, the man who first took the pilgrimage: Kobo Daishi.

Kobo Daishi, also known by the name Kukai, is one of the most famous Japanese people to have ever lived, as well as one of the most influential. Born in the year 774, Kobo Daishi accomplished many things in his life ranging from scholarly, spiritual, and physical feats.  

He traveled to China to learn about Buddhism and brought the teachings back to Japan, founding the Shingon sect of Buddhism. In addition, he created the first public school for the common folk, was a legendary calligrapher said to have created the Japanese Kana alphabet (although the accuracy of this statement has been called into question), and traveled across Shikoku on foot visiting and training at 88 temples.

It was this last feat that solidified Kobo Daishi as a folk hero in the hearts and minds of the Japanese, and replicating his journey is what is known as Ohenro today. 

Looking the Part: Dressing for Ohenro

One of the things that separates Ohenro from other well-known pilgrimages is the special attire. This pilgrim outfit will not only help you get into the right mindset but also brings with it the added benefits of being identified as an unmistakable pilgrim on Ohenro. The outfit consists of a white jacket ("hakui"), a neck sash ("wagesa"), a straw sedge hat ("sugegasa"), a bag ("zudabukuro"), a bell ("jirei"), and prayer beads ("juzu").

In addition to the pilgrim outfit, travelers on Ohenro also carry a special walking stick called a “kongozue.” This stick is said to help pilgrims embody the spirit of Kobo Daishi, and thus is an absolutely essential part of any Ohenro pilgrim’s gear. In fact, there is a term referring to the pilgrims on Ohenro as “Dougyou Ninin." This can be translated into something along the lines of, “Two people on the same path.” The inference here is that when performing Ohenro, pilgrims are said to always be with Kobo Daishi by carrying a kongozue.  

In addition, the white jacket is of particular significance in Buddhist symbology. It is the same type of white clothing worn by the deceased for Japanese funerals. This may seem morbid at first, but the idea behind this practice is that by wearing the funeral dress, the pilgrim is on their way to the “holy land” of the afterlife.

It also ensures that should a pilgrim pass away on their journey, they will be prepared to attain Buddhahood. Having said that, in our modern age, the risk of breathing our last breath while on Ohenro is quite low, so the pilgrim's outfit has become completely symbolic.

You don’t need to don this outfit to perform Ohenro, but pilgrims who do are treated to a special kind of hospitality called “osettai,” which is unlike any other hospitality in Japan (or the rest of the world for that matter). We will go into more details of osettai later and what you can expect.

Getting to Shikoku: Where to Begin Ohenro

Ohenro is basically a circular walk around the island of Shikoku. Although Shikoku is separated from Japan’s main island by Japan’s inland sea, getting there is pretty straight forward. 

To start the journey in the traditional way, from the first temple (Ryozenji), one should begin in Tokushima Prefecture. Flights from Tokyo’s Narita International Airport take only one hour and 15 minutes to arrive at Tokushima Awaodori Airport.

If your starting point is Osaka, you can take the bullet train (Tokaido Sanyo Shinkansen: Nozomi 17 for Hakata) from Shin Osaka Station to Okayama Station (45 min. ride, 6,400 yen), and take the JR Seto Ohashi Line (Rapid Marine Liner 29 for Takamatsu) to Takamatsu Station (55 min. ride), and finally, at Takamatsu, transfer to the Uzushio Line (Limited Express Uzushio 15 for Tokushima) to arrive at Tokushima Station (1 hour 10 min ride). 

Conversely, there is also a highway bus from either Osaka Station or Namba Station to Tokushima Station, which takes a little under 3 hours and costs just under 7000 yen for a roundtrip ticket.

Ohenro Route: How to Do Shikoku's Pilgrimage

How Long Does it Take to Do Ohenro?

As mentioned above, there are 88 temples in total along the Ohenro route. Ohenro takes about 2 months to complete, depending on your health and walking speed, at a total length of about 1,200 kilometers.  

However, it is a rare thing these days to be able to take a full 2 months off from work to travel as a pilgrim. As such, the route is popular among retirees and college students who are able to dedicate more time to the journey.

Having said this, it is also possible to do the pilgrimage in legs, taking a week here and there every few years to visit all of the temples. Also, although it is tradition to start in Tokushima and visit each temple in clockwise order (referred to as jun-uchi), there is no designated route that must be adhered to. Some people opt to travel the route in reverse order (gyaku-uchi), and there is even a legend that Kobo Daishi is still alive today, thus traveling in reverse increases your chances of meeting him on the road!

Do I Have to Walk?

Keeping with tradition does means traveling on foot, although in recent years some people have resorted to using bicycles and even cars to fast track between temples. Part of the allure of Ohenro, though, is getting into the ascetic mind of a pilgrim by foregoing modern conveniences in an effort to reach a spiritual awakening while on the road.

Many pilgrims even go so far as to sleep outside or in small guesthouses along the route. Although it is a stoic and physically challenging way to follow Ohenro, traveling by foot allows you to experience Osettai hospitality (covered next), which is not really possible to do when taking a car.

Osettai: A Special Japanese Hospitality Only Experienced by Ohenro Pilgrims

Osettai, simply put, is Japanese hospitality taken to the next level. Some translate it to mean “gift,” while others maintain that it is something closer to the word “alms” (considering the situation). Whatever the case may be, osettai has become a tradition in Shikoku and a key part of Ohenro. 

Osettai often manifests in the form of gifts from strangers. Sometimes it will be a rice ball, other times a refreshing drink, but Osettai can also be expressed in other ways, such as reduced rates for pilgrims or even free, albeit rather spartan, lodging.

The purpose of osettai is to support the pilgrims along their journey, as those doing Ohenro are seen as proxies for others who are not able to make the journey themselves. Thus, it is believed that pilgrims should be shown gratitude and support, which is expressed through osettai.

Sometimes, visitors to Japan will describe the inhabitants of Tokyo as polite but distant. This is certainly not the case when it comes to pilgrims in Shikoku. While on Ohenro, you are sure to have heartwarming moments one after the other, all from the kindness of strangers. This is osettai. 

Notable Temples on the Ohenro Route

Whether you choose to go on Onhenro in the traditional order on a sinlge 2 month adventure, or break up the journey into chunks while traveling in reverse, the goal is to eventually visit all 88 temples one day. You don’t even need to visit the temples in order! However, most people do choose to start from Ryozenji in Tokushima and end their pilgrimage at Okuboji in Kagawa prefecture. The following are a few notable temples along the way that you should be sure to visit during your Ohenro pilgrimage.

For a map of all 88 temples, see this google map.

Temple #1: Ryozenji

Located in the city of Naruto (a place famous for giant whirlpools!), Ryozenji is the first and perhaps most famous stop on the Ohenro route. Here you can buy all the trappings you need to look the part of a pilgrim, check out the two-story wooden pagoda, and marvel at the hustle and bustle of new pilgrims just starting out as well as veterans returning to the original place of departure.

Temple #21:Tairyuji

Tairyuji is the 21st temple on the Ohenro route, but it holds a special distinction as the place where Kobo Daishi spent 50 days meditating as a youth. He sought to gain enlightenment but failed, and so continued on his way, carving out the path for the next stop on the Ohenro journey and adding to his legend. This temple is notoriously difficult to reach as it requires an accent to 610 meters above sea level. Luckily, there is a ropeway for people who might not be able to make the climb on their own.

Temple #84: Yashimaji

One of the last stops on the Ohenro route, Yashimaji is number 84! Legend has it that Kobo Daishi carved a one thousand-armed Buddha statue here, which acts as the temple’s main motif. There are also a number of stone tanuki (Japanese raccoon dog) statues, which represent a local god called Minoyama Daimyojin. This clever beast is known for his antics and ability to shapeshift. He is also known as a deity of good marriages, happiness, and relationships.

Conclusion

As mentioned in the opening, Ohenro is an experience that can be enjoyed by people of any background, regardless of religious beliefs. Traveling the route is certainly a spiritual experience and feeling the warm hospitality of osettai from the people of Shikoku is something that will surely rest in your heart and mind for years to come.

Aside from the beautiful countryside and meditative peace of mind you can gain from Ohenro, you can also enjoy collecting intricate "goshuin" or temple stamps from each stop on your journey. For an in-depth explanation of this temple-hopping trend, please have a look at Complete Guide to the Goshuin Trend: Collect Japan's Gorgeous Temple Stamps!

Also, make sure to read the following article if you are unclear about how to properly pay your respects at a temple: The Differences Between Praying at Shrines and Temples in Japan

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search