由山、海、湖交織的北國絕景!北海道國立公園的必看之處與體驗方式

北海道幅員遼闊,其中約七成為森林地區,自然景觀十分豐富。北海道共有六座國立公園,諸如誕生於火山活動的群山、日本最大的溼地等,你可以在此欣賞到壯闊的自然美景。北海道的景色之壯觀,就算用日本第一來形容也不為過。而這次要為各位介紹的,就是北海道所有國立公園的可看之處與體驗方式。

北海道

玩樂

得天獨厚的自然景觀!日本國立公園簡介

日本的國立公園是日本政府所推薦的觀光景點,是根據自然景觀之美、享受自然的方便性等嚴格標準所選出。國立公園雖由國家來實施保護與管理,但在選定上與土地所有權無關,由此公園內會有許多居民。相較之下,美國國家公園的土地所有權及資源管理權,則幾乎由聯邦政府所持有,與日本可說是大相逕庭。

日本的國立公園具有保護自然環境的職責,同時也是讓旅客可以欣賞風景,從事泡溫泉、登山等行程,並且親近歷史與文化的觀光景點。

本文將為各位介紹北海道六座國立公園的可看之處與體驗方式!希望各位可以透過這篇介紹,了解各地的特色,並作為規劃北海道之旅時的參考。

特有種花卉百花齊放!利尻禮文佐呂別國立公園

面積:24,166公頃/每年造訪人次:約57萬人 

利尻禮文佐呂別國立公園由利尻島、禮文島、佐呂別原野三大區域所組成,景觀十分多元,諸如山岳、花田、海蝕崖、溼地、海岸沙丘等,皆可在此見到。其中利尻山是此處的象徵,標高1,721m、周長約60km,由於外型酷似富士山,因此又有「利尻富士」之美稱。其粗獷的岩壁與自海岸拔起的模樣,作為公園的象徵可說是名符其實。

至於位於利尻島及禮文島對岸的佐呂別原野,則是歷經6,000年所形成的日本最大溼地。在由植物殘枝堆積而成的沼地上,可以望見形形色色的自然景觀,例如綻放百種以上花卉的佐呂別原生花園、由大大小小約170座湖泊所構成的湖沼群等。

而位於利尻島西北方約8km處的禮文島,則被暱稱為「花之浮島」,諸如禮文敦盛草、禮文小櫻、禮文薄雪草等特有種與高山植物,皆生長於此處。建議你可以望向腳邊,好好觀察一下只能在此見到的花卉。

利尻禮文佐呂別國立公園的幅員遼闊,可以避免和其他人近距離接觸,就算有新冠疫情也不必擔心。

野生生物的棲息之地!知床國立公園

面積:陸地38,954公頃 海域22,353公頃/每年造訪人次:約165萬人

知床國立公園內有火山活動與流水所形成的壯闊知床連山,是一座海洋、森林、河川及野生生物共存的珍貴國立公園。知床的自然與生態系之間的連結受到極高評價,因此於2005年被列入世界自然遺產之中。

目前已知有36種陸上哺乳類、22種海洋哺乳類棲息於此。其中最具代表性的動物就是「棕熊」了。棕熊是日本最大的陸上動物,根據估算,知床半島上至少有200頭以上的棕熊棲息,在全球可說十分罕見。此外像是毛腿漁鴞、白尾海鵰等猛禽類的瀕危物種,也都棲息於此。如果有機會到此一遊,可別忘了好好觀察徜徉於知床自然環境之中的這些生物。這裡的步道足以維持社交距離,不必擔心和其他人太過接近。

日本最大的破火山口!阿寒摩周國立公園

面積:91,413公頃/每年造訪人次:約340萬人

阿寒摩周國立公園以日本最大的破火山口(火山活動所形成的凹地)地形為基礎,並以千島火山帶活動所形成的阿寒、屈斜路、摩周三大破火山口湖為中心,由火山、森林、湖泊交織出形形色色的自然景觀。

整座公園可大致區分為阿寒及摩周(川湯)兩大地區。在阿寒地區,你可以欣賞到雄阿寒岳、雌阿寒岳及周邊的阿寒湖等美麗景色。而在摩周(川湯)地區,則有以透明度聞名的摩周湖,以及可從周遭山道與山上眺望的屈斜路湖等壯觀景色。如果有機會的話,請務必來此親身體驗壯闊的自然美景。

日本最大溼地!釧路濕原國立公園

面積:28,788公頃/每年造訪人次:約43萬人

釧路濕原國立公園由流經北海道東部的釧路川,與其支流流經的日本最大溼地─釧路溼地,以及環繞溼地的丘陵所構成。一望無盡的絕景,正是此處最大的魅力。

這裡的自然環境幾乎未遭破壞,共有39種哺乳類、約200種鳥類、5種爬蟲類、4種兩棲類、38種魚類、約1,100種昆蟲等生物棲息其中。尤其是原本被認為已經絕種的丹頂鶴,在保護活動下免於絕跡,已被列為日本特別自然紀念物,目前可在以釧路溼地為主的北海道東部等地見到其蹤影。

北海道第一高峰─旭岳所在地!大雪山國立公園

面積:226,764公頃/每年造訪人次:約490萬人

大雪山國立公園位於北海道中央,由以北海道第一高峰─旭岳(2,291m)為主峰的大雪火山群、以十勝岳為主峰的十勝岳連峰、石狩岳連峰等山岳所構成,此外亦涵蓋北海道知名的石狩川及十勝川的源頭地區,在北海道具有十分重要的地位,又被稱為「北海道的屋脊」。

大雪山國立公園周遭的群峰,其標高多在2,000m上下,但由於緯度較高,其高山環境之嚴苛,並不遜於本州3,000m等級的山區。因此其山麓地區可以見到以魚鱗雲杉、庫頁冷杉為主的針葉樹與闊葉樹,標高較高的地區則可見到針葉林與岳樺林等各種高山植物。大雪山國立公園已經製作地圖,標示人群聚集風險較高的地區,並在網站上公布。建議你可以事先確認資訊,避開人潮,這樣一來就能安心在公園散步囉。

火山活動頻繁!支笏洞爺國立公園

面積:99,473公頃/每年造訪人次:約1070萬人

支笏洞爺國立公園以支笏湖及洞爺湖兩大破火山口湖為中心,由羊蹄山、有珠山、樽前山等火山所構成。你可以在此見到多種溫泉與硫磺氣噴發的現象,這些都屬於火山活動的一種,因此此處又有「活的火山博物館」之稱。這些珍貴的火山群已經以洞爺湖有珠山地質公園之名,獲選為日本第一座「世界地質公園」。

誕生於約3萬2000年前火山活動的支笏湖,是最大水深360m的日本第二深湖。由於氣候寒冷,再加上較少有土石流入,使得支笏湖擁有日本數一數二的高透明度。如果有機會造訪,可別忘了到附近欣賞其美景喔。

不曉得在以上介紹的北海道國立公園中,有沒有讓你感興趣的地方呢?如果有機會的話,建議一定要親身體驗一下大自然的鬼斧神工之美。北海道美麗壯闊的風景,保證可以讓你的身心都得到療癒。

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

Exploring the National Parks of Hokkaido: Boundless Mountains, Seas, and Lakes Await!

Accounting for roughly 70% of its landmass, the pristine, natural forestation of Japan’s biggest prefecture of Hokkaido is vast and abundant. From mountains created through volcanic eruptions to Japan's largest marshlands, Hokkaido’s six national parks perfectly capture the essence of Japan’s natural beauty. Here we’ll show off how best to appreciate these untouched wonders!

Hokkaido

Things to Do

The Pinnacle of Beauty: Uncovering Japan’s National Parks

In Japan, national parks are selected via a rigorous set of criteria evaluating their scenery, beauty, convenience, and more. If chosen, the Japanese government will take on the responsibility of managing and preserving the site. However, ownership rights do not change, and there are often a surprisingly large number of people living within national parks in Japan. This differs drastically from a country like America, whereby the federal government owns much of the national park land rights and is responsible for resource conservation.

Japanese national parks are carefully selected in order to preserve history, scenery, and wildlife. They are also full of fun activities such as hot spring bathing, mountain climbing, and more, making them attractive holiday destinations for visitors!

In this article, we’ll explore all of Hokkaido’s six national parks, including what to see and how to enjoy them. Read on to discover what each has to offer and add a touch of nature to your Japan itinerary!

Rishiri-Rebun-Sarobetsu National Park: A Treasure Trove of Native Flowers

Area: 24,166 ha / Annual Number of Visitors: Approx. 570,000

Rishiri-Rebun-Sarobetsu National Park is made up of three areas: Rishiri Island, Rebun Island, and the Sarobetsu Plain. All present an assortment of diverse terrain, including mountains, flower fields, sea cliffs, marshlands, and sand dunes. The park's iconic Mount Rishiri, a 1,721-meter-tall mountain with a 60-kilometer outer circumference, is said to resemble Mount Fuji, earning it the nickname “Rishiri-Fuji.” Its rough, rocky surface towering out from the coast aptly symbolizes the park’s grandeur.

The Sarobetsu Plain, which is on mainland Hokkaido opposite the banks of Rishiri and Rebun Islands, was formed over a period of 6,000 years and stands as Japan’s largest marshland. Born from an accumulation of dead plant material, the marshy bog now boasts over 100 varieties of blooming flowers scattered across a collection of roughly 170 lakes and marshes.

Rebun Island, which sits 8 km northwest of Rishiri Island, is filled with species of rare endemic alpine plants, earning it the nickname “The Island of Flowers.” Visitors will be treated to a colorful tapestry of rare flowers, many of which can’t be found anywhere else!

As Rishiri-Rebun-Sarobetsu National Park is large and isolated, you can enjoy it whilst avoiding other people, making it the perfect travel destination for social distancing.

Shiretoko National Park: A Haven For Wild Animals!

Area: (Land) 38,954 ha, (Sea) 22,353 ha / Annual Number of Visitors: Approx. 1.65 million

Formed by volcanic activity and water currents, Shiretoko National Park sits on the mountainous Shiretoko Peninsula. Brimming with magnificent oceans, forests, rivers, and mountains, it is home to a vast assortment of wild animals. Recognized for its precious ecosystem, it was officially designated a Natural World Heritage Site in 2005.

36 species of land mammals and 22 species of ocean mammals have been found living in Shiretoko. Among these, the most famous inhabitant is arguably the brown bear, which is the largest land-based animal in Japan. There are estimated to be at least 200 bears living on the Shiretoko Peninsula - a large number even on a worldwide scale! Other native animals include the critically endangered Blakiston's fish owl and the white-tailed eagle, along with loads of other captivating birds of prey. For those looking to spot wildlife, you’re guaranteed to discover something in Shiretoko! With a wide walking trail ensuring social distancing, now is a better time than ever to visit!

Akan Mashu National Park: Japan’s Largest Caldera

Area: 91,413 ha / Annual Number of Visitors: Approx. 3.4 million

The breathtaking Akan Mashu National Park rests upon Japan’s largest caldera (a basin formed by volcanic activity) and presents a stunning collection of dynamic terrain, including the three caldera lakes of Lake Akan, Lake Kussharo, and Lake Mashu, along with other volcanoes, lakes, and forests.

The park is largely divided between the Akan area and the Mashu (Kawayu) area. The Akan area is known for its dazzling sights, including Mount Oakan, Mount Meakan, and the enormous Lake Akan. Highlights in the Mashu (Kawayu) area include the extraordinary transparent waters of Lake Mashu along with the awe-inspiring Lake Kussharo, which can be viewed in its entirety from numerous surrounding mountains and passes. The mind-blowing scale of the natural beauty on display needs to be seen to be believed!

Kushiro-Shitsugen National Park: Japan’s Largest Marshland!

Area: 28,788 ha / Annual Number of Visitors: Approx. 430,000

Kushiro-Shitsugen National Park is comprised of the Kushiro River and its tributary streams flowing into Japan’s largest marshland of Kushiro Marsh in eastern Hokkaido. Surrounded by hills and mountains, the expansive views of the sweeping flatlands fills one with a humbling sense of awe.

Within the largely untouched nature lives an estimated 39 species of mammals, 200 species of birds, 5 species of reptiles, 4 species of amphibians, 38 species of fish, and over 1,100 species of insects. Of particular note is the Japanese red-crowned crane, which was rescued from the brink of extinction thanks to conservation efforts. This elegant bird can now be found in the Kushiro Marshland and other places in eastern Hokkaido.

Daisetsuzan National Park: Hokkaido’s Tallest Mountain

Area: 226,764 ha / Annual Number of Visitors: Approx. 4.9 million

Located in central Hokkaido, Daisetsuzan National Park is most recognized by Mount Asahidake (2,291 m), a part of the Daisetsuzan Volcanic Group and Hokkaido’s tallest peak. The mountainous national park also incorporates Mount Tokachi and the Tokachi Mountains, the Ishikari Mountains, and more. Creating the headwaters to Hokkaido’s iconic Ishikari and Tokachi Rivers, the park is often referred to as "The Roof of Hokkaido."

While many of the roughly 2,000-meter-tall mountains here pale in comparison to the 3,000 m mountains on mainland Japan, the high latitude contributes to creating a formidable alpine environment. For this reason, both conifers and broad leaf trees surround the base while forests of birch and other high alpine vegetation dot the peaks. The Daisetsuzan National Park website has a map displaying where people are likely to gather; visitors are encouraged to use it to avoid crowded places.

Shikotsu-Toya National Park: Witness Active Volcanoes!

Area: 99,473 ha / Annual Number of Visitors: Approx. 10.7 million

Shikotsu-Toya National Park is based around the two large caldera lakes of Lake Shikotsu and Lake Toya alongside the volcanoes of Mount Yotei, Mount Usu, and Mount Tarumae. Known as the "museum of living volcanoes," the sheer variety of localized volcanic activity has generated a tapestry of hot springs, sulfur spouts, and other surreal phenomena. This volcanic group has since been officially recognised as the Toya-Usu Global Geopark, Japan’s first, in honor of its outstanding geography.

Lake Shikotsu, which was formed by volcanic activity approximately 32,000 years ago, is Japan’s second deepest lake with a maximum depth of 360 m. The cold climate and lack of sediment flow has made it incredibly transparent, which is best appreciated up close!

With a staggering variety of natural wonders, each of Hokkaido’s six national parks has something special to offer! Dive into ancient ecosystems and treat your senses to overwhelming beauty with a trip to one or more of Hokkaido’s incredible national parks!

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search