以咖啡與藝術為媒 聽Allison夫婦聊聊他們的地域社區交流術

了解一個國家,最好的方式就是認識當地人民。在採訪系列〈People of Japan〉中,我們介紹創業家、藝術家、職人等充滿熱情且多才多藝的人物,希望藉此讓讀者對日本更有親近感。這次的內容,將帶領大家認識熱情洋溢的Allison夫婦檔,以及悄悄佇立於東京都東長崎地區、他們所經營的咖啡館「MIA MIA」與藝廊「I AM」。

東京

行程體驗

Vaughan先生與Rie小姐:創造力豐富的夫妻檔

「每個領域都帶給我很多的影響,我也從中學到很多東西。」從事過許多行業的Vaughan先生,擁有諸如模特兒、音樂製作人、咖啡愛好家等多種身分。他表示在過去20年都在關注人際關係交流,曾有15年的時間,都在撰寫生活雜誌的文章,同時從事咖啡事業。

那麼是如何在眾多工作中取得時間平衡呢?Vaughan先生笑回:「平衡?才沒有這回事呢。」在日本第三波咖啡流行之際來到日本的Vaughan先生,花了很多時間至日本各地的獨立咖啡館採點,總共去了約1000間以上的咖啡館。他滿面笑容地說在開始經營MIA MIA之前,就曾列出所有想造訪的咖啡館、咖啡廳與麵包店,但實在沒辦法全部都去。「我通常都會向店家的咖啡師打聽是否有其他推薦的咖啡館,所以清單就會不斷增加。」

Rie小姐則是有超過10年經驗的建築師,現在也堅守本職經營建築事務所。「建築師是負責溝通的中心角色,最重要的就是與相關人士認真對談,並協助團隊合作。」從認識或曾遇見的每個人身上,每天總能從對話中獲得靈感。

雖然東京不是Vaughan先生與Rie小姐的故鄉(Vaughan先生是澳洲人、Rie小姐是宮崎縣人),但他們卻在東京近郊某條幽靜街道找到屬於他們的歸宿。「最棒的事物東京全都有了。」Vaughan先生如此說:「當然前提是你有時間仔細尋覓。」

東長崎:在藝術富饒之地,遇見契合所在

這次為了採訪Vaughan先生和Rie小姐,編輯部來到了滿街皆是風趣個性店家的東長崎。在東長崎,找不到任何一間大規模的連鎖店。事實上,Vaughan先生與Rie小姐為了找尋最適合經營咖啡館的地區,連續花了五年時間,才終於找到這裡。

東長崎位於豐島區西部,而位在此區的要町、長崎、千早地域,從昭和初期至戰前,因應專門學習繪畫與雕刻的學生,漸漸形成了附工作室的租房聚落,因此,東長崎又稱作藝術工作村。最繁盛時期,甚至有超過百位畫家與雕刻家等藝術家居住於此。至今,這裡仍相當歡迎藝術家前來,Vaughan先生便是受到這樣的氛圍魅力而來。「這條街道上,有很多允許演奏樂器的公寓,由此可知有很多藝術家都曾住在這裡喔。」

Vaughan先生與Rie小姐活用他們自身的創意才能,因應地域社會開啟了專案,為能提升此街道藝術魅力而持續努力。充滿歡樂獨特氛圍的MIA MIA,店裡有賣好喝的咖啡與設計精美的產品。另外,在畫廊I AM則是展示澳洲藝術家的作品,同時也販售相關商品。畫廊展出的藝術家作品,皆由Rie小姐精心挑選。主要的藝術家展覽,為每三個月一期會進行更換。

編輯部與Vaughan先生和Rie小姐初次見面的地方,就在他們稱為「文化傳播站」的I AM。Vaughan先生熱情地說明,他們為了與這地區的人民交流,在I AM展開了各式各樣的活動企劃。

在畫廊正前方有個由當地小朋友幫忙管理的小型社區花園,而當地長輩們也經常光顧花園,傳授園藝巧思。另外,畫廊同時也有成立地區堆肥收集場,在畫廊前後都有設置堆肥箱。「居民會將自家要堆肥的東西帶來,而當自家庭院有需要堆肥時,可以再過來拿。」Vaughan先生指著放在各處的堆肥箱說明著。

畫廊正前方還有設置一個當作圖書館利用的小型書箱。Vaughan先生和Rie小姐希望能將書籍與大家分享共讀。他們希望能設計出開放且交流容易的環境,讓男女老少、甚至寵物,無論是誰都能輕鬆造訪的公共空間。

因應當地需求:為經營咖啡館的靈感來源

Vaughan先生相當擅長與人交流溝通,但即便如此,在東京的某些場合上,依然會覺得人際交流十分困難。「由於現代人生活在網路相當發達的年代,人與人的交流顯得更加重要。即使只能提供些微影響,我們依然希望能幫助刺激人與人之間的交流。」Vaughan先生認為,只要人有互動,就不會有陰鬱氣氛。常在多處留下感情羈絆,在必要時能向某人投靠、獲取正面能量,未來各種場合也能彼此幫助。「天下大事,必作於細。」Vaughan先生如此說。

「因為澳洲的咖啡館員工都很友善,加上獨立咖啡文化也在各地區深深扎根。因此,在澳洲大規模的咖啡連鎖店都難以經營生存。」相反的,日本雖然也有很多小規模的獨立咖啡館,但咖啡連鎖店仍佔大多數,也無法提供如澳洲那樣的服務。「大部分的日本人都會在連鎖店、便利商店或自動販賣機買咖啡。」Vaughan先生接著提出其中問題:「這些店家都無法產生社區連結。」

Rie小姐:「我們很希望能在日本實現如同澳洲的友善氣氛。」

MIA MIA:居住日本的澳洲人所打造的避風港

「MIA MIA」(發音為Mah-ya Mah-ya)在澳洲原住民語中有「避風港」的意思。Vaughan先生和Rie小姐在澳洲旅行時,曾順道路過以傳統當地木材建造的小屋MIA MIA,在那裡聚集了朋友與過路客,能夠「自由停留」。當下了解MIA MIA的意思後,就馬上決定使用它作為新的店面名稱。

Vaughan先生以他的理念「與人交流得以獲取機會」為例,像店面標誌是由PAIK DESIGN OFFICE設計,而杯子則是陶藝家Yumiko Iihoshi的原創作品等,因為有了這群才華洋溢的專業人士兼好友,這間咖啡館才得以更圓滿。

他們經營的店已與東長崎的街道融為一體,在這富有魅力的空間裡,可見因迎接客人的Vaughan先生和Rie小姐,還有獲得能量的當地居民與觀光客而熱鬧非凡。店內設計使每位客人都感到輕鬆愜意,即使在冬天,窗戶與門也依然敞開,能與滿面笑容的Vaughan先生聊上幾句。

MIA MIA 與 I AM的建築設計,最大功臣就屬Rie小姐的專業技術。在MIA MIA的裝修過程中,將改裝前原先無法開啟的窗戶,換成能打開的形式,改為讓店員與客人更方便交流的室內裝潢結構,另外也盡可能開著窗保持店內空氣流通。Rie小姐在執行各式各樣的建築工程場合時,都會考量各種因素(例如門的位置調整等)是否符合現實生活機能,並實際在MIA MIA與 I AM進行測試。

義式咖啡機的擺放位置也須慎重考量,最適當的位置,就要設置在讓店員與客人談話容易,且不讓店內任何人感到冷漠疏離。

關於空間設計,「平衡最重要。不能過於執著流行時尚。太時髦的空間,反而會讓客人難以靠近。越是親和熟悉的空間,人們更能放鬆休息。」Rie小姐對這些細節的堅持,實則有著良好的功能。MIA MIA的內部與外觀裝潢,兩者皆保有新潮的藝術元素,在這樣的空間氛圍下,讓每位客人無論在店內或室外,皆能悠閒度過美好時光。

讓客人輕鬆愜意的特別考量

在編輯部造訪MIA MIA時,看到Vaughan先生和Rie小姐,無論面對的是常客或是新面孔,總是笑容滿盈、慷慨大方地歡迎與交流。Vaughan先生只要在店門前遇到當地居民,總會充滿活力地打招呼且談天說笑。Rie小姐則是會加入在店附近客人的聊天話題中。

Rie小姐提到,對於在MIA MIA工作的人,有應該具備的條件特質。她希望員工能跳脫日本傳統服務形式的侷限,取而代之的是有自我想法行動且懂得與客人自由交流。Vaughan先生和Rie小姐鼓勵員工盡可能打造出能令客人放寬心談話且放鬆的環境氛圍。

在送幾乎天天造訪的當地常客離開時,Vaughan先生說:「提升回客率的重點,在於人情溫度。」

「我希望咖啡館能成為人們日常生活的一部分,只要用心且全力以赴,小店家也有其生存之道。」

成為社區的一份子:咖啡館的基本條件

Vaughan先生與Rie小姐兩人皆是從小在注重服務精神的環境長大,這樣的成長背景,也間接影響他們與客人談話及店面營運的方式。

「我們必須要在客人自己意識到需要什麼前,提供服務給對方,藉此得以滿足客人需求。」Vaughan先生原本就在澳洲——極品咖啡與優質服務兼具重要的國度——出生,「我的人生總有咖啡相伴,」Vaughan先生從小就在父母經營的餐廳打工,「義式咖啡機就是我的玩具。」

而Rie小姐則是在經營居酒屋的家庭長大,因此她能感受到,自己個性有很大的影響來自於家庭。這也就是為何Rie小姐覺得,比起安靜的地方,熱鬧的場所更讓她自在。現在她希望以建築師的身分,能為人與人之間的交流,助上一臂之力,「建築,即是打造空間,能建立起人們之間的羈絆,是相當有樂趣的工作。」

Vaughan先生和Rie小姐兩人皆指出,決定一間咖啡館好壞,其中一個標準,就是咖啡師對店家附近的熟悉程度。Rie小姐說:「我去旅行時經常會順路去咖啡館,然後詢問咖啡師附近是否有推薦的地方。」Vaughan先生又表示,為掌握店內氣氛,他很重視與店員和客人的交流對話。

Vaughan先生與Rie小姐都希望,MIA MIA能成為傳遞東長崎更深入資訊與街坊魅力的店家,因此他們委託某位日本藝術家,畫出東長崎地區的觀光地圖。這份地圖就張貼在MIA MIA的門口。且為了想在觀光時使用地圖或想買東長崎可愛伴手禮的人們,店裡也有販售觀光地圖的複印版。Vaughan先生說:「我不希望大家只是來喝個咖啡,就返回車站坐車回家了。非常希望大家能在東長崎附近走走探索更多地方。」

Allison夫婦檔擁有讓人微笑的魔法

開心的聊天且喝了美味的咖啡後,該是起身道別的時候了。Vaughan先生與Rie小姐滿懷心意目送我們離開後,咖啡館相談甚歡的聲音逐漸遠離,一行人隨即愉快地回味著方才在MIA MIA的快樂時光。MIA MIA傍晚還會變成酒吧,專為夜間想前來的人們而開。推薦各位讀者,如有機會造訪東長崎,想要來杯美味咖啡與愉快談天,就來MIA MIA找Vaughan先生與Rie小姐吧!

關東特輯

本文資訊均以公開時為準。


作者簡介

Kim
Kim S.

搜尋餐廳

Vaughan and Rie Allison - Building Community and Friendships Through Coffee and the Arts in Tokyo

The best way to learn about a country is by getting to know the locals. With our interview series “People of Japan,” we’ll bring you even closer to Japan by introducing business owners, cultural ambassadors, and all-round amazing people in the country bonded by strong passions. In this article, we'd like to introduce Vaughan and Rie Allison, the passionate owners of MIA MIA and I AM, a coffee shop and gallery respectively, tucked away in the northwestern Tokyo neighborhood of Higashi Nagasaki.

Tokyo

Experiences

Help tsunagu write guidebook to restaurants in Japan! - CLICK TO LEARN MORE

Vaughan and Rie Allison - The Creative Powerhouse Couple

Vaughan is a man who wears many hats, keeping himself busy with several endeavors, including as a model, music producer, and coffee enthusiast. "I am influenced by and have learned so much from the different worlds," he tells us. He mentions how he has spent the last 20 years focused on human interactions, writing pieces for lifestyle magazines and being involved with the local coffee scene for 15 years.

When asked how he balances his time between different projects, "I don't," he laughs. Arriving in Japan during the country's 3rd wave of specialty coffee, he has spent much of his time familiarizing himself with indie coffee shops all around Japan, and he estimates that he has been to over 1,000 shops. He mentioned a list that he kept of coffee shops, cafes, and bakeries that he planned to visit even before opening MIA MIA, but chuckles at the fact that he has never been able to get through all of them. "I always ask baristas what other coffee shops they recommend, so the list never gets any shorter." 

Rie's main line of work is architecture, which she has been doing for over 10 years and now even has her own business. She finds inspiration in her everyday life, from meeting and seeing people to having conversations. "Architects are becoming hubs of communication, so you need to work with your team and make sure you are talking with people," she explained.

Although neither Vaughan nor Rie are originally from Tokyo (he is from Australia and she is from Miyazaki Prefecture), they found themselves settled in a quiet neighborhood in Tokyo. "Tokyo has the best of everything," Vaughan says, "If you have the time to look." 

Higashi Nagasaki - Finding Their Niche in an Artistic Neighborhood

To interview Vaughan and Rie, we found ourselves in Higashi Nagasaki, an unassuming neighborhood dotted with quaint eateries and tiny shops. There was not a large chain store in sight - a fact that Vaughan and Rie prized during their 5-year journey to find the perfect area to open their coffee shop.

Higashi Nagasaki is located in the western part of Toshima-ku, the home of neighborhoods such as Kanamecho, Nagasaki, and Chihaya. From the beginning of the Showa period up until World War II, it hosted groups of rentable houses equipped with ateliers for single students studying painting and carving, earning it the nickname “Atelier Village.” During its heyday, over 100 artists such as painters and carvers lived in the neighborhood, and this artistic atmosphere appealed to Vaughan, as he detailed how Higashi Nagasaki used to be an artists' residency. "You can find a lot of apartments that allow instruments, so you can tell that there must have been a lot of artists living in the area."

Vaughan and Rie continue to contribute to this artistic atmosphere, utilizing their creative backgrounds to start projects that can also involve the local community. In addition to MIA MIA, with its fun and funky atmosphere, delicious coffee, and beautifully designed merchandise, their gallery, I AM, showcases and sells pieces from Australian artists. Rie handpicks the artists to introduce, with the featured artist changing every three months. 

We first met up with Vaughan and Rie at I AM, which they describe as a "cultural kiosk," and Vaughan enthusiastically walked us through the different projects they started at I AM to engage the local community.

In the front of the gallery is a small community garden that local children can help tend, and Vaughan told us that elderly people often come to give gardening tips. The gallery also acts as a community compost station, with composting drawers in front and a large composter behind the gallery. "People can come to drop things that they want to compost off, and come back if they ever need compost for their gardens," Vaughan noted as he pointed out the different compost spots.

There is even a little book post out front that acts as a tiny library, with Vaughan and Rie's intention being that everyone can read and share the same books. With open architecture and interactive designs, Vaughan and Rie wanted to create inclusive spots where everyone is welcome, from the young to old, and even pets!

Answering a Local Need – The Inspiration for Opening a Coffee Shop

Vaughan has a clear talent for creating interpersonal relationships, which Tokyo can be a difficult environment for.  "We're living in an online world," Vaughan explained, "so it's important to interact with people. We are trying to spark some of those interactions." According to him, no interactions create a sad atmosphere. Interactions always lead to something, and can help people in the future in many different aspects, such as having someone to rely on during a time of need or even as a mood booster. "From the little things, big things grow," he commented. 

Vaughan and Rie both mentioned how coffee shops usually have friendly staff in Australia, with indie coffee culture having such a strong hold it is difficult for even large coffee chains to survive. Meanwhile, while also home to many small indie coffee shops, Japan is overrun with coffee chains, which can't offer the same type of interpersonal service. "A lot of people get their coffee from chains, vending machines, or convenience stores, Vaughan noted, "There's no sense of community there."

"We wanted to bring some of that Australian friendliness to Japan," Rie told us.

MIA MIA - An Australian Shelter in Japan

"Mia Mia" (pronounced mah-ya mah-ya) is an aboriginal Australian word that means "shelter." While touring around Australia, Vaughan and Rie came across a mia mia, which were huts traditionally made from local wood where friends and passersby could gather and "just be." After hearing the explanation of the word, they instantly knew it would become the name for their new watering hole.

Testaments to Vaughan's ideology that interactions bring opportunity are the several contributions made to the coffee shop by incredible talents and friends of Vaughan and Rie – the logo was designed by Paik Design Office, and the cups are original pieces by yumiko iihoshi porcelain.

While their shops easily blend into the Higashi Nagasaki townscape, the charming establishments remain lively with locals and visitors who are welcomed and encouraged by Vaughan and Rie. The design of an establishment is essential in making people feel welcome, and Vaughan and Rie were sure to point out how the windows and doors are always open, "even in winter," laughed Vaughan. 

Rie's architecture skills played a big part in the design of MIA MIA and I AM, which she can return to when she wants to see how an architectural element worked out in the real world - something that many architects can't or don't do. When renovating the space for MIA MIA, they made sure to keep the shop as open and airy as possible, such as changing the windows so they could open and configuring the interior so it is easy to converse and interact with the staff and other customers.

Even the placement of the espresso machine was carefully thought out, finding the best position for staff and customers to interact and prevent anyone from feeling shunned.

On designing the space, Rie said: "Balance is important. It couldn't be too fashionable, or people would find it difficult to enter. People can relax in familiar spaces." Her attention to detail proved fruitful, with both the interior and exterior of MIA MIA giving off a fresh, artistic vibe while remaining welcoming enough for people to leisurely spend time in and around the shop.

Paying Extra Attention to Make Sure People Feel Welcome

During our time at MIA MIA, we watched Vaughan and Rie welcome and interact with customers, from regulars to first-timers, with large smiles and open arms. Vaughan would recognize locals passing by, excitedly greeting them and cracking inside jokes, and Rie would easily slip into conversation with customers hanging around the shop.

Rie explained the mentality they want their employees to have while working at MIA MIA - they do not want the staff to feel restricted by the norms of formal Japanese customer service, but instead want them to act like themselves and freely interact with customers. In fact, they encourage staff to create a relaxed atmosphere and get patrons to open up.

"The human element is what brings regulars," Vaughan mentioned as he waved goodbye to a local customer who visits almost every day. "Coffee shops need to become parts of people's daily lives. If you have the right heart and mindset, the small places will always win."

Being a Part of the Community: A Coffee Shop Requirement

Both Vaughan and Rie grew up in hospitality environments, which is evident in their interactions with customers and how they look to run their businesses. "You need to fulfill the needs of guests before they even know what they need," Vaughan said to us.

Vaughan is originally from Australia, a land of great coffee and equally great service. His parents owned their own restaurant, where he worked part-time when he was younger. "I've been around coffee my whole life," he explained. "The espresso machine was my toy."

Rie, on the other hand, grew up in a family that owned an izakaya. She believes this helped shape her personality, as she finds more comfort in louder places than quieter ones. Now, even as an architect, she finds herself as a catalyst for human interaction. "Architecture is an interesting job, because you can make spaces and connect people," she explained to us.

Both Vaughan and Rie noted that one of the criteria they use to gauge the quality of a coffee shop is how well the baristas know the surrounding area. "Whenever I travel, I always stop at a coffee shop and ask the barista where I should go," said Rie. Vaughan also added how he makes a point to talk to the staff and customers to understand the vibe of the coffee shop.

They aspire to be this kind of establishment for Higashi Nagasaki – they even commissioned a Japanese artist to illustrate a beautiful map of the Higashi Nagasaki neighborhood. The map can be viewed on the door of MIA MIA, and they sell copies at the shop for those who want to take it exploring or even want cute memorabilia of the area. "I don't like the idea of people just coming for the coffee and then heading back on the train, I want them to explore and see what else there is around Higashi Nagasaki," Vaughan expressed.

Vaughan and Rie Guarantee to Put a Smile On Your Face

After some lively chats and tasting some delicious coffee, we realized it was time for us to bid adieu. We were given a hearty send-off, and happily discussed the amazing time we had while the chatter of the coffee shop got quieter in the distance. MIA MIA also transforms into a bar at night, for those who are more keen to visit in the evening. If you are ever in the area and need some good coffee and conversation, visit Vaughan and Rie at MIA MIA!

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Kanto Feature

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.


About the author

Kim
Kim S.

Restaurant Search