參觀250年歷史悠久的酒窖!讓專家告訴您享受日本酒試飲的方式

日本酒的世界有著驚為天人的多樣貌,為此,要走入這個世界,多少有些令人裹足不前。日本酒的風味,端看區域性、精米步合等各種因素交織影響。如果日本酒初學者想更深入了解日本酒,有個方法,就是參加日本全國多數酒窖都有舉辦的日本酒試飲行程。但是,假如在一無所知之下直接參加的話,可能會因與預期有所落差而感到失望,因此,參加前有個基礎知識掌握相當重要。藉著寫這篇文章的機會,筆者造訪了擁有250年歷史的今代司酒造株式會社,在營業經理渡邊佳小姐的引領下,了解到能美味飲用日本酒的試飲方法。渡邊小姐獨家傳授了任何人都能輕鬆做到簡單方式,實際執行後便能揭開這自古傳承的極致飲品之奧祕。

新潟

美食

日本酒究竟為何物?

日本酒的原料相當簡單,就是蒸米與麴、水、酵母(多數釀造酒皆含有)。將已精米的米蒸過之後,撒上「麴菌」(米麴黴菌)製成米麴,再次與其他的蒸米、水、酵母混和後,即製成「酒母」或稱「酛」的日本酒之母。

酵母增殖之後,將「酒母」移至大發酵桶中,再與蒸米、米麴、水融合製成「醪」。反覆添加原料三次,循序漸進地促進發酵。大約經過一個月後,再進行壓榨、過濾、火入、熟成、調合,最後進行裝瓶,最終的完成品「日本酒」這才大功告成。由上述可知釀酒工序十分複雜,每項工序只要有些許變化或省略,就會誕生出全新或截然不同的日本酒。這就是為何日本酒如此變幻莫測的原因,就連釀造者也驚豔不已。

位於新潟市中心的今代司酒造株式會社

今代司酒造位於新潟市中心,從新潟站步行前往約20分鐘。新潟縣是作為日本酒中心地最知名的地區之一,是日本擁有最多酒窖的地方。不僅如此,米的產量也是位居日本國內第一。今代司酒造自1767年創業以酒類批發商起家,到明治時代中期(1868~1912年)轉型為釀造業。創業至今已有250年以上的悠久歷史。

今代司酒造以優質革新的釀造所著稱,藉著代代相傳且具歷史淵源的釀造技術與現代的設計結合的形式,致力追求傳統與創新之間的平衡。在日本酒的製造工序中,不添加任何釀造酒精,嚴格堅守釀製出「純米」這種單純以米與米麴進行釀造的方式,這樣才能釋放出米最原始的風味。

今代司酒造最引以為傲的,就是在日本酒試飲行程中能一次品嚐各種風味的日本酒。這種日本酒的試飲行程,雖然通常會有專業侍酒師帶領舉行,但基本上就是分發杯子給客人,以自助服務的型態自由品嚐。今代司酒造也是依此形式舉行,在筆者造訪當天,非常大方地提供了10種以上的日本酒試飲,讓筆者一行人非常高興也很感動。

由渡邊佳小姐傳授享受日本酒試飲行程的方式

透過以上內容有個概念後,與今代司酒造的營業經理渡邊佳小姐同席,聽她說明在自助服務型態的試飲行程中推薦的享用方式。渡邊小姐是位熱情的日本酒愛好家,有一口流利英文。渡邊佳小姐在今代司酒造已服務超過五年以上,過程中需接待各式各樣的顧客,因此每天都激勵自己要致力開發全新且易懂的日本酒推廣方式。從經驗中不斷學習,渡邊小姐堅信,只要藉由正確的介紹,每個人皆能愉快享受日本酒的美妙滋味。

品嚐日本酒前的必備知識

日本酒上皆會清楚標示風味、品質與酒精濃度等資訊,因此在品嚐前,建議先學習到各種日本酒的基本知識。渡邊小姐表示可以從以下內容開始學習。

  • 精米步合
  • 釀造所獨家與季節限定的釀造酒
  • 日本酒度(Sake Meter Value﹔SMV)
  • 酒精濃度(Alcohol by Volume﹔ABV)

接著將會針對以上逐一詳細說明,目前對這些名詞毫無頭緒的人也不用擔心喔。

大吟釀與吟釀:從精米步合尋找最高級的日本酒

為了讓日本酒的試飲體驗更有意義,渡邊小姐建議從價格與品質皆為最高級的日本酒開始品飲。會如此建議只是單純以邏輯上來說,當醉意襲來味覺便會變得遲鈍,因此就無法感受到日本酒中細緻複雜的味道。此外,一開始也建議選擇「Dry」(不甜的日本酒,日語稱為「辛口」)來品嚐。這是因為甘口的酒以芳醇濃郁的味道居多,容易蓋過日本酒細緻的風味。

試飲行程一開始,渡邊小姐帶領筆者到試飲室後方,介紹今代司最高級的日本酒「純米大吟釀 今代司 極上」。走進房間後為了能馬上找出極上的日本酒,針對有關「精米步合」的程度分成「吟釀」與「大吟釀」的內容,渡邊小姐進行了以下說明。

「蛋白質和脂肪會使日本酒豐厚有雜味,有時甚至會壓過果香味等細緻風味。而蛋白質與脂肪大部分都集中於米粒外層,因此通常米的精米比例越高,釀造酒就會越滑順爽口。」

精米步合就是將米粒研磨後每顆米所剩餘大小的比例。其比例越低,代表磨掉的部分越多,米粒也就越小顆。今代司的「純米大吟釀 極上」是40%,這就表示米的外層磨掉了60%。而剩下中間的40%,比起尚無精米過的玄米明顯更加小顆。精米步合60%以下的日本酒為「吟釀」,50%以下為「大吟釀」,因此「大吟釀」被視為最高等級的日本酒。

吟釀與大吟釀的特徵是有著爽口的果香味,或者通常都有令人神往著迷的香氣。精米步合40%的「純米大吟釀 今代司 極上」,如同清水般輕盈口感合乎大眾口味,不膩口且毫無負擔,還有隱隱約約的香氣蔓延開來,以及最後在口中散發出的尾韻,都要扎實地品嘗到喔。

「吟釀」與「大吟釀」的風味以清爽容易入喉的類型居多,是為了提引出隱藏在米中的味道所特別釀造而成的。因此,渡邊小姐表示會特別推薦這類的日本酒給首次挑戰品飲日本酒的人。

備受矚目的酒窖原創商品

渡邊小姐說:「試飲過高價位的日本酒後,接著可以來找找看這裡的獨家日本酒」。大多數的酒窖除了有經典款之外,都會提供運用特殊技術與材料,自由組合釀造出具代表性的日本酒,這些往往是最能展現各家酒窖魅力的產品。

放在試飲室正中央作為鎮店之寶的,就是今代司最引以為傲的逸品「木桶釀造純米大吟釀 今代司」。這款獨一無二的日本酒,是在杉木製的傳統木桶中釀造而成。而現代的製酒業多改用鋼桶取代,因此所謂木桶造酒的形式已逐漸消失。而今代司自2014年開始,認為應重啟這項自古傳承的造酒型態,因此向日本國內僅存少數的桶屋(製作木製容器的業者)訂製木桶。

「由於天然木強力的有機性,使釀造變得難以預測,加上如酵母與麴具有生命力的原料培養基,會與木頭以特有的方式產生交互作用,因此,有時會創造出意想不到的風味。當然,這也代表經常會製造出與預期不同的日本酒,伴隨著更多風險,這就是為何大部分釀造所偏好使用較穩定的鋼桶。不過,也正因為是木桶釀造才更有意想不到的樂趣呢!」渡邊小姐如此表示。

自古延續下來的木桶釀造日本酒,實則相當費時費力,可想而知在日本也僅剩約20間酒窖有在使用,而其中多數的試飲行程中,也沒有木桶釀造日本酒的選項可以品飲。儘管如此,大多數的酒窖皆有賭上自家名譽的獨創日本酒,所以千萬別忘了,在醉意來襲前一定要喝喝看看喔!

季節限定的日本酒

除了酒窖自家原創的日本酒之外,接著為各位介紹一整年會定期販售期間限定的「季節日本酒」。筆者造訪今代司的時候,正在販售的是「十六夜(いざよい)」,這款調和甘甜與酸味的對比搭配,是專屬於秋天的日本酒(如上圖)。

渡邊小姐表示:「在試飲行程中品嚐時,記得一定要利用時間找到季節的日本酒,盡可能地全都要喝看看喔!」

還有一款「冷卸酒(ひやおろし)」也是秋天限定的日本酒。製作「冷卸酒」時,會將通常進行兩次的火入程序改為一次,經過夏季期間等待熟成後,風味更加爽口之餘,口感卻是圓潤飽滿,是屬於季節限定的日本酒。冷卸酒通常在9月起至10月期間可購買,早一點的話大約8月中旬也就有地方開始販售了。

其他的季節日本酒中,還有一種是剛釀製完成沒多久的「新酒」,通常多在冬天或春天的釀造季節期間或這之後開始販售。此外,這裡也有販售通常沒有火入程序的「初榨酒(搾りたて)」。「初榨酒」的英文稱作「freshly pressed」,這款日本酒風味爽口濃烈,品嚐得到剛釀造完成時的新鮮口感,深受多數人的喜愛。另外,在炎熱潮濕的夏天,大部分的釀造所都會販售沒有火入程序、擁有輕盈涼爽口感且能消暑的「生酒」。

平價地酒也絕不容小覷

渡邊小姐接著表示:「與啤酒和紅酒相同,專家都會避開品質拙劣的日本酒,但我很建議大家去試試各區域容易購買到的平價日本酒,如此一來對日本酒的整體理解就能更加寬廣。」

這類型的日本酒(又多稱作「普通酒」與「本釀造」),更是日本日常生活中常見的酒類,定價也相當平易近人。試著與前面所提到的高品質釀造酒的特徵相比後,更能實際感受到味道與飲用場合的差異。如果酒窖沒有販售的話,通常應該都可以在當地酒鋪中顯眼的地方找得到。

甘口的日本酒:透過日本酒度復甦您的味蕾

根據渡邊小姐的建議,稍稍品嚐過辛口與季節的日本酒後,接著就可試試甘口的日本酒。渡邊小姐表示:「雖然情況因人而異,但通常喝了3、4杯後就會有醉意,味覺也會變得遲鈍。不過,因為濃醇芳香的甜味感受鮮明,如果想一次試飲全部的日本酒,因此也推薦在這個時點挑戰喝甜味的日本酒。」

今代司其中一款甘口日本酒名為「花柳界」,這款日本酒有充滿魅力的甜味及清爽的口感。無添加任何砂糖,因此甜味全是由米麴自然提煉出來的。這樣應該更能清楚知道,即使與先前提過的日本酒原料都相同,但製作出來的風味卻是變化無窮。

要尋找到甘口的日本酒很簡單,因為大部分的酒標上都會寫著「甘口」(英文是「sweet flavor」)。此外,也能查看「Sake Meter Value: SMV」(日文是「日本酒度」),嘗試自己辨別也可以喔。「日本酒度」是以數值正負數表示日本酒的口感,數值越高代表日本酒味道越偏辛口,負數則代表甜味。例如,如果有比花柳界的–30更小的負數SMV,就可知道它的相當甜。當然也還是有更甜的日本酒喔。誠如渡邊小姐所說,「花柳界」的芳醇風味,可讓原先有些微醉迷糊的狀態中讓味覺甦醒,這樣就能繼續品飲下一款日本酒。

推薦麴甘酒給不喝酒的人

或許對不喝酒的人來說,可能會覺得日本酒的試飲行程很無趣,但為了讓所有人都能感受日本酒的美味,越來越多釀造所也開始花費時間,致力於開發清淡低酒精或無酒精的商品。

無酒精商品大多稱作「甘酒」,自無從考究的古代日本就已出現,是使用發酵米製成的飲品。對習慣喝酒的人來說,甘酒是到最後才喝的,或是至少要先嚐盡最高級的日本酒之後再喝。渡邊小姐表示:「比起日本酒,甘酒的風味更是厚重濃郁,非常適合當作是最後一道甜點的感覺來品嚐。」

最普遍常見的甘酒是「麴」的甘酒,在今代司也能試飲得到。就如同前面所說,麴就是「米麴黴菌(aspergillus orzae)」這種菌的日本名稱,是在發酵食品如醬油與味噌中的基本原料。甘酒跟日本酒一樣都是經由釀造而成,但不同的是,甘酒並沒有加入會產生酒精的酵母,只有單純使用麴將米的澱粉轉成糖。麴甘酒的甜味厚重濃郁,雖然很像是燕麥粥的乳狀口感,但口味清爽滑順令人驚豔。擁有悠久歷史的甘酒,因為營養價值高,如今在日本又再次成為新寵兒,很多地方皆在提倡甘酒對各方面與身體的好處。

結論:盡情享受日本酒試飲行程的方式

總結在今代司所學習到的,在日本酒的試飲行程中可嘗試渡邊小姐所推薦的以下順序。

1. 高品質、味道辛口細膩的日本酒

2. 酒窖原創與季節限定的日本酒

3. 相較平價的地酒(如果有的話)

4. 香甜芳醇的日本酒

5. 無酒精的甘酒

以上順序可作為參考,但渡邊小姐也強調,日本酒的文化多變自由,因此希望造訪今代司的每位貴賓,都能自由品飲日本酒。雖然事先的了解與計畫也很重要,但渡邊小姐發現有很多人因為專注於精米步合、酵母種類與釀造方式等事情上,卻忘了來這裡最重要的目的,是要愉快地品嚐日本酒這件事。

「一整天結束後,實際體驗味道感受的是客人本身,因此,請清空心中雜念,全心集中於感受口中所嚐到的所有味道。我所推薦的順序,很適合初嘗日本酒的人參考,然而,掌握基本概念之後,就能以自己本身所感受的繼續深入了解。日本酒的世界沒有絕對的法則!」

藉著試飲行程,共同探索精緻的日本酒世界吧

多虧有今代司酒造的渡邊小姐的帶領介紹,才能夠更深入了解日本酒複雜的世界。從高價的極上大吟釀到無酒精的甘酒,基本上都以相同的原料釀造而成,風味卻如此的多元多變,實在令人驚艷。當然,在日本有著數百間的釀造所,這次介紹的日本酒僅是其中的一小部分。例如還有乳白色混濁無過濾的日本酒「濁酒」、需用耗費時間與人力產生酒母的「生酛」來製成的日本酒,以及高級優質的日本酒「古酒」等等,還有很多充滿魅力豐富的日本酒等著大家探索!希望這篇文章能夠作為指南,給想參加試飲行程的每個人,讓首次的日本酒體驗,都能擁有愉快且充滿意義的回憶。

中部特輯

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

作者簡介

Steve
Steve Csorgo

搜尋餐廳

Learning to Taste Sake With an Expert at a 250-Year-Old Brewery

With such staggering diversity, wading into the world of Japanese sake can be intimidating. Dozens of factors characterize the beverage, from region to rice milling and more. One of the best ways for beginners to familiarize themselves is through a sake tasting course, commonplace at breweries throughout Japan. However, jumping in blind can lead to disappointment, making it important to study up beforehand. For this edition of our "Culture of Japan" series, we visited the 250-year-old Imayo Tsukasa Sake Brewery to find out the best way to taste sake under the guidance of Sales Manager Kei Watanabe. Her simple, foolproof sake tasting method will allow one and all to begin uncovering the depths of this ancient ambrosia.

Niigata

Food & Drinks

So What Actually Is Sake?

The ingredients of sake are simple: steamed rice, malted rice, water, yeast (and often brewer's alcohol). Milled rice is steamed and sprinkled with “koji” fungus (aspergillus oryzae) to become malted rice, a portion of which is mixed with steamed rice, water, and yeast to create a starter mash known as “shubo” or “moto.”

Once the yeast has propagated, this starter mash is again combined with the remaining steamed rice/malted rice/water to form the “moromi” brewing mash, completed over three successive stages. The moromi is left to ferment and produce alcohol, before being pressed, filtered, pasteurized, matured, blended, and bottled to create the final product defined as “sake.” As you can see, the brewing process is very intricate, and each stage can be further altered or skipped to create something entirely new and different - which is why breweries are able to offer such a staggering range.

In the Heart of Niigata City: Imayo Tsukasa Sake Brewery

Imayo Tsukasa Sake Brewery is a 20-minute walk from Niigata Station, in the center of Niigata City. Considered one of Japan’s most prominent sake hubs, Niigata Prefecture boasts the highest number of sake breweries in the country, while also being its largest producer of rice. Imayo Tsukasa was founded as a sake wholesaler in 1767 before eventually switching to brewing during the mid-Meiji period (1868-1912), giving the company a history of over 250 years.

Nowadays, Imayo Tsukasa seeks to balance tradition and innovation, blending stylish bottles in a slick renovated brewery with time-honored brewing techniques passed down the generations. They are also strictly dedicated to “junmai” pure-rice brewing, meaning that no brewing alcohol is added during the sake-making process, heightening the natural flavors of rice.

Imayo Tsukasa also boasts a comprehensive sake tasting course inviting guests to sample their extensive lineup. While many such tasting courses are hosted by professional sommeliers, self-serve courses, where visitors are given a cup and left to their own devices, are just as common. Imayo Tsukasa employs the latter, and on the day of our visit, we were treated to a generous assortment of over ten different bottles, making us feel both excited and overwhelmed.

How to Enjoy a Sake Tasting Course With Kei Watanabe

With this in mind, we sat down with Imayo Tsukasa Sales Manager Kei Watanabe to discover the best way to handle a self-serve sake tasting course. Kei is a passionate English-speaking sake-lover who has worked at Imayo Tsukasa for over five years, striving to uncover new, accessible ways of promoting sake to wider audiences. Through her experiences and education, Kei is adamant that, with the right introduction, sake can be enjoyed by all.

Things to Understand Before Drinking Sake

Sake has several clear-cut indications revealing flavor, quality, alcohol level, and more, allowing a basic understanding of each brew before drinking. To begin understanding sake, Kei suggests learning the following:

  • Rice Polishing Ratio
  • Special, Seasonal Brewing
  • Sake Meter Value (SMV)
  • Alcohol by Volume (ABV)

We’ll go into more detail on each throughout the article, so don’t stress if these terms mean little to you right now.

Daiginjo and Ginjo: Using the Rice Polishing Ratio to Find Top-Tier Sake

To make the most of a sake tasting course, Kei suggests starting from the expensive, high-quality brews. The logic for this is simple: your sense of taste will dull as you become drunk, blocking out finer, intricate flavors. In addition, opting for “dry” (non-sweet, “karakuchi” in Japanese) sake at first is best, as sweet sake is often heavy and rich, and can mask nuanced tastes.

To kick off our session, Kei guided us to the back of the tasting room to find Imayo Tsukasa’s highest-grade sake: “Junmai Daiginjo Supreme.” When tracking down the most exquisite brew in the room, Kei says to search for the words “ginjo” and “daiginjo,” which are ranks determined by the “rice polishing ratio,” as explained by Kei below.

“While protein and fat can make sake rich and complex, it can also overpower delicate elements, like fruity aromas and such. Most protein and fat is concentrated in the outer layers, so the more the rice is milled [polished], the smoother and cleaner the resulting brew, generally speaking.”

Rice polishing ratios are expressed as a percentage, indicating the size of each rice grain after milling. The lower the percentage, the more it has been milled, and the smaller the grains. Imayo Tsukasa’s Junmai Daiginjo Supreme has a polishing ratio of 40%, meaning that 60% of the outer layers of rice have been polished away, while 40% of the core remains, making each grain significantly smaller than unmilled brown rice. Sake with a polishing ratio of 60% or less is defined as “ginjo,” while 50% or less is “daiginjo,” the latter considered to be the highest grade of sake.

Ginjo and daiginjo sake are coveted for their clean, fruity characters, often with alluring aromas to boot. With a 40% polishing ratio, Imayo Tsukasa’s Junmai Daiginjo Supreme naturally presents an invigorating mouthful with a brisk, water-like texture and bouquet of hidden aftertastes, requiring a moment of intense reflection to fully savor.

“Sake like ginjo and daiginjo are often clean, pleasant, and are specifically brewed to bring out the hidden flavors within rice, so I highly recommend them for first-timers,” says Kei.

Keep Your Eye Out For Special Brews

After you've tried the expensive brews, Kei recommends scanning the room for any unique specialities. Alongside the classics, many breweries will offer a signature brew made with offbeat, idiosyncratic techniques or ingredients, and these are often where the talents of the brewery shine brightest.

The pride and joy of Imayo Tsukasa is the “2021 Cedar Barrel Junmai,” sitting amongst the center of the tasting room. This one-of-a-kind sake is brewed in traditional barrels made of cedar wood, an artform largely lost in favor of the steel tanks of the modern industry. Since 2014, Imayo Tsukasa have sought to revive this ancient method, ordering barrels from one of Japan’s few remaining “okeya-san” barrel makers to craft their own wooden brewing barrels.

Kei explains: “the rough, organic nature of wood makes the brewing unpredictable, and the colonies of active ingredients like yeast and koji interact with the wood in unique ways, sometimes creating an unexpected flavor. Of course, there’s always the risk that the resulting brew may not be desirable, which is why most prefer the reliability of steel tanks - but this makes the brewing much more interesting!”

Naturally, with only around twenty breweries still practicing these ancient, strenuous techniques, cedar barrel sake won’t be on the menu at most tasting courses. However, most breweries do pride themselves on their own special creations, so be sure to try them before getting too tipsy!

A Sake for Every Season

The counterpart to special brews are limited “seasonal sake,” which are released periodically throughout the year. Our visit to Imayo Tsukasa lined up with the release of “Izayoi,” an autumn blend of freshly pressed sake designed to harmonize the contrasting flavors of sweetness and acidity (pictured above).

“When trying a tasting course, definitely take the time to see which brews are seasonal, and make sure to appreciate them to the fullest!” says Kei.

Autumn is also the season for “hiyaoroshi,” a highly-anticipated seasonal sake matured over summer with a single round of pasteurization instead of the regular two, giving it a fresh yet mellowed character. Hiyaoroshi is available in Japan from September and October, although some breweries release it as early as mid-August.

Other seasonal delights include freshly brewed sake, called “shinshu,” which is commonly served during or after the brewing season of winter/spring. Often forgoing pasteurization, and also found under the name “shiboritate,” meaning “freshly pressed,” and has an invigorating, stimulating flavor revered by many as the purest form of sake. Additionally, during the hot and humid summer months, many breweries will release unpasteurized sake called “namazake,” designed to be chilled to beat the heat.

Cheap Local Sake: Not to Be Overlooked

Unlike beer or wine, where lesser-quality counterparts are detested by experts, Kei recommends tracking down the cheap sake of a region or neighborhood for a broader appreciation of the full spectrum.

While unavailable at Imayo Tsukasa, this kind of sake (often dubbed “futsushu” or “honjozo”) aims to satisfy the average drinker. They are what everyday Japanese people are familiar with, and are priced to be affordable for all. The differences in taste and quality are most stark when drunk following the high-quality brews featured above, and they can be differentiated by their high rice polishing ratios and low prices. If unavailable at the brewery, they are all but guaranteed to be centerstage at the local bottle shop.

Sweet Sake: Reinvigorate Your Taste Buds With the Sake Meter Value

After indulging in a few more rounds of dry and seasonal sake, Kei suggested moving onto some sweeter selections. “After a few drinks, the taste buds have grown dull, and the charms of subtle, drier sake will be lost. However, rich, sugary tastes will still come through, making it the perfect time to delve into sweet sake,” says Kei.

Imayo Tsukasa's own sweet brew is named “Karyukai,” which bestows a blend of crisp Niigata-style sake with an appetizing saccharinity. With no added sugar, the sweetness is drawn out naturally from an extra portion of malted rice, aptly demonstrating the diverse range of tastes that can be created from the same basic ingredients.

Finding sweet sake is a breeze, with most brews including “amakuchi,” meaning “sweet flavor” in their titles. Alternatively, you can also try your hand at reading the “Sake Meter Value” (SMV, “nihonshu-do” in Japanese), a positive/negative number expressing the taste of sake. The higher the number, the drier the sake, while negative numbers denote sweetness. Karyukai has a sizable negative SMV of less than -30, showing it to be very sweet, although even sweeter sake does exist. As promised by Kei, the intense sapor of Karyukai broke through our tipsy haze to revivify our palates, readying us for the following rounds.

Koji Amazake: For Those Staying Sober

While one might assume that a sake tasting course is wasted on those who don’t drink, more and more sake breweries are spending time developing delicious low or non-alcoholic brews to ensure everyone gets their satisfaction.

Many of these are called “amazake,” a fermented rice drink enjoyed in Japan since time immemorial. For those drinking sake, amazake should be saved for last, or at least until after the top-tier brews have been thoroughly appraised. As Kei explains, “amazake drinks are far thicker and more potent in flavor than sake. They’ll smother the tongue and make it difficult to clearly taste anything after.”

One of the most common amazake beverages is “koji,” which is available for tasting at Imayo Tsukasa. As previously mentioned, koji is the Japanese name for the fungus “aspergillus oryzae,” a fundamental ingredient of fermentation also seen in soy sauce and miso paste. Amazake is brewed similarly to sake minus the yeast, which is what produces alcohol, and instead uses koji to turn rice starch into sugar. Koji amazake has a sweet taste and thick, milky texture almost like a watery porridge, but is surprisingly refreshing and smooth. While already with a long history, its high nutrition has earned it newfound popularity in Japan, often promoted for its multifaceted health benefits.

In Summary: How to Enjoy a Sake Tasting Course

Putting together everything we learnt at Imayo Tsukasa, Kei Watanabe’s recommended sake tasting order goes like this:

1. High-quality, drier sake with subtle flavors

2. Brewery specialties and limited-edition seasonal brews

3. Cheaper, local sake (if available)

4. Sweet, rich sake

5. Non-alcoholic amazake

Despite the above advice, Kei stresses to us that sake culture is fluid and free, and she invites all those visiting Imayo Tsukasa to taste as they like. While research and planning is important, she feels that many become hung up on rice polishing ratios, yeast types, brewing methods, and more, and lose sight of the main goal: enjoyment.

“At the end of the day, you are the one who decides how something tastes, so let your mind go blank, and concentrate on whatever flavors appear. My recommended order is a great starting point for beginners, but once you feel you’ve got a grasp on the basics, it’s time to find your own path. There are no rules when it comes to sake!”

Unlocking the Nuisances of Sake Through Tasting

Thanks to the guidance of Imayo Tsukasa and Kei Watanabe, we were able to broaden our appreciation of the complexity of sake. From expensive, premium daiginjo all the way to non-alcoholic amazake, the sheer range available from such basic ingredients was astounding. Of course, this is just the surface of what the hundreds of breweries in Japan have on offer, and once you’re familiar with the above, a profusion of alluring alternatives await - like cloudy, unfiltered “nigorizake,” painstakingly hand-mashed “kimoto” sake, vintage “koshu” sake, and more. Before embarking on a tasting course alone, use this article as a guide to ensure your introductory sake experience is fun, informative, and fulfilling!

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Chubu Feature

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

About the author

Steve
Steve Csorgo
Klook.com

Restaurant Search