【京都自由行】老少皆宜的日本最大级铁道博物馆—京都铁道博物馆!

这次来到京都,终于有时间去我梦寐以求、多年前就想去的京都铁道博物馆,记得这里几年前好像有整修一段时间,所以当时有时间却没去,而之后来到京都也多是以大景点为主。一个人的旅行说走就走,博物馆什么的就是要不赶行程慢慢看才行啊!

京都府

体验

※本文为外部写手所撰

因为京都车站有铁道博物馆的指示牌,我想也没想就直接跟着指示牌走,发现比想象中远太多,沿着车站、铁轨,走进梅小路公园后会先经过水族馆,再来才是铁道博物馆,而且到了之后才发现有公交车...没关系,沿途风光明媚。

沿路的椅子面向着铁轨,我想京都居民应该会很喜欢来这里野餐吧!在公园里穿梭时其实也会路过一些荒烟漫草的区域,让人十分怀疑自己是否走在正确道路上,路灯上的公园旗子也很可爱,让人童心大发。

首先先经过这里,这个建筑物是在明治37年所建的「旧二条站舍」,过去曾为京都铁道株式会社的本社舍屋兼车站,后来为国铁、JR西日本所使用,在平成8年(1996年)时,被选为京都市指定有形文化财。这里聚集了很多人,靠近一看才发现是出口兼纪念品店。

京都铁道博物馆,位于梅小路公园内,是日本最大的铁道博物馆,以「地域与漫步铁道文化据点」为理念。这座以铁道为中心的博物馆,不仅促进了地区的活性化,还为人们提供能够了休憩的场所。在这里,「能看、能摸、能体验」,让每一个来到这里的人都能学习到一些新的经验。 

这里购票是用购票机,旁边会有服务人员帮忙,虽然很努力从包包挖出学生证,但他好像没有检查,觉得被信任有点感动。

本馆分成三个楼层,有铁路的设施构造介绍、车辆展示、列车的运作方式,以及许多生活化相关的展示品。这里大部分都是爸爸妈妈带小孩来玩,博物馆里的体验区范围与种类也很多,现场也多是被小孩子淹没的情况,但由于我是一个人来的,没有带小孩,所以体验区的部分就比较少。

一进去所在的位置是「散步道」,这里主要是展示一些车辆,京都铁道博物馆总共收藏了53辆,不愧是全国最大级别的博物馆,车子内部很多是可以直接走进去的,不过在旁边的小朋友冲来冲去的状态下,我就只有在外面看跟拍照。

终于到了建筑物中,映入眼帘的是一辆辆列车,让我想起小时候有个卡通叫「电光快车侠」,车头可以分离,每辆列车都是生命体,彼此都是好伙伴,还有各自的绝招,总觉得跟这里的车好像长的差不多啊!

我很喜欢这面墙,这应该是当时每辆车的名字,总觉得给予列车名字就是给了那辆车生命,也给了旅程增添了不同的意义,就连在移动的路上,也有种期待的感觉,但这面墙的重点应该是「なは」,即那霸。但是到底为什么冲绳的铁路不重建呢?住在冲绳的我觉得不便啊!好想搭火车。

这区是我非常喜欢的一区,从铁路怎么制造、隧道怎么挖、铁路上的灯号、牌子怎么看,都介绍得非常详细,这也是我爱上这个博物馆的原因。无论旁边的小孩玩得再怎么开心,再怎么大声喧哗,这里都给我一种「大人区域」的感觉,从未想过的铁道细节在这里能一览无遗,其实我日文也没有真的很强,但光靠汉字就已经足够学到很多了。

在这里可以排队体验列车上的广播工作,而且不是只有自己听到,声音大到远处都能听到,体验感十足。

在这里,不仅能够从列车四周观看,或进车厢内部观看,还能在车底穿梭以及走在车顶旁,这两个位置大概只有在动作片里面才能看到,而且跟电视上的一样,让人非常兴奋

这里的解说牌介绍都十分详细,如果我是铁道迷的话,肯定会为了看懂这些而狂学日文的。

往楼上走,就会进入比较现代化的部分,这里介绍了IC卡的演进,竟然连各种车票的原理等都附上了介绍。

我在体验区并没有花很多时间,但这个是难得我有玩的,因为可以翻牌子呀!这让我想起了台北车站还在使用的时刻表,原来是这样做的吗?旁边的表有不同的数字,表示了不同的车号、发车时间、目的地,看好之后就按下指定数字,接着按启动后,时刻表就会翻面了!

赤裸裸的售票机。

这个是非常具有纪念意义的体验,先在一旁的购票机买一张车票(免费),再通过旁边的车站闸门,车票上就会印上日期跟一辆火车,而且这里的闸门是透明的,可以看到里面运作,不过它的速度太快根本还看不清楚就出来了。的确,在车站流量如此大的情况下,速度是决胜负的关键。

我发现只要离体验区远一点点,观光客就变很少。这部分介绍了日本列车的演进史,其实只看模型跟展示品也很开心。旁边裱框的就是九州列车吧,目前我只收集了阿苏男孩跟由布院之森,等我恢复观光客资格时就可以买JR PASS,到时候再来收集吧!

在一片影视墙上发现阿里山!

除了全国性的JR之外,也展示了地区性的公铁、私铁等,我能想到的都在这里了。

体验区蛮大的,我只看了一小部分,其他地方都被小孩子团团围住了,不过虽说是体验区,我也完全看不懂呀!要如何让每分每秒同时高速行进的列车们顺畅安全的运行,除了技术之外,也包含了许多巧思,当乘客很容易,但背后的庞杂往往是无法想象的。

来到了这里最有名的「梅小路扇形车库」,扇形车库被归为重要文化财,特色除了朝中心排列的车库外,中心的转盘更是扇形车库最吸睛的构造,台湾现存唯一的扇形车库在彰化,也有开放参观。

C581前方的菊之纹以及一旁的凤凰,增添了皇家的高贵感,车头前方还有服务人员提供照相的服务。

在本馆的顶楼,可以眺望从各方进出京都车站的车辆,也有实时铁道开闭的广告牌可以对照,不过我逛得太久超出了预定时间,工作人员已经在赶人了,不然这里大概可以站上半小时以上吧。

最后来到了旧二条站舍,也就是出口的地方,竟然还有展示品跟体验区,外头的纪念品店更是挤满了人。在这里我花的时间超出了预期,而且根本来不及逛完。我想,无论对于大人还是小孩,家庭客还是独行旅客,这里的确是值得一去再去的景点呢!

本文提供信息均以公开时为准。

Weibo

体验日本

住宿

购物

搜寻餐厅

All About the Kyoto Railway Museum - Japan’s Largest Railway Museum!

The Kyoto Railway Museum is Japan's biggest railway museum and one of the best in the world. Having opened in 2016, it contains displays and interactive exhibits of all kinds of trains, from your traditional steam train to the modern speedy shinkansen (bullet train). This article introduces all the unique features of this museum through the perspective of one of our writers. Keep reading to see how this museum can be a whole lot of fun for people of all ages!

Kyoto

Things to Do

There were signs in Kyoto Station for the Railway Museum, so I followed them to get to my destination. It was a bit further than I expected, as the journey led me alongside the train tracks into Umekoji Park, past the Kyoto Aquarium, before finally arriving at the Railway Musuem. It was only then that I realized that I could have taken a bus… but that's alright! The view was really great along the way!

All the chairs along the path faced the railway tracks. I bet Kyoto residents must enjoy having picnics here! The flags on the lampposts in the park were also very cute. I passed by some desolate areas in the park as well, which made me wonder if I was on the right path.

First, I passed through the former Nijo Station building built in 1904, which used to be the headquarters and station of Kyoto Railway Corporation. It was later used by Japanese National Railways and JR-West, and was designated as a tangible cultural property of Kyoto City in 1996. There were a lot of people around the exit of this building, which also had a souvenir shop.

Kyoto Railway Museum, located in Umekoji Park, is Japan’s largest railway museum. The fundamental concept of the museum is to become the “hub of railway culture that progresses with its community”, and it has contributed to the revitalization of local neighborhoods centered on the railway. Apart from providing visitors with a spot to rest, the museum is also a place to learn and “discover, touch, and experience” the railway.

Admission tickets can be purchased using a ticket machine, and there are employees standing by the machines who can help if you need any assistance. Although I tried very hard to find my student card from my bag, the staff didn't need to check it, and I felt a bit touched that I was trusted.

The museum is divided into three floors. There are introductions to railway facilities and structures, train vehicles on display, exhibits on how a train operates, and many other exhibitions related to daily life. I read a lot of articles stating that many parents bring their children to play at the museum for the many different interactive activities on offer. These areas were packed with children, but as I was not traveling with children, I didn't spend much time there.

Upon entering the museum, you will find yourself at the “promenade”, where there is an array of 53 railway vehicles on display. No wonder Kyoto Railway Museum is the largest railway museum in Japan! A lot of the trains allowed people to hop on and enter inside, but there were lots of children running around, so I just looked and took pictures from the outside.

After arriving at the main building, you will see lots of trains, reminding me of a childhood cartoon called “Hikarian”, in which the locomotives could be separated, and each train had its own unique, vibrant personality. They would support each other and fight enemies with tricks up their sleeves. I felt that the cartoon characters resembled the trains here!

I really liked this wall, which is decorated with names of trains at the time the museum was founded. Naming a train is like giving it life, and it also adds a different meaning to the train journey, making one look forward to the ride. But the main point of this wall should be the words “Naha," the capital of Okinawa. Why hasn’t the railway in Okinawa been rebuilt? I really want to take the train, as getting around is very inconvenient right now for Okinawan residents like myself.

I enjoyed this area, as there were detailed explanations on how railroads are made and tunnels are dug, as well as how to read the signals and signs on the railway. I was able to learn so much about railways, which is the reason why I fell in love with this museum.

Here you can queue up to experience making announcements on the train broadcasting system, which can be heard throughout the whole area.

In addition to seeing the train from the outside and inside, there are also exhibits where you can see the roof and underneath the train. These two perspectives are probably only seen in action movies, so this exhibition was really exciting for me as it was just like what you see on TV. 

All the boards have detailed explanations, and if I were a true train enthusiast, I would definitely learn more Japanese to understand them. 

On the second floor, the exhibitions are more focused on the present. Here the development of IC cards is explained, with details of the principals behind different tickets. 

I didn’t spend much time in the interactive area, but this is the one thing I played because I could flip the train departure boards! I wonder if the timetables used in other stations around the world are also operated like this? The table beside it has different numbers indicating various train numbers, departure times, and destinations. After entering the specified numbers and pressing the start button, the timetable display will start flipping! 

The inside of a ticket machine.

This is a very memorable experience. Buy a ticket (free of charge) in the ticket machine nearby before putting it in the station gate, and the date and name of the train will be printed onto the ticket. The station gate is transparent to allow people to observe the operations inside, but it’s often too fast to clearly see what is happening. Speed is indeed everything when there is a large passenger flow.

I discovered that there were fewer tourists when you moved further away from the interactive zones. This section introduces the evolution of Japanese trains, and just looking at the models and exhibits was enough to make me happy. Kyushu limited express trains are shown in this frame. I have only experienced Aso Boy and Yufuin no Mori up to now, but I will definitely collect more when I come here again as a tourist and buy the JR PASS.

In addition to the national JR, regional public and private railways are also displayed here. Basically every train imaginable should be here.

The interactive area is quite large, but I only experienced a small part of it. Although it is an interactive zone, I couldn’t understand it at all! Every second of smoothly operating high-speed trains requires technology and ingenuity. Being a passenger is easy, but the complexity behind it is perplexing!

This is the famous Roundhouse Platform, which is classified as an important cultural property. In addition to the centrally arranged platform, the turntable at the center is the most eye-catching structure of the fan-shaped train garage.

The chrysanthemum seal in front and the phoenix on the side add a royal elegance to the C581 train. There are even staff stationed in front of the train providing photography services. 

On the top floor of the main building, you can see all the trains entering and exiting Kyoto Station from every side. You can refer to the live dashboard to see which railways are closed and opened. I had already spent way more time than expected here, but I probably would have spent another half an hour here if the staff weren't asking people to leave.

Finally, I arrived back at the former Nijo Station building, which is also the museum exit. I was here longer than I thought I'd be, but I still didn’t have enough time to see everything! This is definitely a place worth visiting for adults and children alike!

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Things to Do

Hotels & Ryokan

Shopping

Restaurant Search