用日本酒傳達日本的神髓!Podcast「Sake On Air」主持人賈斯汀・波茲的活動簡介

「People of Japan」是tsunagu Japan編輯部所推出的系列訪談,採訪對象囊括繼承日本傳統文化的職人與經營者等充滿熱情,且活躍於各種領域的人們。這一系列訪談的目的,就在於讓大家進一步了解日本文化,而不是只看門道而已。這次要為各位介紹的賈斯汀・波茲(Justin Potts)先生,可說是全球屈指可數的日本酒行家之一。他透過全球第一個以日本酒為主題的Podcast節目「Sake On Air」等活動,試著讓日本酒更貼近人們的生活,並且推動紥根於各地食物與農業的觀光產業;在以下訪談中,我們將為您介紹波茲的理念。

日本

美食

追尋屬於自己的天職

我們與賈斯汀・波茲會面的地點,是座落於新潟車站,以販售各種當地酒而聞名的豪氣伴手禮店Ponshu館。波茲住在千葉縣,他為了讓郊區與城市之間的關係更為緊密,三天兩頭跑遍日本各地,尋找釀酒廠、發酵廠與美食的所在地。其中新潟縣是全日本「酒藏」(日本酒的釀酒廠)最多的地區,因此聽波茲說這裡是他最常造訪的地方之一時,也就不怎麼令人感到意外了。

波茲當初之所以會來到日本,理由其實跟其他人沒什麼太大的不同。他在大學時代,以交換留學的方式來到日本,一邊從事講師與其它工作,一邊找尋能夠點燃內心熱情的願景。

在日本生活了一陣子後,波茲察覺到一件事。那就是他所居住的現代城市,與自己所喜愛的食物的主要元素,也就是背後的食材、生產者與社群之間,幾乎看不到任何連結。

他為了了解各地的飲食文化,而逐一造訪原本並不認識的鄰近地區;在這個過程中,他開始希望可以和食物之間建立更親密的關係。不過當時的他還不曉得該怎麼做才好。

這時他太太的家人不但給了他答案,甚至讓他發覺一條嶄新的職業生涯。他太太的家人住在遍遠的地方,透過推廣與製作日本鄉土料理等方式,建立了各種人脈。他們為波茲長年來期盼的世界打開了一扇門,讓他得以義無反顧地投身其中。

於是波茲辭去當時翻譯的工作,從大阪搬到東京,加入Umari這個專門推廣各地品牌與商品的專案設計團隊。

作為新工作的一環,他開始頻繁地出差造訪日本各地的農家與生產者,而且經常在當地短期停留,藉此與當地居民建立更親密的關係。而成為他日後成功發展契機的,就是與「麴菌」的相遇。

波茲發現一件事,那就是大部分自己喜歡的日本食物,無論是在郊區或是城市,都是使用味噌、醬油、酒等麴菌發酵而成的調味料,所製作或調味而成的食品。

在這之前,他雖然有很多機會可以接觸到這些料理,內心也稍微有所察覺,但是並未進一步去思考這件事的意義。直到他開始頻繁前往日本各地造訪當地的社群,這才發覺發酵食品與他們生產的食材之間,有著深厚且頗具歷史的淵源,而這些淵源,正是形成這些社群以及各地文化的根基。

這項發現點燃了波茲的熱情,進而讓他一腳踏進日本發酵食品這個深奧世界。

讓日本酒的世界成為自己的主場

透過工作,波茲得到許多前往日本各地的機會,不過他總覺得自己似乎還是個外人。他總是在從事農業與釀酒的社群中待個一陣子後就回東京。這讓波茲開始覺得,現在他所熱衷的文化,似乎離自己好遠好遠。

為了讓自己完全置身其中,他再次轉換跑道,進入位於千葉縣房總半島的木戶泉酒造工作。他就這樣從零開始,將自己投身於日本酒釀造技術的世界之中。

木戶泉酒造創立於1879年,長年來一直在當地社群中扮演重要的角色,可說是波茲一直所追求的文化堡壘。木戶泉酒造採用酒廠老闆所研發的獨特釀酒法,以有機自然農法所種植的稻米為原料,生產風味獨樹一格的日本酒。木戶泉酒造對於原料十分講究,在稻米生產受到政府嚴格控管的時代,甚至不惜從黑市採購稻米。

 

一年中有四個月,波茲都過著每週七天早上五點半上工,直到傍晚五點半才下班的生活。而且就算下班回家了,還是經常會為了確認一切是否順利而跑回公司。工作雖然辛苦,但也多虧這樣,他才能完全投身於日本酒釀造之中。波茲將可能導致分心的因素盡可能排除,讓感官與口味、氣味、周遭的空氣融合,創造出至高無上的幸福時光。對於讓自己投身其中這件事本身,以及為何如此專注的理由,他已經可以精準地,而且更進一步地予以理解。

累積了豐富的實務經驗後,波茲認為接下來自己在工作上需要的,就是取得正式且公認的日本酒知識,於是他開始做準備,希望能考取日本酒服務研究會、酒匠研究會聯合會(SSI:Sake Service Institute)所核發的「酒匠」證照。在他取得證照的2017年,酒匠總共只有300人,而且他是當時史上第二位通過的外國人。

酒匠以及波茲之就前已經取得的「唎酒師」證照,成為他在工作上進一步突破的關鍵,日本各地的業界人士紛紛與他聯絡,希望能藉由他的才能來協助經營。一直在尋求機會而不斷嘗試的波茲,這時終於打下了堅實的基礎。

釀酒的下一步

成功取得釀酒師地位的他,下一個目標就是加強自己對於業界的影響力。於是他與身為一位熱情的廚師,並已取得通譯案內士(口譯導遊)證照的太太,一同推動Potts.K Productions(僅有英文版),試著振興釀造、發酵與日本食品的相關產業。其中的Koji Akademia(僅有英文版)企畫,則是由波茲與他的老師NAKAJI一同展開。在新冠疫情爆發前,他們舉辦了工作坊與講座活動,希望讓一般人與專業廚師,都能將製麴導入日常生活或商業之中。

波茲相信,如果要消除城市的消費者與各地生產者之間的隔閡,關鍵就在於溝通。大部分農家並不具備向城市消費者宣傳所需的知識,這也造成其價值被埋沒於都會的喧囂之中。這時就是Potts.K Productions大展身手的機會了。他們會找出讓人感到特別的關鍵所在,並且和各地的相關人士合作,協助其打造獨具魅力的品牌。

而將住宿設施與學習融為一體,座落於日本烏龍麵聖地香川縣的UDON HOUSE,正是上述企畫之一。在這座設施中可以體驗到的,與其說是為了觀光客而精心打造的企畫,倒不如說是讓人們融入香川的烏龍麵文化之中,藉此創造人與人之間的特別連結。UDON HOUSE的網站設計精美,設施座落於日本的古老民宅「古民家」之中,並且將其改造得十分時尚。這座讓人興奮不已的體驗設施,在設計時以保留其原本特色為原則,同時又藉此來振興當地文化,在分寸的拿捏上可說十分巧妙。

與世界分享熱情

波茲跑遍日本,投入各種不同的領域,但是令他魂牽夢縈的一直是日本酒。他總是在想該如何讓一般人,尤其是住在國外又不懂日文的人,能夠更親近日本酒這種難以捉摸的文化。

波茲非常喜歡聽Podcast,不過之前完全找不到以日本酒為主題的節目,他在失望之餘決定改變這個狀況,於是自己下海做節目。不過當時Podcast在日本並非主流,如果想讓更多人注意到自己的企畫,必須經過大量複雜的計算與宣傳才行。在波茲方向明確的計畫與業界的影響力加乘下,他終於得到日本酒造組合中央會(JSS:Japan Sake & Shochu Makers Association)的協助,組成一個會講英文的日本酒行家團隊,並由波茲擔任Podcast節目的主持人。

這個團隊的目標並不在於解說技術,而是闡述人與人之間的故事,藉此來「推廣有關日本酒和燒酎的故事」。「Sake On Air」(僅有英文版)第一集在2018年10月上架,並在2022年3月邁入第80集的大關。每集節目都可以免費收聽,內容主要聚焦在業界與日本酒文化的新要素。節目的內容十分多元,無論是日本酒領域的深層話題,或是以日本酒業界活躍人士為對象的訪談,都可以在節目中聽到。

波茲對於日本酒未來的願景

波茲認為現在的日本酒已經很完美了。他想做的並不是引進變化,而是傳達日本酒的故事,讓人們了解日本酒的魅力所在。他並不是想讓各地的酒窖、農村成為全球知名的觀光勝地,而是想研究出是什麼讓日本酒顯得特別,並將其傳達給有興趣的人知道。

不過根據波茲的說法,現在的日本酒業界和他當初加入時,已經有了天翻地覆的變化,而且有徵兆顯示今後將會有更多變化。許多酒窖已經不惜捨棄既有的規則,甚至是反其道而行,從過去的傳統中尋找靈感,嘗試一些前所未見的全新釀酒方式。

在參觀Ponshu館的時候,波茲為我們介紹了幾種最近他所矚目的日本酒。由津南釀造所生產,看起來十分時尚的「GO-POCKET系列」正是其中之一。波茲說他在接受採訪的前一晚,正好跟津南釀造的老闆一起喝酒。這個系列是可以放進口袋的袋裝日本酒,這種方便攜帶到戶外的設計,瞄準的正是在日本愈來愈興盛的露營熱潮。波茲覺得像津南釀造這樣的酒窖,一方面很重視一直以來的產品,卻又能顧及最新的流行趨勢,在兩者之間保持絕佳的平衡,扮演的正是讓日本酒不至於過時的重要角色。

他指出在日本酒產業的周邊領域中,也能見到比以前更為活躍的趨勢,例如在釀酒與飲酒方面的創新,以及關於日本酒的教育與宣傳活動等。包括波茲參與其中的在內,目前可以見到許多有關日本酒的企畫,而這些企畫的目標,正是透過日本酒與其它相關產品,來推廣可以讓遊客了解日本的旅遊行程。像是農業體驗、當地料理與日本酒的配對(選擇可以讓日本酒更美味的組合)行程、料理教室、與釀酒師或農民之間的交流會、居酒屋巡訪等,都是很好的例子。

儘管活動看起來相當活絡,但單從數據方面來看,日本酒產業在日本國內的市場,其實一直在衰退。目前日本酒在國外的熱門程度可說前所未見,許多日本酒類產業的相關人士,都將海外市場視為救星。這當然是好事一件,不過波茲覺得只想靠海外的銷售量來維持酒類產業,並不是一個很好的現象。

「日本酒的世界擴展到國外而且持續成長,當然是一件很棒的事。業界也應該以此為目標不斷努力才行。可是這樣一來,能否在國際上獲得成功,就成了決定日本酒這種飲料未來的唯一要素。我覺得這樣的業界很可悲。為了守護維繫日本文化與人們生活品質的最重要的要素,日本酒是一個不可或缺的基石。我認為如果能再一次確認日本酒真正的價值所在,就能夠實現我所期待的未來。」

至於他對於自己經手的計畫有什麼展望,讓Sake On Air以更多種語言來呈現正是其中之一。比起只是翻譯既有的內容,他更希望可以由其它國家的人,製作能夠滿足聽眾期待的Podcast節目,讓英文以外其它語言的人,也能有機會發覺日本酒的世界。這樣一來就會有更多人感受到日本的魅力,也能在海內外彰顯日本酒文化的真正價值所在。

如何在日本將日本酒的魅力發揮到極限

波茲深信,了解日本酒可以為自己帶來很多好處。日本酒並不只是好喝,也不只是可以跟朋友喝個酩酊大醉而已;其實日本的所有吸引人之處,都濃縮在日本酒之中。日本酒中蘊含了產地的文化、傳統與歷史,而且可以藉由舉杯共飲的方式,讓價值觀相近的人們得以緊密相連。社群的所有面相都融入於日本酒之中,並且透過日本酒,將其從農家、釀酒師,擴展到居酒屋、酒吧之中。

不僅如此,日本酒的色澤,還會隨著產地的氣候、土壤及水質而不同。周遭自然環境的優點,都濃縮於日本酒這種飲料之中。如果能搭配當地的鄉土料理一同享用,就可以深入了解這片土地。因此日本酒的重要性,並不亞於遊覽觀光勝地、與當地人交流這些活動。

「如果能試著走進一般人不會通過的道路,就能得到獨一無二的體驗。而這種體驗,才是真正至高無上的體驗。」波茲雖然尊重像東京這種城市的多元性,但他很有自信地認為「日本的未來在於鄉下」。他建議如果喜歡日本的飲食,可以試著離開城市來一趟冒險,這樣一來就能享受更豐富的體驗。

近距離感受日本的魅力

我們一路探尋賈斯汀・波茲的軌跡,同時介紹了日本各地日本酒、農作物及料理的珍貴之處。透過上述介紹,想必已經讓各位讀者對日本文化有了更深一層的認識。隨著觀光產業逐漸開放,不曉得波茲的事業與日本的酒類產業,今後將會有什麼樣的發展?真是太令人期待了!

如果想知道日本酒與波茲企畫的最新消息,請點擊以下連結。別忘了到Sake On Air和Potts.K Productions的網站逛逛喔!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

作者簡介

Steve
Steve Csorgo

搜尋餐廳

Justin Potts - Changing the Face of Japan Through Sake

The best way to learn about a country is by getting to know the locals. With our interview series “People of Japan,” we’ll bring you even closer to Japan by introducing business owners, cultural ambassadors, and all-round amazing people bonded by strong passions. In this edition, we spoke with Justin Potts, one of the world's leading sake experts. Justin has dedicated himself to demystifying sake and promoting local food and agricultural-based tourism through avenues like "Sake on Air," the world's first sake-based podcast, and more.

Nationwide

Food & Drinks

Help tsunagu write guidebook to restaurants in Japan! - CLICK TO LEARN MORE

Finding a Calling

We met up with Justin Potts at Ponshukan, a swanky souvenir shop in Niigata Station famed for its enormous assortment of local sake. A resident of Chiba, Justin makes regular trips throughout Japan seeking hubs of brewing, fermentation, and food to help forge connections between the rural and urban. It came as no surprise to hear that Niigata is one of his most frequented spots, as it has the highest number of sake breweries in Japan.

Justin’s journey to Japan began like many others. Kicking off with a university exchange program, he enjoyed a stint in teaching and several other careers, searching for a future that sparked his interest.

Over time, Justin began noticing that the modern metropolises that he had made his home offered little connection to the backbones of the cuisine he enjoyed - the ingredients, and the producers and communities behind them.

As he explored each new neighborhood through local gastronomy, Justin longed for a deeper relationship with his food and drink, but didn't know how to find or create it.

A relative of his wife not only provided the answer to Justin’s yearning, but also opened his eyes to a whole new career path. Heavily involved in promoting regional Japanese cuisine, produce, and more, this distant member of his new family was the gateway to the world that had long tantalized Justin, and he dived in without hesitation.

Leaving behind his current work in localization, he moved from Osaka to Tokyo to start a job at Umari, a project design team specializing in developing rural brands and products.

Through his new work, Justin began making excursions to farms and producers across the country, often going the extra mile to spend the night to cultivate a deeper relationship with them. It was here that Justin made his next big leap - the discovery of “koji” mold.

Justin realized that much of the Japanese food and drink he had enjoyed, both in the countryside and city alike, were created and flavored through ingredients like miso, soy sauce, and sake, which are born through fermentation using koji mold.

While he’d had plenty of encounters with these foods before, he rarely gave them more than the moment’s attention. However, through his forays into rural Japan, Justin saw how the communities he visited often had profound, historical connections to the ingredients which they produced, forming a fundamental element of their identity and culture.

This discovery was the spark that encouraged Justin to dive deeper into the world of Japanese fermented foods.

Creating a Home in the World of Sake

Despite having many opportunities to encounter the rural side of Japan through his job, Justin still felt like an outsider. Briefly popping into farming and brewing communities before returning to Tokyo kept him somewhat distant from the culture he was rapidly becoming infatuated with.

Longing to completely immerse himself in that world, he again switched careers to work at Kidoizumi Sake Brewery on the Boso Peninsula in Chiba, where he got to dedicate himself to learning the art of sake brewing from scratch.

With a history tracing back to 1879, Kidoizumi has long been a pillar of its local community, and was exactly the kind of cultural bastion Justin was pursuing. Kidoizumi uses one-of-a-kind brewing methods developed by the family owners, yielding offbeat sake made from organic, naturally farmed rice. They are extraordinarily particular about their ingredients, going so far as to purchase rice on the black market back when production was under firm government control.

For four months a year, Justin worked seven days a week, starting at 5:30 AM and finishing at 5:30 PM, often having to return later to check if everything was running smoothly. Though grueling, this schedule allowed Justin to fully dedicate himself to the craft. With minimal outside distractions, his senses harmonized with the tastes, smells, and atmosphere around him, forging moments of utter bliss as he gradually developed a better understanding of exactly what it was he was investing himself in, and why.

With ample hands-on experience, Justin decided a grasp on standard, more official sake practices was the necessary next step in his career, so he studied to become a “sakasho” (Master of Sake), a certification offered by Japan's Sake Service Institute. There were only 300 sakasho as of Justin’s certification in 2017, and he was the second non-Japanese person at the time.

This, along with his prior certification as a “kikizakeshi” (Japan Certified Sake Sommelier), opened the floodgates to his career, and industry players from all over Japan began contacting Justin hoping to hire his talents to help with their projects. The days of Justin going out of his way to track down opportunities firmly ended.

Expanding Beyond Brewing

After establishing himself as a brewer, Justin’s next step was to broaden his impact on the industry. He founded the business Potts.K Productions with his wife, a passionate chef and licensed tour guide, to help kickstart projects devoted to brewing, fermentation, and food in Japan. This included Koji Akademia, a project started together with his mentor, Nakaji. Prior to the pandemic, they offered workshops and seminars encouraging households and professional kitchens to integrate koji-making into their lifestyle and business.

Justin believes communication is key to closing the gap between urban consumers and rural producers. Many farmers and such lack the know-how to appeal to their city-dwelling audiences, and their value is lost amongst the noise of the modern world. It’s the role of Potts.K Productions to pin down exactly what makes them special, and work with locals to help them form a discernible, alluring brand.

One such project is UDON HOUSE, a lodge in Kagawa—Japan's udon heartland—that blends accommodation with culinary education. Rather than heavily curated, touristy experiences, visitors are thrown right into the center of Kagawa’s udon culture, and a special bond is inevitably formed. Boasting a well-designed website, and housed in a stylish, renovated Japanese “kominka” homestead, ventures like UDON HOUSE delicately balance jazzing up local cultures while taking care not to alter their underlying characteristics.

Sharing His Passion With the World

Though Justin was racing all over Japan with fingers in many pies, his heart and soul remained in sake. Naturally, he was eager to find a way to make the elusive culture of sake more accessible to general audiences, especially those living abroad or who don't speak or read Japanese.

Being an avid podcasting fan, he was dismayed by the complete lack of sake-based podcasts at the time, and took it upon himself to rectify the situation. However, podcasting had yet to become mainstream in Japan, and there was a lot of number crunching and presentations before his project was given any attention. With a solid idea and his own clout in the industry, Justin eventually received support from the Japan Sake & Shochu Makers Association (JSS), and was able to assemble a team of English-speaking sake experts to help him host the podcast.

Through podcasting, Justin and the team aimed to “expand the dialogue around sake and shochu” through down-to-earth, human stories rather than technical explanations. The first episode of “Sake On Air” was released in October 2018, and it celebrated its 80th episode milestone in March 2022. Each segment, all of which are free, focuses on a new element of the industry and culture, from deep dives into sake regions to interviews with industry players and more.

Justin's Hopes for the Future of Sake

Justin believes sake is perfect the way it is. Rather than imposing change, he seeks to showcase its charm by telling the stories surrounding it. Justin doesn’t want to turn rural breweries and farms into global tourist attractions, but instead hopes to capture what makes them special and present that to those interested.

Despite this, Justin says the sake industry has evolved dramatically since he entered, and he predicts plenty more change on the horizon. Many breweries have grown more willing to throw out the rulebook, experimenting with new, unconventional brews, while also looking to older traditions for inspiration.

Browsing Ponshukan, Justin pointed out several new brews worth keeping an eye on, including the stylish GO-POCKET series from Tsunan Sake Brewery, where Justin was drinking with the brewery president the previous night. These handy sake pouches are designed to be easily brought outdoors, tying in with the growing popularity of outdoor camping in Japan. For Justin, breweries like Tsunan Sake Brewery that can tactfully balance honoring their roots while staying aware of the latest trends are what will help prevent sake from growing stale and unfashionable.

Alongside innovations in brewing and drinking, Justin has also seen a lot more movement around the fringes of the sake industry, such as in education and promotion. There are now numerous projects, including his own, aiming to popularize exploring Japan through sake and other related products. This includes farming experiences, sake pairing courses with local food, cooking classes, meets-and-greets with brewers and farmers, and izakaya crawls.

Despite all this, from pure data alone, the domestic sake industry is a dwindling market. With the ever-increasing popularity of sake overseas, many in Japan are instead looking towards the international market as its savior. While this is undoubtedly positive news, Justin feels that Japan shouldn’t be relying solely on worldwide sales to prop up the sake industry.

“Expanding and growing the world of sake internationally is a wonderful thing – and the industry should continue to pursue it relentlessly – but I think that a world where the beverage’s future is contingent solely upon its ability to succeed internationally is a rather sad one. If Japan can re-learn to appreciate the ways in which sake is fundamental to preserving the most meaningful elements of [Japan’s] culture and the quality of the peoples’ livelihoods, then we’ll be on the path to the kind of future I can get excited about.”

As for his own projects, Justin hopes that Sake On Air will one day expand into different languages. Rather than simply translating current content, he dreams of having people across the globe create podcast content catering to their own audiences, allowing non-English speakers the same opportunities to uncover the world of sake. This, in turn, will attract more people to Japan, and highlight the true value of sake culture both domestically and abroad.

How to Make the Most of Sake While in Japan

Justin believes that a lot can be gained from an appreciation of sake. Aside from the delectable taste and good-old drunken fun, sake embodies a microcosm of all that is appealing about Japan. Within sake is a wealth of local cultures, traditions, and histories, connecting like-minded individuals through a shared palate. Its presence permeates virtually every facet of a community, from farmers and brewers to izakaya and bars.

Sake is further colored by the climate, soil, and water of the area it was born in, compressing the surrounding natural goodness into a single beverage. Paired with regional, home-grown cuisine, it serves as an intimate encounter with a locality, and is just as important as touring the sights and mingling with residents.

“Just get off the beaten path and you’ll have your own experience. There’s nothing more authentic than that,” Justin says. While respecting the diversity in metropolises like Tokyo, Justin is adamant that “the future of Japan is in the countryside” and that fans of Japanese food and drink will enjoy a much more profound encounter exploring outside city limits.

Making the Allures of Japan Easily Accessible

Following in the footsteps of Justin Potts through the treasure trove of sake, produce, and cuisine in rural Japan will undoubtedly lead to a deeper appreciation for Japanese culture. With tourism gradually recommencing, we’re excited to see what shape Justin’s work and the Japanese sake industry as a whole will take in the future! To keep up with the latest in sake and Justin’s own projects, check out Sake On Air and Potts.K Productions at the links below!

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

About the author

Steve
Steve Csorgo

Related Interests

Restaurant Search