【實用資訊】這些按鈕是什麼意思? 免治馬桶的使用方式

在使用日本免治馬桶時,最初可能會因多種看不懂的按鈕而感到不知所措,到底哪個鍵是沖洗屁股?哪個鍵才是沖馬桶呢?您知道日本馬桶還有除臭、暖座、流水聲的功能嗎?透過本篇文章,帶您來瞭解日本馬桶的神奇之處!

日本

實用資訊

探究日本馬桶的成功

「日本免治馬桶」在西方流行文化中一直都被當成笑話,因為西方國家不解為何日本人會將處理排泄物的物品標榜著「智能」。

2017年,世界最大的馬桶製造商──日本TOTO公告利潤總額為3.11億美元。這主要是因為該公司的專利產品WASHLET(溫水洗淨便座)的累積銷售數量突破5,000萬大關,目前在日本有70-80%的家庭能看到該產品的使用。更重要的是,現在有許多日本人聲稱已經無法回到跟從前一樣只在廁所使用衛生紙的習慣了!此外,除了家庭之外,飯店、百貨公司及車站等許多地方,使用的也多半是免治馬桶。

溫水洗淨便座上的各種標示

隨著智慧型馬桶在日本極為普及,日本廁所工業會(日本レストルーム工業会)也特別將智慧型馬桶上的操作按鍵圖示統一,藉以避免旅客感到困惑。各個按鍵圖示的意思如下:

おしり(洗浄) 臀部洗淨
やわらか(洗浄) 臀部柔和洗淨
ビデ 下身洗淨
乾燥 烘乾
入/切 開/關
止/停止 停止
音姫 流水聲
音量 音量
音停止 停止聲音
水勢 水勢
洗浄位置 洗淨位置
パワー脱臭 強力除臭
温度設定 溫度設定
便座 便座
温水 溫水
流す 沖水

使用日本智慧型馬桶

日本馬桶會唱歌?

在公共廁所中,有著方形盒子般外觀的音姬(流水聲)通常是被額外裝置在牆上,但是現在大部分的新型日本馬桶會直接擁有音姬這個功能,通常會以音符的圖示標記。

在開始使用馬桶前,您可以先按音姬這個按鈕,或是將手放在機器前面感應,此時便會出現流水聲來掩蓋您上廁所時的聲音。不管您是在上小號還是大號,只要有這個功能,您就可以不用擔心被其他人聽到自己上廁所的聲音,更加舒適地解決生理需求。

黃金43度角

在解決完生理需求後,接下來便是用下身洗淨功能來清洗乾淨。日本會先用廁所衛生紙擦拭後,再利用免治馬桶的洗淨功能來完成清潔。

免治馬桶成為TOTO的商標可以追溯回1980年。這項產品是以歐洲的座浴盆為雛型,並成為便座上的附加功能,因為在一般傳統的小型日本房屋中是沒有多餘的空間可以在廁所加裝分離式座浴盆。然而,這項產品在最初並不容易銷售,因為在1980年時的第一代免治馬桶的零售價格高達約660美元。此外,這項產品的最大挑戰就在於沖洗時出水的角度及溫度是否恰到好處,而這類的個人資訊又很難向消費者進行調查。因此TOTO的工程師便用親自測試的方式來收集相關資訊,最後獲得黃金結論!即水溫維持在38度C,而出水角度呈現43度是最好的。

一鍵告別異味

日本馬桶還有另一個很棒的功能,那就是除臭,這項功能可以幫忙清除令人尷尬的異味。在較新的型號上,當您座上便座的瞬間就會自動啟動竹炭過濾除臭的功能,不過在舊型號上,可能就必需去按操作按鍵才會開啟這個功能,此按鍵通常標示為「開/關」。這項功能絕對比透過不斷沖水來去除異味要來得好,畢竟不斷沖水只是在浪費水,這點剛好也是日本馬桶的另一個優秀之處。

首先,日本的陶瓷馬桶其實非常浪費水,每一次的沖洗最多要用到20公升(超過5加侖)的水。TOTO於2020年時推出水龍捲技術來解決這個問題,水會從馬桶的一側釋放出,並沿著弧形的內壁自然迴旋而下。與水從上方釋放相比,此方法大幅減少了沖洗時所需的水量。2012年時,TOTO的便座在每一次的沖洗僅需要3.8公升(1加侖)的水量,而每次小號的沖水量只要1.2公升(0.3加侖)。隨著型號的不同,沖水手柄會位於水箱的側面,或是採按壓鍵設計,甚至是採自動感應設計或設置在牆上的主要控制盒上的按鈕。

居然還有自潔功能

日本馬桶最鮮為人知的秘密之一就是馬桶的自潔功能,例如TOTO在1999年研發的獨家防污技術──喜貼心抗污釉。由於陶瓷馬桶的形狀不均勻,所以容易殘留、累積髒污及細菌等,但是只要塗上特殊的喜貼心抗污釉,馬桶就難被污垢附著,在清潔上也不需要太多的化學藥劑。而這也是利用電解水來進行馬桶內壁清潔除菌的電解除菌水技術的目標。

TOTO和其他品牌的馬桶除了對環境更加有善之外,還積極地拯救地球。根據美國自然資源保護委員會(NRDC)的報告,美國的廁所衛生紙大部分是來自於加拿大北方森林,該森林含有的炭量約占全世界12%。透過日本下身洗淨功能的轉換,美國將不再需要砍樹只為了在如廁後沖掉,能省下不計其數的樹木。

和式馬桶 VS 洋式馬桶 哪個比較好?

有趣的是,日本將成為馬桶界的龍頭,但是根據研究顯示,卻發現傳統的蹲式馬桶會讓我們比較健康。

目前您仍可在日本的一些公共廁所中找到蹲式馬桶,在使用這樣的馬桶時,您必須蹲在洞口上方,如廁時也要盡量小心,避免褲子上沾到任何東西。雖然這個姿勢令人感到不太舒服,但是科學發現這個姿勢除了能促進排便之外,還因肌膚不會觸碰到便器,所以可以預防某些疾病。因此,和式馬桶與西式馬桶究竟哪一個比較好可就是見仁見智了!

不斷進化的日本免治馬桶

靈感源源不絕的日本人,不僅在北九州開設TOTO博物館(自開放以來已超過18萬人次造訪),還在橫濱和東京開設便便博物館,以幽默的方式呈現與糞便相關的資訊。未來是否會有更新一代的免治馬桶呢?不禁令人拭目以待!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

Everything You Need to Know about Using Japanese Smart Toilets

Using a Japanese smart toilet can seem overwhelming at first. With so many buttons at your disposal, from the bidet function to the deodorizer, the whole experience can resemble sitting at the helm of something straight out of Star Trek. Fear not, though, because with this guide, you'll soon become king of the Japanese porcelain throne.

Nationwide

Travel Tips

Getting to the Bottom of the Japanese Toilet’s Success

The “Japanese smart toilet” has become something of a running gag in western pop culture because of the inherent silliness and implicit horror of attributing “intelligence” to something that directly handles our waste. According to a whole bunch of movies, TV shows, and cartoons, Japanese toilets can do anything like heat up the seat, self-clean, do your taxes etc., and if they continue on their current trajectory, soon they’ll be so smart that we’ll have to start apologizing to them before each use. That’s how smart toilets tend to be looked at in the West: as a big joke. But in Japan, they’re serious business.

In 2017, the Japanese company TOTO, the world’s largest toilet manufacturer, reported profits totaling $311 million. This was mainly due to them hitting the 50 million mark on the sales of their patented Washlets, an electronic bidet built into the toilet seat, which can now be found in 70-80% of Japanese homes. It’s gotten to the point where many Japanese people claim that they just could never go back to using just toilet paper in their bathrooms, so now you’ll find Washlet toilets not just in homes but in hotels, department stores, train stations, and many other places.

Deciphering the Toilet Code

Smart toilets have become so commonplace in Japan that in 2018 the Japan Sanitary Equipment Industry Association had to standardize the pictograms used in smart toilets buttons to prevent confusion among tourists. Here’s a basic guide to them:

おしり(洗浄) Spray
やわらか(洗浄) Gentle Spray
ビデ Feminine Spray
乾燥 Dry
入/切 ON/OFF
止/停止 Stop
音姫 Sound
音量 Volume
音停止 Sound Off
水勢 Water Pressure
Weak
Strong
洗浄位置 Nozzle Position
Front
Back
パワー脱臭 Power Deodorizer
温度設定 Temperature
便座 Toilet Seat
温水 Warm Water
流す Flush
Big
Small

How to Use a Japanese Smart Toilet

Step 1: Preparation

Otohime ( literally “sound princess”) is a device that used to be housed in a separate box mounted on the walls in public restrooms, but now tends to be an included part of most newer Japanese toilets, usually identified by a musical note mark.

You start by pressing the otohime button or waving your hand in front of the device as the case may be. It will then produce a flushing sound that masks your bathroom noises, thus allowing for a more comfortable toilet experience if you have a shy bladder or colon. In the US, where many people resort to things like timing their expulsions to someone outside the stall using the hand dryer, a device like Otohime will surely be seen as a godsend. It might be one reason why TOTO’s sales in the US have been steadily climbing for the last few years.

Step 2: The Washlet

Once you’ve done your business, it’s time to get cleaned up using the Washlet bidet function. Many proponents of bidets hail them as an alternative to toilet paper, but in Japan they’re a team. First, you wipe down with the toilet paper, and then you complete the clean-up with the Washlet spray function.

The Washlet is a TOTO trademark that goes back to 1980. It was modeled after the European bidet, with the added functionality of being housed within the toilet seat, a must in traditionally small Japanese houses that would not be able to install a separate bidet in their bathrooms. Still, it wasn’t an easy sell in the beginning, literally, as the original Washlet retailed for around $660 in 1980. The biggest challenge was getting the angle of the water and its temperature just right, as it was hard to survey such personal information from consumers. So, TOTO’s engineers took it upon (and below) themselves to test their Washlets and eventually came upon the Golden Rule. The devices apparently worked best when the water was kept at 38 degrees Celsius (100F) and shot out at a 43-degree angle.

Step 3: Flushing

Another great function of Japanese toilets is the deodorizer, which filters out all unpleasant smells so you don’t have to resort to leaving the country and changing your name whenever someone uses the toilet immediately after you. On the newer models, the charcoal-filter deodorizer is automatic and turns on as soon as you sit down, but in older toilets you might have to turn if on with a push of a button, usually marked as “ON/OFF.” It’s definitely a better option than constant courtesy flushes because that’s just a terrible waste of water, which coincidentally is also another area where Japanese toilets excel.

First, Japanese ceramic toilets were horrible water-wasters, with a single flush using up to 20 liters (more than 5 gallons) of water. TOTO tackled this problem in 2002 with the Tornado Flush, where water is released from the sides of the bowl, causing it to swirl naturally. Compared to water coming in from above, this method greatly reduces the amount of water needed to flush our waste. By 2012, a TOTO toilet used only 3.8 liters (1 gallon) per flush, with their urinals clocking in at just 1.2 liters (0.3 of a gallon.) Depending on the model, the flush handle will be located on the side of the tank, or it will be replaced by a push button, or a motion-control sensor, or a button within the main control box that’s mounted on the wall. 

Step 4: The Clean-Up

One of the best-kept secrets of Japanese toilets are their self-cleaning features like CeFiONtect, a proprietary antifouling technology that TOTO developed in 1999. Due to its uneven shape, ceramic toilets easily accumulate dirt and bacteria etc., but by first coating them in the special CeFiONtect glaze, the bowls becomes more resistant to staining and therefore requires less chemicals to clean it. This is also the goal of the ewater+ technology, which mists electrolyzed water inside the bowl to disinfect it.

TOTO and other brand toilets aren’t just more environmentally-friendly, they are also actively saving the planet. According to a report from the Natural Resources Defense Council (NRDC), most of America’s toilet paper comes from the boreal forests of Canada which store about 12% of the world’s carbon. By switching to Japanese bidets, the US could save untold acres of woods from being cut down only to be later flushed down the toilet.

Are We Sacrificing Convenience for Health with Modern Toilets?

It’s actually interesting that Japan would become the global center for toilet innovation, when according to science, the traditional Japanese squat toilet is much healthier for us.

The traditional washiki Japanese squat toilet has been the standard in Japan for thousands of years before the Western-style throne took over. However, you can still find them in many public restrooms round Japan. To use a washiki toilet, you squat above the opening in the ground and do your business while trying not to get anything on your pants, which are currently bundled around your strained calves. The position isn’t pleasant but science says that it makes evacuating your bowels much easier, and might even prevent some diseases as your skin never actually makes contact with the toilet. So, whether Japanese or Western style toilets are better ultimately depends on how you look at life in general: are you here for a long time or a good time? Answer that for yourself and choose your toilet accordingly.

The Japanese Toilet’s Future is Flush with Promise

So what does the future have in stall for Japanese smart toilets? Well, in 2018, TOTO released the Neorest NX, a next-generation toilet that’s retailing for $6,000, and for that price, it better be able to also do your taxes.

One might wonder why all these innovations can be traced back to Japan, and maybe the secret to their success is their unflappable attitude and lack of inhibitions when it comes to toilets. After all, they are the ones who opened a TOTO Museum in Kitakyushu (which has been visited more than 180,000 times since its opening), and the Unko (“Poop”) Museum in Yokohama and Tokyo, which celebrate scatological humor in all its forms. Whatever it is, Japan continues to be on the porcelain edge of toilet technology, and whatever innovations in that field arise in the future, they will most likely come out of this country.

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Thumbnail: myboys.me / Shutterstock.com

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search