博多豚骨拉面是如何变成全世界最有名的拉面?

如果你是一个爱吃拉面的饕客,那你肯定听过“一风堂”、“一兰”或是“一幸舎”的名号。这三家拉面店不仅是海外经营最成功的三家连锁拉面店,而且它们都来自同一个地方——福冈,提供着同样一种风味的拉面——博多豚骨。博多拉面是如何风暴般地席卷日本乃至整个世界呢?本文将带你一探究竟并提供几家福冈当地知名的博多豚骨拉面店给你参考!

福冈县

美食

拉面:日本料理的新兴王者

拉面正以惊人的速度成为全世界最受欢迎的日式料理。日本观光厅在2019年对访日游客进行一项访问,调查在日本吃到觉得最满意的食物是什么。有将近2成的旅客回答拉面,甚至比回答寿司的人还要多。而在海外、世界各国各大城市,拉面店也如雨后春笋般地一家一家地开,可谓是“拉面热潮”!

拉面的世界是非常多样的,从面的种类、咬劲到粗细,汤的基底、口味乃至浓淡都有多种样式。还会因不同的地区和城市有限定、独特的风格。不过虽然日本有很多种类的拉面,但在海外的一家正宗日式拉面店用餐的话,有一种特定类型的拉面一定是菜单上的固定项目,那就是“豚骨拉面”,或者更精确地说是“博多豚骨拉面”。

这个几率之所以如此之高,是因为有三家最成功的国际拉面连锁店来自同一地点——福冈・博多。

博多拉面广受欢迎的原因

博多豚骨拉面的风味

博多拉面的特点是浓稠乳白、丝滑的豚骨汤和细细的面条。其他地方的豚骨高汤通常会加入鸡骨等其他风味,而博多地区则只用猪骨制作。长时间高温炖煮的大骨汤其汤色浑浊、浓稠且多脂。这种拉面的配料会使用腌制的红姜以中和强烈的猪味,还会有叉烧、白芝麻和切碎的博多万能葱(万能ネギ)。

博多拉面中使用的面条是超细的直面条,通常以100克的分量为一份。食用习惯并非一次就点大碗分量的面条,而是等第一份面吃完后,再点第二份“替玉(加面)”,加入第二份面和剩下的汤一起吃。因为面条极细,这样的吃法可以确保面条在最新鲜好吃的时刻食用。不会在汤里泡太久而变得软烂。

博多拉面的历史

博多拉面之所以如此命名,顾名思义是它诞生于福冈市博多区。博多是福冈的主要商业区和交通枢纽。今天所知的这种拉面的历史可以追溯至1946年。当时一位名叫津田茂(つだしげる)的厨师开始销售中式面条,这种面条跟他在中国当兵时所吃到的面条一样。汤的部分则据说是受少数民族爱努人传统的启发。津田开发的浑浊的猪骨汤加上细直面条很快地风靡起来,而这拉面就被称为博多拉面。

几年后的1952年,在博多渔港长滨屋的一家餐馆里诞生另一种拉面。这种拉面被称为“长滨拉面”,其特色是极细的面条。旨在为赶时间的渔民缩短烹饪时间。前面提到的“替玉”文化也是从这里传回博多。现在长滨拉面和博多拉面基本上是无法区分其差异的,而且大多数九州福冈以外的日本人都不知道长滨拉面的存在。

从博多到全世界:一风堂、一兰和一幸舍的崛起之路

博多拉面是如何在世界广为流传?这个问题至今仍是个谜。比方说经典的东京酱油拉面,不仅历史较为悠久,且造访东京的游客也比福冈多。因此照理说东京酱油应该要有更高的几率传至海外各地。但不管是什么原因,博多拉面的爱好者就如同宗教信徒般热衷于传播他们的信仰。将博多的拉面传至日本其他地区和世界,而且还真的成功了!拜以下拉面店所赐,博多拉面已成为日本以外最常见的类型。

一风堂:海外规模最大的日式连锁拉面店

1985年,一家名为博多一风堂的拉面店在福冈开张,销售美味的博多拉面。一风堂在经营了9年之后才在1994年于当时新落成的横滨拉面博物馆内开设第二家分店。一风堂以博多拉面代表之姿进军东日本,并迅速地在关东地区大受欢迎。

一风堂在2008年时开始走向国际,于纽约市开设第一家海外分店,知名度也由此扶摇直上。如今一风堂在全球15个国家拥有超过100家分店,并且作为一个国际拉面品牌,仍在持续进行扩张和发展。

一风堂最初是由销售经典的博多豚骨拉面开始,而这道灵魂拉面至今依然在菜单上保持不变。不过各分店会有自己独特的菜单,而且通常都是当店限定的。例如“千叶Red(辣油和辣味增)”和“千叶Black(千叶本地酱油和金田海苔)”,是只有在一风堂的千叶店才有的限定菜单;又或者是仅在名古屋地区才可以买到的无汤拉面“汁なしからか麺”。造访各个一风堂分店尝试其所提供的独特口味就变成一件很有趣的事!

一兰:以其独特汤头闻名的博多拉面

一兰拉面的第一家店是于1960年以一个不同的名字开启其拉面帝国。直到1993年在福冈市的“那の川”设店,才开始用“一兰”这个名字并沿用至今。随后一兰靠着它独特的点餐模式和隔离式单人座位于福冈地区迅速扩张。一兰很快地在2000年代初期就传遍全日本。第一家海外分店则在2013年于香港开设。发展至今香港、纽约和台湾等地共有七家分店。可以预测的是,一兰的扩张还在持续且没有要停下来的征兆!

一兰拉面只提供一种拉面,经典的博多豚骨拉面加上独特的红色团状秘制香料。不过可别因此忘了一兰独有的点餐模式,通过每个客人亲自填单来完全定制化每碗拉面。这份表单上的选项包罗万象,从面条软硬到配料、再到汤中所需的脂肪量、浓度咸淡等。这种终极定制化和隔离式单人座位互相搭配使一兰脱颖而出。每于用餐时间时都能看到许多分店外大排长龙的光景。

博多一幸舍:另一位迅速拓展至全球的拉面新秀

博多一幸舍的第一家店于2004年开业,当时还只是个由3位博多人组成的小店,怀抱着向世界传播正宗博多拉面的梦想。不过对于一幸舍创始人来说,要在自己的故乡博多建立自己的公司比开设海外分店还要来得重要。在这样的目标和方针下,一幸舍很快地在福冈地区发展起来并传至日本其他地区。而第一家海外分店则在2011年于印尼雅加达开业。一幸舍现已扩展至9个不同国家(从澳大利亚到中国再到巴西等),拥有48家海外分店。

博多一幸舍的拉面是一种经典的老式博多豚骨拉面,其口味是忠于博多当地人喜爱的风味。虽然如此,一幸舍还是有提供辛辣的红色拉面和使用焦黑蒜油的炭黑拉面。不管你选择哪一种口味绝对都能惊艳到你的味蕾。

店家推荐:五家福冈市内最棒的博多拉面

博龙轩

博龙轩被誉为是目前最保留原始博多风情的拉面店,是体验50年代昭和博多风味的好地方。这家店不在热闹的商业区,而是坐落在一个安静的住宅区(九州大学附近)。如果你非常喜欢吃拉面,这家店绝对值得你跑一趟。不过要注意的是营业时间只有午餐时段,且星期一和星期四是公休日。

博多一双

根据日本网站ラーメンデータべース(Ramen Database)上的评论,博多一双是福冈最棒的拉面店!一双于2012年由一对兄弟开业,现在在福冈市拥有3家分店。菜单很简单,只提供经典博多豚骨拉面。如果你想尝尝福冈(甚至是世界)最好的博多拉面,那么这里将会是最适合的地方!

博多一幸舍

上面有介绍的博多拉面三大品牌之一,在世界各地传播博多拉面福音的一幸舍,其位于博多的总店绝对值得一访。距离博多车站几分钟的路程,也是品尝经典博多拉面的优良去处。

元祖长滨屋

前面有提到博多拉面的起源之一元祖长滨屋。坚持提供销售约70年前的复古风味,任何狂热的拉面爱好者都不容错过它。

一兰总本店

一兰的总本店位于其办公大楼的一楼和二楼,是最酷的一家一兰分店。这家餐厅24小时营业,无论你是死忠的一兰粉丝还是新入门的拉面爱好者,这里都是品尝优质博多拉面的好地方。

本文提供信息均以公开时为准。

Weibo

搜寻餐厅

How Hakata's Special Style of Ramen Became the Most Popular in the World

If you're a fan of ramen, you've no doubt heard the name "Ippudo," "Ichiran," or "Ikkousha" before. These ramen restaurants are not only the three of the most successful Japanese ramen chains outside of Japan, but also share a common birthplace (Fukuoka) and serve the same style of ramen—Hakata tonkotsu ramen. Just how did Hakata ramen take Japan—and the world—by storm? Read on to find out, as well as get some tips on the best places to eat Hakata ramen in Fukuoka.

Fukuoka

Food & Drinks

Table of Contents

  1. Ramen: The New King of Japanese Food
  2. What Makes Hakata-Style Ramen So Popular?
  3. From Hakata to the World: The Rise of Ippudo, Ichiran, and Ikkousha
  4. Where Can I Eat Hakata Ramen in Fukuoka? Five of the Best Restaurants in the City

Ramen: The New King of Japanese Food

Ramen is quickly becoming the most popular Japanese food across the world. Indeed, a survey conducted by the Japan Tourism Agency of international visitors to Japan in 2019 found that when asked about their most satisfying meal in the country, ramen was cited even more than sushi, with a full 19 percent of visitors saying it was their best meal. Outside of Japan, too, ramen restaurants have begun springing up in cities around the world in recent years in what can only be described as a "ramen boom." 

The world of ramen is filled with variety, with noodles of many different textures and thicknesses, as well as broths with numerous flavors and consistencies. Japanese ramen is diverse and exciting, with many different regions and cities boasting their own unique style. However, despite the plethora of ramen varieties present in Japan, if you've eaten at an authentic Japanese ramen restaurant outside of the country, the odds are fairly good that you ate a specific type of ramen called "tonkotsu" ramen (pork bone ramen), or, even more specifically, "Hakata tonkotsu ramen." 

The reason this chance is so high is that three of the most successful international ramen chains hail from the same place: Fukuoka's Hakata ward. 

What Makes Hakata-Style Ramen So Popular?

The Flavors Of Hakata Tonkotsu Ramen

Hakata ramen is characterized by its thick, milky, silky tonkotsu (pork bone) broth and thin, delicate noodles. While other styles of tonkotsu broth often include chicken or other types of bones, Hataka's ramen is typically made exclusively with pork bones, which are boiled at a high temperature for long hours to create a cloudy, thick, fatty broth. Toppings often include pickled red ginger to combat the strong pork flavor, chashu (braised pork belly), white sesame, and minced Hakata "banno negi" (green onions).

The noodles used in Hakata-style ramen are super-fine, straight noodles that are typically served in small, 100 gram portions. Instead of starting with a huge serving of noodles in the bowl, diners typically order a second "kaedama" portion of noodles to eat with the remaining soup once the first portion is finished.  As the noodles are so thin and delicate, this system ensures that the noodles can be eaten while fresh, without turning mushy from sitting in the broth for too long. 

The History of Hakata Ramen

Hakata ramen is so named because it was born in Fukuoka's Hakata ward, one of the central business areas and transit hub of the city. The dish as we know it today traces its roots back to 1946, when a cook named Shigeru Tsuda set out to sell Chinese-style noodles like those he had eaten as a soldier stationed in China. Taking influence from a traditional Ainu (indigenous Japanese) soup, Tsuda developed a cloudy pork bone-based soup and created a type of ramen that soon grew to be known as Hakata ramen.

A few years later in 1952, a different type of ramen was born at a restaurant called Nagahamaya in Hakata's fishing port. Called "Nagahama ramen," this style of ramen featured extremely fine noodles that were designed to cook quickly for the fishermen customers who were in a hurry. These noodles eventually spread to Hakata ramen as well, along with the "kaedama" system of getting a second helping of noodles to finish of the leftover soup.  Today, Nagahama ramen and Hakata ramen are basically indistinguishable, and most Japanese people have only heard of the latter. 

From Hakata to the World: The Rise of Ippudo, Ichiran, and Ikkousha

It's a bit puzzling why Hakata ramen was the quickest to spread around the world. Indeed, other types of ramen such as classic Tokyo shoyu ramen have a longer history and seemingly had more chances to spread to other countries due to the higher concentration of visitors to Tokyo. However, it seems that ramen enthusiasts from Fukuoka, for whatever reason, are the most gung-ho about spreading their special type of ramen to the rest of Japan and the world. And it has worked! Thanks to the brands below, Hakata ramen has become one of the most common types of ramen to see outside of Japan.

Ippudo: The Biggest Japanese Ramen Chain Outside Japan

In 1985, a ramen restaurant called Hakata Ippudo opened in Fukuoka serving delicious Hakata ramen. For 9 years, Ippudo operated as a single restaurant until 1994, when the opportunity to open a second shop inside of the newly-created Yokohama Ramen Museum arose. Ippudo thus came to represent Hakata ramen to eastern Japan and soon became a huge hit in Tokyo and the surrounding area. The brand finally went international in 2008, opening a restaurant in New York City, and its popularity has exploded from there. Today, Ippudo has more than 100 international branches in 15 countries across the globe and continues to expand and develop as a brand. 

Ippudo began by serving a classic Hakata tonkotsu ramen, which remains unchanged on the menu today. However, many branches of the restaurant also feature their own unique bowls of ramen that can only be enjoyed at that location, such as the "Chiba Red" and "Chiba Black," Ippudo versions of local ramen only available at the Chiba location; or the "Shirunashi Karakamen," a soupless ramen only available at the locations in Nagoya. This makes it fun to visit various Ippudo restaurants in order to try the unique flavors on offer.

Ichiran: The Popular Hakata Ramen Brand Famous for Its Private "Ramen Booths"

The first Ichiran Ramen restaurant opened in 1960 under a different name, but the brand didn't take its current form until 1993 with the opening of an Ichiran Ramen restaurant in Nanokawa, Fukuoka. This was followed by rapid expansion in the Fukuoka area, as the brand gained popularity for its unique ordering system and individual dining booths—the original socially-distanced ramen-eating system. Ichiran soon spread to the rest of the country in the early 2000s, and the first international restaurant was finally opened in Hong Kong in 2013. Today, there are a total of seven international locations in Hong Kong, New York, and Taiwan and we can only assume that there are more branches on the way!

Ichiran ramen serves just one type of ramen, its classic Hakata tonkotsu ramen topped with a distinctive red dollop of secret spice paste. However, the brand is known for its unique ordering system, which allows for complete personalization of each bowl of ramen by way of an order sheet filled out by each customer. The sheet specifies everything from the firmness of the noodles, to the toppings, to the amount of fat desired in the soup. This ultimate customization paired with the private "ramen focus booths" is what sets the brand apart and leads to long lines outside many stores during mealtimes. 

HAKATA IKKOUSHA: The Newcomer Spreading Quickly Across the Globe

The first HAKATA IKKOUSHA was opened in 2004, when a group of 3 Hakata locals embarked on a mission to spread authentic Hakata ramen to the world. Before opening restaurants in other countries, however, it was important to the founders to establish themselves in their hometown of Hakata. They did just that, quickly gaining popularity in Fukuoka before spreading to other parts of Japan. The first international HAKATA IKKOUSHA was finally opened in Jakarta, Indonesia in 2011 and the brand has since expanded to a current 48 international branches in 9 different countries, from Australia to China to Brazil. 

The ramen served at HAKATA IKKOUSHA is a classic, old-fashioned Hakata tonkotsu ramen that stays true to the flavor loved by Hakata locals. However, the brand also offers a spicy "Red" version and a charred garlic-infused "Black" version of the ramen as well. Whatever you choose, you can't go wrong with the options here.

Where Can I Eat Hakata Ramen in Fukuoka? Five of the Best Restaurants in the City

Hakuryuken

Considered to be the original restaurant serving Hakata ramen, Hakuryuken is the place to go to experience the flavor of Hakata ramen as it was more than 70 years ago. The restaurant isn't in the most exciting part of town, being located in a quiet residential area, but it is worth the visit just to say you've eaten the ramen that started it all. Note that the shop is only open for lunch and is closed on Monday and Thursday.

Hakata Isso

According to the user reviews on the Japanese site Ramen Database, Hakata Isso is the best ramen shop in Fukuoka. Opened in 2012 by a pair of brothers, Isso now has 3 locations in Fukuoka City. The menu is simple, and the only ramen on offer is an outstanding version of a classic Hakata ramen. If you want to experience the best Hakata ramen in Hakata (and presumably the world), this is the place to check out. 

Hakata Ikkousha

Mentioned above as one of the three Hakata ramen brands spreading the gospel of Hakata ramen throughout the world, Hakata Ikkousha's Main restaurant in Hakata is definitely worth a visit. Located just a few minutes from Hakata Station, this is a great place to experience an outstanding bowl of classic Hakata ramen.

Ganso Nagahamaya

Ganso Nagahamaya is the birthplace of Nagahama ramen, as mentioned above. The original bowl of Nagahama ramen that was first served nearly 70 years ago is still on offer and shouldn't be missed by any ramen fanatic. 

Ichiran Main Office Branch

Located on the street level of the office tower housing the headquarters of Ichiran ramen, this is one of the coolest Ichiran locations in Fukuoka. The restaurant is open from the morning until late into the night and is a great spot to grab an excellent bowl of Hakata ramen, whether you're a diehard Ichiran fan or a newcomer to the ramen scene. 

Explore the Kyushu Area!

Hakata ramen is magical, but that's not the only thing hiding in Kyushu, the region that Fukuoka Prefecture is a part of. Kyushu has some of the best eats around, so if Hakata ramen sounds delicious to you, we think you'll love what the rest of Kyushu has to offer. Check out the official Kyushu tourism website for more information on what's out there in the region.

Visit Kyushu Official Website: https://www.visit-kyushu.com/en/

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search