【日本美食】日本顶尖快餐连锁餐厅介绍

在全球各地窜红的快餐餐厅因能快速提供高价值的餐点而深受大众喜爱。当然,日本也毫不例外地在全国各地都有许多广受欢迎的快餐连锁店。无论你是想以经济实惠的价格来饱餐一顿,还是只想吃一顿快速且简便的餐点,或者是对于日本的快餐选项感到好奇,这篇文章皆能满足你!这次特别在此挑选出几家日本顶尖的快餐餐厅来作介绍,你不妨多加参考看看吧!

日本全国

美食

汉堡

Freshness Burger

Freshness Burger是在1992年于东京开设第一家店面。创办人是在田纳西州吃汉堡时获得灵感,并在结束美国之旅回到日本后,决定开设这家店铺来复制当时的汉堡口味。如同店名所示,这家店铺致力于提供以新鲜食材制成的汉堡。在汉堡面包的部分还提供三种口味供顾客选择,包括南瓜、芝麻与低糖口味。此店的另一大特色就是店内提供从世界各地采购而来的辛香料,如:辣椒酱、盐、咖哩粉及大蒜油等。

此店提供非常丰富的餐点内容,除了所有经典口味之外,另有各式各样馅料种类,如炸鸡、欧姆蛋、午餐肉及炸鱼等。部分分店也提供限定的地区性汉堡,如明治神宫球场店提供4层全垒打汉堡,以及位于栃木县的4个店铺提供以炸饺子作为肉馅的宇都宫蔬菜饺子汉堡等。若你想点选汉堡以外的附加餐点,在早上有热狗供选择,而上午11点过后也有意大利面!

摩斯汉堡

摩斯汉堡创立于1972年,并于全国各地提供日式汉堡。此店提供多种日式口味的汉堡,如照烧鸡肉堡、双虾堡、鱼堡及炸猪排堡等,而其中最特别的则是米汉堡!以米饭制成的圆扁型米饭团来替代汉堡面包,而馅料则夹着经典日式料理,如鲜虾天妇罗、烤肉及海鲜炸什锦。

如果你很在意自己的体重,那么你也可以用莴苣来代替汉堡面包,或者将汉堡肉改成大豆肉饼。如同Freshness Burger,此店也提供热狗餐点,在早晨也可点选烤吐司来开始美好的一天!

Lotteria

Lotteria成立于1972年,在日本一直维持着快餐业领导品牌之一的地位。其餐点的设计是根据日式口味及饮食文化,因此能在此看到一些在西方连锁店中未曾看过的独特汉堡,例如鲜虾堡及半熟水煮蛋与照烧口味汉堡。

Lotteria也经常提供多款限定版汉堡及饮料,例如该店目前所推出的活动方案包括经典辣味汉堡肉、水牛城辣鸡肉汉堡及3层起司汉堡。此店也另外提供早餐餐点。Lotteria也时常会与多家薯片品牌合作,所以你也能在店里找到此店特有汉堡口味的薯片!

First Kitchen

First Kitchen成立于1977年,并在2016年与美国快餐餐厅Wendy's合作,更名为Wendy's First Kitchen。此店提供汉堡、三明治、意大利面及饮料等丰富的餐点选项,在薯条方面也有多种口味供顾客选择,如奶油、鸡汤、奶油酱油及博多明太子口味。

Wendy's First Kitchen除了提供经典口味汉堡及标准日式汉堡(如鲜虾、照烧口味等)之外,另有一些独特口味的餐点,如夹着姜烧猪肉的姜烧三明治及以两块汉堡肉来取代汉堡面包,名为Wild Rock的汉堡。

日式咖哩

Go! Go! Curry

Go! Go! Curry是金泽咖哩的专卖店,其特色是在炸得酥脆的炸猪排上淋上酱汁后摆到一层厚厚的咖哩上。其装盛的器皿为不锈钢制的钢盘,并附有大量的细切高丽菜,吃的时候并不使用汤匙,而是以叉子或刀叉匙享用!Go! Go! Curry在烹调金泽咖哩时共有55道准备步骤,就连咖哩酱也是缓慢炖煮了5个小时,带有令人上瘾的美味。

你可以从炸猪排、炸鸡排、炸虾及香肠中选择主要配料,当然你希望的话也可以额外追加配料。如果你的胃口很大,或者想要挑战自己的话,不妨试试看添加了所有配料的五星特盛咖哩,这道菜疯狂的地方在于总重量高达2.5公斤!

CURRY HOUSE CoCo壹番屋

通常被称为“Coco-ichi”的CoCo壹番屋是日本最有人气的咖哩店,其受欢迎的程度可是扩展到全球各地。CoCo壹番屋的最大特色在于点餐过程的弹性度,你可以调整米饭的份量、辣度及从40多种配料中选择添加喜爱的配料。

你可以在咖哩中加入肉类或海鲜,甚至是在咖哩上方摆上炸猪排或炸鸡排等炸物。如果你想增加营养含量,推荐你可以添加各种蔬菜,如波菜、茄子及蕃茄等。其他配料还有炒蛋、起司及纳豆。你可以随自己需求增添配料的量,眼前这盘餐点的美味可是掌握在你的手上!

盖饭与日式套餐

松屋

松屋是日本大型牛肉盖饭连锁店之一,并且自1980年开始就一直为顾客提供热腾腾的美味日本料理直至今日。此店的主要特色是在白饭上添加带有咸甜滋味的牛肉与洋葱,并且可自行额外添加辛香料,如碎葱及萝卜泥等。另外也可额外点选热味噌汤及醃渍蔬菜,自行组成套餐。

除了经典的牛肉盖饭之外,此店还提供其他不同口味的盖饭、咖哩饭、套餐、乌龙面及沙拉。如果你是来寻求早餐,那么你将能品尝到包括烤鱼、生鸡蛋拌饭(在白饭上添加生鸡蛋后,淋上少许酱油)及香肠和鸡蛋的经典日式早餐。

Sukiya

Sukiya也是日本牛肉盖饭市场上的主要竞争者,此店设立于1982年,至今已在全日本2,000多个地点都设有门市。一碗标准份量的美味盖饭仅需要不到500日元!另外还可额外加点韩式泡菜、起司、生鸡蛋和山药泥等,像是让人身处一个完全不同的美味世界中。

你也可以在此店点选咖哩饭、其他搭配鲔鱼或鸡蓉的盖饭及将日本传统美食作为主菜的套餐,如烤鲑鱼、炒牛肉或姜烧猪肉等。如果要增加营养价值,还可额外追加沙拉、味噌汤、鸡蛋或豆腐。

吉野家

吉野家是三家牛肉盖饭品牌中成立时间最为久远的,其历史可追溯至1899年。100多年来,吉野家仍持续以经济实惠的价格向顾客提供美味可口的快餐餐点。此店可以轻松通过其极具象征性的橘色横条招牌来作识别。如同其他店家,在点选牛肉盖饭时,还可以额外添加各式种类的配料,当然,你也可以选择鸡肉或猪肉等其他蛋白质种类的盖饭。

你可以在菜单上看到其他多种选项,包括咖哩饭、鳗鱼、寿喜烧、素食料理、日本炸鸡块及其他经典的日式料理。在凌晨4点到上午11点的这段时间,你也可以选择“3副菜1汤”的套餐,其中附有沙拉、牛肉盖饭配料、火腿及鸡蛋、纳豆与烤鱼等副菜料理。

NAKAU

创立于1966年的NAKAU是一家人气盖饭与京都风乌龙面店。店内提供丰富盖饭种类,包括亲子盖饭、炸猪排盖饭、牛肉盖饭等。你也可以在此点选利用罗勒酱、起司及蕃茄所制的“意式”亲子盖饭。其他肉类选项还包括鳗鱼及鸡肉丸。

此店也提供各式种类的乌龙面及荞麦面供选择。无论是想将面条放入肉汤中与否,或者要冷或热的肉汤,甚至是以凉面方式享用等,皆可以根据你的需求来点餐。

Tenya

如果你是天妇罗的爱好者,那么你绝对会想到Tenya来一尝美食。Tenya提供各式种类的天妇罗盖饭,而且所有的价格都在1,000日元以下,非常经济实惠。天妇罗盖饭通常会比较贵,但是在此店中,你可以尽情享受这道美味炸物,而且还不用担心自己的钱包破产。

每一碗天妇罗盖饭都适量地摆上以不同食材所制的天妇罗,包括鲜虾、南瓜、秋葵、莲藕、牡蛎及茄子。只要再额外支付些许费用,你还可以追加疏菜及汤品成为套餐。如果希望的话,你也可以将米饭换成冷豆腐,甚至是荞麦面或乌龙面,享受不同种类的乐趣。

面食

丸龟制面

当你前往日本时,无论你选择去哪个地方,应该都会遇到好几次丸龟制面。此店除了在日本拥有超高人气之外,还扩展至13个不同的国家,拥有223个海外根据地,因此在其他国家中也有许多爱好者。丸龟制面受欢迎的原因有好几个,但这些原因可归属于此店的普及、无人可否认的绝佳美味、快捷的服务与经济实惠的价格。

丸龟制面的另一个魅力则在于点餐的方式。首先,先告诉店员你想要的乌龙面类型,接着店员几乎会立即将你所点的乌龙面递给你。之后,端着你的托盘沿着排队动线前行并选择喜爱的天妇罗或饭团!快速、简单又顺畅。

Ringer Hut

在2006年才进入日本餐饮界的Ringer Hut是一家相对较新的餐厅,但是随着时间的流逝,此店也变得越来越普及。此连锁店餐厅是起源于长崎县并且专门提供当地独特料理及长崎强棒面(即日式什锦面)。此道健康面食料理是使用猪肉与鸡肉熬制而成的汤底,再加上猪肉、海鲜及蔬菜所制。当你想要大量摄取健康蔬菜时,这道料理可是你的绝佳选择。

此店还提供另一种没有汤的面条料理,名为什锦炒面(皿うどん)。此道料理是在酥脆的面条上添加以海鲜、猪肉及蔬菜所制勾芡。你可以在这些面条上加入辣味噌、半熟水煮蛋、酱油奶油及肉味噌(以味噌调味过的肉末)。当然,你也可以额外追加饺子、白饭、炒饭及甜点。

便当

Origin便当

Origin便当是一家熟食便当店。当你走进店里,你会看到陈列架上摆满各式各样的配菜与主菜。你可以自行选择想要的菜肴并装进小型容器或塑胶制的便当容器中,以便能外带多种菜肴。只要有Origin,就能让你的餐桌上轻松摆满各种美味料理!

店里也会提供预先包装好的便当及饭团,当你在赶时间时,就能迅速拿去结帐后带走。

Hokka Hokka Tei

在结束完一整天的工作、下课或旅行等,总会有一些时候你不想自己煮饭,也不想花太多前外出用餐。此时,Hokka Hokka Tei等便当店就非常能派上用场。这些便当店通常提供多种选择并且会搭配米饭及各式各样配菜,如日式炸鸡块、南蛮鸡肉(炸鸡排搭配塔塔酱)、姜烧猪肉、烤鱼及汉堡排。这些便当不仅在营养上或菜色搭配上非常均衡,而且份量十足,最重要的是还非常美味!!

Hotto Motto

Hotto Motto也是日本的主要便当店之一。此店遍布日本所有县市,因此当你感到有点饥饿时,就能轻松入店点餐,让吃饭这件事变得格外方便。此店提供丰富餐点种类供顾客选择,其中包括经典的日式餐点,如炸牛排、炸猪排、烤肉、日式咖哩、日式炸鸡块、姜烧猪肉及南蛮鸡肉等,以及打抛猪肉饭及石锅拌饭等异国料理。

回转寿司

寿司郎(Sushiro)

回转寿司店以经济实惠的价格与快速的自助服务风格获得高度好评。在2011年,寿司郎的销售总额名列日本第一。此店原本是一般的寿司餐厅,并在大阪开设第一家门市,名为“寿司太郎”,随后则更名为“寿司郎”并广受好评。此店在日本全部47个都道府县中皆设有店,所以你可以在自己所处位置附近找到其中一个分店。

寿司郎的寿司菜单上提供80种以上的寿司,以及乌龙面、汤品、拉面、炸物及甜点等多种副餐,共有超过120种的食物供你选择!每盘寿司(通常有2个寿司)的价格为100日元(不含税)到300日元不等。

藏寿司

藏寿司起源自大阪,目前在日本全国约有420个根据地,甚至在美国与台湾也有分店!此店设有独家系统,只要将使用完毕的盘子放进桌子上的投入口中,不仅不需要一直堆放在桌子上占空间,此系统还会自动计算投入的盘子,每5个盘子就能玩一次游戏,并且有可能赢得一个扭蛋玩具喔!

此店也有提供各式种类的寿司,不过跟寿司郎不同的是,一些比较昂贵的寿司会以每盘1个100日元计算,而非每盘2个300日元。因此,大部分的餐点都能以每盘100日元的价格品尝,让你以相对较为便宜的价格享用各式美味。更特别的是,在此店也有提供汉堡喔!

Hama寿司

Hama寿司在日本全国约有486个根据地,是店数量最多的回转寿司店。此店提供超过100种的寿司,且大部分都附有美乃滋与酱汁。大部份餐点的价格皆为100日元,平日则提供折扣优惠,每盘只需90日元。

你也可以在此点选一般价位的寿司,如鲑鱼、鲔鱼、鲭鱼、鲜虾及黄狮鱼等,除此之外,你还能在此发现到许多一般少在寿司上看到的食材,如牛肋排、烤牛肉、鸭肉、烟燻生火腿、牛排及天妇罗。

Kappa寿司

Kappa寿司创立于1979年,是日本第四大回转寿司连锁店。此店的最大特色在于会利用新干线造型的寿司列车以高速输送方式将你的餐点传送至你的位置。不过,在传送带上还是会有许多寿司不停地回转。在许多连锁店中可看到的触碰式屏幕点餐也是由Kappa寿司先开始导入使用。

Kappa寿司的丰富寿司菜单区分为期间限定寿司、经典寿司、炙烤与天妇罗、起司与美乃滋、肉寿司、军舰寿司及卷寿司。另提供丰富的副餐菜肴,包括面条、甜点及饮料,供顾客与寿司一同享用。

其他

银章鱼烧

章鱼烧可是大阪最著名的当地美食之一。其作法是将面糊做成一颗小球,并在里面放入章鱼块,煎烤完成后会在上方淋上酱汁并撒上些许柴鱼片及海苔粉。银章鱼烧是日本最大的章鱼烧连锁店,再加上此店非常地普及且受欢迎,因此你非常有可能在街上发现到它。标准的章鱼烧(6个)只要580日元,是一款非常经济实惠的小吃!

你也可以添加不同的配料来更换口味,如碎葱、鸡蛋沙拉及明太子美乃滋与起司等。点完餐后,你还可以直接在眼前观看匠人利用特制章鱼烧烤盘制作章鱼烧的过程喔!

Mister Donut

Mister Donut是日本的甜甜圈连锁店,就像美国的麦当劳一样,大家都知道且喜欢!你可以在此购买到一般常见的甜甜圈,不过可千万别忘了试试看此店的波堤系列,Q弹的质地让人吃起来非常有嚼劲。其他还有法兰奇系列及欧菲香系列也都非常受到喜爱。

如果你想均衡一下甜甜圈的甜味,Mister Donut也提供其他多种美味选择,如BBQ法兰克福派、鲔鱼起司吐司、意大利面、中式料理及热狗。特调咖啡与咖啡欧蕾也可以免费续杯,让你能在此放松片刻,好好享用美味餐点。

“快餐”基本上是来自于西方的概念,且你可能有注意到此篇文章中所提到的大部分快餐餐厅提供的餐点与其他国家的快餐有相当大的差异,如面类料理与寿司。虽说如此,在本文章中所提到的所有连锁店基本上都是以经济实惠的价格提供快速的服务,重点是餐点还非常美味!有些时候在旅途中只想要快速吃点便宜的食物,而快餐可是非常好的选项。你可千万别忘了去确认看看上述所提到的日本快餐连锁店,肯定会让你发现到不少惊喜!

本文提供信息均以公开时为准。

Weibo

体验日本

住宿

购物

搜寻餐厅

An Introduction to the Top Fast Food Restaurant Chains in Japan

Fast food restaurants are popular around the world for quickly dishing out meals for a great value. Japan is no exception to this, with many popular fast food chains lining the streets all over the country. Whether you're looking to fill your belly for a relatively low price, merely seeking a quick and easy meal, or you're just plain curious about fast food options in Japan, we've got you covered! Here are the top fast food restaurant chains in Japan for you to check out!

Nationwide

Food & Drink

Burgers

Freshness Burger

Freshness Burger was first established in Tokyo in 1992. The owner was inspired by the burgers he ate in Tennessee, and upon returning from his trip in America, he decided to open up this shop to replicate the flavors. As the name implies, they're dedicated to serving up burgers made with fresh ingredients. They even have three types of buns that you can choose from: pumpkin, sesame, and low carb. Another striking feature is their stock of spices (hot sauce, salt, curry powder, garlic oil sprays, etc.) from all over the world.

They have a huge burger menu offering all the classics, as well as other variations with fillings like fried chicken, omelettes, spam, and fried fish. Some stores have exclusive regional burgers as well, such as the 4-patty Homerun Burger at the Meiji Jingu Stadium location and the fried-dumpling-"patty" Utsunomiya Yasai Gyoza Burger available in four locations in Tochigi Prefecture. If you want to order something in addition to burgers, they even have hot dogs in the morning and pasta after 11 am!

MOS BURGER

MOS BURGER opened its doors in 1972, and has been serving up Japanese-style burgers all throughout the country since. They have many burgers with Japanese flavors, like teriyaki, shrimp cutlet, fish burgers, and pork cutlet, but they also have rice burgers! A round rice bun replaces the bread buns, and is filled with typical Japanese items like shrimp tempura, yakiniku, and kaisen kakiage (deep fried seafood).

If you're watching your weight, you can also get a lettuce wrap in place of your buns, or replace your meat patties with soy patties. Like Freshness Burger, they also have a hot dog menu, and in the morning, you can order some toast to start off your day!

Lotteria

Lotteria was first established in 1972, and has since maintained its status as one of Japan's leading fast food brands to this day. Their menu was originally designed based on Japanese flavors and food culture, so you can expect to see some unique burgers that you're unlikely to see in Western chains, like shrimp burger and soft-boiled egg and teriyaki burger.

They often have many limited edition burgers and drinks too; for their current campaign, for example, they have classic chili meat, buffalo chicken burger, and 3-cheese burger. There's also a separate morning menu as well. They often collaborate with many potato chip brands, so you might find some of their burgers on the front of chip packages in stores!

First Kitchen

First Kitchen has been around in Japan since 1977, and in 2016, they joined hands with the American fast food restaurant, Wendy's, to become Wendy's First Kitchen. They have an extensive menu of burgers, sandwiches, pasta, and drinks, and they even have multiple flavors of fries to choose from, like butter, chicken consomme, butter soy sauce, and pollack roe.

They have classic burgers and standard Japanese burgers (shrimp, teriyaki, etc.), but they also have some more unique ones such as the Shogayaki Sandwich filled with stir-fried ginger and pork, and the Wild Rock, which comes with two beef patty "buns."

Japanese Curry

Go! Go! Curry

Go! Go! Curry specializes specifically in Kanazawa Curry, which is characterized by crispy cuts of cutlet dressed with sauce and laid out on a bed of rich, thick curry. It's served in a stainless steel plate with a generous heap of shredded cabbage, and you eat the dish with a fork or spork (not a spoon!). There are 55 steps involved in preparing the Kanazawa Curry at Go! Go! Curry, and the sauce is simmered slowly for up to 5 hours to really bring out the addictive flavors.

You can get it with pork or chicken katsu, fried shrimp, and sausages, and you can even add on extra toppings if you wish. If you've got a big appetite and you're looking for a challenge, try ordering the Grand Slam, which includes all of the toppings offered here, or the World Champion Curry, a dish with crazy portions that weigh up to a total of 2.5 kg!

CURRY HOUSE CoCo ICHIBANYA

CoCo ICHIBANYA, which is more commonly referred to as "Coco-ichi", is one of the most popular curry restaurants in all of Japan, and it's popularity has even led it to expand to several locations all across the globe. The great thing about Coco-ichi is the flexibility of the ordering process, as you can adjust the rice portion, spice level, and add on as many toppings as you want from a selection of over 40 varieties.

You can add meats and seafood to the curry, or even top it with deep-fried alternatives like pork or chicken cutlets instead. If you want to boost up the nutritional content, you can add in a variety of vegetables like spinach, eggplant, and tomatoes. Other toppings include scrambled eggs, cheese, and natto (fermented soybeans). You can add as little or as much as you want - the world is your oyster!

Rice Bowls and Japanese Set Meals

Matsuya

Matsuya is one of the big gyudon (beef rice bowl) chains in Japan, and they've been serving delicious, warm Japanese dishes to customers since 1980. While their main feature is the rice bowls topped with a sweet and salty mixture of beef and onions, you can add some extra spice to these dishes with ingredients like green onions and grated daikon radish. You can also make it a set by adding a heartwarming bowl of miso soup and a side of pickled vegetables.

Besides the classic gyudon, there are other types of donburi (rice bowl dishes) available as well, in addition to curry, teishoku (set meals), udon, and salads. If you come for the morning set, you'll be treated to a typical Japanese breakfast with grilled fish, tamago kake gohan (raw egg mixed into rice with soy sauce), and sausages and eggs.

Sukiya

Another major contender and the largest in the gyudon game, Sukiya has been serving up filling gyudon dishes at 2,000 locations across Japan since 1982. A standard bowl of this delicious meal won't even cost you 500 yen! Top it with items like kimchi, cheese, raw egg, and grated yam, and you're in for a completely different world of flavors.

You can also order curry, other donburi with tuna or minced chicken, and teishoku with classic traditional Japanese fare, such as grilled salmon, stir-fried beef, or shogayaki. Make it even more nutritious by grabbing the value sets for salads, miso soup, egg, or tofu.

Yoshinoya

Yoshinoya is the oldest of the three gyudon chains, with their roots going all the way back to 1899. For over 100 years, they've continued to dish up tasty, quick food at cheap prices. They're easily recognizable by their iconic orange-striped shop sign. Like the others, you have the choice of gyudon with a variety of add-ons, but you can also get other donburi with other types of protein like chicken and pork.

You have many other options to choose from on their menu, including curry, eel, sukiyaki (beef hot pot), vegetarian dishes, karaage (fried chicken), and classic Japanese meals. From 4 am to 11 am, you can choose the "1 soup 3 side" sets which come with side dishes like salad, simmered beef (gyudon topping), ham and egg, natto, and grilled fish.

Nakau

Nakau is a popular donburi and Kyoto-style udon shop that first opened their doors in 1966. You have a wide selection of donburi to choose from, such as oyakodon (chicken and egg rice bowl), katsudon (pork cutlet over scrambled eggs and rice), gyutojidon (beef and egg rice bowl), and, of course, gyudon. You can even get an "Italian-style" oyakodon, which is made with a basil sauce, cheese, and tomatoes. Other meat options include eel and chicken meatballs.

There's a wide array of udon and soba to choose from as well. Whether you want to eat it by dipping it into a broth, in a cold or hot broth, or soup-less, you'll be able to order the noodles in whichever way your heart desires.

Tenya

If you're a fan of tempura, you'll definitely want to make your way over to a Tenya instead. Tenya serves up a variety of tendon (rice bowl topped with tempura), all under a very reasonable price under 1,000 yen. Tendon tends to be on the pricier side, but at this shop, you'll be able to enjoy this deep-fried goodness without breaking the bank.

Each bowl comes with a decent portion of tempura, with ingredients like shrimp, kabocha pumpkin, okra, lotus root, oysters, and eggplant. With a small extra fee, you can bump it into a set for a vegetable side and soup. You can change out the rice for cold tofu too if you'd like. Or, you can even get the soba or udon set instead of rice for a bit more variety.

Noodles

Marugame Seimen

While in Japan, you're likely to run into Marugame Seimen several times, regardless of where you choose to go. Not only are they extremely popular within Japan, but they've also raked in a huge fanbase in other countries as well, as they expanded to 13 different countries with 223 locations abroad. There are many reasons that can be attributed to their widespread popularity; no one can deny their excellent taste, quick service, and super affordable prices.

Another appealing feature at Marugame Seimen is the way you order. You first tell them which type of udon you want (kamatama, kake, bukkake, etc. Check out this article if you want to learn more about udon), then they'll hand you a bowl almost immediately with your noodles. After that, you go down the line with your tray, pick up any tempura or onigiri that you want, and pay! Fast, easy, and smooth.

Ringer Hut

Ringer Hut is a relatively new restaurant, having only entered the food scene in 2006, but their widespread prevalence is clear as day. The chain originated in Nagasaki Prefecture, and specializes in the local specialty dish, Nagasaki champon. This is a noodle dish with a pork and chicken soup base and a healthy serving of pork, seafood, and vegetables. It's a really filling dish to eat when you want to get a good dose of healthy vegetables in.

There's also a soupless noodle dish called sara udon, or crispy noodles topped with a sauce of seafood, pork, and vegetables. You can top both of these noodles with spicy miso, soft boiled egg, soy butter, and nikumiso (miso-seasoned ground meat). You can also beef up your meal with a side of gyoza (fried dumplings), white rice, fried rice, and dessert.

Bento Lunch Box

Origin Bento

Origin Bento is a deli-style bento (lunch box) shop. When you walk in, you'll be greeted with shelves filled with a colorful assortment of side dishes and main dishes. You can choose which ones you want and pack them into small containers or a plastic bento-style containers for multiple dishes to take away with you. With Origin, it's super easy to get a good variety of delicious food out on the table!

They also have pre-packed bentos and onigiri that you can buy if you just want to grab something quick to go.

Hokka Hokka Tei

After a long day of work, school, or traveling, sometimes you just don't want to cook, and you don't want to spend too much money eating out. That's when bento shops like Hokka Hokka Tei really come in handy. There's usually several different types to choose from, and they all come with rice and a wide selection of side dishes to eat with it, such as karaage, chicken namban (deep-fried chicken topped with tartar sauce), shogayaki, grilled fish, and hamburg steak. It's relatively well balanced, very filling, and quite tasty as well! 

Hotto Motto

Another major, take away bento specialty shop, Hotto Motto makes meals extremely convenient. They can be found in almost all prefectures across the country, so it's very easy to drop in when you're feeling a bit hungry. There are so many options to choose from, with classic Japanese meals like beef or pork cutlet, grilled fish, Japanese curry, karaage, shogayaki, and namban chicken, as well as ethnic dishes like gapao rice and bibimap.

Conveyor Belt Sushi

Sushiro

Conveyor belt sushi restaurants receive high praise for their affordable prices and quick self-service style. Sushiro claimed the number one position of the bunch in Japan in sales in 2011. They were originally a regular sushi restaurant, and opened their first store in Osaka under the name "Sushi Taro," with subsequent locations taking on the well-regarded title "Sushiro." They have locations in all 47 prefectures, so you're likely to find one somewhere nearby.

There are over 80 items on their sushi menu, and if you consider the number of sides (udon, soup, ramen, fried food, desserts) as well, you have from over 120 items to choose from! One plate (usually with 2 pieces of sushi) can cost as low as 100 yen (plus tax) to 300 yen.

Kurasushi

Kurasushi also opened in Osaka, and now has roughly 420 locations nationwide. There are even branches in the U.S. and Taiwan! They have a unique system where you insert your finished plates into a slot in your table so you don't have to keep them stacked by you; each plate you insert will be calculated digitally, and for each 5 plates, you can play a game where you can win a capsule toy.

There's a huge selection of sushi toppings available here as well, but unlike Sushiro, many of the more expensive sushi is priced as 100 yen for 1 piece per plate instead of 300 yen for 2 pieces per plate. Since most of the menu is set at 100 yen per plate, you'll be able to enjoy a wide variety of dishes for relatively cheap. You can even order burgers here!

Hamazushi

With roughly 486 locations, Hamazushi boasts the top number of stores in the country. There are over 100 types of sushi on the menu, and many variations come with the addition of mayonnaise and sauces. Most of the dishes are priced at 100 yen, and on weekdays, they go down to 90 yen.

You'll be able to order your standard fare of sushi, such as salmon, tuna, mackerel, shrimp, yellowtail, and so on, but you'll also find many unconventional toppings like beef rib, roast beef, duck, prosciutto, steak, and tempura.

Kappa Sushi

Kappa Sushi has been in the business since 1979, and is the 4th biggest conveyor belt chain in Japan. Possibly their largest feature is the shinkansen (bullet train) that carries your order to you. In the beginning, however, they had buckets filled with sushi floating down from a watery passageway. The touch panel ordering system that you see in many of the other chains these days was also first started by Kappa Sushi.

Their extensive sushi menu is separated into limited time sushi toppings, standard nigiri, aburi (seared) and tempura, cheese and mayo, meat, gunkan ("battleship" style), and makimono. They also have a grand lineup of sides, noodles, desserts, and drinks to enjoy alongside the sushi.

Other

Gindaco

You might have heard of takoyaki, as it's one of the famous local specialties of Osaka. They're small balls of batter with bits of octopus inside, which are then drizzled with sauce, bonito flakes, and powdered seaweed. Gindaco is the biggest takoyaki chain, and you're highly likely to spot it in the streets as it's incredibly popular. The standard takoyaki (with 6 balls) is only 580 yen, which makes them a very affordable treat to snack on!

You can switch up the flavors with various toppings like green onion slices, egg salad, and mentaiko (pollack roe) mayonnaise and cheese. After you place your order, you can watch them make it in the special takoyaki griddles, too! 

Mister Donut

Mister Donut is the Japanese donut equivalent of McDonald's. Everyone knows and loves this donut chain! You'll have your choice of standard donuts, but the pon-de-ring donuts definitely stick out for their chewy, springy texture. Some of their other popular items include French crueller and old fashion.

If you want to balance out the sweetness of the donuts, they have many savory options too, like BBQ frankfurt pies, tuna melt toast, pastas, Chinese dishes, and hot dogs. The blend coffee and cafe au lait have free refills as well, so you enjoy your food while relaxing here for a while.

"Fast food" is largely a Western concept, and you may notice a lot of these restaurants serve up food options, such as noodles and sushi, that are quite different from the fast food in other countries. Still, all the places mentioned in this article are great options for their quick service and great prices, and to add onto it, they're pretty tasty as well! Sometimes when traveling, you just want something fast and cheap to eat, and fast food is an easy way to get a good meal out of it. Be sure to check out these Japanese fast food chains, and you'll definitely be in for a pleasant surprise!

Header image: Takashi Images/Shutterstock.com

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Things to Do

Hotels & Ryokan

Shopping

Restaurant Search