【日本實用資訊】回國後就試著挑戰「和食料理」吧!不管是誰都能簡單萃取「高湯」的方法

被登錄於聯合國教科文組織(UNESCO)無形文化遺產中的「和食」,其最主要的核心便是「高湯」。特別是京都,可說是將和食基礎高湯文化發揚光大的地方。從一般家庭到高級料亭,若沒有「高湯」,幾乎就沒有辦法開始做料理,就像是料理的靈魂般,極其重要。 這次的文章便要聚焦於如此重要的「高湯」魅力!並為您介紹日本當地大學生也經常使用的簡便「顆粒高湯」及「萃取高湯的示範」等。

日本

美食

高湯的種類

首先,我們先來了解「高湯」的種類吧!我們舉出以下4種一般較為常見的種類。

1. 柴魚高湯

柴魚高湯的做法,是使用柴魚煮熟、烤乾後,再持續保持乾燥等加工後製成的乾製品「柴魚乾」來萃取出。市面上所販售的商品,大多以削成薄片或粉末類型較多。其風味豐富而美味。

◆適用料理

・以高湯為湯底的和風湯品「日式清湯」

・將高湯與蛋液攪拌均勻後,放入雞肉、香菇等食材後蒸煮的「茶碗蒸」等

2. 昆布高湯

將海草種類之一的「昆布」烘乾後,所萃取出的高湯。其特徵為高雅且溫和的口感,會隨著產地及種類而味道有所不同。

◆適用料理

・將汆燙過後的菠菜,淋上醬油與高湯的「日式燙菠菜」

・「火鍋料理」的湯頭等

3. 小魚乾高湯

將日本鯷魚等小魚烘乾後所萃取的高湯。在京都等關西地區較常被稱呼為「いりこ (Iriko)」,但東京等其他地區則稱呼為「煮干し (Niboshi) 」。其特徵為比起「柴魚高湯」酸味較少,且香氣濃厚。

◆適用料理

・日本人的靈魂食物「味噌湯」

・烏龍麵或蕎麥麵等「麵類的湯汁」等

4. 香菇高湯

日本自古以來經常食用且受到廣大喜愛的菇類「香菇」,是將其浸泡於水內恢復原狀,再萃取成高湯。香醇味濃的美味及甘甜口感是香菇高湯的最大特徵,萃取高湯後的香菇,也能直接當作食材燉煮。

◆適用料理

・與蔬菜及雞肉等一起燉煮的「煮物」等

除了這次所介紹的這4種高湯以外,還有使用鯖魚、飛魚等魚乾的高湯,種類相當豐富。另外,「昆布+小魚乾」或「昆布+香菇」等多種食材混合搭配的「混合高湯」也很常見。

高湯的萃取方法

那麼,我們就用剛才所介紹的素材,實際來嘗試製作「高湯」吧!

「小魚乾高湯 」的萃取方式

(1) 為了要萃取出不含雜味且清爽的優質高湯,要先把小魚乾的頭及內臟去除,並將魚身分開。

(2) 一種是相當簡單的「冷泡法」,直接把小魚乾浸泡於水中,並蓋上保鮮膜後,放置於冰箱一個晚上或數小時即完成。

(3) 或是,將小魚乾放入鍋中加水以中火烹煮5分鐘左右,若出現殘渣就將殘渣取出,此烹煮方法也很普遍。最後將魚乾或殘渣加以過濾後,便能取得高湯。

「昆布高湯」的萃取方法

(1) 先用淋濕後確實擰乾的餐巾將昆布表面的髒污擦拭掉。如果太過用力擦拭的話,會將昆布表面上的白色結晶「美味成分」也擦拭掉,因此輕輕擦拭即可。

(2) 與小魚乾高湯相同,將昆布放入容器中,用水浸泡後,蓋上保鮮膜放入冰箱冷藏即可,放置時間約6個小時,便能輕鬆獲得冷泡高湯。完成後的高湯能放置冰箱中保存約1個禮拜的時間,但是可以的話,請儘早使用完畢吧!

(3) 或是將昆布放入鍋中並加水以小火加熱,當水面出現許多氣泡時,便將昆布取出,此種加熱方法也很普遍。重點是,絕對不要將水煮沸喔!

能在超市購買到的簡便「高湯」的種類

剛才所介紹的道地「高湯」當然也非常美味,但是需下點功夫、花點時間也是事實。因此,在此也要介紹非常適合推薦給初學者,更加輕鬆方便製作高湯的產品。

由於下列類型的高湯在超市跟便利商店也能輕鬆購買到,所以也非常適合拿來當做伴手禮喔!

顆粒・粉末高湯

除了食材原本的美味外,還有許多商品是特別加了食鹽、砂糖等調味,是能非常簡便使用的類型。

將顆粒・粉末高湯加入熱水溶化後,只要這樣淋上清炒料理・煮物中,就能再現簡單的日式口味。例如,在使用熱水溶化後的高湯中,加入切成角塊狀的豆腐後,便能完成「吸物」!

有「柴魚・昆布・小魚乾・香菇」等口味,豐富種類。

價格例:5g×7袋入,大約在200日圓左右

高湯包

與顆粒高湯相比,沒有放入任何食鹽等調味料的「高湯包」也非常推薦。使用高湯包所萃取出的高湯會更加接近道地的高湯口感。此外,高湯包的魅力為,只要萃取完高湯,便能直接丟進垃圾桶中,不像粉末狀比較容易弄髒廚房。

價格例 : 8×16袋入,約500日圓左右

 

除此之外,還有用醬油等調味過,並裝入寶特瓶內等的「液體類型」喔!

 

以天然素材所萃取出的「高湯」,也非常建議一次能多做一點,然後放入製冰盒中冷凍的話(保存期限大概1~3個禮拜左右),需要時便能輕鬆拿出來使用,且保存期限也比較久。為了更了解「高湯」文化,回國後也試著再現看看於日本旅行中所品嚐到的和食美味吧!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

Cook the Japanese Way! Easy Dashi Recipes That Anyone Can Follow!

[Local College Students Tell All!] Japanese cuisine is recognized as a UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage. Its foundations were built and developed in Kyoto. Dashi (Japanese soup stock) is the ingredient that lies at the heart of Japanese cuisine. It is such an important part of Japanese cuisine that you wouldn’t be able to start cooking without it! Get ready for a comprehensive introduction to this indispensable part of Japanese cuisine!

Nationwide

Food & Drinks

Different Types of Dashi

First, you need to know about the different types of Dashi. In general, there are 4 types.

1. Katsuo Dashi

This is a Dashi made from Katsuobushi. Katsuobushi is made from boiling Katsuo (skipjack tuna), drying it, and then smoking it. You'll usually find it at the supermarket as very thin flakes or in powder form. Its main characteristic is its rich flavor and sweetness. 

Some dishes that make use of Katsuo Dashi are:

  • Sumashi-jiru (Dashi-based Japanese soup)
  • Chawanmushi (Dashi is mixed with egg and steamed with chicken, shiitake mushrooms, and other fillings)

2. Konbu Dashi

Konbu Dashi is made with a type of seaweed called Konbu (kelp) that's been dried. It is recognizable by its elegant, but understated flavor. The taste will differ depending on where the Konbu is from and what type of Konbu it is.

Some dishes that make use of Konbu Dashi are:

  • Horenso no Ohitashi (boiled spinach dressed with soy sauce and dashi)
  • Soup base for Nabe (hot pot) dishes

3. Iriko (Niboshi) Dashi

This Dashi is made with small dried fish, like anchovies. These small fish are called Iriko in Kyoto and other parts of the Kanto region, but in other parts of Japan like Tokyo, people call them Niboshi. This Dashi is a little less sour, but more fragrant than Katsuo Dashi.

Some dishes that make use of Iriko Dashi are:

  • Miso Shiru (miso soup, the soul food of the Japanese people)
  • Soup for noodle dishes like Udon and Soba

4. Shiitake Dashi

This Dashi is made by rehydrating dried Shiitake mushrooms in water. Shiitake mushrooms have been one of the most commonly eaten mushrooms in Japan since ancient times. The Dashi has a characteristically strong flavor full of sweetness. After making the Dashi, the mushroom can be used as an ingredient in simmered dishes.

Some dishes that make use of Shiitake Dashi are:

  • Nimono (simmered dishes) where chicken and vegetables are cooked together

Besides these 4 types of Dashi, there are Dashi that are made from dried Saba (mackerel) and Tobiuo (flying fish). In short, there are many varieties of Dashi! There are also variations where you use a combination of Konbu and Iriko, or Konbu and Shiitake. These types of Dashi with more than one ingredient are called Awase Dashi.

How to Make Dashi

Now, find out how you can make your own Dashi with the ingredients that were introduced earlier!

Making Iriko (Niboshi) Dashi

 1. To make top-quality Dashi with a clear taste, remove the head and innards of the fish.

2. Put the fish in water and cover the container with cling wrap. Leave it in the fridge overnight or for several hours. Congratulations, you've just done a simple cold water infusion (Mizudashi)!

3. Alternatively, dump the fish into a pot of water and boil at medium heat. Scoop out any scum that forms, and boil for around 5 minutes. Remove the fish and the Dashi is ready! 

Making Konbu Dashi

1. Wet a clean cloth, and then squeeze out the excess water. Use this to lightly wipe the surface of the Konbu. But be careful! The white crystals that are the source of the Konbu's sweetness will get wiped off if you wipe too hard.

2. Like Iriko (Niboshi) Dashi, you can soak the Konbu in a bowl of water, cover the bowl with cling wrap, and leave it in the fridge for around 6 hours. This is an easy way to make Dashi. The Dashi can be kept in the fridge for around 1 week, but it's still better to use it quickly.

3. You can also put Konbu in a pot of water and boil it over low fire. Remove the Konbu when the water starts to bubble. This is another a common way of preparing Konbu Dashi. Take care not to boil the Konbu with strong heat!

Convenient Dashi That You Can Get From Supermarkets

Making your Dashi from scratch results in a delicious soup, but it does take some effort. There are convenient ways to make Dashi that are beginner-friendly. You can buy such things from supermarkets and convenience stores, and they make great gifts as well!

Dashi Granules/Powder

Most of these come with salt, sugar, and other seasonings already added, so they're really convenient to use!

Dissolve the powder or granules in water, or add directly to stir frys and simmered dishes to easily reproduce the taste of Japanese cuisine. For example, dissolve the Dashi granules/powder in hot water, add in some cut tofu, and you'll have Osuimono (clear soup)!

The granules/powder also come in Katsuo, Konbu, Niboshi, Shiitake and other flavors, so you'll have plenty to choose from.

Price: A box of 7 (5g) packs will cost approximately 200 yen

Dashi Packs

Compared to granules or powder, Dashi packs don't have salt or other seasonings added to them. This gives a taste that's even closer to Dashi that's made from scratch. You can just throw the packs away after you make the Dashi, which is an additional plus point, since you won't need to worry about powder getting all over your kitchen!

Price: A pack of 16 (8g) bags will cost approximately 800 yen

Besides these, there are also types that are seasoned with soy sauce or other seasonings, and also liquid types that come in a bottle!

Make lots of Dashi Jiru (Dashi soup) ahead of time, freeze them, and store them like ice cubes. They last for 1 to 3 weeks, and you'll be able to get Dashi conveniently at any time! Get to know "Dashi culture", and reproduce the delicious foods you tasted during your Japan trip at home!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search