你真的了解东京塔吗?这个东京地标其实不是红色

举世闻名的东京塔,在东京广阔的天际线中一眼就能认出。仿佛法国巴黎埃菲尔铁塔的亮橙色版的双胞胎兄弟。位于市中心的东京塔,可以说是东京最著名的地标。虽然东京塔的主要功能是收发讯号,但大家更为熟悉的是踏上东京塔,能俯瞰全东京市区和东京都远处壮丽景色的观景台。本文悉心整理有关东京塔的所有信息,包括它的历史、独特设计的原因和理念以及所有景点和活动。

东京都

体验

东京塔的历史

虽然官方正式名称为“日本电波塔(日本電波塔)”,但这个东京的标志性建筑通常被称为“东京塔(東京タワー)”。东京塔建于1958年,有鉴于日本战后繁荣时期,东京电视台对讯号发射的需求日益增长,考虑与其在整个城市内建造多座电视塔,不如建造一个可满足当时整座城市需求的讯号塔,以便电视信号可以传输到东京如此大城市的每一个角落。

知道这座塔将成为东京天际线的重要一部分时,东京塔的设计师内藤多仲,开始从世界各地著名的地标中寻找灵感。最终巴黎的埃菲尔铁塔被选为参考模型,决定将复制巴黎最著名地标的格子钢设计,应用于东京塔上面。

东京塔的设计理念

东京塔位于港区中央区芝公园,高333米,建成时是世界上最高的独立式塔楼。而在东京塔之前,最高的塔正是埃菲尔铁塔。自建成以来,许多电视台和广播电台都使用东京塔的天线进行广播和讯号发送,至今它仍持续被使用于类比计算和数字服务等。

除了负责发送广播讯号,东京塔自建成以来一直是一个观景塔。塔上设有两个观景瞭望台:分别是150米高的“Main Deck”和250米的“Top Deck”。Top Deck目前仍是东京第三高的观景台,仅次于东京晴空塔的两个观景台。据估计,自60多年前首次开放以来,已有超过1.5亿人次参观东京塔。在观光市场竞争激烈的东京都里,东京塔每年仍接待大约300万人次的游客。

为什么东京塔是橘色的?

东京塔最显著的设计特点之一是它的颜色。为了符合航空安全法,东京塔被涂上一层引人入胜、相当醒目的亮橙色,正式名称为“国际橘”。每隔五年,这个塔就会重新粉刷新的油漆,这个工程可是需要整整一年的时间才能完成。

入夜后,东京塔被一系列专为庆祝30周年而设计的聚光灯照亮。在夜空的映衬下熠熠生辉,天黑后的东京塔是这座城市的天际线中最著名的景象。而东京塔的灯在每晚午夜熄灭,据说在晚上和所爱的人一起看到塔灯熄灭的瞬间,就可以拥有一段长久而幸福的关系。

在7月至9月的炎热夏季,东京塔的灯光设置为凉爽的白色。在寒冷的冬天,塔楼的灯光则会变成深沉而温暖的橙色。每个星期一,这座塔都会以被称为“无限钻石帷幕(Infinity Diamond Veil)”的特殊灯光秀照亮,用以庆祝令和新时代。每个月,灯光秀都会呈现不同的颜色。当遇上特殊节庆时,也会打上一些特殊的灯光欢庆,如新年庆祝活动、情人节等。更有趣的是每月会有一次,满月的那个晚上,塔灯会完全熄灭。

拜访东京塔

东京塔在哪?

东京塔位于东京市中心的芝公园。特意建在东京市中心,以便塔的电视和无线电天线可以顾及到达整个东京都。东京塔位于皇居和东京车站以南约3公里处,距离艺术博物馆和六本木的欢乐夜生活场所都仅需要几站的路程。

如何前往东京塔?

东京塔附近有数个车站。最近的地铁站是赤羽桥站和御成门站。最近的JR站是滨松町站,步行约15分钟即可到达。

登塔需要多少花费呢?

东京塔Main Deck门票大人为1,200日元,儿童为500至1000日元,视年龄而定。Top Deck Tour的门票大人为3,000日元,儿童为1,400至2,800日元,同样根据年龄而不同。如果直接在东京塔的官方网站上提前预订TOP Deck Tour门票的话就可以省200日元。(Top Deck Tour的门票也可以进入Main Deck。)

东京塔不可错过的看点和活动

东京塔的主要景点是两个观景台,可以欣赏到东京及更远地区的壮丽景色。这两个观景台都可以360度欣赏到世界上最壮观的城市景观——东京全景。

Main Deck

东京塔的下层观景台称为Main Deck,分为两层。距地面150米高,这里的视野与附近摩天大楼和办公大楼的屋顶差不多高。不过视野极佳,可以看到整个东京或甚至更远的地方。天气晴朗的话,西边的富士山也能看得非常清楚。最近这层观景台经过翻新工程,安装了更大的窗板,可以更清晰地看向外面的世界。

Main Deck下层的一个特点是Skywalk窗——透明的玻璃地板可直接俯瞰140米下的街道。上面还有东京塔的大神社,是东京海拔最高的神社。许多人喜欢来这里祈求寻找爱情的顺利,学子们则祈祷考试成功。此外还有一个小咖啡馆,可以在这里停下来吃点东西,同时欣赏令人难以置信的美景。

Top Deck

东京塔另一个较高的观景台为Top Deck,是一个规模比较小的圆形观景台。进入Top Deck观景台一定要先购买Top Deck Tour的门票(此处门票包含Main Deck的入场费)。从Main Deck搭乘电梯前往两个观景台之间的一个休息区,在此可以免费享用一杯饮料,并有专业摄影师为你拍摄纪念照片。可以在参观结束后离开时购买。接着再从这里转乘另一部电梯前往Top Deck。

虽然Top Deck的空间小得多,但从这里可以鸟瞰一个不一样的东京。与下面的Main Deck相比,高出的额外100米,可以更清晰地看到东京及其附近地区。Top Deck Tour的行程里还包含免费的语音导览,一边在观景台上漫步,一边聆听东京每个角落的历史。此外这里也是近期翻新工程的一部分,Top Deck的内部配备耀眼的几何镜面,可反射白天的光线和夜晚城市天际线的灯光。

在东京塔还能做什么?

可以登上东京塔!

如果喜爱冒险,那么还有另一种方式可以到达Main Deck,那就是舍弃电梯走楼梯!楼梯的起点始于FootTown的屋顶,FootTown是一栋位于塔楼下方的食品、餐厅和购物中心的复合式建筑。通往Main Deck的阶梯一共有600级。沿途微风徐徐地吹,非常轻松惬意,是一个有趣又非常难忘的体验,也能看到一些搭乘电梯看不到的独特的城市景观。顺带一提,若选择走楼梯前往Main Deck,不会因为没有搭乘电梯就获得额外门票优惠哦。

FootTown

东京塔的底部是一栋叫做FootTown的五层楼建筑,里面有许多销售东京塔纪念品和日本甜点、美食的商店。有许多餐厅如摩丝汉堡和Pizza-la,或者比较传统的拉面和盖浇饭餐厅。在FootTown里还有Tower Gallery,展示着东京塔历史的展览和照片。FootTown外也会全年定期进行活动装饰的摆设,以庆祝年度活动和传统节日,如上图的儿童节鲤鱼旗。

东京塔附近有什么呢?

增上寺

东京塔的正前下方是一个叫做增上寺的寺庙,其历史可以追溯到16世纪。增上寺和东京塔之间对比鲜明的建筑风格精美地显现新与旧在东京并肩而立,可以拍出一张张绝妙的照片。

芝公园

东京塔和增上寺周围即是芝公园,是东京最古老的公园之一,也是城市中一片美丽的绿地。主要以增上寺的寺领和两家高级酒店为主,公园内的任何角落都能欣赏到东京塔的美景。以瀑布和人工峡谷为特色的芝公园,在春天的樱花盛开时显得格外璀璨。秋天时,境内的“红叶谷”区域,枫树会转为令人惊叹,由红色以及金色交织而成的美景。

六本木

离东京塔不远的地方有个充满活力的六本木区。作为东京的主要娱乐中心之一,六本木拥有许多高端购物中心和闪闪发光的现代摩天大楼。六本木还以其喧闹的夜生活场景而闻名,遍布着众多高级餐厅、酒吧和夜总会。

六本木也是艺术爱好者的好去处,有许多当代艺术画廊,如位于六本木新城森大厦内的森美术馆。 森大厦内还有另一个东京著名的观景台,即是位于的52楼的东京City View展望台(東京シティビュー)。

东京塔和东京晴空塔

随着科技的进步,更高端的数字电视和无线电广播的出现,为东京塔带来新的挑战。为了接收和发送数字广播讯号源,需要以比模拟广播更高的频率进行传输。这些更高的频率需要从比东京塔还要高的地方传输。因此2012年,一座新的广播塔落成——东京晴空塔。

东京晴空塔高634米,比东京塔高300多米,占据这座城市的天际线,也接替东京塔成为东京的主要广播塔。现在的东京塔主要播放模拟电视和FM广播电台的讯号。如同东京塔一样,晴空塔也有两个观景台,一个高350米,另一个高450米。

面对东京晴空塔的竞争,以及多年来在东京都内各地涌现的许多其他观景台,东京塔不得不与时俱进。配合2018年东京塔建成60周年,两个观景台都进行全面翻新,希望能吸引更多游客。除了安装更大、无视野障碍的窗框以提供更清晰的城市景观外,也新增更多标牌和信息,指出东京的地标和著名区域的位置。

东京塔和东京晴空塔哪个比较好?

以观景台来说,东京塔和晴空塔提供截然不同的东京视角。东京晴空塔这边理所当然可以用更高的视野俯瞰城市景观。不过它位于东京东侧的下町,离市中心较远,可以看到远离都市中心数公里的地方。

由于东京塔靠近东京市中心,甚至可以说是中心的一部分,因此东京塔的观景台能提供更紧密的城市景观。东京塔可以更完整地看到这座城市的许多地标,尤其从更高的Top Deck可以获得更棒的体验。

同样值得考虑的是,东京晴空塔是一个比东京塔更现代的商业综合建筑。虽然东京塔有FootTown提供的商店和餐厅,但东京晴空塔的底部是东京晴空町,是一个拥有300多家商店和餐厅的大型购物中心。如果想在户外度过一整天,欣赏东京的壮丽景色,东京晴空塔之旅可能更加适合。不过要注意的是,由于它人气相当旺,晴空塔内的任何餐厅和设施的等待或排队时间可能会非常长,而且通常会在特定时间段内发售门票预约券。如果遇上周末或假日时,等待几个小时才能上去观景台是常常发生的事。

东京塔和东京晴空塔花费之比较

门票花费可能也是帮助你决定前往参观哪一座塔的关键因素。在价格方面,以套票来说东京塔和东京晴空塔的价格相差不远。东京塔Top Deck Tour大人的费用为3,000日元,其中包含进入Main Deck的门票。东京晴空塔的套票大人平日为3,100日元,周末为3,400日元。

不过如果不买套票的话价格就会有些差异。东京塔Main Deck观景台的门票只需要1,200日元,东京晴空塔的价格平日则高达2,100日元,周末甚至增加到将近两倍的2,300日元。不过晴空塔的天望甲板(TEMBO DECK)毕竟比东京塔的Main Deck高200米。或者可以选择直接跳过东京晴空塔天望甲板(TEMBO DECK),直接单买高度较高的天望回廊(TEMBO GALLERIA)门票。450米高的东京最高观景台,大人平日只需1,000日元,周末则是1,100日元,相对起来便宜一点。

东京塔,深受人们喜爱的东京地标

作为世界上最著名的地标之一,东京塔即使在建成60年后依然是一个非常受欢迎的旅游景点。虽然它不再是东京的主要广播塔,但它标志性的橙色设计和位于市中心的位置,仍象征着它是东京不断扩大的天际线中备受喜爱的一部分。观景台的翻新整修也增加了它的吸引力,每年仍有数百万游客前来欣赏它的壮丽景色。

封面照片来源: ESB Professional / Shutterstock.com

本文提供信息均以公开时为准。


Weibo

搜寻餐厅

Tokyo Tower - Everything You Need To Know About Tokyo's Most Famous Landmark

The world-famous Tokyo Tower is instantly recognizable amongst Tokyo's sprawling skyline. Located in the center of the city, the bright orange replica of the Eiffel Tower can make a pretty strong claim to be Tokyo's most famous landmark. Though the Tokyo Tower's primary function is a communications tower, it is perhaps more well known as an observation deck, offering spectacular views across the city and far beyond. In this article, we'll tell you everything you need to know about Tokyo Tower, including its history, the reasons for its unmistakable design, and everything to see and do!

Tokyo

Things to Do

The History of Tokyo Tower

Though officially called "Nippon Denpatō" ("Japan Radio Tower"), Tokyo's iconic landmark is much more commonly known as "Tokyo Tower." Tokyo Tower was built in 1958 to cater to the growing demand for transmission towers from television stations in Tokyo during Japan's post-war boom. Rather than build multiple television towers all over the city, it was decided to build one tower at such a height that TV signals could be transmitted across a city as large as Tokyo from a single location.

Realizing that such a tower would become a significant part of the skyline, the designers of the Tokyo Tower looked for inspiration from other notable landmarks around the world. Eventually, the Eiffel Tower was chosen as the model, and Tokyo Tower would replicate the lattice steel design of Paris' most famous landmark.

Design Features of Tokyo Tower

Located in Shibakoen in the central ward of Minato at 333 meters tall, Tokyo Tower was the tallest freestanding tower in the world when it was built. Ironically, the previous tallest was the Eiffel Tower. Since its completion, a host of TV and radio stations have used antennas to broadcast from the Tokyo Tower, and it continues to be used for both analog and some digital services today. 

Besides broadcasting, Tokyo Tower has also been an observation tower ever since it opened. Tokyo Tower features two observation decks: the Main Deck at a height of 150 meters, and the Top Deck at 250 meters. The Top Deck is still the third-highest observation deck in Tokyo, behind the two observatories at Tokyo Skytree. It's estimated that over 150 million people have visited the Tokyo Tower since it first opened over 60 years ago. Despite competition from a host of other observation decks throughout the city, Tokyo Tower still receives around three million tourists every year.

Why is Tokyo Tower Orange?

Perhaps Tokyo Tower's most notable design feature is its color. In order to comply with air safety laws, Tokyo Tower is painted a fetching shade of bright orange, officially known as "International Orange." Every five years, the tower is given a fresh coat of paint, which takes a whole year to complete.

At night, Tokyo Tower is beautifully illuminated by a series of floodlights that were specially designed to celebrate its 30th anniversary. Glowing bright against the night sky, the view of the Tokyo Tower after dark is perhaps the most famous sight amongst the city's clustered skyline. The Tokyo Tower's lights turn off at midnight each night, and it's claimed that if you see the tower's lights turn off at night with a loved one you're guaranteed to have a long and happy relationship together.

In the hot summer months from July to September, the Tokyo Tower's lights are set to a cooling shade of white. In the cold of winter, the tower's lights are changed to a deep and warming orange. Every Monday, the tower is illuminated with a special light display called the Infinity Diamond Veil, the colors of which change every month of the year. There are also special illuminations to commemorate certain events, such as new year celebrations and Valentine's Day, and once a month, the top lights are dimmed completely when there's a full moon. 

Visiting Tokyo Tower

Where is Tokyo Tower?

Tokyo Tower is located in Shibakoen in the center of Tokyo. It was deliberately built in central Tokyo so that the tower's TV and radio antennas could reach as far as possible. The Tokyo Tower is around three kilometers south of the Imperial Palace and Tokyo Station, and just a few stops from the art museums and notorious nightlife of Roppongi.

How to Get to Tokyo Tower

There are several stations close to the Tokyo Tower. The nearest subway stations are Akabanebashi station and Onarimon station. The nearest JR station is Hamamatsucho Station, which is around a 15 minute walk away.

How Much Does it Cost to Visit Tokyo Tower?

Tickets for Tokyo Tower's Main Deck cost 1,200 yen for adults and between 500 to 1,000 yen for children depending on their age. Tickets for the Top Deck Tour cost 3,000 yen for adults and between 2,800 and 1,400 yen for children, again, depending on their age. Note that you can save 200 yen per person for the Top Deck Tour by booking tickets directly at the Tokyo Tower's website in advance. Tickets for the Top Deck Tour include admission to the Main Deck.

What To See And Do At The Tokyo Tower

Tokyo Tower's main attractions are the two observation decks that offer glorious views across Tokyo and way beyond. From both decks are sweeping 360-degree panoramic views of one of the world's most spectacular cityscapes. 

The Main Deck

Tokyo Tower's lower observation deck is called the Main Deck, which is spread across two floors. At a height of 150 meters from ground level, the view from the Main Deck is still level with many of the rooftops of nearby skyscrapers and office blocks. However, there are still fantastic views way across the city and far beyond, even as far as Mount Fuji to the west when the weather is clear. The recent refurbishment of the Main Deck saw the installation of larger window panels, allowing for a much clearer view of the whole city. 

A prominent feature of the lower floor of the Main Deck is the Skywalk Windowsーlarge, clear glass panels built into the floor that looks directly down upon the street 140 meters below. Also located on the Main Deck is the Great Shinto Shrine of Tokyo Tower, the highest altitude shrine in Tokyo, where people come to offer prayers to find love, and students pray for success in exams. The Main Deck also has a small cafe where you can stop and pick up a bite to eat whilst enjoying the incredible views.

The Top Deck

The Tokyo Tower's higher deck, called the Top Deck, is a much smaller circular viewing space. Access to the Top Deck observatory is only available on the Top Deck Tour which includes the cost of admission to the Main Deck. A small elevator on the Main Deck takes you halfway to the Top Deck, where you're offered a free drink and the chance to have a souvenir photo snapped by the tower's photographer. You can buy prints on your way out at the end of your visit. From here, you transfer to another lift to the Top Deck. 

Though the Top Deck is a much smaller observation deck, it does offer an incredible bird's eye view of Tokyo. With a vantage point of an extra 100 meters, there is a much clearer view over the nearer areas of Tokyo than from the Main Deck. The Top Deck Tour also includes a free audio guide that explains the history of each corner of Tokyo as you walk around the observation deck. As part of the tower's recent refurbishment, the Top Deck's interior has been fitted with dazzling geometric mirrors which reflect the light during the daytime and the lights of the city skyline at night.

What Else Can You Do at Tokyo Tower?

You Can Climb Tokyo Tower

If you're feeling adventurous (and fit), then there's an alternative way to reach the tower's Main Deck. Instead of taking the elevator, you can choose to climb the Tokyo Tower's external staircase that starts on the roof of FootTown, the food and shopping complex that sits underneath the tower, and leads all the way to the Main Deck. It's 600 steps in total and it can get pretty breezy along the way, but if you're looking for a very memorable experience, as well as some unique views of the city, climbing the Tokyo Tower might be for you. Be aware that despite the extra effort involved it still costs the same to take the stairs as it does to take the lift to the Main Deck. 

FootTown

At the base of Tokyo Tower is FootTown, a five-story building that features a host of shops selling Tokyo Tower souvenirs and Japanese confectioneries. There is also a host of restaurants, including Japanese fast food staples Mos Burger and Pizza-la, as well as more traditional ramen and "donburi" (rice bowl dish) restaurants. Also inside FootTown is the Tower Gallery, which has displays and photos that document the history of the Tokyo Tower. The base of the Tokyo Tower outside FootTown is also regularly decorated throughout the year to celebrate annual events and traditional Japanese holidays such as Children's Day.

What Else Is Near the Tokyo Tower?

Zojoji Temple

Directly in front of the Tokyo Tower is Zojoji Temple. Zojoji Temple dates back to the 16th century and sits right beneath the Tokyo Tower. The contrasting styles of architecture between Zojoji Temple and the Tokyo Tower beautifully illustrate how the old and new sit side by side in Tokyo and make for a great photo.

Shibakoen

Surrounding Tokyo Tower and Zojoji Temple is Shibakoen, or Shiba Park, one of the oldest parks in the city and a beautiful green space. Largely dominated by the grounds of Zojoji Temple, as well as two high-end hotels, Shiba Koen has excellent views of Tokyo Tower throughout the park. Featuring a waterfall and an artificial gorge, Shiba Park is particularly resplendent during the cherry blossom season in spring. During the autumn, the trees in the Autumn Maple Leaves Valley, right beneath the Tokyo Tower, turn stunning shades of red and gold.

Roppongi

Not far from the Tokyo Tower is the vibrant district of Roppongi. One of Tokyo's major entertainment hubs, Roppongi is home to a number of high-end malls and gleaming modern skyscrapers. Roppongi is also famous for its raucous nightlife scene, packed with a multitude of restaurants, bars, and nightclubs. Roppongi is also a great place for art lovers, with numerous contemporary art galleries to be found here, including the Mori Art Museum located inside the Roppongi Hills Mori Tower. Also inside the Mori Tower is another of Tokyo's famous observation decks, the Tokyo City View, located on the tower's 52nd floor. 

Tokyo Tower and Tokyo Skytree

The advent of digital television and radio broadcasting brought new challenges for Tokyo Tower. In order for digital broadcasts to be received, they need to be transmitted at much higher frequencies than analog broadcasts. Those higher frequencies need to be transmitted from a much greater height than Tokyo Tower can offer. As a result, a new broadcasting tower, the Tokyo Skytree, was built in 2012. 

At 634 meters tall, Tokyo Skytree is just over 300 meters taller than Tokyo Tower and now dominates the city's skyline. Tokyo Skytree has taken over from the Tokyo Tower as the main broadcasting tower in the city. Today the antennas on the Tokyo Tower mostly broadcast analog TV and FM radio stations. Just like Tokyo Tower, Skytree is also home to two observation decks, one at 350 meters high and another at 450 meters.

Facing competition from Tokyo Skytree, alongside a host of other observatories that have sprung up across the city over the years, Tokyo Tower has had to change with the times. A complete renovation was carried out on the Tokyo Tower's two observation decks to tie in with the tower's 60th anniversary in 2018, aimed at boosting visitor numbers. As well as installing larger, unobstructed window frames to give a clearer view of the city, more signage and information were installed pointing out the location of Tokyo's landmarks and famous areas.

Tokyo Tower or Tokyo SkyTree - Which Is Better?

As observation towers, the Tokyo Tower and the Skytree offer very different perspectives of Tokyo. The Tokyo Skytree certainly offers a much higher view of the city. Located on the eastern side of Tokyo and slightly removed from the center of town, the views from the Skytree are looking out at the city, as well as many miles way beyond the metropolis.

Being close to the center of Tokyo, Tokyo Tower's observation decks offer a much more intimate view of the city, as it is located in and amongst everything. Many more of the city's landmarks are easier to see from the Tokyo Tower, especially from the higher Top Deck.

It's also worth taking into account that the Tokyo Skytree is a much more modern commercial complex than the Tokyo Tower. Whilst the Tokyo Tower has a few shops and restaurants at FootTown, at the base of the Tokyo Skytree is Tokyo Solamachi, a huge mall filled with over 300 stores and restaurants. If you're looking for an overall day out to go along with a breathtaking view of Tokyo, you might prefer a trip to the Tokyo Skytree. Bear in mind though that, due to its popularity, waiting times for the Skytree can be incredibly long and tickets are usually issued for specific time slots. When it is at its busiest you can easily face a wait of several hours for an available time slot to the Skytree's observation decks.

Tokyo Tower and Tokyo Skytree - Comparing Costs

Affordability may be a key factor in helping you to decide which of the two towers you'd prefer to visit. In terms of pricing, Tokyo Tower and Tokyo Skytree aren't too far apart when comparing combination tickets. The cost of an adult ticket for the Top Deck Tour at the Tokyo Tower is 3,000 yen, and this includes entry to the tower's main deck. At Tokyo Skytree, an adult combination ticket for both observation decks costs 3,100 yen on weekdays and 3,400 yen on weekends.

However, the cost comparison for entry only to the two tower's main observation decks shows some disparity in pricing. Tickets for the Tokyo Tower's Main Deck observatory are only 1,200 yen, but an adult's ticket for the equivalent Tembo Deck at Tokyo Skytree is almost double at 2,100 yen on weekdays and increases to 2,300 yen on weekends. It's worth remembering though that even though the Tembo Deck is the lower of the Skytree's two observation decks, the view is still 200 meters higher than the Tokyo Tower's Main Deck. Alternatively, you could choose to skip Tokyo Skytree's lower main deck altogether and instead buy a ticket for the Tembo Galleria, the tower's higher observation deck. At 450 meters high, a single adult ticket to the highest observation deck in Tokyo is a relatively cheap 1,000 yen on weekdays and 1,100 yen on weekends.

Tokyo Tower - A Much Loved Tokyo Icon

As one of the world's most famous landmarks, the Tokyo Tower remains a hugely popular tourist attraction, even 60 years after it was built. Even though it's no longer Tokyo's main broadcasting tower, the Tokyo Tower's iconic orange design and location in the heart of the city means that it is still a much-loved piece of Tokyo's ever-expanding skyline. The recent refurbishments of the tower's observation deck have only added to the Tokyo Tower's appeal, with millions of visitors coming to take in the tower's breathtaking views every year. 

Title image credit: ESB Professional / Shutterstock.com

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.


Restaurant Search