日本歷史與文化的中樞 ── 關西簡介

關西地區自古以來就是日本京城所在的繁華之地,舉凡富含傳統文化氣息的京都與奈良,自古商業鼎盛且為日本產業及經濟中樞的大阪、港都神戶等,各自具有不同的特色,是深受遊客喜愛的觀光地區。本文將為各位介紹關西地區的地理、歷史、觀光景點、四季氣候,以及從東京與福岡出發的交通方式等基本知識。

關西

玩樂

關西的地理位置

關西地區位於本州中央略為偏西之處,由大阪、京都二府,以及滋賀、奈良、和歌山、兵庫四縣組成。關西地區的總面積約為27,350㎢,居住人口超過2,000萬人,是日本僅次於首都圈的第二大經濟圈。
關西地區北瀕日本海,西臨瀨戶內海,南面太平洋。北部的山脈緊臨海岸,平原較少為其特色。中央部分則是低地,日本最大湖泊琵琶湖,以及以淀川為中心的大阪平原皆位於此處。平原南北兩側有低矮的山地通過,京都盆地與奈良盆地就座落於其間。南部的紀伊半島向太平洋延展,大部分由紀伊山地所盤踞,陡峭的山脈峰峰相連。

關西地區各地的氣候大不相同,大致可分為三大區塊。面向日本海的北部氣候涼爽安定,冬季積雪較多為其特色。中部的氣候也相當穩定,但盆地地區溫差較大。至於紀伊山地南部,則是日本知名的多雨地區。沿岸地區受到黑潮(日本海流)影響,冬季的氣候亦相當溫暖。

關西各府縣簡介

大阪府

大阪府位於關西地區正中央,形狀南北狹長,看似一彎新月。其西側為連接瀨戶內海的大阪灣,其它部分則是被山地圍住,自然景觀十分豐富。這一帶終年溫暖,降雨較少,晴朗的天數較多。

大阪府的面積約為1,905㎢,是日本第二小的行政區,不過人口約883萬人,排名全國第三,是西日本地區的經濟重鎮。這裡自古以來就是海運要衝,海內外的交流十分鼎盛,是繁華的經濟及文化中樞,因此留下古墳、寺社佛閣等諸多文化遺產。

例如活躍於16世紀的武將豐臣秀吉,為了一統天下而興建的大阪城,以及歷史長達1,800年之久的神社─住吉大社等,都是此處主要的觀光景點。此外,大阪的飲食文化也十分多元,有「Kuidaore」(吃到散盡家財)之稱,提供各式各樣的當地美食。其中以章魚燒、什錦燒等美食為代表的「麵食(以麵粉等食材製作的食物)」,在日本各地遠近馳名。

京都府

京都府位於本州中央附近,形狀南北狹長,總面積約為4,612㎢,在日本的行政區中排名第31。北部面向日本海的丹後、中丹地區,其海岸線為變化多端的溺灣海岸,風景勝地眾多,例如天橋立、丹後松島等。京都府約有80%是山地及丘陵,但並無標高超過1,000m的高山,南部則是京都盆地。

自西元794年日本在京都建都後,約莫1,100年以來,京都一直是日本的政治與文化的中樞,諸多寺社佛閣等歷史建築皆座落於此。包括金閣寺、清水寺在內的17處文化資產,由於深具歷史及文化價值,因此以「古京都遺址」之名列入世界文化遺產。

嵐山與嵯峨野是著名的櫻花與楓葉勝地,每到賞櫻與賞楓季節總是人山人海。另外像是葵祭、祇園祭等歷史悠久又絢麗的傳統節慶,也吸引許多觀光客參觀。京都的看點很多,諸如風情萬種的街景、四季分明的自然美景等,總是吸引眾多海內外觀光客,是日本知名的觀光勝地之一。

兵庫縣

兵庫縣位於本州中西部,是關西地區的最西邊,北鄰日本海,南臨瀨戶內海。瀨戶內海上的淡路島、家島諸島等島嶼,在行政上也屬於兵庫縣的一部分。兵庫縣的總面積為8,401㎢,是日本第12大行政區。兵庫縣涵蓋大城市、農村、山村及離島,休閒活動種類多元,無論是海水浴、滑雪、溫泉等,都能在此享受。

這一帶有許多觀光勝地,例如港都神戶,自從1868年開港以來,一直是日本最具代表性的國際貿易基地;另外像是已登錄為世界遺產的姬路城、日本三大古湯之一的有馬溫泉等,都吸引眾多的海內外遊客。不僅如此,這裡也是世界知名的神戶牛產地,可以找到許多提供高級牛排等美食的餐廳。兵庫也是著名的日本酒產地,無論產量或銷售量皆排名日本第一。其中盛產酒類的灘,是日本最知名的釀酒地之一,許多全國著名的酒窖都位居此處。

滋賀縣

滋賀縣位於關西地區的東北方,日本最大湖泊「琵琶湖」就位在其中央,四周則是群山環繞。滋賀縣的總面積為4,017㎢,是日本第38大行政區。

琵琶湖周邊自然景觀豐富,湖邊那美麗又多變的風景,以琵琶湖八景與近江八景最為知名。滋賀縣與京都接壤,自古就是連接京城與其它地區的交通要衝,因此留下許多歷史悠久的佛寺神社、街道的宿場町及歷史建築等。

諸如橫跨京都與滋賀的比叡山延曆寺、日本國寶彥根城、湖中朱紅鳥居美不勝收的白鬚神社等,都是世界遺產「古京都遺址」的一部分。此外,據說是忍者發源地的甲賀市甲賀之里忍術村,則是一座可以體驗忍者世界的主題樂園,是一處深受觀光客喜愛的景點。

在滋賀縣,除了可以享用鄉土料理鮒壽司、鴨肉鍋、日本三大和牛之一的近江牛等美食外,也可以在琵琶湖從事SUP、划艇、風浪板等休閒活動喔。

奈良縣

奈良縣位於紀伊半島正中央,是一處群山環繞的內陸縣,形狀南北狹長,總面積為3,691㎢ ,是日本第40大行政區。吉野川東西橫貫奈良縣中央,其北側地勢較低,南側則是峰峰相連的山岳地帶,因此人口集中於西北部的奈良盆地。

奈良是日本古代的歷史與文化中樞,保留許多古都才能見到的歷史悠久的佛寺神社,是深受遊客喜愛的觀光地區。奈良縣擁有「古奈良的歷史遺跡」、「法隆寺地區的佛教建築」、「紀伊山地的聖地及朝聖路」三處世界遺產,是學習日本歷史與文化上不可或缺的地區。

其中位於奈良市的奈良公園,是一處吸引眾多遊客的觀光景點,東大寺、興福寺、春日大社等佛寺神社,就座落於公園之中。除此之外,這一帶也有許多擁有自然美景的景點,例如櫻花勝地吉野、據說是日本最古老道路的山之邊道等。

和歌山縣

和歌山縣位於紀伊半島的西南部,大部分是以紀伊山脈為主且標高1,000m左右的山岳地帶,全縣80%以上屬於森林地帶。其總面積為4,725㎢ ,是日本第30大行政區。面向太平洋的海岸線是變化多端的溺灣海岸,全長約651km。

這一帶有許多大有看頭的觀光景點,例如已登錄為世界遺產的熊野古道,1,200年前由僧侶空海所開山的日本佛教聖地─高野山,日本三大古湯之一的白濱溫泉,仍保有眾多未遭人為破壞的自然景觀的神秘溪谷─瀞峽等。

日本歷史與文化的中樞─關西的歷史

遠從西元4世紀中葉,以大和(現在的奈良縣)為中心的豪族(勢力遍及關西地區的世家大族)同盟建立古代政權後,直到1869年遷都至東京之間這段歲月,關西地區一直是日本政治、經濟與文化的中樞。因此以曾建都的奈良與京都為首的關西地區,由於距離京都較近且淵源頗深,而保留了日本歷史上十分重要的文化資產、歷史遺跡,以及多元的傳統文化。目前日本登錄為UNESCO世界文化遺產的25件文化遺產中,就有6件位於關西地區,由此可見其重要性。

也就是說,只要造訪關西地區,就能了解日本的大自然、歷史以及傳統文化,這種說法可一點也不誇張。

注意夏季的高溫與冬季的低溫!關西的氣候

關西地區可大致分為三大區域,氣候也會隨著區域與季節而有所不同。以下就為各位介紹各季氣候的特色。

春季(3月~5月)

春季的氣溫變動較大,天氣經常會每隔幾天就有所變化。3月上旬的早晚較冷,寒冷的天數較多,建議可以準備大衣、披肩等衣物。

過了3月中旬,氣溫就會逐漸上升,可以開始感受到春天的氣息。到了下旬,關西各地的櫻花會開始綻放,往年會在4月上旬盛開。櫻花季期間經常會下雨,建議出外觀光時最好隨身攜帶雨具。

進入4月之後,白天的氣溫會升高到20℃左右,氣候舒適宜人。5月則是濕度適中且天氣爽朗,可說是最適合觀光的季節。

夏季(6月~8月)

6月上旬到7月中旬是梅雨季,陰雨日較多,有時甚至會有些許寒意。這段期間是太平洋沿岸每年降雨最多的時期。

一待梅雨季結束,放晴的天數就會增加,氣溫也會跟著上升。白天最高氣溫超過30℃的盛夏日也會愈來愈多。此時的濕度較高,每天都相當悶熱,再加上日曬較強,記得要做好預防中暑及防曬的準備。雖然戶外炎熱,不過室內的冷氣可能會開得太強,建議準備披肩等衣物隨時調整。夏季常會發生局部突發性豪雨,或是有颱風登陸,出外觀光時最好隨身攜帶雨具。

秋季(9月~11月)

9月上旬到中旬之間,受暑氣未消的影響,天氣仍然較熱;不過到了下旬,天候就會開始變得有點冷。9月的颱風仍多,出門時最好準備雨具,並且隨時確認氣象預報。到了10月,天氣大多舒適宜人,白天氣溫約在20℃左右,晚上則是15℃左右,由於早晚溫差較大,最好準備披肩等衣物調整。

氣溫將隨著秋意漸濃而下降,山間的楓葉也會跟著轉紅。到了11月,溫差會變得很大,一到下旬天氣會急遽轉冷,記得準備毛衣、大衣等衣物。

冬季(12月~2月)

到了12月,天氣會十分寒冷,日本海沿岸下雨或下雪的天數會愈來愈多。白天的氣溫將下降到10℃左右,進入中下旬後,最高氣溫有時甚至會降到10℃以下。由於太平洋沿岸特別乾燥,建議最好準備護手霜、護唇膏等保濕用品。到了最寒冷的2月,氣溫將降到5℃左右,最低氣溫有時甚至會降到零度以下。受濕度較低的影響,體感溫度也會跟著下降,外出時請穿戴厚重的大衣、圍巾、手套、暖暖包等,徹底做好防寒準備。

下表為關西地區縣廳所在地的平均氣溫和平均降雨量,希望可以讓各位在安排旅程時作為參考。

如何前往關西

前往關西國際機場、伊丹機場的交通方式

如果要從海外前往關西,建議可以從西日本的航空大門「關西國際機場」入境。關西國際機場座落於大阪灣內泉州近海,是全球第一座100%人工島海上機場,亞洲、歐美各國主要城市皆有固定航班飛往此處,與全球各地之間的交通十分便利。

至於同樣位於大阪的伊丹機場,與日本各地之間有固定航班往來,對於想周遊日本的遊客而言相當方便。

從東京出發

如果要從東京前往關西,建議可以搭乘新幹線。搭乘新幹線「希望號」從東京車站出發,到新大阪車站約需2小時30分鐘,一般票價(指定座位)為14,720日幣。到京都車站約需2小時15分鐘,票價為14,170日幣;到新神戶約需2小時45分鐘,票價為15,380日幣(皆為希望號指定座位一般時段的一般票價)。

從福岡出發

如果要從福岡前往關西,搭乘新幹線也相當方便。搭乘新幹線「希望號」從博多車站出發,到京都車站約需2小時45分鐘,票價為16,360日幣。到新大阪車站約需2小時30分鐘,一般票價(指定座位)為15,600日幣。到新神戶車站約需2小時15分鐘,票價為15,270日幣(皆為希望號指定座位一般時段的一般票價)。

關西地區除了可以了解日本歷史與傳統文化的重要城市外,還有許多景色壯觀的景點、溫泉勝地等充滿魅力的觀光景點,有機會的話一定要來這一帶造訪各具特色的城市喔。

關西特輯

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

作者簡介

okada
okada

搜尋餐廳

Everything You Need to Know About Kansai, the Historical and Cultural Heartland of Japan

Home to Japan’s ancient capitals of Kyoto and Nara, the Kansai region has long been known as the country’s thriving, cultural center. And thanks to commercial hubs like Osaka or the port city of Kobe, Kansai is still synonymous with commerce and prosperity, continuing to attract many visitors to the region. In this article, we will discuss the various areas of Kansai as well as their features, histories, top tourist destinations, and seasonal weather. We’ll also drop a few useful tidbits of knowledge about Kansai and let you know how to reach it from Tokyo and Fukuoka!

Kansai

Things to Do

Help tsunagu write guidebook to restaurants in Japan! - CLICK TO LEARN MORE

Where Is Kansai?

The Kansai region is located slightly west of the central part of mainland Japan and consists of six prefectures: Osaka, Kyoto, Shiga, Nara, Wakayama, and Hyogo. It takes up an area of approximately 27,350 km², with a population of over 20 million people. It’s Japan’s second largest economic hub after the Greater Tokyo Area.

The northern area of Kansai overlooks the Sea of Japan while its western part faces the Seto Inland Sea, with the south neighboring the Pacific Ocean. The northern mountains brush right up against the coastline, leaving very little flat land. Conversely, the central areas consist mainly of lowlands, with the vast Osaka Plain being home to Lake Biwa, Japan’s largest lake, and the Yodo River. Running north to south across the plain, you’ll also find a small mountain range cradling the Kyoto and Nara Basins. In the south is the Kii Peninsula, which juts out into the Pacific Ocean. This part of Kansai is dominated by the sheer and difficult-to-access Kii Mountains.

While the weather can vary considerably depending on the area, Kansai can be broadly divided into three climate regions. The northern areas facing the Sea of Japan enjoy cool, mild weather for most of the year, with frequent snowfall in winter. Central Kansai's climate is similarly mild but, since the area is a basin, the temperature differences there can be quite severe. The southern Kii Mountains area is known for experiencing some of the largest amounts of rainfall in all of Japan. At the same time, though, the Kuroshio Current keeps the southern coastline warm even during winter.

Which Prefectures Make Up Kansai?

Osaka Prefecture

Osaka Prefecture sits roughly in the center of Kansai and is shaped like a large crescent moon running north to south. It is a land of bountiful nature that is surrounded by mountains on three sides, with the exception of the west which faces Osaka Bay (which continues out into the Seto Inland Sea). Locals enjoy mild and warm weather all year round with comparatively light rainfall and many sunny days.

With an area of approximately 1,905 km², Osaka is the 2nd smallest prefecture in Japan. However, it houses a whopping 8.83 million residents, making it the country’s 3rd most populated region, which also serves as the economic center of western Japan. Since ancient times, Osaka has been an important center for marine transportation, bringing together visitors from all over Japan and the world who’ve all helped to make it the financial and cultural powerhouse it is today. Thanks to this, the prefecture is full of many cultural treasures, such as shrines, temples, and “kofun” tombs.

Out of the many attractions in Osaka, the most iconic one is Osaka Castle, which was meant to serve as the seat of power for Toyotomi Hideyoshi, a military commander active during the 16th-century unification of Japan. Also worth noting is the prominent Sumiyoshi Grand Shrine which was established around 1,800 years ago. Osaka is additionally known as Japan’s foodie capital, with a dynamic food culture centered around flour-based treats like "takoyaki" fried octopus balls, "okonomiyaki" pancakes, and much more.

Kyoto Prefecture

Kyoto is a narrow and long prefecture running north to south through the center of the Japanese mainland. It has a total area of approximately 4,612 km², making it the 31st largest prefecture in Japan. The northern regions of Tango and Chutan, which face the Sea of Japan, are known for their deeply indented rias coastlines boasting a variety of beautiful landscapes and sights, including the breathtaking Amanohashidate sandbar and the Tango Matsushima islands. While around 80% of Kyoto is mountainous or hilly, the prefecture features no peak higher than 1,000 meters. Its southern region is taken up mostly by the vast Kyoto Basin.

After Kyoto City became Japan’s capital in 794, Kyoto Prefecture flourished as the center of Japanese politics and culture for over 1,100 years and is today full of temples, shrines, and other culturally important structures. Due to their exceptional historical value, 17 of the prefecture’s cultural assets have been registered as the “Historic Monuments of Ancient Kyoto” World Heritage Site, including the Kinkaku-ji and Kiyomizu-dera temples.

Areas like Arashiyama and Sagano are also celebrated for their natural splendor, drawing in flocks of sightseers during the cherry blossom and fall foliage seasons. Then there are dazzling traditional Kyoto festivals like the Aoi Matsuri and the Gion Matsuri, which have long, fascinating histories and are likewise popular with visitors.

Boasting atmospheric streetscapes, natural beauty, and a hefty helping of famous attractions, it’s no surprise that Kyoto is one of the most popular destinations in Japan for domestic and international tourists.

Hyogo Prefecture

Hyogo Prefecture sits west of the central part of mainland Japan and is the westernmost prefecture of Kansai. It overlooks the Sea of Japan to the north and the Seto Inland Sea to the south, the latter of which is home to such famous destinations as Awaji Island, the Ieshima Islands, and more. The total area of Hyogo is 8,401 km², making it the 12th largest prefecture in Japan.

The landscape of Hyogo is diverse, ranging from massive urban cities to rural mountain and farming villages and remote islands. Thanks to this, visitors to Hyogo can enjoy a variety of fun activities such as swimming, skiing, hot spring bathing, and more.

Since the opening of its port in 1868, Kobe City in Hyogo Prefecture has flourished as Japan’s center for international trade, making it a highly cosmopolitan and culturally diverse city. Not far from it, you’ll also find the World Heritage Site of Himeji Castle and Arima Onsen, one of Japan’s top three oldest hot springs. Kobe is also the origin of the world-famous Kobe Beef, which is served as premium steak and more at numerous restaurants spread all throughout Hyogo. The city is also the capital of sake, ranking #1 in terms of production and sales volumes. Several of Japan’s most famous sake breweries are concentrated around the Nada ward of Kobe, which is renowned by sake lovers throughout the country.

Shiga Prefecture

Shiga Prefecture is located in northeastern Kansai. Encircled by mountains, its center is dominated by Lake Biwa, the largest lake in Japan. Lake Biwa is surrounded by lush greenery and gorgeous, distinctive scenery nicknamed the “Eight Views of Biwa” or the “Eight Views of Omi.”

Shiga is the 38th largest prefecture in Japan with a total area of 4,017 km². Neighboring Kyoto, it flourished as a key part of a transportation route connecting the ancient capital with the rest of the country. Owing to this, numerous historical buildings like shrines, temples, and post towns can be found along the prefecture’s ancient highways.

Examples include Enryakuji Temple on Mount Hiei, which borders Kyoto and Shiga Prefectures and is part of the “Historic Monuments of Ancient Kyoto” World Heritage Site. You also have Hikone Castle, a National Treasure of Japan, and Shirahige Shrine, known for its stunning vermilion torii gate towering above the surface of Lake Biwa. Plus, who could resist a ninja experience at Koka Ninja Village in the city of Koka, said to be the birthplace of Japan’s legendary assassins?

There’s also plenty to eat in Shiga, including such local dishes as “funazushi” (fermented sushi) and “kamonabe” (duck hotpot), along with Omi beef, one of Japan’s top three varieties of wagyu beef. Those seeking more active vacation experiences can also try their hand at SUP, canoeing, windsurfing, and more at Lake Biwa.

Nara Prefecture

Nara is a land-locked prefecture stretching north to south through the center of the Kii Peninsula. Surrounded by mountains, its total area of 3,691 km² makes it the 40th largest prefecture in Japan. The centrally-located Yoshino River running from east to west divides the prefecture into two: northern, lowland Nara and the steep, mountainous southern Nara. Because of this, the population of Nara is largely concentrated in the northwest Nara Basin.

Nara is the keeper of Japan’s ancient history and culture, and as such is home to many temples and shrines of great importance, befitting one of the country’s former capitals. Many of them are today considered Japan’s premier tourist destinations, including three different World Heritage Sites: The Historic Monuments of Ancient Nara, The Buddhist Monuments in the Horyu-ji Area, and The Sacred Sites and Pilgrimage Routes in the Kii Mountain Range. Those seeking to learn more about Japanese history and culture should make a trip to Nara at least once in their lives.

One of the most popular sites in the city of Nara is Nara Park, where you can find several notable temples like Todai-ji and Kofuku-ji or the Kasuga-Taisha shrine. Nara’s best outdoor sightseeing spots include Yoshino, one of Japan’s most famous cherry blossom hotspots, and the Yamanobe-no-michi Trail, said to be the oldest road in Japan.

Wakayama Prefecture

Wakayama Prefecture sits in the southwest of the Kii Peninsula. Much of Wakayama is mountainous, with many of its Kii Mountain peaks reaching around 1,000 meters in height. That being said, most of its mountains are forested, with woodlands actually making up more than 80% of Wakayama. With an area of 4,725 km², it is the 30th largest prefecture in Japan. Its rias coastline on the Pacific Ocean is approximately 651 kilometers long.

Wakayama is full of enchanting travel destinations like the World Heritage Site of Kumano Kodo or Mt. Koya, a temple settlement and the heart of Japanese Buddhism founded over 1,200 years ago by the monk Kukai. There is also the Shirahama Onsen, another one of Japan’s top three oldest hot springs, and the Doro-kyo Gorge, a mystical valley filled with untouched wilderness.

The History of Kansai, Japan’s Cultural Heartland

The history of the Kansai region begins in the mid-4th century when powerful and wealthy “gozoku” clans joined forces and created an early form of government around the Yamato area (modern-day Nara Prefecture). Until 1869, which was when Tokyo became the new Japanese capital, Kansai was the political, economic, and cultural heartland of Japan, not to mention the home of two former capital cities: Kyoto and Nara. Owing to that, the entire Kansai region is rich in cultural properties, historical heritages, and traditional cultures that are key to understanding Japanese history. In fact, six of the 25 UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Japan are found within the Kansai region!

It’s no exaggeration to say that Kansai is the best place to learn about Japanese history, experience the country’s traditional culture, and enjoy the splendor of its nature.

Kansai Climate – Hot Summers and Freezing Winters

Kansai can be broadly divided into three climate regions, and your experience will differ vastly depending on not just where you visit, but also when. Here’s what you can expect weather-wise when traveling through Kansai during each season.

Spring (March – May)

Spring in Kansai is prone to harsh and sudden temperature fluctuations, with the weather often changing on a dime. Early March remains frigid in the morning and evening, with plenty of chilly weather in between, so warm clothing and additional protection against the cold is a must!

Starting around mid-March, the weather gradually becomes warmer and more spring-like. Cherry blossoms will begin blooming in all parts of Kansai from late March, peaking around early April. However, it often rains during this time, so be sure to pack some rainwear if you’re planning to go cherry blossom-viewing in Kansai.

From April, daytime temperatures start to hover around a pleasant 20°C, while in May, the warm weather coupled with moderate humidity creates perfect weather conditions for sightseeing.

Summer (June – August)

Between early June and mid-July, Japan goes through its rainy season, so expect many cloudy and wet days with the occasional chill. The Pacific Ocean side of Kansai receives the most rainfall during this time, but once it ends, blue skies and warm temperatures become frequent, often exceeding 30°C around midsummer. Humidity is also high, so between that and the sweltering heat, it’s important to take precautions against heat stroke and sunburn. At the same time, though, many venues will also crank up the air conditioner, so you might actually want to bring a light jacket with you to put on indoors. Also, summertime in Kansai is prone to localized heavy rainfall called “guerrilla rainstorms,” not to mention typhoons, so don’t forget your rainwear when out and about sightseeing.

Autumn (September – November)

The summer heat lingers between early and mid-September before gradually giving way to chillier days later in the month. September is also typhoon season in Kansai, so be sure to keep an eye on the weather reports before making any plans. October will see the temperature drop to a pleasant 20°C or so during the day and to around 15°C at night. However, some evenings will be even chillier, which will necessitate a light jacket and other ways to stay warm. As autumn continues, the temperatures will steadily drop and Kansai will enter its fall foliage season, which first starts around the region’s mountain areas. November is a time of harsh temperature fluctuations, making warm clothing like sweaters and coats essential.

Winter (December – February)

December brings with it formidable cold, particularly along the rainy and snowy Sea of Japan side of Kansai. Daytime temperatures will drop to around 10°C, with more and more days becoming even chillier as the month passes. The air on the Pacific Ocean side of Kansai is particularly dry, so we advise packing some hand cream and lip balm. The coldest month in Kansai is February, when the temperature hovers around 5°C, occasionally dropping even further to below freezing. As the humidity is low during this time, you will really feel the cold, so proper winter wear like a thick coat, scarf, gloves, and heat packs is of the utmost importance.

The following chart shows the average temperatures and rainfall for the capitals of all the Kansai prefectures. We hope it helps you plan your trip!

Getting to Kansai

Getting to Kansai International Airport and Osaka International (Itami) Airport

When traveling to Kansai from overseas, we recommend arriving at Kansai International Airport, which sits atop an entirely manmade, artificial island (the first of its kind in the world) in Osaka Bay, just off the coast of Senshu. Known as the “Gateway to West Japan,” it’s earned its nickname by offering regular, direct flights to and from major cities in Asia, Europe, and the US.

Domestic travelers can also make use of Osaka International (Itami) Airport and its regular flights connecting Kansai to the rest of Japan.

Getting to Kansai From Tokyo

The shinkansen is the easiest way to get from Tokyo to Kansai. The ride times and fares for the Nozomi bullet train (reserved seating) departing from Tokyo Station are as follows:
- To Shin-Osaka Station: 2 hours 30 minutes, 14,720 yen
- To Kyoto Station: 2 hours 15 minutes, 14,170 yen
- To Shin-Kobe Station: 2 hours 45 minutes, 15,380 yen

Getting to Kansai From Fukuoka

You can also travel to Kansai via the shinkansen from Fukuoka. The ride times and fares for the Nozomi bullet train (reserved seating) departing from Hakata Station are as follows:
- To Shin-Osaka Station: 2 hours 30 minutes, 15,600 yen
- To Kyoto Station: 2 hours 45 minutes, 16,360 yen
- To Shin-Kobe Station: 2 hours 15 minutes, 15,270 yen

 

The Kansai region has everything – history, traditional culture, World Heritage Sites, scenic spots, hot springs, and more. From bustling metropolises to mysterious, undisturbed wilderness, Kansai encapsulates everything that makes Japan special.

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Kansai Feature

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

About the author

okada
okada

Restaurant Search