領略日本文學、歷史建築與民藝之美!東京駒場公園及周邊的一日文藝冒險

藝文與設計之都「東京」有各式多樣的藝文設施,儘管旅日多年,自認已跑遍美術館畫廊的台灣人筆者,仍有許多尚未解鎖的領域。在本次「若有一天時間我會去這!」企劃,我選擇前往東京目黑區的駒場一帶。如果你也喜歡歷史建築、日本文學、民藝設計,那麼不妨同我在駒場公園及周邊展開文藝冒險。展覽之間,還能於都會森林來場愜意散步,以及品嚐以文學為主題的咖啡餐點。

東京

玩樂

Klook.com

那些存在地圖裡的未去景點

相信許多人都有一份不斷更新的待訪咖啡店清單,或者如我一般,習慣在手機地圖標示下次欲造訪的景點。旅居東京多年的我,Google地圖早已被密密麻麻的標籤給淹沒,但在面臨恰好的休假,在計畫來場都內小旅行時,有些景點卻是一再地延宕,始終無緣。

在本次「若有一天時間我會去這!」企劃,我再度點開地圖思索著去哪,一間位在公園裡的「BUNDAN COFFEE & BEER」,早忘了是在哪本雜誌或節目上看見後標註。而同樣位於園內的還有「日本近代文學館」、「舊前田侯爵家本邸」及緊鄰公園的「日本民藝館」。儘管對我而言皆是未知又陌生的領域,但心想也許能認識尚未知曉的東京及日本文化的多樣面貌,於是就約了朋友一同展開藝文冒險!

關於東京目黑區的「駒場」一帶

「駒場」,由名字可推敲是與馬相關之地。據說是江戶時代將軍家在「駒場野」設了鷹獵場,前往狩獵時則會將馬兒停至此,因而得名。而現代東京想當然耳已無停馬場,原以為會參雜鄰近兩區域——時髦質感「*奧澀」及個性潮流聖地「下北澤」的氣息,但當日於井之頭線的「駒場東大前」下車時,出了小小車站即是東京大學駒場校區的入口,一旁僅有一間麥當勞與幾間小店,周圍街道寧靜沉穩,只有電車呼嘯與蟬響,似乎和所知的大學城總是熱鬧雜沓的印象截然不同。

*奧澀:奧澀谷,亦稱「裏澀谷」。指澀谷東急本店至代代木八幡站一帶,近年因簡練成熟風的咖啡店、雜貨店而深受歡迎。

「駒場公園」位於住宅區的鬱鬱蔥蔥

尋著地圖與標示,抵達位於住宅區中的駒場公園。由井之頭線前往的話,可由一條宛如秘密通道的小徑來到南門;或者可沿著駒場通り走,從竹籬與冠木門的東門進入公園。若是從代代木上原站散步過來的話,正門則最方便。被指定爲國家重要文化財的正門及守衛所,散發著穩重厚實之感。

踏入公園,茂密樹林帶來涼意,也讓人忘卻仍位處東京都心。發現鍬形蟲而欣喜的親子;在樹下木椅愜意閱讀的男子:似乎是為抄近路而穿越公園、著夏季制服的在地中學生們,日本的日常夏季風景就在此上演。

一窺昭和初期的貴族生活「舊前田家本邸」

來到公園中心,像是穿越了任意門來到其他國度,一棟洋風建築映入眼簾。入口處寫著「前田家」,勢必好奇究竟是什麼樣人物的居處。原來是舊加賀藩(現石川縣)藩主前田家第16代家主侯爵「前田利為」的宅邸。

遊歷歐洲經驗豐富的利為侯,在1927年任職駐英大使館附武官時,就已規劃未來歸國後於駒場的新宅模樣。「洋館」除了作為一家生活起居的空間外,還要有供應接待國外貴賓的「迎賓館」功能;同時也建造了能向賓客介紹日本文化「和館」。

採英格蘭鄉村別墅風的洋館,中央面可見入口突出的迎賓車廊,右側三角錐的尖塔,宛若城堡。南側則有連續三個拱形造型的柱廊,二樓有陽台空間。而不論是車廊、入口、走廊,扁平的拱形造型呈現出都鐸様式的建築特色。走近一看,貼滿外牆的褐色刮面磁磚在舊帝國酒店、許多同時期的台灣建築也能見到。透過裝飾細節與其他建築連結,並了解到當時受歡迎的樣式為何,正是欣賞建築的一大趣味。

實際入內參觀,設計各異其趣的吊燈、絢麗寬敞的大小客室、擁有白大理石壁爐的大食堂,隨處皆能感受氣派。此外亦有些機關及設計令人驚奇。如沙龍的牆角設有可呼叫執事等下人的按鈕。出了食堂的一門之隔,即是樸素簡約的風格,可以知道對外向客人呈現豪華貴氣,內部下人則是簡單素雅的生活空間。

而位於中央的大樓梯,圓柱上的裝飾雕刻一直綿延到二樓,模樣是當時在歐洲流行的花卉。最令人印象深刻的是樓梯下的空間運用,現代多會作為倉庫或洗手間使用,這裡有同建築外觀相同的扁平拱形,內部則設置壁爐及擺放沙發的休憩空間(Inglenook)。

來到二樓依序參觀了書齋、寢室及各子女們的房間。能了解最初設計的房間,因家庭成員的增加而有所改變。以及日本人對於文化資產的復原、保存、再現是多麽地不餘遺力。藉由黑白照片的擺設以及所殘留的壁紙或絨毯的殘角,盡可能地呈現當時樣貌。就連書齋那面書櫃裡的書,也是由前田家子孫提供了當年擺放的書本。

為了能讓更多人體會古建築魅力,在原有的空間規劃上不得不做些調整,資料及運用數位媒體的展示亦不可或缺。原為三男居室現為圖書室之處,現在擺放著與前田有淵源的石川金澤的旅遊資訊,而若無解說的話,可能不知右邊突出的一塊,其實是為建設電梯而改造的。在設置無障礙空間動線時,也盡可能地能讓整體風格一致,不至於突兀。

另外,展示室有許多今昔對比的照片,可以看見前田一家過去曾在廣場上騎馬或滑雪,還有向英國高級傢俱廠下訂的寢室家具設計圖、為祈求建築物能平安順利完工的上梁記牌(棟札)。昔日為會議室的地方,現在則播放著該建築的介紹影片。

在參觀過程中,細心介紹為我們介紹的學藝員也提及下一個修復計畫,不禁令人讚嘆日本人對古蹟的重視與考究。以及如此珍貴的建築資產,竟不需任何入館費,還可自由拍照並有提供免費志工嚮導。一旁的和館也開放讓一般民眾租借舉行茶道、花道、俳句等活動,由此可見高度的文化素養及珍惜建築之心。而我也開始對其他今未造訪過的東京古蹟建築產生了濃厚興趣。

複習日本文豪名作「日本近代文學館」

在日本史的劃分中,「近代」指的是明治維新(1868年)至第二次世界大戰結束(1945年)的時期。或許該世代已離我們遙遠,但文學的雋永能穿越古今、橫亙中西。像是屬此時代的日本知名文豪:芥川龍之介、夏目漱石、川端康成、太宰治等人,他們的許多作品經常被翻譯成他種語言出版。 我也憶起高中國文課收錄了芥川龍之介的「竹藪中」,由此可見日本近代文學在世界文學佔有一席之地。

對喜愛日本文學或懂日語者而言,在舊前田家本邸和館一旁,這棟不帶華麗裝飾、外觀素雅簡潔的「日本近代文學館」,會是一個能深入體悟日本近代文學精髓的地方。

一樓入口處的櫃檯旁,販售著許多經典著作的明信片,有的圖案是當年首版的封面,有的是作家的手稿或相關照片。看到《山之音》、《伊豆的舞孃》、《斜陽》這些讀過的小說覺得特別親切,因此買了幾張打算寄給也喜歡日本文學的友人。而櫃檯右側是需付費的閱覽室,可在取得館藏書籍後,在此細細閱讀。欲參觀二樓的特別展・企劃展也須在此購票。

本次展覽主題為「教科書のなかの文学/教室のそとの文学Ⅳ──夏目漱石「こころ」とその時代」。熟知日本旅遊的人,提到漱石多會想到以愛媛松山為舞台的「少爺」,而其實在日本,收錄在教科書中的「心」可謂漱石最知名的作品。我也因為曾閱讀過此部作品,因此特別想一探究竟。再加上平時多參觀美術與攝影作品的展覽,對於文學如何展示與呈現十分好奇。

走進展覽室,細細端倪親筆手稿,可知作家在寫作時的呼吸情緒,又是在哪部分猶疑思索、進行增減。還有小說人物遊走的路線,除了陳列當年的風景照外,還用凹凸地圖呈現,讓讀者了解到作者描述的「歪曲的圓」,不僅是人物心理狀態,還與實際地形的高低起伏及路線有關。另外,像是小說中裡提及的重要歷史事件「乃木希典殉死」,在此也羅列同時代其他文學者的反應。

除了展示之外,文學館也經常舉辦豐富多元的講座、演講等,如「声のライブラリー」這個由文學者朗讀自己著作的活動,不同於靜靜閱讀,可感受日語的音律節奏。

若對日本文學有興趣者,非常推薦來一趟日本近代文學館,在此不僅能以多種觀點重新認識曾經讀過的著作,更重要的是能明白文學館存在的必要性。

書香與咖啡香的結合「BUNDAN COFFEE & BEER」

參觀完文學展覽後,來到位於日本近代文學館一樓一隅的「BUNDAN COFFEE & BEER」小憩。店内擺設的木製老傢俱、暖色光線,帶點老喫茶店之味。而最引人目光的,是那一整面收藏了約2萬冊書籍的書牆,任何一本都能恣意閱覽,佐早餐或午茶度過一段優雅的閱讀時光。

不過要說最大魅力,還是非那充滿文藝及趣味的菜單莫屬。寫滿文字的菜單,仔細一看發現有再現小說裡的餐點;以作家或作品為名的咖啡飲品。當中也詳盡介紹命名緣由,有的也附上一段原文。

像是「坂口安吾的燒鮭三明治」 ,就是以出生新潟、無賴派的代表作家坂口安吾為靈感而製。坂口在44歳時所寫下的「わが工夫せるオジヤ」中,就有詳細描寫自己是如何製作改良版的故鄉料理「燒鮭三明治」。BUNDAN參照了作法並加以調整,吐司的餡料除了醬油醃漬的鮭魚,還加上洋蔥與甜椒,作為活力早餐最適合不過。

除了餐點之外,還有深受歡迎的甜點菓子。如以日本小說家梶井基次郎的代表作「檸檬」為主題的聖代,清爽甘甜。以英國文豪威廉・莎士比亞命名的司康,沾上特製的鹽味焦糖,令人欲罷不能。相信不諳日語,還是能藉由餐點連結、沈浸於文學世界。

發掘生活工藝之美「日本民藝館」 

告別駒場公園後,來到今日最後一站「日本民藝館」。

喜愛日本餐具或熟知商品設計的人必知道柳宗理,其著手的居家用品,不只具有流線美的現代感,「手中成形」的概念及好用度也是其人氣高居不下的理由。而大師的創作理念,可追溯到其父親ーー「民藝運動之父」柳宗悅的耳濡目染。

「民藝」一詞,即民眾的工藝。思想家柳宗悅在1926年出版「日本民藝美術館設立趣意書」展開民藝運動,旨在發掘日常生活中所使用的器具之美。為使「民藝之美」的概念更加普及,在獲多方企業及贊同者的支援,得以於1936年開設本座民藝館。而柳宗悅為初代館長,兒子宗理也曾擔任第三代館長。

民藝館設立後,柳宗悅也積極前往日本各地進行調査與蒐集,同時也推廣朝鮮、愛努與台灣原住民的工藝文化。他致力向世人介紹陶瓷器、繪畫、染織、漆器、木工等出自於無名者之手的工藝品,它們在當時的美術史上或說西洋的現代藝術觀點中,並未能獲得正當的評價。

現在的日本民藝館,收藏了約17,000件以上日本及多國的新古工藝品,除了民藝品蒐集與保管、相關調查研究也會企劃展覽內容。當然,還有持續傳承柳宗悅的創設宗旨ーー民藝思想的普及。

一入館內,就可看見高挑的天井及可通往左右兩側的木樓梯,整體空間十分雅緻。這裡與一般的美術館不同,沒有指定的參觀路線,可自行參照會場圖決定觀賞順序。各個工藝品旁除了名稱、技法、製作年代以外沒有其餘說明文字,就是要讓觀者直接用眼與心去體會感受,並非知識獲取。

二樓展示特別展的主要展區「大展示室」,是為紀念2021年創設80周年所整修的。入口處以駒場公園的綠為借景,展示內地板為則讓天井的自然光灑落,是十分舒適的展場空間。而館內一樓的紀念品店,販售一般書店沒有的日本民藝館的出版物,還有各式柳宗悅及民藝相關書籍,以及玲瑯滿目、趣味的民藝品。

本次所刊載的照片是經館方許可,且刻意避開參觀民眾所拍,但其實照片以外,拜訪當日的參觀民眾絡繹不絕,紀念品店也排著結帳的隊伍,實在難以想像這是平日午後。我深切地感受到日本人對工藝的重視及民藝之美已滲透日本人的日常生活,並期待下回能一同參訪對街的西館(舊柳宗悅邸)。

值得一再造訪的文藝體驗

最初隨意記下的咖啡店,沒想到實際啟程,一探周遭的各個設施,竟能延伸如此豐富充實的文藝之旅。想必未來,我也會時常確認文學館及民藝館最新展覽內容,還有這次無法一睹的舊前田家本邸的壁泉與通往和館的走廊,據說是僅在特別公開日開放的路線呢。

經過這次的文藝體驗,我也像獲得新領域的鑰匙般,今後也想更加探索都內未曾造訪的古蹟建築;讀更多日本文學作品;也開始想為餐桌添購不一樣的器皿。同時也相信東京還有許多尚未探索過且值得一訪的文藝景點。

關東特輯

本文資訊均以公開時為準。


作者簡介

Dawn
Dawn Cheng
Klook.com

搜尋餐廳

Spend a Day Enjoying Japanese Literature, Historical Architecture, and Folk Crafts Around Komaba Park in Tokyo!

Tokyo, Japan’s capital of literature and design, is home to a wealth of cultural and artistic facilities. In this installment of “Where I Go On My Day Off! (Tokyo Edition),” we decided to visit the Komaba Park area of Meguro, Tokyo. If you adore historical buildings, Japanese literature, and folk art, Komaba is the perfect spot for a day-trip that dives deep into this profound world. We’ll explore the gorgeous facilities in and around the park, enjoy a leisurely city forest stroll, relish tea in a literature-themed café, and more!

Tokyo

Things to Do

Help tsunagu write guidebook to restaurants in Japan! - CLICK TO LEARN MORE

My Tokyo Travel Wishlist

I’m certain that many readers have a list of cafes to check out, or, like me, a map full of future travel plans on your phone. As a long-time Tokyo resident originally from Taiwan, my Google Maps is practically covered with markers.

While planning this article, I casually opened Google Maps and pondered where I wanted to go. What caught my eye was a marker placed on a cafe in Komaba Park called “Bundan Coffee & Beer,” which I must have seen in a long-forgotten magazine or TV program. Upon inspection, I found that the park is also home to the Museum of Modern Japanese Literature and the Former Marquis Maeda Mansion, along with the Japan Folk Crafts Museum nearby. While not my usual cup of tea, I figured I might learn a thing or two about Tokyo and Japanese culture, so I invited a friend to join me on an art and literature adventure!

The Komaba Area of Meguro, Tokyo

Part of the first Japanese character in “Komaba” contains a symbol meaning “horse.” It’s said that this comes from the fact that, during the Edo Period (1603-1868), the shoguns set up a falconry camp in “Komabano,” which means “horse pasture field,” where they would tie up their horses when they went hunting. In modern Tokyo, of course, there are no horses left in sight, yet the name has remained.

We imagined Komaba would be a mixture of the refined Okushibu* and the indie Shimokitazawa, but when we actually got off the Inokashira Line at Komaba-todaimae Station, what greeted us instead was the quiet entrance of the University of Tokyo Komaba Campus, with only a McDonald’s and a scattering of small stores next to it. With the sound of trains and the chirping of cicadas the only distinguishable noises, it was worlds apart from a typical rowdy university town.

*Okushibu: Oku-Shibuya, also known as Ura (Hidden) Shibuya. It refers to the area between the Shibuya Tokyu Main Store and Yoyogi Hachiman Station. In recent years, it has become popular for its simple yet sophisticated cafes and variety stores.


 

Komaba Park: An Oasis of Greenery in Residential Tokyo

Following the map and signs, we arrived at Komaba Park, nestled inconspicuously amongst a quiet residential neighborhood. If you take the Inokashira Line, you can enter through the south gate via a narrow road (that looks like a secret path), or walk along Komaba Street (Komaba-dori) and enter the park through the east gate consisting of bamboo fences and trees. If you’re walking from Yoyogi Uehara Station, the main gate is likely the most convenient option. This gate and accompanying guard house are designated as National Important Cultural Properties, and exude a refined atmosphere.

Upon entering the park, we were met with a lush, refreshing greenery, making it hard to believe we were still in the heart of Tokyo. Looking around, I spotted a family searching for stag beetles, a man leisurely reading under a tree, high school students donning summer uniforms cutting through the park, and other delightful scenes of Japanese summer.

The Former Marquis Maeda Mansion: A Glimpse Into the Life of Early Showa Aristocracy

At the center of Komaba Park stands an exotic building that looks like something you’d find on the other side of the “Anywhere Door,” the portal device from sci-fi comedy anime “Doraemon.” This is the residence of Marquis Toshinari Maeda, the 16th head of the Maeda family, who were once the feudal lords of the Kaga Domain (modern-day Ishikawa Prefecture).

Marquis Maeda traveled extensively through Europe, and had already decided on the design of his new residence in Komaba upon his return to Japan in 1927 after serving as a military officer attached to the UK Japanese Embassy. In addition to the family’s living space, the mansion’s “Western-Style House” was also used for entertaining foreign dignitaries, while the “Japanese-Style House” introduced them to Japanese culture.

The Western-Style House was influenced by the designs of English country estates, best seen in the porte-cochere central entrance (an outside passage large enough for cars to pass through) with a pyramidal, castle-like spire rising on the right side. On the south side is a terrace with an arcade of three interlocking arches, along with a balcony on the second floor. The porte-cochere, entrance, and corridor all feature a flat, arched form, often found in Tudor-style architecture. Up close, the brown scratch tiles covering the walls are the same type used in the Former Imperial Hotel and other historical buildings in Taiwan. One of the pleasures of viewing such buildings is realizing their connections to other structures, allowing a sense of past trends.

Upon entering the mansion, we found chandeliers of various designs, luxurious guest rooms big and small, and a grand dining room with a white marble fireplace. There were also several incredible amenities and flourishes, like a button to call the butler and other servants. Wherever we looked, we saw style, elegance, and ingenuity.

Outside the dining room, however, the house becomes much simpler. This is because it served as internal space for staff, kept humble yet functional.

Connecting to the second floor, the grand central staircase features intricate pillar carvings and acanthus patterns popular in Europe at the time. Also impressive is the use of space under the staircase. While such spaces are now often used for storage or lavatories, this one has been converted into an “inglenook” (a “warm and cozy” space), with a fireplace and sofa in the same flat arch shape as the exterior of the building.

On the second floor, we toured the study, bedrooms, and children's rooms. We were in awe of the incredible effort poured into the restoration, preservation, and reproduction of these cultural assets. Owing to layouts preserved on black-and-white photos and scraps of wallpaper and carpet left behind, it was possible to recreate the mansion rooms as closely as possible to how they originally looked. The books in the study were provided by descendants of the Maeda family, and were displayed how they would have been when the mansion was still in use.

In order to fully express the charm of the original building, it was also necessary to make adjustments, install digital exhibits, and more. What used to be the family’s third son’s room is now a library, which includes travel magazines about Kanazawa in Ishikawa Prefecture, an area deeply associated with the Maeda family. The protrusion on the right side of the building is part of a remodel equipping the mansion with an elevator, ensuring an accessible environment without ruining the character.

There are also many pictures in the exhibition room contrasting the past and present. You can see how the Maeda family once enjoyed skiing and horseback riding in the square, drawings of bedroom fixtures purchased from a high-end English furniture manufacturer, along with “munafuda” building tags praying for the structure’s successful completion. The former conference room also screens educational videos to further enlighten visitors on the history of the building.

During the tour, the knowledgeable curator also shared with us the details of their next restoration plan. Listening to their explanation, I felt deeply impressed by the Japanese people's strong desire to preserve their history. Despite being such an invaluable historical building, admission is free, visitors can take photos as they like, and there are even free guided tours conducted by volunteers. The adjacent Japanese-Style House is also available for public bookings and hosts various events like tea ceremonies, flower arrangement, and haiku recitals. From this, it’s easy to see the high level of cultural awareness and the unwavering respect for architecture of the Japanese people. After visiting, you’ll no doubt want to uncover more of Tokyo's historical structures - which is exactly how we felt!

The Museum of Modern Japanese Literature: Ponder the Masterpieces of Japan's Literary Giants

In Japanese history, the so-called “early modern” era spans from the Meiji Restoration (1868) to the end of World War II (1945). Although it may seem like eons ago, the appeal of the literature written during this era is timeless. Famous early modern  Japanese writers include Ryunosuke Akutagawa, Natsume Soseki, Yasunari Kawabata, and Osamu Dazai, whose works have been translated and published in many languages, and are still widely read today. Ryunosuke Akutagawa’s “In a Grove” was also included in the language textbooks of high schools in Taiwan, where I’m from.

For those who love Japanese books (and know the language), the Museum of Modern Japanese Literature, located right next to the Maeda Main Residence and Japanese-Style House, is a place to get familiar with its heart.

First up, we checked out the postcards available by the counter near the first-floor entrance. They feature first edition covers of famous Japanese works, along with pictures of manuscripts, and other related photographs. I went looking for postcards featuring novels that I’d read, including “The Sound of the Mountain,” “The Dancing Girl of Izu,” and “The Setting Sun.”

There’s also a reading room to the right of the counter, where you can actually borrow books from the collection to read at your leisure. Please note, though, that the museum charges a fee to access the room. You’ll likewise need to buy a ticket at the counter to access the special and temporary exhibitions on the second floor, which are held regularly.

The theme of this year’s exhibition was “Literature in Textbooks, Literature Outside the Classroom IV: Natsume Soseki’s ‘Kokoro’ and His Times.” Those who know a lot about Japan may associate Natsume Soseki with “Botchan,” which is set in Matsuyama, Ehime Prefecture. However, his work “Kokoro” is also very well known and frequently appears in Japanese textbooks. Having read Kokoro before and keen to learn more about it, plus being curious about what a literary exhibition might actually look like, we bought a ticket and ventured upstairs.

Through intimate presentations of handwritten manuscripts, the exhibition allowed us to see how Kokoro progressed as it was finetuned and adjusted, providing deep insight into the creative process. Also on display were descriptions of the routes taken by the characters in the novel, alongside photographs of the scenery they would have passed at the time, and even a 3D map. The exhibit also included reactions of same-day literary figures to the “martyrdom of Maresuke Nogi,” an important historical event mentioned in the novel.

In addition to exhibitions, the museum also offers a wide variety of regular courses and lectures, including the “Voice Library” event where literary figures read from their own works. Attendees can enjoy the soothing melody of the spoken Japanese language, a pleasure lost in silent reading.

If you’re interested in Japanese storytelling, we highly recommend leaving plenty of time for the Museum of Modern Japanese Literature. After visiting, you’ll doubtlessly agree on the need for more places like this to help preserve such invaluable cultural treasures.

Bundan Coffee & Beer: A Heavenly Mix of Coffee and Books

After reveling in the literature exhibits, we took a short break at Bundan Coffee & Beer, tucked away in a corner of the museum’s first floor. The store was lit with a soft, warm glow and filled with wooden, antique furniture, giving off retro coffee shop vibes. However, what instantly grabbed our attention was the massive bookshelf, which apparently contained around 20,000 volumes! Customers are free to pick out any book to enjoy together with breakfast or afternoon tea.

For many, the most appealing facet of Bundan is its delightful literary-themed menu. Text-heavy, it flaunts clever reproductions of dishes from famous novels, along with drinks named after authors and their works. There are also detailed explanations of the origins behind each dish's name, as well as excerpts from related books.

For example, the “Ango Sakaguchi Grilled Salmon Sandwich” was inspired by Ango Sakaguchi, a native of Niigata Prefecture and one of the leading authors of the “Buraiha” or “Decadent School” of literature. Sakaguchi wrote “Waga Kufuseru Ojiya” (My Ingenious Rice Gruel) at 44, where he describes in detail how he improved his hometown dish, the grilled salmon sandwich. Bundan has slightly tweaked the recipe, adding onions and bell peppers to complement the soy sauce-marinated salmon. We got a real boost of energy from this hearty breakfast dish!

In addition to food, Bundan is also popular for its desserts. The sundae, based on the novel “Lemon,” a masterpiece by Japanese writer Kajii Motojiro, is refreshingly sweet. The scones named after the great William Shakespeare, topped with a special salted caramel sauce, are equally irresistible. Even if you don't speak Japanese, you can immerse yourself in the world of local literature through scrumptious food!

Japan Folk Crafts Museum: Discover the Allure of Authentic Craftsmanship

Leaving Komaba Park behind, we arrived at our final destination for the day: The Japan Folk Crafts Museum.

Those familiar with Japanese tableware and product design will likely know the name Sori Yanagi. Household wares created by Yanagi are highly coveted due to their modern, smooth curves and ease-of-use, all adhering to the “fit-in-your-hand” concept. Yanagi’s creative philosophy can be traced back to his father Muneyoshi Yanagi, famed as the "father of the folk craft movement.”

“Folk crafts” refer to crafts made by common people. In 1926, Muneyoshi Yanagi published “Nihon Mingei Bijutsu-kan Setsuritsu Shuisho (Prospectus for the Establishment of the Japan Folk Crafts Museum). He spearheaded a unique movement in Japan striving to encourage appreciation for the beauty of everyday utensils. With the support of those who shared this philosophy, he eventually established the Japan Folk Crafts Museum in 1936 to spread these concepts. Muneyoshi Yanagi served as the first director of the museum, handed down to his son Sori Yanagi as the third person to be awarded the title.

After establishing the museum, Muneyoshi devoted himself to traveling throughout Japan to research and collect folk crafts while simultaneously promoting the crafting cultures of Korea, the Ainu, and Taiwan's ethnic minorities. He was instrumental in introducing the public to ceramics, paintings, dyed textiles, lacquerware, woodwork, and other crafts made by unknown artists, which had not been given due recognition in the context of art history and modern Western art perspectives at the time.

The current collection at the Japan Folk Crafts Museum includes over 17,000 old and new crafts from all over Japan and abroad. In addition to collecting, storing, and conducting research on folk art, the museum also organizes various exhibits to further promote the founding philosophy of Muneyoshi Yanagi.

Upon stepping into the museum, we immediately noticed its high ceilings and wooden staircases leading off to the left and right, weaving together a tremendously refined atmosphere. Unlike most museums, there is no predetermined route for you to follow, and visitors can decide the order for themselves by looking at the museum map. The artwork’s explanatory notes likewise include only the name, technique, and date of creation, allowing visitors direct enjoyment without being filtered through outside information.

The second floor houses the Grand Exhibition Hall, part of renovations commemorating the 80th anniversary of the museum's founding in 2021. Hosting special displays, the natural light from the ceiling reflects off the floor against a backdrop of lush greenery from Komaba Park, creating a relaxing atmosphere. On the first floor is a store selling publications exclusive to the Japan Folk Crafts Museum, as well as those about Muneyoshi Yanagi and folk art itself. Of course, there are also loads of wonderful works of folk art available for purchase.

While the photos used in this article, taken with permission from the Japan Folk Crafts Museum, don’t have any visitors in the shot, the facility was actually quite crowded, and there was a hefty line at the register. It was hard to believe that it was just a weekday afternoon, and we were moved by the display of interest by the locals in the beauty of folk art. We look forward to visiting the West Wing (the former residence of Muneyoshi Yanagi), located across the street, next time!

A Literary Experience You’ll Repeat Again and Again

Initially, I was simply planning to visit a cafe I had randomly marked on my phone, but once we arrived, the remarkable collection of facilities tempted me on a fulfilling literary journey. From now, I’m sure I’ll be a regular at the Museum of Modern Japanese Literature and the Japan Folk Crafts Museum, stopping by whenever they hold new exhibitions. I would also love to visit the wall fountain and the corridor leading to the Japanese-Style House at the Former Marquis Maeda Mansion, which we weren’t able to do this time. From what I’ve heard, this route is only open to the public on special occasions.

Through this experience, I felt as if I had gained the keys to a brand-new world. I now long to visit more historical sites and buildings in Tokyo, read more Japanese literature, and put hand-crafted tableware on my table. I am sure that there are many more wonderful literary-based spots in Tokyo I’ve yet to discover, and my journey to uncover a deeper side of the city is far from over!

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Kanto Feature

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.


About the author

Dawn
Dawn Cheng

Restaurant Search