京都・大阪一日游!8个充满神秘能量的日本历史景点

说到关西地区特别受欢迎的旅游城市,就会想到京都和大阪。这个过去曾长时间作为首都存在的地区,有很多可以体验日本历史和文化的地方。本次行程中,除了从京都或大阪出发的一日游,我们也花了好几天的时间从各个角度来探索、揭示日本历史景点。有绝对能够满足你五感的美丽风景、供你休息疗养的温泉,以及在佛寺的日常中获得内心宁静的地方。来看看我们为你精心挑选的不容错过的景点吧。

关西

体验

1. 比叡山延历寺 日本佛教诞生之地(滋贺县)

比叡山的延历寺聚集了多间殿堂,是一个对于日本佛教的发展有着重要影响的地方。佛法大师最澄在此奠定日本佛教的基础,并从中国引进天台宗教派,也使这里成为天台宗的总寺院。而后佛教继续在朝廷的支持下传播并达到鼎盛。

有无数著名的和尚在延历寺修习、研究天台宗并影响其他宗派,其中一些人学成后,先后成立日本佛教的其他宗派,例如净土宗、禅宗和日莲宗等。这些教派流传至现代日本仍被广大信徒信奉着。香火鼎盛的延历寺凭此获得巨大权力并开始涉足政治领域,除了有属于自己的寺领(寺院的领地),麾下还有着为数不少护卫领地的武僧集团(学习武术、具有战斗能力的僧侣)。随着封建制度与朝廷中央集权的衰落,延历寺也渐渐在政治上失去影响力。进入动荡的战国时代后,在战国大名织田信长决定统一日本的计划中,延历寺的僧侣们窝藏信长的敌对大名浅井长政,并拒绝听从其命令,信长便下令焚烧比叡山。我们现今看到的所有建筑都是在17世纪的江户时代重建。

延历寺是世界遗产“古都京都文化遗产”之一。寺内有非常多殿堂,占地广大,需花上一整天才能走遍全寺!区域大致分为三个部分:东塔、位于东塔西北1公里处的西塔、位于西塔北4公里处的横川。三座塔楼都有装饰精美的殿堂,如果时间允许的话,建议全都要走一遍,非常值得一看!(有步行用道路和接驳巴士。)但如果只能择其一,建议你选择东塔,因为东塔区域是延历寺最大也是历史最悠久的区域,最澄大师当时建造的屋舍也是在此区。

此外这里还有一些修行僧体验课程可以参加,例如坐禅(坐姿冥想)和抄写佛经等,有兴趣的话可以报名看看,还可以品尝到僧侣在寺内吃的素斋(又称精进料理)!

如果想要暂时远离世俗、清静一天的时间,那么比叡山的杜鹃丘(つつじヶ丘)会是一个好选择。这里可以俯瞰京都和琵琶湖的比叡花园博物馆,还有烽道餐厅和观景台。此处的餐厅还有提供滋贺的名产近江牛。

要登上比叡山有两种方式,西面的叡山缆车(京都方面)和东面的坂本缆车(往琵琶湖方面)。坂本缆车始建于1927年,已有将近100年的历史。这条缆车具有“表参道”(在神道教中,指通往寺庙或神社正门的道路)的意义,将山顶的神域与门前町的坂本连接起来。

优雅的红绿相间的设计分别名为“缘”和“福”,带有些许欧洲风情。没有高架线路的设置让乘客可以清楚地看到琵琶湖。坂本站与比叡山站的高低差为480m。全长超过2公里,是日本最长的缆车。

 

2. 漂浮在白须神社湖畔上的鸟居(滋贺县)

每当参观日本的神社时,第一个出现在眼前的就是日本文化象征之一的鸟居(神社入口处的牌坊)。鸟居的作用是将人类所在的俗世与神祇所在的神界分开的界限。

你可能已经看过广岛县的严岛神社,看起来就像是漂浮在濑户内海上的神社。不过日本还有其他漂浮在水面上的鸟居,其中之一便是坐落在日本最大的湖泊——琵琶湖的白须神社的鸟居。在早晨日出照耀下时的鸟居特别好看!

这座神社据传已有2000年的历史,有一说是由第十一代天皇的皇女倭姫命所建造(但湖上的鸟居是在20世纪的现代才加盖)。“白须”的意思是“白胡子”,指的是猿田彦。日本神话的猿田彦被描绘成有这样的胡须,因此这座神社供奉并尊其为长寿之神,专门保佑延年益寿。

这个坐落于琵琶湖中奇妙的鸟居,因其惊人的美景而常常出现在Instagram等社交媒体上,日本国内外来的游客都争相前往参观。开车前往会比较方便,因为距离最近的车站需要步行40分钟。但是不赶时间的话也可以慢慢散步走去,享受沿途漂亮的湖景。当然也可以在车站附近搭出租车。到达神社的另一种方法是在近江高岛站租自行车。琵琶湖周围有专门给游客使用的观光自行车道。

如果对日本宗教非常感兴趣,时间也允许的话,请一定要安排前往竹生岛。竹生岛是一个无人岛,传说是众神居住的岛屿,岛上的神社已经存在很长一段时间。从白须神社所在的高岛出发,沿湖岸向北行驶,在近江今津站附近的码头搭乘前往岛上的观光船。

3. 永平寺 修行生活的场所(福井县)

永平寺是道元禅师于1244年开设的一座寺庙。道元禅师是一位禅宗僧侣,曾在比叡山延历寺学习天台宗的教义。但是他对延历寺所传授的教义感到强烈怀疑,遂亲自前往中国寻求正确的真正的“禅”。学成归国后回到日本,开创曹洞宗并成为该派祖师并建立永平寺作为该宗的大本山(总寺院)。永平寺的意思是“永久和平的寺庙”,在福井县这块相对偏僻的土地上设立也是为了与延历寺保持一定距离。

永平寺的主要功能是修行地,大约有150名僧侣常驻其中。大多数僧侣的住所是禁止游客进入的,不过朝拜者可以通过其他方式体验该寺的氛围。曹洞宗是以禅宗为基础的佛教宗派,所以特别强调座禅(坐姿冥想)和诵经。因此这些修行体验则为座禅和佛经抄本。此外,在永平寺前面有一个历史悠久却很现代化的宿坊(寺内住宿处),提供住宿体验、药膳料理,朝拜以及当地向导游览(需提前预约)。

 

 

永平寺内辉煌绚丽,被安静的森林所环绕的宏伟建筑营造出一种稳定祥和的氛围。不论是悠闲地仔细看还是停下来观赏,特别希望你可以着重于拜观“法堂(或讲堂)”、“佛殿(佛堂,供奉着过去、现在和将来的佛陀)”和“山门”。建筑本身和外头的装饰是本次旅游的看点。为应对新冠肺炎疫情,永平寺要求访客入内时要戴口罩和洗手,并在入院时测量体温。

4. 天桥立:是一条漂浮在海中升起的巨龙还是一座通往上天的桥!? 日本三景之一

天桥立位于京都府北部,是日本三景之一。主体是一条长达3.6公里的巨大沙咀(由流沙堆积形成的鸟喙状沙洲),将日本海的宫津湾和内海的阿苏海南北向分隔开来。)。

它的姿态使我们想起一条巨龙升天的场景,也被称为“天上的桥梁”,是日本著名的风景名胜代表。

 

“伞松公园”是体验天桥立那连结天上和地下的很有震撼感的最佳地点。位于海拔130m的山丘上在那个可以鸟瞰天桥立的观景台,背对天桥立弯下腰从自己大腿间看出去时,天空和大地颠倒,场景变为一条巨龙飞向天,就是被称为“股のぞき”的发源地。

5.在城崎温泉沉浸于历史的洪流(兵库县)

城崎温泉位于兵库县靠日本海的那侧,非常适合那些希望在周末可以前往舒适的疗养地好好放松休息的人。对日本历史和文化感兴趣的人,更应该去一探究竟,因为这个无与伦比的温泉地,起源故事可是相当精彩。据说城崎温泉是在公元720年由当时正在寻找病痛治疗方法的道智上人所发现。当时他造访此地并于此诵经长达1,000天时,能够医治病痛的泉水就喷发出来。道智上人所开发的泉源就是现在的“曼陀罗汤(まんだら汤)”,意思是“启蒙开悟”,以上人的贤明及努力命名。

时光来到13世纪,城崎温泉凭借其良好的治疗功效享誉日本,许多人慕名而来,希望能免受病痛的困扰。当地寺庙装饰着不再需要拄拐杖行走的人们所留下的手杖。到了现代人们以科学的角度剖析,发现泉水中含有诸如氯化钠和氯化钙之类的矿物质。这些矿物质有助于消除疲劳、活络消化系统、消除神经、肌肉疼痛且有助于伤口恢复。

 

 

如果有个悠闲的周末,可以在这里的日式传统旅馆待一晚,把七个知名的外汤(公共浴场,不需住宿)都泡一轮。穿着浴衣漫步在温泉街,在街上的餐馆、小酒馆停留。七个外汤都有自己独特的建筑风格,例如:一之汤就是一幢让人联想起歌舞伎座的建筑。传说这里的外汤可给来访者带来好运,如:拥有良好的人际关系、生意事业的兴隆等。

想要四处走走,到更远地方(约500米)的人,推荐你可以到温泉寺看看。这也是道智上人建立的一座寺庙,被视为城崎温泉区的“守护寺”。在古代,来访此温泉区的旅客都会先参拜这座寺庙,先后于道智上人的灵前、观音菩萨(佛教女神,仁慈与怜悯的象征)和药师如来(专治百病、拯救众生的佛陀)。现今虽然已没有这个硬性规定和习惯,但仍然是个值得一游的地方!

如果决定要去大师山上的温泉寺,那就尽情享受吧!有一条步道可以爬上寺庙和山顶。进入小径时,风景一片绿意盎然,古老的石像散落其中,一不小心可能会忘我陶醉于自然。山顶可以欣赏到周围地区的美景,还设有一家咖啡馆,可以在那里休息一下,再搭乘缆车返回温泉街区。(或者走下山当然也没问题。)

如果在春季来访,可以看到城市的主要街道和染有樱花的大谿川;秋天则可以在散落的红叶中漫步。为应对疫情,城崎温泉也已制定完整的预防措施,如戴口罩、量体温、消毒和通风等,并限制同时入泉人数,避免过度拥挤。

6.姫路城:臣服于日本最大现存天守的威严之下(兵库县)

明治维新后,政府为了有效利用土地及建筑资源而颁布“废城令”,导致许多城池被拆除。目前日本国内只剩“现存12天守”(保留江户时代或以前的样貌),姬路城正是其中之一。它是目前仍保留时代痕迹和中世纪美学为数不多的城之一,也名列日本百大名城。洁白美丽的城墙也使它获“白鹭城”的美称,雄伟的外观与粉白的墙垛相互辉映着。

姬路这个地方位于山阳道的交通要冲,是压制西日本各反幕府大名的重要基地,使姬路城成为战略上极为重要的城池。城始建于14世纪,并于16世纪的战国时代不断扩建。最初只是一座小堡垒,后来才发展成播磨国城下町中心。(姬路城的扩建和维修是在丰臣秀吉的直接指示之下进行,秀吉是统一天下的“战国三英杰”之一。)进入明治时代,姬路城逃过废城令的摧残,也奇迹般地躲过第二次世界大战期间对姬路的空袭,以及后续1995年的阪神大地震危机。经过400年和各种天灾人祸后,姬路城仍然屹立不倒。遂于1993年被注册为日本第一个联合国教科文组织世界遗产(UNESCO)。

爬上天守可以俯瞰街景,欣赏姬路市的美景。也可以参观城主的好古园。里头有一家茶馆,可以在此享受茶会、聊天。还可以沿着城堡的护城河乘船游览。在春天的樱花时节,城堡会变得更加美丽。

为了防止新冠肺炎的感染,姬路城设定一条单程游览路线。除了戴口罩、量体温和消毒外,也限制入场人数以避免混杂拥挤。

7.圆教寺:在照片中非常上相的佛寺(兵库县)

如果有安排旅行计划至姬路一带,有意寻找姬路城附近的其他旅游景点,这边推荐一个位于姬路市中心以北车程几分钟的书写山圆教寺。圆教寺属天台宗(与延历寺相同),也被称为“西之比叡山”。在一千多年前的公元966年由性空上人创立,有缆车接驳,也可以步行登山前往。圆教寺是西国三十三个所(33个观音灵场,妙法莲华经指出观世音菩萨普渡解救众生时,会化作33种姿态而来的信仰)之一,而西国三十三个所正是横跨关西所有地区的著名佛教朝圣地点。

圆教寺是一座与世隔绝的修行地,该宗的思想及理想完全在这座佛寺的地理位置和环境上体现出来。此地经常被用作电影等拍摄场景,好莱坞电影《末代武士》中的部分场景就是在这里所拍摄。寺内的摩尼殿是用一种称作“舞台造”的特殊建筑风格所打造,这种风格特别会在陡峭斜坡上的建筑物用到。以一条条木柱支撑整体结构,可以直接看到外头宽敞的风景。

如同上文介绍的其他寺院一样,圆教寺也提供多种课程让外人来体验僧侣的生活。可以尝试座禅(坐姿冥想)、抄写佛经和精进料理。除上述活动外,还有为期两天的“健康道场”企划,内容包含讲座、读经会和其他仪式等。健康道场每月仅举行一次,如果能够参加那将会是个难忘的回忆!(除抄写佛经外,所有修行都需要事先预约。)

进出圆教寺一样需要配戴口罩,寺内人员也会定期对室内进行通风和消毒。

8.滩五乡:传承数个世纪的酿酒地,蕴含历史味道的好酒(兵库县)

兵库县还有很多值得挖掘的好东西和好地方。数百年来,神户与大阪之间的“滩五乡”地区一直在繁荣地发展着,也是关西地区酿酒产业的主要地。现今仍有数十家酿酒厂在运营着。这个地区首次生产、酿造清酒的纪录最早是在1330年左右,并于17世纪初开始商业化生产。(“五乡”的意思是五个城镇,指的是五个酿酒业的核心地区。分别是今津、西宫、鱼崎、三影和西乡。)

滩区适于酿造清酒的原因有很多。优质的水源对于清酒的酿造至关重要。滩区的水属于硬水(富含矿物质)且铁含量低,完全可以满足清酒酿造的需求。此地生产的山田锦米也被认为是酿造清酒的最佳之选。此外位于港口沿海的地利使其拥有便利的运输,可以轻松地将滩泉清酒运输到当时的日本中心江户(今东京),迅速获得青睐并普及。

有些酿酒厂开放参观,可以一览清酒的制造过程并免费试喝。酒厂商店内销售多种产品,可以将其带回家。特别推荐的酿酒厂是创立于1751年的“酒心馆”和1743年的“白鹤”。除了学习酿造工程并感受充满酒气的氛围,参观酒厂还有其他有趣的地方。其中一个引人之处在于可以亲眼看到熟练的工匠在传统的木制房间中巧妙地操纵酒缸和酒桶的场景,是一个适合上传到微信等社交媒体的有趣展示。

最后在当地餐厅吃上一顿饭作为旅程的结束。此地的餐厅都与当地酒家合作,精心设计并准备适合滩泉清酒的佳肴!

进入白鹤资料馆和酒心馆时也不要忘记配合防疫政策,配戴口罩、量体温和酒精消毒。除了上述措施之外,为应对疫情,酒心馆一个时段只招待一组访客。

只需短短的车程便能踏入千年的过去

关西周围一带无疑是一个有趣迷人的地区!只要搭乘几个小时的火车就可以到达拥有许多具有历史和文化意义的地方。除了本文介绍的这8个地点,还有更多令人兴奋的地方等着你亲自去探索。等疫情缓和可以放心地来日本旅游时,请将本文介绍的8个景点加进你的旅游计划吧!

关西地区是一个充满魅力的好地方!点击下方的链接了解更多相关信息!

the kansai guide banner

the exciting kansai banner

 

本文提供信息均以公开时为准。

Weibo

搜寻餐厅

Great Day-Trips From Kyoto and Osaka! 8 Sites Where You Can Feel Japan’s History and Spirituality

The Kansai area is centered on the major cities Kyoto and Osaka, which have become very popular tourist destinations. As this area was the center of political power for a long time in Japanese history, it boasts a tremendous share of Japan's historical and religious heritage. This article introduces 8 sites that each offer a different angle of Japan's past, and that can all work as a day trip from Kyoto or Osaka, although they’re worth a multi-day stay if possible. These sites offer beauty for all the senses, from gorgeous sights, soothing hot springs, and the inner peace of a Buddhist lifestyle.

Kansai

Things to Do

1. Hiei-zan Enryaku-ji, a Birthplace of Japanese Buddhism [Shiga]

The Hiei-zan complex has played a crucial role in Japanese Buddhism: it was founded by the monk Saicho, who brought over the Tendai School of Buddhism over from China, and it became the headquarters of this school as it gained popularity and prestige within the imperial court.

Many influential monks studied at Enryakuji, including the founders of the Pure Land, Zen and Nichiren sects, which are all among the largest Buddhist schools today. It would come to wield a considerable amount of power, to the point that it had its own guard of warrior-monks defending the precinct. However, while it flourished under the old Imperial system, when the system collapsed its fortunes were reversed. As Japan fell into anarchy and the warlord Oda Nobunaga sought to reunify it under his rule, he saw the warrior monks of Enryaku-ji as a threat to his power and ordered the complex burned to the ground. As a result, all buildings you can find here today are reconstructions from the 17th century.

Enryaku-ji, now a component of the "Historic Monuments of Ancient Kyoto" World Heritage Site, is such a vast complex that you can easily fill up a whole day just exploring it! It's broadly divisible into three areas: the Todo (East Hall), the Saito (West Hall) one kilometer to the northwest, and then the Yokawa 4 kilometers to the north. Each has a configuration of beautiful temple halls, so it's definitely worth it to visit each in turn if you have the time! (You can walk along the paths or take a shuttle bus.) But if you'd like one section to focus on, opt for the Todo, which is the largest section and the one with the richest history, having been founded by Saicho himself.

Lean into the ascetic atmosphere and sign up for a few experiences, such as zazen (seated meditation) and copying sutras. In addition, there is the possibility of trying the monks' vegetarian cuisine (called shojin-ryori) within their quarters!

If you're not so hardcore that you can sustain the religious atmosphere for a full day, then you can also stop by Mt. Hiei's more worldly attractions, like the Tsutsujigaoka Garden, the Garden Museum Hiei which offers views of Kyoto and Lake Biwa, and the Minemichi Restaurant & Observatory, where you can feast on the regional specialty Omi Beef.

Two cable cars allow you to climb up to the Enryaku-ji temple complex: the Eizen Cable from the west (from Kyoto), and the Sakamoto Cable from the east (from Lake Biwa). The Sakamoto Cable was constructed first, in 1927, making it nearly a century old. Connecting the temple at the summit with the Sakamoto town at the base, it served the function of the "Omotesando," the road leading up to a temple or shrine's main gate.

The elegant, red and green design of the train cars, which are named "En" (fate) and "Fuku" (happiness), deliberately evoke a European aesthetic. It operates without any wires, allowing riders an unobstructed view of the marvelous Lake Biwa. It runs over 2 kilometers, making it Japan's longest cable car, and climbs 480m between base and summit.

2. The Floating Torii Gates at Shirahige Shrine [Shiga]

Torii - those gates that you can find in front of any shrine in Japan - are definitely one of the country's most emblematic symbols. They have the role of delineating the boundary between our world and the world of the spirits.

You might have seen the (perhaps more famous) Itsukushima Shrine in Hiroshima, whose torii appears to float on the Inland Sea, but there is another such torii within Lake Biwa, Japan's largest lake, that belongs to the Shirahige Shrine. It is particularly beautiful when viewed at sunrise!

This shrine claims a history of over 2000 years, and it is said to have been constructed by Princess Yamatohime-no-mikoto, the 11th ever Emperor of Japan. (The floating torii, however, is a much more recent addition, from the 20th century.) "Shirahige" literally means "white beard", a reference to the Sarutahiko, the Shinto deity that is enshrined here, who is depicted with such a beard. Unsurprisingly, this shrine is said to confer longevity upon its visitors.

The startling, fantastical beauty of the torii floating atop Lake Biwa is very Instagrammable and has drawn considerable attention overseas. The shrine has become a popular tourist destination as a result. It is somewhat out of the way for those without a car, being a 40-minute walk to the nearest station. You won't mind the distance because there are lovely beaches the whole way, but you could take a taxi if you like. Alternately, the whole of Lake Biwa is encircled by a well-kept bike path, so you could rent a bicycle at Omi-Takashima Station for the round trip to the shrine.

If you're curious about Japanese religion and have a bit more time, you should also check out Chikubu Island, an uninhabited island known as the Island of the Gods for its numerous ancient shrines. From Takashima, head northward along the coast to the pier right by Omi-Imazu Station, then take a tourist boat to the island.

3. Eiheiji, Where the Monastic Life Comes Alive [Fukui]

Eiheiji was founded in 1244 by Dogen Zenshi, a monk who started off studying in the Tendai school at Hiei-zan Enryaku-ji, but grew disillusioned with its practices and went to China to seek a better way of enlightenment. He would bring to Japan a form of Buddhism known as the Soto Zen school, and opened Eiheiji as its headquarters. Eihei-ji means “temple of eternal peace,” and it was opened here, in a less accessible location, precisely to keep his distance with his former school.

Eihei-ji is primarily still used as a monastery for about 150 practicing monks, and while much of the monks’ quarters are cordoned off for visitors, the complex still offers tourists numerous ways to partake in the ascetic experience. The Soto Zen school diverged from previous Buddhist sects with its emphasis on zazen (seated meditation) and chanting Buddhist sutras, and as a result some of these experiences including joining a zazen session and hand-copying a part of a sutra with a calligraphy brush. Adjacent to Eihei-ji are both traditional and modern-style lodgings where visitors can stay, and the experience includes temple cuisine, religious services, and a guided tour of the premises (previous reservation required).

The temple complex is gorgeous in itself. The noble architecture, combined with the serene forest surrounding it, creates a maximally peaceful atmosphere. Whether you opt for an intense or casual visit, you should pay extra attention to the Hatto (or Lecture Hall), the Butsuden (Buddha Hall, with statues of the past, present and future Buddha), and the Sanmon Gate, which are the most impressive in architecture and ornamentation. The temple currently asks guests to wash their hands by the entrance and get a temperature check, in addition to wearing a mask.

4. Amano Hashidate, A Flying Dragon or A Bridge to the Heavens? [Kyoto]

Amano Hashidate, situated in the north of Kyoto Prefecture, is known as one of the Three Great Views of Japan. It’s a large sandbar, some 3.6 km in length and formed by accumulated quicksand, and it vertically separates the Miyazu Bay (of the Sea of Japan) and Aso Sea. It resembles a dragon reaching up to the sky, which explains its name, which translates to “Bridge to Heaven.” It is one of Japan’s best-known sceneries.

The best place for experiencing this bridge to the heavens is Kasamatsu Park, which stands 130 meters above sea level and has an observation deck perfect for overlooking the sandbar. If you ever do visit, make sure to look at it through your legs so that it appears upside down. This tradition, known as “mata-nozoki,” is said to have originated at this park and really makes the formation appear to reach to the heavens!

5. Soak in History at Kinosaki Onsen [Hyogo]

Kinosaki Onsen, on the Sea of Japan coast in Hyogo Prefecture, is a wonderful spot for anyone looking for a pleasant soothing weekend getaway. But those curious about Japanese history and culture should visit because of the area's unique origin story. The onsen is said to have been founded in the year 720 by the Buddhist monk Dochi Shonin, who was looking for some way to cure the ill. He was instructed by an oracle to come here and chant a Buddhist sutra for 1,000 days until healing waters spew from the ground, which is exactly what then happened. The bath that he opened is now known as the Mandara-yu, “mandara” meaning “enlightened mind” because of Dochi’s endeavors.

Over the ensuing thirteen centuries, Kinosaki Onsen gained fame for the waters' healing properties, and many travelers flocked to the area, seeking to be freed from their ailments. The local temple displays walking sticks left behind by those who no longer needed them. Nowadays, we can identify minerals like sodium chloride and calcium chloride in hot springs, which are said to be associated with alleviating fatigue, digestive issues, nerve and muscular pain, and bruising.

The onsen town at Kinosaki is relatively small, only a few streets wide on either side of the small Otani River. A weekend is more than enough time to stay in a ryokan (traditional inn), soak in a few of the seven outdoor baths, try walking around town wearing traditional yukata, and pop into a few restaurants and taverns. The seven outdoor bathhouses all have distinctive architectures; Ichino-yu, for example, looks like a kabuki theater. All also confer some type of good fortune on the visitor, like luck in marriage or in business.

Those willing to go the extra mile (well, third of a mile) should head to the Onsen-ji temple, the onsen town's "guardian temple" that was also built by Dochi Shonin. It used to be required for any onsen visitor to first head to the temple, and pray to the spirit of Dochi Shonin, to the Kannon Bodhisattva (the Buddhist goddess of mercy and compassion), and to the Yakushi Nyorai (a buddha who can cure all ills). While no longer a formal rule, it's still worth it to make this trip!

Onsen-ji is located halfway up Mt. Daishi. So you might take the hiking path on the way up, to the temple and then to the summit, where you can lose yourself in a world of greenery, dotted with classical stone statues. The summit offers an exquisite view of the surrounding area, as well as a cafe where you can take a break before heading back down on the Kinosaki Ropeway. (Or, of course, take the ropeway up and hike back down, if you’d prefer.)

Visit in the spring to see the town’s main street and river decorated with cherry blossoms, and visit in the fall so that you can admire the foliage during your hike. Kinosaki Onsen has devised comprehensive coronavirus guidelines, where facilities should require mask-wearing, maintain ventilation, and conduct temperature checks and frequent disinfection. Bath facilities are also imposing entry restrictions to prevent crowding.

6. At Himeji, Appreciate The Majesty of Japan's Largest Original Castle [Hyogo]

Most Japanese castles you see today are reconstructions, as many original structures were demolished during the Meiji Restoration, but Himeji Castle managed to avoid that fate and stands as one of the country's "12 original castles". It is often called the “white heron castle” (“shirasagi-jo”) due to its majesty and pure-white complexion.

Himeji City occupied an important spot, as any rebel army marching from the west to seize the capital would have to pass by here, making this a strategically crucial castle. The first structure in this site was constructed in the 14th century; during the Warring States period of the 16th century, multiple enlargements conducted by various military commanders took it from a small fort to the major structure it is today. (One such renovation was directly overseen by Toyotomi Hideyoshi, one of the Three Great Unifiers of Japan.) After narrowly avoiding destruction in the upheavals of the Meiji Restoration, in the Himeji Air Raids in World War II, and again in the Great Hanshin Earthquake of 1995, it stands proudly, over 400 years later. In 1993, it became the first official UNESCO World Heritage Site from Japan.

In addition to climbing to the top of the main keep and taking in the view of the city, make sure to visit the adjacent Kokoen garden, which has a tea room where you can enjoy a Japanese tea ceremony. It’s possible to take a pleasure boat along the moat as well, and the castle complex is particularly gorgeous during cherry-blossom season in spring.

In addition to requiring masks, temperature checks, and disinfection, the castle requests that visitors follow the viewing path while maintaining social distancing; there are entry restrictions as well.

7. Engyo-ji, A Picture-Perfect Temple Complex [Hyogo]

If you’re at Himeji Castle and looking for a nearby attraction, head a few minutes to the north, and you can find Engyo-ji on Mt. Shosha. It belongs to the Tendai Sect (same as Enryaku-ji) and is even called “Mt. Hiei of the West”. It was founded by Shoku Shonin in 966, over 1000 years ago, and it can be accessed by ropeway or hiking trail. It is one of the 33 temples on the Saigoku Kannon Pilgrimage, a well-known pilgrimage spanning all of the Kansai region.

The temple grounds so perfectly encapsulate the platonic ideal of the secluded temple monastery that is often used as a filming location, for Japanese historical dramas as well as for a few scenes in the movie Last Samurai. Look out particularly for the Maniden, which employs an architectural style called butai-zukuri (“stage construction”), where the whole structure is built on wooden pillars atop a steep slope, so you can look out directly onto an expansive view.

As with the other monasteries described here, Engyo-ji allows visitors to experience the monk’s life in a few different ways, including a zazen (seated meditation) session, copying characters from a sutra, and trying monastic food. There is also a two-day “health dojo” course that includes all of the above in addition to lectures, recitations, and other ceremonies. This latter experience is only available once a month and will leave you with memories you will never forget! (Reservations are required for all experiences except sutra-copying.)

Engyo-ji conducts ventilation and disinfection and requires masks.

8. Enjoy a Taste of History at the Centuries-Old Sake Distilleries of Nada [Hyogo]

Hyogo Prefecture also has much to offer by way of worldly pleasures: the area between Kobe and Osaka (the “Nada-Gogo”) has been a major sake production area for centuries and is home to dozens of breweries even today. Sake was first produced here in around 1330, and the first examples of commercial production date to the early 17th century. (Incidentally, “gogo” means “five towns” and refers to the five clusters of breweries that emerged in the area: Imazu, Nishinomiya, Uozaki, Mikage, and Nishi.)

Nada is suited to sake production in several ways: the quality of the water is most important, and Nada’s water is said to be quite hard (rich in minerals) but low in iron content, the perfect mix. The area’s Yamada Nishiki rice is also regarded as being a perfect fit for sake production. Lastly, this coastal area is easily connected to sea routes, so Nada sake easily made its way to the capital city of Edo (what is now Tokyo), where it quickly gained in popularity.

Several breweries are now accompanied by museums, where visitors can observe the sake production process, enjoy a tasting course for free, and buy various items to bring home at the gift stores. Two recommended sake museums are the Shushinkan (a brewery that opened in 1751) and Hakutsuru (a brewery dating back to 1743). In addition to learning about the sake-making process and getting tipsy, another draw of the tours is the vivid, lifelike representations of master craftsmen working with impressive vats and barrels in classical wooden rooms. A very Instagrammable sight!

Finish off the experience with the meal at one of the local restaurants, many of whom carefully construct their menus to pair well with Nada sake!

The Hakutsuru Museum requires mask-wearing, temperature checks, and disinfection. The Shushinkan does the same, and also limits tours to one group per hour to prevent overcrowding.

A Short Train Ride to a Millennium of History

What do you think? Visiting Kyoto or Osaka is plenty exciting on its own merits, but there’s an entire world of historically and culturally significant spots lying just a few hours away by train. Of course, this region has even more adventures to offer, but once the pandemic is safely behind us and you’re planning your visit here, keep these 8 spots at the top of your list!

The Kansai region is filled with all sorts of fascinating locations! Check out these links to find out everything the area has to offer:

the kansai guide banner

the exciting kansai banner


If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search