【實用資訊】治安良好仍需注意!日本8項旅遊須知 街道篇

日本是全球公認治安良好的國家,但不代表每個人都不會遇到危險或突發狀況。每個國家或城市都有當地的風俗民情,在自己的國家認為理所當然的事,有時在國外並不適用。只要走錯一步,還有可能會被捲入竊盜等麻煩,因此前往他國旅行時,需先徹底了解當地的規則與禮儀。以下將介紹赴日旅遊時,外國遊客需注意的8項須知。

日本

實用資訊

1. 超商常見!請留意自己的傘

在日本,雨傘很容易被偷。因為雨傘價格便宜,易於購買,再加上很多人都使用塑膠傘,所以造成了這種現象。

日本國內販售的塑膠傘除了部分較高級的商品外,其他價位大約是300至500日幣不等,所以塑膠傘本身的價值不高。價格便宜、掉了也不覺得可惜,所以偷的人也沒什麼罪惡感,加上乍看之下很難分辨是自己或是別人的傘,以上原因助長了偷雨傘的行為。

特別容易被偷的地方是超商。有人會因「下雨天沒帶傘」此種隨便的理由偷傘,也有人會因為傘壞了而偷,或是沒看仔細而錯拿別人的傘,偷傘的原因可說是五花八門。甚至有人會因為「這把傘看起來比自己的好」等理由偷走別人的傘。

遊日時需做好雨傘的防盜措施。如果事先準備折疊傘,就不用擔心有被偷的機會,不過如果需要在日本當地購買塑膠傘時,在傘上做個明顯的記號是個好辦法。像是貼貼紙或寫上姓名都很不錯。只要有標明是誰的傘,被偷的機率就會大幅下降。

2. 騙取遊客錢財的「偽僧侶」出沒

以佈施為藉口騙取金錢的「偽僧侶」常出現在東京都內的新宿、淺草、秋葉原、銀座等鬧區或車站附近。以「為了創建寺廟」等理由要求路人捐錢,或是販售假佛珠與神符等物。因為文化與思想上的不同,外國遊客常常會一個不小心就真的給錢。最麻煩的是,沒有一定的知識很拿分辨是否為真正的僧侶,以下為其特徵。

・「偽僧侶」常穿著灰色或米色等顏色不顯眼的「袈裟 (佛教的僧侶所穿的服飾) 」
・真正的僧侶不會出現在車站或其周邊
・真正的僧侶擁有「托鉢許可證」

基本上,把出現在路上的僧侶都當成是偽僧侶準沒錯。如果覺得有一點點可疑就不要靠近,不做任何事情便離開吧!

3. 通過無交通號誌的斑馬線需多加注意

根據2018年「日本自動車聯盟 (JAF)」於日本全國94個地方進行的實地調査顯示,行人於無交通號誌的斑馬線等待時,沒有暫時停車的汽車比例高達92.4%。尤其是東京與大阪等大都市更有此種傾向。不論是計程車、卡車或普通汽車,都很常看到駕駛爭先恐後地踩油門加速通過的情形。

雖然日本倡導行人優先,但法律上只有「需以可停止的速度前進」的規範,並沒有要停下車輛的義務。要不要讓等待過馬路的人先通行,基本上是交由駕駛自行判斷。越大的都市,汽車駕駛的道德心越是參差不齊,因此行人需特別留意。當然,也有許多駕駛會暫時停下車輛,但在穿越無交通號誌的斑馬線時,請仔細注意周遭安全再行通過吧!

4. 對附近狀況不熟的觀光客容易被盯上?需注意拉客行為

不管是哪個都道府縣,日本全國繁華的鬧區都能看到以觀光客為目標的拉客行為漸增。常見到打著「特別價格」「優惠」的幌子攬客,結帳時再要求不合理的金額的案例。尤其在鬧區的拉客行為非常纏人,要擺脫他們也得費一番工夫。東京的新宿、池袋、六本木一帶,大阪則是難波、心齋橋、梅田附近需特別注意。

原本這種拉客行為在日本的法律「風營法」中是被禁止的。市町村以及行政區劃單位也有明定禁止拉客行為的條例。雖然政府一年比一年加強取締此種行為,但實際上劣質的拉客行為仍舊橫行。不管對方的話術有多麼吸引人,絕對不要乖乖地跟著他們走喔!

5. 邊走邊抽菸需罰款○○日幣?!

日本關於吸菸的規定日漸嚴格。這幾年來道路禁止吸菸的條例也特別被強化。除了邊走邊抽菸外,如果不在自治體與市町村設置的抽煙所就會被處以罰鍰。

具體的罰金會根據地方而有所不同,邊走邊抽菸最低罰款為2,000日幣 (東京都千代田區)、最高為20,000日幣 (群馬縣前橋市) ,吸菸者需多加注意。此外,因東京將於2020年舉辦奧運,東京都的禁止抽菸相關條例有更加嚴格的趨勢。

作為其先鋒,2018年6月東京都開始實施「二手菸防止條例」。預計於奧運舉辦前全面落實,禁止在醫療機關、巴士與計程車等大眾運輸工具,以及餐飲店等室內處吸菸。違反規定者,或是允許抽菸的業者最多將處以50,000日幣的罰款。雖然對於吸菸者來說是臉上無光的事,但遊日時,請務必遵守當地的吸菸規定喔!

6. 電車內與鬧區等人潮擁擠處請注意扒手

日本的犯罪率與其他國家相比較低。但即便如此,犯罪當然隨時都在發生。如電車內或鬧區等人潮聚集的地方,需特別留意扒手或搶劫。行李箱等旅行包、高價位的電腦與相機、護照、皮包及信用卡等物特別容易被盯上。以下將說明防止竊盜的注意事項:

・穿著與使用昂貴名牌等物品時需特別小心 (也需留意單眼相機等物)
・在人潮中將包包放在前面比較安全
・不把錢包等貴重物品放在褲子口袋

建議身上攜帶最少量的現金為佳。因2020年舉辦東京奧運與2025年大阪萬博等原因,遊日的外國觀光客逐漸增加,雖然現在電子錢包等物逐漸普及,但日本仍舊是喜愛使用現金的國家。雖然造訪日本時需要現金,但身上不要攜帶過多金錢是比較保險的做法。

7. 車上竊盜一年〇〇件?!

日本一年約有近3000件車上竊盜案件,雖然件數與其他國家相比較少,但車上的金錢與貴重物品很容易被盯上。除了車子上鎖外,需採取設置行車記錄器以及貼上較黑的隔熱紙,讓人看不清楚車子內部樣貌等防範措施。

8. 路邊停車需注意!自行車竊盜請留意

2018年日本自行車竊盜發生案例為35,394件。換算下來,一天約有近百輛自行車遭竊。隨意停在路邊或停車不上鎖的話,都很容易被偷,需注意以下幾點:

・準備難以開鎖的密碼鎖
・準備2個以上的鎖頭
・停放在有監視器的停車場
・自行車鎖在固定物體上(防盜鏈條)
・同時配合自行車坐墊鎖

盡量選用堅固又難解鎖的鎖頭。還要準備2個以上的密碼鎖,可以的話,再鎖上防盜鏈條。但禁止鎖在電線桿與欄杆上,此外自行車等禁止停放區域內也不得使用防盜鏈條,這幾點請多加留意。請事先確認周圍有沒有可停車的區域,還有坐墊竊盜的防範措施也別忘了。為了轉賣自行車零件或因找碴等理由偷走坐墊的「坐墊小偷」成為了近年來的社會問題,現在自行車普遍都會加上「坐墊鎖」。

做好萬全的防範措施,享受安全又舒適的旅程

雖然日本被譽為治安良好的國家,但實際上也會發生讓人不忍目睹的重大刑案,以及竊盜與詐欺等卑劣的犯罪行為。利用人性的善良而詐欺、竊取雨傘與自行車、偷竊貴重物品與車上竊盜等行為,都需考量到有個「萬一」而採取防範措施,旅途中請盡全力保護好自己吧!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

From Potential Theft to Huge Fines: 8 Situations to Be Aware of When Visiting Japan

Japan is known throughout the world for being an extremely safe country. However, that doesn't mean that you should completely let your guard down when visiting. Even in Japan, you can find yourself the victim of theft or some other crime if you aren't careful and don't follow Japanese safety etiquette during your travels. With that, here are 8 points to keep in mind and be careful of while traveling in Japan.

Nationwide

Travel Tips

1. Umbrella Theft Outside Convenience Stores is Common

Umbrellas are some of the most commonly stolen items in Japan. One reason for this is that umbrellas in Japan are rather cheap, and can generally be purchased for around 300 - 500 yen. Because they are so cheap and widely available (and also because their quality isn't very high) people don't feel too guilty about taking a stranger's umbrella in a pinch.

Another reason is that many umbrellas bought in conveniences stores look nearly identical, so it can often be difficult to tell which umbrella is yours among the many umbrellas stored in the umbrella stands outside of stores and other buildings. This environment encourages theft as anyone could just claim they grabbed a stranger's umbrella by mistake. 

Japanese convenience stores, in particular, are commonly the site of umbrella theft. While it can be said that most people who steal umbrellas have understandable motives - either they got caught in a sudden downpour, their umbrella broke, or they grabbed the wrong umbrella by mistake - there are surely others who have more nefarious reasons.

While in Japan, it is important to take appropriate measures to keep your umbrella from getting stolen. One tip is to use a retractable umbrella that you can fold up and carry with you at all times. If you must use a classic umbrella instead, you would be wise to mark it as yours in some way, either with a sticker, marker, or even some string tied around the handle. People are less likely to steal umbrellas that have noticeable markers on them, and are more likely to take umbrellas that are nondescript.

2. Don't Give Any Money to "Fake Monks"

While you are in Shinjuku, Asakusa, Akihabara, Ginza, or some other popular district in Tokyo, you are likely to come across what are known as "fake monks" ("nise-soryo" in Japanese), impostors who pose as monks and ask for "donations" in order to solicit money from tourists. Many will claim that they are collecting money to construct a temple, and others peddle fake prayer beads and talismans. Many foreigners end up handing money over to these fake monks, assuming this is just a part of Japanese culture. 

It can be difficult to know whether someone is a real monk or a fake monk just based on their appearance alone, but here are some tips to help you avoid fake monks while in Japan: 
・Generally, fake monks will wear grey, beige, or other colors that won't make them stand out. 
・Real monks do not tend to loiter around train stations and their surroundings. 
・Real monks will carry a mendicancy (begging) permit with them if they are asking for money. 

For all intents and purposes, you can be safe assuming that all the monks you see on the streets in crowded areas are fake monks. Please do not go near anyone that seems the slightest bit suspicious. 

3. Be Extra Careful When Crossing Streets Without Traffic Lights

According to a 2018 study by the Japan Automobile Federation of 94 intersections throughout Japan, the percentage of cars that did not stop when passing pedestrians waiting at a crosswalk with no traffic light was 92.4%. This tendency is particularly prominent in large cities like Tokyo and Osaka. In addition to drivers of private vehicles, there are even many taxi and bus drivers who will drive right through intersections with no traffic lights in order to get to their destination quickly. 

While pedestrians are supposed to have priority in Japan, cars are not under any legal obligation to stop, as the traffic law simply states: "cars must drive at a speed at which stopping is possible." So, whether or not a driver stops to let pedestrians cross the street in front of them is totally up to their own discretion. 

In any case, it is urged to exercise extreme caution when crossing crosswalks without traffic lights. There are cars that will stop and let you pass, but this is by no means a guarantee. 

4. Be Wary of Solicitors - Tourists Are Common Targets!

Foreign visitors are increasingly becoming the victims of soliciting in Japan, especially in crowded shopping and/or entertainment areas. A common strategy is for solicitors to draw in tourists with promises of special deals and discounts, and then charge exorbitant prices at the time of checkout. Busy entertainment districts can be so full of solicitors that it can become a bother trying to decline them all as you walk through. In Tokyo, you will want to be careful in the areas of Shinjuku, Ikebukuro, and Roppongi, and the areas of Namba, Shinsaibashi, and Umeda in Osaka.  

Soliciting is actually illegal in Japan as a part of Laws Regulating Adult Entertainment Business, and there are even many municipalities that have taken on additional anti-soliciting measures on the local goverment level. Despite regulations being strengthened each year, soliciting remains rampant in Japan. 

While traveling in Japan, you must absolutely refrain from associating with solicitors, no matter how enticing their offers to you may be. 

5. Don't Smoke and Walk (The Expensive Fines Will Absolutely Shock You!)

Regulations regarding smoking in Japan continue to become more strict with each passing year, particularly when it comes to smoking outdoors. Currently, walking while smoking is considered a fineable offense all over Japan, and you can also get fined for smoking outside of the designated smoking areas in certain municipalities. The amount that you are fined depends on the area, and it can range from as little as 2,000 yen (Chiyoda, Tokyo) to as much as 20,000 yen (Maebashi, Gunma).

It should be noted that anti-smoking regulations are expected to become even stricter in Tokyo as the city prepares to host the 2020 Summer Olympics. In June of 2018, Tokyo enacted an ordinance to prevent second-hand smoke, and by the time the Olympics start, indoor smoking will be banned in all medical institutions, public transportation (including taxis and buses), and eateries. Those who break these regulations, or establishments that knowingly allow customers to smoke, can incur a fine of up to 50,000 yen.

6. Pickpocketing Can Happen in Crowded Streets and Trains

Even though Japan has a relatively low rate of theft, it still occurs and is something of which you should remain wary. You should be especially careful of pickpocketing while in crowded trains or streets. Common stolen items include suitcases, expensive laptops and cameras, passports, wallets, and credit cards. The following are some measures you can take to protect your belongings from theft: 
・Be extra careful when wearing high-end clothing brands 
・Carry your backpack or bag in front of your body instead of on your back when in crowded areas 
・Do not put your wallet or other valuables in your pants pockets

While Japan is gradually becoming more card-friendly as it prepares for the 2020 Tokyo Summer Olympics and Expo 2025 in Osaka, it is currently still a highly cash-based society, so you will always want to have some cash on you at all times. However, it is not recommended to carry huge amounts of cash in the event of pickpocketing or theft. While cash is important, please only keep a limited amount with you.

7. Vehicle Burglary - 3,000 Cases Per Year in Japan

There are around 3,000 reported cases of vehicle burglary in Japan each year. While this number may be small compared to other countries, you should still be cautious and take measures to prevent your valuables from being stolen from a vehicle. Be sure to keep your car doors locked at all times and hide your belongings so that they aren't visible from outside.

8. Be Careful Where You Leave Your Bike! Bicycle Theft is Also Common

There were 35,394 reported cases of bicycle theft in Japan in 2018, which amounts to roughly 100 bikes stolen per day. If you leave a bicycle unattended on the street without being locked up, there is a good change that it could be stolen. Keep the following points in mind while using a bike in Japan:  
・Try to use a padlock-type lock on the bike, as they are the most difficult to unlock
・Consider using two or more different locks 
・Park your bicycle in a place you know is monitored by security cameras 
・Secure your bicycle to a fixed object
・Consider a bike seat lock as well 

It is important to make sure that the lock you use is sturdy and hard to break open. While anchoring your bike to a permanent fixture is a good anti-theft measure, note that there are certain areas around Japan where this is actually illegal, so make sure you know the rules of your surroundings before locking your bike. 

Keep These Points in Mind During Your Travels in Japan

Japan is undoubtedly a safe country on the global scale, but there are still plenty of crimes that occur on a daily basis. It is vital to be wary of fraud, solicitation, theft, and other troubles during your travels in Japan. After all, you can never be too careful! Please use this article as a reference during your trip to Japan to have the safest trip possible.

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Title Image: Robert Mullan / Shutterstock

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search